Inder this heading will appear the text of proposed rules and changes. The notice of proposed rulemaking is required to contain an explanation of any new rule or any change in an existing rule and the reasons therefor. This is set out in the Purpose section with each rule. Also required is a citation to the legal authority to make rules. This appears following the text of the rule, after the word "Authority."

ntirely new rules are printed without any special symbology under the heading of the proposed rule. If an existing rule is to be amended or rescinded, it will have a heading of proposed amendment or proposed rescission. Rules which are proposed to be amended will have new matter printed in boldface type and matter to be deleted placed in brackets.

n important function of the *Missouri Register* is to solicit and encourage public participation in the rulemaking process. The law provides that for every proposed rule, amendment or rescission there must be a notice that anyone may comment on the proposed action. This comment may take different forms.

If an agency is required by statute to hold a public hearing before making any new rules, then a Notice of Public Hearing will appear following the text of the rule. Hearing dates must be at least thirty (30) days after publication of the notice in the *Missouri Register*. If no hearing is planned or required, the agency must give a Notice to Submit Comments. This allows anyone to file statements in support of or in opposition to the proposed action with the agency within a specified time, no less than thirty (30) days after publication of the notice in the *Missouri Register*.

n agency may hold a public hearing on a rule even though not required by law to hold one. If an agency allows comments to be received following the hearing date, the close of comments date will be used as the beginning day in the ninety (90)-day-count necessary for the filing of the order of rulemaking.

If an agency decides to hold a public hearing after planning not to, it must withdraw the earlier notice and file a new notice of proposed rulemaking and schedule a hearing for a date not less than thirty (30) days from the date of publication of the new notice.

Proposed Amendment Text Reminder: **Boldface text indicates new matter**.

[Bracketed text indicates matter being deleted.]

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 70—Plant Industries
Chapter 40—Missouri Treated Timber Products Law
Rules

PROPOSED RESCISSION

2 CSR 70-40.015 Standards For Treated Timber. This rule established standards to be used by anyone selling or offering for sale treated timber products in the state of Missouri.

PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded and readopted for clarification purposes.

AUTHORITY: section 280.050, RSMo 1986. Original rule filed Oct. 10, 1980, effective Feb. 1, 1981. Amended: Filed Sept. 15, 1984, effective Jan. 2, 1985. Amended: Filed Dec. 16, 1985, effective March 13, 1986. Amended: Filed March 14, 1986, effective June

16, 1986. Amended: Filed March 18, 1987, effective April 1, 1988. Amended: Filed Jan. 12, 1990, effective April 16, 1990. Rescinded: Filed Aug. 6, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the Missouri Department of Agriculture, Plant Industries Division, Forest Resources Program, PO Box 630, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 70—Plant Industries
Chapter 40—Missouri Treated Timber Products Law
Rules

PROPOSED RULE

2 CSR 70-40.015 Standards For Treated Timber

PURPOSE: This rule establishes standards to be used by anyone selling or offering for sale treated timber products in the state of Missouri.

PUBLISHER'S NOTE: The secretary of state has determined that the publication of the entire text of the material which is incorporated by reference as a portion of this rule would be unduly cumbersome or expensive. Therefore, the material which is so incorporated is on file with the agency who filed this rule, and with the Office of the Secretary of State. Any interested person may view this material at either agency's headquarters or the same will be made available at the Office of the Secretary of State at a cost not to exceed actual cost of copy reproduction. The entire text of the rule is printed here. This note refers only to the incorporated by reference material.

- (1) The preservatives and preservative solution used shall meet the American Wood Preservers' Association (AWPA) Standard P-Preservative, as published in the 2001 AWPA Book of Standards, as incorporated by reference in this rule.
- (2) Standards for Treatment of Coniferous, Softwood Species. The requirements for retention and penetration of preservatives used shall not be less than the published 2001 *American Wood Preservers' Association Book of Standards*, as incorporated by reference in this rule, except that—
- (A) For ponderosa pine, red pine and southern yellow pine, the minimum net retention level of copper naphthenate shall be .055 pounds per cubic foot, copper as metal, for round poles and posts used as structural members. This section shall expire when C16 standards are established by AWPA for these products.
- (B) Softwoods not listed in the AWPA Book of Standards shall be labeled "Treated with a wood preservative but not recommended for structural purposes."
- 1. All products as defined by this rule shall be labeled with a tag in accordance to the following requirements:
- A. Tags shall remain attached at each point of sale and may only be removed by the final purchaser;
- B. Each tag shall be placed on the surface of each product so that it is readily visible to the purchaser;

- C. Each tag shall be legible;
- D. Tags shall bear the required information in print of not less than ten (10)-point type;
 - E. Tags shall be constructed of water resistant material;
- F. Tags shall have minimum dimensions of one inch (1") in width and two inches (2") in length.
- (3) Standards for Treatment of Deciduous, Hardwood Species. The requirement for retention and penetration of preservatives used shall not be less than the published 2001 American Wood Preservers Association Standards, as incorporated by reference in this rule, except that—
- (A) For standard C2 the minimum net retention for oil-borne pentachlorophenol in the treatment of hardwoods, other than white oak, shall be 0.20 pounds of active ingredient per cubic foot or equal to (4.0) pounds of five percent (5%) solution. This standard shall become effective April 1, 1988. White oak shall be treated to refusal:
- (B) For standard C2 the minimum net retention for waterborne copper chromated arsenate in the treatment of hardwoods other than white oak shall be 0.264 pounds of active ingredient. White oak shall be treated to refusal;
- (C) For standard C2 the minimum net retention for oil-borne copper naphthenate in the treatment of hardwoods, other than white oak, shall be 0.033 pounds per cubic foot copper as metal. White oak shall be treated to refusal;
- (D) Effective January 1, 2003, all hardwoods, five inches (5") and greater in thickness and treated according to subsections (3)(A)–(C) or up to the levels of AWPA standard C2, shall be labeled with a tag as follows:
- 1. Hardwoods listed in the AWPA manual shall be labeled with a tag stating the percentage of AWPA ground contact or above ground contact retention level guaranteed and a statement of treatment to refusal for white oak. For example, a mixed bundle of white and red oak timbers, five inches (5") in thickness and greater, treated with a five percent (5%) solution of pentachlorophenol to 0.20 pounds of active ingredient per cubic foot, for ground contact, shall be tagged "Treated to 66% of AWPA Ground Contact Standards. White Oak Treated to Refusal." Furthermore, the same mixed bundle of white and red oak timbers, treated under the same conditions to 0.25 pounds of active ingredient per cubic foot could also be tagged, "Treated to 100% of AWPA Above Ground Contact Standards. White Oak Treated to Refusal";
- 2. Hardwoods not listed in the AWPA manual shall be labeled "Treated with a wood preservative but not recommended for structural purposes"; and
- 3. All products as defined by this rule shall be labeled with a tag in accordance to the following requirements:
- A. Tags shall remain attached at each point of sale and may only be removed by the final purchaser;
- B. Each tag shall be placed on the surface of each product so that it is readily visible to the purchaser;
 - C. Each tag shall be legible;
- D. Tags shall bear the required information in print of not less than ten (10)-point type;
 - E. Tags shall be constructed of water-resistant material; and
- F. Tags shall have minimum dimensions of one inch (1") in width and two inches (2") in length;
- (E) For Standard C-16 the minimum net retention for oil-borne pentachlorophenol in the treatment of hardwood posts and poles, sawn and unsawn, other than white oak shall not be less than 0.20 pounds of active ingredient per cubic foot or equal to four (4) pounds of five percent (5%) solution. White oak shall be treated to refusal;
- (F) For Standard C-16 the minimum net retention for oil-borne copper naphthenate in the treatment of hardwood posts and poles, sawn and unsawn other than white oak shall not be less than 0.033 pounds per cubic foot copper as metal. White oak shall be treated to refusal;

- (G) For Standard C-16 the minimum net retention for waterborne copper chromated arsenate in the treatment of hardwood posts and poles, sawn and unsawn other than white oak shall not be less than 0.264 pounds of active ingredient per cubic foot. White oak shall be treated to refusal.
- (3) Other Treatment Standards. All other standards for treatment of timber or timber products with preservatives not covered by 2 CSR 70-40.015(2)(A)–(G) shall not be less than the published 2001 *American Wood Preservers Association Book of Standards*, as incorporated by reference in this rule.

AUTHORITY: section 280.050, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Oct. 10, 1980, effective Feb. 1, 1981. Amended: Filed Sept. 15, 1984, effective Jan. 2, 1985. Amended: Filed Dec. 16, 1985, effective March 13, 1986. Amended: Filed March 14, 1986, effective June 16, 1986. Amended: Filed March 18, 1987, effective April 1, 1988. Amended: Filed Jan. 12, 1990, effective April 16, 1990. Rescinded and readopted: Filed Aug. 6, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Department of Agriculture, Plant Industries Division, Forest Resources Program, PO Box 630, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE Division 70—Plant Industries Chapter 40—Missouri Treated Timber Products Law Rules

PROPOSED RESCISSION

2 CSR **70-40.025** Standards For Inspection, Sampling and Analysis. This regulation established guidelines for standards of inspection, sampling and analysis of treated timber products.

PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded and readopted for clarification purposes.

AUTHORITY: section 280.050, RSMo 1986. Original rule filed Oct. 10, 1980, effective Feb. 1, 1981. Amended: Filed Sept. 12, 1984, effective Jan. 1, 1985. Amended: Filed Dec. 16, 1985, effective March 13, 1986. Rescinded: Filed Aug. 6, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the Missouri Department of Agriculture, Plant Industries Division, Forest Resources Program, PO Box 630, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE Division 70—Plant Industries Chapter 40—Missouri Treated Timber Products Law Rules

PROPOSED RULE

2 CSR 70-40.025 Standards For Inspection, Sampling and Analysis

PURPOSE: This regulation establishes guidelines for standards of inspection, sampling and analysis of treated timber products.

PUBLISHER'S NOTE: The secretary of state has determined that the publication of the entire text of the material which is incorporated by reference as a portion of this rule would be unduly cumbersome or expensive. Therefore, the material which is so incorporated is on file with the agency who filed this rule, and with the Office of the Secretary of State. Any interested person may view this material at either agency's headquarters or the same will be made available at the Office of the Secretary of State at a cost not to exceed actual cost of copy reproduction. The entire text of the rule is printed here. This note refers only to the incorporated by reference material.

- (1) The standards for inspection procedures shall be in accordance with the American Wood Preservers Association (AWPA) Standard M2-Inspection of Treated Timber Products as published in the 2001 AWPA Book of Standards, as incorporated by reference in this rule.
- (2) The standards for sampling and quality control procedures shall be in accordance with the published 2001 American Wood Preservers' Association, as incorporated by reference in this rule, except that—
- (A) Any core samples taken during an inspection shall consist of one (1) lot. A lot for inspection at the treating plant will normally be a retort charge. A lot for inspection at plant storage yards or at sales yards where the final purchase has not been made, shall be that material available at the time and place of inspection which contains products from any one (1) treating plant and shall contain only one (1) species and one (1) preservative treatment. Lumber, plywood and posts shall not be mixed in one (1) inspection lot.
- (B) The number of core samples taken during inspection of coniferous, softwood species shall be twenty (20) per lot. The samples shall be selected randomly from the lot being inspected;
- (C) The number of core samples taken during inspection of deciduous, hardwood species shall be eight (8) per lot. The samples shall be randomly selected from the lot being inspected.
- (D) Effective January 1, 2003 all treated timber producers will be required to maintain an eighty percent (80%) compliance rating. After ten (10) samples have been taken from separate lots, compliance rates will be calculated. If a producer has three (3) or more stop sales within these ten (10) samples, the producer will be contacted and informed that if an eighty percent (80%) compliance rating is not met after an additional ten (10) samples have been taken, the director or his representative will hold a hearing to determine if the producer's license should be suspended or revoked.
- (3) The standards for methods of analysis for all type preservatives used shall be in accordance with the AWPA Standard A-Analysis Methods, as published in the 2001 AWPA Book of Standards, as incorporated by reference in this rule.

AUTHORITY: section 280.050, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Oct. 10, 1980, effective Feb. 1, 1981. Amended: Filed Sept. 12, 1984, effective Jan. 1, 1985. Amended: Filed Dec. 16, 1985, effective March 13, 1986. Rescinded and readopted: Filed Aug. 6, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Department of Agriculture, Plant Industries Division, Forest Resources Program, PO Box 630, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE Division 70—Plant Industries Chapter 40—Missouri Treated Timber Products Law Rules

PROPOSED RESCISSION

2 CSR 70-40.040 Branding of Treated Timber. This rule required each treated timber company to brand, for identification purposes, all treated timber products sold in Missouri.

PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded and readopted for clarification purposes.

AUTHORITY: section 280.050, RSMo 1986. Original rule filed March 8, 1962, effective March 18, 1962. Amended: Filed Sept. 15, 1976, effective Dec. 11, 1976. Amended: Filed Oct. 10, 1980, effective Feb. 1, 1981. Amended: Filed Sept. 12, 1984, effective Jan. 1, 1985. Rescinded: Filed Aug. 6, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the Missouri Department of Agriculture, Plant Industries Division, Forest Resources Program, PO Box 630, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE Division 70—Plant Industries Chapter 40—Missouri Treated Timber Products Law Rules

PROPOSED RULE

2 CSR 70-40.040 Branding of Treated Timber

PURPOSE: This rule requires each treated timber company to brand, for identification purposes, all treated timber products sold in Missouri.

- (1) All treated timber, as defined in section 280.010, RSMo 2000, two inches (2") thick and over shall be branded clearly and with reasonable permanency by one (1) of the following methods before being sold or offered for sale in the state of Missouri:
- (A) Hammerstamp Branding (Special note* Hammerstamp branding is an acceptable branding method for sawn and unsawn posts and poles only. Lumber should be branded using either water-proof labels or ink-stamps);

- (B) Water-proof labels;
- (C) Ink-stamp branding.
- (2) All treated timber, as defined in section 280.010, RSMo 2000, less than two inches (2") in nominal thickness shall not have less than twenty percent (20%) of the pieces within a bundle branded before being sold or offered for sale in the state of Missouri.
- (3) All brands shall be registered with the director of agriculture and shall not be identical to nor closely resemble any other company's brand or brands registered with the director of agriculture.
- (4) The brand used under this regulation shall not be less than one-half inch (1/2") in diameter.
- (5) Labels or ink stamps must possess the following requirements:
 - (A) Name and address of treater;
 - (B) Type of preservative used;
 - (C) Retention level.

AUTHORITY: section 280.050, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed March 8, 1962, effective March 18, 1962. Amended: Filed Sept. 15, 1976, effective Dec. 11, 1976. Amended: Filed Oct. 10, 1980, effective Feb. 1, 1981. Amended: Filed Sept. 12, 1984, effective Jan. 1, 1985. Rescinded and readopted: Filed Aug. 6, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Department of Agriculture, Plant Industries Division, Forest Resources Program, PO Box 630, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE Division 70—Plant Industries Chapter 40—Missouri Treated Timber Products Law Rules

PROPOSED RULE

2 CSR **70-40.045** Tagging Requirements for Peeler Core Landscape Timbers

PURPOSE: This rule establishes guidelines for tagging peeler core landscape timbers to ensure public awareness of their inability to accept preservative adequately.

- (1) All treated peeler core landscape timbers shall be labeled with a tag that has the following statement: "Treated with a wood preservative but not recommended for ground contact or structural purposes."
- (2) All products as defined in this rule shall also be labeled in accordance with 2 CSR 70-40.040.

AUTHORITY: section 280.050, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 6, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Department of Agriculture, Plant Industries Division, Forest Resources Program, PO Box 630, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE Division 90—Weights and Measures Chapter 20—Methods of Sale for Products

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

2 CSR 90-20.040 *NIST Handbook 130*, "Uniform Regulation for the Method of Sale of Commodities." The director is amending section (1).

PURPOSE: The purpose of this amendment is to eliminate the alcohol labeling requirement for retail motor fuel dispensers and to incorporate by reference the 2002 Edition of NIST Handbook 130 relating to method of sale of commodities.

PUBLISHER'S NOTE: The secretary of state has determined that the publication of the entire text of the material which is incorporated by reference as a portion of this rule would be unduly cumbersome or expensive. Therefore, the material which is so incorporated is on file with the agency who filed this rule, and with the Office of the Secretary of State. Any interested person may view this material at either agency's headquarters or the same will be made available at the Office of the Secretary of State at a cost not to exceed actual cost of copy reproduction. The entire text of the rule is printed here. This note refers only to the incorporated by reference material. This handbook can be accessed at the NIST website at www.nist.gov/owm.

(1) The rule for the Division of Weights and Measures for method of sale of commodities shall incorporate by reference the section of the NIST Handbook 130, [2000] 2002 edition, entitled "Regulation for the Method of Sale of Commodities[.]," except for section 2.20 related to gasoline-oxygenate blends.

AUTHORITY: section 413.065, RSMo [Supp. 1999] 2000. Original rule filed May 9, 1984, effective Aug. 11, 1984. For intervening history, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Emergency amendment filed Aug. 30, 2002, effective Sept. 10, 2002, expires March 9, 2003. Amended: Filed Aug. 30, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the Department of Agriculture, Weights and Measures Division, Ron Hooker, Division Director, PO Box 630, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE Division 90—Weights and Measures Chapter 30—Petroleum Inspection

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

2 CSR 90-30.040 Quality Standards *[F]* for **Motor Fuels**. The director is amending section (2).

PURPOSE: The purpose of this proposed amendment is to eliminate the alcohol labeling requirement for retail motor fuel dispensers.

(2) Method of Sale of Gasoline-Alcohol Blends.

[(A) Method of Retail Sale. Notwithstanding any rule to the contrary, all motor fuel kept, offered or exposed for sale, or sold at retail containing at least one percent (1%) by volume of any alcohol shall be identified as such using the word contains or other wording approved by the director, in conjunction therein, the maximum volume percentages to the nearest whole percent and the name of each alcohol additive on the upper fifty percent (50%) of the dispenser front panel in a position clear and conspicuous from the driver's position, in a type at least one-half inch (1/2") in height, one-sixteenth inch (1/16") stroke (width of type). Examples:

CONTAINS 10% ETHANOL CONTAINS ALCOHOL 5% METHANOL 5% TERTIARY BUTANOL

(B) Documentation for Dispenser Labeling Purposes.] At the time of delivery, [T]the retailer must be provided [at the time of delivery of the fuel on] an invoice, bill of lading, shipping paper or other documentation, by the supplier and/or carrier, the presence and maximum amount of ethanol, methanol or any type of alcohol (in terms of percent by volume) contained in the fuel. [This documentation is only for dispenser labeling purposes; i]It is the responsibility of any potential blender to determine the total oxygen content of the motor fuel before blending.

AUTHORITY: section 414.142, RSMo [Supp. 1993] 2000. This rule was previously filed as 2 CSR 90-30.030. Emergency rule filed Dec. 1, 1987, effective Jan. 1, 1988, expired March 1, 1988. Original rule filed Oct. 16, 1987, effective Feb. II, 1988. Amended: Filed April 2, 1990, effective June 28, 1990. Emergency amendment filed Aug. 30, 2002, effective Sept. 10, 2002, expires March 9, 2003. Amended: Filed Aug. 30, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment is estimated to cost state agencies or political subdivisions less than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment is estimated to cost private entities less than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the Department of Agriculture, Ron Hooker, Director, Weights and Measures Division, PO Box 630, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0630. To be considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE Division 90—Weights and Measures Chapter 30—Petroleum Inspection

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

2 CSR 90-30.050 Inspection of Premises. The director is amending section (28).

PURPOSE: This proposed amendment will more appropriately address those potential safety hazards associated with nonmetallic piping.

(28) All piping, including fiberglass and other non-metallic piping, constructed of low melting point materials shall be installed in conformance with manufacturers' instructions. All piping, including fiberglass and other non-metallic piping, constructed of low melting point materials [cannot be installed in] within dispensing devices or open pits beneath the dispensing device[, unless the piping is] shall be protected from fire exposure by a method [having a two (2)-hour fire rating and] that is approved by the director of the Department of Agriculture.

AUTHORITY: section 414.142, RSMo [Supp. 1998] 2000. This rule was previously filed as 2 CSR 90-30.010. Emergency rule filed Dec. 1, 1987, effective Jan. 1, 1988, expired March 1, 1988. Original rule filed Oct. 16, 1987, effective Feb. 11, 1988. Amended: Filed April 2, 1990, effective June 28, 1990. Amended: Filed April 8, 1999, effective Nov. 30, 1999. Amended: Filed Aug. 30, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment is estimated to cost state agencies or political subdivisions less than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment is estimated to cost private entities less than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the Department of Agriculture, Ron Hooker, Director, Weights and Measures Division, PO Box 630, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0630. To be considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT Division 150—State Board of Registration

for the Healing Arts Chapter 3—Licensing of Physical Therapists

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 150-3.210 Advisory Commission for Physical Therapists

PURPOSE: This rule establishes the per-diem amount for members of the Advisory Commission for Physical Therapists pursuant to section 334.625, RSMo.

- (1) Based on the authority granted by the legislature, there is hereby created an Advisory Commission for Physical Therapists to be composed of five (5) members to be appointed by the governor with the advice and consent of the senate.
- (2) Each member of the commission shall receive as compensation the sum of fifty dollars (\$50) for each day that member devotes to the affairs of the board.
- (3) No request for the compensation provided in this rule shall be processed for payment unless sufficient funds are available for that purpose within the appropriations for this board.

AUTHORITY: sections 334.125, RSMo 2000 and 334.625, RSMo Supp. 2001. Original rule filed Aug. 15, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule is estimated to cost the State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts an increase of two thousand dollars (\$2,000) annually for the life of the rule. It is anticipated that the total costs will recur annually for the life of the rule, may vary with inflation and is expected to increase each year at the rate projected by the Legislative Oversight Committee. A detailed fiscal note, which estimates the cost of compliance with this rule, has been filed with the secretary of state.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri State Board of Healing Arts, Attn: Tina Steinman, Executive Director, 3605 Missouri Boulevard, PO Box 4, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

FISCAL NOTE PUBLIC ENTITY COST

I. RULE NUMBER

Title: 4 – Department of Economic Development

Division: 150 – State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts

Chapter: 3 – Licensing of Physical Therapists

Type of Rulemaking: Proposed Rule

Rule Number and Name: 4 CSR 150-3.210 Advisory Commission for Physical Therapists

II. SUMMARY OF FISCAL IMPACT

Affected Agency or Political Subdivision	Estimated Annual Cost to Comply	
State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts	\$2,000	

III. WORKSHEET

Compensation for each member per day - \$50.00

IV. ASSUMPTIONS

- 1. The Advisory Commission for Physical Therapists is currently composed of five (5) members.
- 2. The commission currently holds two (2) day board meetings four (4) times a year.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 150—State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts Chapter 4—Licensing of Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 150-4.220 Advisory Commission for Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists

PURPOSE: This rule establishes the per-diem amount for members of the Advisory Commission for Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists pursuant to section 345.080, RSMo.

- (1) Based on the authority granted by the legislature, there is hereby created an Advisory Commission for Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists to be composed of seven (7) members to be appointed by the Missouri State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts.
- (2) Each member of the commission shall receive as compensation the sum of fifty dollars (\$50) for each day that member devotes to the affairs of the board.
- (3) No request for the compensation provided in this rule shall be processed for payment unless sufficient funds are available for that purpose within the appropriations for this board.

AUTHORITY: sections 345.030, RSMo 2000 and 345.080, RSMo Supp. 2001. Original rule filed Aug. 15, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule is estimated to cost the State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts an increase of two thousand eight hundred dollars (\$2,800) annually for the life of the rule. It is anticipated that the total costs will recur annually for the life of the rule, may vary with inflation and is expected to increase each year at the rate projected by the Legislative Oversight Committee. A detailed fiscal note, which estimates the cost of compliance with this rule, has been filed with the secretary of state.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri State Board of Healing Arts, Attn: Tina Steinman, Executive Director, 3605 Missouri Boulevard, PO Box 4, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

FISCAL NOTE PUBLIC ENTITY COST

I. RULE NUMBER

Title: 4 – Department of Economic Development

Division: 150 State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts

Chapter: 4 – Licensing of Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists

Type of Rulemaking: Proposed Rule

Rule Number and Name: 4 CSR 150-4.220 Advisory Commission for Speech-Language

Pathologists and Audiologists

II. SUMMARY OF FISCAL IMPACT

Affected Agency or Political Subdivision	Estimated Annual Cost to Comply	
State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts	\$2,800	

III. WORKSHEET

Compensation for each member per day - \$50.00

IV. ASSUMPTIONS

- 1. The Advisory Commission for Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists is currently composed of seven (7) members.
- 2. The commission currently holds two (2) day board meetings four (4) times a year.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT Division 150—State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts Chapter 6—Registration of Athletic Trainers

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 150-6.080 Missouri Athletic Trainer Advisory Committee

PURPOSE: This rule establishes the per-diem amount for members of the Missouri Athletic Trainer Advisory Committee pursuant to section 334.625, RSMo.

- (1) Based on the authority granted by the legislature, there is hereby created a Missouri Athletic Trainer Advisory Committee to be composed of five (5) members to be appointed by the Missouri State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts.
- (2) Each member of the committee shall receive as compensation the sum of fifty dollars (\$50) for each day that member devotes to the affairs of the board.
- (3) No request for the compensation provided in this rule shall be processed for payment unless sufficient funds are available for that purpose within the appropriations for this board.

AUTHORITY: section 334.625, RSMo Supp. 2001. Original rule filed Aug. 15, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule is estimated to cost the State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts an increase of two thousand dollars (\$2,000) annually for the life of the rule. It is anticipated that the total costs will recur annually for the life of the rule, may vary with inflation and is expected to increase each year at the rate projected by the Legislative Oversight Committee. A detailed fiscal note, which estimates the cost of compliance with this rule, has been filed with the secretary of state.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri State Board of Healing Arts, Attn: Tina Steinman, Executive Director, 3605 Missouri Boulevard, PO Box 4, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

FISCAL NOTE PUBLIC ENTITY COST

I. RULE NUMBER

Title: 4 - Department of Economic Development

Division: 150 - State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts

Chapter: 6 - Registration of Athletic Trainers

Type of Rulemaking: Proposed Rule

Rule Number and Name: 4 CSR 150-6.080 Athletic Trainers

11. SUMMARY OF FISCAL IMPACT

Affected Agency or Political Subdivision	Estimated Annual Cost to Comply	
State Board of Registration	\$2,000	
for the Healing Arts		

III. WORKSHEET

Compensation for each member per day - \$50.00

IV. ASSUMPTIONS

- 1. The Missouri Athletic Trainer Advisory Committee is currently composed of five (5) members.
- 2. The commission currently holds two (2) day board meetings four (4) times a year.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT Division 150—State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts

Chapter 7—Licensing of Physician Assistants

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 150-7.320 Advisory Commission for Physician Assistants

PURPOSE: This rule establishes the per-diem amount for members of the Advisory Commission for Physician Assistants pursuant to section 334.749, RSMo.

- (1) Based on the authority granted by the legislature, there is hereby created an Advisory Commission for Physician Assistants to be composed of five (5) members to be appointed by the governor with the advice and consent of the senate.
- (2) Each member of the commission shall receive as compensation the sum of fifty dollars (\$50) for each day that member devotes to the affairs of the board.
- (3) No request for the compensation provided in this rule shall be processed for payment unless sufficient funds are available for that purpose within the appropriations for this board.

AUTHORITY: section 334.125, RSMo 2000 and 334.749, RSMo Supp. 2001. Original rule filed Aug. 15, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule is estimated to cost the State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts an increase of two thousand dollars (\$2,000) annually for the life of the rule. It is anticipated that the total costs will recur annually for the life of the rule, may vary with inflation and is expected to increase each year at the rate projected by the Legislative Oversight Committee. A detailed fiscal note, which estimates the cost of compliance with this rule, has been filed with the secretary of state.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri State Board of Healing Arts, Attn: Tina Steinman, Executive Director, 3605 Missouri Boulevard, PO Box 4, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

FISCAL NOTE PUBLIC ENTITY COST

I. RULE NUMBER

Title: 4 – Department of Economic Development

Division: 150 – State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts

Chapter: 7 – Licensing of Physician Assistants

Type of Rulemaking: Proposed Rule

Rule Number and Name: 4 CSR 150-7.320 Advisory Commission for Physician Assistants

II. SUMMARY OF FISCAL IMPACT

Affected Agency or Political Subdivision	Estimated Annual Cost to Comply	
State Board of Registration	\$2,000	
for the Healing Arts		

III. WORKSHEET

Compensation for each member per day - \$50.00

IV. ASSUMPTIONS

- 1. The Advisory Commission for Physician Assistants is currently composed of five (5) members.
- 2. The commission currently holds two (2) day board meetings four (4) times a year.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT Division 150—State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts Chapter 8—Licensing of Clinical Perfusionists

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 150-8.150 Advisory Commission for Clinical Perfusionists

PURPOSE: This rule establishes the per-diem amount for members of the Advisory Commission for Clinical Perfusionists pursuant to section 324.177, RSMo.

- (1) Based on the authority granted by the legislature, there is hereby created an Advisory Commission for Clinical Perfusionists to be composed of seven (7) members to be appointed by the governor with the advice and consent of the senate.
- (2) Each member of the commission shall receive as compensation the sum of fifty dollars (\$50) for each day that member devotes to the affairs of the board.
- (3) No request for the compensation provided in this rule shall be processed for payment unless sufficient funds are available for that purpose within the appropriations for this board.

AUTHORITY: section 324.177, RSMo Supp. 2001. Original rule filed Aug. 15, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule is estimated to cost the State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts an increase of two thousand eight hundred dollars (\$2,800) annually for the life of the rule. It is anticipated that the total costs will recur annually for the life of the rule, may vary with inflation and is expected to increase each year at the rate projected by the Legislative Oversight Committee. A detailed fiscal note, which estimates the cost of compliance with this rule, has been filed with the secretary of state.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri State Board of Healing Arts, Attn: Tina Steinman, Executive Director, 3605 Missouri Boulevard, PO Box 4, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

FISCAL NOTE PUBLIC ENTITY COST

I. RULE NUMBER

Title: 4 – Department of Economic Development

Division: 150 – State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts

Chapter: 8 – Licensing of Clinical Perfusionists

Type of Rulemaking: Proposed Rule

Rule Number and Name: 4 CSR 150-8.150 Advisory Commission for Clinical Perfusionists

II. SUMMARY OF FISCAL IMPACT

Affected Agency or Political Subdivision	Estimated Annual Cost to Comply	
State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts	\$2,800	
	·	

III. WORKSHEET

Compensation for each member per day - \$50.00

IV. ASSUMPTIONS

- 1. The Advisory Commission for Clinical Perfusionists is currently composed of seven (7) members.
- 2. The commission currently holds two (2) day board meetings four (4) times a year.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 2—Practice and Procedure

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 240-2.060 Applications. The commission is proposing to delete sections (3)–(13), (15) and (17) from the rule, to renumber the remaining sections of the rule accordingly, and to add one new section at the end of the rule.

PURPOSE: This amendment reflects a reorganization of the commission's rules regarding general filing requirements in that requirements mirroring those found in the sections being deleted from this rule are being adopted in various rules of the commission's new Chapter 3.

