
Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE 
Division 70—Plant Industries

Chapter 16—Missouri Department of Agriculture
Organic Program

PROPOSED RULE

2 CSR 70-16.010 Definitions of the Missouri Department of
Agriculture Organic Program

PURPOSE:  This rule defines terms to be used when implementing
the Missouri Department of Agriculture Organic Program.

(1) These definitions apply to all rules adopted and incorporated
under authority of section 261.110, RSMo Supp. 2002, unless spec-
ified differently by statute or law.

(A) Certifying agent registration. “Certifying agent registration”
means the mandatory act of filing with the director, on forms pro-

vided by or approved by the department, the name and address of any
accredited certifying agent that certifies organic entities within the
state of Missouri.

(B) Department. The “department” means the Missouri
Department of Agriculture (MDA).

(C) Director. The “director” means the director of the Missouri
Department of Agriculture, or designee.

(D) Missouri-based. “Missouri-based” means any organic entity
with not less than fifty-one percent (51%) of the certified organic
production area and of any production/handling facility(ies) located
within the state’s borders.

(E) NOP.  “NOP” means the National Organic Program, as out-
lined in Federal Register Vol. 65, No. 246 NOP 7 CFR, Part 205.

(F) Organic entity. “Organic entity” refers to any producer or han-
dler, and the production or handling site and/or facility, that utilizes
methods that adhere to those required by NOP 7 CFR, Part 205.

(G) Organic registration.  “Organic registration” means a volun-
tary act of filing with the director, on forms provided by or approved
by the program.

(H) Program.  “Program” means the Missouri Department of
Agriculture (MDA) Organic Program. 

(I) Transitional-to-organic. “Transitional-to-organic” means any
Missouri-based agricultural producer or handler that is converting
from conventional to organic production methods while adhering to
NOP requirements.  

AUTHORITY: section 261.110, RSMo Supp. 2002. Original rule filed
Jan. 3, 2003.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri
Department of Agriculture, Organic Program; PO Box 630, Jefferson
City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received with-
in thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE 
Division 70—Plant Industries

Chapter 16—Missouri Department of Agriculture
Organic Program

PROPOSED RULE

2 CSR 70-16.015 The Adoption of NOP Standards

PURPOSE:  This rule outlines the portions of NOP 7 CFR, Part 205
that will be adopted as Missouri Department of Agriculture (MDA)
Organic Program standards.

PUBLISHER’S NOTE: The secretary of state has determined that the
publication of the entire text of the material which is incorporated by
reference as a portion of this rule would be unduly cumbersome or
expensive. Therefore, the material which is so incorporated is on file
with the agency who filed this rule, and with the Office of the
Secretary of State. Any interested person may view this material at
either agency’s headquarters or the same will be made available at
the Office of the Secretary of State at a cost not to exceed actual cost
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Under this heading will appear the text of proposed rules
and changes. The notice of proposed rulemaking is

required to contain an explanation of any new rule or any
change in an existing rule and the reasons therefor. This is set
out in the Purpose section with each rule. Also required is a
citation to the legal authority to make rules. This appears fol-
lowing the text of the rule, after the word  “Authority.”

Entirely new rules are printed without any special symbol-
ogy under the heading of the proposed rule. If an exist-

ing rule is to be amended or rescinded, it will have a heading
of proposed amendment or proposed rescission. Rules which
are proposed to be amended will have new matter printed in
boldface type and matter to be deleted placed in brackets.

An important function of the Missouri Register is to solicit
and encourage public participation in the rulemaking

process. The law provides that for every proposed rule,
amendment or rescission there must be a notice that anyone
may comment on the proposed action. This comment may
take different forms.

If an agency is required by statute to hold a public hearing
before making any new rules, then a Notice of Public

Hearing will appear following the text of the rule. Hearing
dates must be at least thirty (30) days after publication of the
notice in the Missouri Register. If no hearing is planned or
required, the agency must give a Notice to Submit
Comments. This allows anyone to file statements in support
of or in opposition to the proposed action with the agency
within a specified time, no less than thirty (30) days after pub-
lication of the notice in the Missouri Register. 

An agency may hold a public hearing on a rule even
though not required by law to hold one. If an agency

allows comments to be received following the hearing date,
the close of comments date will be used as the beginning day
in the ninety (90)-day-count necessary for the filing of the
order of rulemaking.

If an agency decides to hold a public hearing after planning
not to, it must withdraw the earlier notice and file a new

notice of proposed rulemaking and schedule a hearing for a
date not less than thirty (30) days from the date of publication
of the new notice.
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of copy reproduction. The entire text of the rule is printed here. This
note refers only to the incorporated by reference material.

(1) The department adopts and incorporates by reference the follow-
ing parts of the official rules and regulations of the National Organic
Program (NOP), as outlined in Federal Register Vol. 65, No. 246
NOP 7 CFR Part 205; except for 2 CSR 70-16.010, or as the direc-
tor designates otherwise in specific cases:

(A) Subpart A—Definitions, all sections; except for those defined
in 2 CSR 70-16.010; 

(B) Subpart B—Applicability, all sections;
(C) Subpart C—Organic Production and Handling Requirements,

all sections;
(D) Subpart D—Labels, Labeling, and Market Information, all

sections;
(E) Subpart E—Certification, all sections;
(F) Subpart F—General Requirements for Accreditation, all sec-

tions; and
(G) Subpart G—Administrative.

1. Sections 205.600 through 205.607.
2. Sections 205.660 through 205.663.
2. Sections 205.670 through 205.672.
4. Sections 205.680 through 205.681.

AUTHORITY:  section 261.110, RSMo Supp. 2002. Original rule filed
Jan. 3, 2003.

PUBLIC COST:  This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:  Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri
Department of Agriculture, Organic Program; PO Box 630, Jefferson
City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received with-
in thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE 
Division 70—Plant Industries

Chapter 16—Missouri Department of Agriculture
Organic Program

PROPOSED RULE

2 CSR 70-16.020 MDA Organic Program Advisory Board

PURPOSE: This rule establishes a Missouri Department of
Agriculture (MDA) Organic Program Advisory Board and defines its
duties. 

(1) The department shall establish a Missouri Department of
Agriculture (MDA) Organic Program Advisory Board for the pur-
pose of advising the director with respect to his or her responsibili-
ties under this chapter.

(A) The department shall maintain a copy of the purpose and
duties of the MDA Organic Program Advisory Board, with a current
listing of the members, which shall be available to the public upon
request.

(B) The board members shall conduct annual review of the certi-
fication program activities, which may include a review of the certi-
fication decisions made by the program staff.

AUTHORITY:  section 261.110, RSMo Supp. 2002. Original rule filed
Jan. 3, 2003.

PUBLIC COST:  This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri
Department of Agriculture, Organic Program; PO Box 630, Jefferson
City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received with-
in thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE 
Division 70—Plant Industries

Chapter 16—Missouri Department of Agriculture
Organic Program

PROPOSED RULE

2 CSR 70-16.025 Procedures for Organic Certification

PURPOSE:  This rule outlines the procedures for application for
organic certification or recertification by the Missouri Department of
Agriculture (MDA) Organic Program, with associated fees. 

(1) The application for organic certification of producers and han-
dlers, as defined by the National Organic Program (NOP), 7 CFR,
Part 205, shall be submitted to the department on an approved appli-
cation form available from the program, or in a manner prescribed
by the director. Applications shall only be received from Missouri-
based organic entities. 

(2) Initial application for certification shall be accompanied by the
certification fee and completed information in compliance with NOP
7 CFR 205.401. The initial application shall be received by the pro-
gram not less than sixty (60) days before harvest of crop or before
final handling of the organic product.  

(3) Once granted, certification continues in effect until surrendered
by the certified entity, or is suspended or revoked by the department.
An annual renewal application for certification must be submitted to
the program with fee and information as required by NOP 7 CFR
205.406; and an annual reinspection shall be conducted by the pro-
gram at each facility to determine whether the certification of the
operation should continue.

(4) An application and inspection fee of one hundred dollars ($100)
shall accompany each application for organic certification. Total cer-
tification fees shall be assessed at the rate of:

(A) First year Certification Fee:  Total certification fee shall be the
initial application and inspection fee of one hundred dollars ($100);  

(B) Second year, and every year thereafter, Renewal Certification
Fee: Renewal certification fees shall be as follows:

1. Total renewal certification fee shall be the combined initial
application and inspection fee of one hundred dollars ($100) for
those organic entities with previous year’s gross sales from organic
production and/or handling of not more than fifty thousand dollars
($50,000);

2. Renewal certification fees for organic entities with previous
year’s gross sales from organic production and/or handling of more
than fifty thousand dollars ($50,000) shall be the initial application
and inspection fee of one hundred dollars ($100), plus additional cer-
tification fees of one hundred dollars ($100) for every one hundred
thousand dollars ($100,000) in gross sales from organic production
and/or handling, not to exceed five hundred dollars ($500);
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3. If the organic entity does not want to reveal organic gross
sales, the maximum five hundred dollar ($500) certification fee will
apply;

(C) The initial application and inspection fee and the certification
fees are not prorated throughout the year, nor are they refunded if the
application is withdrawn by the applicant or is denied by the director
for any cause;

(D) All certification fees shall be due and payable before organic
inspections will be conducted.  

(5) Applications to continue certification are due one (1) year from
date of the previous application.  Any application postmarked fifteen
(15) days after due date shall pay an additional late fee of one hun-
dred dollars ($100) to continue certification by the program.  

(6) Certified organic entities may petition to withdraw certification
with the program at any time.  In order to withdraw certification, the
applicant must submit the request in writing, with company name,
address, and signature. A voluntary withdrawal of the certification
application by the organic entity shall not result in a “Notice of
Certification Denial.”

(7) Any certified entity that withdraws the certification from the pro-
gram or allows their certification to elapse may reapply for recertifi-
cation, but will be considered to be a renewal application and shall
pay the renewal certification fee. 

(8) “Exempt” or “excluded” organic producers or handlers, as
defined by the NOP 7 CFR 205.101, may apply to be certified
“organic” by the program.  

AUTHORITY: section 261.110, RSMo Supp. 2002. Original rule filed
Jan. 3, 2003.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will cost private entities one
hundred eight thousand nine hundred dollars ($108,900) in the
aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri
Department of Agriculture, Organic Program; PO Box 630, Jefferson
City, MO  65102.  To be considered, comments must be received with-
in thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.
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Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE 
Division 70—Plant Industries

Chapter 16—Missouri Department of Agriculture
Organic Program

PROPOSED RULE

2 CSR 70-16.030 Records to be Maintained for Certification

PURPOSE:  This rule describes the records that organic entities
shall maintain for organic certification or recertification by the
Missouri Department of Agriculture (MDA) Organic Program.

(1) Certified organic entities shall maintain records applicable to the
organic operation for not less than five (5) years and shall make such
records available to the program as required by National Organic
Program (NOP) 7 CFR 205.103.  

(A)  All certified organic producers shall keep records for each
commodity produced; including, but not limited to:

1. Physical address of each production site where crops grown;
2. Crop and site history for previous three (3) years of produc-

tion;
3. Names of crops, with varieties, produced;
4. Input materials applied to plants, soil, water, and products.

These records shall include date applied, application rate, and name
of material, including brand name where possible;

5. Handling and processing description, date, and location.
Location shall include the name and address of the handler or proces-
sor;

6. Records of volume of all sales including: on-farm, wholesale,
and retail; name and address of purchaser where possible; and trans-
action certificate when used;

7. Audit tracking system for each product identified, with lots
numbers or other identifiers that facilitates tracking of product from
seed or seedling to sale or release of physical control. Storage iden-
tification and bin location, and identifiable number if applicable,
must be included.

(B) Certified organic livestock producers shall keep records;
including, but not limited to:

1. Receipts for stock and materials;
2. Birth or purchase of livestock through sale or slaughter;
3. All disease and pest management materials administered

including dates administered, material identification, dosages, and
sources;

4. All purchased feeds including dates purchased, feed identifi-
cation, quantities purchased, sources, and a copy of the organic cer-
tification;

5. Weight of slaughter animals at slaughter and weight of post-
slaughter animal products;

6. Sales records of all organic animal products sold including
dates, quantities, and weights.  Sales records shall include the pur-
chaser’s name and address where possible and transaction certificate
number when used;

7. If livestock graze any fields or consume any production
crops, certification records of those fields or crops.

(C) Certified organic handlers shall maintain records that track
ingredients and certified organic products from receiving through
distribution, shipping, or sale; including, but not limited to:

1. An organic handler system plan;
2. Maps of production facility structures and handling areas;
3. Production flow charts, with organic control points high-

lighted;
4. Assigned production lot numbers;
5. Formulation for each product;
6. Product audit tracking records, which may include; but are

not limited to:
A. Invoices;

B. Bills of lading, and producer certificates for incoming
products;

C. Date and quantity of product processed or handled;
D. Repack data and production run reports;
E. Invoices and bills of lading of products shipped out.

