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The rules are codified in the Code of State Regulations in this system—

Title Code of State Regulations Division Chapter Rule
1 CSR 10- 1. 010
Department Agency, Division General area regulated Specific area regulated

They are properly cited by using the full citation , i.e., 1 CSR 10-1.010.

Each department of state government is assigned a title. Each agency or division in the department is assigned a division number. The agency then groups its rules
into general subject matter areas called chapters and specific areas called rules. Within a rule, the first breakdown is called a section and is designated as (1).
Subsection is (A) with further breakdown into paragraph 1., subparagraph A., part (I), subpart (a), item 1. and subitem a.

RSMo—Cite material in the RSMo by date of legislative action. The note in parentheses gives the original and amended legislative history. The Office of the
Revisor of Statutes recognizes that this practice gives users a concise legislative history.
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Under this heading will appear the text of proposed
rules and changes. The notice of proposed rulemak-
ing is required to contain an explanation of any new rule or
any change in an existing rule and the reasons therefor.
This is set out in the Purpose section with each rule. Also
required is a citation to the legal authority to make rules.
This appears following the text of the rule, after the word
“Authority.”
ntirely new rules are printed without any special sym-
bology under the heading of the proposed rule. If an
existing rule is to be amended or rescinded, it will have a
heading of proposed amendment or proposed rescission.
Rules which are proposed to be amended will have new
matter printed in boldface type and matter to be deleted
placed in brackets.
Ar; important function of the Missouri Register is to
olicit and encourage public participation in the rule-
making process. The law provides that for every proposed
rule, amendment or rescission there must be a notice that
anyone may comment on the proposed action. This com-
ment may take different forms.
f an agency is required by statute to hold a public hear-
ing before making any new rules, then a Notice of Public
Hearing will appear following the text of the rule. Hearing
dates must be at least 30 days after publication of the
notice in the Missouri Register. If no hearing is planned or
required, the agency must give a Notice to Submit
Comments. This allows anyone to file statements in support
of or in opposition to the proposed action with the agency
within a specified time, no less than 30 days after publica-
tion of the notice in the Missouri Register.
n agency may hold a public hearing on a rule even
though not required by law to hold one. If an agency
allows comments to be received following the hearing date,
the close of comments date will be used as the beginning
day in the 90-day-count necessary for the filing of the order
of rulemaking.
f an agency decides to hold a public hearing after plan-
ning not to, it must withdraw the earlier notice and file a
new notice of proposed rulemaking and schedule a hearing
for a date not less than 30 days from the date of publication
of the new notice.

Proposed Amendment Text Reminder:
Boldface text indicates new matter.
[Bracketed text indicates matter being deleted.]

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT
Division 10—Missouri State Board of Accountancy
Chapter 2—General Rules

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 10-2.160 Fees. The board is amending sections (1) and (3)
of this rule.

PURPOSE: The purpose of this amendment is to provide an excep-
tion to nonrefundable fees and fees applied to another application
under extraordinary circumstances and to increase the amount of
the certified public accountant’s exam.

(1) The following fees are established by the Missouri State Board
of Accountancy:

(A) Initial Application for Certificate by Examination Fee—
1. All parts of exam $/200.00] 240.00
2. Per part $ /50.00] 60.00
(B) Application for Reexamination Fee—
1. All parts of exam
2. Per part
(C) Application for Certificate Without
Examination Fee—

$/200.00] 240.00
$ /50.00] 60.00

$ /200.00] 240.00

(3) All fees for subsections (1)(C) through (N) of this rule are
nonrefundable and cannot be applied to another application. Fees
for subsections (1)(A) and (B) of this rule are nonrefundable,
and cannot be applied to another application except under
extraordinary circumstances as determined by the board.

AUTHORITY: section 326.200, RSMo [Supp. 1997] Supp. 1998.
Emergency rule filed Aug. 6, 1981, effective Aug. 16, 1981, expired
Dec. 10, 1981. Original rule filed Aug. 6, 1981, effective Dec. 11,
1981. For intervening history, please consult the Code of State
Regulations. Amended: Filed Sept. 29, 1999.

PUBLIC ENTITY COST: This proposed amendment will not cost
state agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE ENTITY COST: The private entity cost for this proposed
amendment is estimated at $203,640 per year for the life of this
rule. A detailed fiscal note, which estimates the cost of compliance
with this rule, has been filed with the secretary of state.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri State Board of Accountancy, Ken L. Bishop, Executive
Director, P.O. Box 613, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0613. To be con-
sidered, comments must be received within thirty days after publi-
cation of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is
scheduled.
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I. RULE NUMBER

Title: 4 CSR 10-2.160 Fees

FISCAL NOTE

PRIVATE ENTITY COST

Division:

Division of Professional Registration/Missouri State Board of Accountancy

Chapter:

Chapter 2 — General Rules

Type of Rulemaking:

Proposed Amendment

Rule Number and Name:

4 CSR 10-2.160 Fees

II. SUMMARY OF FISCAL IMPACT

Estimate of the number of
entities by class which would
likely be affected by the

adoption of the proposed rule:

Classification by types of the
business entities which would
likely be affected:

Estimate in the aggregate as to
the cost of compliance with the
rule by the affected entities:

Without Examination Fee

3771 First Time Exam Applicants $150,840.00
4464 Retake Exam Applicants $44,640.00
204 Applicants for Certificate $8,160.00

Entities Affected: 8,439

Fiscal Impact: $203,640.00

III. WORKSHEET

First Time Examination Application Increase @ $40.00
Retake Examination Application Fee Increase @ $10.00
Applicants for Certificate Without Examination Fee Increase @ $40.00

IV. ASSUMPTIONS

The number of entities by class are based on actual figures from FY97 and FY98.

It is anticipated that the total aggregated cost per year will recur each year for the life of the rule.
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Title 5—DEPARTMENT OF ELEMENTARY AND
SECONDARY EDUCATION
Division 30—Division of School Services
Chapter 345—Missouri School Improvement Program

PROPOSED RULE
5 CSR 30-345.020 Policies on Waiver of Regulations

PURPOSE: This rule establishes the criteria and procedures for
annually identifying school district and/or school building eligibil-
ity for waivers in compliance with sections 161.210, 163.031.5(3),
160.545 and 160.518, RSMo. The student performance data will
be reviewed, and the commissioner will notify districts if they are
eligible for a waiver. Districts may respond to this notification by
either accepting or rejecting such waiver. This rule contains four
types of department-wide waivers of regulations which may be
granted to school districts. Regulations identified in the Missouri
School Improvement Program (MSIP) Waiver Plan will be waived
in each of the four categories of waivers; however, the criteria for
qualifying varies with each waiver. In all cases, the performance
indicators will be evaluated on data in the same manner as in reg-
ular MSIP reviews (i.e., data from 1999-2000 will be used as the
most current for districts being reviewed in 2000-2001).