- [(3) Competitive telecommunications companies are exempt from subsections (7)(A)–(E), (8)(A)–(E), and (11)(C)-(G) of this rule; however, they must file a pleading indicating which company will be holding the certificate of service authority and providing service to Missouri customers, and the tariff under which service will be provided.
- (4) In addition to the requirements of section (1), applications for a certificate of convenience and necessity by a gas, electric, water, sewer or heating company shall include the following information:
 - (A) If the application is for a service area-
- 1. A statement as to the same or similar utility service, regulated and nonregulated, available in the area requested;
- 2. If there are ten (10) or more residents or landowners, the name and address of no fewer than ten (10) persons residing in the proposed service area or of no fewer than ten (10) landowners in the event there are no residences in the area, or, if there are fewer than ten (10) residents or landowners, the name and address of all residents and landowners;
 - 3. The legal description of the area to be certificated;
- 4. A plat drawn to a scale of one-half inch (1/2") to the mile on maps comparable to county highway maps issued by the Missouri Department of Transportation or a plat drawn to a scale of two thousand feet (2,000') to the inch; and
- 5. A feasibility study containing plans and specifications for the utility system and estimated cost of the construction of the utility system during the first three (3) years of construction; plans for financing; proposed rates and charges and an estimate of the number of customers, revenues and expenses during the first three (3) years of operations;
- (B) If the application is for electrical transmission lines, gas transmission lines or electrical production facilities—
- 1. A description of the route of construction and a list of all electric and telephone lines of regulated and nonregulated utilities, railroad tracks or any underground facility, as defined in section 319.015, RSMo, which the proposed construction will cross;
- 2. The plans and specifications for the complete construction project and estimated cost of the construction project or a statement of the reasons the information is currently unavailable and a date when it will be furnished; and
 - 3. Plans for financing;
- (C) When no evidence of approval of the affected governmental bodies is necessary, a statement to that effect;
- (D) When approval of the affected governmental bodies is required, evidence must be provided as follows:
- 1. When consent or franchise by a city or county is required, approval shall be shown by a certified copy of the

document granting the consent or franchise, or an affidavit of the applicant that consent has been acquired; and

- 2. A certified copy of the required approval of other governmental agencies; and
- (E) The facts showing that the granting of the application is required by the public convenience and necessity.
- (5) In addition to the requirements of section (1), applications for a certificate of interexchange service authority to provide customer-owned coin telephone (COCT) service shall be filed on the form provided by the commission.
- (A) Applications for COCT service shall include a description of the general area in which service is to be offered.
- (B) Providers of COCT service shall be exempt from the provisions of sections 392.390(1) and (3), RSMo, but shall remain subject to the provisions of section 386.370, RSMo.
- (6) In addition to the requirements of section (1), applications for a certificate of service authority to provide telecommunications services, whether interexchange, local exchange or basic local exchange, shall include:
- (A) A request to be classified as a competitive telecommunications company, if applicable, and a description of the types of service the applicant intends to provide;
- (B) If the application is for basic local exchange service authority, the applicant shall indicate the exchange(s) in which service is to be offered; and
- (C) A proposed tariff with an effective date which is not fewer than forty-five (45) days after the tariff's issue date.
- (7) In addition to the requirements of section (1), applications for authority to sell, assign, lease or transfer assets shall include:
- (A) A brief description of the property involved in the transaction, including any franchises, permits, operating rights or certificates of convenience and necessity;
 - (B) A copy of the contract or agreement of sale;
- (C) The verification of proper authority by the person signing the application or a certified copy of resolution of the board of directors of each applicant authorizing the proposed action;
- (D) The reasons the proposed sale of the assets is not detrimental to the public interest;
- (E) If the purchaser is subject to the jurisdiction of the commission, a balance sheet and income statement with adjustments showing the results of the acquisitions of the property; and
- (F) For gas, electrical, telecommunications, water and sewer companies, a statement of the impact, if any, the sale, assignment, lease or transfer of assets will have on the tax revenues of the political subdivisions in which any structures, facilities or equipment of the companies involved in that sale are located.
- (8) In addition to the requirements of section (1), applications for authority to merge or consolidate shall include:
- (A) A copy of the proposed plan and agreement of corporate merger and consolidation, including organizational charts depicting the relationship of the merging entities before and after the transaction;
- (B) A certified copy of the resolution of the board of directors of each applicant authorizing the proposed merger and consolidation;
- (C) The balance sheets and income statements of each applicant and a balance sheet and income statement of the surviving corporation;
- (D) The reasons the proposed merger is not detrimental to the public interest;

- (E) An estimate of the impact of the merger on the company's Missouri jurisdictional operations relative to the merger and acquisition in question; and
- (F) For gas, electrical, water, sewer and telecommunications companies, a statement of the impact, if any, the merger or consolidation will have on the tax revenues of the political subdivision in which any structures, facilities or equipment of the companies involved are located.
- (9) If the purchaser under either section (7) or (8) is not subject to the jurisdiction of the commission, but will be subject to the commission's jurisdiction after the sale, the purchaser must comply with these rules.
- (10) In addition to the requirements of section (1), applications for gas storage companies for authority to acquire property through eminent domain proceedings shall include:
 - (A) The legal description of the areas to be acquired;
 - (B) A map showing the areas to be acquired;
- (C) Names and addresses of all persons who may have any legal or equitable title of record in the property to be acquired; and
- (D) The reasons it is necessary to acquire the property and why it is in the public interest.
- (11) In addition to the requirements of section (1), applications for authority to issue stock, bonds, notes and other evidences of indebtedness shall contain the following:
- (A) A brief description of the securities which applicant desires to issue;
- (B) A statement of the purpose for which the securities are to be issued and the use of the proceeds;
- (C) Copies of executed instruments defining the terms of the proposed securities—
- 1. If these instruments have been previously filed with the commission, a reference to the case number in which the instruments were furnished;
- 2. If these instruments have not been executed at the time of filing, a statement of the general terms and conditions to be contained in the instruments which are proposed to be executed; and
- 3. If none of these instruments is either executed or to be executed, a statement of how the securities are to be sold;
- (D) A certified copy of resolutions of the directors of applicant authorizing the issuance of the securities;
- (E) A balance sheet and income statement with adjustments showing the effects of the issuance of the proposed securities upon—
 - 1. Bonded and other indebtedness; and
 - 2. Stock authorized and outstanding;
- (F) A statement of what portion of the issue is subject to the fee schedule in section 386.300, RSMo; and
- (G) A five (5)-year capitalization expenditure schedule as required by section 392.310 or 393.200, RSMo.
- (12) In addition to the requirements of section (1), applications for authority to acquire the stock of a public utility shall include:
- (A) A statement of the offer to purchase stock of the public utility or a copy of any agreement entered with shareholders to purchase stock;
- (B) A certified copy of the resolution of the directors of applicant authorizing the acquisition of the stock; and
- (C) Reasons why the proposed acquisition of the stock of the public utility is not detrimental to the public interest.

- (13) In addition to the requirements of section (1), applications for commission approval of territorial agreements shall include:
- (A) A copy of the territorial agreement and a specific designation of the boundary, including legal description;
- (B) An illustrative tariff which reflects any changes in a regulated utility's operations or certification;
- (C) An explanation as to why the territorial agreement is in the public interest;
- (D) A list of all persons whose utility service would be changed by the agreement; and
 - (E) A check for fees required by these rules.]
- [(14)] (3) In addition to the requirements of section (1), applications for variances or waivers from commission rules and tariff provisions, as well as those statutory provisions which may be waived, shall contain information as follows:
- (A) Specific indication of the statute, rule or tariff from which the variance or waiver is sought;
- (B) The reasons for the proposed variance or waiver and a complete justification setting out the good cause for granting the variance or waiver; and
- (C) The name of any public utility affected by the variance or waiver
- [(15) In addition to the requirements of section (1), applications for commission authority for a change of electrical suppliers shall include:
- (A) A description of the type of structure where the change of supplier is sought, and the street address, if any, of the structure;
- (B) The name and address of the electrical supplier currently providing service to the structure;
- (C) The name and address of the electrical supplier to which the applicant wishes to change;
- (D) The applicant's reasons for seeking a change of supplier;
- (E) If the applicant's reasons involve service problems, a description of the problems and dates of occurrence, if known;
- (F) If the applicant's reasons involve service problems, a description of the contacts which applicant has had with the current supplier regarding the problems, if any, and what efforts the current supplier has made to solve the problems, if any;
- (G) The reasons a change of electrical suppliers is in the public interest;
- (H) If the current electrical supplier and the requested electrical supplier agree to the requested change, a verified statement for each supplier with the application, indicating agreement; and
- (I) If the applicant is an electrical supplier, a list of the names and addresses of all customers whose electrical supplier is proposed to be changed.]
- [(16]] (4) A name change may be accomplished by filing the items below with a cover letter requesting a change of name. Notwithstanding any other provision of these rules, the items required herein may be filed by a nonattorney. Applications for approval of a change of name shall include:
- (A) A statement, clearly setting out both the old name and the new name:
- (B) Evidence of registration of the name change with the Missouri secretary of state; and
- (C) Either an adoption notice and revised tariff title sheet with an effective date which is not fewer than thirty (30) days after the filing date of the application, or revised tariff sheets with an effective date

which is not fewer than thirty (30) days after the filing date of the application.

[(17) In addition to the requirements of section (1), applications for a certificate of service authority to provide shared tenant services (STS) shall be filed on the form provided by the commission.

(A) STS applications shall include:

- 1. A description of all telecommunications services to be offered at the certificated location;
- 2. A description of any non-telecommunications services to be offered at the certificated location;
- 3. A copy of the contract or contracts to be used with tenants at the certificated location;
- 4. A copy of the contract or contracts to be signed with the local exchange company (LEC);
- 5. A description of the type of STS technology to be used at the certificated location;
- 6. A description of the form of interconnection to be used to provide toll services to tenants at the certificated location;
- 7. A copy of the notice used to inform tenants that local exchange access line service may not be immediately available if STS is terminated at the certificated location;
- 8. A statement of the rates to be charged tenants at the certificated location; and
- 9. A statement of the total number of tenants and corresponding stations to be served at the certificated location.
- (B) Applicant shall submit annual reports filed on the form provided by the commission. Each such report shall include a list of all premises at which applicant provides STS, and a list of all STS-related complaints received from tenants, including a summary of the nature of each such complaint, and a list of case numbers for any formal complaints filed with the commission.]
- (5) In addition to the general requirements set forth above, the requirements found in Chapter 3 of the commission's rules pertaining to the filing of various types of applications must also be met.

AUTHORITY: sections 386.250 and 386.410, RSMo [Supp. 1998] 2000. Original rule filed Dec. 19, 1975, effective Dec. 29, 1975. For intervening history, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed amendment is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 2—Practice and Procedure

PROPOSED RESCISSION

4 CSR 240-2.200 Small Company Rate Increase Procedure. This rule provided procedures for small water, sewer and gas utilities to obtain rate increases without the necessity of filing a formal rate increase request.

PURPOSE: The commission is rescinding this rule from this chapter and adopting nearly identical requirements mirroring those found in the rule in a new rule in the commission's new Chapter 3, as a part of an overall reorganization of the commission's rules regarding general filing requirements.

AUTHORITY: section 386.410, RSMo Supp. 1998. Original rule filed March 10, 1995, effective Nov. 30, 1995. Rescinded and readopted: Filed Aug. 24, 1999, effective April 30, 2000. Rescinded: Filed Aug. 16, 2002

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rescission is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.010 General Definitions

- PURPOSE: This rule sets forth the definitions of certain terms used in rules 4 CSR 240-3.015 through 4 CSR 240-3.030, and also includes the definitions of general terms used within this chapter of the commission's rules. Definitions of additional terms used in certain utility-specific rules are found in 4 CSR 240-3.100, 4 CSR 240-3.200, 4 CSR 240-3.300, and 4 CSR 240-3.500. All definitions found in this chapter supplement those definitions found in Chapters 386, 392 and 393 of the Missouri Revised Statutes.
- (1) Applicant means any person or public utility, as defined herein, on whose behalf an application is made.
- (2) Bill means a written or electronic demand for payment for service or equipment and the taxes, assessments, and franchise fees related thereto.
- (3) Commission means the Missouri Public Service Commission as created by Chapter 386 of the *Missouri Revised Statutes*.
- (4) Commission staff means all personnel employed by the commission whether on a permanent or contractual basis who are not attorneys in the general counsel's office, who are not members of the commission's research department, or who are not law judges.
- (5) Complaint means an informal or formal complaint under 4 CSR 240-2.070.
- (6) Corporation includes a corporation, company, association, or joint stock company or association, or any other entity created by statute which is allowed to conduct business in the state of Missouri.
- (7) Customer means any person, firm, partnership, corporation, municipality, cooperative, organization, governmental agency, etc., that accepts financial and other responsibilities in exchange for services provided by one (1) or more public utilities.
- (8) Delinquent charge means a charge remaining unpaid by a monthly billed customer at least twenty-one (21) days and for at least sixteen (16) days by a quarterly billed customer from the rendition of the bill by the utility or a charge remaining unpaid after the preferred payment date selected by the customer.
- (9) Deposit means a money advance to a utility for the purpose of securing payment of delinquent charges which might accrue to the customer who made the advance.
- (10) Electric utility means an electrical corporation as defined in section 386.020(15), RSMo.
- (11) Financing means acquisition of equity or debt interests, loans, guarantees of loans, advances, sale and repurchase agreements, sale and leaseback agreements, sales on open account, conditional or installment sales contracts or other investments or extensions of credit.
- (12) Gas utility means a gas corporation as defined in section 386.020(18), RSMo.
- (13) Guarantee means a written promise from a third party to assume liability up to a specified amount for delinquent charges which might accrue to a particular customer.
- (14) Municipality means a city, village or town.
- (15) Person means any individual, firm, joint venture, partnership, corporation, association, county, state, municipality, political subdivision, cooperative association or joint stock association, and includes any trustee, receiver, assignee or personal representative of them

- (16) Pleading means any application, complaint, petition, answer, motion, staff recommendation, or other similar written document, which is not a tariff or correspondence, and which is filed in a case. A brief is not a pleading under this definition.
- (17) Political subdivision means any township, city, town, village, and any school, road, drainage, sewer and levee district, or any other public subdivision, public corporation or public quasi-corporation having the power to tax.
- (18) Premises means a tract of land or real estate, including buildings and other appurtenances thereon, to which utility service is provided to a customer.
- (19) Public counsel means the Office of the Public Counsel as created by the Omnibus State Reorganization Act of 1974, and includes the assistants who represent the public before the commission.
- (20) Public utility means public utility as defined in section 386.020(42), RSMo.
- (21) Regulated electrical corporation means every electrical corporation as defined in section 386.020, RSMo, subject to commission regulation pursuant to Chapter 393, RSMo.
- (22) Regulated gas corporation means every gas corporation as defined in section 386.020, RSMo, subject to commission regulation pursuant to Chapter 393, RSMo.
- (23) Regulated heating company means every heating company as defined in section 386.020, RSMo, subject to commission regulation pursuant to Chapter 393, RSMo.
- (24) Rule means all of these rules as a whole or the individual rule in which the word appears, whichever interpretation is consistent with the rational application of this chapter.
- (25) Service means service as defined in section 386.020(47), RSMo.
- (26) Sewer utility means a sewer corporation as defined in section 386.020(48), RSMo.
- (27) Steam heating utility means a heating company as defined in section 386.020(20), RSMo.
- (28) Tariff means a document published by a public utility, and approved by the commission, that sets forth the services offered by that utility and the rates, terms and conditions for the use of those services.
- (29) Telecommunications company means a telecommunications company as defined in section 386.020(51), RSMo.
- (30) Utility company means an electric utility, a gas utility, a sewer utility, a steam heating utility, a telecommunications company or a water utility, either individually or collectively, as those terms are defined herein.
- (31) Variance means an exemption granted by the commission from any applicable standard required pursuant to this chapter.
- (32) Water utility means a water corporation as defined in section 386.020(58), RSMo.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.015 Filing Requirements for Utility Company Applications for Waivers or Variances

PURPOSE: This rule provides a reference to the commission's practice and procedure rule regarding this subject.

(1) The requirements for filing applications for waivers or variances from commission rules and tariff provisions, as well as those statutory provisions that may be waived, are contained in Chapter 2 of the commission's rules in rule 4 CSR 240-2.060.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.020 Filing Requirements Regarding Utility Company Name Changes

PURPOSE: This rule provides a reference to the commission's practice and procedure rule regarding this subject.

(1) The requirements for filings regarding utility company name changes are contained in Chapter 2 of the commission's rules in rule 4 CSR 240-2.060.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.025 Utility Company Tariff Filings Which Create Cases

PURPOSE: This rule provides a reference to the commission's practice and procedure rule regarding this subject.

(1) The commission's rule regarding tariff filings which create cases, which includes various filing requirements, is contained in Chapter 2 of the commission's rules in rule 4 CSR 240-2.065.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.030 Minimum Filing Requirements for Utility Company General Rate Increase Requests

PURPOSE: This rule prescribes the information which must be filed by all electric utilities, all large local exchange telecommunications companies, all large gas, water and sewer utilities, and all steam heating utilities when filing for a general company-wide increase in rates. Additional requirements regarding this subject matter are also found in 4 CSR 240-3.160 for electric utilities and 4 CSR 240-3.235 for gas utilities.

- (1) This rule applies to all electric utilities; to all local exchange telecommunications companies with more than five thousand (5,000) access lines; to all gas utilities with more than one thousand five hundred (1,500) customers; to all water utilities with more than five thousand (5,000) customers; to all sewer utilities with more than five thousand (5,000) customers; and to all steam heating utilities, under the jurisdiction of the commission.
- (2) A general rate increase request is one where the company or utility files for an overall increase in revenues through a company-wide increase in rates for the utility service it provides, but shall not

include requests for changes in rates made pursuant to an adjustment clause or other similar provisions contained in a utility's tariffs.

- (A) With regard to any telecommunications company subject to this rule, any increase in revenues as a result of an increase in rates within a previously approved rate band for a transitionally competitive or competitive service pursuant to sections 392.500 and 392.510, RSMo will not be considered a general rate increase and thereby not be subject to these minimum filing requirements.
- (3) At the time a tariff(s) is filed by any company or utility subject to this rule which contains a general rate increase request, an original and fourteen (14) copies of the following information shall be filed with the secretary of the commission and two (2) copies shall be provided to the Office of the Public Counsel:
- (A) A letter transmitting the proposed tariff changes to the secretary of the commission of the Missouri Public Service Commission;
- (B) General information concerning the filing which will be of interest to the public and suitable for publication, including:
- 1. The amount of dollars of the aggregate annual increase and the percentage of increase over current revenues which the tariff(s) proposes;
 - 2. Names of the counties and communities affected;
- 3. The number of the customers to be affected in each general category of service and in all rate classifications within each general category of service;
- 4. The average change requested in dollars and percentage change from current rates for each general category of service and for all rate classifications within each general category of service;
- 5. The proposed annual aggregate change by general categories of service and by rate classification within each general category of service including dollar amounts and percentage of change in revenues from current rates;
- 6. Copies of any press releases relative to the filing issued by the company or utility prior to or at the time of the filing; and
- 7. A summary of the reasons for the proposed changes or a summary explanation of the reasons the additional rate is needed.
- (4) For good cause shown, the commission may grant a waiver of any of the provisions of this rule.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.100 Definitions Pertaining Specifically to Electric Utility Rules

PURPOSE: This rule sets forth the definitions of certain terms used in rules 4 CSR 240-3.105 through 4 CSR 240-3.190, which are in addition to the definitions set forth in rule 4 CSR 240-3.010 of this chapter.

- (1) Affiliate means any person who, directly or indirectly, controls or is controlled by or is under common control with an electric utility.
- (2) Affiliated entity means any person, including an individual, corporation, service company, corporate subsidiary, firm, partnership, incorporated or unincorporated association, political subdivision including a public utility district, city, town, county, or a combination of political subdivisions, which directly or indirectly, through one (1) or more intermediaries, controls, is controlled by, or is under common control with the regulated electrical corporation.
- (3) Affiliate transaction means any transaction for the provision, purchase or sale of any information, asset, product or service, or portion of any product or service, between a regulated electrical corporation and an affiliated entity, and shall include all transactions carried out between any unregulated business operation of a regulated electrical corporation and the regulated business operations of an electrical corporation. An affiliate transaction for the purposes of this rule excludes heating, ventilating and air conditioning (HVAC) services as defined in section 386.754, RSMo by the General Assembly of Missouri.
- (4) Appliance or equipment means any device which consumes electric energy and any ancillary device required for its operation.
- (5) Avoided costs means the incremental costs to an electric utility of electric energy or capacity or both which, but for the purchase from the qualifying facility or qualifying facilities, that utility would generate itself or purchase from another source.
- (6) Consideration shall be interpreted in its broadest sense and shall include any cash, donation, gift, allowance, rebate, discount, bonus, merchandise (new or used), property (real or personal), labor, service, conveyance, commitment, right or other thing of value.
- (7) Control (including the terms "controlling," "controlled by," and "common control") means the possession, directly or indirectly, of the power to direct, or to cause the direction of the management or policies of an entity, whether such power is exercised through one (1) or more intermediary entities, or alone, or in conjunction with, or pursuant to an agreement with, one (1) or more other entities, whether such power is exercised through a majority or minority ownership or voting of securities, common directors, officers or stockholders, voting trusts, holding trusts, affiliated entities, contract or any other direct or indirect means. The commission shall presume that the beneficial ownership of ten percent (10%) or more of voting securities or partnership interest of an entity constitutes control for

purposes of this rule. This provision, however, shall not be construed to prohibit a regulated electrical corporation from rebutting the presumption that its ownership interest in an entity confers control.

- (8) Cost-effective means that the present value of life-cycle benefits is greater than the present value of life-cycle costs to the provider of an energy service.
- (9) Decommissioning means those activities undertaken in connection with a nuclear generating unit's retirement from service to ensure that the final removal, disposal, entombment or other disposition of the unit and of any radioactive components and materials associated with the unit, are accomplished in compliance with all applicable laws, and to ensure that the final disposition does not pose any undue threat to the public health and safety. Decommissioning includes the removal and disposal of the structures, systems and components of a nuclear generating unit at the time of decommissioning.
- (10) Decommissioning costs means all reasonable costs and expenses incurred in connection with decommissioning, including all expenses to be incurred in connection with the preparation for decommissioning, including, but not limited to, engineering and other planning expenses; and to be incurred after the actual decommissioning occurs, including, but not limited to, physical security and radiation monitoring expenses, less proceeds of insurance, salvage or resale of machinery, construction equipment or apparatus the cost of which was charged as a decommissioning expense.
- (11) Demand-side resource means any inefficient energy-related choice that can be influenced cost-effectively by a utility. The meaning of this term shall not be construed to include load-building program.
- (12) Energy service means the need that is served or the benefit that is derived by the ultimate consumer's use of energy.
- (13) Inefficient energy-related choice means any decision that causes the life-cycle cost of providing an energy service to be higher than it would be for an available alternative choice.
- (14) Load-building program means an organized promotional effort by a utility to persuade energy-related decision makers to choose the form of energy supplied by that utility instead of other forms of energy for the provision of energy service or to persuade customers to increase their use of that utility's form of energy, either by substituting it for other forms of energy or by increasing the level or variety of energy services used. This term is not intended to include the provision of technical or engineering assistance, information about filed rates and tariffs or other forms of routine customer service.
- (15) Promotional practices means any consideration offered or granted by an electric utility or its affiliate to any person for the purpose, express or implied, of inducing the person to select and use the service or use additional service of the utility or to select or install any appliance or equipment designed to use the utility service, or for the purpose of influencing the person's choice or specification of the efficiency characteristics of appliances, equipment, buildings, utilization patterns or operating procedures. The term promotional practices shall not include the following activities:
- (A) Making any emergency repairs to appliances or equipment of customers;
- (B) Providing appliances or equipment incidental to demonstrations of sixty (60) days or less in duration;
- (C) Providing light bulbs, street or outdoor lighting service, wiring, service pipe or other service equipment or appliances, in accordance with tariffs filed with and approved by the commission;

- (D) Providing appliances or equipment to an educational institution for the purpose of instructing students in the use of the appliances or equipment;
- (E) Merchandising appliances or equipment at retail and, in connection therewith, the holding of inventories, making and fulfillment of reasonable warranties against defects in material and workmanship existing at the time of delivery and financing; provided that the merchandising shall not violate any prohibition contained in 4 CSR 240-14.020;
- (F) Inspecting and adjusting of appliances or equipment by an electric utility;
- (G) Repairing and other maintenance to appliances or equipment by an electric utility if charges are at cost or above;
- (H) Providing free or below-cost energy audits or other information or analysis regarding the feasibility and cost-effectiveness of improvements in the efficiency characteristics of appliances, equipment, buildings, utilization patterns or operating procedures;
- (I) Offering to present or prospective customers by an electric utility technical or engineering assistance; and
- (J) Advertising or publicity by an electric utility which is under its name and on its behalf and which does not in any manner, directly or indirectly, identify, describe, refer to, mention or relate to any architect, builder, engineer, subdivider, developer or other similar person, or which mentions no less than three (3) existing projects, developments or subdivisions.
- (16) Purchase means the purchase of electric energy or capacity or both from a qualifying facility by an electric utility.
- (17) Qualifying facility means a cogeneration facility or a small power production facility which is a qualifying facility under Subpart B of Part 292 of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission's (FERC) regulations.
- (18) Sale means the sale of electric energy or capacity or both by an electric utility to a qualifying facility.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.105 Filing Requirements for Electric Utility Applications for Certificates of Convenience and Necessity

PURPOSE: Applications to the commission requesting that the commission grant a certificate of convenience and necessity must meet the requirements of this rule. As noted in the rule, additional requirements pertaining to such applications are set forth in 4 CSR 240-2.060(1).

- (1) In addition to the requirements of 4 CSR 240-2.060(1), applications by an electric utility for a certificate of convenience and necessity shall include:
 - (A) If the application is for a service area—
- 1. A statement as to the same or similar utility service, regulated and nonregulated, available in the area requested;
- 2. If there are ten (10) or more residents or landowners, the name and address of no fewer than ten (10) persons residing in the proposed service area or of no fewer than ten (10) landowners in the event there are no residences in the area, or, if there are fewer than ten (10) residents or landowners, the name and address of all residents and landowners;
 - 3. The legal description of the area to be certificated;
- 4. A plat drawn to a scale of one-half inch (1/2") to the mile on maps comparable to county highway maps issued by the Missouri Department of Transportation or a plat drawn to a scale of two thousand feet (2,000') to the inch; and
- 5. A feasibility study containing plans and specifications for the utility system and estimated cost of the construction of the utility system during the first three (3) years of construction; plans for financing; proposed rates and charges and an estimate of the number of customers, revenues and expenses during the first three (3) years of operations;
- (B) If the application is for electrical transmission lines, gas transmission lines or electrical production facilities—
- 1. A description of the route of construction and a list of all electric and telephone lines of regulated and nonregulated utilities, railroad tracks or any underground facility, as defined in section 319.015, RSMo, which the proposed construction will cross;
- 2. The plans and specifications for the complete construction project and estimated cost of the construction project or a statement of the reasons the information is currently unavailable and a date when it will be furnished; and
 - 3. Plans for financing;
- (C) When no evidence of approval of the affected governmental bodies is necessary, a statement to that effect;
- (D) When approval of the affected governmental bodies is required, evidence must be provided as follows:
- 1. When consent or franchise by a city or county is required, approval shall be shown by a certified copy of the document granting the consent or franchise, or an affidavit of the applicant that consent has been acquired; and
- 2. A certified copy of the required approval of other governmental agencies; and
- (E) The facts showing that the granting of the application is required by the public convenience and necessity.
- (2) If any of the items required under this rule are unavailable at the time the application is filed, they shall be furnished prior to the granting of the authority sought.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.110 Filing Requirements for Electric Utility Applications for Authority to Sell, Assign, Lease or Transfer Assets

PURPOSE: Applications to the commission for the authority to sell, assign, lease or transfer assets must meet the requirements set forth in this rule. As noted in the rule, additional requirements pertaining to such applications are set forth in 4 CSR 240-2.060(1).

- (1) In addition to the requirements of 4 CSR 240-2.060(1), applications for authority to sell, assign, lease or transfer assets shall include:
- (A) A brief description of the property involved in the transaction, including any franchises, permits, operating rights or certificates of convenience and necessity;
 - (B) A copy of the contract or agreement of sale;
- (C) The verification of proper authority by the person signing the application or a certified copy of resolution of the board of directors of each applicant authorizing the proposed action;
- (D) The reasons the proposed sale of the assets is not detrimental to the public interest;
- (E) If the purchaser is subject to the jurisdiction of the commission, a balance sheet and income statement with adjustments showing the results of the acquisitions of the property; and
- (F) A statement of the impact, if any, the sale, assignment, lease or transfer of assets will have on the tax revenues of the political subdivisions in which any structures, facilities or equipment of the companies involved in that sale are located.

- (2) If the purchaser is not subject to the jurisdiction of the commission, but will be subject to the commission's jurisdiction after the sale, the purchaser must comply with these rules.
- (3) If any of the items required under this rule are unavailable at the time the application is filed, they shall be furnished prior to the granting of the authority sought.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.115 Filing Requirements for Electric Utility Applications for Authority to Merge or Consolidate

PURPOSE: Applications to the commission for the authority to merge or consolidate must meet the requirements set forth in this rule. As noted in the rule, additional requirements pertaining to such applications are set forth in 4 CSR 240-2.060(1).

- (1) In addition to the requirements of 4 CSR 240-2.060(1), applications for authority to merge or consolidate shall include:
- (A) A copy of the proposed plan and agreement of corporate merger and consolidation, including organizational charts depicting the relationship of the merging entities before and after the transaction;
- (B) A certified copy of the resolution of the board of directors of each applicant authorizing the proposed merger and consolidation;
- (C) The balance sheets and income statements of each applicant and a balance sheet and income statement of the surviving corporation:
- (D) The reasons the proposed merger is not detrimental to the public interest;

- (E) An estimate of the impact of the merger on the company's Missouri jurisdictional operations relative to the merger and acquisition in question; and
- (F) A statement of the impact, if any, the merger or consolidation will have on the tax revenues of the political subdivision in which any structures, facilities or equipment of the companies involved are located.
- (2) If the purchaser is not subject to the jurisdiction of the commission, but will be subject to the commission's jurisdiction after the sale, the purchaser must comply with these rules.
- (3) If any of the items required under this rule are unavailable at the time the application is filed, they shall be furnished prior to the granting of the authority sought.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.120 Filing Requirements for Electric Utility Applications for Authority to Issue Stock, Bonds, Notes and Other Evidences of Indebtedness

PURPOSE: Applications to the commission for the authority to issue stock, bonds, notes or other evidences of indebtedness must meet the requirements set forth in this rule. As noted in the rule, additional requirements pertaining to such applications are set forth in 4 CSR 240-2.060(1).

- (1) In addition to the requirements of 4 CSR 240-2.060(1), applications for authority to issue stock, bonds, notes and other evidences of indebtedness shall contain the following:
- (A) A brief description of the securities which applicant desires to issue:

- (B) A statement of the purpose for which the securities are to be issued and the use of the proceeds;
- (C) Copies of executed instruments defining the terms of the proposed securities—
- 1. If these instruments have been previously filed with the commission, a reference to the case number in which the instruments were furnished:
- 2. If these instruments have not been executed at the time of filing, a statement of the general terms and conditions to be contained in the instruments which are proposed to be executed; and
- 3. If none of these instruments is either executed or to be executed, a statement of how the securities are to be sold;
- (D) A certified copy of resolutions of the directors of applicant authorizing the issuance of the securities;
- (E) A balance sheet and income statement with adjustments showing the effects of the issuance of the proposed securities upon—
 - 1. Bonded and other indebtedness; and
 - 2. Stock authorized and outstanding;
- (F) A statement of what portion of the issue is subject to the fee schedule in section 386.300, RSMo; and
- (G) A five (5)-year capitalization expenditure schedule as required by section 393.200, RSMo.
- (2) If any of the items required under this rule are unavailable at the time the application is filed, they shall be furnished prior to the granting of the authority sought.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT Division 240—Public Service Commission

Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.125 Filing Requirements for Electric Utility Applications for Authority to Acquire the Stock of a Public Utility PURPOSE: Applications to the commission for the authority to acquire the stock of a public utility must meet the requirements set forth in this rule. As noted in the rule, additional requirements pertaining to such applications are set forth in 4 CSR 240-2.060(1).

- (1) In addition to the requirements of 4 CSR 240-2.060(1), applications for authority to acquire the stock of a public utility shall include:
- (A) A statement of the offer to purchase stock of the public utility or a copy of any agreement entered with shareholders to purchase stock:
- (B) A certified copy of the resolution of the directors of applicant authorizing the acquisition of the stock; and
- (C) Reasons why the proposed acquisition of the stock of the public utility is not detrimental to the public interest.
- (2) If any of the items required under this rule are unavailable at the time the application is filed, they shall be furnished prior to the granting of the authority sought.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.130 Filing Requirements for Applications for Approval of Electric Service Territorial Agreements

PURPOSE: This rule establishes requirements that applications to the commission for approval of territorial agreements between electric service providers must meet. As noted in the rule, additional requirements pertaining to such applications are set forth in 4 CSR 240-2.060(1) and 4 CSR 240-3.135.

- (1) In addition to the requirements of 4 CSR 240-2.060(1), applications for commission approval of territorial agreements between electric service providers shall include:
- (A) A copy of the territorial agreement and a specific designation of the boundary, including legal description;
- (B) An illustrative tariff which reflects any changes in a regulated utility's operations or certification;
- (C) An explanation as to why the territorial agreement is in the public interest;
- (D) A list of all persons whose utility service would be changed by the agreement; and
 - (E) A check for the initial filing fee set forth in 4 CSR 240-3.135.
- (2) If any of the items required by subsections (1)(A)-(D) of this rule are unavailable at the time the application is filed, they shall be furnished prior to the granting of the authority sought.

AUTHORITY: sections 386.250, 386.800 and 394.312, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.135 Schedule of Fees Applicable to Applications for Approval of Electric Service Territorial Agreements, Petitions for Designation of Electric Service Areas and Applications for Resolution of Annexation-Related Disputes

PURPOSE: This rule establishes a schedule of fees for commission review of proposed territorial agreements, petitions for commission designation of electric service areas, and annexation-related applications.

- (1) Commission review of an application for a proposed territorial agreement, a petition for commission designation of electric service areas, or an application for resolution of an annexation-related dispute, shall be accompanied by an initial filing fee in the amount of five hundred dollars (\$500).
- (2) In addition to the filing fee, the fee for commission review of an opposed application for approval of a proposed territorial agreement between electric service providers is set at six hundred eighty-five dollars (\$685) per hour of hearing time, subject to a minimum charge for hearing time of six hundred eighty-five dollars (\$685). There is an additional charge of three dollars and fifty cents (\$3.50) per page of transcript. These fees are in addition to the fees authorized by section 386.300, RSMo.
- (3) The parties shall be responsible for payment of any unpaid fees on and after the effective date of the commission's report and order relating to the electric territorial agreement, designation of service areas or annexation-related application. The executive director shall send an itemized billing statement to the applicants on or after the effective date of the commission's report and order. Responsibility for payment of the fees shall be that of the parties to the proceeding as ordered by the commission in each case.
- (4) An application for commission review of proposed amendment(s) to an existing territorial agreement between electric service providers shall not be subject to the fee of five hundred dollars (\$500) specified in section (1) of this rule. However, the applicants shall be responsible for the payment of a fee which reflects necessary hearing time (including the minimum hearing time charge) and the transcript costs as specified in section (2) of this rule.
- (5) On July 1 of each year, the filing fee and the fee per hour of evidentiary hearing time will be modified to match any percentage change in the Consumer Price Index for the twelve (12)-month period ending December 31 of the preceding year.

