
Title 1—OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATION
Division 20—Personnel Advisory Board and Division of

Personnel
Chapter 3—Personnel Selection, Appointment, Evalua-

tion and Separation

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

1 CSR 20-3.070 Separation, Suspension and Demotion. The Per-
sonnel Advisory Board is amending section (3) of this rule.

PURPOSE: This amendment is for compliance with federal regula-
tions allowing suspensions of exempt employees for one (1) workday.

(3) Suspension. An appointing authority, for disciplinary purposes,
may suspend without pay any employee in his/her division. A sus-
pension may be made for a length of time as s/he considers appro-

priate, not exceeding twenty (20) working days in any twelve (12)-
month period except that this limitation shall not apply in the event
of a terminal suspension given in conjunction with a dismissal; a sus-
pension given in connection with a criminal offense involving the use
of a controlled substance; or, with the approval of the director, a sus-
pension made pending the investigation or trial of any charges against
the employee (see section 36.370, RSMo). Employees enumerated in
1 CSR 20-5.010(1)(C) and (D) and designated as exempt from the
overtime requirements of the Fair Labor Standards Act, shall not be
suspended from duty without pay for disciplinary purposes unless the
said suspension is for one (1) or more full [workweeks] workdays.  

(6) Resignations from the classified service shall be governed by the
following provisions:

(C) [An employee who applies and is approved by the
applicable state benefit system for long-term disability or
retirement status shall be deemed to have voluntarily
resigned in good standing. Employees in either of these sit-
uations retain the reemployment eligibility to which they are
entitled under 1 CSR 20-3.030(6).] An employee who applies
and is approved by the applicable state benefit system for long-
term disability or retirement status shall be deemed to have vol-
untarily resigned (with reemployment eligibility) unless:

1. The appointing authority approves an application made
by the employee for a leave of absence without pay pursuant to 1
CSR 20-5.020(7) based on the expectation that the employee may
be rehabilitated and return to work; or

2. The employee is eligible to receive a partial disability ben-
efit under the state’s long-term disability program and the
appointing authority can accommodate a part-time work sched-
ule for the employee.

AUTHORITY: section 36.070, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed July 9,
1947, effective July 19, 1947. For intervening history, please consult
the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed Sept. 15, 2004.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition
to this proposed amendment with the Director of Personnel, Office of
Administration, PO Box 388, Jefferson City, MO 65102.  To be con-
sidered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after pub-
lication of this notice in the Missouri Register.  A public hearing is
scheduled for 1:00 p.m., December 14, 2004, in Room 490 in the
Harry S Truman State Office Building, 301 W. High Street, Jefferson
City, Missouri.

Title 1—OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATION
Division 20—Personnel Advisory Board and Division of

Personnel
Chapter 5—Working Hours, Holidays and Leaves of

Absence

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

1 CSR 20-5.025 ShareLeave.  The Personnel Advisory Board is
amending subsection (1)(G) and section (2) of this rule.
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If an agency is required by statute to hold a public hearing
before making any new rules, then a Notice of Public Hear-

ing will appear following the text of the rule. Hearing dates
must be at least thirty (30) days after publication of the notice
in the Missouri Register. If no hearing is planned or required,
the agency must give a Notice to Submit Comments. This
allows anyone to file statements in support of or in opposition
to the proposed action with the agency within a specified time,
no less than thirty (30) days after publication of the notice in
the Missouri Register. 

An agency may hold a public hearing on a rule even
though not required by law to hold one. If an agency

allows comments to be received following the hearing date,
the close of comments date will be used as the beginning day
in the ninety (90)-day-count necessary for the filing of the
order of rulemaking.
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PURPOSE: This amendment would allow for one-half of an employ-
ee’s donation to the ShareLeave pool to be identified for use by a spe-
cific eligible employee of the agency.

(1) The state agencies that are covered under section 36.350, RSMo,
may establish ShareLeave programs within their agencies for employ-
ees to donate leave to other employees. These programs may be
established under the conditions set out within the following regula-
tions:

(G) Donations shall [not be made to individuals, but shall] be
made to a departmental or agency “pool” established for this pur-
pose[;].  Each agency may, at the time the donation is made, allow
for up to one-half (1/2) of an employee’s donation to the agency
“pool” to be identified for use by a specific employee of the
agency who has been approved for ShareLeave under the agency’s
program;

(2) Each appointing authority that adopts a program under this [pro-
gram] rule shall submit a formal written policy and updates to the
Personnel Advisory Board for review. 

AUTHORITY:  sections 36.060 and 36.070, RSMo [Supp 1998]
2000. Original rule filed Oct. 31, 1996, effective May 30, 1996.
Amended: Filed Sept. 15, 1999, effective April 30, 2000. Amended:
Filed Sept. 15, 2004.

PUBLIC COST:  This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST:  This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS:  Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition
to this proposed amendment with the Director of Personnel, Office of
Administration, PO Box 388, Jefferson City, MO 65102.  To be con-
sidered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after pub-
lication of this notice in the Missouri Register.  A public hearing is
scheduled for 1:00 p.m., December 14, 2004, in Room 490 in the
Harry S Truman State Office Building, 301 W. High Street, Jefferson
City, Missouri.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT

Division 110—Missouri Dental Board
Chapter 2—General Rules

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 110-2.170 Fees. The board is proposing to amend paragraph
(1)(E)1.

PURPOSE: This amendment establishes fees for the issuance and
renewal of deep sedation/general anesthesia and conscious sedation
permits and certificates.

(1) The following fees are established by the Missouri Dental Board:
(E) Certification/Permit Fees.

1. Dentists
A. Deep Sedation/General Anesthesia

(I) Individual Permit Fee [(per person per site)] $100
(II) [Renewal Fee (per person per site)]

Site Certificate Permit Fee $100
(III) Individual Permit Renewal Fee $100
(IV) Site Certificate Renewal Fee $100

B. [Parenteral Conscious Sedation]
Conscious Sedation (Enteral and/or Parenteral)
(I) Individual Permit Fee [(per person per site)]  $100
(II) [Renewal Fee (per person per site)]

Site Certificate Permit Fee $100
(III) Individual Permit Renewal Fee $100
(IV) Site Certificate Renewal Fee $100

2. Dental Hygienists
A. Administration of Nitrous Oxide Analgesia $ 10
B. Local Anesthesia $ 10

3. Dental Assistants
A. Monitoring Nitrous Oxide Analgesia $ 10

AUTHORITY: section 332.031.3, RSMo 2000. Emergency rule filed
June 30, 1981, effective July 9, 1981, expired Nov. 6, 1981.  Origi-
nal rule filed June 30, 1981, effective Oct. 11, 1981. For intervening
history, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended:
Filed Sept. 15, 2004.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:  Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the Mis-
souri Dental Board, Sharlene Rimiller, Executive Director, PO Box
1367, Jefferson City, MO  65102, by faxing (573) 751-8216 or via e-
mail at dental@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register.  No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT

Division 110—Missouri Dental Board
Chapter 2—General Rules

PROPOSED RESCISSION

4 CSR 110-2.180 General Anesthesia. This rule defined and estab-
lished rules for the administration of general anesthesia.

PURPOSE: The board is proposing to rescind this rule and add pro-
posed rule 4 CSR 110-4.040 that will regulate deep/sedation general
anesthesia.

AUTHORITY: section 332.031.2, RSMo Supp 1997. Original rule
filed April 14, 1982, effective Oct. 11, 1982. For intervening history,
please consult the Code of State Regulations. Rescinded: Filed Sept.
15, 2004.

PUBLIC COST:  This proposed rescission will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:  Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the Mis-
souri Dental Board, Sharlene Rimiller, Executive Director, PO Box
1367, Jefferson City, MO  65102.  To be considered, comments must
be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in
the Missouri Register.  No public hearing is scheduled.
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Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT

Division 110—Missouri Dental Board
Chapter 2—General Rules

PROPOSED RESCISSION

4 CSR 110-2.181 Parenteral Conscious Sedation. This rule pro-
vided for the regulation of the administration of parenteral conscious
sedation.

PURPOSE:  The board is proposing to rescind this rule and add pro-
posed rules 4 CSR 110-4.020 and 4 CSR 110-4.030  that will regulate
conscious sedation.

AUTHORITY: section 332.031, RSMo Supp. 1997. Original rule filed
April 16, 1985, effective Aug. 26, 1985. Amended: Filed Aug. 4,
1986, effective Oct. 27, 1986. Amended: Filed May 3, 1988, effec-
tive  July 28, 1988. Amended: Filed Nov. 2, 1989, effective Feb. 25,
1990. Amended: Filed Aug. 12, 1991, effective Jan. 13, 1992.
Rescinded and readopted: Filed Sept. 15, 1998, effective April 30,
1999. Rescinded: Filed Sept. 15, 2004.

PUBLICY COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:  Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the Mis-
souri Dental Board, Sharlene Rimiller, Executive Director, PO Box
1367, Jefferson City, MO  65102, by faxing (573) 751-8216 or via e-
mail at dental@pr.mo.gov.  To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register.  No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT

Division 110—Missouri Dental Board
Chapter 4—Sedation

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 110-4.010 Definitions

PURPOSE: This rule defines terms used throughout the rules of
Chapter 4.

(1) The following words and terms, when used in this rule, shall have
the following meanings.

(A) Anxiolysis—the diminution or elimination of anxiety without
diminishing in any manner the patient’s ability to think, speak, or
respond.  Anxiolysis is not conscious sedation.

(B) Conscious sedation—a minimally depressed level of con-
sciousness that retains the patient’s ability to independently and con-
tinuously maintain an airway and respond appropriately to physical
stimulation and verbal command, and that is produced by a pharma-
cologic or non-pharmacologic method, or a combination thereof.
Conscious sedation is not deep sedation or general anesthesia. 

(C) Conscious sedation permit—a document issued by the Mis-
souri Dental Board to a dentist that allows the dentist to administer
enteral and/or parenteral conscious sedation.

(D) Conscious sedation site certificate—a document issued by the
Missouri Dental Board to a specific dental office where conscious
sedation is administered.

(E) Deep sedation—a controlled state of depressed consciousness
accompanied by partial loss of protective reflexes, including the
inability to continually maintain an airway independently and/or to
respond purposefully to verbal command, and is produced by a phar-
macologic or non-pharmacologic method or a combination thereof. 

(F) Deep sedation/general anesthesia permit—a document issued
by the Missouri Dental Board to a dentist that allows the dentist to
administer deep sedation/general anesthesia.  

(G) Deep sedation/general anesthesia site certificate—a document
issued by the Missouri Dental Board to a specific dental office where
deep sedation/general anesthesia is administered.