(1) Missouri School Improvement Program (MSIP) On-Site
Review.

(A) Districts will qualify for a waiver of the next scheduled
MSIP review if they meet the following:

1. The district, based upon department generated Annual
Performance Reports (APR), meets the performance indicators at
the accredited level (including at least two (2) of the indicators in
Standard 16.1 and at least three (3) of the indicators in Standard
16.3 for K-12 districts or four (4) of five (5) performance indica-
tors, two (2) from 16.1 and two (2) from 16.2 and 17.1 combined
and having no dropouts for K-8 districts) for three (3) of the last
four (4) years, including the second preceding year, based upon the
annual Performance Scoring Guide. (In order for districts to have
adequate time to prepare for the MSIP review, the decision on eli-
gibility for waivers must be made by December of the second pre-
ceding year; therefore, the determination would be based upon the
calls made during their last review and the succeeding three (3)
APRs);

2. Districts having five percent (5%) or more in any identi-
fied ethnic minority must demonstrate equal or greater improve-
ment in the minority achievement compared to the non-minority
population on the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP). The fol-
lowing process will be used to judge this condition:

A. First, the three (3) MSIP grade spans will be examined
to determine whether any grade span has five percent (5%) or
more of any identified minority in each grade tested in that span
for both the preceding and second preceding year;

B. Second, grade spans meeting the above condition will be
examined to determine how many times the identified ethnic
minority group equals or exceeds the improvement of the non-
minority population on each test when comparing from the second
preceding to the preceding year on both the upper two (2) levels
(Proficient and Advanced combined) and the bottom two (2) levels
(Step I and Progressing combined) for each test in that grade span;
and

C. Third, at least sixty-two percent (62%) positive com-
parisons between the two (2) groups are required to be acceptable;

3. The district agrees to administer the MSIP Advance
Questionnaire; and

4. The district completes an annual MSIP Waiver Plan which
confirms the district’s adherence to the specific laws and rules
referred to in the checklist.

(B) If a district meets the criteria for a waiver of its regularly
scheduled five (5)-year MSIP review, Department of Elementary
and Secondary Education (DESE) will conduct a mini-team review
which will focus on the areas identified in the MSIP Waiver Plan.
The team will include the state supervisor and representatives from
appropriate DESE sections.

(C) If the district meets the performance indicators at a level that
would qualify for “Distinction” the year of their scheduled review,
DESE will conduct a desk audit of the Resource Report. If the dis-
trict meets all of the resource standards, a team will conduct an on-
site visit which will focus on the district’s documentation of its
compliance with the items on the Waiver Plan.

(D) The MSIP waiver is an annual waiver and may be renewed
for five (5) consecutive years if—

1. The district continues to meet the “Accredited” level on the
performance indicators;

2. Complies with all the items on the MSIP Waiver Plan; and

3. Verifies that it has reviewed its Comprehensive School
Improvement Plan (CSIP) and submits any revisions to DESE.

(E) If a district fails to meet the above criteria, the district will
be notified by December 1 that a review is scheduled for the fol-
lowing year (i.e., If, based upon 1999-2000 data, a district is no
longer qualified for an MSIP waiver, DESE will notify the district
by December 1, 2000, that it is now scheduled for an MSIP review
during the 2001-2002 school year). No other waiver can be used
during that time period.

(2) Hold Harmless Districts.

(A) A district that meets the financial qualifications identified in
section 163.031.5(3), RSMo will be granted waivers as long as the
district qualifies for a waiver of the MSIP On-Site Review.

(3) A+ High School.

(A) The designation as an A+ high school is granted for one (1)
year in compliance with the A+ rule and section 160.545, RSMo.
A high school will qualify for a waiver of the MSIP on-site review
if—

1. It is currently designated as A+;

2. Agrees to administer the MSIP Advance Questionnaire;
and

3. Completes an annual A+ Waiver Plan which confirms the
district’s adherence to the specific laws and rules referred to in that
plan.

(B) The A+ Waiver Plan is valid until June 30 of the year in
which the high school is no longer designated as A+.

(4) Exemplary School.

(A) A school building that meets the following student perfor-
mance criteria will be designated as Exemplary in compliance with
section 160.518, RSMo, and will be granted waivers when the
school meets the following:

1. The school has at least fifty percent (50%) of its students
in the Proficient and Advance levels, combined, on the MAP and
Reading Performance Indicators and has no more than twenty per-
cent (20%) of its students in the Step 1 and Progressing levels of
the MAP, combined;

2. Schools having five percent (5%) or more in any identified
ethnic minority must demonstrate equal or greater improvement in
each minority achievement compared to the non-minority popula-
tion on the MAP. The following process will be used to judge this
condition:

A. First, the three (3) MSIP grade spans will be examined
to determine whether any grade span has five percent (5%) or
more of any identified minority in each grade tested in that span
for both the preceding and second preceding year;

B. Second, grade spans meeting the above condition will be
examined to determine how many times the identified ethnic
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minority group equals or exceeds the improvement of the non-
minority population on each test when comparing from the second
preceding to the preceding year on both the upper two (2) levels
(Proficient and Advanced combined) and the bottom two (2) levels
(Step 1 and Progressing combined) for each test in that grade span;
and
C. Third, at least sixty-two percent (62%) positive com-
parisons between the two (2) groups are required to be acceptable;
3. The school meets all other MSIP Performance Indicators;
4. The school completes an annual MSIP Waiver Plan which
confirms the district’s adherence to the specific laws and rules
referred to in the plan for all buildings within the district; and
5. The school agrees to administer the MSIP Advance
Questionnaire.
(B) The building’s exemplary designation will be valid until
June 30 of the year in which the building is determined to not meet
items in paragraphs (4)(A)1.-4.

(5) Application. A district which meets the performance criteria
for any of the four (4) waivers will be so notified by the commis-
sioner. The district must either accept or decline the waiver by
December 1 of the second preceding year prior to the year the dis-
trict is scheduled for an MSIP review except that a district quali-
fying for an A+ waiver must accept or decline the waiver by
October 1 of the year of the scheduled MSIP review (i.e., a waiv-
er application for a scheduled 2001-2002 MSIP review must be
filed by December 1, 1999).

(6) Missouri School Improvement Program Waiver Plan.