AUTHORITY: sections 386.250, 386.800 and 394.312, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at < http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp > . A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should

contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.140 Filing Requirements for Applications for Authority for a Change of Electrical Suppliers

PURPOSE: Applications to the commission for the approval of a change of electrical suppliers must meet the requirements set forth in this rule. As noted in the rule, additional requirements pertaining to such applications are set forth in 4 CSR 240-2.060(1).

- (1) In addition to the requirements of 4 CSR 240-2.060(1), applications for the approval of a change in electrical suppliers shall include:
- (A) A description of the type of structure where the change of supplier is sought, and the street address, if any, of the structure;
- (B) The name and address of the electrical supplier currently providing service to the structure;
- (C) The name and address of the electrical supplier to which the applicant wishes to change;
 - (D) The applicant's reasons for seeking a change of supplier;
- (E) If the applicant's reasons involve service problems, a description of the problems and dates of occurrence, if known;
- (F) If the applicant's reasons involve service problems, a description of the contacts which applicant has had with the current supplier regarding the problems, if any, and what efforts the current supplier has made to solve the problems, if any;
- (G) The reasons a change of electrical suppliers is in the public interest;
- (H) If the current electrical supplier and the requested electrical supplier agree to the requested change, a verified statement for each supplier with the application, indicating agreement; and
- (I) If the applicant is an electrical supplier, a list of the names and addresses of all customers whose electrical supplier is proposed to be changed.
- (2) If any of the items required under this rule are unavailable at the time the application is filed, they shall be furnished prior to the granting of the authority sought.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.145 Filing Requirements for Electric Utility Rate Schedules

PURPOSE: This rule prescribes the form and procedures for filing and publishing schedules of rates of all electric utilities under the jurisdiction of the Public Service Commission.

- (1) Every electrical corporation, as defined in section 386.020, RSMo, engaged in the manufacture, generating, furnishing or transmission of electricity for light, heat or power within Missouri is directed to have on file with this commission not later than October 15, 1913, a schedule of all rates, rentals and charges of whatever nature made by the electrical corporation for each kind of service it renders which were in force on April 15, 1913, together with proper supplements covering all changes in rate schedules authorized by this commission, if any, since April 15, 1913.
- (2) Every electrical corporation is directed on and after October 15, 1913, to publish all of its schedules of rates with this commission as follows:
- (A) To keep all of its schedules of rates established and filed with this commission and in its main or principal operating office and in each division office which is now or may be established;
- (B) To keep at each of its branch business offices where contracts for service are made or payment for customer's service is received, copies of all of its established schedules of rates which apply within the area served; and
- (C) That all schedules of rates at all times during business hours shall be readily accessible to the public and shall be immediately produced for inspection upon the demand of any person. The production for inspection of schedules of rates shall be accompanied by such assistance on the part of the proper representative of the electrical corporation having a schedule to determine accurately the rate or charge applicable to any particular kind of electrical service.
- (3) All schedules of rates, rentals and charges, or rules relating and applying to service rendered in connection with the supplying of electrical energy for light, heat and power or for any service rendered in connection with electrical energy supply, lawfully on file with the commission and in force on April 15, 1913, will be considered as continuing in force and may be amended in the manner provided in this rule.
- (4) All schedules of rates on file with this commission and in effect April 15, 1913, not in accordance with this rule shall be reprinted in the manner prescribed by this rule and filed on or before October 15, 1913. All new schedules of rates issued after April 15, 1913, must conform to this rule or they will be subject to rejection by the com-

mission when tendered for filing. The commission reserves the right to direct the reprinting of any schedule at any time.

- (5) In classifying rates for electrical service the following uniform system of classification will be followed as closely as practical:
- (A) All lighting rates for residences, business places, theaters, public buildings, and the like will be placed under the head of commercial lighting;
- (B) All power rates, including rates for battery charging, will be placed under the head of commercial power; and
- (C) All rates for street lighting, including municipal street lighting and the free lighting of public buildings as is done in connection with street lighting will be placed under the head of street lighting.
- (6) All schedules of rates should be on a good serviceable quality of paper and, if in the discretion of the commission, the volume of schedule justifies it, a schedule shall not be accepted for filing until printed.
- (7) All schedules of rates filed with the commission shall bear a number with the following prefix: PSC Mo. Rate schedules shall be numbered in consecutive serial order commencing with a No. 1 for each electrical corporation (for example, the first schedule PSC Mo., No. 1). The prefixes and numbers shall be printed on schedules as required by section (9) of this rule. For convenience the prefix is referred to as PSC.
- (8) All schedules of rates shall be in book, sheet or pamphlet form of size eight and one-half inches by eleven inches (8 $1/2" \times 11"$). A loose-leaf plan may be used so that changes may be made by reprinting and inserting a single leaf. When the loose-leaf plan is used, all sheets except the title page must show in the marginal space at the top of page or sheet, the name of the electrical corporation issuing the PSC No., the number of the schedule and the number of the page or sheet. At the bottom of the sheet in the marginal space must be shown, the date of issue and effective date and the name, title and address of the officer by whom the schedule is issued.
- (9) The title page or sheet, if loose leaf, of every schedule of rates shall show— $\,$
- (A) The full corporate name of the issuing electrical corporation;
- (B) The PSC number of the schedule in bold type in the center of the marginal space at top of the page and immediately under it in small type the PSC number(s) canceled;
- (C) A brief description of the service areas from and to or within which the schedule applies;
- (D) When a schedule rate is governed by a general publication, the reference to the general publication by its PSC number must be given. The following phraseology, as the case may be, will be used: "Governed except as otherwise provided herein by schedule PSC Mo. No., which schedule, revised and added pages or sheets or superseding issues thereof is hereby made a part of this schedule." The rate publication referred to must be on file with the commission and be kept at every place where the schedule making reference is to be kept for public inspection;
- (E) The date of issue and the date effective. If the schedule or any portion is made to expire on a specified date, the following clause must be used: "expires, unless sooner changed, canceled or extended";
- (F) On every schedule, supplement or revised or added sheet issued on less than thirty (30)-days' notice, by permission of the commission, the following notation must be shown: "Issued on _____ days' notice to the public and the commission under special permission of the Public Service Commission of Missouri, No. _____ of date _____." If issued in compliance with an order of the commission, the following notation must be shown: "Issued on _____ days' notice to the public and the commission under order of the Public Service Commission of Missouri, of date _____, in Case No. _____," when

issued by authority of any section of this rule, the notice must be that required by the particular section granting permission;

- (G) On the upper left-hand corner of a schedule of fewer than three (3) pages and on schedules issued in loose-leaf form, the words, "No supplement to this tariff will be issued except for the purpose of canceling this tariff." A schedule, not in loose-leaf form, of three (3) or more pages shall include the words, "Only one supplement to this schedule will be in effect at any one time"; and
- (H) On the marginal space at the bottom of page will be given the name, title and address of the officer by whom the schedule is issued, the date of issue and the effective date.
- (10) The schedule shall contain in the order named:
- (A) Table of Contents. Provide full and complete statement in alphabetical order of the exact location where information under the general headings or subjects will be found, specifying the page of item numbers. If the schedule contains so small a volume of matter that its title page or interior arrangement plainly may disclose its contents, the table of contents may be omitted;
- (B) Description of Territory. A more lengthy description of the territory to be served than can be briefly set forth on the title page will often be necessary; any items in this category which bear any relation to the various rates should be explained under this heading;
- (C) Classification of Service. Under this heading the kind of service separately grouped for commercial lighting, commercial power and street lighting will be set forth in the order named together with a detailed statement of the rate(s) in connection with same. A definite separation must be made between prompt payment discount and quantity discount and stating the manner in which they are computed clearly. If guarantees of any nature are required or a minimum charge made, the principles upon which they are based must be stated. In this case give the company's charges or deposits for meters. If penalties for delayed payments are exacted, the same must be stated. State whether current is estimated or metered and if so, how. State the company's practice in regard to lamp renewals. If a charge is made to the consumer for installing and connecting the service wires, this should be stated. State the character of the service, whether twenty-four (24)-hour or limited until midnight, whether the service is limited to certain hours of the day, on-peak, off-peak, optional service, auxiliary service, breakdown service, and the like. The kind of current, such as alternating or direct, together with the voltage, phase and frequency must be given in all cases;
- (D) Rules. Under this heading will be set forth all rules which apply to contracts for furnishing electrical energy for light, heat and power, and all of the company's rules in any way relating to service, together with any particular regulations relating to a special contract for service rendered which have not already been stated in connection with the description of rates under section (5) of this rule; and
- (E) Definition and Explanation of Reference Marks. Under this heading, as its name implies, shall be given the necessary description of any reference marks employed in connection with the rate tables, that is, explain the meaning of watt, kilowatt hour, horsepower, and the like. If symbols or abbreviations are used, explain their meanings, such as kilowatt hour for K.W.H.; ampere for amp. When ratings are used based on capacity installation or a percentage of capacity installation, a table of equivalents for estimating these ratings must be given. For example, one (1) sixteen (16)-candle power carbon filament lamp equals about fifty-five (55) watts. If terms maximum demand, load factor, rated capacity, peak, and the like, are used in the schedule, these should be explained under this caption. All definitions of terms and explanation of terms or symbols, abbreviations or reference marks should be arranged in logical sequence and in a manner that they will be readily understood.
- (11) If a schedule or supplement to a schedule is issued which conflicts with a part of another schedule or supplement of a schedule which is in force at the time and which is not canceled in full, it specifically shall state the portion of the other schedule which is can-

- celed and the other schedule, at the same time, shall be correspondingly amended, effective on the same date, in the regular way; and the supplement to the amended schedule shall be filed at the same time and in connection with the schedule which contains the new rates, rentals or charges.
- (12) If a schedule is canceled with the purpose of canceling entirely the rates, rentals or charges named in the schedule or when through error or omission, a later issue failed to cancel the previous issue and a schedule is canceled for the purpose of perfecting the record, the cancellation notice must not be given a new PSC number, but must be issued as a supplement to the schedule which it cancels, even though the schedule at the time may have a supplement in effect.
- (13) If a schedule or a part of a schedule is canceled, the cancellation notice shall make specific notice to the PSC number of the schedule in which the rates, rentals or charges will be found; or if no rates, rentals or charges are in effect, it shall state so. Cancellation of a schedule also cancels a supplement to the schedule in effect, if any. If a schedule is canceled by a similar schedule to take its place, the cancellation notice must not be given by supplement, but by notice printed in a new schedule.
- (14) A change in a schedule shall be known as an amendment and excepting amendments to schedules issued in loose-leaf form, shall be printed in a supplement to the schedule which it amends, specifying the schedule by its PSC number. The supplement shall be reissued each time an amendment is made and shall always contain all the amendments to the schedule that are in force. Supplements to schedules shall be numbered consecutively as supplements to the schedules and shall not be given new or separate PSC numbers. An amendment must always be printed in the supplement in its entirety as amended.
- (15) A schedule which contains reissued items brought forward from a previous issue which has not been in effect thirty (30) days or a supplement which brings forward reissued items without change from a former supplement or schedule, must bear the notation , except as noted in individual items." "Effective _____, 20_____; effective "Example: Issued _, 20_ , except as noted in individual items." Reissued items brought forward without change must show in a conspicuous form and convenient manner the following: "Reissue" in black face type; the effective or the date upon which it becomes effective; in PSC Mo. No. _____ "or in supplement No. to PSC Mo. No. ____ "When the reissued item to PSC Mo. No. became effective in a former supplement to the same schedule, the PSC number may be omitted, but the supplement number must be given.
- (16) Except as otherwise provided in this rule, there shall be at no time more than one (1) supplement in effect to any schedule and the effective supplement to a schedule of twenty (20) or more pages may not contain more than twenty percent (20%) of the number of pages or sheets in the schedule, including the title page, a supplement to a schedule of fewer than twenty (20) pages or ten (10) sheets may not contain more than four (4) pages or two (2) sheets, including the title page.
- (17) All changes in and additions to schedules issued in loose-leaf form must be made by reprinting both pages of the leaf or sheet upon which the change is made. When no change or addition is made on one (1) of the pages reprinted, it must bear the notation, "No change in this page." Those pages or sheets shall not be given supplement numbers, but must be designated "First revised page or sheet," "Second revised page or sheet," and the like and must show the name of the issuing corporation and the PSC number of the schedule, the

issued and effective dates and the name, title and address of officer by whom issued.

- (18) If a new schedule is filed on statutory notice canceling another schedule and after that filing and prior to the effective date of the new schedule, a supplement to the schedule to be so canceled should be lawfully issued, the rates, rentals or charges in that supplement could not continue in effect for the thirty (30) days required by law because the cancellation of the schedule also cancels the supplement to it. In this case the supplement containing changes not included in the schedule that is to become effective may be issued as a supplement both to the schedule in effect and to the schedule on file that will effect a cancellation and be given both PSC numbers. In other words, such an issue must be a supplement of each of the schedules and copies must be filed accordingly. A supplement issued under this rule containing reissued items shall note in connection with each item, in addition to the effective date required by this rule, that the reissued items expire on the date on which the new schedule will apply in lieu thereof; and the reissued items must not be brought forward in a subsequent supplement to the new schedule. This supplement may not contain any changes except those lawfully made by supplement to the schedule which is to be canceled by the schedule that has been filed and that is also supplemented; and no other kind of a supplement to a schedule that is on file and not yet effective may be made effective within thirty (30) days from the effective date of the schedule without special permission of the commission.
- (19) The provisions of section (17) of this rule as to the number of supplements to a schedule that may be in effect at any time and the volume of supplemental matter they may contain need not be observed in connection with a supplement issued under sections (15)–(19) of this rule.
- (20) In case of change of ownership and operation of any electrical corporation's property or of the electrical corporation in possession and operating the property, the electrical corporation taking over the operation of the properties, if the existing rates would otherwise remain legally effective, shall issue immediately and file with the commission, with PSC number, an adoption notice substantially as follows:
- (A) "The (name of the electrical corporation) hereby adopts, ratifies and makes its own, in every respect as if the same had been originally filed by it, all schedules, rules, notices, concurrences, schedule agreements, divisions, authorities or other instruments whatsoever, filed with the PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION, State of Missouri, by the (name of the electrical corporation), prior to (date), the beginning of its possession. By this notice it also adopts and ratifies all supplements or amendments to any of the above schedules, etc., which (name of the electrical corporation) has heretofore filed with said commission. This notice may be made effective as of the date it is filed with the commission";
- (B) In the event that the successor corporation does not intend to adopt some of those schedules, rates, rules, notices, concurrences, authorities or other instruments, the notice shall specify those which are not adopted, and the successor corporation as to such exceptions shall give the cancellation or withdrawal notice provided in this rule;
- (C) The adoption notice shall stand and be effective as to all of the local issues of the predecessor electrical corporation; and
- (D) In case of a receivership, the receiver shall be deemed as continuing in force the schedules and rules of the corporation whose property s/he has in charge.
- (21) Schedules and schedule supplements shall be filed with the commission by the proper officer of the electrical corporation designated to perform that duty; and supplements must be on file with the commission or accompany the schedule or supplement.

- (22) All changes in rates, charges or rentals or in rules that affect the rates, charges or rentals shall be filed with the commission at least thirty (30) days before the date upon which they are to become effective. The title page of every rate schedule or supplement and the reissue on any page or sheet must show a full thirty (30) days' notice except as otherwise provided in this rule. The proposed change shall be accompanied by a brief summary, approximately one hundred (100) words or less, of the effect of the change on the company's customers. A copy of any proposed change and summary shall also be served on the public counsel and be available for public inspection and reproduction during regular office hours at the general business office of the utility.
- (23) Each electrical corporation has the duty of filing with the commission all its schedules of rates and supplements or any rule relative to them which may be announced by the commission, under penalty for failure to do so. The commission will give consistent assistance as it can in this respect, but the fact that the receipt of a rate schedule or a supplement to a rate schedule is acknowledged by the commission, or the fact that a rate schedule or supplement to a rate schedule is in the files of the commission, will not serve or operate to excuse the electrical corporation or municipality from its responsibility or liability for any violation of the law or of any ruling lawfully made which may have occurred in connection thereunder with the construction of filing of a rate schedule or supplement.
- (24) Thirty (30) days' notice to the commission is required as to every publication relating to electrical rates or service except where publications are made effective on less than statutory notice by permission, regulation or requirement of the commission.
- (25) Except as is otherwise provided, no schedule or supplement will be accepted for filing unless it is delivered to the commission free from all charges or claims for postage, the full thirty (30) days required by law before the date upon which the schedule or supplement is stated to be effective. No consideration will be given to or for the time during which a schedule or supplement may be held by the post office authorities because of insufficient postage. When a schedule or a supplement is issued and as to which the commission is not given the statutory notice, it is as if it had not been issued and a full statutory notice must be given of any reissue. No consideration will be given to telegraphic notices in computing the thirty (30) days' notice required. In these cases the schedule will be returned to the sender and correction of the neglect or omission cannot be made which takes into account any time elapsing between the date upon which that schedule or supplement was received and the date of the attempted correction. For rate schedules and supplements issued on short notice under special permission of the commission, literal compliance with the requirements for notice named in any order, regulation or permission granted by the commission will be exacted.
- (26) When a schedule is rejected by the commission as unlawful, the records will so show and that schedule should not in the future be referred to as canceled, amended or otherwise except to note on the publication issued in lieu of that rejected schedule, "In lieu of _______, rejected by the commission;" nor shall the number which it bears be used again.

(27) Rates, charges	or rentals or re	egulations relating	to them, pre-
scribed by the comi	mission in its dec	cisions and orders,	, after hearings
upon formal compl	aints, shall in ev	very instance be p	romulgated by
the electrical corpo	ration against w	hich those orders	are entered, in
duly published and	filed rate schedu	les, supplements o	r revised pages
or sheets of schedu	iles, and notice	shall be sent to the	ne commission
that its order in Ca	se No.	has been co	mplied with in
item, pag	ge, of sch	nedule PSC Mo. N	o;
or supplement to s	schedule PSC M	o. No	; or reissued

page or sheet No. _____ to schedule PSC Mo. No.

- (28) Schedules and supplements shall be filed in numerical order of PSC numbers. If in any instance this procedure is not observed as required by these rules, a memorandum must accompany the schedule so filed with the commission explaining omission of missing number(s).
- (29) Electrical corporations are directed, in filing schedules, to transmit one (1) copy of each rate schedule, supplement or other charges or regulations for the use of the commission. Schedules sent for filing must be addressed to Public Service Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102.
- (30) All schedules filed with the commission shall be accompanied by a letter of transmittal, in duplicate if receipt is desired, which shall be prepared consistent with the format designated by the commission.

AUTHORITY: sections 386.250 and 393.140, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission. Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.150 Filing Requirements for Electric Utility Promotional Practices

PURPOSE: Electric utilities with promotional practices must meet the filing requirements in this rule prior to offering a promotional practice.

- (1) Any promotional practices offered by an electric utility must meet the requirements set out in the commission's rules regarding utility promotional practices (4 CSR 240-14).
- (2) No electric utility or its affiliate shall offer or grant any additional promotional practice or vary or terminate any existing promotional practice, directly or indirectly, or in concert with others, or by any means whatsoever, until a tariff filing showing the addition or variation or termination in the form prescribed by this rule has been made with the commission and a copy furnished to each other electric utility providing the same or competing utility service in any portion of the service area of the filing utility.
- (A) The utility shall provide the following information on the tariff sheets:
- 1. The name, number or letter designation of the promotional practice;
- 2. The class of persons to which the promotional practice is being offered or granted;
- 3. Whether the promotional practice is being uniformly offered to all persons within that class;
- 4. A description of the promotional practice and a statement of its purpose or objective;
- 5. A statement of the terms and conditions governing the promotional practice;
- 6. If the promotional practice is offered or granted, in whole or in part, by an affiliate or other person, the identity of the affiliate or person and the nature of their participation; and
- 7. Other information relevant to a complete understanding of the promotional practice.
- (3) The utility shall provide the following supporting information for each promotional practice:
- (A) A description of the advertising or publicity to be employed with respect to the promotional practice;
- (B) For promotional practices that are designed to evaluate the cost-effectiveness of potential demand-side resources, a description of the evaluation criteria, the evaluation plan and the schedule for completing the evaluation; and
- (C) For promotional practices that are designed to acquire demand-side resources, documentation of the criteria used and the analysis performed to determine that the demand-side resources are cost-effective.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at < http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp > . A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.155 Requirements for Electric Utility Cogeneration Tariff Filings

PURPOSE: This rule defines the requirements of electric utilities pertaining to the filing of tariffs regarding purchasing electricity generated by small power producers and cogenerators. Additional provisions pertaining to cogeneration are set forth in 4 CSR 240-20.060.

- (1) Terms defined in the Public Utility Regulatory Policies Act of 1978 (PURPA) shall have the same meaning for purposes of this rule as they have under PURPA, unless further defined in this rule.
- (2) All regulated electric utilities shall—
- (A) File tariffs providing standardized rates for facilities at or under one hundred (100) kilowatts on design capacity. The tariffs are to take account of the stochastic effect achieved by the aggregate output of dispersed small systems, that is, statistically a dispersed array of facilities may produce a level of reliability not enjoyed by any one (1) of the units taken separately. When that aggregate capacity value which allows the utility to avoid a capacity cost occurs and can be reasonably estimated, a corresponding credit must be included in the standard rates. The tariffs should take into account patterns of availability of particular energy sources such as the benefits to a summer peaking utility from photovoltaic systems or to a winter peaking utility for wind facilities. For the purposes of this rule, rate means any price, rate, charge or classification made, demanded, observed or received with respect to the sale or purchase of electric energy or capacity or any rule or practice respecting any such rate, charge or classification and any contract pertaining to the sale or purchase of electric energy or capacity;
- (B) Submit a standard form contract for facilities over one hundred (100) kilowatts as the basis for tariffs for these facilities. Issues such as avoided costs, losses, reliability and ability to schedule are to be considered in the contract.
- (3) All tariffs and other data required to be prepared and filed by electric utilities under the provisions of subsection (1) shall be submitted no later than September 15, 1981, and updated and revised on or before January 15, 1983, and not less than every two (2) years after that, unless otherwise ordered by the commission.
- (4) To make available data from which avoided costs may be derived, not later than September 15, 1981, and updated and revised on or before January 15, 1983, and not less than every two (2) years after that, unless otherwise ordered by the commission, each regulated electric utility shall provide to the Public Service Commission (PSC) and shall maintain for public inspection the following data:
- (A) The estimated avoided cost on the electric utility's system, solely with respect to the energy component, for various levels of purchases from qualifying facilities. These levels of purchases shall be stated in blocks of not more than one hundred (100) megawatts for systems with peak demand of one thousand (1,000) megawatts or

more, and in blocks equivalent to not more than ten percent (10%) of the system peak demand for systems of less than one thousand (1,000) megawatts. The avoided costs shall be stated on a cents per kilowatt-hour basis, during daily and seasonal peak and off-peak periods, by year, for the current calendar year and each of the next five (5) years;

- (B) The electric utility's plans for the addition of capacity by amount and type, for purchases of firm energy and capacity and for capacity retirements for each year during the succeeding ten (10) years; and
- (C) The estimated capacity costs at completion of the planned capacity additions and planned capacity firm purchases, on the basis of dollars per kilowatt and the associated energy costs of each unit, expressed in cents per kilowatt hour. These costs shall be expressed in terms of individual generating units and of individual planned firm purchases.
- (5) Special Rule for Small Electric Utilities.
- (A) Each electric utility (other than any electric utility to which subparagraph (5)(A)2. applies) upon request shall—
- 1. Provide comparable data to that required under section (2) to enable qualifying facilities to estimate the electric utility's avoided costs for periods described in section (2); or
- 2. With regard to an electric utility which is legally obligated to obtain all its requirements for electric energy and capacity from another electric utility, provide the data of its supplying utility and the rates at which it currently purchases the energy and capacity.
- (B) If any such electric utility fails to provide this information on request, the qualifying facility may apply to the Public Service Commission for an order requiring that the information be provided.
- (6) PSC Review.
- (A) Any data submitted by an electric utility under this section shall be subject to review by the PSC.
- (B) In any such review, the electric utility has the burden of coming forward with justification for its data.
- (7) Implementation of Certain Reporting Requirements. Any electric utility which fails to comply with the requirements of subsection (1)(B) shall be subject to the same penalties to which it may be subjected for failure to comply with the requirements of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission's (FERC's) regulations issued under Section 133 of PURPA.

AUTHORITY: sections 386.250 and 393.140, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.160 Filing Requirements for Electric Utility General Rate Increase Requests

PURPOSE: This rule prescribes information which must be filed by all electric utilities when filing for a general company-wide increase in rates. As noted in the rule, additional provisions pertaining to the filing requirements for general rate increase requests are found at 4 CSR 240-3.030.

- (1) In addition to the requirements of 4 CSR 240-3.030, any electric utility which submits a general rate increase request shall submit the following:
- (A) Its depreciation study, database and property unit catalog. However, an electric utility need not submit a depreciation study, database or property unit catalog to the extent that the commission's staff received these items from the utility during the three (3) years prior to the utility filing for a general rate increase or before five (5) years have elapsed since the last time the commission's staff received a depreciation study, database and property unit catalog from the utility. The depreciation study, database and property unit catalog shall be compiled as follows:
- 1. The study shall reflect the average life and remaining life of each primary plant account or subaccount;
- 2. The database shall consist of dollar amounts, by plant account or subaccount, representing—
- A. Annual dollar additions and dollar retirements by vintage year and year retired, beginning with the earliest year of available data;
 - B. Reserve for depreciation;
 - C. Surviving plant balance as of the study date; and
- D. Estimated date of final retirement and surviving dollar investment for each warehouse, electric generating facility, combustion turbine, general office building or other large structure; and
- 3. The property unit catalog shall contain a description of each retirement unit used by the utility.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.165 Annual Report Filing Requirements for Electric Utilities

PURPOSE: This rule establishes standards for filing annual reports by electric utilities subject to the jurisdiction of the Missouri Public Service Commission, including procedures for filing annual report information under seal.

- (1) All electric utilities subject to the jurisdiction of the Missouri Public Service Commission shall file an annual report with the commission on or before April 15 of each year.
- (2) Electric utilities shall file their annual reports on either a form provided by the commission or on a computer-generated replica which is acceptable to the commission. All requested information shall be included in the annual report where applicable.
- (3) Where a utility subject to this rule considers the information requested on the annual report form to be confidential, it must make a written request to the secretary of the commission to file that information under seal and state good cause for maintaining the information under seal. The secretary of the commission shall then, through the general counsel, present that request to the commission for approval. The secretary of the commission shall inform the utility within three (3) days of the commission decision whether the request has been granted.
- (4) A utility which is unable to meet the filing date established in section (1) of this rule shall make a written request to extend the filing date for its annual report to the secretary of the commission and state the reason for the extension request. The secretary of the commission, through the chief administrative law judge, shall present the report to the commission for approval. The secretary of the commission shall inform the utility in writing within three (3) days of the decision of the commission.

AUTHORITY: sections 386.250 and 393.140, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC **DEVELOPMENT**

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.175 Submission Requirements for Electric Utility **Depreciation Studies**

PURPOSE: This rule sets forth the requirements regarding the submission of depreciation studies by electric utilities.

- (1) Each electric utility subject to the commission's jurisdiction shall submit a depreciation study, database and property unit catalog to the manager of the commission's energy department and to the Office of the Public Counsel, as required by the terms of subsection (1)(B).
- (A) The depreciation study, database and property unit catalog shall be compiled as follows:
- 1. The study shall reflect the average life and remaining life of each primary plant account or subaccount;
- 2. The database shall consist of dollar amounts, by plant account or subaccount, representing-
- A. Annual dollar additions and dollar retirements by vintage year and year retired, beginning with the earliest year of available data:
 - B. Reserve for depreciation;
 - C. Surviving plant balance as of the study date; and
- D. Estimated date of final retirement and surviving dollar investment for each warehouse, electric generating facility, combustion turbine, general office building or other large structure; and
- 3. The property unit catalog shall contain a description of each retirement unit used by the company.
- (B) An electric utility shall submit its depreciation study, database and property unit catalog on the following occasions:
- 1. On or before the date adjoining the first letter of the name under which the corporation does business, excluding the word the, as indicated by the tariffs on file with the commission.
- A. The alphabetical categories and submission due dates are as follows:

(I) A, B, C, D: January 1, 1994; (II) E, F, G, H: July 1, 1994;

(III) I, J, K, L: January 1, 1995; (IV) M, N, O, P: July 1, 1995;

(V) Q, R, S, T: January 1, 1996; and

(VI) U, V, W, X, Y, Z: July 1, 1996.

- (I) An electric utility need not submit a depreciation study, database or property unit catalog to the extent that the commission's staff received these items from the utility during the three (3) years prior to the due dates listed in subparagraph (1)(B)1.A.; and
- (II) A utility with simultaneous due dates under subparagraph (1)(B)1.A. above and 4 CSR 240-3.275(1)(B)1. may postpone its due date with respect to one (1) of these rules by six (6) months. To exercise this option, the utility must give written notice of its intent to postpone compliance to the manager of the commission's energy department, and to the Office of the Public Counsel, before the utility's first due date;
- 2. Before five (5) years have elapsed since the last time the commission's staff received a depreciation study, database and property unit catalog from the utility.
- (2) The commission may waive or grant a variance from the provisions of this rule, in whole or in part, for good cause shown, upon a utility's written application.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission **Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements**

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.180 Submission of Electric Utility Residential Heat-**Related Service Cold Weather Report**

PURPOSE: This rule sets forth the requirements for electric utilities to submit reports regarding services provided during the commission's designated cold weather period.

- (1) Each utility providing heat-related utility service shall submit a report to the consumer services department of the commission for each calendar month no later than the twentieth day of the following month. The utility shall provide a copy of each report to the Office of the Public Counsel. The report shall include the information listed below for each operational district into which the utility has divided its Missouri service territory. Utilities providing both electric and gas service shall report the information separately for their gas-only territory:
- (A) The number of days on which discontinuance of service was not prohibited by the cold weather rule's daily temperature moratorium (4 CSR 240-13.055(4));
- (B) The utility shall report the following information for all residential customers and state separately the information for those on whose behalf the utility has received notice of qualification for publicly funded energy assistance:
- 1. The number of residential customers who agreed to pay for their heat-related utility service under a payment agreement in accordance with 4 CSR 240-13.055(8);
- 2. The number of residential customers whose heat-related utility service was discontinued due to failure to make timely payments under a 4 CSR 240-13.055(8) agreement;
- 3. The total amount due and owing from residential customers whose utility service was discontinued due to failure to make timely payments under a 4 CSR 240-13.055(8) agreement;
- 4. The number of residential customers whose heat-related utility service was involuntarily discontinued and who were not participants under a 4 CSR 240-13.055(8) payment agreement; and
- 5. The total amount due and owing from residential customers whose heat-related utility service was involuntarily discontinued and who were not participants under a 4 CSR 240-13.055(8) payment agreement.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.185 Submission of Reports Pertaining to the Decommissioning of Electric Utility Plants

PURPOSE: Electric utilities with nuclear plants must submit the reports pertaining to the decommissioning trust fund of the nuclear plants as outlined in this rule. The rule pertaining to decommissioning trust funds may be found at 4 CSR 240-20.070.

- (1) The utility or the trustee shall file reports quarterly to the commission. The reports shall contain the following information:
- (A) A total of all jurisdictional balances of the trust fund(s) based on a carrying cost (book) value;
- (B) A total of all jurisdictional balances of the trust fund(s) based on a market value;
- (C) A Missouri jurisdictional balance of the trust fund(s) based on a carrying cost (book) value;
- (D) A Missouri jurisdictional balance of the trust fund(s) based on a market value:
- (E) A summary of the trust account including the utility's contributions, incomes, expenses and a weighted average after-tax return for the quarter;
- (F) A portfolio summary per asset class by amount and percentage;
 - (G) A detailed report of daily transactions; and
- (H) Any other information the commission orders the utility or trustee to provide.
- (2) In addition, the utility or the trustee shall file reports annually to the commission that contain the following information:
 - (A) An asset maturity schedule;
- (B) A summary of the trust's portfolio of investments including a listing of each security detailing the carrying cost, current market value, maturity date, estimated annual income and the yield to maturity.
- (C) A copy of all correspondence including income tax returns and tax exempt rulings concerning the trust with the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) or any state revenue agency; and
- (D) Any other information the commission orders the utility or trust to provide.
- (3) On or before September 1, 1990 and every three (3) years after that, utilities with decommissioning trust funds shall perform and file with the commission cost studies detailing the utilities' latest cost estimates for decommissioning their nuclear generating unit(s) along with the funding levels necessary to defray these decommissioning costs. These studies shall be filed along with appropriate tariff(s) effectuating the change in rates necessary to accomplish the funding required. In addition, the commission, at any time for just cause, may require a utility to file an updated decommissioning cost study, funding requirement and associated tariff(s).
- (4) At the time a tariff(s) is filed by a utility which proposes any change in rates due to changes in the estimate of decommissioning cost or the funding level of its nuclear decommissioning trust fund(s), the utility shall file the following minimum information in support of the need for changes in its tariff rates:
- (A) An updated decommissioning cost study which estimates the cost of decommissioning and the funding levels necessary to defray these costs. This study shall contain the following information:
- 1. Detailed quantities and unit prices in current dollars for each system of the nuclear generating unit to be decommissioned;

- 2. A detailed breakdown between radioactive contaminated systems and those systems which are not contaminated by radioactivity;
- 3. Funding levels which are computed on a levelized basis and which accrue future decommissioning costs over the remaining licensed life of the nuclear generating unit. The utility shall include the earnings rate and inflation rate assumed in the cost study as compared to those assumed in any previous study;
- 4. A detailed description of any facilities that were added to or deleted from the cost study filed in the previous case;
- 5. The beginning date for the expenditure of funds for decommissioning assumed in the study shall be no later than the expiration date of the unit's current Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) license; and
- 6. The study shall consider and evaluate all reasonable practices or procedures which would reduce the ultimate cost of decommissioning; and
- (B) A summary description of the reasons (for example, changes in regulation, technology or economics) that brought on the need to change the decommissioning cost estimate.
- (5) Upon proper application and after due notice and hearing, the commission may waive any provision of this rule for good cause shown.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.190 Electric Utility Reporting Requirements

PURPOSE: This rule prescribes requirements and procedures for the reporting of certain events by electrical corporations to the Public Service Commission to inform the commission of developments which may affect the rendering of safe and adequate service and to enable the commission to thoroughly and fairly investigate certain events, which may have an impact in future electric rate proceedings at the time and in the context in which those events occur.