(H) Dentist-in-charge—a dentist duly licensed by the board to
practice at a facility in which sedation anesthesia services are to be
offered and who assumes the responsibility to assure that the facility
is properly equipped and the sedation team is properly trained.

(I) Dental office—a facility where dentistry is practiced in accor-
dance with the provisions of section 332.071, RSMo.

(J) Dentist—one who is currently licensed to practice as a dentist
in Missouri and is ultimately responsible for the sedation procedure
of a dental patient under his/her care. 

(K) Enteral conscious sedation—a technique of administration in
which the drug is absorbed through the gastrointestinal tract or oral
mucosa (i.e. oral, rectal, or sublingual). Enteral conscious sedation
is not parenteral conscious sedation, deep sedation or general anes-
thesia. 

(L) Facility inspection—an inspection confirming the adequacy of
the dental office to provide enteral and/or parenteral conscious seda-
tion by consultants appointed by the board to insure public safety. 

(M) General anesthesia—a controlled state of unconsciousness
accompanied by partial or complete loss of protective reflexes,
including the inability to independently and continuously maintain an
airway and respond purposefully to physical stimulation or verbal
command, and is produced by a pharmacologic or non-pharmaco-
logic method or a combination thereof.  

(N) Nurse anesthetist—a nurse recognized or licensed by the Mis-
souri State Board of Nursing, who is certified to administer anesthe-
sia by a nationally recognized certifying body approved by the Mis-
souri State Board of Nursing in accordance with Chapter 335,
RSMo.

(O) On-site evaluation—a performance evaluation of the compe-
tency of the sedation team by consultants appointed by the board to
insure public safety.

(P) Parenteral conscious sedation—a technique of administration
in which the drug bypasses the gastrointestinal tract, i.e. routes of
administration: intravenous (I.V.), intramuscular (I.M.), intranasal
(I.N.), subcutaneous (S.C.), intraoccular (I.O).  Parenteral con-
scious sedation is not deep sedation or general anesthesia. 

(Q) Physician anesthesiologist—a physician licensed by the Mis-
souri State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts in accordance
with Chapter 334, RSMo, with privileges in general anesthesia at an
institution accredited by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of
Healthcare Organizations (JCAHO) or the American Osteopathic
Association (AOA).

(R) Sedation team—those individuals qualified pursuant to 4 CSR
110-4.030(7)(B) and employed by the dental office involved with the
treatment and/or monitoring of a sedation patient. 

(S) Qualified sedation provider—any of the following who have
satisfied the provisions of this rule:

1. A currently licensed dentist in Missouri with a valid permit
to administer enteral and/or parenteral conscious sedation; 

2. A currently licensed physician anesthesiologist; or
3. A currently licensed nurse anesthetist.

AUTHORITY: sections 332.031, RSMo 2000, 332.071, RSMo Supp.
2003 and 332.361 as amended by HCS/HB 1422 2004. Original rule
filed Sept. 15, 2004.



PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:  Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri
Dental Board, Sharlene Rimiller, Executive Director, PO Box 1367,
Jefferson City, MO  65102, by faxing (573) 751-8216 or via e-mail at
dental@pr.mo.gov.  To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT

Division 110—Missouri Dental Board
Chapter 4—Sedation 

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 110-4.020 Conscious Sedation

PURPOSE:  This rule provides for the regulation of the administra-
tion of conscious sedation in a dental office.

(1) No dentist shall administer enteral and/or parenteral conscious
sedation unless the dentist possesses a conscious sedation permit
issued by the Missouri Dental Board.  (A dentist is not required to
possess a permit for the prescription or administration of Schedule II
drugs prescribed for anxiolysis and/or pain control.)  This permit
shall be renewed by June 1 every five (5) years from the year of
issuance. 

(2) No dentist shall prescribe sedative agents for enteral sedation
unless the dentist possesses an enteral or parenteral conscious seda-
tion permit issued by the Missouri Dental Board.  No dentist shall
prescribe parenteral conscious sedation agents unless the dentist pos-
sesses a parenteral conscious sedation permit issued by the Missouri
Dental Board.

(3) No dentist shall administer enteral and/or parenteral conscious
sedation at a dental office unless the office has been issued a site cer-
tificate by the Missouri Dental Board.  No dental office shall be the
site for the administration of enteral and/or parenteral conscious
sedation without being issued a site certificate by the Missouri Den-
tal Board. This site certificate shall be renewed by June 1 every five
(5) years from the year of issuance. The dentist-in-charge is respon-
sible for submitting the application and maintaining the documenta-
tion as required in sections (8) and (10) of this rule. 

(4) If the primary administrator of enteral and/or parenteral con-
scious sedation in a dental office is a physician anesthesiologist or a
nurse anesthetist, the dentist must order the anesthesia services, is
responsible for the readiness of the dental office, preoperative patient
evaluation and appropriate medical consultations, the coordination of
and emergency preparedness of the  sedation team, and the mainte-
nance of appropriate records.  The dentist must evaluate the patient
prior to the procedure, remain in the dental office, and evaluate the
patient prior to discharge.

(5) To qualify for an enteral conscious sedation permit, a dentist
shall:

(A) Document satisfactory completion of:

1. Training consistent with Part I and Part III of the American
Dental Association (ADA) Guidelines for Teaching the Comprehen-
sive Control of Pain and Anxiety in Dentistry; or

2. An ADA accredited post-doctoral training program that
affords training necessary to administer enteral conscious sedation;
or

3. An enteral conscious sedation course approved by the Mis-
souri Dental Board; and

(B) Document completion during the past five (5) years of—
1. An Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) course; or
2. A minimum of fifteen (15) hours of other board-approved

continuing education pertaining to medical emergencies, anesthesia
complications, or patient management while under sedation.

3. Additional hours, not to exceed five (5), acquired beyond the
required number may be carried forward into the renewal cycle.

(6) To qualify for a permit to administer enteral and parenteral con-
scious sedation, a dentist shall:

(A) Document satisfactory completion of a postgraduate program
which is approved or accredited to teach postgraduate dental or med-
ical education by the ADA, the Accreditation Council for Graduate
Medical Education of the American Medical Association (AMA), or
the Education Committee of the AOA.  This program shall include:

1. Sixty (60) hours of didactic training in pain and anxiety con-
trol and related subjects in accordance with the guidelines of the
ADA; 

2. Successful management of parenteral conscious sedation in
twenty (20) patients; 

3. General anesthesia training in which there is documented
clinical experience in managing compromised airways; 

4. Certification of competency by the course director in airway
management; and 

5. Certification of competency by the course director in par-
enteral conscious sedation; 

(B) Document completion during the past five (5) years of—
1. An Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) course; or, 
2. A minimum of fifteen (15) hours of other board-approved

continuing education pertaining to medical emergencies, anesthesia
complications, or patient management while under sedation.  

3. Additional hours, not to exceed five (5), acquired beyond the
required number may be carried forward into the renewal cycle.

(C) Successfully complete an on-site evaluation by consultants
appointed by the board.  On-site evaluations shall be conducted in
accordance with 4 CSR 110-4.030. 

(7) To qualify for a conscious sedation site certificate: 
(A) The dentist-in-charge of the dental office shall document that:

1. The primary administrator of enteral and or parenteral con-
scious sedation is a qualified sedation provider as  set forth in 4 CSR
110-4.010(1)(S); 

2. All conscious sedation team members (two (2) minimum) and
the dentist, possess and maintain current certification in cardiopul-
monary resuscitation (CPR), basic life support (BLS), or ACLS; 

3. All conscious sedation team members, including the dentist,
possess certification from a board approved course provider in mon-
itoring conscious sedation; 

4. The dental office is properly maintained and equipped as set
forth in 4 CSR 110-4.030; and

5. The dental office has written protocols for sedation of dental
patients as set forth in 4 CSR 110-4.030 including but not limited to
the following:

A. Preoperative patient evaluation and selection prior to con-
scious sedation; 

B. Informed consent procedures;
C. Sedation monitoring procedures;
D. Maintaining appropriate records during sedation proce-

dures;
E. Patient discharge assessment; and
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F. Responding to emergencies incident to the administration
of enteral and/or parenteral conscious sedation.

(B) The dental office shall undergo a facility inspection as set forth
in 4 CSR 110-4.030 to confirm the adequacy of the dental office and
the competency of the sedation team.

(8) The board shall issue an enteral and/or parenteral conscious seda-
tion permit upon receipt of a completed application form, payment
of the appropriate fee specified in 4 CSR 110-2.170, proof of having
met the requirements of sections  (5) and/or  (6) of this rule, and
determination that the applicant is a licensee in good standing. To be
in good standing the licensee’s dental license(s) must be current and
not under restriction or discipline in any state. The requirements of
this section must be completed within one (1) year of the date of sub-
mission of the application form.

(9) The board shall issue a conscious sedation site certificate upon
receipt of a completed application form, payment of the appropriate
fee specified in 4 CSR 110-2.170, and proof of having met the
requirements of section  (7) of this rule. The requirements of this sec-
tion must be completed within one (1) year of the date of submission
of the application form.

(10) To renew a permit to administer enteral and/or parenteral con-
scious sedation a dentist shall, at least ninety (90) days prior to the
expiration of the current permit: 

(A) Submit a completed renewal application form provided by the
board; 

(B) Submit the renewal fee specified in 4 CSR 110-2.170 payable
to the Missouri Dental Board; and

(C) Document completion during the past five (5) years of—
1. An Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) course; or, 
2. A minimum of fifteen (15) hours of other board-approved

continuing education pertaining to medical emergencies, anesthesia
complications, or patient management while under sedation.  

3. Additional hours, not to exceed five (5), acquired beyond the
required number may be carried forward into the renewal cycle.

(11) To renew a site certificate for enteral and/or parenteral con-
scious sedation the dentist-in-charge shall, at least ninety (90) days
prior to the expiration of the current site certificate: 

(A) Submit a completed renewal application form provided by the
board; 

(B) Submit the renewal fee specified in 4 CSR 110-2.170 payable
to the Missouri Dental Board; 

(C) Attest that the primary administrator of enteral and/or par-
enteral conscious sedation is a qualified sedation provider as set forth
in 4 CSR 110-4.010(1)(S); 

(D) Document that the sedation team, as well as the permitted
dentist, possess and maintain current certification in CPR, BLS, or
ACLS; 

(E) Submit to the board a minimum of five (5) unedited, complete
patient records of the permitted dentist, physician anesthesiologist,
or nurse anesthetist administering conscious sedation in the dental
office that may be chosen by the board from the preceding five (5)
years, documenting management of conscious sedation patients in
accordance with the criteria set forth in 4 CSR 110-4.030; and

(F) Undergo a facility inspection as set forth in 4 CSR 110-4.030
to confirm the adequacy of the dental office and the competency of
the sedation team.  