(2) Handlers shall have available copies of organic certificates for all
organic ingredients and products.  Organic certificates shall be cur-
rent, correspond to the organic ingredients used in processing, and
be from accredited certifying agents.

AUTHORITY:  section 261.110, RSMo Supp. 2002. Original rule filed
Jan. 3, 2003.

PUBLIC COST:  This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will cost private entities two
hundred thirty-six thousand one hundred dollars ($236,100) in the
aggregate to maintain certification records. 

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:  Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri
Department of Agriculture, Organic Program; PO Box 630, Jefferson
City, MO  65102.  To be considered, comments must be received with-
in thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled.
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Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE 
Division 70—Plant Industries

Chapter 16—Missouri Department of Agriculture
Organic Program

PROPOSED RULE

2 CSR 70-16.035 Inspections and Sampling for Certification

PURPOSE: This rule outlines procedures that the Missouri
Department of Agriculture (MDA) Organic Program will utilize for
inspections and sampling of certification applicants and certified
organic entities. 

(1) An initial on-site inspection shall be conducted for each produc-
tion unit, facility, and site that produces or handles organic products,
as required by National Organic Program (NOP) 7 CFR 205.403.
The inspector shall conduct an exit interview with the organic enti-
ty’s authorized representative at the end of the inspection to verify
the accuracy of the inspection.  A copy of the exit interview summa-
ry shall be given to the applicant at the time of inspection, and a copy
of the inspection report shall be provided to the applicant within a
reasonable time following the inspection.

(2) The program shall conduct additional inspections to determine
compliance to the NOP and department rules of an applicant or
organic entity certified by the program when requested by the United
States Department of Agriculture (USDA)-NOP administrator or by
the department.

(A) Additional inspections may be conducted without notification
at the discretion of the program.

(3) The department, or any inspection designee of the program, may
collect samples of soil, products, or agricultural inputs from ran-
domly or systematically selected organic entities certified by the pro-
gram as part of the routine annual organic inspection.  The depart-
ment shall collect samples of soil, products, or agricultural inputs
when there is reason to believe that land, an input, or product came
into contact with a prohibited substance or that excluded methods
were used.  

(4) Applicants shall be provided with a receipt for any samples col-
lected by the department, or by the designated inspector. The col-
lected samples shall be analyzed by any qualified laboratory at the
expense of the department.  

(5) Results of the individual inspections, sampling, and test analyses
shall be provided to the NOP administrator and the certified organic
entity or applicant.  

AUTHORITY:  section 261.110, RSMo Supp. 2002. Original rule filed
Jan. 3, 2003.

PUBLIC COST:  This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:  Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri
Department of Agriculture, Organic Program; PO Box 630, Jefferson
City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received with-
in thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE 
Division 70—Plant Industries

Chapter 16—Missouri Department of Agriculture
Organic Program

PROPOSED RULE

2 CSR 70-16.040 Complaints and Investigations 

PURPOSE: This rule outlines the criteria that the program will use
to determine when to investigate complaints.

(1) Any person with knowledge of a violation of the National Organic
Program (NOP) 7 CFR, Part 205, may file a complaint with the
department.

(2) The department shall investigate complaints involving organic
entities certified by the program.  Complaints involving organic enti-
ties not certified by the program will be referred to the NOP admin-
istrator.

(3) The department, in cooperation with all pertinent state and fed-
eral agencies, may investigate certified or non-certified organic enti-
ties, whether certified by the program or not, upon determining that
a need exists to protect public health and safety or preserve evidence
that would justify an immediate investigation.

(A) This rule in no way negates the responsibilities of the certified
and non-certified organic entities to meet the statutory mandates of
Chapter 196, RSMo.

AUTHORITY:  section 261.110, RSMo Supp. 2002. Original rule filed
Jan. 3, 2003.

PUBLIC COST:  This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:  Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri
Department of Agriculture, Organic Program; PO Box 630, Jefferson
City, MO  65102.  To be considered, comments must be received with-
in thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE 
Division 70—Plant Industries

Chapter 16—Missouri Department of Agriculture
Organic Program

PROPOSED RULE

2 CSR 70-16.045 Compliance Enforcement 

PURPOSE: This rule outlines the criteria that the program shall use
to determine when to implement compliance enforcement actions,
and the procedures to be followed for the compliance actions. 

(1) When it has been determined that an organic entity certified by
the program is knowingly selling, representing, or labeling as organ-
ic any products that have been exposed to or contain prohibited sub-
stances, or that have been produced using prohibited substances or
excluded methods, the program shall send the certified organic enti-
ty a written notification of suspension of rights to sell such product
as organic.  
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(A) Such product is prohibited from further sale or movement, in
accordance with National Organic Program (NOP) 7 CFR
205.6462(d).  The department shall remove the suspension of rights
to sell when the organic entity becomes compliant to requirements of
the NOP 7 CFR, Part 205.

(2) The department may initiate a compliance action against an appli-
cant for certification or an organic entity certified by the program
that is not in compliance with NOP 7 CFR, Part 205. 

(A) The department and applicants for certification shall follow
procedures established in 7 CFR 205.405 in addressing noncompli-
ance issues.

(B) The department and certified organic entities shall follow pro-
cedure established in 7 CFR 205.662 in addressing noncompliance
issues.

(C) The department’s procedure for denying certification shall
adhere to that established in 7 CFR 205.405.

(D) Any notice of denial of certification or proposed suspension or
revocation of certification shall state the organic entity’s right to an
informal hearing as provided by 7 CFR 205.663, Mediation. 

AUTHORITY:  section 261.110, RSMo Supp. 2002. Original rule filed
Jan. 3, 2003.

PUBLIC COST:  This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:  Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri
Department of Agriculture, Organic Program; PO Box 630, Jefferson
City, MO  65102.  To be considered, comments must be received with-
in thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE 
Division 70—Plant Industries

Chapter 16—Missouri Department of Agriculture
Organic Program

PROPOSED RULE

2 CSR 70-16.050 Certificates Issued as Result of Certification
with the MDA Organic Program

PURPOSE: This rule outlines procedures for issuing certificates to
organic entities that are certified by the program.

(1) The program shall issue a “Certificate of Organic Operation” to
all organic entities that are certified by the program, with such infor-
mation as required by 7 CFR 205.404.  

(A) Such certificate shall continue in effect until surrendered by
the certified organic entity, or is revoked by the program or by the
administrator for cause, as required by 7 CFR 205.405. 

(2) Transaction Certificates issued by the program may be used in
sales transactions of certified organic products to identify that the
products were produced or handled in accordance with National
Organic Program (NOP) and program rules. 

(A) The program shall issue the Transition Certificates upon writ-
ten application from the organic entity, on forms approved by the
program, which shall contain all information requested on the appli-
cation.

(B) Transaction Certificates may be issued with the producer’s
identification number and an expiration date beyond which use is not

valid.  User shall enter shipment information that includes the ship-
ment date, product name, and volume of product, and may include
the lot number if applicable. 

(C) Transaction Certificates provided by the program shall only be
used by organic entities certified by the program and only for prod-
ucts covered by program certification.  

AUTHORITY:  section 261.110, RSMo Supp. 2002. Original rule filed
Jan. 3, 2003.

PUBLIC COST:  This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:  Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri
Department of Agriculture, Organic Program; PO Box 630, Jefferson
City, MO  65102.  To be considered, comments must be received with-
in thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE 
Division 70—Plant Industries

Chapter 16—Missouri Department of Agriculture
Organic Program

PROPOSED RULE

2 CSR 70-16.055 MDA Organic Program Seal

PURPOSE: This rule establishes a Missouri Department of
Agriculture (MDA) Organic Program Seal, and the criteria for use of
the seal.

(1) The program shall establish a “Missouri Department of
Agriculture (MDA) Organic Program Seal,” identifying the program
as the certifying agent. The seal shall be available for use by organ-
ic entities that are certified by the program, provided that such seal
is used in compliance with National Organic Program (NOP) 7 CFR
205.303.

(2) The seal must replicate the form and design as adopted by the
program.

(3) The seal may be duplicated in the original program seal colors or
may be converted to black and white type-cast.

AUTHORITY: section 261.110, RSMo Supp. 2002. Original rule filed
Jan. 3, 2003.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri
Department of Agriculture, Organic Program; PO Box 630, Jefferson
City, MO  65102.  To be considered, comments must be received with-
in thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled.
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Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE 
Division 70—Plant Industries

Chapter 16—Missouri Department of Agriculture
Organic Program

PROPOSED RULE

2 CSR 70-16.060 Registration with the MDA Organic Program

PURPOSE: This rule outlines procedures for organic entities to be
registered with the program, with associated fees.

(1) Producers and handlers that are converting to certified organic
production or handling methods, but do not yet quality for certifica-
tion, may apply to be registered with the program as, “Transitional-
to-Organic.” 

(A) The application for registration as “Transitional-to-Organic,”
shall be submitted to the program on an approved form, in the man-
ner prescribed by the director, and shall be accompanied by a fifty
dollar ($50) application fee. The application fee is not prorated, nor
is it refunded for any reason.

(B) The registrant shall submit a completed Organic System Plan
to the program and shall use organic methods that adhere to National
Organic Program (NOP) 7 CFR, Part 205.  

(C) The program shall conduct an initial review of the applicant’s
plan, and an inspection may be scheduled to reveal any possible defi-
ciencies or noncompliance to NOP standards.  

1. The applicant shall be notified in writing of the deficiencies
or noncompliance found as a result of the review or inspection.

(D) After successful review of the Organic System Plan or initial
inspection, the applicant shall be issued a “Transitional-to-Organic”
certificate. The certificate shall continue in effect for one (1) year
from date of issuance unless cancelled by the registrant, or the reg-
istrant is no longer deemed qualified by the director.  

(E) An application, with an updated system plan and application
fee, shall be made to the program annually from first date of
issuance.  The program shall review the application and may conduct
annual reinspections to ensure continued compliance with NOP 7
CFR, Part 205. The “Transitional-to-Organic” certificate shall only
be issued to an applicant for three (3) consecutive years for the same
organic production or handling site.  

(F) The “Transitional-to-Organic” certificate does not imply in
any manner that the operation is certified “organic,” and products
being produced from this registration program shall not in any way
be sold, labeled, or represented as certified “100% Organic,”
“Organic,” or “Made with Organic.”  

(G) The “Transitional-to-Organic” certificate shall only be used
for marketing purposes within the state of Missouri and shall only be
used for raw and processed organically produced agricultural prod-
ucts when authorized by the department under this rule.

(2) The program shall provide a registration service designed to pro-
mote education of organic production methods and to provide organ-
ic marketing tools for Missouri’s organic farmers and handlers. 

(A) All certified organic entities that are certified by the program
shall be registered with the program. 

(B) Certified entities within the state that are not certified by the
program, but desire to be registered by the program, shall pay the
registration fee of twenty-five dollars ($25), but shall not be required
to adhere to other requirements of this rule.

(C) Producers and handlers using organic production and handling
methods that adhere to requirements of NOP 7 CFR, Part 205,
Subpart C–Organic Production and Handling Requirements, and are
direct marketing to their consumers, may apply to be registered with
the program. 

(D) The registration shall apply to the knowledge and/or use of
organic procedures and methods, as opposed to a product being reg-
istered as “organic.” 

(E) The application for registration shall be submitted to the pro-
gram on an approved application form, as supplied by the director.
A registration fee of twenty-five dollars ($25) shall accompany each
application for registration. Registration fee is not prorated through-
out the year, nor is it refunded.  

1. Producers shall provide a site map, detailing size and shape
of the site.

2. Handlers shall provide a process flow chart.
3. Landscape architects shall provide a plan outlining landscap-

ing procedures that result in soil improvements and maintenance of
natural resources.

(F) Registration shall be in effect from January 1 of the year reg-
istered and shall continue to be in effect through December  31 of
the year it was issued unless cancelled by the registrant or by the
director pursuant to sections (5) and (6) of this rule.  

(G) No initial registration application shall be approved until the
applicant has demonstrated knowledge of organic methods and pro-
cedures. Knowledge may be demonstrated by participating in edu-
cational training sessions sponsored by the program, or other pro-
gram-approved methods; and by passing an examination provided by
the director.  Renewal applicants shall not be required to participate
in further educational sessions to continue registration with the pro-
gram.

(H) Registrants agree to assist with educational sessions promot-
ing organic production, handling, and marketing methods. The reg-
istrant may alternatively choose to serve on program-designated peer
groups to educate registrants about organic procedures and methods
when the department receives inquiries.

(I) The department shall issue a registration certificate to qualified
applicants. A database listing of all registrants shall be maintained by
the department and shall be made available to the public as a mar-
keting tool for the registrants.