- (1) Commencing on September 1, 1991, every electrical corporation, as defined in section 386.020, RSMo, subject to the jurisdiction of the Public Service Commission (PSC) shall accumulate the following information and transmit it to the manager of the energy department of the PSC, or his/her designee, no later than the last business day of the month following the month to be reported and after that on a monthly basis:
- (A) All generating unit outages and derates, excluding hydroelectric generating units and units whose capacity comprise less than one and one-half percent (1 1/2%) of the electrical corporation's installed capacity;
- (B) All fuel purchases for power production purposes, including the terms of those purchases. A copy of the Monthly Report of Cost and Quality of Fuels for Electric Plants on FERC Form No. 423, as submitted to the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC), will satisfy the requirements of this subsection;
 - (C) Net hourly generation for each generating unit;
- (D) Hourly purchases and sales of electricity from or to other utility companies, independent power producers or cogenerators, including the parties to purchases and sales, and the terms of purchases and sales:
 - (E) Capacity purchases of longer than seven (7) days' duration;
- (F) Planned outages of power production facilities, as they are scheduled or rescheduled. Changes from the planned outage schedule must be reported by telephone or electronic transmission to the manager of the energy department of the PSC or his/her designee prior to the initiation of the outage, if the changes result in the planned outage schedule being different from the schedule in the most recently submitted monthly report;
- (G) Planned fuel test burns, unit heat-rate tests and accreditation runs as they are scheduled or rescheduled. Changes from previously planned fuel test burns, unit heat-rate tests and accreditation runs must be reported by telephone or electronic transmission to the manager of the energy department of the PSC or his/her designee prior to their initiation, if these changes result in the schedule for fuel test burns, unit heat-rate tests and accreditation runs being different from the schedule in the most recently submitted monthly report;
- (H) Citations or notices of violation related to power production facilities received from any state or federal utility regulatory agency or environmental agency including, but not limited to, the FERC, the Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) and the Department of Energy (DOE);
- (I) The terms of new contracts or existing contracts which will be booked to Accounts 310-346 or Accounts 502-546 of the FERC's Uniform System of Accounts requiring the expenditure by the electrical corporation of more than fifty thousand dollars (\$50,000) including, but not limited to, contracts for engineering, consulting, repairs and modifications or additions to an electric plant; and
- (J) Copies of all written reports on forced generating unit outages of longer than three (3) days, test burns of fuel, heat-rate tests, accreditation runs and responses to state or federal utility regulatory agencies or environmental agencies including, but not limited to, the FERC, the NRC, the EPA, the DNR and the DOE, concerning any alleged infractions, deviations or noncompliance with those agencies' rules or standards related to power production facilities.
- (2) The information required in subsections (1)(C) and (D) of this rule may be provided to the manager of the energy department of the PSC or his/her designee on computer diskette or by electronic transmission. If the information required in subsections (1)(C) and (D) is provided on computer diskette or by electronic transmission, the data reported and the software program used to record the data shall be

clearly identified and shall be accompanied by a statement as required in subsection (4)(A) of this rule.

- (3) In addition to the reporting requirements in sections (1) and (2) of this rule, every electrical corporation, as defined in section 386.020, RSMo, subject to the jurisdiction of the PSC, shall report to the manager of the energy department of the PSC or his/her designee by telephone or electronic transmission by the end of the first business day following discovery the information described in subsections (3)(A)–(E) below. If the report is initially made by telephone, the electric utility shall submit a written description either by mail or electronic transmission within five (5) business days following the discovery.
- (A) Details of any accident at a power plant involving serious physical injury or death or property damage in excess of fifty thousand dollars (\$50,000);
- (B) Forced outages of any nuclear generating unit(s) that could reasonably be anticipated to last longer than three (3) days;
- (C) Forced outages of any fossil-fuel fired generating unit(s) which constitutes twenty percent (20%) or more of the electrical corporation's accredited capacity that reasonably could be anticipated to last longer than three (3) days, when the unit(s) is forced out due to a common occurrence;
- (D) Reductions of coal inventory below a thirty (30)-day supply and reductions of oil inventory below fifty percent (50%) of normal oil inventory; and
- (E) Loss of transmission capability that could limit the output of a generating plant.
- (4) All reports and information submitted by electrical corporations pursuant to this rule shall be—
- (A) Subscribed by the president, treasurer, general manager, receiver or other authorized representative of the electrical corporation having knowledge of the subject matter and shall be stated to be accurate and complete, and contain no material misrepresentations or omissions, based upon facts of which the person subscribing the report or information has knowledge, information or belief; and
- (B) Sent to the Energy Department Manager, Public Service Commission, PO Box 360, 200 Madison St., Suite 700, Jefferson City, MO 65102 or submitted electronically through the commission's electronic filing system.
- (5) The reporting requirements prescribed by this rule shall be in addition to all other reporting requirements prescribed by law.
- (6) The information contained in the reports filed pursuant to this rule shall be subject to the provisions of section 386.480, RSMo and the use of that information in any proceeding before the commission shall be governed by the terms of any protective order issued by the commission in the proceeding, if a protective order has been issued.
- (7) The receipt by the commission or commission staff of reports prescribed by this rule shall not bind the commission or commission staff to the approval or acceptance of, or agreement with any matter contained in the reports for the purpose of fixing rates or in determining any other issue that may come before the commission.
- (8) Upon proper application and after notice and an opportunity for hearing, the commission, in its discretion, may waive any provision of this rule for good cause shown.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS AND NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT Division 240—Public Service Commission

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.200 Definitions Pertaining Specifically to Gas Utility Rules

PURPOSE: This rule sets forth the definitions of certain terms used in rules 4 CSR 240-3.205 through 4 CSR 240-3.295, which are in addition to the definitions set forth in rule 4 CSR 240-3.010 of this chapter.

- (1) Affiliate means any person who, directly or indirectly, controls or is controlled by or is under common control with a gas utility.
- (2) Affiliated entity means any person, including an individual, corporation, service company, corporate subsidiary, firm, partnership, incorporated or unincorporated association, political subdivision including a public utility district, city, town, county, or a combination of political subdivisions, which directly or indirectly, through one (1) or more intermediaries, controls, is controlled by, or is under common control with the regulated gas corporation.
- (3) Affiliate transaction means any transaction for the provision, purchase or sale of any information, asset, product or service, or portion of any product or service, between a regulated gas corporation and an affiliated entity, and shall include all transactions carried out between any unregulated business operation of a regulated gas corporation and the regulated business operations of a gas corporation. An affiliate transaction for the purposes of this rule excludes heating, ventilating and air conditioning (HVAC) services as defined in section 386.754 by the General Assembly of Missouri.
- (4) Appliance or equipment means any device which consumes gas energy and any ancillary device required for its operation.
- (5) Consideration shall be interpreted in its broadest sense and shall include any cash, donation, gift, allowance, rebate, discount, bonus, merchandise (new or used), property (real or personal), labor, service, conveyance, commitment, right or other thing of value.

(6) Control (including the terms "controlling," "controlled by," and "common control") means the possession, directly or indirectly, of the power to direct, or to cause the direction of the management or policies of an entity, whether such power is exercised through one (1) or more intermediary entities, or alone, or in conjunction with, or pursuant to an agreement with, one (1) or more other entities, whether such power is exercised through a majority or minority ownership or voting of securities, common directors, officers or stockholders, voting trusts, holding trusts, affiliated entities, contract or any other direct or indirect means. The commission shall presume that the beneficial ownership of ten percent (10%) or more of voting securities or partnership interest of an entity constitutes control for purposes of this rule. This provision, however, shall not be construed to prohibit a regulated gas corporation from rebutting the presumption that its ownership interest in an entity confers control.

Page 1598

- (7) Cost-effective means that the present value of life-cycle benefits is greater than the present value of life-cycle costs to the provider of an energy service.
- (8) Demand-side resource means any inefficient energy-related choice that can be influenced cost-effectively by a utility. The meaning of this term shall not be construed to include load-building program.
- (9) Designated commission personnel means the commission's Pipeline Safety Program Manager at the address contained in 4 CSR 240-40.020(5) for written reports and the list of staff personnel supplied to the operators for telephonic notices, both as are required by 4 CSR 240-40.020.
- (10) Gas means natural gas, flammable gas, manufactured gas or gas which is toxic or corrosive.
- (11) Gas seller means any person who uses, leases, or controls the distribution system of a distributor or a political subdivision or any part thereof to sell energy services at retail within a political subdivision, other than a distributor or a political subdivision.
- (12) Inefficient energy-related choice means any decision that causes the life-cycle cost of providing an energy service to be higher than it would be for an available alternative choice.
- (13) Load-building program means an organized promotional effort by a utility to persuade energy-related decision makers to choose the form of energy supplied by that utility instead of other forms of energy for the provision of energy service or to persuade customers to increase their use of that utility's form of energy, either by substituting it for other forms of energy or by increasing the level or variety of energy services used. This term is not intended to include the provision of technical or engineering assistance, information about filed rates and tariffs or other forms of routine customer service.
- (14) Operator means a person who engages in the transportation of gas.
- (15) Pipeline or pipeline system means all parts of those physical facilities through which gas moves in transportation including, but not limited to, pipe, valves and other appurtenances attached to pipe, compressor units, metering stations, regulator stations, delivery stations, holders and fabricated assemblies.
- (16) Pipeline facility means new and existing pipeline, rights-of-way and any equipment, facility or building used in the transportation of gas or in the treatment of gas during the course of transportation.
- (17) Promotional practices means any consideration offered or granted by a gas utility or its affiliate to any person for the purpose, express or implied, of inducing the person to select and use the ser-

- vice or use additional service of the utility or to select or install any appliance or equipment designed to use the utility service, or for the purpose of influencing the person's choice or specification of the efficiency characteristics of appliances, equipment, buildings, utilization patterns or operating procedures. The term promotional practices shall not include the following activities:
- (A) Making any emergency repairs to appliances or equipment of customers:
- (B) Providing appliances or equipment incidental to demonstrations of sixty (60) days or less in duration;
- (C) Providing light bulbs, street or outdoor lighting service, wiring, service pipe or other service equipment or appliances, in accordance with tariffs filed with and approved by the commission;
- (D) Providing appliances or equipment to an educational institution for the purpose of instructing students in the use of the appliances or equipment;
- (E) Merchandising appliances or equipment at retail and, in connection therewith, the holding of inventories, making and fulfillment of reasonable warranties against defects in material and workmanship existing at the time of delivery and financing; provided that the merchandising shall not violate any prohibition contained in 4 CSR 240-14.020;
- (F) Inspecting and adjusting of appliances or equipment by a gas utility;
- (G) Repairing and other maintenance to appliances or equipment by a gas utility if charges are at cost or above;
- (H) Providing free or below-cost energy audits or other information or analysis regarding the feasibility and cost-effectiveness of improvements in the efficiency characteristics of appliances, equipment, buildings, utilization patterns or operating procedures;
- (I) Offering to present or prospective customers by a gas utility technical or engineering assistance; and
- (J) Advertising or publicity by a gas utility which is under its name and on its behalf and which does not in any manner, directly or indirectly, identify, describe, refer to, mention or relate to any architect, builder, engineer, subdivider, developer or other similar person, or which mentions no less than three (3) existing projects, developments or subdivisions.
- (18) Service line means a distribution line that transports gas from a common source of supply to a) a customer meter or the connection to a customer's piping, whichever is farther downstream, or b) the connection to a customer's piping if there is no customer meter. A customer meter is the meter that measures the transfer of gas from an operator to a consumer.
- (19) Transmission line means a pipeline, other than a gathering line, that:
- (A) Transports gas from a gathering line or storage facility to a distribution center, storage facility, or large volume customer that is not downstream from a distribution center (A large volume customer may receive similar volumes of gas as a distribution center, and includes factories, power plants, and institutional users of gas);
- (B) Operates at a hoop stress of twenty percent (20%) or more of specified minimum yield strength (SMYS); or
 - (C) Transports gas within a storage field.
- (20) Transportation of gas means the receipt of gas at one point on a regulated gas corporation's system and the redelivery of an equivalent volume of gas to the retail customer of the gas at another point on the regulated gas corporation's system including, without limitation, scheduling, balancing, peaking, storage, and exchange to the extent such services are provided pursuant to the regulated gas corporation's tariff, and includes opportunity sales.
- (21) Yard line means an underground fuel line that transports gas from the service line to the customer's building. If multiple buildings are being served, building shall mean the building nearest to the

connection to the service line. For purposes of this definition, if aboveground fuel line piping at the meter location is located within five feet (5') of a building being served by that meter, it shall be considered to the customer's building and no yard line exists. At meter locations where aboveground fuel line piping is located greater than five feet (5') from the building(s) being served, the underground fuel line from the meter to the entrance into the nearest building served by that meter shall be considered the yard line and any other lines are not considered yard lines.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.205 Filing Requirements for Gas Utility Applications for Certificates of Convenience and Necessity

PURPOSE: Applications to the commission requesting that the commission grant a certificate of convenience and necessity must meet the requirements set forth in this rule. As noted in the rule, additional requirements pertaining to such applications are set forth in 4 CSR 240-2.060(1).

- (1) In addition to the requirements of 4 CSR 240-2.060(1), applications for a certificate of convenience and necessity by a gas company shall include the following information:
 - (A) If the application is for a service area—
- 1. A statement as to the same or similar utility service, regulated and nonregulated, available in the area requested;
- 2. If there are ten (10) or more residents or landowners, the name and address of no fewer than ten (10) persons residing in the proposed service area or of no fewer than ten (10) landowners in the event there are no residences in the area, or, if there are fewer than

- ten (10) residents or landowners, the name and address of all residents and landowners;
 - 3. The legal description of the area to be certificated;
- 4. A plat drawn to a scale of one-half inch (1/2") to the mile on maps comparable to county highway maps issued by the Missouri Department of Transportation or a plat drawn to a scale of two thousand feet (2,000') to the inch; and
- 5. A feasibility study containing plans and specifications for the utility system and estimated cost of the construction of the utility system during the first three (3) years of construction; plans for financing; proposed rates and charges and an estimate of the number of customers, revenues and expenses during the first three (3) years of operations;
 - (B) If the application is for gas transmission lines—
- 1. A description of the route of construction and a list of all electric and telephone lines of regulated and nonregulated utilities, railroad tracks or any underground facility, as defined in section 319.015, RSMo, which the proposed construction will cross;
- 2. The plans and specifications for the complete construction project and estimated cost of the construction project or a statement of the reasons the information is currently unavailable and a date when it will be furnished; and
 - 3. Plans for financing;
- (C) When no evidence of approval of the affected governmental bodies is necessary, a statement to that effect;
- (D) When approval of the affected governmental bodies is required, evidence must be provided as follows:
- 1. When consent or franchise by a city or county is required, approval shall be shown by a certified copy of the document granting the consent or franchise, or an affidavit of the applicant that consent has been acquired; and
- A certified copy of the required approval of other governmental agencies; and
- (E) The facts showing that the granting of the application is required by the public convenience and necessity.
- (2) If any of the items required under this rule are unavailable at the time the application is filed, they shall be furnished prior to the granting of the authority sought.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.210 Filing Requirements for Gas Utility Applications for Authority to Sell, Assign, Lease or Transfer Assets

PURPOSE: Applications to the commission for the authority to sell, assign, lease or transfer assets must meet the requirements set forth in this rule. As noted in the rule, additional requirements pertaining to such applications are set forth in 4 CSR 240-2.060(1).

- (1) In addition to the requirements of 4 CSR 240-2.060(1), applications for authority to sell, assign, lease or transfer assets shall include:
- (A) A brief description of the property involved in the transaction, including any franchises, permits, operating rights or certificates of convenience and necessity;
 - (B) A copy of the contract or agreement of sale;
- (C) The verification of proper authority by the person signing the application or a certified copy of resolution of the board of directors of each applicant authorizing the proposed action;
- (D) The reasons the proposed sale of the assets is not detrimental to the public interest;
- (E) If the purchaser is subject to the jurisdiction of the commission, a balance sheet and income statement with adjustments showing the results of the acquisitions of the property; and
- (F) A statement of the impact, if any, the sale, assignment, lease or transfer of assets will have on the tax revenues of the political subdivisions in which any structures, facilities or equipment of the companies involved in that sale are located.
- (2) If the purchaser is not subject to the jurisdiction of the commission, but will be subject to the commission's jurisdiction after the sale, the purchaser must comply with these rules.
- (3) If any of the items required under this rule are unavailable at the time the application is filed, they shall be furnished prior to the granting of the authority sought.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp<>http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp>>http://www.psc.st

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.215 Filing Requirements for Gas Utility Applications for Authority to Merge or Consolidate

PURPOSE: Applications to the commission for the authority to merge or consolidate must meet the requirements set forth in this rule. As noted in the rule, additional requirements pertaining to such applications are set forth in 4 CSR 240-2.060(1).

- (1) In addition to the requirements of 4 CSR 240-2.060(1), applications for authority to merge or consolidate shall include:
- (A) A copy of the proposed plan and agreement of corporate merger and consolidation, including organizational charts depicting the relationship of the merging entities before and after the transaction;
- (B) A certified copy of the resolution of the board of directors of each applicant authorizing the proposed merger and consolidation;
- (C) The balance sheets and income statements of each applicant and a balance sheet and income statement of the surviving corporation:
- (D) The reasons the proposed merger is not detrimental to the public interest:
- (E) An estimate of the impact of the merger on the company's Missouri jurisdictional operations relative to the merger and acquisition in question; and
- (F) A statement of the impact, if any, the merger or consolidation will have on the tax revenues of the political subdivision in which any structures, facilities or equipment of the companies involved are located.
- (2) If the purchaser is not subject to the jurisdiction of the commission, but will be subject to the commission's jurisdiction after the sale, the purchaser must comply with these rules.
- (3) If any of the items required under this rule are unavailable at the time the application is filed, they shall be furnished prior to the granting of the authority sought.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission,

Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.220 Filing Requirements for Gas Utility Applications for Authority to Issue Stock, Bonds, Notes and Other Evidences of Indebtedness

PURPOSE: Applications to the commission for the authority to issue stock, bonds, notes or other evidences of indebtedness must meet the requirements set forth in this rule. As noted in the rule, additional requirements pertaining to such applications are set forth in 4 CSR 240-2.060(1).

- (1) In addition to the requirements of 4 CSR 240-2.060(1), applications for authority to issue stock, bonds, notes and other evidences of indebtedness shall contain the following:
- (A) A brief description of the securities which applicant desires to issue:
- (B) A statement of the purpose for which the securities are to be issued and the use of the proceeds;
- (C) Copies of executed instruments defining the terms of the proposed securities—
- 1. If these instruments have been previously filed with the commission, a reference to the case number in which the instruments were furnished;
- 2. If these instruments have not been executed at the time of filing, a statement of the general terms and conditions to be contained in the instruments which are proposed to be executed; and
- 3. If none of these instruments is either executed or to be executed, a statement of how the securities are to be sold;
- (D) A certified copy of resolutions of the directors of applicant authorizing the issuance of the securities;
- (E) A balance sheet and income statement with adjustments showing the effects of the issuance of the proposed securities upon—
 - 1. Bonded and other indebtedness; and
 - 2. Stock authorized and outstanding;
- (F) A statement of what portion of the issue is subject to the fee schedule in section 386.300, RSMo; and
- (G) A five (5)-year capitalization expenditure schedule as required by section 393.200, RSMo.
- (2) If any of the items required under this rule are unavailable at the time the application is filed, they shall be furnished prior to the granting of the authority sought.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.225 Filing Requirements for Gas Utility Applications for Authority to Acquire the Stock of a Public Utility

PURPOSE: Applications to the commission for the authority to acquire the stock of a public utility must meet the requirements set forth in this rule. As noted in the rule, additional requirements pertaining to such applications are set forth in 4 CSR 240-2.060(1).

- (1) In addition to the requirements of 4 CSR 240-2.060(1), applications for authority to acquire the stock of a public utility shall include:
- (A) A statement of the offer to purchase stock of the public utility or a copy of any agreement entered with shareholders to purchase stock;
- (B) A certified copy of the resolution of the directors of applicant authorizing the acquisition of the stock; and
- (C) Reasons why the proposed acquisition of the stock of the public utility is not detrimental to the public interest.
- (2) If any of the items required under this rule are unavailable at the time the application is filed, they shall be furnished prior to the granting of the authority sought.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.230 Filing Requirements for Gas Storage Companies Requesting the Authority to Acquire Property Through Eminent Domain Proceedings

PURPOSE: Applications to the commission for the authority to acquire property through eminent domain proceedings must meet the requirements of this rule. As noted in the rule, additional requirements pertaining to such applications are set forth in 4 CSR 240-2.060(1).

- (1) In addition to the requirements of 4 CSR 240-2.060(1), applications for gas storage companies for authority to acquire property through eminent domain proceedings shall include:
 - (A) The legal description of the areas to be acquired;
 - (B) A map showing the areas to be acquired;
- (C) Names and addresses of all persons who may have any legal or equitable title of record in the property to be acquired; and
- (D) The reasons it is necessary to acquire the property and why it is in the public interest.
- (2) If any of the items required under this rule are unavailable at the time the application is filed, they shall be furnished prior to the granting of the authority sought.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.235 Filing Requirements for Gas Utility General Rate Increase Requests

PURPOSE: This rule prescribes information which must be filed by all gas utilities when filing for a general company-wide increase in rates. As noted in the rule, additional provisions pertaining to the filing requirements for general rate increase requests are found at 4 CSR 240-3.030.

- (1) In addition to the requirements of 4 CSR 240-3.030, any gas utility which submits a general rate increase request shall submit the following:
- (A) Its depreciation study, database and property unit catalog. However, a gas utility need not submit a depreciation study, data base or property unit catalog to the extent that the commission's staff received these items from the utility during the three (3) years prior to the utility filing for a general rate increase or before five (5) years have elapsed since the last time the commission's staff received a depreciation study, database and property unit catalog from the utility. The depreciation study, database and property unit catalog shall be compiled as follows:
- 1. The study shall reflect the average life and remaining life of each primary plant account or subaccount;
- $2. \ \,$ The database shall consist of dollar amounts, by plant account or subaccount, representing—
- A. Annual dollar additions and dollar retirements by vintage year and year retired, beginning with the earliest year of available data;
 - B. Reserve for depreciation;
 - C. Surviving plant balance as of the study date; and
- D. Estimated date of final retirement and surviving dollar investment for each warehouse, propane/air production facility, liquefied natural gas facility, underground natural gas storage facility, general office building or other large structure; and

3. The property unit catalog shall contain a description of each retirement unit used by the utility.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.240 Gas Utility Small Company Rate Increase Procedure

PURPOSE: This rule provides procedures for small gas utilities to obtain rate increases.

- (1) Notwithstanding any other rule to the contrary, small companies, as defined in this rule, may seek a general increase in revenues through a small company rate case by filing a letter requesting the change. The request shall not be accompanied by any tariff sheets. For the purpose of this rule, small companies qualifying to use the small company rate case described in this rule shall include gas utilities having three thousand (3,000) or fewer customers. The small company rate case shall be conducted as follows:
- (A) The original letter requesting the change shall be filed with the secretary of the commission and one (1) copy shall be furnished to the public counsel. The letter shall state the amount of the additional revenue requested, the reason(s) for the proposed change and a statement that all commission annual assessments have been paid in full or are being paid under an installment plan. The letter should also include a statement that the company's current annual report is on file with the commission. The company, in writing, shall notify customers of the request for additional revenue and the effect on the typical residential customer's bill. The notice shall indicate that customers' responses may be sent to the appropriate commission department or the public counsel within thirty (30) days of the date shown

- on the notice. A draft copy of the notice shall be sent to the appropriate commission department for verification of the accuracy of the notice before being sent to the company's customers. A copy of the final notice shall then be sent to the appropriate commission department and the public counsel. The commission staff and the public counsel shall exchange copies of customer responses upon their receipt. Upon receipt of the company's request, the commission staff shall schedule an investigation of the company's operations and an audit of its financial records. When the investigation and audit are complete, the commission staff shall notify the company and public counsel whether the requested additional revenue is recommended in whole or in part, of the rate design proposal for the increase, and of any recommended operational changes. If public counsel wishes to conduct an investigation and audit of the company, it must do so within the same time period as staff's investigation and audit;
- (B) The commission staff, within twenty-one (21) days from the completion of its investigation, shall arrange a conference with the company and shall notify the public counsel of the conference prior to the conference, in order to provide the public counsel an opportunity to participate;
- (C) If the conference between the commission staff, the company and the public counsel results in an agreement concerning additional revenue requirements and any other matters pertaining to the company's operations, including responses to customer concerns, the agreement between the commission staff, the company and the public counsel shall be reduced to writing. The company may then file tariff sheet(s) with an effective date which is not fewer than thirty (30) days after the tariff's issue date and no additional customer notice or local public hearing shall be required, unless otherwise ordered by the commission. The company shall file a copy of the agreement with its tariff;
- (D) If the conference results in an agreement between the commission staff and the company only, the company at this time shall file the necessary tariff sheet(s) with the commission in accordance with the agreement. The tariff sheet(s) shall contain an effective date of not fewer than forty-five (45) days from the issue date. The company shall notify customers in writing of the proposed rates resulting from the agreement. The notice shall indicate that customers' responses may be sent to the appropriate commission department or the public counsel within twenty (20) days of the date shown on the notice. A copy of the notice shall be sent to the secretary of the commission and the public counsel. The commission staff and the public counsel shall exchange copies of the customer responses upon their receipt. The public counsel shall file a pleading indicating its agreement or disagreement with the tariff sheet(s) within twenty-five (25) days of the date the tariff sheet(s) is filed, unless a public hearing is requested;
- (E) A request for a local public hearing may be filed after the tariff sheet(s) is filed by the company. The request shall be filed within twenty (20) days of the filing of the tariff sheet(s) by the company. Public counsel shall file a pleading indicating agreement or disagreement with the tariff sheet(s) within seven (7) days after the local public hearing;
- (F) An agreement must be reached and tariff sheet(s) filed based upon the agreement within one hundred fifty (150) days from the date the letter initiating the case is filed. This time period may be extended with the consent of the company. Written consent for an extension shall be filed with the company's tariff; and
- (G) If no agreement can be reached between the commission staff and the company, the company may initiate a standard rate case.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.245 Annual Report Filing Requirements for Gas Utilities

PURPOSE: This rule establishes standards for filing annual reports by gas utilities subject to the jurisdiction of the Missouri Public Service Commission, including procedures for filing annual report information under seal.

- (1) All gas utilities subject to the jurisdiction of the Missouri Public Service Commission shall file an annual report with the commission on or before April 15 of each year.
- (2) Gas utilities shall file their annual reports on either a form provided by the commission or on a computer-generated replica which is acceptable to the commission. All requested information shall be included in the annual report where applicable.
- (3) Where a utility subject to this rule considers the information requested on the annual report form to be confidential, it must make a written request to the secretary of the commission to file that information under seal and state good cause for maintaining the information under seal. The secretary of the commission shall then, through the general counsel, present that request to the commission for approval. The secretary of the commission shall inform the utility within three (3) days of the commission decision whether the request has been granted.
- (4) A utility which is unable to meet the filing date established in section (1) of this rule shall make a written request to extend the filing date for its annual report to the secretary of the commission and state the reason for the extension request. The secretary of the commission, through the chief administrative law judge, shall present the report to the commission for approval. The secretary of the commission shall inform the utility in writing within three (3) days of the decision of the commission.

AUTHORITY: sections 386.250 and 393.140, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.250 Submission of Gas Utility Residential Heat-Related Service Cold Weather Report

PURPOSE: This rule sets forth the requirements for gas utilities providing residential heat-related utility service to submit reports regarding services provided during the commission's designated cold weather period.

- (1) Each gas utility providing heat-related utility service shall submit a report to the consumer services department of the commission for each calendar month no later than the twentieth day of the following month. The utility shall provide a copy of each report to the office of the public counsel. The report shall include the information listed below for each operational district into which the utility has divided its Missouri service territory. Utilities providing both electric and gas service shall report the information separately for their gas-only territory:
- (A) The number of days on which discontinuance of service was not prohibited by the cold weather rule's daily temperature moratorium (4 CSR 240-13.055(4));
- (B) The utility shall report the following information for all residential customers and state separately the information for those on whose behalf the utility has received notice of qualification for publicly funded energy assistance:
- 1. The number of residential customers who agreed to pay for their heat-related utility service under a payment agreement in accordance with 4 CSR 240-13.055(8);

- 2. The number of residential customers whose heat-related utility service was discontinued due to failure to make timely payments under an agreement made pursuant to 4 CSR 240-13.055(8);
- 3. The total amount due and owing from residential customers whose utility service was discontinued due to failure to make timely payments under an agreement made pursuant to 4 CSR 240-13.055(8);
- 4. The number of residential customers whose heat-related utility service was involuntarily discontinued and who were not participants under an agreement made pursuant to 4 CSR 240-13.055(8); and
- 5. The total amount due and owing from residential customers whose heat-related utility service was involuntarily discontinued and who were not participants under an agreement made pursuant to 4 CSR 240-13.055(8).

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS AND NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.255 Filing Requirements for Gas Utility Promotional Practices

PURPOSE: This rule prescribes the filing requirement for present, proposed or revised promotional practices.

- (1) Any promotional practices offered by a gas utility must meet the requirements set out in the commission's rules regarding utility promotional practices (4 CSR 240-14).
- (2) No gas utility or its affiliate shall offer or grant any additional promotional practice or vary or terminate any existing promotional practice, directly or indirectly, or in concert with others, or by any

means whatsoever, until a tariff filing showing the addition or variation or termination in the form prescribed by this rule has been made with the commission and a copy furnished to each other gas utility providing the same or competing utility service in any portion of the service area of the filing utility.

- (A) The utility shall provide the following information on the tariff sheets:
- 1. The name, number or letter designation of the promotional practice;
- 2. The class of persons to which the promotional practice is being offered or granted;
- 3. Whether the promotional practice is being uniformly offered to all persons within that class;
- 4. A description of the promotional practice and a statement of its purpose or objective;
- 5. A statement of the terms and conditions governing the promotional practice;
- 6. If the promotional practice is offered or granted, in whole or in part, by an affiliate or other person, the identity of the affiliate or person and the nature of their participation; and
- 7. Other information relevant to a complete understanding of the promotional practice.
- (B) The utility shall provide the following supporting information for each promotional practice:
- 1. A description of the advertising or publicity to be employed with respect to the promotional practice;
- 2. For promotional practices that are designed to evaluate the cost-effectiveness of potential demand-side resources, a description of the evaluation criteria, the evaluation plan and the schedule for completing the evaluation; and
- For promotional practices that are designed to acquire demand-side resources, documentation of the criteria used and the analysis performed to determine that the demand-side resources are cost-effective.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.260 Filing Requirements for Gas Utility Rate Schedules

PURPOSE: This rule prescribes the forms and procedures for filing and publishing schedules of rates of all gas utilities under the jurisdiction of the Public Service Commission.