(A) School districts which meet certain student performance
expectations may qualify for certain waivers related to the MSIP.
The plan which is outlined below identifies the areas of MSIP
which are eligible to be waived for qualifying districts.

1. All MSIP Resource Standards and Indicators will be
waived except the following:

A. The state high school graduation requirements (MSIP
1.3);

B. Regular instruction in United States and Missouri
Constitutions, as well as American History and Institutions, must
be provided, and all students must pass at least a half unit of cred-
it course in the institutions, branches, and functions of federal,
state and local governments and in the electoral process, as
required by section 170.011, RSMo (MSIP 1.3); and

C. All administrators and teachers must be certificated to
teach in Missouri schools. “Appropriately certificated for their
assignments” is waived under this provision, unless funding
sources require specific certification. (MSIP 5.1).

2. All MSIP Process Standards and Indicators will be waived
except the following:

A. Districts must have cross-referenced all curricular areas
to the Show-Me Standards (MSIP 6.1A);

B. The district reports dropouts from school to the
Missouri Literacy Hot Line (MSIP 8.1);

C. The district meets state and federal requirements for
special education for students with disabilities, economically dis-
advantaged students, migratory children, students whose native or
home language is other than English and homeless youth (MSIP
8.1B, C, D, E, F);

D. The district complies with all the regulations of the state
and federal categorical programs in which the district participates
(MSIP 8.7);

E. The district distributes a student code of conduct and
provides a protected, orderly environment (MSIP 9.1C);

E Professional development programs and services are
provided as required by sections 168.400 and 160.530, RSMo
(MSIP 12.1A);

G. Board of Education members must be trained as pre-
scribed by section 162.203, RSMo (MSIP 13.2B);

H. The district complies with the salary compliance
requirements of section 163.031, RSMo and with the minimum
salary requirements as defined in section 163.172, RSMo. (MSIP
13.2B, 13.3C). Does not apply to “hold harmless” districts;

I. The district implements effective and efficient fiscal
management systems that ensure accountability of district funds,
and is not identified as a “financially stressed district” (MSIP
13.4A, B);

J. The district annually reviews its Comprehensive School
Improvement Plan and updates it if necessary (MSIP 13.1C);

K. The district provides a safe physical environment for
students (MSIP 14.2);

L. The district implements effective and efficient fiscal
management systems that ensure accountability of district funds
(MSIP 13.4A, B);

M. Cumulative health records, including immunizations as
required by state law, are maintained and regularly updated for all
students (MSIP 15.1); and

N. The district complies with all laws related to the trans-
portation of students (MSIP 15.3).

3. No MSIP Performance Standards will be waived.

AUTHORITY: sections 160.518 and 160.545, RSMo 1994, and
161.210, and 163.031.5(3), RSMo Supp. 1998. Original rule filed
Sept. 30, 1999.

PUBLIC ENTITY COST: This proposed rule will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE ENTITY COST: This proposed rule will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the
Department of Elementary and Secondary Education, Carl Sitze,
Interim Coordinator, Supervision Section, P.O. Box 480, Jefferson
City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title S—DEPARTMENT OF ELEMENTARY AND
SECONDARY EDUCATION
Division 30—Division of School Services
Chapter 345—Missouri School Improvement Program

PROPOSED RULE

5 CSR 30-345.030 Metropolitan School District Retired
Teacher Program

PURPOSE: This rule outlines the criteria for application by a met-
ropolitan school district to the Department of Elementary and
Secondary Education for waivers to allow qualified retired teach-
ers to teach in the metropolitan school district pursuant to section
105.269, RSMo Supp. 1999.

(1) As used in this rule, unless specifically provided otherwise, the
following terms shall be defined as follows:

(A) Metropolitan school district—any school district the bound-
aries of which are coterminous with the limits of any city which is
not within a county; and

(B) Retired teacher—any retired teacher who taught in any met-
ropolitan school district and who receives retirement benefits from
the St. Louis Public Schools Retirement System.

(2) Any metropolitan school district may apply to the Department
of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) for waivers to
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allow retired teachers to teach in the metropolitan school district if
the district has—

(A) Individuals working in a metropolitan school district who
are employed by the state of Missouri and who participate in a vol-
unteer tutoring program as authorized pursuant to section 105.268,
RSMo Supp. 1999; and

(B) At least a five percent (5%) shortage of certified teachers to
be determined by the metropolitan school district no later than
August 1 of the school year in which a retired teacher as defined
in this rule may be employed to teach.

(3) For the purpose of this rule, a position must be vacant as of
August 1 prior to the beginning of the school year in order to be
considered in the calculation of the teacher shortage.

(4) A retired teacher as defined in this rule may teach up to two
(2) years in the metropolitan school district without losing his or
her retirement benefits.

(5) The metropolitan school district shall place emphasis on hiring
retired teachers to teach in areas that include, but are not limited
to, reading improvement, which may include elementary remedial
reading and the “Read to be Ready Program,” math, science, and
special education.

AUTHORITY: section 105.269, RSMo Supp. 1999. Original rule
filed Sept. 30, 1999.

PUBLIC ENTITY COST: This proposed rule will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE ENTITY COST: This proposed rule will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the
Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education,
Attention: Dr. Marilou Joyner, Assistant Commissioner, Division of
School Services, P.O. Box 480, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0480. To
be considered, comments must be received within thirty days after
publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hear-
ing is scheduled.

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 10—Air Conservation Commission
Chapter 6—Air Quality Standards, Definitions,
Sampling and Reference Methods and Air Pollution
Control Regulations for the Entire State of Missouri

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

10 CSR 10-6.020 Definitions and Common Reference Tables.
The commission proposes to amend subsections (2)(B), (2)(C),
(2)(H) and (2)(N). If the commission adopts this rule action, it will
be submitted to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency to
replace the current rule that is in the Missouri State
Implementation Plan.

PURPOSE: This proposed amendment adds the new definition for
criteria pollutant and hourly de minimis level as well as new lan-
guage to the rules for determining creditability of emissions
increases and decreases. The new regulatory language reflects the
effort of the construction permit workgroup to streamline the per-
mitting process. Also, this amendment will delete the definition for
the St. Louis carbon monoxide nonattainment area since the area
was redesignated to attainment this year.

(2) Definitions.

(B) All terms beginning with “B.”

1. Base year—The year chosen in the state implementation
plan to directly correlate emissions of the nonattainment pollutant
in the nonattainment area with ambient air quality data pertaining
to the pollutant. From the base year, projections are made to deter-
mine when the area will attain and maintain the ambient air qual-
ity standards.