(J) If the director refuses registration for any reason, the applicant
shall be notified by writing of the reasons thereof.  An informal hear-
ing will be granted upon notification of denial when requested by the
applicant.

AUTHORITY:  section 261.110, RSMo Supp. 2002. Original rule filed
Jan. 3, 2003.

PUBLIC COST:  This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will cost private entities fifteen
thousand dollars ($15,000) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:  Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri
Department of Agriculture, Organic Program; PO Box 630, Jefferson
City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received with-
in thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.
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Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE 
Division 70—Plant Industries

Chapter 16—Missouri Department of Agriculture
Organic Program

PROPOSED RULE

2 CSR 70-16.065 Inspection and Sampling for Registration 

PURPOSE: This rule outlines inspection and sampling procedures of
applicants and registrants with the program.

(1) The program, or designated inspector, may conduct on-site
inspections of each registered producer or handler. 

(2) All on-site inspections shall be conducted at such time that the
applicant, or an authorized representative of the applicant, can be
present; and when land, facilities, or activities demonstrate the appli-
cant’s compliance with, or capability to comply with, registration
requirements.  This does not apply to inspections for the purposes of
complaint investigations.

(3) A written Notice of Inspection shall be completed at the time of
inspection, detailing any results of the inspection, or any observa-
tions made by the inspector, that would result in approval or denial
of the application.  A copy of the Notice of Inspection shall be given
to the applicant, or authorized representative of the applicant, at the
time of inspection.

(4) The program, or designated inspector, may conduct reinspections
as deemed necessary to investigate complaints.  The program may
deny, suspend, or revoke the registration of an organic entity when
such organic entity is found to not be in compliance with this rule.

(5) Any denial of entry for inspection purposes will be considered
grounds for denial of registration.

AUTHORITY:  section 261.110, RSMo Supp. 2002. Original rule filed
Jan. 3, 2003.

PUBLIC COST:  This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:  Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri
Department of Agriculture, Organic Program; PO Box 630, Jefferson
City, MO  65102.  To be considered, comments must be received with-
in thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE 
Division 70—Plant Industries

Chapter 16—Missouri Department of Agriculture
Organic Program

PROPOSED RULE

2 CSR 70-16.070 Marketing When Registered with the MDA
Organic Program

PURPOSE: This rule describes the use of the “Registered by the
MDA Organic Program” logo.

(1) The program shall issue a numbered logo stating, “Registered by
the MDA Organic Program.” The logo shall be annually dated to
ensure that the registrant has currently completed registration
requirements and shall be made available to the registrant on an
annual basis.

(2) The registrant may display the logo, or copies of the logo, on
marketing information used at the location where conducting busi-
ness; but the logo shall not be attached directly to a product label.

(3) The “Registered by the MDA Organic Program” logo shall only
be used for marketing purposes within the state of Missouri and shall
only be used for raw and processed organically produced agricultur-
al products when authorized by the program.

AUTHORITY:  section 261.110, RSMo Supp. 2002. Original rule filed
Jan. 3, 2003.

PUBLIC COST:  This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:  Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri
Department of Agriculture, Organic Program; PO Box 630, Jefferson
City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received with-
in thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE 
Division 70—Plant Industries

Chapter 16—Missouri Department of Agriculture
Organic Program

PROPOSED RULE

2 CSR 70-16.075 Organic Certifying Agent Registration

PURPOSE: This rule outlines the procedures for certifying agents
that certify organic entities in the state of Missouri to register with
the program.

(1) Any certifying agent that certifies organic entities within the state
shall be required to submit an application for registration with the
program. A listing of registered certifying agents shall be maintained
by the program and shall be made available to the public upon
request.

(2) Registration shall be in effect from January 1 of the year regis-
tered and shall continue to be in effect through December 31 of the
year it was issued, unless cancelled by the registrant or by the direc-
tor pursuant to sections (6) and (7) of this rule.

(3) An annual registration fee of twenty-five dollars ($25) shall
accompany each application. Registration fee is not prorated
throughout the year nor refunded if denied for any reason.  

(4) Registration renewal applications shall be submitted within fifteen
(15) working days from last valid date of registration.  Any applicant
who fails to comply with registration renewal requirements shall pay
a fifty dollar ($50) late fee in addition to the annual registration fee
to become eligible for registration renewal. 

(5) The application for registration shall be submitted to the program
on an approved application form in the manner prescribed by the
director.  The application shall include information about:
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(A) Business name and address of certifying agent;
(B) Name and address of certifying agent’s authorized representa-

tive;
(C) Listing of organic entities’ names and addresses located with-

in the state of Missouri certified by the certifying agent;
(D) The category of organic entity, whether of production or han-

dling.
1. If production, total organic acreage or square footage of land

located in the state, and gross sales generated by organic entity.
2. If handling, total gross sales generated by facilities located in

the state.
3. Years organic entity has been certified by certifying agent.

(6) Any certifying agent found to be certifying organic entities locat-
ed within the state may be assessed a fee up to five hundred dollars
($500) per violation for failure to register with the program.  An
order assessing the fee shall state the manner of collection, with a
notice to a right to an informal hearing. 

(7) If the state refuses registration to a certifying agent for any rea-
son, the applicant shall be notified by writing of the reasons thereof.
An informal hearing shall be granted upon notification of denial
when requested by the applicant.

(A) The applicant has the right to appear before the director with-
in thirty (30) days from time of postmark on the written “Denial of
Registration” or “Suspension or Revocation of Registration” letter to
introduce evidence; either in person or by an agent or attorney at an
informal hearing. 

(B) If, after such hearing, or if the defendant or the defendant’s
agent or attorney fails or refuses to appear, the director determines
that the evidence warrants refusal of registration, the director shall
proceed as herein provided.

(C) If any applicant is adversely affected by an act, order, or rul-
ing made pursuant to the provisions of this rule, an appeal may be
filed according to procedures established by sections 536.050
through 536.160, RSMo Supp. 2002.

AUTHORITY: section 261.110, RSMo Supp. 2002. Original rule filed
Jan. 3, 2003.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri
Department of Agriculture, Organic Program; PO Box 630, Jefferson
City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received with-
in thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT

Division 140—Division of Finance
Chapter 2—Banks and Trust Companies

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 140-2.055 Purchase of [Key-Man] Bank Owned Life
Insurance. The Missouri Division of Finance proposes to amend the
purpose and sections (2)–(4) and adding new sections (3) and (4) of
this regulation by addressing various bank owned life insurance prod-
ucts.

PURPOSE: This amendment is necessary to respond to evolving
practices in the banking industry related to banks and life insurance. 

PURPOSE: The Division of Finance routinely receives inquiries
about the purchase of [single premium] life insurance [as an
investment].  Some bankers indicate they have considered purchas-
ing [large single premium] life insurance policies and treating the
cash surrender value as a significant portion of the bank’s capital
account.  A bank may, within the bank’s incidental powers, pur-
chase life insurance reasonably related to a legitimate bank inter-
est.  A bank may not purchase life insurance for investment pur-
poses.  This rule sets guidelines for the purchase of [Key-Man] bank
owned life insurance. 

(2)  A bank may purchase life insurance to indemnify itself against
the loss of key management personnel.  The amount of insurance
purchased must be reasonable in relation to the size and needs of the
bank. Also, the board of directors must document the basis upon
which it determines who qualifies to be covered by the insurance.
The board must document the basis for determining the amount of
insurance needed to indemnify the bank against the death of each
individual. The bank must document and be able to demonstrate
an insurable interest and a legitimate insurance need when insur-
ing a key person. The authority to hold such a policy lapses if,
because of a change in employment status or responsibilities, the
individual is no longer considered a key person.

(3)  A bank may purchase life insurance in conjunction with pro-
viding employee compensation and benefits or when the insur-
ance is paid in part to the bank and to the employee, which is
commonly referred to as split dollar insurance.  A bank may also
purchase life insurance in connection with an employee compen-
sation and benefit plan.  The bank’s funding obligation must be
reasonable and the projected cash flow from a life insurance pol-
icy must not substantially exceed the projected liabilities to fund
the compensation or benefit program.  Such life insurance poli-
cies may be held only so long as the bank’s liability under the
associated compensation or benefit plan continues.

(4)  A bank may purchase, at the bank’s expense, insurance on
the life of a borrower to protect its interest in the event of the
death of the borrower.  The maximum amount of insurance
should not exceed the principal balance of the borrower’s obliga-
tion.  Similarly, a bank may take security interest in an existing
policy.  In no event may the bank’s decision to make a loan be
based on the availability of the insurance proceeds for repayment
of the loan.

[(3)] (5) Accounting for [these] bank owned life insurance poli-
cies must be consistent with the requirements of generally accepted
accounting principles.  However, in no event may a bank carry the
value of that policy as an asset on its books in an amount which
exceeds the current cash surrender value of the policy.

[(4)] (6) The cash surrender value of the policy represents funds due
from a corporation and therefore may not exceed the limit on loans
to one (1) borrower set by section 362.170, RSMo. The legal loan
limit also will apply to the aggregate book value of all policies,
including subsequent earnings, which are purchased from the same
company. The bank should examine the financial condition of the
insurance company before purchasing the policy and maintain
access to and periodically review recent financial statements of
the insurance company. Finally, if the aggregate cash surrender
value of all these policies owned by the bank is large in relation to
the bank’s total capital account, these amounts will be considered a
concentration of credit.

AUTHORITY: sections 361.105, RSMo [1986] 2000 and 362.105,
RSMo Supp. [1992] 2001. Original rule filed Aug. 22, 1991, effec-
tive Feb. 6, 1992. Amended: Filed Jan. 16, 2003.
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PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition
to this proposed amendment with the Department of Economic
Development, Division of Finance, Steven M. Geary, Senior Counsel,
PO Box 716, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0716. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of
this notice in the Missouri Register. A public hearing is scheduled
for 10:00 a.m., March 20, 2003, at the Harry S Truman State Office
Building, Room 850, 301 West High Street, Jefferson City, Missouri.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT

Division 140—Division of Finance
Chapter 2—Banks and Trust Companies

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 140-2.140 Preservation of Books and Records. The
Missouri Division of Finance proposes to amend section (1) of this
regulation by adding additional forms of record preservation.

PURPOSE: This amendment is necessary to reflect current statutes. 

(1)  The following Appendix A, included herein, lists the minimum
times for preservation of books and records by state-chartered banks
and trust companies.  Where other law requires a longer retention,
the greater period should be observed. Preservation on microfilm,
[or] microfiche or by means of electronic storage is acceptable.

AUTHORITY: sections 361.105 [RSMo 1986] and 362.410, RSMo
[Supp. 1988] 2000.  Original rule filed Aug. 3, 1988, effective
Nov. 11, 1988. Amended: Filed Jan. 16, 2003.

PUBLIC COST:  This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST:  This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition
to this proposed amendment with the Department of Economic
Development, Division of Finance, Steven M. Geary, Senior Counsel,
PO Box 716, Jefferson City, MO  65102-0716.  To be considered,
comments must be received within thirty (30) days after publication
of this notice in the Missouri Register.  A public hearing is sched-
uled for 10:00 a.m., March 20, 2003, at the Harry S Truman State
Office Building, Room 850, 301 West High Street, Jefferson City,
Missouri.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT

Division 140—Division of Finance
Chapter 11—Small, Small Loan Companies

PROPOSED RESCISSION

4 CSR 140-11.010 Small, Small Loan Companies—Licensing and
General Provisions. The Missouri Division of Finance proposes to

rescind this regulation. This regulation established guidelines con-
cerning obtaining licenses, which locations required  a license, and
other general provisions.

PURPOSE: The Division of Finance rescinds this regulation as
unneccessary and obsolete.

AUTHORITY: section 408.500, RSMo Supp. 1990. Emergency rule
filed Dec. 11, 1990, effective Jan. 1, 1991, expired April 30, 1991.
Emergency rule filed April 8, 1991, effective April 30, 1991, expired
Aug. 27, 1991. Original rule filed Dec. 11, 1990, effective July 8,
1991. Rescinded: Filed Jan. 16, 2003.

PUBLIC COST:  This proposed rescission will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST:  This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition
to this proposed rescission with the Department of Economic
Development, Division of Finance, Steven M. Geary, Senior Counsel,
PO Box 716, Jefferson City, MO  65102-0716.  To be considered,
comments must be received within thirty (30) days after publication
of this notice in the Missouri Register.  A public hearing is sched-
uled for 10:00 a.m., March 20, 2003, at the Harry S Truman State
Office Building, Room 850, 301 West High Street, Jefferson City,
Missouri.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT

Division 140—Division of Finance
Chapter 11—Small, Small Loan Companies

PROPOSED RESCISSION

4 CSR 140-11.020 Small, Small Loan Companies—
Recordkeeping. The Missouri Division of Finance proposes to
rescind this regulation.  This regulation established minimum record-
keeping requirements to facilitate examination and regulation.