- (1) Every gas corporation engaged in the manufacture, furnishing or distribution of gas of any nature whatsoever for light, heat or power, within the state of Missouri, is directed not later than October 15, 1913, to have on file with this commission and keep open for public inspection, schedules showing all rates and charges in connection with such service of whatever nature made by the gas corporations for each and every kind of service which it renders as were in force on April 15, 1913, together with proper supplements covering all changes in the rate schedules authorized by this commission, if any, since April 15, 1913.
- (2) All such rate schedules now on file with the commission not in accordance with this rule shall be issued in the form and manner prescribed by this rule and all rate schedules issued after April 15, 1913, must conform to this rule.
- (3) Rate schedules shall be drawn up substantially in accordance with Form No. 14 and shall be plainly printed or typewritten on good quality of paper of size eight and one-half inches by eleven inches (8 $1/2" \times 11"$) in book, sheet or pamphlet form. A loose-leaf plan may be used so changes can be made by reprinting and inserting a single leaf. When the loose-leaf plan is used, all sheets, except the title page sheet, must show in the marginal space at the top of the page the name of the gas corporation issuing, the PSC number of schedule and the number of the page. In the marginal space at the bottom of sheet should be shown—the date of issue, the effective date and the name, title and address of the officer by whom the schedule is issued. All schedules shall bear a number with the prefix PSC Mo. Schedules shall be numbered in consecutive serial order beginning with number 1 for each gas corporation. If a schedule or part of a schedule is cancelled, a new schedule or part thereof (sheet(s) if loose-leaf) will refer to the schedule canceled by its PSC number; thus: PSC Mo. No. _____ cancelling PSC Mo. No. _____.
- (4) Each schedule shall be accompanied by a letter of transmittal, in duplicate if receipt is desired, which shall be prepared consistent with the format designated by the commission.
- (5) All proposed changes in rates, charges or rentals or in rules that affect rates, charges or rentals filed with the commission shall be accompanied by a brief summary, approximately one hundred (100) words or less of the effect of the change on the company's customers. A copy of any proposed change and summary shall also be served on the public counsel and be available for public inspection and reproduction during regular office hours at the general business office of the utility.
- (6) Thirty (30) days' notice to the commission is required as to every publication relating to gas rates or service except where publications are made effective on less than statutory notice by permission, rule or requirement of the commission.
- (7) Except as is otherwise provided, no schedule or supplement will be accepted for filing unless it is delivered to the commission free from all charges or claims for postage, the full thirty (30) days

required by law before the date upon which the schedule or supplement is stated to be effective. No consideration will be given to or for the time during which a schedule or supplement may be held by the post office authorities because of insufficient postage. When a schedule or a supplement is issued and as to which the commission is not given the statutory notice, it is as if it had not been issued and a full statutory notice must be given of any reissuance. No consideration will be given to telegraphic notices in computing the thirty (30) days' notice required. In those cases the schedule will be returned to the sender and correction of the neglect or omission cannot be made which takes into account any time elapsing between the date upon which the schedule or supplement was received and the date of the attempted correction. For rate schedules and supplements issued on short notice under special permission of the commission, literal compliance with the requirements for notice named in any order, rule or permission granted by the commission will be exacted.

AUTHORITY: sections 386.250 and 393.140, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.270 Filing Requirements Regarding Plans, Procedures and Programs for Transportation of Natural Gas by Pipeline

PURPOSE: This rule prescribes the plans, procedures, and programs for transportation of natural gas by pipelines which are further described in 4 CSR 240-40.030.

(1) General. All gas systems under pipeline safety jurisdiction of the Missouri Public Service Commission must establish and submit welding procedures, joining procedures, and construction specifications and standards to designated commission personnel before construction

activities begin. All other plans, procedures, and programs required by rules 4 CSR 240-40.020, 4 CSR 240-40.030, and 4 CSR 240-40.080 must be established and submitted to designated commission personnel before the system is put into operation. Plans, procedures, and programs must be submitted to designated commission personnel in accordance with 4 CSR 240-40.030(1)(J) and maintained and modified in accordance with 4 CSR 240-40.030(1)(G).

- (2) Welding Procedures. Written welding procedures in accordance with 4 CSR 240-40.030(5) must be submitted to designated commission personnel.
- (3) Joining Procedures. Written procedures for joining pipelines other than by welding in accordance with 4 CSR 240-40.030(6)(B) and (6)(G) must be submitted to designated commission personnel.
- (4) Compliance with Specifications or Standards. Each transmission line, main, and service line must be constructed in accordance with written specifications or standards contained in 4 CSR 240-40.030(7)(B) and (8)(A).
- (5) Corrosion Control. Written procedures for controlling corrosion in accordance with the operation and maintenance requirements contained in 4 CSR 240-40.030(9) in accordance with 4 CSR 240-40.030(9)(C) must be submitted to designated commission personnel.
- (6) Procedural Manual for Operations, Maintenance, and Emergencies. A manual of written procedures for conducting operations and maintenance activities and for emergency response in accordance with 4 CSR 240-40.030(12)(C) must be submitted to designated commission personnel for each pipeline. Transmission lines that are not exempt under 4 CSR 240-40.030(12)(C)3.E. must also submit a manual that includes procedures for handling abnormal operations in accordance with 4 CSR 240-40.030(12)(C)3.
- (7) Qualification of Pipeline Personnel. A written operator qualification program for individuals performing covered tasks on a pipeline facility in accordance with 4 CSR 240-40.030(12)(D) must be submitted to designated commission personnel.
- (8) Damage Prevention Program. A written program to prevent damage to pipelines by excavation activities in accordance with 4 CSR 240-40.030(12)(I)1. must be submitted to designated commission personnel.
- (9) Emergency Plans. Written procedures to minimize the hazard resulting from a gas pipeline emergency in accordance with 4 CSR 240-40.030(12)(J)1. must be submitted to designated commission personnel.
- (10) Replacement Programs. Written programs for the replacement of unprotected steel service lines and yard line and cast iron mains and the cathodic protection or replacement of unprotected steel mains in accordance with 240-40.030(15)(B) must be submitted to designated commission personnel.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.275 Submission Requirements for Gas Utility Depreciation Studies

PURPOSE: This rule sets forth the requirements regarding the submission of depreciation studies by gas utilities.

- (1) Each gas utility subject to the commission's jurisdiction shall submit a depreciation study, database and property unit catalog to the manager of the commission's energy department and to the Office of the Public Counsel, as required by the terms of subsection (1)(B).
- (A) The depreciation study, database and property unit catalog shall be compiled as follows:
- 1. The study shall reflect the average life and remaining life of each primary plant account or subaccount;
- 2. The database shall consist of dollar amounts, by plant account or subaccount, representing—
- A. Annual dollar additions and dollar retirements by vintage year and year retired, beginning with the earliest year of available data;
 - B. Reserve for depreciation;
 - C. Surviving plant balance as of the study date; and
- D. Estimated date of final retirement and surviving dollar investment for each warehouse, propane/air production facility, liquefied natural gas facility, underground natural gas storage facility, general office building or other large structure; and
- 3. The property unit catalog shall contain a description of each retirement unit used by the utility.
- (B) A gas utility shall submit its depreciation study, database and property unit catalog on the following occasions:
- 1. On or before the date adjoining the first letter of the name under which the corporation does business, excluding the word the, as indicated by the tariffs on file with the commission.
- A. The alphabetical categories and submission due dates are as follows:

(I) A, B, C, D: January 1, 1994; (II) E, F, G, H: July 1, 1994; (III) I, J, K, L: January 1, 1995; (IV) M, N, O, P: July 1, 1995; (V) Q, R, S, T: January 1, 1996; and (VI) U, V, W, X, Y, Z: July 1, 1996.

B. However-

- (I) A gas utility need not submit a depreciation study, database or property unit catalog to the extent that the commission's staff received these items from the utility during the three (3) years prior to the due dates listed in subparagraph (1)(B)1.A.; and
- (II) A utility with simultaneous due dates under subparagraph (1)(B)1.A. above and 4 CSR 240-3.175(1)(B)1. may postpone its due date with respect to one (1) of these rules by six (6) months. To exercise this option, the utility must give written notice of its intent to postpone compliance to the manager of the commission's energy department, and to the Office of the Public Counsel, before the utility's first due date;
- 2. Before five (5) years have elapsed since the last time the commission's staff received a depreciation study, database and property unit catalog from the utility.
- (2) The commission may waive or grant a variance from the provisions of this rule, in whole or in part, for good cause shown, upon a utility's written application.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.280 Submission Requirements Regarding Gas Utility Written Drug and Alcohol Testing Plans

PURPOSE: This rule prescribes the requirements for submitting drug and alcohol testing plans for natural gas corporations, which are further described in 4 CSR 240-40.080.

(1) Written Drug and Alcohol Testing Plans. A written plan for drug and alcohol testing in accordance with 4 CSR 240-40.080 must be submitted to designated commission personnel.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.285 Filing Requirements Regarding Certification of Gas Sellers

PURPOSE: This rule establishes the procedure for certification of gas sellers pursuant to sections 393.297 through 393.301, RSMo.

- (1) Each natural gas seller seeking certification shall submit an agreement containing only the following, pursuant to section 393.299, RSMo:
- (A) Its agreement to pay all applicable business license taxes, or its proportionate share of the franchise fee or payment in lieu of taxes (PILOT) in each political subdivision in which it sells gas;
- (B) A statement that it waives its right to challenge the validity of the agreement;
- (C) A statement that it waives its right to the refund of any amounts paid pursuant to the agreement; and
- (D) Its agreement to make its records available to the commission and the political subdivision with the right to audit the records.
- (2) Each gas seller seeking certification shall also provide the following information to the commission:
- (A) Its name, address, telephone number, and the name of a person(s) to contact regarding certification, location of records and business operations in Missouri; and
 - (B) A list of each political subdivision in which it sells gas.

(3) The application for certification shall be in the form prescribed by the commission.

AUTHORITY: sections 386.250 and 393.299, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.290 Submission Requirements Regarding Gas Utility Incident, Annual and Safety-Related Condition Reports

PURPOSE: This rule prescribes the requirements for submitting incident, annual, and safety-related condition reports, which are further described in 4 CSR 240-40.020.

- (1) Incident Reports. Incident reports must be submitted to designated commission personnel in accordance with 4 CSR 240-40.020(4)(C), 4 CSR 240-40.020(4)(D)1., 4 CSR 240-40.020(6) and 4 CSR 240-40.020(9).
- (2) Safety-Related Condition Reports. Safety-related condition reports required by 4 CSR 240-40.020(12) must be submitted to designated commission personnel in accordance with 4 CSR 240-40.020(4)(E) and 4 CSR 240-40.020(13).
- (3) Annual Reports. Annual reports must be submitted to designated commission personnel in accordance with 4 CSR 240-40.020(4)(D)2., 4 CSR 240-40.020(7) and 4 CSR 240-40.020(10).

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.295 Submission Requirements Regarding Gas Utility Written Procedures for Conversion of Service and Uprating

PURPOSE: This rule prescribes the requirements for submitting written procedures for conversion of service and uprating of pipelines, which are further described in 4 CSR 240-40.030.

- (1) Conversion to Service. Conversion of steel pipelines, previously used in service not subject to this rule, for use under this rule must follow written procedures in accordance with 4 CSR 240-40.030(1)(H).
- (2) Uprating. Written procedures to uprate a segment of pipeline must be established that will ensure compliance with 4 CSR 240-40.030(11) in accordance with 4 CSR 240-40.030(11)(B)3.
- (3) Waivers of Compliance. Waivers of Compliance from any rules and requirements that are more stringent than the minimum federal requirements must be submitted in accordance with 4 CSR 240-40.030(16).

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.300 Definitions Pertaining Specifically to Sewer Utility Rules

PURPOSE: This rule sets forth the definitions of certain terms used in rules 4 CSR 240-3.305 through 4 CSR 240-3.340, which are in addition to the definitions set forth in rule 4 CSR 240-3.010 of this chapter.

- (1) Outlet means a service sewer connection to the collecting sewer.
- (2) Sewer service means the removal and treatment of sewage.
- (3) Sewer system includes all pipes, pumps, canals, lagoons, plants, structures and appliances and all other real estate, fixtures and personal property, owned, operated, controlled or managed in connection with or to facilitate the collection, carriage, treatment and disposal of sewage for municipal, domestic or other beneficial or necessary purpose.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.305 Filing Requirements for Sewer Utility Applications for Certificates of Convenience and Necessity

PURPOSE: Applications to the commission requesting that the commission grant a certificate of convenience and necessity must meet the requirements set forth in this rule. As noted in the rule, additional requirements pertaining to such applications are set forth in 4 CSR 240-2.060(1).

- (1) In addition to the requirements of 4 CSR 240-2.060(1), applications for a certificate of convenience and necessity by a sewer company shall include the following information:
 - (A) If the application is for a service area—
- 1. A statement as to the same or similar utility service, regulated and nonregulated, available in the area requested;
- 2. If there are ten (10) or more residents or landowners, the name and address of no fewer than ten (10) persons residing in the proposed service area or of no fewer than ten (10) landowners in the event there are no residences in the area, or, if there are fewer than ten (10) residents or landowners, the name and address of all residents and landowners;
 - 3. The legal description of the area to be certificated;
- 4. A plat drawn to a scale of one-half inch (1/2") to the mile on maps comparable to county highway maps issued by the Missouri Department of Transportation or a plat drawn to a scale of two thousand feet (2,000") to the inch; and
- 5. A feasibility study containing plans and specifications for the utility system and estimated cost of the construction of the utility system during the first three (3) years of construction; plans for financing; proposed rates and charges and an estimate of the number of customers, revenues and expenses during the first three (3) years of operations;
- (B) When no evidence of approval of the affected governmental bodies is necessary, a statement to that effect;
- (C) When approval of the affected governmental bodies is required, evidence must be provided as follows:
- 1. When consent or franchise by a city or county is required, approval shall be shown by a certified copy of the document granting the consent or franchise, or an affidavit of the applicant that consent has been acquired; and
- 2. A certified copy of the required approval of other governmental agencies; and
- (D) The facts showing that the granting of the application is required by the public convenience and necessity.
- (2) If any of the items required under this rule are unavailable at the time the application is filed, they shall be furnished prior to the granting of the authority sought.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission. Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.310 Filing Requirements for Sewer Utility Applications for Authority to Sell, Assign, Lease or Transfer Assets

PURPOSE: Applications to the commission for the authority to sell, assign, lease or transfer assets must meet the requirements set forth in this rule. As noted in the rule, additional requirements pertaining to such applications are set forth in 4 CSR 240-2.060(1).

- (1) In addition to the requirements of 4 CSR 240-2.060(1), applications for authority to sell, assign, lease or transfer assets shall include:
- (A) A brief description of the property involved in the transaction, including any franchises, permits, operating rights or certificates of convenience and necessity;
 - (B) A copy of the contract or agreement of sale;
- (C) The verification of proper authority by the person signing the application or a certified copy of resolution of the board of directors of each applicant authorizing the proposed action;
- (D) The reasons the proposed sale of the assets is not detrimental to the public interest;
- (E) If the purchaser is subject to the jurisdiction of the commission, a balance sheet and income statement with adjustments showing the results of the acquisitions of the property; and
- (F) A statement of the impact, if any, the sale, assignment, lease or transfer of assets will have on the tax revenues of the political subdivisions in which any structures, facilities or equipment of the companies involved in that sale are located.

- (2) If the purchaser is not subject to the jurisdiction of the commission, but will be subject to the commission's jurisdiction after the sale, the purchaser must comply with these rules.
- (3) If any of the items required under this rule are unavailable at the time the application is filed, they shall be furnished prior to the granting of the authority sought.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.315 Filing Requirements for Sewer Utility Applications for Authority to Merge or Consolidate

PURPOSE: Applications to the commission for the authority to merge or consolidate must meet the requirements set forth in this rule. As noted in the rule, additional requirements pertaining to such applications are set forth in 4 CSR 240-2.060(1).

- (1) In addition to the requirements of 4 CSR 240-2.060(1), applications for authority to merge or consolidate shall include:
- (A) A copy of the proposed plan and agreement of corporate merger and consolidation, including organizational charts depicting the relationship of the merging entities before and after the transaction;
- (B) A certified copy of the resolution of the board of directors of each applicant authorizing the proposed merger and consolidation;
- (C) The balance sheets and income statements of each applicant and a balance sheet and income statement of the surviving corporation:
- (D) The reasons the proposed merger is not detrimental to the public interest;

- (E) An estimate of the impact of the merger on the company's Missouri jurisdictional operations relative to the merger and acquisition in question; and
- (F) A statement of the impact, if any, the merger or consolidation will have on the tax revenues of the political subdivision in which any structures, facilities or equipment of the companies involved are located.
- (2) If the purchaser is not subject to the jurisdiction of the commission, but will be subject to the commission's jurisdiction after the sale, the purchaser must comply with these rules.
- (3) If any of the items required under this rule are unavailable at the time the application is filed, they shall be furnished prior to the granting of the authority sought.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT Division 240 Public Service Commission

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.320 Filing Requirements for Sewer Utility Applications for Authority to Issue Stock, Bonds, Notes and Other Evidences of Indebtedness

PURPOSE: Applications to the commission for the authority to issue stock, bonds, notes or other evidences of indebtedness must meet the requirements set forth in this rule. As noted in the rule, additional requirements pertaining to such applications are set forth in 4 CSR 240-2.060(1).

- (1) In addition to the requirements of 4 CSR 240-2.060(1), applications for authority to issue stock, bonds, notes and other evidences of indebtedness shall contain the following:
- (A) A brief description of the securities which applicant desires to issue;

- (B) A statement of the purpose for which the securities are to be issued and the use of the proceeds;
- (C) Copies of executed instruments defining the terms of the proposed securities—
- 1. If these instruments have been previously filed with the commission, a reference to the case number in which the instruments were furnished;
- 2. If these instruments have not been executed at the time of filing, a statement of the general terms and conditions to be contained in the instruments which are proposed to be executed; and
- 3. If none of these instruments is either executed or to be executed, a statement of how the securities are to be sold;
- (D) A certified copy of resolutions of the directors of applicant authorizing the issuance of the securities;
- (E) A balance sheet and income statement with adjustments showing the effects of the issuance of the proposed securities upon—
 - 1. Bonded and other indebtedness; and
 - 2. Stock authorized and outstanding;
- (F) A statement of what portion of the issue is subject to the fee schedule in section 386.300, RSMo; and
- (G) A five (5)-year capitalization expenditure schedule as required by section 393.200, RSMo.
- (2) If any of the items required under this rule are unavailable at the time the application is filed, they shall be furnished prior to the granting of the authority sought.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.325 Filing Requirements for Sewer Utility Applications for Authority to Acquire the Stock of a Public Utility PURPOSE: Applications to the commission for the authority to acquire the stock of a public utility must meet the requirements set forth in this rule. As noted in the rule, additional requirements pertaining to such applications are set forth in 4 CSR 240-2.060(1).

- (1) In addition to the requirements of 4 CSR 240-2.060(1), applications for authority to acquire the stock of a public utility shall include:
- (A) A statement of the offer to purchase stock of the public utility or a copy of any agreement entered with shareholders to purchase stock;
- (B) A certified copy of the resolution of the directors of applicant authorizing the acquisition of the stock; and
- (C) Reasons why the proposed acquisition of the stock of the public utility is not detrimental to the public interest.
- (2) If any of the items required under this rule are unavailable at the time the application is filed, they shall be furnished prior to the granting of the authority sought.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.330 Sewer Utility Small Company Rate Increase Procedure

PURPOSE: This rule provides procedures for small sewer utilities to obtain rate increases.

(1) Notwithstanding any other rule to the contrary, small companies, as defined in this rule, may seek a general increase in revenues through a small company rate case by filing a letter requesting the change. The request shall not be accompanied by any tariff sheets.

For the purpose of this rule, small companies qualifying to use the small company rate case described in this rule shall include sewer utilities having eight thousand (8,000) or fewer customers. The small company rate case shall be conducted as follows:

- (A) The original letter requesting the change shall be filed with the secretary of the commission and one (1) copy shall be furnished to the public counsel. The letter shall state the amount of the additional revenue requested, the reason(s) for the proposed change and a statement that all commission annual assessments have been paid in full or are being paid under an installment plan. The letter should also include a statement that the company's current annual report is on file with the commission. The company, in writing, shall notify customers of the request for additional revenue and the effect on the typical residential customer's bill. The notice shall indicate that customers' responses may be sent to the appropriate commission department or the public counsel within thirty (30) days of the date shown on the notice. A draft copy of the notice shall be sent to the appropriate commission department for verification of the accuracy of the notice before being sent to the company's customers. A copy of the final notice shall then be sent to the appropriate commission department and the public counsel. The commission staff and the public counsel shall exchange copies of customer responses upon their receipt. Upon receipt of the company's request, the commission staff shall schedule an investigation of the company's operations and an audit of its financial records. When the investigation and audit are complete, the commission staff shall notify the company and public counsel whether the requested additional revenue is recommended in whole or in part, of the rate design proposal for the increase, and of any recommended operational changes. If public counsel wishes to conduct an investigation and audit of the company, it must do so within the same time period as staff's investigation and audit;
- (B) The commission staff, within twenty-one (21) days from the completion of its investigation, shall arrange a conference with the company and shall notify the public counsel of the conference prior to the conference, in order to provide the public counsel an opportunity to participate;
- (C) If the conference between the commission staff, the company and the public counsel results in an agreement concerning additional revenue requirements and any other matters pertaining to the company's operations, including responses to customer concerns, the agreement between the commission staff, the company and the public counsel shall be reduced to writing. The company may then file tariff sheet(s) with an effective date which is not fewer than thirty (30) days after the tariff's issue date and no additional customer notice or local public hearing shall be required, unless otherwise ordered by the commission. The company shall file a copy of the agreement with its tariff;
- (D) If the conference results in an agreement between the commission staff and the company only, the company at this time shall file the necessary tariff sheet(s) with the commission in accordance with the agreement. The tariff sheet(s) shall contain an effective date of not fewer than forty-five (45) days from the issue date. The company shall notify customers in writing of the proposed rates resulting from the agreement. The notice shall indicate that customers' responses may be sent to the appropriate commission department or the public counsel within twenty (20) days of the date shown on the notice. A copy of the notice shall be sent to the secretary of the commission and the public counsel. The commission staff and the public counsel shall exchange copies of the customer responses upon their receipt. The public counsel shall file a pleading indicating its agreement or disagreement with the tariff sheet(s) within twenty-five (25) days of the date the tariff sheet(s) is filed, unless a public hearing is requested;
- (E) A request for a local public hearing may be filed after the tariff sheet(s) is filed by the company. The request shall be filed within twenty (20) days of the filing of the tariff sheet(s) by the company. Public counsel shall file a pleading indicating agreement or disagreement with the tariff sheet(s) within seven (7) days after the local public hearing;

- (F) An agreement must be reached and tariff sheet(s) filed based upon the agreement within one hundred fifty (150) days from the date the letter initiating the case is filed. This time period may be extended with the consent of the company. Written consent for an extension shall be filed with the company's tariff; and
- (G) If no agreement can be reached between the commission staff and the company, the company may initiate a standard rate case.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.335 Annual Report Filing Requirements for Sewer Utilities

PURPOSE: This rule establishes standards for filing annual reports by sewer utilities subject to the jurisdiction of the Missouri Public Service Commission, including procedures for filing annual report information under seal.

- (1) All sewer utilities subject to the jurisdiction of the Missouri Public Service Commission shall file an annual report with the commission on or before April 15 of each year.
- (2) Sewer utilities shall file their annual reports on either a form provided by the commission or on a computer-generated replica which is acceptable to the commission. All requested information shall be included in the annual report where applicable.
- (3) Where a utility subject to this rule considers the information requested on the annual report form to be confidential, it must make a written request to the secretary of the commission to file that information under seal and state good cause for maintaining the informa-

tion under seal. The secretary of the commission shall then, through the general counsel, present that request to the commission for approval. The secretary of the commission shall inform the utility within three (3) days of the commission decision whether the request has been granted.

(4) A utility which is unable to meet the filing date established in section (1) of this rule shall make a written request to extend the filing date for its annual report to the secretary of the commission and state the reason for the extension request. The secretary of the commission, through the chief administrative law judge, shall present the report to the commission for approval. The secretary of the commission shall inform the utility in writing within three (3) days of the decision of the commission.

AUTHORITY: sections 386.250 and 393.140, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.340 Filing Requirements for Sewer Utility Tariff Schedules

PURPOSE: This rule prescribes the form, contents and procedures for filing tariff schedules by all sewer corporations under the jurisdiction of the Public Service Commission.

(1) Each sewer utility shall have on file with this commission a tariff schedule and all forms of contracts and agreements of whatever nature made by such sewer utility for each and every kind of service which it renders. For purposes of this rule the term tariff schedule shall include: schedules showing all rates and charges; all rules relating to rates, charges of service; all general privileges granted or

allowed; and all maps of the area served or professed to be served and the legal description thereof.

- (2) All tariff schedules now on file with the commission, not in accordance with this rule, shall be reissued in the form and manner prescribed and all tariff schedules issued after March 2, 1973 must conform to this rule.
- (3) Tariff schedules shall be drawn up substantially in accordance with this commission's Form No. 13 and shall be plainly printed or typewritten on good quality paper of eight and one-half inches by eleven inches $(8 \ 1/2" \times 11")$ in book, sheet or pamphlet form. A loose-leaf plan may be used so changes can be made by reprinting and inserting a single leaf. When the loose-leaf plan is used, all sheets, except the title page sheet, must show in the marginal space at top of page the name of the sewer utility issuing, the PSC number of schedule and the number of the page. In the marginal space at bottom of sheet shall be shown the date of issue, the effective date and the name, title and address of the officer by whom the schedule is issued. All tariff schedules shall bear a number with the prefix PSC . Tariff schedules for each sewer utility shall be numbered in consecutive serial order beginning with 1. If a tariff schedule or part thereof is canceled, a new schedule or part thereof (sheet(s) if loose-leaf) will refer to the schedule canceled, by its PSC number; thus, the PSC Mo. No. ____ canceling PSC Mo. No.
- (4) Each schedule shall be accompanied by a letter of transmittal, in duplicate if receipt is desired, which shall be prepared consistent with the format designated by the commission.
- (5) Each sewer utility shall keep a copy of its tariff schedule open for public inspection and readily accessible to any member of the public upon demand during business hours at its principal operating office and in each division office which is now or may be established. Any proposed changes in the tariff schedule shall be readily accessible to any member of the public upon demand in the offices of the sewer utility for a period of thirty (30) days prior to the effective date of such change. If, for good cause shown, the commission allows a change without thirty (30) days' notice, the sewer utility shall display such proposed change at its office for the period prescribed by the commission prior to the effective date of the change.
- (6) The following shall apply to all sewer utilities operating in the state of Missouri and each utility shall have on file as a part of its tariff schedule, rules which substantially conform thereto:
- (A) Each sewer utility shall have on file with the commission rules relating to advance payments and deposits. If a utility requires advance payments for sewer service, it will not be permitted to require the customer to make a deposit to insure payment of bills. If the utility does not require advance payments for sewer service, it may require from any customer at any time a cash deposit, provided that the amount of any such deposit so required shall not exceed the amount due for service for one (1) billing period plus thirty (30) days;
- (B) Interest at the rate of six percent (6%) per annum covering the period of the deposit shall be paid by the utility to the customer or applied to the customer's account, upon return of any deposit to the customer or the application of such deposit to the customer's account; provided the cash deposit remains with the utility for a period of at least twelve (12) months;
- (C) These provisions shall not apply to any deposits or guarantees made by the customer for the purpose of securing an extension of or additions to a utility's collecting system in accordance with the utility's rules covering the extensions as filed with this commission;
- (D) Interest shall not accrue on any cash deposit after the date the utility has made a bona fide effort to return such deposit to the depositor. The utility shall keep in its records evidence of its effort to return such deposit;

- (E) Each utility shall issue to every customer from whom a deposit is received, a nonassignable receipt;
- (F) Each utility shall maintain accurate records of customer deposits which include the original amount, the date of the deposit and any transaction relating to the deposit or interest on the deposit; and
- (G) If a customer requests discontinuance of sewer service to the premises, the utility will refund the unearned portion of any advance payment on a pro rata basis, provided the customer has given proper notice to the utility as required by its rules on file with the Public Service Commission.
- (7) Each sewer utility shall file with the commission a sample of each type of customer bill form used by the utility, which shall provide for inclusion of the gross and/or net amount of the bill and the date by which the customer must pay the bill in order to benefit from any discount or to avoid any penalty. The utility shall specify its billing period, which shall in no case exceed a period of six (6) months.
- (8) Each utility shall specify the conditions under which it may discontinue service to a customer, which conditions may include, but not necessarily be limited to, nonpayment for services rendered in accordance with the tariff schedule on file for the utility with this commission and noncompliance with the utility's rules filed with the commission.
- (9) Each utility shall include in its rules that prior to physical discontinuance of service, the utility will mail at least thirty (30) days' written notice to the customers by certified mail return receipt requested and a copy of the written notice will be forwarded to this commission. The written notice shall state the violation and service may be discontinued at any time after the expiration of the specified period, provided satisfactory arrangements for continuance of the service have not been made. The requirement of a thirty (30)-day written notice prior to discontinuance of service may be waived where discharge of materials which might be detrimental to the public health and safety or cause damage to the sewer system of the utility are discovered. In the event of discontinuance of service for this reason, the customer and the commission shall be notified of such discontinuance immediately with a statement concerning the reasons for discontinuance.
- (10) Each sewer utility shall include in its tariff schedule a statement of the practices and policies of the utility governing extension of its collecting system to provide service to prospective customers.
- (11) Each utility shall specify the conditions under which it may refuse to provide service to an applicant, which conditions may include, but shall not be necessarily limited to, noncompliance with the utility's rules as filed with this commission, rules of this commission or local governmental regulations. If the utility refuses to serve an applicant under the provisions of this rule or any other rule, the utility shall inform the applicant in writing of the basis for its refusal and the applicant may appeal to the commission for a ruling.
- (12) The utility shall physically inspect all service sewer connections to its system. The applicant for service shall provide adequate advance notice to the utility to facilitate the inspection.
- (13) Each sewer utility shall also have on file as a part of its tariff schedule, rules applicable to, but not limited to, the following items: applications for service; availability of service; interruption of service; and right of access to customer's premises.
- (14) All proposed changes in rates, charges or rentals or in rules that affect rates, charges or rentals filed with the commission shall be accompanied by a brief summary, approximately one hundred (100) words or less, of the effect of the change on the company's customers. A copy of any proposed change and summary shall also be served on the public counsel and be available for public inspection

and reproduction during regular office hours at the general business office of the utility.

- (15) Thirty (30) days' notice to the commission is required as to every publication relating to sewer rates or service except where publications are made effective on less than statutory notice by permission, regulation or requirement of the commission.
- (16) Except as is otherwise provided, no schedule or supplement will be accepted for filing unless it is delivered to the commission free from all charges or claims for postage, the full thirty (30) days required by law before the date upon which such schedule or supplement is stated to be effective. No consideration will be given to or for the time during which a schedule or supplement may be held by the post office authorities because of insufficient postage. When a schedule or a supplement is issued and as to which the commission is not given the statutory notice, it is as if it had not been issued and a full statutory notice must be given of any reissuance. No consideration will be given to telegraphic notices in computing the thirty (30) days' notice required. In such cases the schedule will be returned to the sender and correction of the neglect or omission cannot be made which takes into account any time elapsing between the date upon which the schedule or supplement was received and the date of the attempted correction. For rate schedules and supplements issued on short notice under special permission of the commission, literal compliance with the requirements for notice named in any order, regulation or permission granted by the commission will be exacted.

AUTHORITY: sections 386.250 and 393.140, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.400 Filing Requirements for Steam Heating Utility Applications for Certificates of Convenience and Necessity PURPOSE: Applications to the commission requesting that the commission grant a certificate of convenience and necessity must meet the requirements of this rule. As noted in the rule, additional requirements pertaining to such applications are set forth in 4 CSR 240-2.060(1).

- (1) In addition to the requirements of 4 CSR 240-2.060(1), applications for a certificate of convenience and necessity shall include the following information:
 - (A) If the application is for a service area-
- 1. A statement as to the same or similar utility service, regulated and nonregulated, available in the area requested;
- 2. If there are ten (10) or more residents or landowners, the name and address of no fewer than ten (10) persons residing in the proposed service area or of no fewer than ten (10) landowners in the event there are no residences in the area, or, if there are fewer than ten (10) residents or landowners, the name and address of all residents and landowners;
 - 3. The legal description of the area to be certificated;
- 4. A plat drawn to a scale of one-half inch (1/2") to the mile on maps comparable to county highway maps issued by the Missouri Department of Transportation or a plat drawn to a scale of two thousand feet (2,000') to the inch; and
- 5. A feasibility study containing plans and specifications for the utility system and estimated cost of the construction of the utility system during the first three (3) years of construction; plans for financing; proposed rates and charges and an estimate of the number of customers, revenues and expenses during the first three (3) years of operations;
- (B) If the application is for electrical transmission lines or electrical production facilities—
- 1. A description of the route of construction and a list of all electric and telephone lines of regulated and nonregulated utilities, railroad tracks or any underground facility, as defined in section 319.015, RSMo, which the proposed construction will cross:
- 2. The plans and specifications for the complete construction project and estimated cost of the construction project or a statement of the reasons the information is currently unavailable and a date when it will be furnished; and
 - 3. Plans for financing;
- (C) When no evidence of approval of the affected governmental bodies is necessary, a statement to that effect;
- (D) When approval of the affected governmental bodies is required, evidence must be provided as follows:
- 1. When consent or franchise by a city or county is required, approval shall be shown by a certified copy of the document granting the consent or franchise, or an affidavit of the applicant that consent has been acquired; and
- 2. A certified copy of the required approval of other governmental agencies; and
- (E) The facts showing that the granting of the application is required by the public convenience and necessity.
- (2) If any of the items required under this rule are unavailable at the time the application is filed, they shall be furnished prior to the granting of the authority sought.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.405 Filing Requirements for Steam Heating Utility Applications for Authority to Sell, Assign, Lease or Transfer Assets

PURPOSE: Applications to the commission for the authority to sell, assign, lease or transfer assets must meet the requirements set forth in this rule. As noted in the rule, additional requirements pertaining to such applications are set forth in 4 CSR 240-2.060(1).

- (1) In addition to the requirements of 4 CSR 240-2.060(1), applications for authority to sell, assign, lease or transfer assets shall include:
- (A) A brief description of the property involved in the transaction, including any franchises, permits, operating rights or certificates of convenience and necessity;
 - (B) A copy of the contract or agreement of sale;
- (C) The verification of proper authority by the person signing the application or a certified copy of resolution of the board of directors of each applicant authorizing the proposed action;
- (D) The reasons the proposed sale of the assets is not detrimental to the public interest; and
- (E) If the purchaser is subject to the jurisdiction of the commission, a balance sheet and income statement with adjustments showing the results of the acquisitions of the property.
- (2) If the purchaser is not subject to the jurisdiction of the commission, but will be subject to the commission's jurisdiction after the sale, the purchaser must comply with these rules.
- (3) If any of the items required under this rule are unavailable at the time the application is filed, they shall be furnished prior to the granting of the authority sought.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25. 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.410 Filing Requirements for Steam Heating Utility Applications for Authority to Merge or Consolidate

PURPOSE: Applications to the commission for the authority to merge or consolidate must meet the requirements set forth in this rule. As noted in the rule, additional requirements pertaining to such applications are set forth in 4 CSR 240-2.060(1).