2. Baseline area—The continuous area in which the source
constructs as well as those portions of the intrastate area which are
not part of a nonattainment area and which would receive an air
quality impact equal to or greater than one microgram per cubic
meter (1 pg/m3) annual average (established by modeling) for each
pollutant for which an installation receives a permit under 10 CSR
10-6.060(8) and for which increments have been established in 10
CSR 10-6.060(11)/(B)](A), Table [2/1. Each of these areas are
references to the standard United States Geological Survey
(USGS) County-Township-Range-Section system. The smallest
unit of area for which a baseline date will be set is one (1) section
(one (1) square mile).

PUBLISHER’S NOTE: Paragraphs (2)(B)3.-6. remain as pub-
lished in the Code of State Regulations.

(C) All terms beginning with “C.”

PUBLISHER’S NOTE: Paragraphs (2)(C)1.-25. remain as pub-
lished in the Code of State Regulations.

26. Criteria pollutant—Air pollutants for which air quali-
ty standards have been established in 10 CSR 10-6.010.

[26.]27. Crude oil—A naturally occurring mixture which
consists of hydrocarbons and sulfur, nitrogen or oxygen deriva-
tives, or a combination of these, of hydrocarbons which is a liquid
at standard conditions.

[27.]28. Custody transfer—The transfer of produced crude
oil or condensate, or both, after processing or treating, or both, in
the producing operations, from storage tanks or automatic transfer
facilities to pipelines or any other forms of transportation.

[28.]29. Cutback asphalt—Any asphaltic cement that has
been liquefied by blending with VOC liquid diluents.

(H) All terms beginning with “H.”

1. Hazardous air pollutant—Any of the air pollutants listed in
subsection (3)(C) of this rule.

2. HHV—A higher heating value as determined by 10 CSR
10-6.040(2) (ASTM Standard: D 2015-66, Part 19, 1972,
Standard Method for Determining Gross Heating Values of Solid
Fuels).

3. High efficiency particulate air filter— A HEPA filter found
in respirators and vacuum systems capable of filtering three-tenths
(0.3) micron particles with at least ninety-nine and ninety-seven
hundredths percent (99.97 %) efficiency.

4. High terrain—Any area having an elevation nine hundred
feet (900’) or more above the base of the stack of the installation.

5. Homogeneous area—An area of surfacing material, ther-
mal system insulation material or miscellaneous material that is
uniform in color and texture.

6. Hot car—A vehicle which transfers hot coke from the oven
to the area of quenching.

7. Hot well—The reservoir of a condensing unit receiving the
warm condensate from the condenser.

8. Hourly de minimis level—The hourly equivalent of the
annual de minimis level established in Table 1, subsection
(3)(A) of this rule; calculated as the annual de minimis level
divided by 8,760 and typically expressed in terms of pounds
per hour.

(N) All terms beginning with “N.”
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1. Nearby—Nearby as used in the definition GEP stack height
in subparagraph (2)(G)2.B. is defined for a specific structure or
terrain feature—

A. For purposes of applying the formula provided in sub-
paragraph (2)(G)3.B., nearby means that distance up to five (5)
times the lesser of the height or the width dimension of a structure,
but not greater than one-half (1/2) mile; and

B. For conducting fluid modeling or field study demon-
strations under subparagraph (2)(G)3.C., nearby means not greater
than one-half (1/2) mile, except that the portion of a terrain feature
may be considered to be nearby which falls within a distance of up
to ten (10) times the maximum height of the feature, not to exceed
two (2) miles if feature achieves a height one-half (1/2) mile from
the stack that is at least forty percent (40%) of the GEP stack
height determined by the formula provided in subparagraph
(2)(G)3.B. or twenty-six meters (26m), whichever is greater, as
measured from the ground level elevation at the base of the stack.
The height of the structure or terrain feature is measured from the
ground level elevation at the base of the stack.

2. Net emissions increase—A condition when the increases in
pollutant emissions at an installation exceed the decreases of the
same pollutant.

A. In determining whether a net emission increase has
occurred, all creditable increases and decreases of actual emissions
shall be included occurring at the installation since the most recent
permit was issued to the installation pursuant to 10 CSR 10-
6.060(1)(C). If no permit has been issued to the installation, then
all creditable increases and decreases shall be included occurring
since—

(I) The base year inventory used to project attainment in
the state implementation plan if the installation is in a nonattain-
ment area and has the potential to annually emit one hundred (100)
tons or more of the nonattainment pollutant; or

(II) The date on which the most recent permit was issued
pursuant to 40 CFR 52.21, or August 7, 1977, for sulfur dioxide
and particulate matter, or February 8, 1988, for nitrogen dioxide,
whichever is more recent, if the installation is not subject to part
Q)(N)2.A.().

B. Rules for determining creditability of increases and
decreases.

(I) An increase or decrease in actual emissions is cred-
itable only if the director has not relied on it in issuing a permit
for the installation pursuant to 10 CSR 10-6.060(1)(C), which per-
mit is in effect when the increase in actual emissions from the par-
ticular change occurs.

(II) Increases or decreases in actual emissions are
creditable only if they are contemporaneous with the increase
from the particular change and only if it occurs between—

(a) The date five (5) years before construction on
the particular change commences; and

(b) The date that the increase from the particular
change occurs.

[(/)](II) An increase or decrease in actual emissions of
sulfur dioxide particulate matter or nitrogen oxides which occurs
before the applicable baseline date is creditable only if it is
required to be considered in calculating the amount of maximum
allowable increases remaining available.

[(Il[JJAV) An increase in actual emissions is creditable
only to the extent that the new level of actual emissions exceeds the
old level.

[(IV)](V) A decrease in actual emissions is creditable
only to the extent that the old level of actual emissions or the old
level of allowable emissions, whichever is lower, exceeds the new
level of actual emissions; the decrease is enforceable at and after
the time that actual construction to bring about the proposed
increase begins; and the decrease has approximately the same
qualitative significance for public health and welfare as that attrib-
uted to the proposed increase.

[(V)](VI) If credit for a decrease in actual emissions has
been banked in accordance with 10 CSR 10-6.060(12)(D), credit
must be withdrawn from the bank in order for the decrease to be
creditable.

[(VI)](VII) A decrease in actual emissions is creditable
only if the director has not relied on it in demonstrating attainment
or reasonable further progress.

C. An increase that results from a physical change at a
source occurs when the emissions unit on which construction
occurred becomes operational and begins to emit a particular pol-
lutant. Any replacement unit that requires a shakedown period
becomes operational only after a reasonable shakedown period not
to exceed one hundred eighty (180) days.