(12) A dentist holding a current intravenous conscious sedation
(IVCS) permit or a parenteral conscious sedation permit on or before
the effective date of this rule, shall be authorized to perform all
means of parenteral conscious sedation set forth in  4 CSR 110-
4.010(1)(P).

(13) A dentist holding a current IVCS permit or a parenteral con-
scious sedation permit on or before the effective date of this rule
shall, upon renewal, receive a permit to administer enteral and par-
enteral conscious sedation upon compliance with the renewal
requirements set forth in section (10) of this rule.

(14) A dentist holding a permit of authorization for the administra-
tion of deep sedation/general anesthesia under 4 CSR 110-4.040 may
use conscious sedation without a permit for conscious sedation.

(15) The dentist-in-charge of a dental office in receipt of a conscious
sedation site certificate must insure that the conscious sedation team
meet the clinical requirements and the dental office meets the stan-
dards for utilization as set forth in 4 CSR 110-4.030.

(16) At any time, the board may inspect a dental office where con-
scious sedation is administered in order to verify compliance with the
minimum requirements of this rule.

(17) If at any time the board learns that a dentist who holds a permit
to administer enteral and/or parenteral conscious sedation, or a site
certificate where enteral and/or parenteral conscious sedation is
administered, has failed to meet the minimum qualifications set out
in this rule, the board may pursue disciplinary action in accordance
with section 332.321, RSMo.

(18) Due to narrow therapeutic dose ranges for conscious sedation,
use of thiopental, methohexitol, and propofol for conscious sedation
of dental patients will be restricted to qualified deep sedation/gener-
al anesthesia providers as defined in 4 CSR 110-4.040.

(19) The provisions of this rule are declared severable. If any provi-
sion of this rule is held invalid by a court of competent jurisdiction,
the remaining provisions of this rule shall remain in full force and
effect unless otherwise determined by a court of competent jurisdic-
tion.

AUTHORITY: section 332.031, RSMo 2000 and 332.071 (SB 1122)
and 332.361 (HB 1422) amended 2004. Original rule filed Sept. 15,
2004.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will cost state agencies or polit-
ical subdivisions an estimated twenty-three thousand four hundred
eighty-three dollars and seventy-five cents ($23,483.75) in FY06;
three thousand six hundred five dollars and thirty-two cents
($3,605.32) in FY07; three thousand seven hundred eleven dollars
and fifty-two cents ($3,711.52) in FY08; three thousand six hundred
fifty-eight dollars and forty-two cents ($3,658.42) in FY09; three
thousand five hundred eighty-four dollars and three cents
($3,584.03) in FY10; twenty-five thousand two hundred thirty-five
dollars and forty-seven cents ($25,235.47) in FY11; seven thousand
five hundred twenty-nine dollars and sixty-four cents ($7,529.64) in
FY12; nine thousand nine hundred twenty-nine dollars and twenty-
four cents ($9,924.24) in FY13; eight thousand one hundred fifty-six
dollars and nine cents ($8,156.09) in FY14; seven thousand two hun-
dred seventy-nine dollars and six cents ($7,279.06) in FY15; and
eight thousand nine hundred three dollars and ninety-two cents
($8,903.92) in FY16. Because the board issues permits and certifi-
cates on a five (5)-year cycle, a continuous annual growth rate will
occur based on the assumption of issuing twenty (20) permits and
twenty-eight (28) certificates for the life of the rule. It is anticipated
that the cost will recur for the life of the rule, may vary with infla-
tion and is expected to increase at the rate projected by the Legisla-
tive Oversight Committee.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will cost private entities an esti-
mated thirty-five thousand seven hundred forty-three dollars and thir-
ty cents ($35,743.30) in FY06; five thousand eight hundred seventy
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dollars and seventy-two cents ($5,870.72) in FY07; six thousand
eight hundred seventy-four dollars and forty-two cents ($6,874.42) in
FY08; six thousand three hundred seventy-two dollars and fifty-seven
cents ($6,372.57) in FY09; five thousand six hundred sixty-nine dol-
lars and ninety-eight cents ($5,669.98) in FY10; thirty-nine thousand
nine hundred ninety-six dollars and fifty-two cents ($39,996.52) in
FY11; eleven thousand four hundred eight-one dollars and eighty
cents ($11,481.08) in FY12; fourteen thousand four hundred eighty-
eight dollars and forty-eight cents ($14,488.48) in FY13; twelve
thousand four hundred ninety-five  dollars and fourteen cents
($12,495.14) in FY14; eleven thousand eighty-nine dollars and nine-
ty-six cents ($11,089.96) in FY15; and forty-five thousand two hun-
dred fifteen dollars and seventy-six cents ($45,215.76) in FY16.
Because the board issues permits and certificates on a five (5)-year
cycle, a continuous annual growth rate will occur based on the
assumption of issuing twenty-four (24) permits and twenty-eight (28)
certificates for the life of the rule. It is anticipated that the cost will
recur annually for the life of the rule, may vary with inflation and is
expected to increase annually at the rate projected by the Legislative
Oversight Committee. 

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:  Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri
Dental Board, Sharlene Rimiller, Executive Director, PO Box 1367,
Jefferson City, MO  65102, by faxing (573) 751-8216 or via e-mail at
dental@pr.mo.gov.  To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled.
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Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT

Division 110—Missouri Dental Board
Chapter 4—Sedation

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 110-4.030 Guidelines for Administration of Conscious
Sedation 

PURPOSE:  This rule provides for the requirements and guidelines
dentists are required to follow in the administration of sedative drugs.

(1) Introduction.
(A) These guidelines are provided to certificate holders in the

administration of enteral or parenteral conscious sedation.
(B) Implicit in the administration of sedative drugs is the dictum

that they be used in a safe and effective manner.  
(C) The goals of conscious sedation are:

1. Sufficient control of patient behavior to enable the practi-
tioner to provide quality treatment;

2. Prompt recovery so that the patient leaves the office in a state
of consciousness as close to normal for that patient as possible; and

3. Promotion of a positive psychological response to treatment.  

(2) Patient Records.
(A) The patient’s record shall provide a legible database that aids

in treatment planning and selection of the sedation technique and
shall furnish the following:

1. Database:
A. Full name;
B. Address (home and work);
C. Telephone number (home and work);
D. Date of birth and sex;
E. Height and weight;
F. Name of parent or guardian, if applicable;
G. Name and telephone number of person to notify in event

of emergency; and
H. Patient’s physician’s name and telephone number.

2.  Medical history:
A. Chief complaint followed by history of the present illness

or a brief statement about the patient’s problem; and 
B. Past medical history and systems review including, but not

limited to:
(I) Physician(s) of record; 
(II) Hospitalizations within the last five (5) years;
(III) Allergies;
(IV) Present medications (prescription, nonprescription,

homeopathic): dosages, intervals, and recent changes;
(V) Major medical illnesses, disorders or abnormalities;
(VI) Prior anesthetic complications;
(VII) Breathing or respiratory difficulties;
(VIII) Previous hospitalizations;
(IX) Review of the following with interrogative clarifica-

tion of positive responses:
(a) Myocardial infarction;
(b) Hepatitis or liver disease;
(c) Hypertension;
(d) Renal disease;
(e) Dysrhythmias;
(f) Anemia;
(g) Angina;
(h) Bleeding dyscrasias;
(i) Heart murmur;
(j) Human immunodeficiency virus (HIV);
(k) Congestive heart failure;
(l) Mitral valve prolapse;
(m) Rheumatic fever;

(n) Artificial joint; and
(o) Diabetes.

3. Core physical examination:
A. Observation of patient’s physical stature, posture, and rel-

ative ambulatory ability;
B. Observation of patient’s attentiveness, responsiveness, and

verbal ability;
C. Oral examination; 
D. Potential airway problems;
E. Baseline blood pressure, heart rate and rhythm, and respi-

ration rate;
F. Temperature—only if necessary for present problem.

(3) Pre-Operative Patient Evaluation and Selection. 
(A) Patients who are administered enteral or parenteral conscious

sedation must be suitably evaluated to include, but not be limited to
the following:

1. An appropriate review of the patient’s database by  the den-
tist to determine that data pertaining to all of the following are pre-
sent:

A. Patient age;
B. Patient weight;
C. Individual responsible for informed consent; and
D. Emergency contact person and telephone number;

2. An appropriate review of the medical history with opportu-
nity for interrogative clarification by  the dentist.  The record must
indicate that the  dentist reviewed the medical history;

3. An appropriate review of the core physical examination.  The
record must indicate the  dentist reviewed the findings;

4. An appropriate review of all medications used by the patient,
both prescription and non-prescription.  The record must indicate the
dentist reviewed the medication inventory;

5. Documented American Society of Anesthesiologist classifi-
cation; and

6. Documented consultation with physicians of record when
indicated.

(4) American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) Classifications
must be documented and substantiated. 

(A) American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) classifications: 
1. Class I—There is no organic, physiologic, biochemical, or

psychiatric disturbance.  The pathological process for which the
operation is to be performed is localized and is not a systemic dis-
turbance.  The patient has no limits on his/her activity level, and in
general is to be considered in good or excellent  health.

2. Class II—Mild-to-moderate systemic disturbance caused
either by the condition to be treated surgically or by other patho-
physiological processes.  The disease processes are stable or med-
ically controlled and they are not functionally limiting.  Examples:
tightly-controlled insulin or non-insulin dependent diabetes;  stable
asthma;  symptomatic hypertension;  controlled thyroid disease;
smoker;  obesity;  or severe anxiety.

3. Class III—Severe systemic disturbance or disease from what-
ever cause, even though it may not be possible to define the degree
of disability with finality.  Activity is significantly limited by the dis-
ease, but is not totally incapacitating. The patient may easily decom-
pensate under stress.  Examples:  severe asthma;   poorly controlled
diabetes mellitus; angina, especially if unstable or frequent;  status
post (S/P) myocardial infarction of cerebral vascular accident (CVA)
less than six (6) months ago.

4. Class IV—Indicative of the patient with severe systemic dis-
order that is a constant threat to life and not always correctable by
the operative procedure.  Functionally incapacitating; a totally unsta-
ble patient who is in and out of lethal states.   Examples:  unstable
angina;   congestive heart failure/chronic obstructive pulmonary dis-
ease (CHF/COPD) requiring supplemental oxygen (O2) or wheel-
chair confinement, uncontrolled systemic disease (diabetes mellitus);
or symptomatic dysrhythmias.
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5. Class V—The moribund patient who has little chance of sur-
vival but is submitted to operation in desperation.  A hospitalized
patient of the expectant category.

