
Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission

Chapter 4—Wildlife Code: General Provisions

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-4.110 General Prohibition; Applications. The commis-
sion proposes to amend sections (1), (6) and (8).

PURPOSE: This amendment excludes invertebrates from the Wildlife
Code except in specific instances.

(1) No bird, fish, crayfish, mussel, amphibian, reptile, mammal or
other form of wildlife, including their homes, dens, nests, [and] eggs
and larvae in Missouri shall be molested, pursued, taken, hunted,
trapped, tagged, marked, enticed, poisoned, killed, transported,
stored, served, bought, sold, given away, accepted, possessed, prop-

agated, imported, exported or liberated to the wild in any manner,
number, part, parcel or quantity, at any time, except as specifically
permitted by these rules and any laws consistent with Article IV, sec-
tions 40–46 of the Constitution of Missouri[.]; however, this Code
shall not apply to other invertebrates except as specifically pro-
vided.

(6) No person shall administer, by any means, any contraceptive or
reproductive inhibitor to any species of wildlife outside of captivi-
ty in Missouri without written authorization of the director.

(8) With landowner permission, any species listed in the Approved
Aquatic Species List in 3 CSR 10-9.110 may be released into pri-
vately[-] owned impoundments which are designated as waters of the
state by virtue of having been stocked by the state, or because they
are owned jointly, or as tenants in common or by corporate share-
holders. Statewide seasons, methods and limits for all species will
apply to these waters.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. Original rule
filed June 26, 1975, effective July 7, 1975. For intervening history,
please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed Sept.
14, 2005.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with John W.
Smith, Assistant Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission

Chapter 4—Wildlife Code: General Provisions

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-4.113 Ginseng. The commission proposes to amend sec-
tions (3) and (4).

PURPOSE: This amendment will clarify that ginseng dealer regis-
tration is required only for persons buying and selling ginseng roots,
rather than the myriad of products containing ginseng that has been
processed into powder, liquid or other forms.

(3) Any person, group or business that purchases ginseng roots in
Missouri for resale must register annually with the department as a
ginseng dealer, and submit quarterly reports of all transactions with-
in fifteen (15) days of the preceding buying period and an annual
report of inventory, on forms provided by the department which are
included herein. Annual registration shall be contingent upon com-
pliance with this rule and receipt of the required reports. All records
required by this rule shall be retained for three (3) years.

(4) Any person, group or business that purchases ginseng roots in
Missouri for resale, but is registered as a ginseng dealer in another
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state and does not purchase or sell ginseng roots from an address in
the state, is not required to register with the department as a ginseng
dealer.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed Aug. 29, 1983, effective Jan. 1, 1984. For intervening his-
tory, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed
Sept. 14, 2005. 

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with John W.
Smith, Assistant Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission

Chapter 4—Wildlife Code:  General Provisions

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-4.130 Owner May Protect Property. The commission
proposes to amend section (4).

PURPOSE:  This amendment clarifies the requirement that both the
carcass and pelt of any mountain lion killed under provisions of this
rule must be turned over to the department within twenty-four (24)
hours of being killed.

(4) Deer, turkey, black bears and endangered species that are caus-
ing damage may be killed only with the permission of an agent of the
department and by methods authorized by him/her.  Mountain lions
attacking or killing livestock or domestic animals, or attacking
human beings, may be killed without prior permission, but the kill
must be reported immediately to an agent of the department and the
intact mountain lion carcass, including pelt, must be surrendered to
[him/her] the agent within twenty-four (24) hours.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed Aug. 15, 1973, effective Dec. 31, 1973. For intervening his-
tory, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed
Sept. 14, 2005.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with John W.
Smith, Assistant Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission

Chapter 5—Wildlife Code:  Permits

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-5.215 Permits and Privileges: How Obtained; Not
Transferable. The commission proposes to amend section (5).

PURPOSE: This amendment adds the Resident Cable Restraint
Permit to the list of permits that have specific expiration dates asso-
ciated with particular seasons. 

(5)  Permits are nontransferable and are valid from date of purchase
through the last day of February of the prescribed permit year; except
the Migratory Bird Hunting Permit shall be valid through June 30,
and the Resident Trapping Permit, the Resident Cable Restraint
Permit and the Nonresident Furbearer Hunting and Trapping Permit
shall be valid through April 10.  Except as provided for permits pur-
chased by telephone or through the Internet, no affidavit, receipt or
other document may be issued or used in lieu of the required permit.
Temporary permit authorization number(s) allowing immediate use
of permit privileges may be provided for permits (except deer and
turkey permits) purchased through the department’s authorized tele-
phone or Internet sales service provider.  The temporary permit
authorization number(s) and picture identification must be carried at
all times while hunting, fishing or trapping until the actual permit(s)
is received.  Any permit issued or obtained by false statement or
through fraud, or while privileges are revoked or denied by the com-
mission, shall be invalid.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed July 22, 1974, effective Dec. 31, 1974. For intervening his-
tory, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed
Sept. 14, 2005.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with John W.
Smith, Assistant Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission

Chapter 5—Wildlife Code:  Permits

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-5.352 Resident Firearms Antlerless Deer Hunting
Permit. The commission proposes to amend provisions of this rule.

PURPOSE: This amendment makes a grammatical correction.

To pursue, take, possess and transport an antlerless deer during the
firearms deer hunting season[s]. Fee: seven dollars ($7).

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed June 11, 1997, effective March 1, 1998. For intervening
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history, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended:
Filed Sept. 14, 2005.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with John W.
Smith, Assistant Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission

Chapter 5—Wildlife Code:  Permits 

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-5.552 Nonresident Firearms Antlerless Deer Hunting
Permit. The commission proposes to amend provisions of this rule.