3. New tepee burner—One not in existence as of September
18, 1970.

4. NIOSH—National Institute of Occupational Safety and
Health.

5. Nonattainment area—The areas of Missouri identified as
follows:

A. A moderate nonattainment area for ozone consists of
Franklin, Jefferson, St. Charles and St. Louis Counties and the
City of St. Louis; and

B. Nonattainment areas for lead include the city of
Herculaneum in Jefferson County, and the Dent, Liberty and
Arcadia townships in Iron County/; and].

[C. A nonattainment area for carbon monoxide con-
sists of the area within the boundaries of Interstate 270
and the Mississippi River in St. Louis City and County.]

AUTHORITY: sections 643.050 [, RSMo Supp. 1997] and
643.055, RSMo [1994] Supp. 1998. Original rule filed Aug. 16,
1977, effective Feb. 11, 1978. For intervening history, please con-
sult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed Sept. 22,
1999.

PUBLIC ENTITY COST: This proposed amendment will not cost
state agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE ENTITY COST: This proposed amendment will not cost
private entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT
COMMENTS: A public hearing on this proposed amendment will
begin at 9:00 a.m., December 9, 1999. The public hearing will be
held at the Kansas City Downtown Marriott, 200 West 12th Street,
Kansas City, Missouri. Opportunity to be heard at the hearing
shall be afforded any interested person. Written request to be heard
should be submitted at least seven days prior to the hearing to
Roger D. Randolph, Director, Air Pollution Control Program, 205
Jefferson Street, P.O. Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176,
(573) 751-4817. Interested persons, whether or not heard, may
submit a written statement of their views until 5:00 p.m.,
December 16, 1999. Written comments shall be sent to Chief,
Planning Section, Air Pollution Control Program, 205 Jefferson
Street, P.O. Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176.

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 10—Air Conservation Commission
Chapter 6—Air Quality Standards, Definitions,
Sampling and Reference Methods and Air Pollution
Control Regulations for the Entire State of Missouri

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

10 CSR 10-6.065 Operating Permits. The commission proposes
to amend subsections (1)(B), (1)(D), (3)(D), (4){J), and (4)(M);
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and remove subsection (3)(E) and incorporate and renumber those
paragraphs into subsection (3)(D). If the commission adopts this
rule action, it will be submitted to the U.S. Environmental
Protection Agency to replace the current rule in the Missouri State
Implementation Plan.

PURPOSE: This amendment deletes the specified date from para-
graph (1)(D)7. in order for the rule to be consistent with the U.S.
Environmental Protection Agency rules on operating permits.
Language and organizational clarifications are made to make it
easier to understand and follow.

(1) Definitions.
(B) Basic state installations are installations which meet any of
the following criteria, but are not /p/Part 70 installations:

1. Emit or have the potential to emit any air pollutant in an
amount greater than the de minimis levels;

2. Are, or are awaiting a decision by the administrator
about whether they are, subject to a standard, limitation or other
requirement under section 111 of the Act, including area sources
subject to a standard, limitation or other requirement under section
111 of the Act;

3. Are, or are awaiting a decision by the administrator
about whether they are, subject to a standard or other require-
ment under section 112 of the Act, except that a source is not
required to obtain a permit solely because it is subject to rules or
requirements under section 112(r) of the Act, including area
sources subject to a standard or other requirement under section
112 of the Act, except that an area source is not required to obtain
a permit solely because it is subject to regulations or requirements
under section 112(r) of the Act.

(D) Part 70 installations are installations to which the /p/Part 70
operating permit requirements of this rule apply, in accordance
with the following criteria:

PUBLISHER’S NOTE: Paragraphs (1)(D)1.-5. remain as pub-
lished in the Code of State Regulations.

6. Any installation in a source category designated by the
administrator as a /p/Part 70 source pursuant to 40 CFR 70.3; and

7. Installations that would be /p/Part 70 sources strictly due
to the following criteria are not subject to /p/Part 70 source
requirements /until November 15, 1999, or] until the adminis-
trator subjects this installation to these requirements by rule:

A. They are subject to a standard, limitation or other
requirement under section 111 of the Act, including area sources;
or

B. They are subject to a standard or other requirement
under section 112 of the Act, except that a source, including an
area source, is not required to obtain a permit solely because it is
subject to rules or requirements under section 112(r) of the Act.

(3) Applicability.

(D) Exempt Installations and Emission Units. The following
installations and emission units are exempt from the requirements
of this rule /unless they are subject to an applicable require-
ment] unless such units are Part 70 installations or are locat-
ed at Part 70 installations. Emissions from exempt installations
and emission units shall be considered when determining if the
installation is a /p/Part 70 installation:

PUBLISHER'’S NOTE: Paragraphs (3)(D)1.-12. remain as pub-
lished in the Code of State Regulations.

13. Recreational fireplaces; /and]
14. Stacks or vents to prevent the escape of sewer gases
through plumbing traps for systems handling domestic sewage

only. Systems which include any industrial waste do not qualify for
this exemption/. /;

[(E) Exempt Emission Units. The following emission units
are exempt from the requirements of this rule. Emissions
from exempt emission units shall be considered when
determining if the installation is a part 70 installation:]

[7.715. Combustion equipment that—

A. Emits only combustion products;

B. Produces less than one hundred fifty (150) pounds per
day of any air contaminant; and

C. [With] Has a maximum rated capacity of—

(I) Less than ten (10) million British thermal units
[(BTUS)] Btus per hour heat input by using exclusively natural or
liquefied petroleum gas, or any combination of these; or

(IT) Less than one (1) million /(BTUS)] Btus per hour
heat input;

[2.]16. Office and commercial buildings, where emissions
result solely from space /heating by] heaters using natural gas
or liquefied petroleum gas with a maximum rated capacity of
less than twenty (20) million /(BTUS)] Btus per hour heat input.
Incinerators operated in conjunction with these sources are not
exempt;

[3.717. Any country grain elevator that never handles more
than one million two hundred thirty-eight thousand six hundred
fifty-seven (1,238,657) bushels of grain during any twelve (12)-
month period and is not located within an incorporated area with
a population of fifty thousand (50,000) or more. A country grain
elevator is defined as a grain elevator that receives more than fifty
percent (50%) of its grain from producers in the immediate vicin-
ity during the harvest season. This exemption does not include
grain terminals which are defined as grain elevators that receive
grain primarily from other grain elevators. To qualify for this
exemption the owner or operator of the facility shall retain month-
ly records of grain origin and bushels of grain received, processed
and stored for a minimum of five (5) years to verify the exemption
requirements. Monthly records must be tabulated within seven (7)
days of the end of the month. Tabulated monthly records shall be
made available immediately to Missouri Department of Natural
Resources representatives for an announced inspection or within
three (3) hours for an unannounced visit;

[4.718. Restaurants and other retail establishments for the
purpose of preparing food for employee and guest consumption;
and

[6.719. Sand and gravel operations that have a maximum
capacity to produce less than seventeen and one-half (17.5) tons of
product per hour and use only natural gas as fuel when drying.