PURPOSE: The Division of Finance rescinds this regulation as
unneccessary and obsolete.

AUTHORITY:  section 408.500, RSMo Supp. 1990. Emergency rule
filed Dec. 11, 1990, effective Jan. 1, 1991, expired April 30, 1991.
Emergency rule filed April 8, 1991, effective April 30, 1991, expired
Aug. 27, 1991. Original rule filed Dec. 11, 1990, effective July 8,
1991. Rescinded: Filed Jan. 16, 2003.

PUBLIC COST:  This proposed rescission will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST:  This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition
to this proposed rescission with the Department of Economic
Development, Division of Finance, Steven M. Geary, Senior Counsel,
PO Box 716, Jefferson City, MO  65102-0716.  To be considered,
comments must be received within thirty (30) days after publication
of this notice in the Missouri Register.  A public hearing is sched-
uled for 10:00 a.m., March 20, 2003, at the Harry S Truman State
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Office Building, Room 850, 301 West High Street, Jefferson City,
Missouri.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT

Division 140—Division of Finance
Chapter 11—[Small, Small Loan Companies] Section

500 Companies

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 140-11.030 Licensing and General Provisions

PURPOSE: Section 500 companies are required by section 408.500.1
to 408.506, RSMo, to obtain a license from the director of finance.
This rule establishes guidelines concerning licenses, which locations
will require a license and other general provisions.

(1) License. The license issued by the Division of Finance shall spec-
ify the location of the section 500 company and shall be prominent-
ly displayed therein.  The license shall not be transferable or assign-
able except that the company named in any original license may
obtain a change of address without charge, upon approval of the
director.

(2) Display of Notice.  The notice required by section 408.500.4,
RSMo shall be prominently displayed in the section 500 company
office.  The notice shall be clearly readable from any place in the
office where loans are closed and shall include the name, address,
and telephone number of the Division of Finance.

(3) Locations.  The conduct of other business on the premises will
not bar the issuance of a section 500 company license but the records
of the company must be kept strictly separate from those of any other
enterprise.  Further, there should be enough of a distinction, through
the use of signage or other means, that the customer can determine
that s/he is dealing with a separate company.  Under no circum-
stances will more than one (1) section 500 company license be issued
to the same address.

(4) Additional Locations.  Any location at which a section 500 com-
pany permits the acceptance or execution of any forms or documents
relating to section 500 company business shall be deemed to be a
place of business of the company and shall require a separate license.

(5) Contract Copies.  A section 500 company shall provide the bor-
rower with a copy of the signed contract at the time the loan is made
and at each renewal.  The company shall also retain a copy for the
borrower’s file.  Each contract shall contain the name and address of
the lender and of the borrower.

(6) Interest—Loan Origination Fee—When Earned. Section
408.500.5, RSMo provides that a loan repaid by the close of the sec-
tion 500 company’s next full business day shall be at no cost to the
borrower.  Section 500 loans which are not so repaid shall bear daily
interest to be determined by applying the contract rate of interest to
the principal balance and dividing that result by the number of days
in the year.  The loan origination fee, if permitted by section
408.140.1(1), RSMo is earned at the time the loan is made, unless
the borrower returns the full principal balance by the end of the sec-
tion 500 company’s next full business day.  The fee is only available
on loans with terms of thirty (30) days or longer.

(7) Post-Dated Check.  A post-dated check shall not be considered
security or collateral; provided, however, that no post-dated check
may bear any date earlier than the due date of the loan.  A section
500 company shall not accept undated checks, checks that have been

altered in any manner, or checks that do not bear the signature of the
borrower.  Should any such check be accepted, or should any post-
dated check be deposited prior to its stated date, the section 500
company shall be barred from recovery of any interest or fees on the
loan.  A section 500 company shall not accept more than one (1)
post-dated check per loan or renewal.  A check left with a section
500 company shall be returned to the maker immediately upon pay-
ment, or renewal, of the loan.

(8) Renewals.  The General Assembly has clearly indicated its inten-
tion that no borrower is to be indebted to a section 500 company for
any great period of time.  This is evidenced by language that a)
requires the borrower to begin reducing the principal amount of the
loan by not less than five percent (5%) with the first renewal, b) lim-
its the number of renewals to six (6), and c) provides for seventy-five
percent (75%) of the original loan amount as the maximum amount
of interest and fees that a lender may collect.  In determining
whether a renewal or something else which does not count as a
renewal has occurred, the Division of Finance will insist upon
absolute good faith from its licensees and will look to substance
rather than form.  Generally, if the customer enters the office indebt-
ed and leaves the office indebted, a renewal will be assumed to have
taken place unless the loan was paid in full in cash.  A section 500
company is required by section 408.500.7, RSMo to consider, at the
inception of the loan, the borrower’s ability to repay.  This requires
the section 500 company to consider the borrower’s ability to make
the required principal reductions when necessary.  Exceptions to this
requirement may result in enforcement as provided in sections
408.500.9 and 408.500.10, RSMo, which may include fines and/or
revocation or suspension of the license.  If a loan is renewed without
the required principal reduction, the section 500 company shall
reduce the principal of the loan to an amount that is consistent with
the requirements of section 408.500.6, RSMo.

(9) Collection by Automated Clearing House (ACH).  Checks may
be presented for collection using an automated clearing house; how-
ever, a section 500 company shall not use a series of ACH transac-
tions to collect a single check.  Fees for dishonored ACH transac-
tions shall be limited to those for refused instruments.

(10) Receipt for Payments.  A receipt shall be given for the amount
of each payment made in currency.

(11) Penalties.  Violations of this rule shall be regarded as violations
of sections 408.500.1 to 408.506, RSMo and subject to the same
penalties as provided in sections 408.500.9 and 408.500.10, RSMo.

AUTHORITY: sections 361.105, RSMo 2000 and 408.500, RSMo
Supp. 2002. Original rule filed Jan. 16, 2003.

PUBLIC COST:  This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST:  This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition
to this proposed rule with the Department of Economic Development,
Division of Finance, Steven M. Geary, Senior Counsel, PO Box 716,
Jefferson City, MO  65102-0716.  To be considered, comments must
be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in
the Missouri Register.  A public hearing is scheduled for 10:00 a.m.,
March 20, 2003, at the Harry S Truman State Office Building, Room
850, 301 West High Street, Jefferson City, Missouri.
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Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT

Division 140—Division of Finance
Chapter 11—Section 500 Companies

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 140-11.040 Record Keeping

PURPOSE: Section 500 companies are subject to regulation and
examination by the Division of Finance, pursuant to sections
408.500.1 to 408.506, RSMo, for the purpose of assuring compli-
ance with all applicable laws.  This rule establishes minimum record
keeping requirements to facilitate examination and regulation.

(1) Books and Records.  No special system of records is required by
the director of finance.  The records of a section 500 company will
be considered sufficient if they include a cash journal, double-entry
general ledger or a comparable record, and an individual account
ledger.  The records of the business of each registered office shall be
maintained so that the assets, liabilities, income, and expenses may
be readily ascertained.

(2) Cash Journal.  A cash book or cash journal shall contain a
chronological record of the receipt and disbursement of all funds
including all items of receipt or expenditures incidental to the grant-
ing or collection of section 500 company loans.  Entries in the cash
journal shall be separate from all other business activities.

(3) General Ledger.  The general ledger shall be posted at least
monthly.  A trial balance sheet and profit-and-loss statement shall be
available to the examiner.  When the general ledger is kept at a cen-
tral office other than the location of the registered office, the central
office shall provide information required by this section.

(4) Account Ledger.  An individual record shall be kept for each bor-
rower which shall include at least the following items:

(A) Name of the borrower;
(B) Date the original loan was made;
(C) Original loan amount;
(D) Interest rate;
(E) Dates payments were received;
(F) Amount of each payment received;
(G) Amount of each payment applied to interest;
(H) Amount of each payment applied to principal; 
(I) Amount applied to late charges, if any;
(J) Amount applied to returned check charges, if any;
(K) Principal balance; and
(L) Renewal number.

(5) Records Available.  All books, records and papers, including the
contracts and applications, shall be kept in the office of the section
500 company and made available to the Division of Finance for
examination at any time without previous notice.  When contracts are
hypothecated or deposited with a financial institution or other party
in connection with credit, access must be provided for the examiner
pursuant to agreement between the section 500 company and the
other financial institution(s).

(6) Handling of Errors.  When an error is made on the individual
ledger or general ledger of a manual operation, a single thin line,
preferably in red, shall be drawn through the improper entry and the
correct entry made on the following line.  No erasures whatsoever
shall be made in any record.

(7) Records to be Maintained.  A section 500 company shall preserve
all records of  company transactions, including cards used in a card
system, if any, for at least two (2) years after making the final entry

with respect to any section 500 company agreement.  Preservation of
records may be by microfilm, microfiche or electronic means.

(8) Contracts Paid in Full.  When a section 500 note is paid in full,
the original contract or a copy thereof shall be marked “paid” and
returned to the borrower.

(9) Penalties.  Violations of this rule shall be regarded as violations
of sections 408.500.1 to 408.506, RSMo and subject to the same
penalties as provided in sections 408.500.9 and 408.500.10, RSMo.

AUTHORITY:  sections 361.105, RSMo 2000 and 408.500, RSMo
Supp. 2002.  Original rule filed Jan. 16, 2003.

PUBLIC COST:  This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST:  This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition
to this proposed rule with the Department of Economic Development,
Division of Finance, Steven M. Geary, Senior Counsel, PO Box 716,
Jefferson City, MO  65102-0716.  To be considered, comments must
be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in
the Missouri Register.  A public hearing is scheduled for 10:00 a.m.,
March 20, 2003, at the Harry S Truman State Office Building, Room
850, 301 West High Street, Jefferson City, Missouri.

Title 5—DEPARTMENT OF ELEMENTARY AND
SECONDARY EDUCATION

Division 30—Division of Administrative and Financial
Services

Chapter 4—General Administration

PROPOSED RESCISSION

5 CSR 30-4.010 General Provisions for Federal Programs.  This
rule established state finance regulations for federal programs to
agree with federal regulations.

PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded as the administrative and fis-
cal requirements are contained in the Education Division General
Administrative Regulations (EDGAR).

AUTHORITY: section 178.430, RSMo 1986.  Original rule filed Dec.
24, 1975, effective Jan. 3, 1976. Amended: Filed May 13, 1976,
effective Sept. 1, 1976. Amended: Filed May 12, 1978, effective Aug.
14, 1978. Amended: Filed Aug. 13, 1980, effective Nov. 14, 1980.
Amended: Filed July 23, 1982, effective Nov. 15, 1982.  Rescinded:
Filed Jan. 14, 2003.

PUBLIC COST:  This proposed rescission will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST:  This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:  Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Department of Elementary and Secondary Education, Division of
Administrative and Financial Services, Attn:  Gerri Ogle, Associate
Commissioner, PO Box 480, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0480.  To be
considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after
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publication of this notice in the Missouri Register.  No public hear-
ing is scheduled.

Title 5—DEPARTMENT OF ELEMENTARY AND
SECONDARY EDUCATION

Division 50—Division of School Improvement
Chapter 355—No Child Left Behind

PROPOSED RULE

5 CSR 50-355.100 Persistently Dangerous Schools

PURPOSE:  This rule will be used in Missouri to establish state com-
pliance with the federal requirement set forth in the No Child Left
Behind Act of 2001, and to determine if any Missouri public elemen-
tary and secondary schools are “persistently dangerous.” 

(1) The following definition(s) apply to this rule:
(A) Expulsions are defined as removal from school by local board

action for an indefinite period of time until student is reinstated by
local board of education.

(2) A Missouri public elementary or secondary school is persistent-
ly dangerous if the following conditions exists:

(A) In each of three (3) consecutive years:
1. The school has a federal and/or state gun-free schools viola-

tion; or
2. A violent criminal offense as set forth below is committed on

school property which includes but is not limited to school buses or
school activities; and

(B)  In any two (2) years within the three (3)-year period listed
above, the school experienced expulsions by local board action, for
drug, alcohol, weapons or violence that exceed one (1) of the fol-
lowing rates:

1. More than five (5) expulsions per year for a school of less
than two hundred fifty (250) students;

2. More than ten (10) expulsions per year for a school of more
than two hundred fifty (250) students but less than one thousand
(1,000) students; or

3.  More than fifteen (15) expulsions per year for a school of
more than one thousand (1,000) students.  

(3) A student shall be allowed to attend a safe public school within
the district, if that student is enrolled in a persistently dangerous
school as defined above or becomes a victim of a violent criminal
offense while on school property which includes but is not limited to
school buses or school activities.