(B) Healthy or medically stable individuals (ASA Class I or II)
require a review of the patient’s current medical history and medica-
tions.   

(C) Patients who may not be medically stable or who have a sig-
nificant health disability (ASA III) require a medical consultation
from a physician.  ASA III patients who are treated in the office set-
ting must have evidence of the dentist’s consultation with the treating
physician (written or oral) in the record.  Such consultation should
elicit the physician’s concurrence with decision to utilize the pro-
posed office sedative technique.  

(D) ASA III, IV, and V patients are not candidates for enteral
sedation.  

(E) ASA IV and V patients are not candidates for parenteral seda-
tion outside a hospital setting.

(5) Informed Consent. 
(A) Appropriate informed consent must be obtained prior to

administration of enteral or parenteral conscious sedation.
(B) All of the following requirements for informed consent must

be satisfied and documented prior to administration of conscious
sedation:

1. The patient and/or guardian must be advised of the specific
procedure inducing enteral or parenteral conscious sedation;

2. The patient and/or guardian must be advised of the risks
associated with the delivery of enteral or parenteral conscious seda-
tion;

3. The patient and/or guardian must be advised of the options
to the delivery of the enteral or parenteral conscious sedation;

4. The patient or the guardian must be advised that unforeseen
circumstances do occur and the dentist and the sedation team need
permission in advance to change the plan of treatment if it is deemed
in their professional judgement to be in the best interest of the
patient;

5. The patient and/or guardian must be afforded the opportuni-
ty to have concerns and questions addressed by the dentist; and

6. The patient and/or guardian’s consent must be documented.
(C) Refer to section (16) for a sample conscious sedation informed

consent.

(6) Sedation Documentation Requirements.
(A) A time oriented anesthesia record must be documented includ-

ing the dosage and administration of drugs and physiologic data
obtained during patient monitoring.

(B) At a minimum, the anesthetic record must contain the follow-
ing:

1. Names of the  qualified sedation provider and sedation team
members (dentist, anesthetist, assistants);

2. Date;
3. Documentation of nothing by mouth; 
4. Vital signs recorded (blood pressure, pulse rate, and percent

of O2 saturation):
A. Preoperatively;
B. After delivery of initial medications (to include the local

anesthesia); and
C. At a minimum every fifteen (15) minutes throughout the

procedure;
5. Start and finish times for the anesthesia procedure and the

operative procedure;
6. Agents delivered (name, dosage, route of administration, and

flow rates);
7. Local anesthetics; 
8. Inhalation agents;
9. Sedatives;

10. When medications are prescribed or dispensed, a copy of
the prescription or a notation describing the medication should be in
the patient’s chart with the instructions for use;

11. Complications or unusual reactions (all pertinent data, vital
signs, and/or medications, etc.); and 

12. Discharge status.
(C) Monitoring data must be documented by qualified personnel

capable of physical assessment of a sedated patient.  

(7)  Monitoring Procedures. 
(A) Conscious sedation patients shall be monitored under the

direct and continuous supervision  of a sedation team member.  
(B) For the purpose of supervising and monitoring a consciously

sedated patient members of the sedation team shall be:
1. Capable of physical assessment of a sedated patient; 
2. Certified in Basic Life Support (BLS), Cardiopulmonary

Resuscitation (CPR), or Advanced Cardiopulmonary Life Support
(ACLS); 

3. Certified in monitoring conscious sedation from a board
approved course provider; and 

4. Knowledgeable about medical emergency response incident
to the use of enteral and parenteral conscious sedation, including the
use of resuscitation equipment and emergency medications.

(C) Strict reliance on measuring a single physiologic parameter
may be not only misleading but also potentially hazardous.  As a
rule, no single symptom may be diagnostic of a particular condition,
but rather the total patient must be evaluated.

(D) Monitoring criteria include:
1. Oxygenation.  Color of mucosa, skin or blood shall be con-

tinually evaluated.  Oxygen saturation must be evaluated continuous-
ly by pulse oximetry;

2. Ventilation. Observation of chest excursions and/or ausculta-
tion of breath sounds; and 

3. Circulation. Record initial blood pressure and pulse and
thereafter, as appropriate.

(E) Monitoring methods can be divided into mechanical and non-
mechanical means.

1. Non-mechanical means shall include:
A. Patient and blood color;
B. Respiratory rate, depth and rhythm;
C. Patient’s response to verbal conversation is an excellent

gauge to depth of sedation.  Is it quick, appropriate, and clear, or is
it difficult to obtain, inappropriate and markedly slurred;  

D. Body posturing; and
E. Skin status.

2. Mechanical means shall include:
A. Blood pressure and pulse rate;
B. Pulse oximetry; and
C. Pretracheal stethoscope, electrocardiogram (ECG) and

temperature monitor, if appropriate.
(F) A consciously sedated patient must have direct and continuous

supervision and monitoring until oxygenation, respiration, and cir-
culation are stable and the patient is appropriately responsive for dis-
charge from the facility.

(8) Discharge Assessment and Procedures.
(A) The final responsibility for determining whether a patient is

appropriately responsive and stable for discharge rests solely with the
dentist.  This may be done in consultation with a nurse anesthetist or
physician anesthesiologist. 

(B) Patients who have unusual reactions to enteral or parenteral
conscious sedation shall be assisted and monitored until stable for
discharge.  Recovery must be documented.

(C) The patient must be continually observed during the recovery
period and discharged only when the following criteria are met:

1. Cardiovascular function is satisfactory and stable;
2. Airway patency is uncompromised and satisfactory;
3. Patient is easily arousable and protective reflexes intact;
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4. Patient’s state of hydration is adequate;
5. Patient can verbalize appropriately;
6. Patient can sit unaided; 
7. Patient can ambulate with minimal precautionary assistance; 
8. For a very young child or disabled patient, the pre-sedated

level of responsiveness should be achieved;
9. Appropriate post-discharge supervision confirmed; and
10. Post-operative instructions reviewed with individual respon-

sible for post-discharge supervision.

(9) Personnel.
(A) The minimum number of individuals available to support a

sedated patient shall be three (3): the dentist and two (2) members of
the sedation team, which may include a nurse anesthetist or physi-
cian anesthesiologist.

(B) All individuals that may be called upon to be responsible for
supervising and monitoring sedated patients shall be qualified as set
forth in (7)(B).

(10) Facilities and Equipment.
(A) Access and egress to the dental facility and the operatories

used for conscious sedation shall meet the requirements of the Amer-
icans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and allow access for emergency
medical personnel and equipment.

(B) The operatory should be large enough to permit personnel to
move freely about the patient.  Monitors shall be positioned for easy
visualization.

(C) The operating table or dental chair should be positioned to
permit personnel to maintain the airway, allow quick alteration of
patient position, provide a firm platform for the management of car-
diopulmonary resuscitation, and provide access to the patient’s oral
cavity.

(D) The recovery area, whether the operatory or a separate area,
shall allow continuous patient visualization by personnel and have
sufficient room to treat any emergency. Further, it shall be equipped
with systems to allow appropriate monitoring, for providing oxygen
under pressure and suction, and provide adequate lighting and elec-
trical outlets.

(E) Equipment shall include:
1. A suction system allowing tonsillar (enteral sedation) and

catheter suction (parenteral sedation); 
2. A positive pressure oxygen delivery system accommodating

both adult and pediatric patients (if pediatric patients are treated); 
3. Inhalation anesthetic systems coded to prevent accidental

administration of the wrong gas and equipped with a fail-safe mech-
anism; 

4. A portable oxygen unit with appropriate accessories;  
5. A pulse oximetry monitor; 
6. A defibrillator (an automatic defibrillator is recommended). 

(F) An electrocardiograph is recommended equipment if the pri-
mary administrator of enteral and/or parenteral conscious sedation is
competent in its use and interpretation.

(G) Backup systems shall include:
1. A protocol for obtaining emergency assistance;
2. Battery-powered lighting of sufficient intensity to complete

any procedure; and
3. Backup suction sufficient to complete any procedure.

(11) Resuscitation Equipment.
(A) An emergency kit should be readily accessible and portable.

It should contain drugs and equipment of appropriate sizes to resus-
citate a non-breathing, unconscious patient who may also be suffer-
ing varying degrees of cardiovascular collapse to sustain life until
responsibility for the patient’s care is assumed by appropriate med-
ical personnel (e.g., emergency medical technicians (EMTs), physi-
cian, emergency room personnel).

(B) Resuscitation equipment shall be immediately accessible and
appropriate for the route of administration of the permit holder:

(C) All conscious sedation permit holders should have immediate
access to: 

1. Airway and ventilation equipment;
A. Oxygen; 
B. Full face masks of appropriate sizes to accommodate all

sedated patients;
C. Mechanism to deliver O2 with positive pressure;
D. Equipment for performing an emergency cricothyroidoto-

my; and 
E. Nasopharyngeal and oral airways;

2. Tonsillar suction;
3. Syringes and needles for intravenous (IV) drug administra-

tion; and
4. Unexpired medications as set forth in section (15). 

(D) In addition, parenteral conscious sedation permit holders
should have immediate access to:

1. IV solutions and equipment for establishment of an IV route,
and appropriate fluids;

2. Sterile water for injection and/or mixing or dilution of drugs;
3. Catheter suction; and 
4. Syringes and needles for IV drug administration.

(12) Site Certificate. 
(A) No facility shall be the site for the administration of enteral

and/or parenteral conscious sedation without being issued a site cer-
tificate pursuant to 4 CSR 110-4.020.  

(B) The board may require a facility requesting a site certificate
for conscious sedation undergo a facility inspection.  Facility inspec-
tions will be conducted by board appointed consultants from the
Conscious Sedation Evaluation Committee of the Missouri Dental
Board.  A facility inspection will be deemed satisfactory when all
criteria in subsections (12)(C) and (D) of this rule have been satis-
factorily met.

1. All parenteral sedation permit applicants shall receive an on-
site evaluation;

2. Enteral conscious sedation permit applicants may receive an
on-site evaluation; and 

3. The board may, at any time, inspect a facility where con-
scious sedation is administered in order to verify compliance with the
minimum requirements of the conscious sedation rule.