(4) Basic State Operating Permits.

(J) Operating Permit Period. Each operating permit /accepted
by the permitting authority] under this section shall be effec-
tive for a period of five (5) years. The permit term shall commence
on the date of receipt or acceptance, whichever is later.

(M) State Enforcement. All terms of an /accepted] operating
permit shall be enforceable by the permitting authority. The per-
mitting authority is authorized, for enforcement purposes, to enter
and inspect basic state installations at reasonable times and upon
the presentation of proper credentials. The owner or operator will
provide the representative of the permitting authority the stamped
“Received” or [accepted] copy of the operating permit notifica-
tion upon entry.

AUTHORITY: section 643.050, RSMo [Supp. 1997] Supp. 1998.
Original rule filed Sept. 2, 1993, effective May 9, 1994. Amended:
Filed June 5, 1995, effective Jan. 30, 1996. Amended: Filed Oct.
3, 1995, effective June 30, 1996. Amended: Filed Aug. 14, 1997,
effective April 30, 1998. Amended: Filed Sept. 22, 1999.
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PUBLIC ENTITY COST: This proposed amendment will not cost
state agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE ENTITY COST: This proposed amendment will not cost
private entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT
COMMENTS: A public hearing on this proposed amendment will
begin at 9:00 a.m., December 9, 1999. The public hearing will be
held at the Kansas City Downtown Marriott, 200 West 12th Street,
Kansas City, Missouri. Opportunity to be heard at the hearing
shall be afforded any interested person. Written request to be heard
should be submitted at least seven days prior to the hearing to
Roger D. Randolph, Director, Air Pollution Control Program, 205
Jefferson Street, P.O. Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176,
(573) 751-4817. Interested persons, whether or not heard, may
submit a written statement of their views until 5:00 p.m.,
December 16, 1999. Written comments shall be sent to Chief,
Planning Section, Air Pollution Control Program, 205 Jefferson
Street, P.O. Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176.

Title 122—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division 10—Director of Revenue
Chapter 2—Income Tax

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

12 CSR 10-2.240 Determination of Timeliness. The department
proposes to add new sections (7) and (8), and renumber the exist-
ing sections.

PURPOSE: This amendment permits the use of a private delivery
service and indicates what constitutes timely mailing by such ser-
vice.

(7) Any return, document or payment may be delivered by a
private delivery service (PDS) to meet the timely mailing as
timely filing/paying rule. Such PDS must be a properly desig-
nated PDS by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) at the time
the return, document or payment is delivered. Refer to IRS
rules to determine the designated PDS. The IRS publishes a list
in March and September of each year. PDSs cannot deliver
items to P.O. boxes. The United States Postal Services must be
used to mail any return, document or payment to Missouri
Department of Revenue P.O. box address.

(8) The PDS is required to either—1) record electronically to
its database (kept in the regular course of its business) the date
on which an item was given to the PDS for delivery; or 2) mark
on the cover of the item the date on which an item was given to
the PDS for delivery. The date recorded or the date marked
under this regulation is treated as the postmark date for pur-
poses of section 143.851, RSMo.

[(7)] (9) If any date, including any extension of time for perform-
ing any act, falls on a Saturday, Sunday or a legal holiday in this
state, the performance of the act shall be considered timely if it is
performed on the next succeeding day which is not a Saturday,
Sunday or legal holiday.

[(8)] (10) Example: Joe Jones, a Missouri taxpayer has a document
that must be filed with the Department of Revenue on or before
August 1, 1993. For that document to be considered timely, he
must do one (1) of the following:

(A) Deposit the document with the United States Postal Service
early enough that the United States postmark stamped on the enve-
lope will be August 1, 1993 or earlier;

(B) Take the document to the United States Postal Office and
have it registered by a postal employee on or before August 1,
1993; or

(C) Present the document in a certified envelope with return
receipt requested to a United States postal employee and ask the
postal employee to postmark the item on or before August 1, 1993.

AUTHORITY: sections 136.120 and 143.961, RSMo 1994.
Original rule filed March 1, 1993, effective Oct. 10, 1993.
Amended: Filed Sept. 29, 1999.

PUBLIC ENTITY COST: This proposed amendment will not cost
state agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE ENTITY COST: This proposed amendment will not cost
private entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to the proposed amendment with the
Department of Revenue, Office of Legislation and Regulations,
P.O. Box 629, Jefferson City, MO 65105. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 12—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division 10—Director of Revenue
Chapter 111—Sales/Use Tax

PROPOSED RULE
12 CSR 10-111.013 Drugs and Medical Equipment

PURPOSE: Section 144.030.2(18), RSMo, provides an exemption
for prescription drugs, orthopedic and prosthetic devices, numer-
ous dental items, hearing aids, hearing aid supplies and certain
sales of over-the-counter drugs. This rule explains the sales tax
law as it applies to these exemptions.

(1) In general, sales of prescription drugs, orthopedic and pros-
thetic devices and certain qualifying health-related equipment, and
certain sales of over-the-counter drugs, are exempt from Missouri
sales tax.

(2) Definition of Terms.

(A) Orthopedic device—a rigid or semi-rigid leg, arm, back or
neck brace and casting materials which are directly used for the
purpose of supporting a weak or deformed body member or
restricting or eliminating motion in a diseased or injured part of
the body.

(B) Over-the-counter drug—a drug product which may be pur-
chased without a physician’s prescription.

(C) Prescription drug—a drug dispensed by a licensed pharma-
cist only upon a lawful prescription from a licensed practitioner.

(D) Prosthetic device—a device that replaces all or part of the
function of a permanently inoperative or malfunctioning internal
body organ and is medically required.

(3) Basic Application of Tax.

(A) Sales of prescription drugs, insulin, medical grade oxygen,
drug samples and materials used to manufacture samples, which
may be dispensed by a licensed practitioner are exempt from tax.
Sales of over-the-counter drugs when sold to an individual with a
disability or to the individual’s agent are exempt from tax. When
selling over-the-counter drugs to an individual with disability, the
retailer should obtain a purchaser’s signed statement of disability.
The retailer should retain these statements for three (3) years. The
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statement should include the purchaser’s name, type of purchase
and amount of purchase, and be signed by the purchaser or the
purchaser’s agent. The retailer should request a form of identifi-
cation, such as driver’s license, credit card, etc. to verify the iden-
tity of the purchaser. Sales of prosthetic devices as defined on
January 1, 1980, by the Federal Medicare Program under Title
XVIII of the Social Security Act of 1965 are exempt from tax.