(4) For the purpose of this rule, a “violent criminal offense” shall be
any offense that would require school administrators to, as soon as
reasonably practical, notify the appropriate law enforcement agency
pursuant to section 160.261, RSMo and those offenses that would
bar a student from readmission to school pursuant to section
167.171, RSMo.  Violent criminal offenses shall be reported by the
school district to the Department of Elementary and Secondary
Education (DESE) through Core Data.  Violent criminal offenses are
as follows:

(A) Murder 1st Degree under section 565.020, RSMo;
(B) Murder 2nd Degree under section 565.021, RSMo;
(C) Kidnapping under section 565.110, RSMo;
(D) Assault 1st Degree under section 565.050, RSMo;
(E) Forcible Rape under section 566.030, RSMo;
(F) Forcible Sodomy under section 566.060, RSMo;
(G) Burglary 1st Degree under section 569.160, RSMo;
(H) Burglary 2nd Degree under section 569.170, RSMo;
(I) Robbery 1st Degree under section 569.020, RSMo;
(J) Distribution of Drugs under section 195.211, RSMo;

(K) Distribution of Drugs to a Minor under section 195.212,
RSMo;

(L) Arson 1st Degree under section 569.040, RSMo;
(M) Voluntary Manslaughter under section 565.023, RSMo;
(N) Involuntary Manslaughter under section 565.024, RSMo;
(O) Assault 2nd Degree under section 565.060, RSMo;
(P) Sexual Assault under section 566.040, RSMo;
(Q) Felonious Restraint under section 565.120, RSMo;
(R) Property Damage 1st Degree under section 569.100, RSMo;
(S) Possession of a Weapon under Chapter 571, RSMo;
(T) Child Molestation 1st Degree under section 566.067, RSMo;
(U) Deviate Sexual Assault under section 566.070, RSMo;
(V) Sexual Misconduct Involving a Child under section 566.083,

RSMo; and/or
(W) Sexual Abuse under section 566.100, RSMo.

(5) A Missouri public elementary or secondary school shall receive
technical assistance from DESE staff which includes but may not be
limited to a site visit to work with building and district staff to pre-
pare and implement a plan to prevent the building from meeting the
criteria for a second year if it has:

(A) In any one (1) year:
1. A federal or state gun-free schools violation; or
2. A violent criminal offense, as set forth above, on school

property; or
(B) In any one (1) year, expulsions by local board action for drugs,

alcohol, weapons or violence that exceed one (1) of the following
rates:

1. More than five (5) expulsions for schools of less than two
hundred fifty (250) students;

2. More than ten (10) expulsions for schools of more than two
hundred fifty (250) students, but less than one thousand (1,000) stu-
dents; or

3. More than fifteen (15) expulsions per year for a school of
more than one thousand (1,000) students.

AUTHORITY:  sections 167.171, RSMo 2000, 160.261, RSMo Supp.
2001, and 161.092, RSMo Supp. 2002. Original rule filed Jan. 14,
2003.

PUBLIC COST:  This proposed rule is estimated to cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions up to forty thousand dollars ($40,000)
in Fiscal Year 2004 with the cost recurring annually over the life of
the rule.

PRIVATE COST:  This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:  Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri
Department of Elementary and Secondary Education, ATTN:  Dr.
Bert Schulte, Assistant Commissioner, Division of School
Improvement, PO Box 480, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0480.  To be
considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after
publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hear-
ing is scheduled.
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Title 8—DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND
INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS

Division 20—Labor and Industrial
Relations Commission

Chapter 3—Rules Relating to Division of 
Workers’ Compensation

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

8 CSR 20-3.030 Review of Awards or Orders Issued by
Administrative Law Judges.  The commission is amending section
(5) and deleting the form following the rule in the Code of State
Regulations.  

PURPOSE: This amendment sets out specific requirements for the
format of the briefs and clarifies the required contents of the briefs

(5) Briefs, Typewritten. Briefs filed in any case pending before the
commission shall be typewritten. The original and two (2) copies
shall be filed with the commission and a copy served upon the oppos-
ing party(ies).

(A) All briefs shall be subject to the following requirements:
1.  Be on paper of size eight and one-half inches by eleven

inches (8 1/2" × 11");
2.  Be on paper weighing not less than nine (9) pounds to the

ream;
3.  Be typed on one (1) side of the paper;
4.  Have a left, right, bottom, and top margin of not less

than one inch (1").  Page numbers may appear in the bottom
margin, but no other text may appear in the margins;

5.  Have all pages consecutively numbered;
6.  Use characters throughout the briefs, including footnotes

that are not smaller than thirteen (13) font, Times New Roman
on Microsoft Word;

7.  Be double-spaced, except the cover, if any, certificate of
service and signature block may be single-spaced.

(B) The brief of the petitioner shall not exceed thirty (30)
pages.  A respondent’s brief shall not exceed twenty-five (25)
pages.  A reply brief is not required or suggested but if the peti-
tioner believes it is necessary to file a reply, it shall not exceed
eight (8) pages.  A reply brief must be filed within ten (10) days
of receipt of the respondent’s brief.  A cover sheet or index to the
brief need not be counted in the page limitation but any attach-
ments, exhibits or appendices to the brief will be considered as
pages of the brief and subject to the page limitation for the entire
brief.  (Parties should note that the commission file contains the
award and decision of the administrative law judge along with a
complete transcript of the record.  It is unnecessary to attach any
of these materials to the brief.  Any other attachment would not
be of record and not subject to consideration, which is limited to
the record or transcript of the hearing.) Any brief submitted
which is not in compliance with the above may not be considered.

(C)  The brief of the party requesting the application for
review shall contain a fair and concise statement of facts without
argument.  The respondent may supplement the statement of
facts if necessary.  No jurisdictional statement is necessary unless
jurisdiction is at issue. (Parties are advised that recitations of
basic legal principles of workers’ compensation law are not nec-
essary and are discouraged.  The commission is aware of princi-
ples such as that the burden of proof is on the employee, the law
is to be liberally interpreted in favor of the employee, and that the
commission may make its own determination of the facts, and
credibility of the witnesses including experts.) The briefs shall
identify the issues in dispute and address those issues only.  The
briefs should state concisely the factual or legal support for the
party’s positions.  Lengthy recitation of facts or cases without
identifying how they relate to the party’s position will not be con-
sidered. Briefs of all parties should clearly outline and explain

the issues in dispute and contain a conclusion in detail as to the
decision, award or action requested from the Labor and
Industrial Relations Commission.

AUTHORITY: section 286.060, RSMo [Supp. 1997] 2000. This
version of rule filed Dec. 18, 1975, effective Dec. 28, 1975.
Amended: Filed Dec. 31, 1975, effective Jan. 10, 1976. Amended:
Filed March 16, 1992, effective Sept. 6, 1992. Amended: Filed Nov.
17, 1998, effective April 30, 1999.  Amended:  Filed Jan. 15, 2003.

PUBLIC COST:  This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST:  This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:  Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Labor and Industrial Relations Commission, Attn:  John P. Madigan,
PO Box 599, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0599.  To be considered,
comments must be received within thirty (30) days after publication
of this notice in the Missouri Register.  No public hearing is sched-
uled.

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 10—Air Conservation Commission

Chapter 2—Air Quality Standards and Air Pollution
Control Rules Specific to the Kansas City Metropolitan

Area

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

10 CSR 10-2.340 Control of Emissions from Lithographic
Printing [Facilities] Installations. The commission proposes to
amend the rule title; amend subsections (1)(B) and (4)(C); amend
headers on original sections (2), (3), (4) and (5); add new subsection
(2)(I); renumber original subsections (5)(A) and (5)(C); renumber
and amend original subsection (5)(B) and section (7); and delete sec-
tion (6).  If the commission adopts this rule action, it will be sub-
mitted to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency to replace the
current rule in the Missouri State Implementation Plan.  The evi-
dence supporting the need for this proposed rulemaking is available
for viewing at the Missouri Department of Natural Resources’ Air
Pollution Control Program at the address and phone number listed in
the Notice of Public Hearing at the end of this rule.

PURPOSE: This amendment corrects an error in the applicability
formula.  This error can cause an understating of volatile organic
compound (VOC) emissions and may be removing installations in an
ozone maintenance area from applicability of this rule.  Also, all sec-
tions of this rule are proposed to be restructured for consistency with
the rule organization format and will clarify rule language to assist
in enforcement of the rule.  The evidence supporting the need for this
proposed rulemaking, per section 536.016, RSMo, is notification of
problems in interpreting the calculation from Kansas City Regional
Office.  

(1) Applicability. 
(B) This regulation shall apply to installations that have [calcu-

lated actual volatile organic compound (VOC) emissions for
a known number of crewed hours, increased by the amount
by weight of VOCs whose emission into the atmosphere is
prevented by the use of air pollution control devices and
extrapolated to eight thousand seven hundred sixty (8760)
hours per year to be equal to or greater than one hundred
(100) tons per year from offset lithographic printing presses
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after December 9, 1991. To demonstrate this by formula.
This regulation applies if— 

[[E × (1 – C) + E] × 8760] ≥ 100 tons per year
H

where
E = actual emissions during period of time H
C = overall control efficiency of control device(s)
H = number of crewed hours.]

uncontrolled potential to emit volatile organic compound (VOC)
emissions greater or equal to one hundred (100) tons per year.  To
calculate the installation wide uncontrolled potential to emit
VOC emissions, the following factors shall be taken into consid-
eration unless an alternative method is approved by the director: 

1. The installation shall assume fifty percent (50%) of the
solvent used for cleanup is retained in the rag(s) when the used
solvent-laden rag(s) are cleaned or disposed of.  The installation
must demonstrate to the director that the solvents are not evap-
orated into the air when the waste rags are properly cleaned and
disposed of; 

2. The installation shall assume forty percent (40%) of the
heatset ink oils stay in the paper web; 

3. The installation shall assume no VOCs are emitted from
the inks used in sheet-fed presses and nonheatset web presses; 

4. The installation may assume that fifty percent (50%) of
the alcohol from the fountain solution is emitted from the dryer;

5. The installation shall assume, if control devices are pre-
sent, the uncontrolled potential to emit VOC  emissions are the
potential emissions extrapolated to eight thousand seven hundred
sixty (8,760) hours per year added to the emissions that are
removed by the pollution control device(s) and extrapolated to
eight thousand seven hundred sixty (8,760) hours per year; 

6. The installation shall assume the potential emissions are
the actual emissions released at the stack extrapolated to eight
thousand seven hundred sixty (8,760) hours per year; and

7. The installation shall assume the control device emissions
are all of the VOC emissions retained in the cleaning rags, sub-
strate and those emissions removed by air pollution control
devices extrapolated to eight thousand seven hundred sixty
(8,760) hours per year.

(2) Definitions. [Definitions of some terms specified in this
regulation may be found in 10 CSR 10-6.020. Other defini-
tions specific to this regulation are as follows:]

(I) Definitions of certain terms in this rule, other than those
specified in this rule section may be found in 10 CSR 10-6.020. 

(3) [Emission Limits] General Provisions.

(4) [Recordkeeping] Reporting and Record Keeping.
(C) For each regulated printing press, records shall be maintained

to show—
1. Quantity of alcohol added to the fountain solution of each

regulated press in pounds each month; 
2. Percent of alcohol in fountain solution by weight as moni-

tored on a once per shift basis; 
3. Results of any testing conducted on an emission unit at a reg-

ulated [facility] installation; 
4. Maintenance records of any air pollution control equipment;

and 
5. The temperature of alcohol-based fountain solution as record-

ed on a once per shift basis. 

[(5) Compliance.]
[(A)](F) All persons subject to the provisions of this regulation

shall provide to the director for approval a demonstration of final
compliance with subsection (3)(A)—

1. Upon startup of presses which are not in existence and oper-
ating on December 9, 1991; 

2. Within eighteen (18) months (June 9, 1993) after the effec-
tive date of this regulation (December 9, 1991) for all presses with a
cylinder width of less than sixty inches (60") and all web presses
with a cylinder width of sixty inches (60") or greater that are in exis-
tence and operating on December 9, 1991; and 

3. Within thirty-six (36) months (December 9, [1991] 1994)
after the effective date of this regulation (December 9, 1991) for all
sheet-fed presses with a cylinder width of sixty inches (60") or
greater that are in existence and operating on December 9, 1991. 

[(B)](G) All persons subject to the provisions of this regulation
shall provide to the director for approval a demonstration of final
compliance with subsections (3)(B) and (C) of this rule—

1. Upon startup of presses which are not in existence and oper-
ating on December 9, 1991; and 

2. Within eighteen (18) months (June 9, 1993) [months] after
the effective date of this regulation for all presses that are in exis-
tence and operating December 9, 1991. 