- (1) In addition to the requirements of 4 CSR 240-2.060(1), applications for authority to merge or consolidate shall include:
- (A) A copy of the proposed plan and agreement of corporate merger and consolidation, including organizational charts depicting the relationship of the merging entities before and after the transaction;
- (B) A certified copy of the resolution of the board of directors of each applicant authorizing the proposed merger and consolidation;
- (C) The balance sheets and income statements of each applicant and a balance sheet and income statement of the surviving corporation;
- (D) The reasons the proposed merger is not detrimental to the public interest; and
- (E) An estimate of the impact of the merger on the company's Missouri jurisdictional operations relative to the merger and acquisition in question.
- (2) If the purchaser is not subject to the jurisdiction of the commission, but will be subject to the commission's jurisdiction after the sale, the purchaser must comply with these rules.
- (3) If any of the items required under this rule are unavailable at the time the application is filed, they shall be furnished prior to the granting of the authority sought.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.415 Filing Requirements for Steam Heating Utility Applications for Authority to Issue Stock, Bonds, Notes and Other Evidences of Indebtedness

PURPOSE: Applications to the commission for the authority to issue stock, bonds, notes or other evidences of indebtedness must meet the requirements set forth in this rule. As noted in the rule, additional requirements pertaining to such applications are set forth in 4 CSR 240-2.060(1).

- (1) In addition to the requirements of 4 CSR 240-2.060(1), applications for authority to issue stock, bonds, notes and other evidences of indebtedness shall contain the following:
- (A) A brief description of the securities which applicant desires to issue;
- (B) A statement of the purpose for which the securities are to be issued and the use of the proceeds;
- (C) Copies of executed instruments defining the terms of the proposed securities—
- 1. If these instruments have been previously filed with the commission, a reference to the case number in which the instruments were furnished;
- 2. If these instruments have not been executed at the time of filing, a statement of the general terms and conditions to be contained in the instruments which are proposed to be executed; and
- 3. If none of these instruments is either executed or to be executed, a statement of how the securities are to be sold;
- (D) A certified copy of resolutions of the directors of applicant authorizing the issuance of the securities;
- (E) A balance sheet and income statement with adjustments showing the effects of the issuance of the proposed securities upon—
 - 1. Bonded and other indebtedness; and
 - 2. Stock authorized and outstanding;

- (F) A statement of what portion of the issue is subject to the fee schedule in section 386.300, RSMo; and
- (G) A five (5)-year capitalization expenditure schedule as required by section 393.200, RSMo.
- (2) If any of the items required under this rule are unavailable at the time the application is filed, they shall be furnished prior to the granting of the authority sought.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.420 Filing Requirements for Steam Heating Utility Applications for Authority to Acquire the Stock of a Public Utility

PURPOSE: Applications to the commission for the authority to acquire the stock of a public utility must meet the requirements set forth in this rule. As noted in the rule, additional requirements pertaining to such applications are set forth in 4 CSR 240-2.060(1).

- (1) In addition to the requirements of 4 CSR 240-2.060(1), applications for authority to acquire the stock of a public utility shall include:
- (A) A statement of the offer to purchase stock of the public utility or a copy of any agreement entered with shareholders to purchase stock:
- (B) A certified copy of the resolution of the directors of applicant authorizing the acquisition of the stock; and
- (C) Reasons why the proposed acquisition of the stock of the public utility is not detrimental to the public interest.

(2) If any of the items required under this rule are unavailable at the time the application is filed, they shall be furnished prior to the granting of the authority sought.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.425 Filing Requirements for Steam Heating Utility Rate Schedules

PURPOSE: This rule prescribes the form and governs the filing and publication of rate schedules of steam heating utilities regulated by the Public Service Commission.

- (1) Every steam heating company engaged in manufacturing and distributing and selling, or distribution or distributing steam for motive power, heating, cooking or for any public use or service, is directed not later than October 15, 1913, to have on file with this commission, and keep open for public inspection, schedules showing all rates and charges in connection with such service of whatever nature made by such steam heating companies for each and every kind of service which it renders as were in force on April 15, 1913, together with proper supplements covering all changes in the rate schedules authorized by this commission, if any, since April 15, 1913.
- (2) All rate schedules on file on October 15, 1913, with the commission, not in accordance with these rules, shall be issued in the form and manner prescribed by this rule and all rate schedules issued after October 15, 1913, must conform to this rule.
- (3) Rate schedules shall be drawn up substantially in accordance with PSC Form No. 16 and shall be plainly printed or typewritten on good quality of paper of size eight and one-half inches by eleven inches (8)

 $1/2" \times 11"$) in book, sheet or pamphlet form. A loose-leaf plan may be used so changes can be made by reprinting and inserting a single leaf. When the loose-leaf plan is used, all sheets, except the title page sheet, must show, in the marginal space at top of page, the name of the heating company, the PSC number of the schedule and the number of the page. In the marginal space at the bottom of the sheet shall be shown the date of issue, effective date and the name, title and address of the officer by whom the schedule is issued. All schedules shall bear a number with the prefix PSC Mo. Schedules shall be numbered in consecutive serial order beginning with number 1 for each steam heating company. If a schedule or a part is canceled, a new schedule or part (sheet(s) if loose-leaf) will refer to the schedule canceled by its PSC number; thus, PSC Mo. No. canceling PSC Mo. No.

- (4) Each schedule shall be accompanied by a letter of transmittal, in duplicate if receipt is desired, which shall be prepared consistent with the format designated by the commission.
- (5) Thirty (30) days' notice to the commission is required as to every publication relating to steam heating rates or service except where publications are made effective on less than statutory notice by permission, regulation or requirement of the commission.
- (6) Except as is otherwise provided, no schedule or supplement will be accepted for filing unless it is delivered to the commission free from all charges or claims for postage, the full thirty (30) days required by law before the date upon which such schedule or supplement is stated to be effective. No consideration will be given to or for the time during which a schedule or supplement may be held by the post office authorities because of insufficient postage. When a schedule or a supplement is issued and as to which the commission is not given the statutory notice, it is as if it had not been issued and a full statutory notice must be given of any reissuance. No consideration will be given to telegraphic notices in computing the thirty (30) days' notice required. In such cases the schedule will be returned to the sender and correction of the neglect or omission cannot be made which takes into account any time elapsing between the date upon which such schedule or supplement was received and the date of the attempted correction. For rate schedules and supplements issued on short notice under special permission of the commission, literal compliance with the requirements for notice named in any order, regulation or permission granted by the commission will be exacted.

AUTHORITY: sections 386.250, 393.140 and 393.290, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may

be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.435 Annual Report Filing Requirements for Steam Heating Utilities

PURPOSE: This rule establishes standards for filing annual reports by steam heating utilities subject to the jurisdiction of the Missouri Public Service Commission, including procedures for filing annual report information under seal.

- (1) For the purposes of improving the efficiency of administration and operation, any heating company, unless otherwise ordered, may keep upon its books any temporary or experimental accounts and any accounts covering particular divisions of its operations, provided that in respect of each such temporary, experimental or divisional account the heating company shall file with the Public Service Commission, at least ten (10) days in advance of the time when the account is to be instituted, a statement showing the name of the account, the date when it is to be instituted, the purpose for which it is to be kept, the period of time during which it is to be kept and a clear and accurate definition of the classes of items and facts to be contained on the account and in case of a divisional account, the definition of the division covered. Upon compliance with the provisions of this section, any account herein prescribed or defined may be subdivided.
- (2) All notices required to be filed with the commission concerning accounts shall be upon sheets eight and one-half inches by eleven inches (8 $1/2" \times 11"$) in size and shall be entitled with the name of the heating company filing notices, followed by a brief statement of the character of the accounts covered by the notice.
- (3) Annual reports for all heating companies subject to regulations by this commission shall be filed with the commission on or before April 15 following the year for which the report is made.

AUTHORITY: sections 386.250, 393.140 and 393.290, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.500 Definitions Pertaining Specifically to Telecommunication Company Rules

PURPOSE: This rule sets forth the definitions of certain terms used in rules 4 CSR 240-3.505 through 4 CSR 240-3.555, which are in addition to the definitions set forth in rule 4 CSR 240-3.010 of this chapter.

- (1) Access line means the line associated with each service location to which a unique telephone number is assigned.
- (2) Base rate area means an area within an exchange as specified in the telecommunications company's tariffs and maps, within which each grade or class of basic local telecommunications service is furnished at a uniform rate without the application of mileage or zone charges.
- (3) Basic local telecommunications service means basic local telecommunications service as defined in section 386.020(4), RSMo.
- (4) Calls means a customer's attempted telecommunications transmissions whether completed or not.
- (5) Central office means the facility housing one (1) or more switching units in a telecommunications system which provides service to the general public and has the necessary equipment and operating arrangements for terminating and interconnecting customer lines and trunks or trunks only.
- (6) Channel means a path for telecommunications between two (2) or more stations or central offices, furnished in any manner the carrier may elect.
- (7) Exchange means exchange as defined in section 386.020(16), RSMo.
- (8) Grade of service means the number of customers or parties that a telephone line is designed to serve, such as one (1)-party, two (2)-party or four (4)-party.
- (9) Line is a general term used in the telecommunications industry in several different senses, the most common of which are access line, trunk, channel and route.
- (10) New customer means any customer who has no prior service history with the telecommunications company with whom service is being requested.
- (11) Pay telephone means a coin or non-coin telephone installed for use by the general public from which calls can be paid for at the time they are made by means of coins, tokens, credit cards, debit cards or a billing to an alternate number.
- (12) Pay telephone service provider means a telecommunications company that offers access to telephone service with a coin or non-

coin telephone installed for use by the general public from which calls can be paid for at the time they are made by means of coins, tokens, credit cards, debit cards or billed to an alternate number.

- (13) Regrade means a change to a different grade of basic local telecommunications service.
- (14) Service bureau means the designated office, or location where trouble reports and/or service orders are worked and dispatched.
- (15) Surveillance level means a level at or below which telephone service is inferior and will require the telecommunications company providing that service to take immediate action to investigate and correct.
- (16) Switching is a generic term for machines that switch telephone calls from/to other telephones or trunks.
- (17) Tandem means a central office where trunks are interconnected to transmit telecommunications traffic between other central offices.
- (18) Telecommunications service means telecommunications service as defined in section 386.020(53), RSMo.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.505 Filing Requirements for Telecommunications Company Applications for Certificates of Interexchange Service Authority to Provide Customer-Owned Coin Telephone Service

PURPOSE: Applications to the commission requesting that the commission grant a certificate for providing interexchange service

authority for customer-owned coin telephone service must meet the requirements set forth in this rule. As noted in the rule, additional requirements pertaining to such applications are set forth in 4 CSR 240-2.060(1).

- (1) In addition to the requirements of 4 CSR 240-2.060(1), applications for a certificate of interexchange service authority to provide customer-owned coin telephone (COCT) service shall be filed on the form provided by the commission.
- (A) Applications for COCT service shall include a description of the general area in which service is to be offered.
- (B) Providers of COCT service shall be exempt from the provisions of sections 392.390(1) and (3), RSMo, but shall remain subject to the provisions of section 386.370, RSMo.
- (2) If any of the items required under this rule are unavailable at the time the application is filed, they shall be furnished prior to the granting of the authority sought.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.510 Filing Requirements for Telecommunications Company Applications for Certificates of Service Authority to Provide Telecommunications Services, Whether Interexchange, Local Exchange or Basic Local Exchange

PURPOSE: Applications to the commission requesting that the commission grant a certificate for providing telecommunications services, whether interexchange, local exchange or basic local exchange services, must meet the requirements set forth in this rule. As noted in the rule, additional requirements pertaining to such applications are set forth in 4 CSR 240-2.060(1).

- (1) In addition to the requirements of 4 CSR 240-2.060(1), applications for a certificate of service authority to provide telecommunications services, whether interexchange, local exchange or basic local exchange, shall include:
- (A) A request to be classified as a competitive telecommunications company, if applicable, and a description of the types of service the applicant intends to provide;
- (B) If the application is for basic local exchange service authority, the applicant shall indicate the exchange(s) in which service is to be offered; and
- (C) A proposed tariff with an effective date which is not fewer than forty-five (45) days after the tariff's issue date.
- (2) If any of the items required under this rule are unavailable at the time the application is filed, they shall be furnished prior to the granting of the authority sought.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.515 Filing Requirements for Telecommunications Company Applications for Certificates of Service Authority to Provide Shared Tenant Services

PURPOSE: Applications to the commission requesting that the commission grant a certificate of service authority to provide shared tenant services must meet the requirements set forth in this rule. As noted in the rule, additional requirements pertaining to such applications are set forth in 4 CSR 240-2.060(1).

(1) In addition to the requirements of 4 CSR 240-2.060(1), applications for a certificate of service authority to provide shared tenant services (STS) shall be filed on the form provided by the commission

- (A) STS applications shall include:
- 1. A description of all telecommunications services to be offered at the certificated location;
- 2. A description of any non-telecommunications services to be offered at the certificated location;
- 3. A copy of the contract or contracts to be used with tenants at the certificated location;
- 4. A copy of the contract or contracts to be signed with the local exchange company (LEC);
- 5. A description of the type of STS technology to be used at the certificated location;
- 6. A description of the form of interconnection to be used to provide toll services to tenants at the certificated location;
- 7. A copy of the notice used to inform tenants that local exchange access line service may not be immediately available if STS is terminated at the certificated location;
- 8. A statement of the rates to be charged tenants at the certificated location; and
- 9. A statement of the total number of tenants and corresponding stations to be served at the certificated location.
- (2) If any of the items required under this rule are unavailable at the time the application is filed, they shall be furnished prior to the granting of the authority sought.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.520 Filing Requirements for Telecommunications Company Applications for Authority to Sell, Assign, Lease or Transfer Assets

PURPOSE: Applications to the commission for the authority to sell, assign, lease or transfer assets must meet the requirements set forth

in this rule. As noted in the rule, additional requirements pertaining to such applications are set forth in 4 CSR 240-2.060(1).

- (1) Competitive telecommunications companies are exempt from subsections (2)(A)–(E) of this rule; however, they must file a pleading indicating which company will be holding the certificate of service authority and providing service to Missouri customers, and the tariff under which service will be provided.
- (2) In addition to the requirements of 4 CSR 240-2.060(1), applications for authority to sell, assign, lease or transfer assets shall include:
- (A) A brief description of the property involved in the transaction, including any franchises, permits, operating rights or certificates of convenience and necessity;
 - (B) A copy of the contract or agreement of sale;
- (C) The verification of proper authority by the person signing the application or a certified copy of the resolution of the board of directors of each applicant authorizing the proposed action;
- (D) The reasons the proposed sale of the assets is not detrimental to the public interest;
- (E) If the purchaser is subject to the jurisdiction of the commission, a balance sheet and income statement with adjustments showing the results of the acquisitions of the property; and
- (F) A statement of the impact, if any, the sale, assignment, lease or transfer of assets will have on the tax revenues of the political subdivisions in which any structures, facilities or equipment of the companies involved in that sale are located.
- (3) If the purchaser is not subject to the jurisdiction of the commission, but will be subject to the commission's jurisdiction after the sale, the purchaser must comply with these rules.
- (4) If any of the items required under this rule are unavailable at the time the application is filed, they shall be furnished prior to the granting of the authority sought.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.525 Filing Requirements for Telecommunications Company Applications for Authority to Merge or Consolidate

PURPOSE: Applications to the commission for the authority to merge or consolidate must meet the requirements set forth in this rule. As noted in the rule, additional requirements pertaining to such applications are set forth in 4 CSR 240-2.060(1).

- (1) Competitive telecommunications companies are exempt from subsections (2)(A)–(E) of this rule; however, they must file a pleading indicating which company will be holding the certificate of service authority and providing service to Missouri customers, and the tariff under which service will be provided.
- (2) In addition to the requirements of 4 CSR 240-2.060(1), applications for authority to merge or consolidate shall include:
- (A) A copy of the proposed plan and agreement of corporate merger and consolidation, including organizational charts depicting the relationship of the merging entities before and after the transaction;
- (B) A certified copy of the resolution of the board of directors of each applicant authorizing the proposed merger and consolidation;
- (C) The balance sheets and income statements of each applicant and a balance sheet and income statement of the surviving corporation:
- (D) The reasons the proposed merger is not detrimental to the public interest:
- (E) An estimate of the impact of the merger on the company's Missouri jurisdictional operations relative to the merger and acquisition in question; and
- (F) A statement of the impact, if any, the merger or consolidation will have on the tax revenues of the political subdivision in which any structures, facilities or equipment of the companies involved are located.
- (3) If the purchaser is not subject to the jurisdiction of the commission, but will be subject to the commission's jurisdiction after the sale, the purchaser must comply with these rules.
- (4) If any of the items required under this rule are unavailable at the time the application is filed, they shall be furnished prior to the granting of the authority sought.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at <http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp>. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.530 Filing Requirements for Telecommunications Company Applications for Authority to Issue Stock, Bonds, Notes and Other Evidences of Indebtedness

PURPOSE: Applications to the commission for the authority to issue stock, bonds, notes or other evidences of indebtedness must meet the requirements set forth in this rule. As noted in the rule, additional requirements pertaining to such applications are set forth in 4 CSR 240-2.060(1).

- (1) Competitive telecommunications companies are exempt from subsections (2)(C)–(G) of this rule.
- (2) In addition to the requirements of 4 CSR 240-2.060(1), applications for authority to issue stock, bonds, notes and other evidences of indebtedness shall contain the following:
- (A) A brief description of the securities which applicant desires to issue;
- (B) A statement of the purpose for which the securities are to be issued and the use of the proceeds;
- (C) Copies of executed instruments defining the terms of the proposed securities—
- 1. If these instruments have been previously filed with the commission, a reference to the case number in which the instruments were furnished;
- 2. If these instruments have not been executed at the time of filing, a statement of the general terms and conditions to be contained in the instruments which are proposed to be executed; and
- 3. If none of these instruments is either executed or to be executed, a statement of how the securities are to be sold;
- (D) A certified copy of resolutions of the directors of applicant authorizing the issuance of the securities;
- (E) A balance sheet and income statement with adjustments showing the effects of the issuance of the proposed securities upon—
 - 1. Bonded and other indebtedness; and
 - 2. Stock authorized and outstanding;
- (F) A statement of what portion of the issue is subject to the fee schedule in section 386.300, RSMo; and
- (G) A five (5)-year capitalization expenditure schedule as required by section 392.310, RSMo.
- (2) If any of the items required under this rule are unavailable at the time the application is filed, they shall be furnished prior to the granting of the authority sought.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.535 Filing Requirements for Telecommunications Company Applications for Authority to Acquire the Stock of a Public Utility

PURPOSE: Applications to the commission for the authority to acquire the stock of a public utility must meet the requirements set forth in this rule. As noted in the rule, additional requirements pertaining to such applications are set forth in 4 CSR 240-2.060(1).

- (1) Competitive telecommunications companies are exempt from the provisions of this rule; however, they must file a pleading indicating which company will be holding the certificate of service authority and providing service to Missouri customers, and the tariff under which service will be provided.
- (2) In addition to the requirements of 4 CSR 240-2.060(1), applications for authority to acquire the stock of a public utility shall include:
- (A) A statement of the offer to purchase stock of the public utility or a copy of any agreement entered with shareholders to purchase stock;
- (B) A certified copy of the resolution of the directors of applicant authorizing the acquisition of the stock; and
- (C) Reasons why the proposed acquisition of the stock of the public utility is not detrimental to the public interest.
- (3) If any of the items required under this rule are unavailable at the time the application is filed, they shall be furnished prior to the granting of the authority sought.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.540 Annual Report Filing Requirements for Telecommunications Companies

PURPOSE: This rule establishes standards for filing annual reports by telecommunications companies subject to the jurisdiction of the Missouri Public Service Commission, including procedures for filing annual report information under seal.

- (1) All telecommunications utilities subject to the jurisdiction of the Missouri Public Service Commission shall file an annual report with the commission on or before April 15 of each year, except for private pay telephone providers which are exempted under the provisions of 4 CSR 240-3.505(1)(B).
- (2) Telecommunications utilities shall file their annual reports on either a form provided by the commission or on a computer-generated replica which is acceptable to the commission. All requested information shall be included in the annual report where applicable.
- (A) Annual reports submitted by providers of shared tenant services (STS) shall include a list of all premises at which STS services are provided, and a list of all STS-related complaints received from tenants, including a summary of the nature of each such complaint, and a list of case numbers for any formal complaints filed with the commission.
- (3) Where a utility subject to this rule considers the information requested on the annual report form to be confidential, it must make a written request to the secretary of the commission to file that information under seal and state good cause for maintaining the information under seal. The secretary of the commission shall then, through the general counsel, present that request to the commission for approval. The secretary of the commission shall inform the utility

within three (3) days of the commission decision whether the request has been granted.

(4) A utility which is unable to meet the filing date established in section (1) of this rule shall make a written request to extend the filing date for its annual report to the secretary of the commission and state the reason for the extension request. The secretary of the commission, through the chief administrative law judge, shall present the report to the commission for approval. The secretary of the commission shall inform the utility in writing within three (3) days of the decision of the commission.

AUTHORITY: sections 386.250 and 392.210, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.545 Filing Requirements for Telecommunications Company Rate Schedules

PURPOSE: This rule prescribes the form and procedures for filing and publishing schedules of rates of all telephone corporations under the jurisdiction of the Public Service Commission.

(1) Every telephone corporation as defined in section 386.020, RSMo engaged in business in this state, is directed and required not later than September 15, 1913, to have on file with the Public Service Commission (PSC) schedules of all rates, rentals and charges of whatever nature made by the telephone corporation for each kind of service which it renders which were in force on April 15, 1913, together with proper supplements covering all changes in rate schedules authorized by this commission, if any, since April 15, 1913.

- (2) Every telephone corporation is directed on and after September 15, 1913, to publish all of its schedules of rates for local service and all of its schedules of rates for long distance service as these schedules have been established and filed with this commission as follows:
- (A) To keep all of its schedules established and filed with this commission in its main or principal operating office and in each division office which is now or may be established;
- (B) To keep at each of its branch business offices where contracts for service are made or payment for subscribers' service is received, copies of all its established schedules of rates which apply within the area served by any such office and which apply from any point within the area to any point without the area;
- (C) In every exchange area where no such business branch office is maintained, to keep at its central operating office or in a suitable place fixed by the company, and notify the public by sign or placard conspicuously posted, copies of all of its established schedules of rates which apply within the area served by any such telephone exchange and which apply from any point within the area to any point in each exchange adjacent area; and
- (D) That these schedules shall be at all times during office hours readily accessible to the public and upon the demand of any person shall be immediately produced for inspection. The production for inspection shall be accompanied by such assistance on the part of the proper representative of the telephone company having the schedules as to enable the person examining the schedules to determine accurately the rate, rental or charge applicable to any particular kind of telephone service. That in case any person shall apply at a central operating office, personally or by telephone, for information as to any specified toll or long distance rate, a correct statement of the rate shall be procured by the chief operator and furnished without telephone charge.
- (3) All schedules of rates, rentals and charges or rules relating and applying to communication by telephone, or for service rendered in connection with communication by telephone, and subject to the jurisdiction of this commission and which are lawfully on file with the commission and in force April 15, 1913, will be considered as continuing in force and may be amended in the manner provided in this rule.
- (4) All rate schedules for local service and all individual and joint schedules for long distance service on file with this commission and in effect April 15, 1913, not in accord with this rule shall be reprinted in the manner prescribed by this rule and filed on or before September 15, 1913. Any new rate schedules issued after April 15, 1913, must conform to this rule or they will be subject to rejection by the commission when tendered for filing. The commission reserves the right to direct the reprinting of any schedule at any time.
- (5) All schedules shall bear a number with the following prefix: PSC Mo. _____. Rate schedules shall be numbered in consecutive serial order, commencing with a No. 1 for each telephone corporation (for example, the first schedule PSC Mo. No. 1). The prefix and number shall be printed on schedules as provided in section (11) of this rule. For convenience, the prefix is referred to as PSC.
- (6) Joint schedules are schedules designed to contain joint rates and the term joint rate as used in this rule is construed to mean a rate made by contract, agreement or arrangement between two (2) or more telephone corporations and applying in both directions over the toll lines owned or controlled by these telephone corporations. Joint schedules apply to communication by telephone between localities on the toll lines of more than one (1) telephone corporation or between localities upon the toll lines owned, operated or leased by the same telephone corporation, when communication between these localities involves the use of the toll line(s) of one (1) or more other telephone corporations which participate in the charges for this communication.

- (7) Individual schedules of the telephone corporation are schedules designed to contain rates, rentals and other charges for any kind of long distance or toll service (other than for service covered by joint rates) when the service is rendered entirely by the particular telephone corporation which issues the schedule. Individual schedules must include all such long distance rates as may be made by the issuing corporation over its owned or controlled toll lines. As distinguished from joint schedules, individual schedules apply to all communication by telephone over the lines of the issuing telephone corporation and to instrumentalities and facilities furnished in connection with the communication by telephone.
- (8) It is the general practice of telephone corporations to classify the service rendered by them under two (2) general headings, "local service" and "long distance service." "Local service" covers service classifications, rates, rentals or charges applying to communication or for instrumentalities and facilities furnished. It also covers rules governing and relating to conditions of contract for any form of telephone service within a local service area established with reference to a particular central station or group of central stations. "Long distance service" covers service classifications, rates, charges, rules applying to communication by telephone between subscribers' stations or public or semi-public pay stations located in one (1) local service area and subscribers' stations or public or semi-public pay stations located in another local service area of the same or another telephone corporation.
- (9) All schedules should be on good serviceable quality of paper and if, in the discretion of the commission, the volume of a schedule justifies, the schedule shall not be accepted for filing until printed.
- (10) All rate schedules filed with the commission must be in book, sheet or pamphlet form and of size eight and one-half inches by eleven inches (8 1/2" \times 11"). A loose-leaf plan may be used so that changes can be made by reprinting and inserting a single leaf. When a loose-leaf plan is used, all sheets except title page must show in the marginal space at top of the page or sheet, the name of the corporation issuing, the PSC number of the schedule, the number of the page or sheet, the date of issue and effective date, and name, title and address of officer by whom the schedule is issued.
- (11) The title page or sheet, if loose-leaf, of every rate schedule shall show— $\,$
 - (A) The full corporate name of the issuing telephone corporation;
- (B) The PSC number of the schedule in bold type in the center of marginal space at top of the page and immediately under in small type, the PSC number(s) of the schedule canceled thereby. Separate serial PSC numbers may, if desired, be used for local and long distance schedules:
- (C) The title page or sheet also should show whether it is for local or long distance and whether it is joint or individual;
- (D) A brief description of the service areas from and to or within which the schedule applies;
- (E) When a schedule of rates is governed by a general publication, reference to the governing schedule by its PSC number must be given. The following phraseology, as the case may be, will be used: "Governed except as otherwise provided herein by schedule PSC Mo. No. ______, which schedule, supplements thereto or superseding issues thereof, is hereby made a part of this schedule"; or "Governed except as otherwise provided herein by schedule PSC Mo. No. _____, which schedule revised and added pages or sheets, or superseding issues thereof, is hereby made a part of this schedule." A rate publication so referred to must be on file with the commission and be kept at every place where the schedule making the reference is to be kept for public inspection;
- (F) The Date of Issue and the Effective Date. If the schedule or any portion is made to expire on a specified date, the following

clause must be used: "expires_____, unless sooner canceled, changed or extended";

- (G) On every schedule supplement or a revised or added sheet, issued on less than thirty (30) days' notice by permission of the commission, the following notation must be shown: "Issued on ______ days' notice to the public and the commission under special permission of the Public Service Commission of Missouri, No. ______, of date _____." If issued in compliance with an order of the commission, the following notation must be shown: "Issued on ______ days' notice to the public and the commission under order of the Public Service Commission of Missouri, of date ______, in Case No. ____." When issued by authority of this rule, the notation must be that required by the rule granting the permission;
- (H) On the upper left-hand corner of schedules of less than three (3) pages and on schedules issued in loose-leaf form, the words: "No supplement to this schedule will be issued except for the purpose of canceling this schedule" shall be shown. On schedules, not in loose-leaf form, of three (3) or more pages: "Only one supplement to this schedule will be in effect at any time," shall be shown; and
- (I) The name, title and address of officer by whom schedule is issued.
- (12) Schedules shall contain, in the order named:
- (A) Table of Contents. A full and complete statement, in alphabetic order, of the exact location where information under general headings, by subjects, will be found, specifying page or item numbers. If a schedule contains so small a volume of matter that its title page or its interior arrangement plainly discloses its contents, the table of contents may be omitted;
- (B) The name of the issuing telephone corporation, including those for which the corporation acts under power of attorney or concurrence and the names of all telephone corporations participating under such authorities, both alphabetically arranged. If there are not more than ten (10) participating corporations, their names may be shown on the title page of the schedule. The record of the power of attorney or concurrence by which each telephone corporation is made party to the schedule must be shown;
- (C) In local rate schedules, there shall be an alphabetical index of the central stations in the service area to which the schedule applies; and alphabetically arranged following the name of each central station or under the names of all the localities served;
- (D) In individual or joint long distance schedules, there shall be an alphabetical list of localities from which rates and charges apply and of the localities to which rates and charges apply;
- (E) Whenever a schedule has an application which includes localities situated outside of Missouri, the abbreviation for the name of the state in which they are situated must be shown in connection with the name of each locality;
- (F) If the number of localities covered by a local rate schedule or the number of points in a long distance schedule is small and, if practicable, they may be listed on the title page of the schedule sheet;
- (G) If a long distance schedule is arranged by groups (this term includes block basis or other service area description) of from or to localities, the indices must show for each locality a proper group designation;
- (H) When in a long distance schedule the from and to localities are shown throughout the rate table in continuous alphabetical order or are shown by groups alphabetically arranged, no index of from or to localities will be required; but when that alphabetical arrangement in a rate table is used, the table of contents shall indicate the pages upon which the localities are shown;
- (I) If a long distance schedule is so constructed as to state rates by groups and also states specific rates to or from specified localities, it shall contain an alphabetical listing of the localities in the groups or give reference to the PSC number, if issued, which contains the listing of the group localities;
- (J) A group description may be used to designate localities to or from which rates named in long distance schedules apply, provided a

- complete list of those localities, arranged by groups, is printed in the schedule or specific reference is given to the PSC number or issue which contains such a list. In this list all of the localities in groups named in the schedule shall be arranged alphabetically showing opposite each locality, by an index reference, its group location, the name(s) of the telephone lines upon which located and the name of the central station(s) through which the locality is served; and, a complete list of those localities arranged by group description and alphabetically for each group;
- (K) An explanation of reference marks, technical abbreviations and definitions of terms commonly used in the schedule, except that a special rule applying to a particular rate, rental or charge shall be shown in connection with and on the same page with the rate, rental or charge. The explanatory statement must be made in clear and explicit terms regarding the rates, rentals, charges and rules contained in the schedule as may be necessary to remove all doubt as to their proper application;
- (L) The rules which govern the schedule, the title of each rule to be shown in bold type. Under this heading the rules or conditions which in any way affect the rentals, rates or charges named in the schedule, shall be entered, except that a special rule applying to a particular rate, rental or charge shall be shown in connection with and on the same page or sheet with the rate, rental or charge. No rule shall be included which in any way or in any terms authorizes substituting for any rate, rental or charge named in the schedule a rate, rental or charge found in any other schedule or made by any combination or plan other than that clearly stated in specific terms in the schedule of which the rule is a part. These rules shall include the general rules governing conditions for any form of contract for telephone service, all privileges or facilities granted or allowed or for which charge is made, which may in anywise change, affect or determine any or the aggregate of the rates, rentals or charges for the service rendered;
- (M) A telephone corporation may publish under a PSC number and file a schedule publication designed for use as a governing schedule in connection with a schedule of rates, and the governing schedule may be made a part of the schedules of rates by specific reference as provided in subsection (11)(E). When the publication is to be used in connection with long distance schedules, it may contain a list of localities, excess time charge tables and rules generally governing the schedules. When it is to be used in connection with a local rate schedule, it may contain an alphabetically arranged list showing localities served by the issuing telephone corporation, and opposite each locality its central station designation, and an alphabetical order list showing the names of all central stations separately and under the locality for each such central station the names of all localities to which the designation applies, arranged in alphabetical order. It also may contain schedules of rentals, rates and charges applying to the furnishing of instrumentalities, facilities and service, as the case may be, for attachments, auxiliary lines and stations, commuted messages, equipment for stations, private and leased lines and wires, extension stations, interior systems, listings, mileage of all kinds, pole line construction, fixed period talking circuits, etc., together with rules generally governing and relating to conditions of contract for any form of telephone service; and
- (N) The rates, rentals and charges shall be explicitly stated in cents, or in dollars and cents, per stated period of time or per service, specifying the kind and character of service. In local schedules, the limits of the area to which each rate, rental or charge applies must be shown. When in a local schedule the limits of any such service area include localities outside the service area to which the schedule applies, the names of such other localities must be given or if all such localities are shown in a separate locality list, be referring thereto, giving the PSC number of schedule containing any such list.
- (13) Schedules containing essential joint toll rates or charges participated in by telephone corporations not subject to the supervision of this commission must be issued by telephone corporations subject to

such supervision and the telephone corporations which are not so subject shown in the schedule under proper authorities issued and on file with the commission as required by this rule.