(B) Sales of orthopedic devices as defined by the Federal
Medicare Program under Title XVIII of the Social Security Act of
1965 are exempt from tax.

(C) Also exempt from sales tax are items specified in section
1862(A)(12) of the Social Security Act of 1965. Exempt items
included in this class are those used in connection with the treat-
ment, removal or replacement of teeth or structures directly sup-
porting teeth. Dental equipment or supplies are not exempt.

(D) Sales of other specific health-related equipment and acces-
sories are exempt from sales tax.

1.These specific items are—
A. Ambulatory aides
B. Braille writers
C. Electronic Braille equipment
D. Home respiratory equipment and accessories
E. Hospital beds and accessories
E Stairway lifts
G. Wheelchairs, manual and powered
2. If purchased by or on behalf of a person with one or more
physical or mental disabilities to enable them to function more
independently, the following items are also exempt:
A. Electronic print enlargers and magnifiers
B. Electronic alternative and augmentative communication
devices
C. Items used solely to modify motor vehicles to permit the
use of such motor vehicles by individuals with disabilities
D. Reading machines
E. Scooters

(4) Examples.

(A) A retailer sells an over-the-counter drug to an individual
claiming a disability. The sale is exempt if the retailer obtains
from the purchaser a statement similar to the following:

Purchases of over-the-counter drugs by individuals with disabilities
are exempt from sales tax. IT IS UNLAWFUL TO FRAUDU-
LENTLY CLAIM AN EXEMPTION. I CERTIFY THAT I
HAVE A DISABILITY AND AM ENTITLED TO CLAIM THIS
EXEMPTION.

Type of Purchase
Type of ID
ID Number
Name (print)
Signature

Amount

(B) Examples of exempt prosthetic devices include:

1. Breast prosthetics, including surgical brassieres for post-
mastectomy patients

2. Cardiac pacemakers

3. Colostomy and other ostomy bags and the necessary equip-
ment required for attachment

4. Electronic speech aids if the patient has had a laryngecto-
my or his/her larynx is permanently inoperative

5. Hearing aids and hearing aid supplies

6. Hemodialysis equipment

7. Maxillofacial devices and devices which replace all or part
of the ear or nose

8. Prosthetic lenses which replace the lens of an eye

9. Urinary collection systems, including Foley catheters,
when replacing bladder function in cases of permanent urinary
incontinence

10. Eyeglasses, contact lenses, bedpans and incontinent
apparel are not considered prosthetic devices and are subject to
sales tax

(C) Examples of exempt orthopedic devices include:

1. Artificial legs, arms and eyes including terminal devices
such as artificial hands

2. Hoods and space shoes which replace part of a foot

3. Orthotics

4. Stump stockings and harnesses when they are essential to
the effective use of an artificial limb

5. Trusses

6. Elastic braces, elastic stockings, arm slings, elastic wraps
and garter belts, are not considered orthopedic devices and are
subject to sales tax

(D) Examples of exempt orthopedic and prosthetic devices used
in dentistry include:

1. Restorative materials.

A. Acrylics
B. Aluminum crowns
C. Amalgam
D. Bases and liners
E. Cements
F. Chrome steel crowns
G. Copper bands
H. Crown forms
I. Dentin enamel adhesives
J. Denture anchors
K. Denture repair materials
L. Denture teeth
M. Gold
N. Mercury
O. Pins
P. Pit and fissure sealants
Q. Porcelains
R. Posts
S. Temporary filling materials
T. Zinc oxide (Eugenol)
2. Prosthetic devices and supportive materials.
A. Acrylics
B. Bonding materials
C. Chrome alloys
D. Composed materials
E. Denture anchors
E Denture repair materials
G. Denture teeth
H. Implant materials
I. Metal alloys
3. Orthodontic devices and materials.
A. Arch bar splits
B. Bone grafting materials
C. Cresitine
D. Endodontic materials
E. Face bow head gear
E Gor-tex grafting materials
G. Gutta percha points
H. Muscosal grafts (natural and artificial)
I. Orthodontic appliances
J. Orthodontic brackets
K. Orthodontic elastics
L. Orthodontic expansion screw
M. Orthodontic resins
N. Orthodontic separators
O. Orthodontic waxes
P. Orthodontic wires
Q. Root canal sealants
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R. Silver points
S. Surgical wires
(E) Sales of other specific health-related equipment and acces-
sories are exempt from sales tax.
1. These specific items are—
A. Ambulatory aides
B. Braille writers
C. Electronic Braille equipment
D. Hospital beds and accessories
E. Home respiratory equipment and accessories
E Stairway lifts
G. Wheelchairs, manual and powered
2. If purchased by or on behalf of a person with one (1) or
more physical or mental disabilities to enable them to function
more independently, the following items are also exempt:
A. Electronic alternative and augmentative communication
devices
B. Electronic print enlargers and magnifiers
C. Items used solely to modify motor vehicles to permit the
use of such motor vehicles by individuals with disabilities
D. Reading machines
E. Scooters

AUTHORITY: section 144.270, RSMo 1994. Original rule filed
Sept. 29, 1999.

PUBLIC ENTITY COST: This proposed rule will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE ENTITY COST: This proposed rule will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the
Department of Revenue, Office of Legislation and Regulations,
P.O. Box 629, Jefferson City, MO 65105. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 12—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division 10—Director of Revenue
Chapter 111—Sales/Use Tax

PROPOSED RULE
12 CSR 10-111.016 Refunds and Credits

PURPOSE: Section 144.190, RSMo permits a taxpayer to file a
claim for refund of an overpayment of sales or use taxes resulting
from a mistake of fact or law. Section 144.100, RSMo requires a
taxpayer to file an amended return fo correct an error or omission
on a return. Section 144.746, RSMo allows the taxpayer and the
department to extend by agreement the time to file a claim for
refund. Section 144.030.2(23), RSMo establishes special refund
procedures for purchasers of domestic utilities under a non-domes-
tic utility rate classification. This rule explains requirements for
obtaining a refund or credit on overpayment of sales and use taxes.

(1) In general, if a taxpayer has overpaid tax, the taxpayer may file
a claim for a refund with the department.

(2) Basic Application of Tax.