[(C)](H) All persons subject to the provisions of this regulation
and not in compliance with all provisions of this regulation within
twelve (12) months (December 9, 1992) from the effective date of
this regulation (December 9, 1991) must submit a compliance plan
to the director for approval. This plan must be received within six (6)
months (June 9, 1992) after the effective date of this regulation
(December 9, 1991). This plan must include the following: 

1. A detailed plan of process modifications; and 
2. A time schedule for compliance containing increments of

progress, including: 
A. Date of submittal of the source’s final control plan to the

appropriate air pollution control agency; 
B. Date by which contracts for emission control systems or

process modifications will be awarded; or date by which orders will
be issued for the purchase of component parts to accomplish emis-
sion control or process modification; 

C. Date of initiation of on-site construction or installation of
emission control equipment or process change; 

D. Date by which on-site construction or installation of emis-
sion control equipment or process modification is to be completed;
and 

E. Date by which final compliance is to be achieved. 

[(6) Calculations. To calculate the facility-wide VOC emis-
sions, the following factors may be taken into consideration
unless an alternative method is approved by the director: 

(A) The facility may assume fifty percent (50%) of the sol-
vent used for cleanup is retained in the rag when the used
solvent-laden rags are cleaned or disposed of. The facility
must demonstrate to the director that the solvents are not
evaporated into the air when the waste rags are properly
cleaned and disposed of; 

(B) The facility may assume forty percent (40%) of the
heatset ink oils stay in the paper web; 

(C) The facility may assume no VOCs are emitted from the
inks used in sheet-fed presses and nonheatset web presses;
and 

(D) The facility may assume that fifty percent (50%) of
the alcohol from the fountain solution is emitted from the
dryer.]

[(7)](5) [Testing Procedures] Test Methods.
(A) Testing and compliance demonstrations for subsection (3)(C)

of this [regulation] rule shall follow the procedures contained in
Environmental Protection Agency Reference Methods 25 or 25A
found in 40 CFR Part 60, Appendix A.

(B) Testing and compliance demonstrations for paragraph (3)(A)1.
of this [regulation] rule shall be based on the results from a cali-
brated hydrometer or refractometer.
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AUTHORITY: section 643.050, RSMo [1986] 2000. Original rule
filed June 4, 1991, effective Dec. 9, 1991. Amended: Filed Jan. 13,
2003.

PUBLIC COST:  This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST:  This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate. 

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS:  A public hearing on this proposed amendment will begin
at 9:00 a.m., March 27, 2003.  The public hearing will be held at
the Holiday Inn West Park Conference Center, Sierra Room, 3257
Williams Street, Cape Girardeau, MO 63702. Opportunity to be
heard at the hearing shall be afforded any interested person.  Written
request to be heard should be submitted at least seven (7) days prior
to the hearing to Director, Missouri Department of Natural
Resources’ Air Pollution Control Program, 205 Jefferson Street, PO
Box 176, Jefferson City, MO  65102-0176, (573) 751-4817.  Interested
persons, whether or not heard, may submit a written statement of
their views until 5:00 p.m., April 3, 2003.  Written comments shall
be sent to Chief, Planning Section, Missouri Department of Natural
Resources’ Air Pollution Control Program, 205 Jefferson Street, PO
Box 176, Jefferson City, MO  65102-0176.

Title 13—DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Division 70—Division of Medical Services

Chapter 3—Conditions of Provider Participation,
Reimbursement and Procedure of General Applicability

PROPOSED RULE

13 CSR 70-3.065 Medicaid Program Payment of Claims for
Medicare Part B Services

PURPOSE: This rule establishes the regulatory basis for the admin-
istration of payment of claims for Medicare Part B services.  The
Division of Medical Services will limit reimbursement of deductible
and coinsurance under Medicare Part B for dually-entitled individu-
als to only those covered services for which benefits are also allow-
able under the Medicaid program.  This rule also limits Medicaid
reimbursement to the lesser of such deductible and coinsurance
amounts as are determined by Medicare for a given service or the
amount by which the Medicaid maximum allowable amount for the
same service exceeds the Medicare Part B payment made to the
provider of  physician or clinic services.  This rule provides for such
methods and procedures relating to the utilization of, and the pay-
ment for, care and services available under the Medicaid program as
may be necessary to safeguard against unnecessary utilization of
such care and services and to assure that payments are consistent
with efficiency, economy, and quality of care and are sufficient to
enlist enough providers so that care and services are available under
the plan at least to the extent that such care and services are avail-
able to the general population in the geographic area.

PUBLISHER’S NOTE: The secretary of state has determined that the
publication of the entire text of the material which is incorporated by
reference as a portion of this rule would be unduly cumbersome or
expensive. Therefore, the material which is so incorporated is on file
with the agency who filed this rule, and with the Office of the
Secretary of State. Any interested person may view this material at
either agency’s headquarters or the same will be made available at
the Office of the Secretary of State at a cost not to exceed actual cost
of copy reproduction. The entire text of the rule is printed here. This
note refers only to the incorporated by reference material.

(1) Title XIX Medicaid benefits for individuals dually entitled to
Missouri Medicaid and Title XVIII Medicare Part B Supplementary
Medical Insurance (SMI) shall be limited as follows:

(A) For services provided by an enrolled Medicaid provider to a
recipient who is dually entitled to Title XIX Medicaid and Title
XVIII Medicare Part B SMI, Medicaid vendor reimbursement shall
be limited to payment of deductible and coinsurance amounts, as
determined due under the applicable provisions of federal regulations
pertaining to Medicare Part B, for only those goods and services
which are covered by the state Medicaid program for those individ-
uals who are Medicaid eligible; and

(B) Medicaid payment of such deductible and coinsurance
amounts shall be limited to the lesser of—

1.  The deductible and coinsurance due on the service; or
2.  The amount remaining, if any, after subtracting the Medicare

Part B payment made for the service from the maximum amount
which Medicaid alone would have reimbursed for that same service.

(2) Provider, as used in this regulation, shall include the following
Medicaid provider types: 

20 and 24 Physicians
25 Nurse midwife
30 Podiatrist
36 Podiatry clinic
42 Nurse practitioner
49 Psychologist
50 Independent clinic (except federally qualified

health clinic, ambulatory surgical center, and 
renal dialysis center)

51 Public health department clinic
52 Family planning clinic
54 Teaching institution department
55 Teaching institution
56 Community mental health center
75 Qualified Medicare beneficiary (QMB) only
91 Certified registered nurse anesthetist (CRNA)

(3) The provider of service which is covered under both Medicare
Part B SMI and Medicaid must accept assignment of the Medicare
benefits available for the service before Medicaid may consider a
claim for payment of deductible and coinsurance subject to the limi-
tations of this rule.

(4) If the service is a Medicaid covered service, amounts not reim-
bursed by Medicaid for crossover claims may not be billed to the
Medicaid recipient.

(5) If the service is a non-covered Medicaid service, then no payment
will be made.  The recipient will be responsible for the coinsurance
and deductible for any non-covered Medicaid service.

(6) The services and items covered and not covered and the program
limitations shall be determined by the Department of Social
Services, Division of Medical Services and shall be included in the
Physician Provider Manual and special bulletins, which are incor-
porated by reference in this rule and available through the
Department of Social Services, Division of Medical Services web-
site at www.medicaid.state.mo.us.

(7) The limitations on Medicaid reimbursement provided in this rule
shall be effective based on the date of service.

(8) There will be a processing charge for any Medicare Part B claim
that does not automatically cross over or is not submitted to
Department of Social Services, Division of Medical Services elec-
tronically via the Internet.  In order to submit paper claims for reim-
bursement, Medicaid providers must agree that the cost of process-
ing the paper claim of two dollars and ninety-one cents ($2.91) will
be deducted from Medicaid payment due the provider.  Paper claims
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that cannot be filed electronically due to Medicaid policy are exempt
from the processing charge.

AUTHORITY: sections 208.153 and 208.201, RSMo 2000. Original
rule filed Jan. 10, 2003.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule represents an estimated maximal
potential cost to providers of services to eligibles of Medicare Part B
and Medicaid (dual eligibles) of 8.4 million dollars for SFY 2003
and 25 million dollars for SFY 2004.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Office of
the Director, Division of Medical Services, 615 Howerton Court,
Jefferson City, MO 65109. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. If to be hand-delivered, comments must be
brought to the Division of Medical Services at 615 Howerton Court,
Jefferson City, Missouri.  No public hearing is scheduled.
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Title 15—ELECTED OFFICIALS
Division 30—Secretary of State

Chapter 52—Registration of Securities

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

15 CSR 30-52.310 Report of Completion of a Registration
Statement. The commission is amending sections (1) and (2).

PURPOSE: The commissioner is amending sections (1) and (2) of
this rule to extend the time in which the written statement of com-
pletion needs to be filed with the division and to allow authorized sig-
natories of the registrant to sign the statement.

(1) Within [fifteen (15) business] thirty (30) days of the comple-
tion of an offering in Missouri, the registrant shall provide a written
statement to the Securities Division that states the following: 

(2) The written statement needs to be signed by an officer or direc-
tor of the issuer or by an authorized signatory of the registrant.   

AUTHORITY: sections 409.305(i) and 409.413(a), RSMo 2000.
Original rule filed June 25, 1968, effective Aug. 1, 1968.  For inter-
vening history, please consult the Code of State Regulations.
Amended: Filed Nov. 26, 2002. 

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Secretary of State’s Office, Doug Ommen, Commissioner of
Securities, 600 West Main Street, Jefferson City, MO 65101.  To be
considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after
publication of this notice in the Missouri Register.  No public hear-
ing is scheduled.

Title 15—ELECTED OFFICIALS
Division 60—Attorney General

Chapter 11—Rules for Assistive Devices

PROPOSED RULE

15 CSR 60-11.010 Appointment of Arbitration Firm

PURPOSE: The attorney general administers provisions of the
Wheelchair Lemon Law and Assistive Devices for Major Life Activity,
sections 407.950 to 407.970, RSMo.  The attorney general is required
to establish regulations controlling the arbitration of disputes arising
under these provisions.  This rule specifies procedures to be followed
by the attorney general in appointing a professional arbitrator or
arbitration firm.

(1) Any controversy or claim arising out of or relating to consumer
rights or remedies under sections 407.950 to 407.970, RSMo shall,
at the option of the consumer, be settled by arbitration.

(2) The attorney general shall appoint a professional arbitrator or
arbitration firm to administer the program for a term not to exceed
two (2) years ending on the thirty-first day of December of the final

year of appointment.  At the option of the attorney general, the term
shall be renewable.

(3) The following criteria shall be considered in the selection of a
professional arbitrator or arbitration firm: capability, objectivity,
nonaffiliation with an assistive device manufacturer, dealer or lessor,
reliability, experience, financial stability, extent of geographic cover-
age, and fee structure.

(4) Each professional arbitrator or arbitration firm applying for
appointment shall submit a fee schedule to the attorney general.
Upon appointment by the attorney general, the arbitration firm shall
adhere to its submitted fee schedule until the expiration of its
appointed term.

AUTHORITY: sections 407.965 and 407.970, RSMo 2000.  Original
rule filed Jan. 27, 2003.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule.  Written comments
may be mailed or delivered to the Office of Attorney General, David
B. Cosgrove, Chief Counsel, 1530 Rax Court, PO Box 899, Jefferson
City, MO 65102.  To be considered, comments must be received with-
in thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled. 

Title 15—ELECTED OFFICIALS
Division 60—Attorney General

Chapter 11—Rules for Assistive Devices

PROPOSED RULE

15 CSR 60-11.020 Notice to Consumers

PURPOSE: The attorney general administers provisions of the
Wheelchair Lemon Law and Assistive Devices for Major Life Activity,
sections 407.950 to 407.970, RSMo.  The attorney general is required
to establish regulations controlling the arbitration of disputes arising
under these provisions.  This rule specifies the notice which must be
given by sellers of the assistive device to consumers.

(1) Each manufacturer who sells or leases an assistive device to a
Missouri consumer, either directly or through an assistive device
dealer, shall furnish the consumer contemporaneously with the
express warranty required by section 407.953, RSMo, a clear and
conspicuous notice of the consumer’s right to elect arbitration.  This
notice shall be in (10) ten point boldface type and shall include the
following words or words of similar import and meaning: 

“Pursuant to Missouri law, you have the right to have cer-
tain disputes regarding the purchase of an Assistive
device resolved through binding arbitration.  To obtain a
request for arbitration form, contact the manufacturer.”

(2) The notice shall also include the name, address and telephone
number of the person whom the consumer may contact to obtain a
“Request for Arbitration form.”
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AUTHORITY: sections 407.965 and 407.970, RSMo 2000. Original
rule filed Jan. 27, 2003.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule.  Written comments
may be mailed or delivered to the Office of Attorney General, David
B. Cosgrove, Chief Counsel, 1530 Rax Court, PO Box 899, Jefferson
City, MO 65102.  To be considered, comments must be received with-
in thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled. 