(C) The facility shall be properly maintained and equipped.  The
dentist-in-charge shall verify via notarized affidavit the following
exists and is in good working order:

1. Adequate access and egress for emergency medical personnel
to dental facility and operatories used for sedation;

2. Operatory and recovery room design enables appropriate
monitoring and emergency response;

3. Emergency kit is accessible, portable, and contains drugs and
equipment of appropriate sizes to resuscitate a non-breathing, uncon-
scious patient;

4. Positive pressure oxygen and appropriate face masks;
5. Portable oxygen;
6. Tonsillar vacuum;. 
7. Pulse oximetry;
8. Pretracheal stethoscope;
9. Nasopharyngeal and oral airways;
10. Battery-powered lighting of sufficient intensity to complete

any procedure;
11. Backup suction to complete any procedure; and
12. Defibrillator.

(D) Sedation team members shall be capable of safely executing
procedures associated with enteral and/or parenteral conscious seda-
tion.  The dentist-in-charge shall verify the following via notarized
affidavit: 

1. The primary administrator of enteral and/or parenteral con-
scious sedation is a qualified sedation provider as defined in subsec-
tion (1)(Q) of 4 CSR 110-4.010 who maintains current certification
and licensure in their field of practice;
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2. Appropriate patient records are maintained as set forth in sec-
tion (2) of this rule.

3. Appropriate patient selection criteria are employed as set
forth in sections (3) and (4) of this rule.  The dentist-in-charge and
permitted dentists should be prepared to demonstrate knowledge of
physical evaluation of patients, ASA classifications, and their appli-
cation to appropriate patient selection;

4. Appropriate informed consent is utilized as set forth in sec-
tion (5) of this rule;

5. Time oriented anesthesia records are appropriately main-
tained as set forth in section (6) of this rule;

6. Direct and continuous monitoring of sedated patients is
accomplished by sedation team members through recovery until dis-
charge as set forth section (7) of this rule;

7. Appropriate documentation occurs for the management and
treatment of sedated patients; and

8. Appropriate criteria are in place to determine when a patient
can be safely discharged and appropriate post-operative instructions
are given to responsible individuals who will supervise the sedated
patient after discharge as set forth in section (8) of this rule.

(E) The sedation team shall be capable of responding to emergen-
cies incident to the administration of enteral and/or parenteral con-
scious sedation.  The  sedation team should be prepared for the fol-
lowing emergencies and be competent in simulated responses: 

1. General emergency response protocol;
2. Laryngospasm;
3. Acute airway obstruction;
4. Cardiopulmonary arrest;
5. Allergic reaction to drugs;
6. Hypotension;
7. Angina pectoris;
8. Possible myocardial infarction;
9. Emesis and aspiration of vomitus; and 
10. Convulsions.

(13) Board Approved Courses.
(A) A course satisfying the educational requirements for an enter-

al conscious sedation permit shall include, but not be limited to:
1. Appropriate definitions;
2. Appropriate patient records;
3. Review of history and physical evaluation;
4. ASA classification;
5. Indications for medical consultations;
6. Appropriate patient selection;
7. Properly maintained and equipped facilities;
8. Informed consent;
9. Pharmacological review of common sedatives and reversal

agents;
10. Time oriented anesthesia record;
11. Monitoring and assessment of the sedated patient during

treatment and recovery;
12. Appropriate documentation of the management and treat-

ment of sedated patients;
13. Appropriate discharge criteria;
14. Post-sedation instructions;
15. Response to most common emergencies incident to admin-

istration of conscious sedation; and 
16. An examination measuring knowledge required of a dentist

essential for safe and efficient conscious sedation of dental patients.
(B) The sedation monitoring course content shall include, but not

be limited to:
1. Appropriate definitions;
2. Appropriate patient records;
3. Reviewing patient records for essential data and screening

medical histories;
4. ASA classification and appropriate patient selection;
5. Properly maintained and equipped facilities;
6. Informed consent;

7. Time oriented anesthesia record;
8. Monitoring and assessment of the sedated patient during

treatment and recovery;
9. Appropriate documentation of the management and treatment

of sedated patients;
10. Appropriate discharge criteria;
11. Auxiliary roles in response to most common emergencies

incident to administration of conscious sedation; and 
12. An examination measuring knowledge necessary for safe,

effective monitoring of a sedated dental patient.

(14) References.
(A) Office Anesthesia Evaluation Manual

American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons
9700 West Bryn Mawr Ave
Rosemont, IL  60018

(B) Guidelines for the Use of Conscious Sedation, Deep Sedation
and General Anesthesia for Dentists

American Dental Association
211 East Chicago Avenue
Chicago, IL  60611-2678

(15) Emergency Drugs. 
(A) Minimum required emergency drugs for enteral sedation.

1. Ammonia carpules;
2. Antihistamines;
3. Benzodiazepine antagonist;
4. Bronchodilator inhaler;
5. Concentrated glucose fifty percent (50%), cake icing, candy,

orange juice);
6. Epinephrine (1:1,000 at a minimum); and
7. Nitroglycerin.

(B) Minimum  required emergency drugs for parenteral sedation.
1. Ammonia carpules;
2. Antihistamines;
3. Atropine  (or related drugs);
4. Benzodiazepine antagonist;
5. Bronchodilator inhaler;
6. Concentrated glucose fifty percent (50%), cake icing, candy,

orange juice);
7. Corticosteroid;
8. Epinephrine  (1:1,000 at a minimum);
9. Narcotic antagonist; and 
10. Nitroglycerin.

(C) Suggested but not required emergency drugs.
1. Aminophylline;
2. Hyperstat or Lobatalol  (or related drugs);
3. Lidocaine (one hundred (100) mg injectables);
4. Sodium bicarbonate; and 
5. Succinylcholine chloride.

(16) Sample Informed Consent for Conscious Sedation.
The purpose of this document is to provide an opportunity for
patients to understand and give permission for conscious sedation
when provided along with dental treatment.  Each item should be
checked off after the patient has the opportunity for discussion and
questions.
________1. I understand that the purpose of conscious sedation is to
more comfortably receive necessary care.  Conscious sedation is not
required to provide the necessary dental care.  (See #4 options.)

________2. I understand that conscious sedation is a drug-induced
state of reduced awareness and decreased ability to respond.  Con-
scious sedation is not sleep from which I can be easily awakened.
My ability to respond normally returns when the effects of the seda-
tive wear off.

________3. I understand that my conscious sedation will be achieved
by the following route:
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________Oral Administration: I will take a pill approximately
____ minutes before my appointment. The sedation will last approx-
imately to hours. Patients like oral sedation because they
do not need an “IV” line. However the level of sedation is less pre-
dictable than with “IV” sedation.

________Intravenous (IV) Administration: The doctor will inject the
sedative in a tube connected to a vein in my arm.  The length of seda-
tion may be shorter and the level more predictable than with oral
sedation. The IV sedation will last approximately ____ to ____ ____
hours.

________4. I understand that the options to conscious sedation are:
a. No sedation: The necessary procedure is performed

under local anesthetic with the patient fully aware.
b. Nitrous oxide sedation: Commonly called laughing gas,

nitrous oxide provides relaxation but the patient is still generally
aware of surrounding activities.  Its effects can be reversed in five (5)
minutes with oxygen.

c. General anesthetic: Commonly called deep sedation, a
patient under general anesthetic has no awareness and must have their
breathing temporarily supported.  General anesthesia is more appro-
priate for longer procedures lasting three (3) or more hours. 
________5. I understand that there are risks or limitations to all pro-
cedures.  For sedation these include:

________(Oral Sedation) Inadequate sedation with initial
dosage may require the patient to undergo the procedure without full
sedation or delay the procedure for another time.  Due to unpre-
dictable patient response, it is not recommended that oral sedatives
be given in successive or additive doses.

________An atypical reaction to sedative drugs that may
require emergency medical attention and/or hospitalization.

________Inability to discuss treatment options with the
doctor should the circumstance require a change in treatment plan.

________6. If, during the procedure, a change in treatment is
required, I authorize the dentist and the sedation team to make what-
ever change they deem in their professional judgment is necessary.

________7. I have had the opportunity to discuss conscious sedation
and have my questions answered by sedation team members includ-
ing the  dentist, if I so desire.

________8. I hereby consent to conscious sedation in conjunction
with my dental care.

____________________   __________   ____________________
Patient/Guardian            Date                  Witness

AUTHORITY: sections 332.031, RSMo 2000 and 332.071 (SB 1122)
and 332.361 (HB 1422) amended 2004. Original rule filed Sept. 15,
2004.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivision more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:  Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri
Dental Board, Sharlene Rimiller, Executive Director, PO Box 1367,
Jefferson City, MO  65102, by faxing to (573) 751-8216 or via e-mail
at dental@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT

Division 110—Missouri Dental Board
Chapter 4—Sedation 

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 110-4.040 Deep Sedation/General Anesthesia

PURPOSE:  This rule provides for the regulation of the administra-
tion of deep sedation/general anesthesia.

(1) No dentist shall administer deep sedation/general anesthesia
unless the dentist possesses a permit issued by the Missouri Dental
Board.  This permit shall be renewed by June 1 every five (5) years
from the date of issuance.

(2) No dental office shall be the site for the administration of deep
sedation/general anesthesia without being issued a site certificate
issued by the Missouri Dental Board.  The site certificate shall be
renewed by June 1 every five (5) years from the date of issuance. The
dentist-in-charge is responsible for submitting the application and
maintaining the documentation as required in sections (6) and (8) of
this rule.

(3) No dentist shall prescribe deep sedation/general anesthesia agents
unless the dentist possesses a deep sedation/general anesthesia per-
mit.

(4) If the primary administrator of deep sedation/general anesthesia
in a dental office is a physician anesthesiologist or a nurse anes-
thetist, the dentist must order the anesthesia services, is responsible
for the readiness of the dental office, preoperative patient evaluation
and appropriate medical consultations, the coordination of and emer-
gency preparedness of the anesthesia team, and the maintenance of
appropriate records.  The dentist must evaluate the patient prior to
the procedure, remain in the dental office, and evaluate the patient
prior to discharge.