- (14) If a schedule or supplement to a schedule is issued which conflicts with a part of another schedule or supplement to a schedule which is in force at the time, and which is not canceled in full, it shall specifically state the portion of that schedule which is canceled and the schedule, at the same time, shall be correspondingly amended, effective on the same date, in the regular way; and the supplement to the amended schedule shall be filed at the same time and in connection with the schedule which contains the new rates, rentals or charges.
- (15) If a schedule is canceled with the purpose of canceling entirely the rates, rentals or charges named, or when through error or omission a later issue failed to cancel the previous issue and a schedule is canceled for the purpose of perfecting the record, the cancellation notice must not be given a new PSC number, but must be issued as a supplement to the schedule which it cancels, even though that schedule may at the time have a supplement in effect.
- (16) If a schedule or part of a schedule is canceled, the cancellation notice shall make specific reference to the PSC number of the schedule in which the rates, rentals or charges will be found; or if no rates, rentals or charges are in effect, it shall so state. Cancellation of a schedule also cancels a supplement to that schedule, if any is in effect. If a schedule is canceled by a similar schedule to take its place, the cancellation notice must not be given by supplement, but by notice printed in a new schedule, as provided in section (12) of this rule.
- (17) A change in a schedule shall be known as an amendment and, excepting amendments to schedules issued in loose-leaf form, shall be printed in a supplement to the schedule which it amends, specifying the schedule by its PSC number. The supplement shall be reissued each time an amendment is made and shall always contain all the amendments to the schedule that are in force. Supplements to schedules shall be numbered consecutively as supplements to the schedule and shall not be given new or separate PSC numbers. An amended item must always be printed in a supplement in its entirety as amended.
- (18) A supplement to a joint schedule shall contain either a list of the telephone corporations participating or shall state that the list of participating telephone corporations is "as shown in schedules" or "as shown in schedule except (here show alphabetically all additions to and eliminations from the original list that are effected by the supplement or that have been effected by previous supplements)."
- (19) A schedule which contains reissued items brought forward from a previous issue which has not been in effect thirty (30) days, or a supplement which brings forward reissued items without change from a former supplement or schedule, must bear the notation , except as noted in individual items." Example: "Effective 20____; effective, _____ 20____, except as noted "Issued, in individual items." Reissued items brought forward without change must show in a conspicuous form and a convenient manner the following: "Reissue (in black face type): effective (date upon which it became effective) in PSC _ became effective in a former supplement to the same schedule, the PSC number may be omitted, but the supplement number must be given.
- (20) Except as otherwise provided in this rule, there shall at no time be more than one (1) supplement in effect to any schedule, and the effective supplement to a schedule of twenty (20) or more pages may not contain more than twenty percent (20%) of the number of pages

or sheets in the schedule, including the title page. A supplement to a schedule of less than twenty (20) pages or ten (10) sheets may not contain more than four (4) pages or two (2) sheets, including the title page. All changes in and additions to schedules issued in loose-leaf form must be made by reprinting both pages of the leaf or sheet upon which the change is made. When no change or addition is made on one (1) of the pages reprinted it must bear notation "No change in this page." These pages or sheets must not be given supplement numbers, but must be designated "First revised page or sheet______," "Second revised page or sheet______," etc., must show the name of the issuing corporation and the PSC number of the schedule, the issued and effective dates and name, title and address of officer by whom issued.

- (21) If a schedule is filed on statutory notice canceling another schedule, and after the filing and prior to the effective date of the new schedule a supplement to the schedule to be canceled should be lawfully issued, the rates, rentals or charges in that supplement could not continue in effect for the thirty (30) days required by law because the cancellation of the schedule also cancels the supplement to it. In such a case the supplement containing changes not included in the schedule that is to become effective may be issued as a supplement both to the schedule in effect and to the schedule on file that will effect such a cancellation and be given both PSC numbers. In other words, such an issue must be a supplement to each of the schedules and copies must be filed accordingly. A supplement issued under this section containing reissued items shall note in connection with each such item, in addition to the effective date as required by the rule, that the reissued items expire on the date at which the new schedule becomes effective and that the new schedule will apply in lieu of the reissued items; and the reissued items must not be brought forward in a subsequent supplement to the new schedule. Such a supplement may not contain any changes except those lawfully made by a supplement to the schedule which is to be canceled by the schedule that has been filed and that is also supplemented; and no other kind of supplement to a schedule that is on file and not yet effective may be made effective within thirty (30) days from the effective date of the schedule without special permission. The provisions of section (12) as to the number of supplements to a schedule that may be in effect at any time and the volume of supplemental matter they may contain, need not be observed in connection with a supplement issued under this section.
- (22) In case of a change of ownership and operation of any telephone corporation's property or of the telephone corporation in possession and operating the property, the telephone corporation taking over the operation of the telephone line, if the existing rates would otherwise remain legally effective, shall issue immediately and file with the commission, with PSC number, an adoption notice, substantially as follows: "The (name of telephone corporation) hereby adopts, ratifies and makes its own, in every respect as if the same had been originally filed by it, all schedules, rules, notices, concurrences, schedule agreements, divisions, authorities or other instruments whatsoever, filed with the Public Service Commission, State of Missouri, by the (name of telephone corporation) prior to (date) the beginning of its possession. By this notice it also adopts and ratifies all supplements or amendments to any of the above schedules, etc., which (name of telephone corporation) has heretofore filed with said commission. This notice may be made effective as of the date it is filed with the commission." In the event that the successor corporation does not intend to adopt some of these schedules, rates, rules, notices, concurrences, traffic agreements, divisions, authorities or other instruments, the notice shall specify those which are not adopted and the successor corporation as to these exceptions shall give the cancellation or withdrawal notice provided in these rules. The adoption notice shall stand and be effective as to all of the local issues of the predecessor telephone corporation. This paragraph applies to the taking over of part of a telephone corporation's property as well as

to the entire property. In case of a receivership, the receiver shall be deemed as continuing in force the individual schedules and rules of the charge, but as to joint schedules, joint rules and joint business with other telephone corporations, the receiver must file with the required adoption notice, any exceptions specified.

- (23) Schedules and supplements shall be filed with the commission by a proper officer of the telephone corporation designated to perform that duty and concurrences of every other telephone corporation participating in joint schedules and supplements must be on file with the commission or accompany the schedule or supplement.
- (24) Schedules issued by a telephone corporation under its PSC numbers may include, under proper concurrences shown in the schedules, rates or charges applying over a long distance line to or from localities on other telephone corporations' lines and concurring telephone corporations may use these schedules for public inspection. These schedules must be filed by the issuing telephone corporation and the filing will constitute filing for all lawfully concurring telephone corporations, having record of the concurrence on file with this commission. A telephone corporation issuing a joint publication shall at once send copies to each and every telephone corporation party.
- (25) All changes in rates, charges or rentals or in rules that affect rates, charges or rentals, shall be filed with the commission at least thirty (30) days before the date upon which they are to become effective. The title page of every rate schedule or supplement and the reissue of any page or sheet must show thirty (30) days' notice except as otherwise provided in this rule. The proposed changes shall be accompanied by a brief summary, approximately one hundred (100) words or less, of the effect of the change on the company's customers. A copy of any proposed change and summary also shall be served on the public counsel and be available for public inspection and reproduction during regular office hours at a public business office of the utility in each exchange or group of exchanges affected by the proposed change.
- (26) Each telephone corporation subject to the supervision of this commission has the duty of filing with the commission all of its rate schedules and supplements to the rate schedules, under penalty for failure to do so. The commission will give all consistent assistance as it can in this respect, but the fact that receipt of a rate schedule or supplement to a rate schedule is acknowledged by the commission or the fact that a rate schedule or supplement to a rate schedule is in the files of the commission, will not serve or operate to excuse the telephone corporation for responsibility or liability for any violation of the law or of any ruling lawfully made which may have occurred in connection with the construction or filing of the rate schedule or supplement.
- (27) Thirty (30) days' notice to the commission required as to every publication relating to telephone rates or service, except where publications are made effective on less than statutory notice by permission, regulation or requirement of the commission.
- (28) Except as is otherwise provided in this rule, no schedule or supplement will be accepted for filing unless it is delivered to the commission free from all charges or claims for postage, the full thirty (30) days required by law before the date upon which the schedule or supplement is stated to be effective. No consideration will be given to or for the time during which a schedule or supplement may be held by the post office authorities because of insufficient postage. When a schedule or a supplement is issued and for which the commission is not given the statutory notice, it is as if it had not been issued, and full statutory notice must be given of any reissue. No consideration will be given to telegraphic notices in computing the thirty (30) days' notice required. In those cases the schedule will be returned to the sender and correction of the neglect or omission cannot be made

which takes into account any time elapsing between the date upon which the schedule or supplement was received and the date of attempted correction. For rate schedules and supplements issued on short notice under special permission of the commission, literal compliance with the requirements for notice named in any order, regulation or permission granted by the commission will be exacted.

- (29) When a schedule is rejected by the commission as unlawful, the records will show and the schedule should not be referred to as canceled, amended or otherwise, except to note on publication issued in lieu of the rejected schedule "In lieu of _____, rejected by commission"; nor shall the number which it bears be used again.
- (30) Rates, charges or rentals or rules relating to, prescribed by the commission in its decisions and orders, after hearings upon formal complaints, shall in every instance be promulgated by the telephone corporation against which these orders are entered, in duly published and filed rate schedules, supplements to these or revised pages or sheets of schedules, and notice shall be sent to the commission that its order in Case No. ____, has been complied with in item ____ page ____ of schedule PSC ___ Mo. ___ No. ___; or supplement ____ to schedule PSC Mo. ___ No. ___; or reissued page or sheet No. ____ to schedule PSC ___ Mo. ___ No. ___;
- (31) Schedules and supplements shall be filed in numerical order of PSC numbers so far as practicable. If in any instance the foregoing is not observed as required by these rules, a memorandum must accompany the schedule to file with the commission explaining omission of missing number(s).
- (32) Telephone corporations are directed to transmit one (1) copy of each rate schedule, supplement or other charges, rentals or regulations for the use of the commission. Schedules sent for filing must be addressed to Public Service Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102.
- (33) Concurrence may be given by a telephone corporation to embrace all forms of joint schedules issued by another telephone corporation in which the concurring telephone corporation is shown as a participating, originating, intermediate or terminal corporation, after the following form:

BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF MISSOURI

(Name	of	telep	phone	cor	porat	ion	in	full)
			(D	ate)				

This is to certify that the (name of telephone corporation) assents to and concurs in the publication and filing of any joint schedule or supplement thereto which the (name of telephone corporation) may make and file in which it is shown as a participating corporation, and hereby makes itself a party to and bound thereby insofar as such schedule contains joint rates or charges or governing regulations applying to communication by telephone in any way involving use of its toll line or lines (see note 2), until this authority is revoked by formal and official notice of revocation placed in the hands of the Public Service Commission of Missouri, and of the telephone corporation to which this concurrence is given.

Ву		
	(Name of officer)	
	(Title of officer)	

The telephone corporation issuing this form shall file the original with the commission and shall furnish a duplicate to the telephone corporation to which the concurrence is given.

- (34) Each telephone corporation shall give authorizations and concurrences serial numbers, beginning with No. 1 in each series, as indicated by forms and continuing in consecutive numbers as to each series, and keeping these numbers separate and apart from PSC numbers of rate schedules. A concurrence may be revoked by filing notice of such revocation with the commission and serving the same upon the telephone corporation to which the concurrence was given. The notice must specify the date upon which revocation is to be made effective and must give at least sixty (60) days' notice to the commission and to the telephone corporation to which concurrence was given. Corresponding correction of a schedule(s) shall be made by amending or reissuing the schedule(s), making the change lawfully effective on statutory notice upon the effective date stated in the notice of revocation. The granting of authority to issue tariffs under power of attorney or concurrence does not relieve the telephone corporation conferring the authority from the necessity of complying with the requirement for keeping the schedules open to public inspection. It must use the schedules issued under its authority for that purpose.
- (35) All schedules filed with the commission shall be accompanied by a letter of transmittal, in duplicate if receipt is desired, which shall be prepared consistent with the format designated by the commission.

AUTHORITY: sections 386.250 and 392.220, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.550 Telecommunications Company Records and Reports

PURPOSE: This rule prescribes the type, location and retention of records, and reports on telecommunications service.

- (1) This rule does not apply to private shared tenant service providers or private pay telephone service providers.
- (2) Each telecommunications company shall make and maintain records of its operations in sufficient detail to permit review of those operations. These records shall be retained in an easily accessible place for a period of at least three (3) years. These records shall be made available upon request to the commission or its authorized representatives. These records shall include all reports filed with the commission, together with the information necessary to verify each report.
- (3) All records required by this rule shall be made available for review within the state at any time upon request. Reasonable time, not to exceed thirty (30) days, will be permitted to assemble and deliver records to the location where they are to be reviewed.
- (4) For companies providing basic local telecommunications service, the records specified in section (2) above shall include the following:
- (A) Each company shall record each application for basic local telecommunications service or regrade of service; and
- (B) Each company shall keep a record, by exchange, of each held application for basic local telecommunications service and for each application for regrade that is not satisfied within thirty (30) days. The record will list the name and address of each applicant for service or regrade, whether the applicant's location is inside or outside the base rate area, the date of application, the date service is requested to begin, the date service was promised to begin, the class and grade of service applied for and the reason for the delay in providing the requested service.
- (5) Companies shall file the following information with the commission:
- (A) Each company providing basic local telecommunications service shall file with the commission no later than forty-five (45) days following the end of each quarter a report, referred to as the quarterly report, of the quality of the telephone service provided to its customers. The quarterly report shall include:
- 1. The aggregated service level for each aspect of service quality for which there has been established a service objective in 4 CSR 240-32.080, together with such other information concerning service quality that the company deems applicable or the commission specifically requests. Those levels shall represent an average of the measurements taken throughout the reporting period. If the reported service level in any separately measured exchange, business office or service bureau does not meet the surveillance level, the company shall list each such exchange, business office or service bureau and its service level;
- 2. The number of applications held for both basic local telecommunications service and for regrade of service. Those numbers will be kept distinct from one another. The listing shall categorize the number held for thirty (30), sixty (60), ninety (90) and one hundred twenty (120) days; and
- 3. The number of applications listed pursuant to subsection (4)(B) above, by exchange, and the number of such applications that were satisfied during that quarter;

- (B) Each company shall have its tariff on file with the commission in accordance with 4 CSR 240-30.010;
- (C) Each company providing basic local telecommunications service shall have on file with the commission an exchange boundary map for each of its exchanges within the state. Each map shall clearly show the boundary lines of the area in which the company accepts responsibility for providing such service. Exchange boundary lines shall be located by appropriate measurement to an identifiable location where that portion of the boundary line is not otherwise located on section lines, waterways, railroads, roads, etc. Maps shall contain both detail and reasonable and readable scale. Competitive local exchange companies may submit a tariff sheet adopting the tariff map on file with the commission for a specific exchange served by the incumbent local exchange provider. The exchange maps shall be available for public inspection at each public business office for the area served by the office. Each company filing an original or revised map shall submit proof of notice of the proposed boundary to any other company adjoining the area in which a boundary line is to be established or changed:
- (D) Each company shall advise the commission's customer services department of abnormal service conditions by telephone or facsimile. Abnormal conditions include any tandem outage, central office or exchange isolation, cable cut, or central office problem that involves three hundred (300) or more customers and lasts thirty (30) minutes or more or any other service condition the company wishes to bring to the attention of the customer services department; and
- (E) Each company shall make and file with the commission a disaster recovery plan, which shall be reviewed by the company at least annually and modified as necessary. Any modifications shall be submitted as amendments.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.555 Telecommunications Company Residential Customer Inquiries

PURPOSE: This rule establishes procedures to be followed when residential customers make inquiries of telecommunications companies so that such inquiries are handled in a reasonable manner.

- (1) A telecommunications company shall adopt procedures which will ensure the prompt and thorough receipt, investigation and, where possible, resolution of inquiries. The telecommunications company, upon request, shall submit the procedures to the commission and the telecommunications company shall notify the commission of any substantive changes in these procedures prior to their implementation.
- (2) A telecommunications company shall prepare a statement which in layman's terms describes the rights and responsibilities of both the telecommunications company and its customers under this chapter. This statement shall appear in the front part of the telephone directory or the telecommunications company will mail or otherwise deliver such statement to its existing and new customers. If multiple telecommunications companies are represented in a directory, and each has identical statements of rights and responsibilities, the information need only appear once. Upon request the statement shall be submitted to the commission, its staff, or Office of the Public Counsel. The statement shall include descriptions of:
 - (A) Billing procedures;
 - (B) Customer payment requirements and procedures;
 - (C) Deposit and guarantee requirements;
- (D) Conditions of termination, discontinuance and reconnection of service;
 - (E) Procedures for handling inquiries;
- (F) A procedure whereby a customer may avoid discontinuance of service during a period of absence;
 - (G) Complaint procedures under 4 CSR 240-2.070;
- (H) The telephone number and address of all offices of the Missouri Public Service Commission and the statement that this company is regulated by the Missouri Public Service Commission; and
- (I) The address and telephone number of the Office of the Public Counsel and a statement of the function of that office.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.600 Filing Requirements for Water Utility Applications for Certificates of Convenience and Necessity

PURPOSE: Applications to the commission requesting that the commission grant a certificate of convenience and necessity must meet the requirements set forth in this rule. As noted in the rule, additional requirements pertaining to such applications are set forth in 4 CSR 240-2.060(1).

- (1) In addition to the requirements of 4 CSR 240-2.060(1), applications for a certificate of convenience and necessity by a water company shall include the following information:
 - (A) If the application is for a service area—
- 1. A statement as to the same or similar utility service, regulated and nonregulated, available in the area requested;
- 2. If there are ten (10) or more residents or landowners, the name and address of no fewer than ten (10) persons residing in the proposed service area or of no fewer than ten (10) landowners in the event there are no residences in the area, or, if there are fewer than ten (10) residents or landowners, the name and address of all residents and landowners;
 - 3. The legal description of the area to be certificated;
- 4. A plat drawn to a scale of one-half inch (1/2") to the mile on maps comparable to county highway maps issued by the Missouri Department of Transportation or a plat drawn to a scale of two thousand feet (2,000') to the inch; and
- 5. A feasibility study containing plans and specifications for the utility system and estimated cost of the construction of the utility system during the first three (3) years of construction; plans for financing; proposed rates and charges and an estimate of the number of customers, revenues and expenses during the first three (3) years of operations;
- (B) When no evidence of approval of the affected governmental bodies is necessary, a statement to that effect;
- (C) When approval of the affected governmental bodies is required, evidence must be provided as follows:
- 1. When consent or franchise by a city or county is required, approval shall be shown by a certified copy of the document granting the consent or franchise, or an affidavit of the applicant that consent has been acquired; and
- 2. A certified copy of the required approval of other governmental agencies: and
- (D) The facts showing that the granting of the application is required by the public convenience and necessity.
- (2) If any of the items required under this rule are unavailable at the time the application is filed, they shall be furnished prior to the granting of the authority sought.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.605 Filing Requirements for Water Utility Applications for Authority to Sell, Assign, Lease or Transfer Assets

PURPOSE: Applications to the commission for the authority to sell, assign, lease or transfer assets must meet the requirements set forth in this rule. As noted in the rule, additional requirements pertaining to such applications are set forth in 4 CSR 240-2.060(1).

- (1) In addition to the requirements of 4 CSR 240-2.060(1), applications for authority to sell, assign, lease or transfer assets shall include:
- (A) A brief description of the property involved in the transaction, including any franchises, permits, operating rights or certificates of convenience and necessity;
 - (B) A copy of the contract or agreement of sale;
- (C) The verification of proper authority by the person signing the application or a certified copy of resolution of the board of directors of each applicant authorizing the proposed action;
- (D) The reasons the proposed sale of the assets is not detrimental to the public interest;
- (E) If the purchaser is subject to the jurisdiction of the commission, a balance sheet and income statement with adjustments showing the results of the acquisitions of the property; and
- (F) A statement of the impact, if any, the sale, assignment, lease or transfer of assets will have on the tax revenues of the political subdivisions in which any structures, facilities or equipment of the companies involved in that sale are located.
- (2) If the purchaser is not subject to the jurisdiction of the commission, but will be subject to the commission's jurisdiction after the sale, the purchaser must comply with these rules.

(3) If any of the items required under this rule are unavailable at the time the application is filed, they shall be furnished prior to the granting of the authority sought.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.610 Filing Requirements for Water Utility Applications for Authority to Merge or Consolidate

PURPOSE: Applications to the commission for the authority to merge or consolidate must meet the requirements set forth in this rule. As noted in the rule, additional requirements pertaining to such applications are set forth in 4 CSR 240-2.060(1).

- (1) In addition to the requirements of 4 CSR 240-2.060(1), applications for authority to merge or consolidate shall include:
- (A) A copy of the proposed plan and agreement of corporate merger and consolidation, including organizational charts depicting the relationship of the merging entities before and after the transaction;
- (B) A certified copy of the resolution of the board of directors of each applicant authorizing the proposed merger and consolidation;
- (C) The balance sheets and income statements of each applicant and a balance sheet and income statement of the surviving corporation:
- (D) The reasons the proposed merger is not detrimental to the public interest:
- (E) An estimate of the impact of the merger on the company's Missouri jurisdictional operations relative to the merger and acquisition in question; and
- (F) A statement of the impact, if any, the merger or consolidation will have on the tax revenues of the political subdivision in which any

structures, facilities or equipment of the companies involved are located.

- (2) If the purchaser is not subject to the jurisdiction of the commission, but will be subject to the commission's jurisdiction after the sale, the purchaser must comply with these rules.
- (3) If any of the items required under this rule are unavailable at the time the application is filed, they shall be furnished prior to the granting of the authority sought.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT Division 240—Public Service Commission

Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.615 Filing Requirements for Water Utility Applications for Authority to Issue Stock, Bonds, Notes and Other Evidences of Indebtedness

PURPOSE: Applications to the commission for the authority to issue stock, bonds, notes or other evidences of indebtedness must meet the requirements set forth in this rule. As noted in the rule, additional requirements pertaining to such applications are set forth in 4 CSR 240-2.060(1).

- (1) In addition to the requirements of 4 CSR 240-2.060(1), applications for authority to issue stock, bonds, notes and other evidences of indebtedness shall contain the following:
- (A) A brief description of the securities which applicant desires to issue;
- (B) A statement of the purpose for which the securities are to be issued and the use of the proceeds;
- (C) Copies of executed instruments defining the terms of the proposed securities—

- 1. If these instruments have been previously filed with the commission, a reference to the case number in which the instruments were furnished;
- 2. If these instruments have not been executed at the time of filing, a statement of the general terms and conditions to be contained in the instruments which are proposed to be executed; and
- 3. If none of these instruments is either executed or to be executed, a statement of how the securities are to be sold;
- (D) A certified copy of resolutions of the directors of applicant authorizing the issuance of the securities;
- (E) A balance sheet and income statement with adjustments showing the effects of the issuance of the proposed securities upon—
 - 1. Bonded and other indebtedness; and
 - 2. Stock authorized and outstanding;
- (F) A statement of what portion of the issue is subject to the fee schedule in section 386.300, RSMo; and
- (G) A five (5)-year capitalization expenditure schedule as required by section 393.200, RSMo.
- (2) If any of the items required under this rule are unavailable at the time the application is filed, they shall be furnished prior to the granting of the authority sought.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.620 Filing Requirements for Water Utility Applications for Authority to Acquire the Stock of a Public Utility

PURPOSE: Applications to the commission for the authority to acquire the stock of a public utility must meet the requirements set

forth in this rule. As noted in the rule, additional requirements pertaining to such applications are set forth in 4 CSR 240-2.060(1).

- (1) In addition to the requirements of 4 CSR 240-2.060(1), applications for authority to acquire the stock of a public utility shall include:
- (A) A statement of the offer to purchase stock of the public utility or a copy of any agreement entered with shareholders to purchase stock:
- (B) A certified copy of the resolution of the directors of applicant authorizing the acquisition of the stock; and
- (C) Reasons why the proposed acquisition of the stock of the public utility is not detrimental to the public interest.
- (2) If any of the items required under this rule are unavailable at the time the application is filed, they shall be furnished prior to the granting of the authority sought.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.625 Filing Requirements for Applications for Approval of Water Service Territorial Agreements

PURPOSE: This rule establishes requirements that applications to the commission for approval of territorial agreements between water service providers must meet. As noted in the rule, additional requirements pertaining to such applications are set forth in 4 CSR 240-2.060(1) and 4 CSR 240-3.630.

- (1) In addition to the requirements of 4 CSR 240-2.060(1), applications for commission approval of territorial agreements between water service providers shall include:
- (A) A copy of the territorial agreement and a specific designation of the boundary, including legal description;
- (B) An illustrative tariff which reflects any changes in a regulated utility's operations or certification;
- (C) An explanation as to why the territorial agreement is in the public interest;
- (D) A list of all persons whose utility service would be changed by the agreement; and
 - (E) A check for the initial filing fee set forth in 4 CSR 240-3.630.
- (2) If any of the items required by subsections (1)(A)–(D) of this rule are unavailable at the time the application is filed, they shall be furnished prior to the granting of the authority sought.

AUTHORITY: sections 247.172 and 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.630 Schedule of Fees Applicable to Applications for Approval of Water Service Territorial Agreements and Petitions for Designation of Water Service Areas

PURPOSE: This rule establishes a schedule of fees for commission review of proposed territorial agreements and petitions for commission designation of water service areas between water service providers.

(1) Commission review of an application for a proposed territorial agreement or a petition for commission designation of water service

areas between water service providers shall be accompanied by an initial filing fee in the amount of five hundred dollars (\$500).

- (2) In addition to the filing fee, the fee for commission review of an application for approval of a proposed territorial agreement between water service providers or a petition for commission designation of water service areas is set at six hundred eighty-five dollars (\$685) per hour of hearing time, subject to a minimum charge for hearing time of six hundred eighty-five dollars (\$685). There is an additional charge of three dollars and fifty cents (\$3.50) per page of transcript. These fees are in addition to the fees authorized by section 386.300, RSMo.
- (3) The parties shall be responsible for payment of any unpaid fees on and after the effective date of the commission's report and order relating to the water service territorial agreement or designation of water service area. The executive director shall send an itemized billing statement to the applicants on or after the effective date of the commission's report and order. Responsibility for the payment of the fees shall be that of the parties to the proceeding as ordered by the commission in each case.
- (4) An application for commission review of proposed amendment(s) to an existing territorial agreement between water service providers shall not be subject to the fee of five hundred dollars (\$500) specified in section (1) of this rule. However, the applicants shall be responsible for the payment of a fee which reflects necessary hearing time (including the minimum hearing time charge) and the transcript costs as specified in section (2) of this rule.
- (5) On July 1 of each year, the filing fee and the fee per hour of evidentiary hearing time will be modified to match any percentage change in the Consumer Price Index for the twelve (12)-month period ending December 31 of the preceding year.

AUTHORITY: sections 247.172 and 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.635 Water Utility Small Company Rate Increase Procedure

PURPOSE: This rule provides procedures for small water utilities to obtain rate increases.

- (1) Notwithstanding any other rule to the contrary, small companies, as defined in this rule, may seek a general increase in revenues through a small company rate case by filing a letter requesting the change. The request shall not be accompanied by any tariff sheets. For the purpose of this rule, small companies qualifying to use the small company rate case described in this rule shall include water utilities having eight thousand (8,000) or fewer customers. The small company rate case shall be conducted as follows:
- (A) The original letter requesting the change shall be filed with the secretary of the commission and one (1) copy shall be furnished to the public counsel. The letter shall state the amount of the additional revenue requested, the reason(s) for the proposed change and a statement that all commission annual assessments have been paid in full or are being paid under an installment plan. The letter should also include a statement that the company's current annual report is on file with the commission. The company, in writing, shall notify customers of the request for additional revenue and the effect on the typical residential customer's bill. The notice shall indicate that customers' responses may be sent to the appropriate commission department or the public counsel within thirty (30) days of the date shown on the notice. A draft copy of the notice shall be sent to the appropriate commission department for verification of the accuracy of the notice before being sent to the company's customers. A copy of the final notice shall then be sent to the appropriate commission department and the public counsel. The commission staff and the public counsel shall exchange copies of customer responses upon their receipt. Upon receipt of the company's request, the commission staff shall schedule an investigation of the company's operations and an audit of its financial records. When the investigation and audit are complete, the commission staff shall notify the company and public counsel whether the requested additional revenue is recommended in whole or in part, of the rate design proposal for the increase, and of any recommended operational changes. If public counsel wishes to conduct an investigation and audit of the company, it must do so within the same time period as staff's investigation and audit;
- (B) The commission staff, within twenty-one (21) days from the completion of its investigation, shall arrange a conference with the company and shall notify the public counsel of the conference prior to the conference, in order to provide the public counsel an opportunity to participate;
- (C) If the conference between the commission staff, the company and the public counsel results in an agreement concerning additional revenue requirements and any other matters pertaining to the company's operations, including responses to customer concerns, the agreement between the commission staff, the company and the public counsel shall be reduced to writing. The company may then file tariff sheet(s) with an effective date which is not fewer than thirty (30) days after the tariff's issue date and no additional customer notice or local public hearing shall be required, unless otherwise ordered by the commission. The company shall file a copy of the agreement with its tariff;
- (D) If the conference results in an agreement between the commission staff and the company only, the company at this time shall file the necessary tariff sheet(s) with the commission in accordance with the agreement. The tariff sheet(s) shall contain an effective date of not fewer than forty-five (45) days from the issue date. The company shall notify customers in writing of the proposed rates resulting

from the agreement. The notice shall indicate that customers' responses may be sent to the appropriate commission department or the public counsel within twenty (20) days of the date shown on the notice. A copy of the notice shall be sent to the secretary of the commission and the public counsel. The commission staff and the public counsel shall exchange copies of the customer responses upon their receipt. The public counsel shall file a pleading indicating its agreement or disagreement with the tariff sheet(s) within twenty-five (25) days of the date the tariff sheet(s) is filed, unless a public hearing is requested;

- (E) A request for a local public hearing may be filed after the tariff sheet(s) is filed by the company. The request shall be filed within twenty (20) days of the filing of the tariff sheet(s) by the company. Public counsel shall file a pleading indicating agreement or disagreement with the tariff sheet(s) within seven (7) days after the local public hearing;
- (F) An agreement must be reached and tariff sheet(s) filed based upon the agreement within one hundred fifty (150) days from the date the letter initiating the case is filed. This time period may be extended with the consent of the company. Written consent for an extension shall be filed with the company's tariff; and
- (G) If no agreement can be reached between the commission staff and the company, the company may initiate a standard rate case.

AUTHORITY: section 386.250, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT Division 240—Public Service Commission

Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.640 Annual Report Filing Requirements for Water Utilities

PURPOSE: This rule establishes standards for filing annual reports by water utilities subject to the jurisdiction of the Missouri Public Service Commission, including procedures for filing annual report information under seal.

- (1) All water utilities subject to the jurisdiction of the Missouri Public Service Commission shall file an annual report with the commission on or before April 15 of each year.
- (2) Water utilities shall file their annual reports on either a form provided by the commission or on a computer-generated replica which is acceptable to the commission. All requested information shall be included in the annual report where applicable.
- (3) Where a utility subject to this rule considers the information requested on the annual report form to be confidential, it must make a written request to the secretary of the commission to file that information under seal and state good cause for maintaining the information under seal. The secretary of the commission shall then, through the general counsel, present that request to the commission for approval. The secretary of the commission shall inform the utility within three (3) days of the commission's decision whether the request has been granted.
- (4) A utility which is unable to meet the filing date established in section (1) of this rule shall make a written request to extend the filing date for its annual report to the secretary of the commission and state the reason for the extension request. The secretary of the commission, through the chief administrative law judge, shall present the report to the commission for approval. The secretary of the commission shall inform the utility in writing within three (3) days of the decision of the commission.