Title 15—ELECTED OFFICIALS
Division 60—Attorney General

Chapter 11—Rules for Assistive Devices

PROPOSED RULE

15 CSR 60-11.030 Filing for Arbitration

PURPOSE: The attorney general administers provisions of the
Wheelchair Lemon Law and Assistive Devices for Major Life Activity,
sections 407.950 to 407.970, RSMo.  The attorney general is required
to establish regulations controlling the arbitration of disputes arising
under these provisions.  This rule specifies procedures to be followed
by the parties in arbitration.

(1) Each manufacturer who sells or leases an assistive device to a
Missouri consumer, either directly or through an assistive device
dealer, shall make available to the consumer, upon request a
“Request for Arbitration” form.

(2) The “Request for Arbitration” form shall be in a format substan-
tially similar to that set out in 15 CSR 60-11.160.

(3) To apply for arbitration under the program, a consumer shall
obtain a “Request for Arbitration” form from the manufacturer, com-
plete the form and submit it to the arbitration firm along with the pre-
scribed filing fee.

(4) For claims made pursuant to sections 407.950 to 407.970,
RSMo, the consumer shall indicate on the form his/her choice of
remedy (i.e., refund, repair or replacement with a comparable assis-
tive device), in the event the arbitrator rules in favor of the consumer.
If the consumer prevails, such choice shall be followed by the arbi-
trator unless the consumer advises the arbitrator, in writing, of a
change in his/her choice of remedy prior to the arbitrator’s render-
ing of a decision.

(5) On the day the arbitration firm receives the “Request for
Arbitration” form together with the filing fee, the arbitration firm
shall date stamp the form.  Such date shall be considered the “filing
date.”

(6) Within five (5) business days of the filing date, the arbitration
firm shall send the manufacturer’s designee a copy of the consumer’s
completed form along with a notice that it may respond in writing.  

(7) Within fifteen (15) days of the filing date, the manufacturer shall
respond in triplicate to the arbitration firm, who shall promptly for-

ward one (1) copy to the consumer.  Failure by the manufacturer to
respond shall be deemed to be an admission of all claims made by
the consumer.

(8) The consumer may respond in writing to the manufacturer’s sub-
mission within twenty-five (25) days of the filing date.  Such
response shall be sent in triplicate to the arbitration firm, who shall
promptly forward a copy to the manufacturer.

AUTHORITY: sections 407.965 and 407.970, RSMo 2000.  Original
rule filed Jan. 27, 2003.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule.  Written comments
may be mailed or delivered to the Office of Attorney General, David
B. Cosgrove, Chief Counsel, 1530 Rax Court, PO Box 899, Jefferson
City, MO  65102.  To be considered, comments must be received with-
in thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled. 

Title 15—ELECTED OFFICIALS
Division 60—Attorney General

Chapter 11—Rules for Assistive Devices

PROPOSED RULE

15 CSR 60-11.040 Cost of Arbitration

PURPOSE: The attorney general administers provisions of the
Wheelchair Lemon Law and Assistive Devices for Major Life Activity,
sections 407.950 to 407.970, RSMo.  The attorney general is required
to establish regulations controlling the arbitration of disputes arising
under these provisions.  This rule specifies procedures concerning
the cost of arbitration.

(1) Each consumer who files a “Request for Arbitration” form shall
pay a processing fee to the arbitration firm of fifty dollars ($50).

(2) All other costs of arbitration shall be paid to the arbitration firm
by the manufacturer.

AUTHORITY: sections 407.965 and 407.970, RSMo 2000.  Original
rule filed Jan. 27, 2003.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule.  Written comments
may be mailed or delivered to the Office of Attorney General, David
B. Cosgrove, Chief Counsel, 1530 Rax Court, PO Box 899, Jefferson
City, MO  65102.  To be considered, comments must be received with-
in thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled. 
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Title 15—ELECTED OFFICIALS
Division 60—Attorney General

Chapter 11—Rules for Assistive Devices

PROPOSED RULE

15 CSR 60-11.050 Assignment of Arbitrator

PURPOSE: The attorney general administers provisions of the
Wheelchair Lemon Law and Assistive Devices for Major Life Activity,
sections 407.950 to 407.970, RSMo.  The attorney general is required
to establish regulations controlling the arbitration of disputes arising
under these provisions.  This rule specifies procedures to be followed
by the arbitration firm in selecting an arbitrator.

(1) After the filing date, the arbitration firm shall assign an arbitra-
tor to hear and decide the case.  Notice of assignment shall be mailed
to the arbitrator and the parties along with a copy of these regula-
tions and sections 407.950 to 407.970, RSMo.

(2) The arbitrator assigned shall not have any bias, any financial or
personal interest in the outcome of the hearing, or any current con-
nection to the sale or manufacture of assistive devices.

AUTHORITY: sections 407.965 and 407.970, RSMo 2000.  Original
rule filed Jan. 27, 2003.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule.  Written comments
may be mailed or delivered to the Office of Attorney General, David
B. Cosgrove, Chief Counsel, 1530 Rax Court, PO Box 899, Jefferson
City, MO 65102.  To be considered, comments must be received with-
in thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled. 

Title 15—ELECTED OFFICIALS
Division 60—Attorney General

Chapter 11—Rules for Assistive Devices

PROPOSED RULE

15 CSR 60-11.060 Scheduling of Arbitration Hearings

PURPOSE: The attorney general administers provisions of the
Wheelchair Lemon Law and Assistive Devices for Major Life Activity,
sections 407.950 to 407.970, RSMo.  The attorney general is required
to establish regulations controlling the arbitration of disputes arising
under these provisions.  This rule specifies procedures to be followed
by the parties and the arbitrator.

(1) The arbitration shall be conducted as an oral hearing unless the
consumer has requested, on the “Request for Arbitration” form, a
hearing on documents only and both parties agree to a documents-
only hearing; provided, however, that the parties may mutually agree
in writing to change the mode of hearing.  Upon such change, the
parties shall notify the arbitrator who shall comply with the request.

(2) An oral hearing, unless waived by the parties, shall be scheduled
to take place no later than forty (40) days from the filing date, unless
a later date is agreed to by both parties.  The arbitrator shall notify

both parties of the date, time and place of the hearing at least ten (10)
days prior to its scheduled date.

(3) Hearings shall be scheduled to accommodate, where possible,
time-of-day needs of the consumer and the manufacturer, including
evening and weekend hours.

(4) Hearings shall also be scheduled to accommodate geographic
needs of the consumer.  The hearing site shall be no more than one
hundred (100) miles from the consumer’s residence unless the con-
sumer agrees, in writing, to a hearing at a location farther than one
hundred (100) miles from his or her residence.

(5) A party may present its case by telephone, provided that notice,
in writing, is given to the arbitrator and to the other party at least
two (2) business days prior to the scheduled hearing date.  In such
cases, the arbitrator and both parties shall be included.

(6) Either party may make a request to adjourn and reschedule the
hearing.  Except in unusual circumstances, such request shall be
made to the arbitrator, orally or in writing, at least two (2) business
days prior to the hearing date.  Upon a finding of good cause, the
arbitrator may reschedule the hearing.  In unusual circumstances, the
arbitrator may reschedule the hearing at any time prior to its com-
mencement.

AUTHORITY: sections 407.965 and 407.970, RSMo 2000.  Original
rule filed Jan. 27, 2003.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule.  Written comments
may be mailed or delivered to the Office of Attorney General, David
B. Cosgrove, Chief Counsel, 1530 Rax Court, PO Box 899, Jefferson
City, MO  65102.  To be considered, comments must be received with-
in thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled. 

Title 15—ELECTED OFFICIALS
Division 60—Attorney General

Chapter 11—Rules for Assistive Devices

PROPOSED RULE

15 CSR 60-11.070 Request for Additional Information or
Documents

PURPOSE: The attorney general administers provisions of the
Wheelchair Lemon Law and Assistive Devices for Major Life Activity,
sections 407.950 to 407.970, RSMo.  The attorney general is required
to establish regulations controlling the arbitration of disputes arising
under these provisions.  This rule specifies procedures to be followed
in conducting discovery.

(1) A party, by application in writing to the arbitrator, may request
the arbitrator to direct the other party to produce any documents or
information.  The arbitrator shall, upon receiving such request, or on
his or her own initiative, direct the production of documents or infor-
mation which he or she believes will reasonably assist a party in pre-
senting his or her case or assist the arbitrator in deciding the case.
The arbitrator’s direction for the production of documents and infor-
mation shall allow a reasonable time for the gathering and produc-
tion of such documents and information.
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(2) All documents and information forwarded in compliance with the
arbitrator’s direction shall be legible and received by the arbitrator
and other party no later than three (3) business days prior to the date
of the hearing.  Each party shall bear its own photocopying costs.

(3) Upon failure of a party to comply with the arbitrator’s direction
to produce documents and/or information, the arbitrator may draw a
negative inference concerning any issue involving such documents or
information.

(4) The term “documents” in this section shall include, but not be
limited to, relevant manufacturer’s service bulletins, dealer work
orders, diagnoses, bills, and all communication relating to the con-
sumer’s claim.

(5) At the request of either party or on his or her own initiative, the
arbitrator, when he or she believes it appropriate, may subpoena any
witnesses to appear or documents to be presented at the hearing.

(6) Where a witness cannot be subpoenaed or is unable to attend the
hearing, the arbitrator may, at the written request of either party or
on his or her own initiative, permit a deposition to be taken, in a
manner and upon terms designated by the arbitrator.  Such deposi-
tion may be used as evidence and considered by the arbitrator in
making his or her decision.

AUTHORITY: sections 407.965 and 407.970, RSMo 2000.  Original
rule filed Jan. 27, 2003.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule.  Written comments
may be mailed or delivered to the Office of Attorney General, David
B. Cosgrove, Chief Counsel, 1530 Rax Court, PO Box 899, Jefferson
City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received with-
in thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled. 

Title 15—ELECTED OFFICIALS
Division 60—Attorney General

Chapter 11—Rules for Assistive Devices

PROPOSED RULE

15 CSR 60-11.080 Representation by Counsel or Third Party

PURPOSE: The attorney general administers provisions of the
Wheelchair Lemon Law and Assistive Devices for Major Life Activity,
sections 407.950 to 407.970, RSMo.  The attorney general is required
to establish regulations controlling the arbitration of disputes arising
under these provisions.  This rule specifies procedures related to par-
ticipation by a third party.

(1) Any party may be represented by counsel or assisted by any third
party. 

AUTHORITY: sections 407.965 and 407.970, RSMo 2000.  Original
rule filed Jan. 27, 2003.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule.  Written comments
may be mailed or delivered to the Office of Attorney General, David
B. Cosgrove, Chief Counsel, 1530 Rax Court, PO Box 899, Jefferson
City, MO  65102.  To be considered, comments must be received with-
in thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled. 

Title 15—ELECTED OFFICIALS
Division 60—Attorney General

Chapter 11—Rules for Assistive Devices

PROPOSED RULE

15 CSR 60-11.090 Hearing Procedure

PURPOSE: The attorney general administers provisions of the
Wheelchair Lemon Law and Assistive Devices for Major Life Activity,
sections 407.950 to 407.970, RSMo.  The attorney general is required
to establish regulations controlling the arbitration of disputes arising
under these provisions.  This rule specifies procedures to be followed
at the arbitration hearing.

(1) The conduct of the hearing shall afford each party a full and rea-
sonable opportunity to present his or her case.

(2) The arbitrator shall administer an oath or affirmation to each
individual who testifies.

(3) Formal rules of evidence shall not apply; the parties may intro-
duce any relevant evidence at the discretion of the arbitrator.

(4) The arbitrator may receive relevant evidence of witnesses by affi-
davit and such affidavits shall be given such weight as the arbitrator
deems appropriate.

(5) The arbitrator shall have discretion to examine the consumer’s
assistive device.  Both parties shall be afforded the opportunity to be
present and accompany the arbitrator on any such examination.

(6) The consumer shall first present evidence in support of his or her
claim, and the manufacturer shall then present its evidence.  Each
party may question the witnesses called by the other.  The arbitrator
may question any party or witness at any time during the hearing.

(7) The arbitrator may request additional evidence after closing the
hearing.  All such evidence shall be submitted to the arbitration firm
for transmission to the arbitrator and the parties.

AUTHORITY: sections 407.965 and 407.970, RSMo 2000.  Original
rule filed Jan. 27, 2003.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule.  Written comments
may be mailed or delivered to the Office of Attorney General, David
B. Cosgrove, Chief Counsel, 1530 Rax Court, PO Box 899, Jefferson
City, MO 65102.  To be considered, comments must be received with-
in thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled. 
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Title 15—ELECTED OFFICIALS
Division 60—Attorney General

Chapter 11—Rules for Assistive Devices

PROPOSED RULE

15 CSR 60-11.100 Accommodations for the Disabled

PURPOSE: The attorney general administers provisions of the
Wheelchair Lemon Law and Assistive Devices for Major Life Activity,
sections 407.950 to 407.970, RSMo. The attorney general is required
to establish regulations controlling the arbitration of disputes arising
under these provisions. This rule specifies procedures related to
accommodations for the disabled.