(5) To qualify for a permit to administer deep sedation/general anes-
thesia, a dentist shall:

(A) Document satisfactory completion of:
1. A post-doctoral training program in anesthesia and related

subjects that satisfies the requirements described in Part II of the
American Dental Association (ADA) Guidelines for Teaching the
Comprehensive Control of Pain and Anxiety in Dentistry at the time
the training was commenced; or

2. An ADA accredited post-doctoral training program in oral
and maxillofacial surgery; or

3. An anesthesia training program that is approved and accred-
ited to teach postgraduate medical education by the Accreditation
Council for Graduate Medical Education of the American Medical
Association (AMA), or the Education Committee of the American
Osteopathic Association (AOA); and

(B) Document completion of an Advanced Cardiac Life Support
(ACLS) course or board-approved equivalent during the past five (5)
years or a minimum of fifteen (15) hours of other board-approved
continuing education pertaining to medical emergencies, anesthetic
complications, or patient management while under deep
sedation/general anesthesia.  Additional hours, not to exceed five (5),
acquired beyond the required number may be carried forward into the
renewal cycle;

(C) Successfully complete an on-site evaluation as defined in sub-
section (6)(C) of this rule; and

(D) Document that the facility to be used for deep sedation/gener-
al anesthesia has been issued a deep sedation/general anesthesia site
certificate.
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(6) To qualify for a deep sedation/general anesthesia site certificate
the dental office must—

(A) Be properly equipped in accordance with the American Asso-
ciation of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons (AAOMS) Office Anes-
thesia Evaluation Manual, including but not limited to the capabili-
ty of delivering positive pressure oxygen, blood pressure and
electrocardiographic (ECG) monitoring and pulse oximetry;

(B) Have and maintain personnel capable of handling procedures
and emergencies incident to the administration of deep sedation/gen-
eral anesthesia;

(C) Undergo and successfully complete an on-site evaluation by
consultants appointed by the board to confirm the adequacy of the
facility and competency of the personnel.  On-site evaluations shall
be conducted in accordance with guidelines in the current AAOMS
Office Anesthesia Evaluation Manual; and

(D) The dentist in charge of the dental office shall document that:
1. The administrator of deep sedation/general anesthesia is a

qualified sedation provider as defined in 4 CSR 110-4.030; and
2. All anesthesia team members, including the operating den-

tist, possess and maintain current certification in cardiopulmonary
resuscitation (CPR) or basic life support (BLS).

(7) The board shall issue a deep sedation/general anesthesia permit
upon receipt of a completed application form provided by the board,
payment of the appropriate fee, proof of having met the requirements
of section (5) of this rule and determination that the applicant is a
licensee in good standing.  To be in good standing the licensee’s den-
tal license(s) must be current and not under restriction or discipline
in any state. The requirements of this section and the on-site evalua-
tion must be completed within one (1) year of the date of submission
of the application form.

(8) The board shall issue a deep sedation/general anesthesia site cer-
tificate upon receipt of a completed application form provided by the
board, payment of the appropriate fee, and proof of having met the
requirements of section (6) of this rule.  The requirements of this sec-
tion and the on-site evaluation for each site to be authorized must be
completed within one (1) year of the date of submission of the appli-
cation form.

(9) The board may authorize a dentist initially applying for a deep
sedation/general anesthesia permit to administer deep sedation/gen-
eral anesthesia pending an on-site evaluation according to subsection
(6)(C) of this rule providing all other requirements outlined in sec-
tions (5) and (7) have been met.  Such authorization shall be in writ-
ing and in effect for a period not to exceed ninety (90) days.

(10) When the primary administrator of anesthesia at a dental office
is not a dentist with a valid deep sedation/general anesthesia permit,
the board may authorize the dentist initially applying for a deep seda-
tion/general anesthesia site certificate to allow the primary adminis-
trator to administer deep sedation/general anesthesia pending an on-
site evaluation according to subsection (6)(C) of this rule providing
all other requirements outlined in sections (6) and (8) have been met.
Such authorization shall be in writing and in effect for a period not
to exceed ninety (90) days.

(11) Subsequent to an on-site evaluation as outlined in subsection
(6)(C) of this rule, the board, at its discretion, may issue a tempo-
rary authorization to administer deep sedation/general anesthesia to
any dental office, providing all other provisions of this rule have been
met. Such authorization shall be in writing and in effect for a period
not to exceed ninety (90) days. A reevaluation may be undertaken
prior to the issuance of a site certificate. The fee for the reevaluation
shall be the same as the initial evaluation.

(12) To renew a deep sedation/general anesthesia permit a dentist
shall, at least ninety (90) days prior to the expiration of the current
permit:

(A) Submit a completed renewal application form provided by the
board;

(B) Submit the renewal fee specified in 4 CSR 110-2.170 payable
to the Missouri Dental Board;

(C) Document completion during the past five (5) years of 
1. An Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) course; or—
2. A minimum of fifteen (15) hours of other board-approved

continuing education pertaining to medical emergencies, anesthesia
complications, or patient management while under sedation.  

3. Additional hours, not to exceed five (5), acquired beyond the
required number may be carried forward into the renewal cycle.

(D) Successfully complete an on-site evaluation as defined in sub-
section (6)(C) of this rule.

(13) To renew a site certificate for deep sedation/general anesthesia
the dentist-in-charge shall, at least ninety (90) days prior to the expi-
ration of the current site certificate:

(A) Submit a completed renewal application form provided by the
board; 

(B) Submit the renewal fee specified in 4 CSR 110-2.170 payable
to the Missouri Dental Board; 

(C) Attest that the primary administrator of deep sedation/general
anesthesia is a qualified sedation provider as set forth in 4 CSR 110-
4.010(1)(S); 

(D) Document that anesthesia team members, including the oper-
ating dentist, possess and maintain current certification in CPR or
BLS; and

(E) Successfully complete an on-site evaluation as defined in sub-
section (6)(C) of this rule.

(14) A dentist holding a permit for authorization for the administra-
tion of deep sedation/general anesthesia under the provisions of this
rule may administer enteral and/or parenteral conscious sedation
without a permit for enteral and/or parenteral conscious sedation as
required under 4 CSR 110-4.020.

(15) At any time, the board may inspect sites where deep seda-
tion/general anesthesia is administered in order to verify compliance
with the minimum requirements of this rule.

(16)  If at any time the board learns that a dentist who holds a deep
sedation/general anesthesia permit, or a deep sedation/general anes-
thesia site certificate, has failed to meet the minimum qualifications
set out in this rule, the board may pursue disciplinary action in accor-
dance with section 332.321, RSMo.

(17) The provisions of this rule are declared severable.  If any pro-
vision of this rule is held invalid by a court of competent jurisdiction,
the remaining provisions of this rule shall remain in full force and
effect unless otherwise determined by a court of competent jurisdic-
tion.

AUTHORITY: sections 332.031, RSMo 2000 and 332.071 (SB 1122)
and 332.361 (HB 1422) amended 2004. Original rule filed Sept. 15,
2004.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will cost state agencies or polit-
ical subdivisions an estimated eight thousand five hundred eighty-
three dollars and eleven cents ($8,583.11) in FY06; seven thousand
forty nine dollars and ninety-two cents ($7,049.92) in FY07; six
thousand seven hundred five dollars and ninety-one cents ($6,705.91)
in FY08; eight thousand five hundred seventy-four dollars and sixty-
four cents ($8,574.64) in FY09; two thousand five hundred ninety-
four dollars and seventy-three cents ($2,594.73) in FY10; ten thou-
sand six hundred eleven dollars and one cent ($10,611.01) in FY11;
nine thousand four hundred seventy dollars and seventy-six cents
($9,470.76) in FY12; nine thousand one hundred twenty-six dollars 



and seventy-five cents ($9,126.75) in FY13; ten thousand nine hun-
dred ninety-five dollars and forty-eight cents ($10,995.48) in FY14;
five thousand fifteen dollars and fifty-seven cents ($5,015.57) in
FY15; and thirteen thousand three hundred eighteen dollars and fifty-
nine cents ($13,318.59) in FY16. Because the board issues permits
and certificates on a five (5)-year cycle, a continuous annual growth
rate will occur based on the assumption of issuing twelve (12) per-
mits and twenty (20) certificates for the life of the rule. It is antici-
pated that the cost will recur for the life of the rule, may vary with
inflation and is expected to increase at the rate projected by the Leg-
islative Oversight Committee.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will cost private entities an esti-
mated eleven thousand one hundred seven dollars and forty-six cents
($11,107.46) in FY06; nine thousand three hundred sixty-eight dollars
and sixty-seven cents ($9,368.67) in FY07; nine thousand sixty dol-
lars and six cents ($9,060.06) in FY08; twelve thousand eight dollars
and twenty-nine cents ($12,008.29) in FY09; three thousand five
hundred fifty-five dollars and eight cents ($3,555.08) in FY10; thir-
teen thousand one hundred eighty-eight dollars and ten cents
($13,188.10) in FY11; twelve thousand four hundred seventy-three
dollars and thirty cents ($12,473.30) in FY12; twelve thousand one
hundred seventy-two dollars and nineteen cents ($12,172.19) in
FY13; fifteen thousand ninety-five dollars and thirteen cents
($15,095.13) in FY14; six thousand seven hundred sixty-four dollars
and forty-two cents ($6,764.42) in FY15; and sixteen thousand three
hundred ninety-nine dollars and ninety-four cents ($16,399.94) in
FY16. Because the board issues permits and certificates on a five (5)-
year cycle, a continuous annual growth rate will occur based on the
assumption of issuing twelve (12) permits and twenty (20) certificates
for the life of the rule. It is anticipated that the cost will recur annu-
ally for the life of the rule, may vary with inflation and is expected
to increase annually at the rate projected by the Legislative Oversight
Committee. 

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:  Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri
Dental Board, Sharlene Rimiller, Executive Director, PO Box 1367,
Jefferson City, MO  65102, by faxing (573) 751-8216 or via e-mail at
dental@pr.mo.gov.  To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled.
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Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT

Division 120—State Board of Embalmers and Funeral
Directors

Chapter 2—General Rules

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 120-2.060 Funeral Directing. The director is amending sec-
tion (21).

PURPOSE: This amendment clarifies language in section (21) refer-
ring to a deceased and/or disabled Missouri licensed funeral direc-
tor.

(21) No temporary Missouri funeral director license authorized
under section 333.041.7, RSMo will be issued until the board has
been advised as to the location of the Missouri licensed funeral estab-
lishment at which the temporary funeral director’s license will be
used. The holder of the temporary license shall be authorized to only
work at the Missouri licensed funeral establishment(s) where the
deceased and/or disabled Missouri licensed funeral director was
authorized to work. Violation of this rule will be deemed unautho-
rized practice of funeral directing. 

AUTHORITY: sections 333.041 and 333.042, RSMo Supp. 2003 and
333.091, 333.111 and 333.121, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Oct.
17, 1975, effective Oct. 28, 1975. For intervening history, please
consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed Sept. 15,
2004.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the State
Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors, Becky Dunn, Executive
Director, 3605 Missouri Boulevard, PO Box 423, Jefferson City, MO
65102, by facsimile at (573) 751-1155 or via e-mail to:
embalm@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC 
DEVELOPMENT

Division 267—Office of Tattooing, Body Piercing and 
Branding

Chapter 4—Temporary Establishments

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 267-4.020 Temporary Practitioner License

PURPOSE: This rule outlines the requirements for a temporary prac-
titioner’s license in the event of a state or national convention being
held in the state of Missouri.