(A) A taxpayer may file a claim for a refund within three (3)
years after the date of an overpayment. The date of the overpay-
ment is the due date of the original return or the date paid
whichever is later. The department will not consider a claim unless
it is filed within the three (3)-year period. Every claim must be in

writing under oath, and must state the specific grounds upon
which the claim is founded. If the overpayment is due to an error
or omission in a previously filed return, the claim must be accom-
panied by an amended return for each period in which the tax was
originally reported. If the error or omission is corrected in the
return immediately following the filing period in which the error
or omission occurred, no amended return or claim for refund is
required.

(B) The person requesting the refund or credit must be the per-
son who is legally obligated to remit the tax to the Department of
Revenue. If a taxpayer erroneously pays sales tax to a vendor, the
taxpayer should seek a refund from that vendor. Vendors may file
a claim on behalf of the purchaser by submitting a claim for refund
and amended returns for the period(s) in which the tax was erro-
neously remitted.

(C) The department will issue a statement approving the credit
in the amount of the overpayment instead of a refund if the tax-
payer requests a credit on the claim. The credit may be applied to
any subsequent tax liability by attaching the approved credit autho-
rization form to the return to which the credit is being applied. In
no case, however, should a person take a credit for any overpay-
ment of tax unless prior approval has been obtained from the
department. If it is determined later that the person will incur no
future liability, for example the business is closed, the credit may
be returned to the department for a refund.

(D) If a sale is rescinded, no amended return or claim for refund
is required. The seller may adjust its gross receipts on its next filed
return. However, the adjustment may not exceed the gross receipts
for the filing period.

(E) Interest is paid on all refunds at a rate established pursuant
to section 32.057, RSMo. Interest does not apply to a credit.

(F) No refunds will be granted for illegally or erroneously over-
charged or overcollected sales tax incident to credit card discounts,
imposition of sales tax by the retailer upon amounts representing
cigarette tax imposed under Chapter 149, RSMo, or imposition of
sales tax by the retailer upon amounts representing tax on sales of
beer, liquor or wine under Chapter 311, RSMo.

(G) The department may recover any refund or credit erro-
neously made or allowed in an action against the person legally
obligated to remit the tax.

(H) A person making taxable, non-domestic purchases of utility
services and using any portion of the services for nontaxable
domestic use may apply for a credit or refund on the domestic use
portion of the purchase. In addition, a person making domestic
purchases of utility services on behalf of occupants of residential
apartments, condominiums and nursing homes through a single or
master meter, may also apply for a credit or refund on the domes-
tic use portion of the purchase. Domestic use includes common
areas and facilities as well as vacant units. The claim for refund
must be filed between the first day of the first month and the fif-
teenth day of the fourth month following the year of purchase.

(I) Alternatively, the purchaser of nontaxable, domestic use util-
ity services may request the utility company to apply for a refund
on the domestic portion of its utility purchases. The utility com-
pany, as the seller of utilities, has three (3) years from the due date
of its return for the period in which the domestic utilities were sold
to file a claim for refund on behalf of the purchaser.

(J) The taxpayer and the department may extend by agreement
the period allowed for filing a claim for refund. However, such an
agreement is allowed only if the time for filing a claim for refund
has not yet expired.

(3) Examples.

(A) A vendor collects tax on a sale to a customer that takes
place in August and reports it on its August sales tax return. In
October, that customer presents a valid exemption certificate for
the August sale. To claim a refund, the vendor must complete a



November 1, 1999
Vol. 24, No. 21

Missouri Register

Orders of Rulemaking

Page 2635

notarized claim for refund and submit it with a copy of the invoice,
the customer’s exemption certificate and an amended August
return.

(B) A carpet vendor determines that in the past three (3) years
it has been collecting and remitting sales tax on carpet sales in
which it is also installing the carpet in homes and businesses. The
vendor purchases its carpet from a wholesaler located outside of
the state. Therefore, the carpet vendor should have been paying use
tax on its purchases of the carpet from its wholesaler and selling
its carpet without charging sales tax on its installation sales. The
vendor should complete amended sales tax returns for each period
during the three (3) years and amended use tax returns for each
period during the three (3) years. If the amended returns result in
an overpayment, the carpet vendor may claim a refund by com-
pleting a refund application.

(C) A computer store sells a computer to a customer and reports
the tax on its May sales tax return. In July the customer returns
the computer for a full refund. Because the May sales tax has been
remitted to the department the computer store adjusts its gross
receipts for July. If the adjustment exceeds its July gross receipts,
the computer store must submit an application for refund and an
amended return for May.

(D) A manufacturer discovers it paid tax on its purchase of a
piece of equipment that qualified for an expanded plant exemption.
The manufacturer purchased the equipment from an equipment
supply company who reported the tax to the department. The sup-
ply company must request the refund from the department on
behalf of the manufacturer by submitting a refund application, the
manufacturer’s exemption certificate and an invoice of the sale.

(E) In March 1999, a taxpayer discovers it paid tax on a January
1996 sale for which it has an exemption certificate. The taxpayer
submits a refund application for the exempt sale. Because the due
date of the original January 1996 return was February 20, 1996,
the refund application will be denied because it is not within the
three (3)-year statute of limitations.

(F) In 1997, an apartment complex under a non-domestic rate
classification pays the water bill, including sales tax, to the utility
company for the entire complex. The apartment complex may file
a claim for refund on its 1997 purchases of water prior to April
15, 1998.

(G) A nursing home that is under a non-domestic rate classifi-
cation pays for the electricity, including tax for the entire facility
in 1996, 1997 and 1998. The electric company may file a claim
for refund on behalf of the nursing home in January 1999, as long
as it is filed within three (3) years of the due date of the earliest
return.

(H) The department begins an audit on a taxpayer on June 1,
1999, that will cover the tax periods May 1996 through May 1999.
The department and the taxpayer may enter into an agreement to
extend the period for issuing an assessment and for filing a claim
for refund for a specified period of time. The agreement must be
made before the original expiration date for issuing the assessment
or claiming the refund and may be extended by subsequent agree-
ments.

AUTHORITY: section 144.270, RSMo 1994. Original rule filed
Sept. 29, 1999.

PUBLIC ENTITY COST: This proposed rule will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE ENTITY COST: This proposed rule will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the
Department of Revenue, Office of Legislation and Regulations,

P.O. Box 629, Jefferson City, MO 65105. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Orders of Rulemaking



v24n21b.pdf
v24n21b.pdf

	Table of Contents
	Proposed Rules
	Economic Development
	Elementary and Secondary Education
	Natural Resources
	Revenue

	Orders of Rulemaking
	In Additions
	Bid Openings
	Tables
	Rule Changes Since Update
	Emergency Rules in Effect
	Register Index


	o: 