(1) Any party may request reasonable accommodations at a hearing,
including access and auxiliary aids and services, in accordance with
the Americans With Disabilities Act (42 U.S.C. 12101 et seq.) and
the regulations thereunder (28 CFR Part 35) as such Act and regula-
tions may, from time-to-time, be amended.

(2) Such request shall be made to the arbitration firm at the time the
consumer submits his or her “Request for Arbitration” form.

AUTHORITY: sections 407.965 and 407.970, RSMo 2000. Original
rule filed Jan. 27, 2003.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule.  Written comments
may be mailed or delivered to the Office of Attorney General, David
B. Cosgrove, Chief Counsel, 1530 Rax Court, PO Box 899, Jefferson
City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received with-
in thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled. 

Title 15—ELECTED OFFICIALS
Division 60—Attorney General

Chapter 11—Rules for Assistive Devices

PROPOSED RULE

15 CSR 60-11.110 Hearing on Documents Only

PURPOSE: The attorney general administers provisions of the
Wheelchair Lemon Law and Assistive Devices for Major Life Activity,
sections 407.950 to 407.970, RSMo.  The attorney general is required
to establish regulations controlling the arbitration of disputes arising
under these provisions.  This rule specifies procedures related to sub-
mission of the case on documents only.

(1) If the hearing is on documents only, all documents shall be sub-
mitted to the arbitrator no later than thirty-five (35) days from the fil-
ing date.  The arbitrator shall render a  decision within ten (10) busi-
ness days based on all documents submitted.

AUTHORITY: sections 407.965 and 407.970, RSMo 2000.  Original
rule filed Jan. 27, 2003.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule.  Written comments
may be mailed or delivered to the Office of Attorney General, David
B. Cosgrove, Chief Counsel, 1530 Rax Court, PO Box 899, Jefferson
City, MO 65102.  To be considered, comments must be received with-
in thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled. 

Title 15—ELECTED OFFICIALS
Division 60—Attorney General

Chapter 11—Rules for Assistive Devices

PROPOSED RULE

15 CSR 60-11.120 Defaults

PURPOSE: The attorney general administers provisions of the
Wheelchair Lemon Law and Assistive Devices for Major Life Activity,
sections 407.950 to 407.970, RSMo.  The attorney general is required
to establish regulations controlling the arbitration of disputes arising
under these provisions.  This rule specifies procedures to be followed
by the arbitrator in conducting the hearing.

(1) Upon the failure of a party to appear at an oral hearing, the arbi-
trator shall nevertheless conduct the hearing and render a decision
based on the evidence presented and documents contained in the file.

(2) If neither party appears at a scheduled oral hearing, the arbitra-
tor shall dismiss the case without a decision and so notify the par-
ties.  The dismissal shall be without prejudice to future refiling.

(3) In a documents-only hearing, where the manufacturer fails to
respond to the claim, the arbitrator shall render a decision based
upon the documents contained in the file.

AUTHORITY: sections 407.965 and 407.970, RSMo 2000.  Original
rule filed Jan. 27, 2003.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule.  Written comments
may be mailed or delivered to the Office of Attorney General, David
B. Cosgrove, Chief Counsel, 1530 Rax Court, PO Box 899, Jefferson
City, MO  65102.  To be considered, comments must be received with-
in thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled. 

Title 15—ELECTED OFFICIALS
Division 60—Attorney General

Chapter 11—Rules for Assistive Devices

PROPOSED RULE

15 CSR 60-11.130 Withdrawal or Settlement Prior to Decision

PURPOSE: The attorney general administers provisions of the
Wheelchair Lemon Law and Assistive Devices for Major Life Activity,
sections 407.950 to 407.970, RSMo.  The attorney general is required
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to establish regulations controlling the arbitration of disputes arising
under these provisions.  This rule specifies procedures related to
withdrawal of claims or settlement.

(1) A consumer may withdraw his or her request for arbitration at
any time prior to decision.  If the arbitration firm is notified by the
consumer of his or her request to withdraw the claim within seven
(7) business days of the filing date, the arbitration firm shall refund
the filing fee.

(2) If the parties agree to a settlement more than seven (7) business
days after the filing date but prior to the issuance of a decision, they
shall notify the arbitrator in writing of the terms of the settlement.
Upon the request of the parties, the arbitrator shall issue a decision
reflecting the settlement.

AUTHORITY: sections 407.965 and 407.970, RSMo 2000.  Original
rule filed Jan. 27, 2003.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule.  Written comments
may be mailed or delivered to the Office of Attorney General, David
B. Cosgrove, Chief Counsel, 1530 Rax Court, PO Box 899, Jefferson
City, MO 65102.  To be considered, comments must be received with-
in thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled. 

Title 15—ELECTED OFFICIALS
Division 60—Attorney General

Chapter 11—Rules for Assistive Devices

PROPOSED RULE

15 CSR 60-11.140 Arbitrator’s Decision

PURPOSE: The attorney general administers provisions of the
Wheelchair Lemon Law and Assistive Devices for Major Life
Activity, sections 407.950 to 407.970, RSMo.  The attorney general
is required to establish regulations controlling the arbitration of dis-
putes arising under these provisions.  This rule specifies procedures
to be followed by the arbitrator in reaching the decision. 

(1) The arbitrator shall render a decision within ten (10) business
days of the hearing date which shall be in writing and shall include
findings of fact and conclusions of law.  The decision shall be dated
and signed by the arbitrator.

(2) In his or her decision, the arbitrator shall determine whether the
consumer is entitled to relief pursuant to sections 407.950 to
407.970, RSMo.  If the arbitrator finds that the consumer is so enti-
tled, he or she shall award the specific remedies prescribed by the
statute.

(3) The decision shall specify the monetary award, where applicable.
A calculation of the amount, in accordance with sections 407.950 to
407.970, RSMo, shall be included in the decision.  If the consumer
prevails, the decision may also award the prescribed filing fee along
with reasonable attorney fees, if applicable, and any equitable relief
that the arbitrator deems appropriate.

(4) The decision shall, where applicable, require that any action
required to be taken by the manufacturer be completed within thirty
(30) days from the date the arbitrator notifies the manufacturer of the
decision.

(5) The arbitrator shall, within five (5) days of rendering a decision,
mail a copy of the final decision to both parties and the attorney gen-
eral.

(6) Failure to mail the decision to the parties within the specified
time period or failure to hold the hearing within the prescribed time
shall not invalidate the decision.

(7) The arbitrator’s decision is binding on both parties and is final.
The decision shall include a statement to this effect.

(8) An award rendered by the arbitrator may be confirmed, vacated
or modified in the manner set out in sections 435.400–435.440,
RSMo.

AUTHORITY: sections 407.965 and 407.970, RSMo 2000.  Original
rule filed Jan. 27, 2003.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule.  Written comments
may be mailed or delivered to the Office of Attorney General, David
B. Cosgrove, Chief Counsel, 1530 Rax Court, PO Box 899, Jefferson
City, MO  65102.  To be considered, comments must be received with-
in thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled. 

Title 15—ELECTED OFFICIALS
Division 60—Attorney General

Chapter 11—Rules for Assistive Devices

PROPOSED RULE

15 CSR 60-11.150 Record Keeping

PURPOSE: The attorney general administers provisions of the
Wheelchair Lemon Law and Assistive Devices for Major Life Activity,
sections 407.950 to 407.970, RSMo.  The attorney general is required
to establish regulations controlling the arbitration of disputes arising
under these provisions.  This rule specifies procedures related to
making a record.

(1) The arbitration firm shall keep all records pertaining to each arbi-
tration for a period of at least two (2) years and shall make the
records of a particular arbitration available for inspection upon writ-
ten request by a party to that arbitration, and shall make records of
all arbitrations available to the attorney general upon written request.

(2) At the expiration of the arbitration firm’s appointment, if that
appointment is not renewed, all records pertaining to arbitrations
conducted pursuant to sections 407.950 to 407.970, RSMo shall be
turned over to the attorney general.

AUTHORITY: sections 407.965 and 407.970, RSMo 2000.  Original
rule filed Jan. 27, 2003.
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PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule.  Written comments
may be mailed or delivered to the Office of Attorney General, David
B. Cosgrove, Chief Counsel, 1530 Rax Court, PO Box 899, Jefferson
City, MO  65102.  To be considered, comments must be received with-
in thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled. 

Title 15—ELECTED OFFICIALS
Division 60—Attorney General

Chapter 11—Rules for Assistive Devices

PROPOSED RULE

15 CSR 60-11.160 Sample “Request For Arbitration” Form

PURPOSE: The attorney general administers provisions of the
Wheelchair Lemon Law and Assistive Devices for Major Life Activity,
sections 407.950 to 407.970, RSMo.  The attorney general is required
to establish regulations controlling the arbitration of disputes arising
under these provisions.  This rule specifies a sample Request for
Arbitration form.

MISSOURI WHEELCHAIR AND ASSISTIVE DEVICE
LEMON LAW

CONSUMER INFORMATION

1. Name:_______________________________________________
Address:_____________________________________________
City:_______________________State:______ Zip:___________
Phone: Home (____)___________ Work: (____)_____________

ASSISTIVE DEVICE INFORMATION
(Attach Copy of Bill of Sale or Lease)

1. Type of Device: _______________________________ ________
(For example, Wheelchair or Hearing Aid)

2. Manufacturer: _________________________________________

3. Year: _______ Model: __________________________________
4. [   ] I purchased my assistive device [   ] I leased my assistive 

device
5. Did you purchase or lease your assistive device in Missouri?

[   ] Yes    [   ] No

6. Date of delivery? ______________________________________
7. Do you still own or lease your assistive device?

[   ] Yes    [   ] No

DEALER INFORMATION

8. Name: _______________________________________________
Address: _____________________________________________
City: ______________________ State: ______ Zip: __________

LEASING COMPANY (if leased)

9. Name: ________________________________________________
Address: ______________________________________________
City: ______________________ State: _______ Zip: __________

ASSISTIVE DEVICE PROBLEM(S)

10. Briefly describe the existing problem(s) for which you now seek
relief:
_______________________________________________________
________________________________________________________

11. (a) What date did you first report the problem(s) to the dealer or
the manufacturer? _________________________________________

(b) Did you make the assistive device available for repair before
one year after the first delivery? . . . . . . . . . Yes [   ]  No [   ]

12. Were there one or more unsuccessful repair attempts within one
year from the date of original delivery? . . . . Yes [   ]  No [   ]

13. Does the problem continue to exist? . . . . . . .Yes [   ]  No [   ]
14. Give the date and work order number for each of the repair

attempts by the dealer or manufacturer and attach copies of
them.  If you do not have copies of the work orders, once accept-
ed into the Program, you may request copies from the manu-
facturer, with the arbitrator’s approval.
Problem (Specify) _____________________________________

Date Work Order Number
(1) _________________ ___________________
(2) _________________ ___________________
(3) _________________ ___________________
(4) _________________ ___________________

15. List the dates your assistive device was out of service:
From: __________   To: __________  Days out: __________
From: __________   To: __________  Days out: __________
From: __________   To: __________  Days out: __________
From: __________   To: __________  Days out: __________

TYPE OF HEARING

16. [   ] Oral
(a) in person ........... [   ]
(b) by telephone........ [   ]

[   ] Documents only (if manufacturer agrees)

RELIEF REQUESTED

17. If successful, I wish to receive a:
[   ] full refund [   ] comparable new replacement device

Attach copies of all relevant documents (including your purchase or
lease agreement, all service or work orders relating to the problem
for which you seek this arbitration, and any correspondence between
you and the manufacturer or its dealer relating to such problem).  DO
NOT SEND ORIGINAL DOCUMENTS.

Please enclose the filing fee of $50.00.  Upon receipt of the filing
fee, your claim will begin to be processed.

NOTICE: The decision of the arbitrator under this program is
binding on both parties.  You may wish to consult an attorney before
participating in this program.

Sign below and return the completed form, together with your
documents and the filing fee, to _____________________________.

SIGNATURE: ________________________ Date: _____________
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AUTHORITY: sections 407.965 and 407.970, RSMo 2000.  Original
rule filed Jan. 27, 2003.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule.  Written comments
may be mailed or delivered to the Office of Attorney General, David
B. Cosgrove, Chief Counsel, 1530 Rax Court, PO Box 899, Jefferson
City, MO  65102.  To be considered, comments must be received with-
in thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled. 
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