(1) The director of the Division of Professional Registration shall
issue a temporary license to practice tattooing, body piercing and/or
branding under the following requirements:

(A) The applicant for temporary licensure is entering the state of
Missouri for the sole purpose of participating in a state or national

convention wherein the applicant will be practicing the profession of
tattooing, body piercing and/or branding;

(B) The applicant files a completed application with the division
at or prior to the official start of the portion of the convention where-
in the practice of tattooing, body piercing and/or branding takes
place and tenders a fee of fifty dollars ($50); and

(C) The applicant is otherwise qualified for licensure pursuant to
sections 324.520 through 324.526, RSMo, and the rules and regula-
tions promulgated thereunder.

(2) A temporary license to practice tattooing, body piercing and/or
branding issued pursuant to this rule shall be valid for a period not
to exceed fourteen (14) days and shall not be renewable.

(3) Out-of-state applicants receiving a temporary license pursuant to
this rule shall agree to designate the division as its agent for the pur-
pose of service of process in the event such person is named in a law-
suit pertaining to his or her temporary licensure in the state of Mis-
souri.

AUTHORITY: section 324.526, as established in SB 1122 (2004) and
324.522, RSMo Supp. 2003. Emergency rule filed April 15, 2003,
effective April 25, 2003, expired Oct. 24, 2003. Original rule filed
Sept. 10, 2004.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will cost private entities an esti-
mated five thousand five hundred fifty-one dollars and thirty-five
cents ($5,551.35) annually for the life of the rule. It is anticipated
that the total cost will recur annually for the life of the rule, may vary
with inflation and is expected to increase annually at the rate pro-
jected by the Legislative Oversight Committee. 

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Office of
Tattooing, Body Piercing and Branding, PO Box 1335, Jefferson
City, MO 65102, by facsimile at (573) 526-3489 or via e-mail to
tattoo@pr.mo.gov.  To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled.
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Title 9—DEPARTMENT OF MENTAL HEALTH
Division 10—Director, Department of Mental Health

Chapter 31—Reimbursement for Services 

PROPOSED RULE

9 CSR 10-31.014 Waiver of Standard Means Test for Children in
Need of Mental Health Services

PURPOSE: This rule implements a revision to section 630.210, RSMo
requiring the department to promulgate a rule waiving the Standard
Means Test for a child in need of mental health services.

(1) Definitions.
(A) The terms defined in 9 CSR 10-31.011 Standard Means Test

are incorporated by reference as though set out in this rule.  
(B) A  “child in need of mental health services,” as used in this

rule, is any child who qualifies to receive services from the Depart-
ment of Mental Health under Chapters 630, 631, 632 or 633, RSMo.

(2) Request for Waiver.  At the time of initial application of the Stan-
dard Means Test (SMT) for a child in need of mental health services,
and at the time of any subsequent reapplication, the provider shall
inform the financially responsible person that the SMT may be
waived.

(A) The provider shall make available to the financially responsi-
ble person information on how to submit a request for SMT waiver.

(B) The financially responsible person shall submit the request in
writing to the department director, with a copy to the provider.  

(C) The provider shall not charge the monthly rate as determined
by the provider’s application of the SMT to the financially responsi-
ble person for services provided to the child during the time the
request is under review.

(D) A waiver may be approved, or approved with conditions, for
up to one (1) year. It is the responsibility of the financially responsi-
ble person to notify the provider of any significant change in finan-
cial status. A waiver may be reevaluated at the initiative of the
department director due to any significant change in financial status. 

(3) Review of Request for Waiver.  Upon receipt of a request for
SMT waiver the department director shall designate an individual or
individuals to review the request.  The designee or designees shall
approve, approve with conditions, or deny the request within seven
(7) working days of receipt of the written request.  The designee or
designees shall provide notice of the decision to the requestor by cer-
tified mail with copy to the provider.

(4) Consideration of Request.  In making the decision to approve,
approve with conditions, or deny the request, the designee or
designees must consider the following, as presented by the requestor:

(A) The recommendation of the local care team, or other desig-
nated local or regional children’s mental health authority that waiv-
ing the SMT will contribute to the therapeutic needs of the child by
allowing the child to remain in the custody of the parent or custodi-
an;

(B) History of the child being in state custody due exclusively to
the need for mental health services where no substantiated reports of
abuse or neglect exist;

(C) Statement from the financially responsible person that their
primary motivation for requesting the waiver is to avoid loss of cus-
tody because they are unable to pay the monthly amount as deter-
mined by application of the Standard Means Test;

(D) Past efforts of the financially responsible person to obtain
needed medical care, and expenses incurred by the financially
responsible person for the treatment of the mental health condition or
for the physical health of the child necessitated by the onset of the

mental health condition;
(E) The parent or custodian’s history of insurance benefits expend-

ed for physical and mental health treatment of the child and their cur-
rent attempts to obtain commercial or government-sponsored insur-
ance coverage; and 

(F) The parent or custodian’s overall wherewithal to pay for the
child’s mental health treatment needs at the time of requesting the
waiver, including gross income, medical expenses, assets, liabilities,
and financial responsibility for other dependents in the home. 

(5) Denial of Request.  A request for waiver shall be denied when
the request for waiver—

(A) Is not submitted in writing;
(B) Does not raise factual issues sufficient to show that inappro-

priate transfer of custody to the Children’s Division is likely to occur
absent the waiver; or 

(C) Does not present persuasive, factual evidence that the finan-
cially responsible person cannot afford to pay the monthly amount
required by the application of the Standard Means Test.

(6) Appeal of Denial.  Within seven (7) working days of receipt of
notice of approval with conditions or denial of a request, the finan-
cially responsible person may appeal the approval with conditions or
denial in writing to the department director, with copy to the
provider.  

(7) Review of Appeal.  Within seven (7) working days of receipt of
the written appeal, and upon completion of review, the department
director shall issue a decision which may alter the approval with con-
ditions or denial.  The department director shall provide notice of the
decision by certified mail to the financially responsible person with
copy to the provider.  The decision of the department director shall
be the final decision of the department.

AUTHORITY: sections 630.050, RSMo 2000 and 630.210, RSMo
Supp. 2004. Emergency rule filed Sept. 2, 2004, effective Sept. 15,
2004, expires March 13, 2005.  Original rule filed Sept. 2, 2004.

PUBLIC COST: The projected cost of this proposed rule is one hun-
dred seventy-eight thousand eight hundred twenty-eight dollars
($178,828) during the first year, and fifty-three thousand seven hun-
dred dollars ($53,700) in the second year and subsequent years with
inflationary increases of 2.5% for each year over the twenty (20)-
year life of the rule. Please see fiscal note.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule by writing to Randy
Hodill, Reimbursement Administrator, Office of Administration,
Department of Mental Health, PO Box 687, Jefferson City, MO
65102.  To be considered, comments must be received within thirty
(30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register.
No public hearing is scheduled.
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Title 12—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division 10—Director of Revenue

Chapter 23—Motor Vehicle

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

12 CSR 10-23.335 Issuance of Title to a Surviving Spouse or
Unmarried Minor Children of a Decedent. The director proposes
to amend sections (1) and (2).

PURPOSE: This proposed amendment clarifies both the require-
ments and the units that qualify for titling pursuant to section
474.250, RSMo.

(1) When a decedent has not disposed of an automobile or other pas-
senger motor vehicle by will, the surviving spouse, or in the event
there is no surviving spouse, the unmarried minor children may
equally take title to one (1) automobile or other passenger motor
vehicle including a pickup truck without the issuance of a probate
court order. The surviving spouse or unmarried minor children shall
submit the following documents to the Department of Revenue in
order to obtain a certificate of title:

(E) Proof that the applicant was legally married to the decedent or
is an unmarried minor child of the decedent, if [the application
is being submitted by the surviving spouse] applicable; and

(2) For the purposes of obtaining a certificate of ownership, one (1)
automobile or other passenger motor vehicle, as provided in section
474.250, RSMo, shall include any motor vehicle which is titled in
the name of the decedent or assigned to the decedent.  The owner-
ship of [trailers] non-passenger vehicles such as recreational vehi-
cles, all-terrain vehicles, trailers, commercial trucks (trucks
licensed for over eighteen thousand (18,000) pounds), buses and
boats and outboard motors shall not be transferred by the Depart-
ment of Revenue to a surviving spouse or unmarried minor children
without presenting an appropriate court order.

AUTHORITY: section 474.250, RSMo [1986] 2000. Original rule
filed July 25, 1986, effective Nov. 28, 1986. Amended: Filed July 17,
1989, effective Oct. 27, 1989. Amended: Filed Sept. 16, 2004.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Department of Revenue, Office of Legislation and Regulations, PO
Box 629, Jefferson City, MO 65105. To be considered, comments
must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 12—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division 10—Director of Revenue

Chapter 23—Motor Vehicle

PROPOSED RESCISSION

12 CSR 10-23.375 Fire Department License Plates. This rule
established procedures for issuance of fire department license plates
to Missouri’s fire marshal and three (3) members of the fire mar-

shal’s staff which s/he shall designate.

PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded because it is no longer
applicable.

AUTHORITY: sections 301.144.2 and 301.444, RSMo 1986.  Origi-
nal rule filed Jan. 5, 1987, effective April 11, 1987. Rescinded: Filed
Sept. 16, 2004.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Department of Revenue, Office of Legislation and Regulations, PO
Box 629, Jefferson City, MO 65105. To be considered, comments
must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 12—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division 10—Director of Revenue

Chapter 23—Motor Vehicle

PROPOSED RULE 

12 CSR 10-23.465 Issuance of Biennial Salvage Business Licens-
es

PURPOSE: This rule provides for issuing biennial salvage business
licenses on a staggered basis to equalize the Department of Revenue’s
workload and for the corresponding fees that are required.

(1) Salvage business licenses expire June 30 of the designated expi-
ration year. The renewal period begins April 1 in the year of their
expiration.