AUTHORITY: sections 386.250 and 393.140, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-3.645 Filing Requirements for Water Utility Rate Schedules

- PURPOSE: This rule prescribes the form and procedures for filing and publishing schedules of rates of all water utilities under the jurisdiction of the Public Service Commission.
- (1) Every water corporation engaged in the furnishing or distribution of water for domestic or other beneficial use in the state of Missouri is directed not later than October 15, 1913, to have on file with this commission and keep open for public inspection, schedules showing all rates and charges in connection with the service or whatever nature made by these water corporations for each and every kind of service which it renders as were in force on April 15, 1913, together with proper supplements covering all changes in the rate schedules authorized by this commission, if any, since April 15, 1913.
- (2) All the rate schedules now on file with the commission not in accordance with these rules shall be issued in the form and manner prescribed by this rule and all rate schedules issued after April 15, 1913, must conform to this rule.
- (3) Rate schedules shall be drawn up substantially in accordance with Form No. 13 and shall be plainly printed or typewritten on good quality of paper of size eight and one-half inches by eleven inches (8 $1/2" \times 11"$) in book, sheet or pamphlet form. A loose-leaf plan may be used so changes can be made by reprinting and inserting a single leaf. When the loose-leaf plan is used, all sheets, except the title page sheet, must show in the marginal space at top of page the name of the water corporation issuing, the PSC number of the schedule and the number of the page. In the marginal space at bottom of the sheet, should be shown: the date of issue, the effective date and the name, title and address of the officer by whom the schedule is issued. All schedules shall bear a number with the prefix PSC Mo. Schedules shall be numbered in consecutive serial order beginning with number 1 for each water corporation. If a schedule or part thereof is cancelled, a new schedule or part thereof (sheet or sheets if loose-leaf) will refer to the schedule cancelled by its PSC number; thus, PSC Mo. No. cancelling PSC Mo. No.
- (4) Each schedule shall be accompanied by a letter of transmittal, in duplicate if receipt is desired, which shall be prepared consistent with the format designated by the commission.
- (5) All proposed changes in rates, charges or rentals or in rules that affect rates, charges or rentals, filed with the commission shall be accompanied by a brief summary, approximately one hundred (100) words or less, of the effect of the change on the company's customers. A copy of any proposed change and summary shall also be served on the public counsel and be available for public inspection and reproduction during regular office hours at the general business office of the utility.
- (6) Thirty (30) days' notice to the commission is required as to every publication relating to water rates or service except where publications are made effective on less than statutory notice by permission, regulation or requirement of the commission.
- (7) Except as is otherwise provided, no schedule or supplement will be accepted for filing unless it is delivered to the commission free from all charges or claims for postage, the full thirty (30) days required by law before the date upon which such schedule or supplement is stated to be effective. No consideration will be given to or for the time during which a schedule or supplement may be held by the post office authorities because of insufficient postage. When a schedule or a supplement is issued and as to which the commission is not given the statutory notice, it is as if it had not been issued and a full statutory notice must be given of any reissuance. No consideration will be given to telegraphic notices in computing the required thirty (30) days' notice. In such cases the schedule will be returned to the sender and correction of the neglect or omission cannot be made which takes into account any time elapsing between the date

upon which such schedule or supplement was received and the date of the attempted correction. For rate schedules and supplements issued on short notice under special permission of the commission, literal compliance with the requirements or notice named in any order, regulation or permission granted by the commission will be exacted.

AUTHORITY: sections 386.250 and 393.140, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rule is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 10—Utilities

PROPOSED RESCISSION

4 CSR 240-10.070 Minimum Filing Requirements for General Rate Increase Requests. This rule prescribed the information that must be filed by all electric utilities, all large local exchange telecommunications companies, all large gas, water and sewer utilities and all steam heating utilities when filing for a general company-wide increase in rates.

PURPOSE: The commission is rescinding this rule from this chapter and adopting nearly identical requirements mirroring those found in the rule in a new rule in the commission's new Chapter 3, as a part of an overall reorganization of the commission's rules regarding general filing requirements.

AUTHORITY: sections 392.210, RSMo Supp. 1987, 392.220, RSMo Supp. 1991 and 393.140, RSMo 1986. Original rule filed Feb. 4, 1993, effective Oct. 10, 1993. Rescinded: Filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360. Jefferson City. MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at < http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp>. A public hearing regarding this proposed rescission is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 10—Utilities

PROPOSED RESCISSION

4 CSR 240-10.080 Annual Report Filing Requirements. This rule established standards for filing annual reports by utilities subject to the jurisdiction of the commission, including procedures for filing annual report information under seal.

PURPOSE: The commission is rescinding this rule from this chapter and adopting nearly identical requirements mirroring those found in the rule in a new rule in the commission's new Chapter 3, as a part of an overall reorganization of the commission's rules regarding general filing requirements.

AUTHORITY: sections 392.210 and 393.140, RSMo 1994. Original rule filed March 19, 1996, effective Oct. 30, 1996. Rescinded: Filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rescission is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor

Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 13—Service and Billing Practices for Residential Customers of Electric, Gas and Water Utilities

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 240-13.055 Cold Weather Maintenance of Service: Provision of Residential Heat-Related Utility Service During Cold Weather. The commission is proposing to modify the Purpose section of the rule by adding a reference to other applicable commission rules and to delete section (12) from the rule, which is the last section of the rule and deleting the form following the rule from the Code of State Regulations.

PURPOSE: This amendment reflects a reorganization of the commission's rules regarding general filing requirements in that requirements mirroring those found in the section being deleted from this rule are being adopted in various rules of the commission's new Chapter 3.

PURPOSE: This rule protects the health and safety of residential customers receiving heat-related utility service by placing restrictions on discontinuing and refusing to provide heat-related utility service from November 1 through March 31 due to delinquent accounts of those customers. Reporting requirements regarding heat-related utility service are found at 4 CSR 240-3.175 for electric utilities and at 4 CSR 240-3.250 for gas utilities.

[(12) Each utility providing heat-related utility service shall submit a report to the consumer services department of the commission for each calendar month no later than the twentieth day of the following month. The utility shall provide a copy of each report to the office of the public counsel. The report shall include the information listed below for each operational district into which the utility has divided its Missouri service territory. Utilities providing both electric and gas service shall report the information separately for their gas-only territory:

- (A) The number of days on which discontinuance of service was not prohibited by the cold weather rule's daily temperature moratorium (4 CSR 240-13.055(4));
- (B) The utility shall report the following information for all residential customers and state separately the information for those on whose behalf the utility has received notice of qualification for publicly funded energy assistance:
- 1. The number of residential customers who agreed to pay for their heat-related utility service under a payment agreement in accordance with 4 CSR 240-13.055(8);
- 2. The number of residential customers whose heatrelated utility service was discontinued due to failure to make timely payments under a section (8) agreement;
- 3. The total amount due and owing from residential customers whose utility service was discontinued due to failure to make timely payments under a section (8) agreement;

- 4. The number of residential customers whose heatrelated utility service was involuntarily discontinued and who were not participants in a section (8) payment agreement; and
- 5. The total amount due and owing from residential customers whose heat-related utility service was involuntarily discontinued and who were not participants in a section (8) payment agreement.]

AUTHORITY: sections 386.250, 393.130 and 393.140, RSMo [1994] 2000. Original rule filed June 13, 1984, effective Nov. 15, 1984. Amended: Filed Dec. 30, 1992, effective Oct. 10, 1993. Amended: Filed March 10, 1995, effective Jan. 30, 1996. Emergency amendment filed Nov. 8, 2001, effective Nov. 18, 2001, expired March 31, 2002. Amended: Filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed amendment is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT **Division 240—Public Service Commission**

Chapter 14—Utility Promotional Practices

PROPOSED RESCISSION

4 CSR 240-14.040 Filing of Promotional Practices. This rule prescribed the filing requirements for present, proposed or revised promotional practices.

PURPOSE: The commission is rescinding this rule from this chapter and adopting nearly identical requirements mirroring those found in the rule in a new rule in the commission's new Chapter 3, as a part of an overall reorganization of the commission's rules regarding general filing requirements.

AUTHORITY: sections 386.040, 386.610 and 393.140, RSMo 1986 and 386.250, RSMo Supp. 1991. Original rule filed June 28, 1971, effective July 8, 1971. Amended: Filed Sept. 15, 1972, effective Sept. 25, 1972. Amended: Filed June 12, 1992, effective May 6, 1993. Rescinded: Filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commiselectronic filing and information <http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp>. A public hearing regarding this proposed rescission is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 20—Electric Utilities

PROPOSED RESCISSION

4 CSR 240-20.010 Rate Schedules. This rule prescribed the form and procedures for filing and publishing schedules of rates of all electrical corporations under the jurisdiction of the Public Service Commission.

PURPOSE: The commission is rescinding this rule from this chapter and adopting nearly identical requirements mirroring those found in the rule in a new rule in the commission's new Chapter 3, as a part of an overall reorganization of the commission's rules regarding general filing requirements.

AUTHORITY: section 393.140, RSMo 1986. Original rule filed Dec. 19, 1975, effective Dec. 29, 1975. Amended: Filed May 16, 1977, effective Dec. 11, 1977. Rescinded: Filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed rescission is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 20—Electric Utilities

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 240-20.030 Uniform System of Accounts—Electrical Corporations. The commission is proposing to amend the Purpose section of the rule by adding a reference to other applicable commission rules, to delete section (5) from the rule and to renumber the remaining sections accordingly.

PURPOSE: This amendment reflects a reorganization of the commission's rules regarding general filing requirements in that requirements mirroring those found in the section being deleted from this rule are being adopted in the various rules of the commission's new Chapter 3.

PURPOSE: This rule directs electrical corporations within the commission's jurisdiction to use the uniform system of accounts prescribed by the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission for major electric utilities and licensees, as modified [here, to file annual reports, and to submit a revised depreciation study, data base and property unit catalog at least every five years.] herein. Requirements regarding the submission of depreciation studies, databases and property unit catalogs are found at 4 CSR 240-3.160 and 4 CSR 240-3.175.

- [(5) Each electrical corporation subject to the commission's jurisdiction shall submit a depreciation study, data base and property unit catalog to the manager of the commission's energy department and to the Office of the Public Counsel, as required by the terms of subsection (5)(B).
- (A) The depreciation study, data base and property unit catalog shall be compiled as follows:
- 1. The study shall reflect the average life and remaining life of each primary plant account or subaccount;
- 2. The data base shall consist of dollar amounts, by plant account or subaccount, representing —
- A. Annual dollar additions and dollar retirements by vintage year and year retired, beginning with the earliest year of available data;
 - B. Reserve for depreciation;
 - C. Surviving plant balance as of the study date; and
- D. Estimated date of final retirement and surviving dollar investment for each warehouse, electric generating facility, combustion turbine, general office building or other large structure; and
- 3. The property unit catalog shall contain a description of each retirement unit used by the company.

- (B) An electrical corporation shall submit its depreciation study, data base and property unit catalog on the following occasions:
- 1. On or before the date adjoining the first letter of the name under which the corporation does business, excluding the word the, as indicated by the tariffs on file with the commission.
- A. The alphabetical categories and submission due dates are as follows:

(I) A, B, C, D: January 1, 1994; (II) E, F, G, H: July 1, 1994; (III) I, J, K, L: January 1, 1995; (IV) M, N, O, P: July 1, 1995; (V) Q, R, S, T: January 1, 1996; and (VI) U, V, W, X, Y, Z: July 1, 1996.

B. However-

(I) An electrical corporation need not submit a depreciation study, data base or property unit catalog to the extent that the commission's staff received these items from the utility during the three (3) years prior to the due dates listed in subparagraph (5)(B)1.A.; and

(II) A utility with simultaneous due dates under 4 CSR 240-20.030(5)(B)1. and 4 CSR 240-40.040(5)(B)1. may postpone its due date with respect to one (1) of these rules by six (6) months. To exercise this option, the utility must give written notice of its intent to postpone compliance to the manager of the commission's energy department, and to the Office of the Public Counsel, before the utility's first due date;

- 2. When the utility files its tariff(s) with the commission proposing a general rate increase, as that term is used in the commission's rules pertaining to minimum filing requirements. However, an electrical corporation need not submit a depreciation study, data base or property unit catalog to the extent that the commission's staff received these items from the utility during the three (3) years prior to the utility filing for a general rate increase; or
- 3. Before five (5) years have elapsed since the last time the commission's staff received a depreciation study, data base and property unit catalog from the utility.]
- [(6)] (5) The commission may waive or grant a variance from the provisions of this rule, in whole or in part, for good cause shown, upon a utility's written application.

AUTHORITY: sections 386.250 and 393.140, RSMo [1994] 2000. Original rule filed Dec. 19, 1975, effective Dec. 29, 1975. Amended: Filed April 26, 1976, effective Sept. 11, 1976. Amended: Filed Feb. 5, 1993, effective Oct. 10, 1993. Amended: Filed March 19, 1996, effective Oct. 30, 1996. Amended: Filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commis-

sion's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed amendment is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission Chapter 20—Electric Utilities

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 240-20.060 Cogeneration. The commission is proposing to amend the Purpose section of the rule by adding a reference to other applicable commission rules, to delete sections (3) and (10) from the rule and to renumber the remaining sections and related references within the rule accordingly.

PURPOSE: This amendment reflects a reorganization of the commission's rules regarding general filing requirements in that requirements mirroring those found in the section being deleted from this rule are being adopted in the various rules of the commission's new Chapter 3.

PURPOSE: This rule implements sections 201 and 210 of the Public Utility Regulatory Policies Act of 1978 with regard to small power production and cogeneration. The objective of sections 201 and 210 of Public Utility Regulatory Policies Act is to provide a mechanism to set up a cogeneration program for Missouri for regulated utilities. Additional requirements regarding this subject matter are also found at 4 CSR 240-3.155.

- [(3) Availability of Electric Utility System Cost Data.
 - (A) All regulated electric utilities shall-
- 1. File tariffs providing standardized rates for facilities at or under one hundred (100) kilowatts on design capacity. The tariffs are to take account of the stochastic effect achieved by the aggregate output of dispersed small systems, that is, statistically a dispersed array of facilities may produce a level of reliability not enjoyed by any one (1) of the units taken separately. When that aggregate capacity value which allows the utility to avoid a capacity cost occurs and can be reasonably estimated, a corresponding credit must be included in the standard rates. The tariffs should take into account patterns of availability of particular energy sources such as the benefits to a summer peaking utility from photovoltaic systems or to a winter peaking utility for wind facilities:
- 2. Submit a standard form contract for facilities over one hundred (100) kilowatts as the basis for tariffs for these facilities. Issues such as avoided costs, losses, reliability and ability to schedule are to be considered in the contract; and
- 3. Submitted to the commission all tariffs and other data required to be prepared and filed by electric utilities under the provisions of subsection (3)(A) no later than September 15, 1981, and updated and revised on or before January 15, 1983 and not less than every two (2) years after that, unless otherwise ordered by the commission.

- (B) General Rule. To make available data from which avoided costs may be derived, not later than September 15, 1981 and updated and revised on or before January 15, 1983, and not less than every two (2) years after that, unless otherwise ordered by the commission, each regulated electric utility shall provide to the PSC and shall maintain for public inspection the following data:
- 1. The estimated avoided cost on the electric utility's system, solely with respect to the energy component, for various levels of purchases from qualifying facilities. These levels of purchases shall be stated in blocks of not more than one hundred (100) megawatts for systems with peak demand of one thousand (1000) megawatts or more, and in blocks equivalent to not more than ten percent (10%) of the system peak demand for systems of less than one thousand (1000) megawatts. The avoided costs shall be stated on a cents per kilowatt-hour basis, during daily and seasonal peak and off-peak periods, by year, for the current calendar year and each of the next five (5) years;
- 2. The electric utility's plans for the addition of capacity by amount and type, for purchases of firm energy and capacity and for capacity retirements for each year during the succeeding ten (10) years; and
- 3. The estimated capacity costs at completion of the planned capacity additions and planned capacity firm purchases, on the basis of dollars per kilowatt and the associated energy costs of each unit, expressed in cents per kilowatt hour. These costs shall be expressed in terms of individual generating units and of individual planned firm purchases.
 - (C) Special Rule for Small Electric Utilities.
- 1. Each electric utility (other than any electric utility to which subparagraph (3)(C)1.B. applies) upon request shall—
- A. Provide comparable data to that required under subsection (3)(B) to enable qualifying facilities to estimate the electric utility's avoided costs for periods described in subsection (3)(B); or
- B. With regard to an electric utility which is legally obligated to obtain all its requirements for electric energy and capacity from another electric utility, provide the data of its supplying utility and the rates at which it currently purchases the energy and capacity.
- 2. If any such electric utility fails to provide this information on request, the qualifying facility may apply to the Public Service Commission for an order requiring that the information be provided.

(D) PSC Review.

- 1. Any data submitted by an electric utility under this section shall be subject to review by the PSC.
- 2. In any such review, the electric utility has the burden of coming forward with justification for its data.]

[(4)] (3) Electric Utility Obligations Under This Rule.

- (A) Obligation to Purchase From Qualifying Facilities. Each electric utility shall purchase, in accordance with section [(5)] (4), any energy and capacity which is made available from a qualifying facility—
 - 1. Directly to the electric utility; or
- 2. Indirectly to the electric utility in accordance with subsection [(4)](3)(D) of this rule.
- (B) Obligation to Sell to Qualifying Facilities. Each electric utility shall sell to any qualifying facility, in accordance with section *[(6)](5)* of this rule, any energy and capacity requested by the qualifying facility.
 - (C) Obligation to Interconnect.
- 1. Subject to paragraph [(4)](3)(C)2. of this rule, any electric utility shall make interconnections with any qualifying facility as may be necessary to accomplish purchases or sales under this rule. The

- obligation to pay for any interconnection costs shall be determined in accordance with section l(7)/(6) of this rule.
- 2. No electric utility is required to interconnect with any qualifying facility if, solely by reason of purchases or sales over the interconnection, the electric utility would become subject to regulation as a public utility under Part II of the Federal Power Act.
- (D) Transmission to Other Electric Utilities. If a qualifying facility agrees, an electric utility which would otherwise be obligated to purchase energy or capacity from a qualifying facility may transmit the energy or capacity to any other electric utility. Any electric utility to which energy or capacity is transmitted shall purchase energy or capacity under this subsection [(4)](3)(D) as if the qualifying facility were supplying energy or capacity directly to the electric utility. The rate for purchase by the electric utility to which such energy is transmitted shall be adjusted up or down to reflect line losses pursuant to paragraph [(5)](4)(E)4. of this rule and shall not include any charges for transmission.
- (E) Parallel Operation. Each electric utility shall offer to operate in parallel with a qualifying facility, provided that the qualifying facility complies with any applicable standards established in accordance with section [(9)](8) of this rule.

[(5)](4) Rates for Purchases.

- (A) Rates for purchases shall be just and reasonable to the electric consumer of the electric utility and in the public interest and shall not discriminate against qualifying cogeneration and small power production facilities. Nothing in this rule requires any electric utility to pay more than the avoided costs for purchases.
 - (B) Relationship to Avoided Costs.
- 1. For purposes of this section, new capacity means any purchase from capacity of a qualifying facility, construction of which was commenced on or after November 9, 1978.
- 2. Subject to paragraph I(5)I(4)(B)3. of this rule, a rate for purchases satisfies the requirements of subsection I(5)I(4)(A) of this rule if the rate equals the avoided costs determined after consideration of the factors set forth in subsection I(5)I(4)(E) of this rule.
- 3. A rate for purchases (other than from new capacity) may be less than the avoided cost if the PSC determines that a lower rate is consistent with subsection [[5]](4)(A) of this rule and is sufficient to encourage cogeneration and small power production.
- 4. Rates for purchases from new capacity shall be in accordance with paragraph [[5]](4)(B)2. of this rule, regardless of whether the electric utility making the purchases is simultaneously making sales to the qualifying facility.
- 5. In the case in which the rates for purchases are based upon estimates of avoided costs over the specific term of the contract or other legally enforceable obligation, the rates for the purchases do not violate this paragraph if the rates for the purchases differ from avoided costs at the time of delivery.
 - (C) Standard Rates for Purchases.
- 1. There shall be put into effect (with respect to each electric utility) standard rates for purchases from qualifying facilities with a design capacity of one hundred (100) kilowatts or less.
- 2. There may be put into effect standard rates for purchases from qualifying facilities with a design capacity of more than one hundred (100) kilowatts.
- 3. The standard rates for purchases under this subsection shall be consistent with subsections I(5)I(4)(A) and (E) of this rule, and may differentiate among qualifying facilities using various technologies on the basis of the supply characteristics of the different technologies.
- (D) Purchases as Available or Pursuant to a Legally Enforceable Obligation. Each qualifying facility shall have the option either—
- 1. To provide energy as the qualifying facility determines this energy to be available for the purchases, in which case the rates for the purchases shall be based on the purchasing utility's avoided costs calculated at the time of delivery; or

ty;

- 2. To provide energy or capacity pursuant to a legally enforceable obligation for the delivery of energy or capacity over a specified term, in which case the rates for the purchases, at the option of the qualifying facility exercised prior to the beginning of the specified term, shall be based on either the avoided costs calculated at the time of delivery or the avoided costs calculated at the time the obligation is incurred.
- (E) Factors Affecting Rates for Purchases. In determining avoided costs, the following factors, to the extent practicable, shall be taken into account:
- 1. The data provided pursuant to [section (3) of this rule] 4 CSR 240-3.155, including PSC review of any such data;
- 2. The availability of capacity or energy from a qualifying facility during the system daily and seasonal peak periods, including:
 - A. The ability of the utility to dispatch the qualifying facili-
- B. The expected or demonstrated reliability of the qualifying facility;
- C. The terms of any contract or other legally enforceable obligation, including the duration of the obligation, termination notice requirement and sanctions for noncompliance;
- D. The extent to which scheduled outages of the qualifying facility can be usefully coordinated with scheduled outages of the utility's facilities;
- E. The usefulness of energy and the capacity supplied from a qualifying facility during system emergencies, including its ability to separate its load from its generation;
- F. The individual and aggregate value of energy and capacity from qualifying facilities on the electric utility's system; and
- G. The smaller capacity increments and the shorter lead times available with additions of capacity from qualifying facilities;
- 3. The relationship of the availability of energy or capacity from the qualifying facility as derived in paragraph [(5)](4)(E)2. of this rule, to the ability of the electric utility to avoid costs, including the deferral of capacity additions and the reduction of oil use; and
- 4. The costs or savings resulting from variations in line losses from those that would have existed in the absence of purchases from a qualifying facility, if the purchasing electric utility generated an equivalent amount of energy itself or purchased an equivalent amount of electric energy or capacity.
 - (F) Periods During Which Purchases not Required.
- 1. Any electric utility which gives notice pursuant to paragraph [/5]/(4)(F)2. of this rule will not be required to purchase electric energy or capacity during any period which, due to operational circumstances, purchases from qualifying facilities will result in costs greater than those which the utility would incur if it did not make the purchases, but instead generated an equivalent amount of energy itself.
- 2. Any electric utility seeking to invoke paragraph [[5]](4)(F)1. of this rule must notify, in accordance with applicable state law or rule, each affected qualifying facility in time for the qualifying facility to cease the delivery of energy or capacity to the electric utility.
- 3. Any electric utility which fails to comply with the provisions of paragraph [(5)](4)(F)2. of this rule will be required to pay the same rate for the purchase of energy or capacity as would be required had the period described in paragraph [(5)](4)(F)1. of this rule not occurred.
- 4. A claim by an electric utility that this period has occurred or will occur is subject to verification by the PSC as the PSC determines necessary or appropriate, either before or after the occurrence.

[(6)](5) Rates for Sales.

(A) Rates for sales shall be just and reasonable and in the public interest and shall not discriminate against any qualifying facility in comparison to rates for sales to other customers served by the electric utility. Rates for sales which are based on accurate data and consistent system-wide costing principles shall not be considered to discriminate against any qualifying facility to the extent that those rates

apply to the utility's other customers with similar load or other costrelated characteristics.

- (B) Additional Services to be Provided to Qualifying Facilities.
- 1. Upon request of a qualifying facility, each electric utility shall provide supplementary power, back-up power, maintenance power and interruptible power.
- 2. The PSC may waive any requirement of paragraph [[6]](5)(B)1. of this rule if, after notice in the area served by the electric utility and after opportunity for public comment, the electric utility demonstrates and the PSC finds that compliance with that requirement will impair the electric utility's ability to render adequate service to its customers or place an undue burden on the electric utility.
- (C) Rates for Sale of Back-Up and Maintenance Power. The rate for sales of back-up power or maintenance power—
- 1. Shall not be based upon an assumption (unless supported by factual data) that forced outages or other reductions in electric output by all qualifying facilities on an electric utility's system will occur simultaneously or during the system peak or both; and
- Shall take into account the extent to which scheduled outages of the qualifying facilities can be usefully coordinated with scheduled outages of the utility's facilities.

[(7)](6) Interconnection Costs.

(A) If the utility and the qualifying facility cannot reach agreement as to the amount or the manner of payment of the interconnection costs to be paid by the qualifying facility, the PSC, after hearing, shall assess against the qualifying facility those interconnection costs to be paid to the utility, on a nondiscriminatory basis with respect to other customers with similar load characteristics or shall determine the manner of payments of the interconnection costs, which may include reimbursement over a reasonable period of time, or both. In determining the terms of any reimbursement over a period of time, the commission shall provide for adequate carrying charges associated with the utility's investment and security to insure total reimbursement of the utility's incurred costs, if it deems necessary.

[(8)](7) System Emergencies.

- (A) Qualifying Facility Obligation to Provide Power During System Emergencies. A qualifying facility shall be required to provide energy or capacity to an electric utility during a system emergency only to the extent provided by agreement between the qualifying facility and electric utility or ordered under [S]section 202(c) of the Federal Power Act.
- (B) Discontinuance of Purchases and Sales During System Emergencies. During any system emergency, an electric utility may discontinue purchases from a qualifying facility if those purchases would contribute to the emergency and sales to a qualifying facility, provided that discontinuance is on a nondiscriminatory basis.
- [(9)](8) Standards for Operating Reliability. The PSC may establish reasonable standards to ensure system safety and reliability of interconnected operations. Those standards may be recommended by any electric utility, any qualifying facility or any other person. If the PSC establishes standards, it shall specify the need for the standards on the basis of system safety and reliability.
- [(10) Implementation of Certain Reporting Requirements. Any electric utility which fails to comply with the requirements of subsection (3)(B) shall be subject to the same penalties to which it may be subjected for failure to comply with the requirements of the FERC's regulations issued under Section 133 of PURPA.]
- [(11)] (9) Exemption to Qualifying Facilities From the Public Utility Holding Company Act and Certain State Law and Rules.
- (A) Applicability. This section applies to qualifying cogeneration facilities and qualifying small power production facilities which have

- a power production capacity which does not exceed thirty (30) megawatts and to any qualifying small power production facility with a power production capacity over thirty (30) megawatts if that facility produces electric energy solely by the use of biomass as a primary energy source.
- (B) A qualifying facility described in subsection (1)(A) shall not be considered to be an electric utility company as defined in [S]section 2(a)(3) of the Public Utility Holding Company Act of 1935, 15 U.S.C. 79b(a)(3).
- (C) Any qualifying facility shall be exempted (except as otherwise provided) from Missouri PSC law or rule respecting the rates of electric utilities and the financial and organizational regulation of electric utilities. A qualifying facility may not be exempted from Missouri PSC law and rule implementing [S]subpart C of PURPA.

AUTHORITY: sections **386.250** and 393.140, RSMo [1986] **2000**. Original rule filed Oct. 14, 1980, effective May 15, 1981. Amended: Filed Aug. 16, 2002.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commiselectronic filing and information system A public hearing regarding this proposed amendment is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT Division 240—Public Service Commission

Chapter 20—Electric Utilities

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 240-20.070 Decommissioning Trust Funds. The commission is proposing to amend the Purpose section of the rule by adding a reference to other applicable commission rules, to delete sections (5), (6), (9) and (10) from the rule and to renumber the remaining sections accordingly.

PURPOSE: This amendment reflects a reorganization of the commission's rules regarding general filing requirements in that requirements mirroring those found in the section being deleted from this

rule are being adopted in the various rules of the commission's new Chapter 3.

PURPOSE: This rule is promulgated pursuant to section 393.292, RSMo to—1) govern the review and authorization of changes to the rates and charges contained in the tariff(s) of an electric corporation as a result of a change in the level or annual accrual of funding necessary for its nuclear power plant decommissioning trust fund, 2) govern the procedure for the submission, examination, hearing and approval for the tariff changes and 3) ensure that the amounts collected from ratepayers and paid into the trust funds will be neither greater nor lesser than the amounts necessary to carry out the purposes of the trust. Additional requirements pertaining to this subject matter are also found at 4 CSR 240-3.185.

- [(5) The utility or the trustee shall file reports quarterly to the commission. The reports shall contain the following information:
- (A) A total of all jurisdictional balances of the trust fund(s) based on a carrying cost (book) value;
- (B) A total of all jurisdictional balances of the trust fund(s) based on a market value;
- (C) A Missouri jurisdictional balance of the trust fund(s) based on a carrying cost (book) value;
- (D) A Missouri jurisdictional balance of the trust fund(s) based on a market value;
- (E) A summary of the trust account including the utility's contributions, incomes, expenses and a weighted average after-tax return for the quarter;
- (F) A portfolio summary per asset class by amount and percentage;
 - (G) A detailed report of daily transactions; and
- (H) Any other information the commission orders the utility or trustee to provide.
- (6) In addition, the utility or the trustee shall file reports annually to the commission that contain the following information:
 - (A) An asset maturity schedule;
- (B) A summary of the trust's portfolio of investments including a listing of each security detailing the carrying cost, current market value, maturity date, estimated annual income and the yield to maturity;
- (C) A copy of all correspondence including income tax returns and tax exempt rulings concerning the trust with the IRS or any state revenue agency; and
- (D) Any other information the commission orders the utility or trust to provide.]
- [(7)] (5) The utility shall take every reasonable action to provide reasonable assurance that adequate funds are available at the nuclear generating unit's termination of operation, so that decommissioning can be carried out in a safe and timely manner and that lack of funds does not result in delays that may cause undue health and safety hazards.
- [(8)] (6) The utility shall maintain its nuclear generating unit(s) in a manner calculated to minimize the utility's total cost of maintenance and decommissioning, consistent with the prudent operation of the unit.
- [(9) On or before September 1, 1990 and every three (3) years after that, utilities with decommissioning trust funds shall perform and file with the commission cost studies detailing the utilities' latest cost estimates for decommissioning their nuclear generating unit(s) along with the funding levels necessary to defray these decommissioning costs.

These studies shall be filed along with appropriate tariff(s) effectuating the change in rates necessary to accomplish the funding required. In addition, the commission, at any time for just cause, may require a utility to file an updated decommissioning cost study, funding requirement and associated tariff(s).

- (10) At the time a tariff(s) is filed by a utility which proposes any change in rates due to changes in the estimate of decommissioning cost or the funding level of its nuclear decommissioning trust fund(s), the utility shall file the following minimum information in support of the need for changes in its tariff rates:
- (A) An updated decommissioning cost study which estimates the cost of decommissioning and the funding levels necessary to defray these costs. This study shall contain the following information:
- 1. Detailed quantities and unit prices in current dollars for each system of the nuclear generating unit to be decommissioned;
- 2. A detailed breakdown between radioactive contaminated systems and those systems which are not contaminated by radioactivity;
- 3. Funding levels which are computed on a levelized basis and which accrue future decommissioning costs over the remaining licensed life of the nuclear generating unit. The utility shall include the earnings rate and inflation rate assumed in the cost study as compared to those assumed in any previous study;
- 4. A detailed description of any facilities that were added to or deleted from the cost study filed in the previous case;
- 5. The beginning date for the expenditure of funds for decommissioning assumed in the study shall be no later than the expiration date of the unit's current Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) license; and
- 6. The study shall consider and evaluate all reasonable practices or procedures which would reduce the ultimate cost of decommissioning; and
- (B) A summary description of the reasons (for example, changes in regulation, technology or economics) that brought on the need to change the decommissioning cost estimate.]
- [(11)] (7) Upon the filing of the appropriate tariff(s) as set in [sections (9) and (10)] 4 CSR 240-3.180, the commission shall establish a schedule of proceedings which shall be limited in scope to the following issues:
- (A) The extent of any change in the level or annual accrual of funding necessary for the utility's decommissioning trust fund; and
- (B) The changes in rates which would reflect any change in the funding level or accrual rate.
- [(12)] (8) For a fund intended to be tax qualified, after receipt of any commission order modifying the annual decommissioning funding requirements, the affected utility shall apply for an adjusted IRS ruling in a timely manner, seeking deductibility of the new annual decommissioning cost accruals consistent with the effective dates given in the order. Pending final IRS approval, the utility shall be authorized to continue funding at the level which existed prior to the commission order provided that the utility will take all appropriate action to preserve the tax deduction of the amounts subsequently approved in the IRS ruling.
- [(13)] (9) Distributions may be made from a nuclear decommissioning trust fund only to satisfy the liabilities of the utility for nuclear decommissioning costs relating to the nuclear generating unit

for which the decommissioning fund was established and to pay administrative costs, income taxes and other incidental expenses of the trust fund. The utility shall not use proceeds of the trust for the purpose of filing for an updated tax ruling or to qualify the trust.

- [(14]] (10) Each utility shall file with the commission the detailed plan required by the **Nuclear Regulatory Commission** (NRC) for the decommissioning of its nuclear generating unit when that plan is filed with the NRC. Before any distribution of decommissioning trust funds are made for the decommissioning of its nuclear generating unit, the utility must notify and obtain commission approval of its intent to make this distribution.
- [(15)] (11) The utility shall conduct the decommissioning of its nuclear generating unit in accordance with NRC requirements and must not knowingly allow any procedure that would unreasonably endanger human life or the environment.
- [(16)] (12) Upon termination of the trust, the utility shall file with the commission the appropriate tariff(s) to reflect the termination of payments into the decommissioning trust fund, as well as refund or credit any overcollection of these funds.
- [(17)] (13) Upon proper application and after due notice and hearing, the commission may waive any provision of this rule for good cause shown.
- [(18)] (14) The commission may adopt further amendments as it deems necessary for the sound management of the trust fund(s), consistent with the purpose of this rule.
- AUTHORITY: sections 386.250 and 393.292, RSMo [Supp. 1989] 2000. Original rule filed Nov. 27, 1989, effective March 26, 1990. Amended: Filed May 4, 1993, effective Dec. 9, 1993. Amended: Filed Aug. 16, 2002.
- PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.
- PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the commission's offices on or before October 16, 2002, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. AX-2001-654. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an original and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using the commission's electronic filing and information system at http://www.psc.state.mo.us/efis.asp">. A public hearing regarding this proposed amendment is scheduled for October 25, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.