(A) New applicants for salvage business licensure processed on or
after August 28, 2004, will be issued a two (2)-year license expiring
June 30 of the appropriate year. The cost for licensure shall be one
hundred thirty dollars ($130) for each type of business activity indi-
cated on the application, except that only one (1) one hundred thirty
dollar ($130) fee shall be collected if the applicant applies for licen-
sure as a used parts dealer and a salvage dealer or dismantler. If the
licensure period is for less than a two (2)-year period, the licensure
fee shall be prorated for each type of business activity on a quarter-
ly basis based on application receipt date as follows:

1. July 1 to September 30—one hundred thirty dollars ($130)
2. October 1 to December 31—one hundred thirteen dollars and

seventy-five cents ($113.75)
3. January 1 to March 31—ninety-seven dollars and fifty cents

($97.50)
4. April 1 to June 30—eighty-one dollars and twenty-five cents

($81.25)
(B) Late renewal applicants who submitted their application for a

salvage business license before August 28, 2004, but who are not
approved until on or after August 28, 2004, will receive a one (1)-
year license expiring June 30, 2005, at a cost of sixty-five dollars
($65) for each type of business activity conducted. 

(C) Late renewal applicants who submit their application for a sal-
vage business license on or after August 28, 2004, have the option of
receiving a one (1)-year or two (2)-year license. These applicants
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must obtain a certification from authorized law enforcement as
required by section 301.219, RSMo. 

(D) Renewal applicants for salvage business licensure who renew
during the renewal cycle beginning April 1, 2005, and who have an
even-numbered license number, will be issued a one (1)-year license
expiring June 30, 2006, at a cost of sixty-five dollars ($65) for each
business activity conducted. During the renewal cycle beginning
April 1, 2006, these renewal applicants will be issued a two (2)-year
license expiring June 30, 2008.

(E) Renewal applicants for salvage business licensure who renew
during the renewal cycle beginning April 1, 2005, and who have an
odd-numbered license number, will be issued a two (2)-year license
expiring June 30, 2007, at a cost of one hundred thirty dollars ($130)
for each business activity conducted. 

(2) Each application for a salvage business license must be accom-
panied by a five-dollar ($5) fee for a criminal record check for each
owner, partner, or corporate officer listed on the application. The
deposited fees are forwarded to the Missouri State Highway Patrol.
The patrol shall provide the director with the results of the appli-
cant’s criminal record check to assist the director in determining the
applicant’s qualifications as provided in section 301.221, RSMo.

(3) In the event that owners, partners, or principal officers (if a cor-
poration) are residents of a state other than Missouri or another
country, they must obtain a current criminal record check from their
state highway patrol or corresponding law enforcement agency and
submit that record check with new and renewal applications. The
five-dollar ($5) fee referenced in section (2) of this rule is inapplic-
able to this circumstance.

AUTHORITY: sections 301.219, 301.221 and 301.229, RSMo 2000.
Original rule filed Sept. 16, 2004.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will cost state agencies and polit-
ical subdivisions three thousand nine hundred eighty-one dollars
($3,981) the first year and four thousand seven hundred seventy-eight
dollars ($4,778) each year thereafter.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Department
of Revenue, Office of Legislation and Regulations, PO Box 629, Jef-
ferson City, MO 65105. To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.
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Title 12—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division 10—Director of Revenue
Chapter 26—Dealer Licensure

PROPOSED RESCISSION

12 CSR 10-26.130 Review of License Denial or Disciplinary
Action. This rule established procedures for review of a license
denial or the imposition of discipline.

PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded because it is no longer
applicable due to the passage of House Bill 1259, which requires
dealer hearings to be conducted by the Administrative Hearing Com-
mission.

AUTHORITY: sections 301.553 and 301.562, RSMo Supp. 1998.
Original rule filed Nov. 1, 1999, effective May 30, 2000. Rescinded:
Filed Sept. 16, 2004.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Department of Revenue, Office of Legislation and Regulations, PO
Box 629, Jefferson City, MO 65105. To be considered, comments
must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 12—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division 10—Director of Revenue
Chapter 26—Dealer Licensure

PROPOSED RESCISSION

12 CSR 10-26.140 Hearing Procedures. This rule outlined the pro-
cedure for conducting hearings.

PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded because it is no longer
applicable due to the passage of House Bill 1259, which requires
dealer hearings to be conducted by the Administrative Hearing Com-
mission.

AUTHORITY: section 301.553, RSMo Supp. 1998. Original rule filed
Nov. 1, 1999, effective May 30, 2000. Rescinded: Filed Sept. 16,
2004.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Department of Revenue, Office of Legislation and Regulations, PO
Box 629, Jefferson City, MO 65105. To be considered, comments
must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 12—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division 10—Director of Revenue
Chapter 26—Dealer Licensure

PROPOSED RESCISSION

12 CSR 10-26.150 Designated Hearing Officer. This rule estab-
lished the duties and powers of a hearing officer.

PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded because it is no longer
applicable due to the passage of House Bill 1259, which requires
dealer hearings to be conducted by the Administrative Hearing Com-
mission.

AUTHORITY: section 301.553, RSMo Supp. 1998. Original rule filed
Nov. 1, 1999, effective May 30, 2000. Rescinded: Filed Sept. 16,
2004.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Department of Revenue, Office of Legislation and Regulations, PO
Box 629, Jefferson City, MO 65105. To be considered, comments
must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 12—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division 10—Director of Revenue
Chapter 26—Dealer Licensure

PROPOSED RESCISSION

12 CSR 10-26.160 Waiver of Hearing. This rule set forth the
requirements which must be met for a waiver of hearing.

PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded because it is no longer
applicable due to the passage of House Bill 1259, which requires
dealer hearings to be conducted by the Administrative Hearing Com-
mission.

AUTHORITY: section 301.553, RSMo Supp. 1998. Original rule filed
Nov. 1, 1999, effective May 30, 2000. Rescinded: Filed Sept. 16,
2004.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Department of Revenue, Office of Legislation and Regulations, PO
Box 629, Jefferson City, MO 65105. To be considered, comments
must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.
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Title 12—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division 10—Director of Revenue
Chapter 26—Dealer Licensure

PROPOSED RESCISSION

12 CSR 10-26.170 Prehearing Conferences and Stipulations. This
rule established specific requirements needed to set prehearing con-
ferences.

PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded because it is no longer
applicable due to the passage of House Bill 1259, which requires
dealer hearings to be conducted by the Administrative Hearing Com-
mission.

AUTHORITY: section 301.553, RSMo Supp. 1998. Original rule filed
Nov. 1, 1999, effective May 30, 2000. Rescinded: Filed Sept. 16,
2004.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Department of Revenue, Office of Legislation and Regulations, PO
Box 629, Jefferson City, MO 65105. To be considered, comments
must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 12—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division 10—Director of Revenue

Chapter 103—Sales/Use Tax—Imposition of Tax

PROPOSED RULE

12 CSR 10-103.210 Auctioneers and Other Agents Selling Tangi-
ble Personal Property

PURPOSE: This rule interprets the sales and use tax law as it applies
to sales of tangible personal property when an auctioneer or other
agent is involved in the sale.

(1) In general, an auctioneer who does not disclose the principal will
be considered the seller of the tangible personal property and will be
required to collect and remit sales tax on the gross receipts of the
property sold. The principal is liable for collecting and remitting the
tax if the auctioneer discloses the principal to the purchasers at the
auction. An organization exempt from tax on its sales (see 12 CSR
10-110.955) acting as an agent to sell tangible personal property to
raise funds for the exempt organization is not required to collect and
remit tax; the principal must collect and remit the tax. All other
agents selling tangible personal property, by consignment or other-
wise, must collect and remit tax even if the principal is disclosed.  

(2) Definition of Terms.
(A) Agent—a person who acts on behalf of a principal.
(B) Auctioneer—an agent licensed as an auctioneer who sells tan-

gible personal property belonging to another at public or private auc-
tion and who receives compensation for conducting the sale.

(C) Principal—a person who empowers another to act on his/her
behalf.

(3) Basic Application of Tax.
(A) The principal is liable for collecting and remitting the tax if

the auctioneer discloses the principal to the purchasers at the auction.
An auctioneer may disclose the principal by written or oral commu-
nication to the purchasers. 

(B) Tangible personal property sold at public or private auction in
the course of the partial or complete liquidation of a household, farm
or non-business enterprise is not subject to tax. See 12 CSR 10-
103.200.  

(C) Tangible personal property, except inventory of the seller, sold
at public or private auction in the course of a liquidation of a busi-
ness is not subject to tax. The sale of inventory is subject to tax. 

(4) Examples.
(A) An auctioneer conducts a weekly auction in which the auc-

tioneer sells various items obtained from numerous undisclosed prin-
cipals. The auctioneer must collect and remit sales tax on these sales.

(B) An auctioneer conducts an auction on behalf of a disclosed
principal. The principal is responsible for collecting and remitting
the sales tax on the sales.

(C) A retired farmer contracts with an auctioneer to sell the assets
of the family farm.  The receipts from these sales are not subject to
tax because the assets are sold in the course of a partial or complete
liquidation of a household, farm or non-business enterprise.

(D) A grocery store is going out of business and contracts with an
auctioneer to sell the fixtures and inventory of the store. The sales of
the cash registers, display counters and refrigeration equipment are
not subject to sales tax as a liquidation of a business.  The sales of
inventory items such as groceries are subject to sales tax.

(E) An antique store sells some goods on consignment from the
owners. The store agrees with the owners to split the proceeds of the
sale, 60% to the owner and 40% to the store. The store must collect
and remit tax on the entire sale price even if it discloses the owners
of the consigned goods.

(F) An art gallery sells works by artists for a commission. The
gallery must collect and remit tax on the entire sale price even
though the artists are disclosed.

(G) A parent teacher organization (PTO) agrees with a candy com-
pany to sell candy as a fundraiser for a public elementary school.
The PTO buys the candy from the company and has the right to
return any unsold candy over the minimum agreed amount. The sale
is not subject to tax because the PTO is the seller of the candy and
its sales are exempt from tax as sales by a public elementary school.

(H) A parent teacher organization agrees with a wrapping paper
company to sell wrapping paper as a fundraiser for a public elemen-
tary school. The PTO takes orders for the wrapping paper and for-
wards the orders to the company. The PTO never takes title to the
wrapping paper—it merely takes the orders and delivers the paper.
The company must collect and remit tax because the company is the
seller of the wrapping paper. 

AUTHORITY: section 144.270, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Sept.
9, 2004. 

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule is estimated to cost the Missouri
Department of Revenue two thousand eight hundred fifty-four dollars
($2,854) with that cost recurring annually over the life of the rule.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule is estimated to cost private enti-
ties thirty-two thousand two hundred fifty dollars ($32,250) in the
aggregate of the estimated duration of the rule.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Department
of Revenue, Office of Legislation and Regulations, PO Box 629, Jef-
ferson City, MO  65105. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.
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