PURPOSE: This amendment makes a grammatical correction and
adds the Nonresident Managed Deer Hunting Permit as another
choice as a prerequisite to this permit.

To pursue, take, possess and transport an antlerless deer during the
firearms deer hunting season[s]. A Nonresident Firearms Any-Deer
Hunting Permit or a Nonresident Managed Deer Hunting Permit
is required as a prerequisite to this permit. Fee: seven dollars ($7).

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed July 8, 1998, effective March 1, 1999. Amended: Filed
May 9, 2002, effective Oct. 30, 2002. Amended: Filed June 5, 2003,
effective Nov. 30, 2003. Amended: Filed April 29, 2004, effective
Sept. 30, 2004. Amended:  Filed Sept. 14, 2005.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with John W.
Smith, Assistant Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission

Chapter 5—Wildlife Code:  Permits 

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-5.554 Nonresident Archery Antlerless Deer Hunting
Permit. The commission proposes to amend provisions of this rule.

PURPOSE: This amendment restates the requirements for this permit
as clarification and standardization with other similar rules.

[Required in addition to the prescribed Nonresident Archer’s
Hunting Permit t]To pursue, take, possess and transport an antler-
less deer during the archery hunting season. A Nonresident
Archer’s Hunting Permit is required as a prerequisite to this per-
mit.  Fee: seven dollars ($7).

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed April 29, 2004, effective Sept. 30, 2004. Amended: Filed
Sept. 14, 2005.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with John W.
Smith, Assistant Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission

Chapter 6—Wildlife Code: Sport Fishing: Seasons,
Methods, Limits

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-6.405 General Provisions. The commission proposes to
amend sections (2), (3) and (4).

PURPOSE: This amendment adds reciprocal sport fishing privileges
with the state of Iowa on shared waters of the Des Moines River and
clarifies possession limits when aggregate limits for similar species
apply. 

(2) Permits required:
(C) Any person possessing a valid sport fishing license issued by

the state of Iowa, Illinois, Tennessee, Kansas or Nebraska, or who is
legally exempted from those license requirements, without further
permit or license, may fish in the Des Moines, Mississippi and
Missouri rivers and their backwaters within the boundary of
Missouri and adjacent to the state where that person is licensed.
These persons may also fish in the Missouri portion of any oxbow
lakes through which the state boundary passes.

(3) Limits and Possession. 
(F) A person may possess no more than two (2) statewide daily

limits [of any species at any time] as prescribed in 3 CSR 10-
6.505 through 3 CSR 10-6.620.

(4) Reciprocal Privileges:  Des Moines, Mississippi, Missouri and
St. Francis Rivers.

(B) Regulations of the state where the person is licensed shall
apply in Arkansas boundary waters.  Missouri regulations shall apply
in the Missouri portion of Iowa, Illinois, Kentucky, Tennessee,
Nebraska and Kansas boundary waters.  Persons licensed in Iowa,
Illinois, Kentucky, Tennessee, Kansas and Nebraska, when fishing in
waters in which they are not licensed to fish by Missouri, shall 
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comply with the most restrictive laws and regulations of the two (2)
states.

(C) Persons must be licensed in Missouri to fish in tributaries of
the Des Moines, Mississippi, Missouri and St. Francis rivers.

(D) Persons licensed in Arkansas or Iowa may not fish from or
attach any device or equipment to land under the jurisdiction of
Missouri.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed June 13, 1994, effective Jan. 1, 1995. For intervening his-
tory, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed
Sept. 14, 2005.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with John W.
Smith, Assistant Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission

Chapter 6—Wildlife Code:  Sport Fishing: Seasons,
Methods, Limits

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-6.410 Fishing Methods. The commission proposes to
amend sections (4) and (8).

PURPOSE:  This amendment changes the description of minnow
traps to include other authorized live bait traps.  Crawfish traps are
also allowed under 3 CSR 10-6.605 Live Bait, and it is intended for
all live bait traps to be attended within twenty-four (24) hours and to
be labeled properly.

(4) [Minnow] Live bait traps, hooks, trotlines, throwlines, limb
lines, bank lines or anchored jug lines (rendered immobile from the
location where set) may not be left unattended for more than twenty-
four (24) hours or must be completely removed. Unanchored jug
lines must be personally attended at all times.

(8) [Minnow] Live bait traps, trotlines, throwlines, limb lines, bank
lines, jug lines and live boxes shall be plainly labeled on a durable
material with the full name and address of the person using the
equipment.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed June 13, 1994, effective Jan. 1, 1995.  For intervening his-
tory, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed
Sept. 14, 2005. 

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with John W.
Smith, Assistant Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission

Chapter 6—Wildlife Code: Sport Fishing, Seasons,
Methods, Limits

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-6.415 Restricted Zones. The commission proposes to
amend subsection (2)(F).

PURPOSE: This amendment establishes fishing methods in a portion
of the Salt River.

(2) Fish may be taken only by pole and line from:
(F) Salt River from below Clarence Cannon Reregulation Pool

Dam to Route A except that fish may also be taken by longbow as
prescribed in 3 CSR 10-6.550 from the no-boating zone (one
thousand one hundred feet (1,100') below the Reregulation Dam)
to Route A.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed June 13, 1994, effective Jan. 1, 1995.  For intervening his-
tory, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed
Sept. 14, 2005. 

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with John W.
Smith, Assistant Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission

Chapter 6—Wildlife Code: Sport Fishing:  Seasons,
Methods, Limits

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-6.510 Channel Catfish, Blue Catfish, Flathead Catfish.
The commission proposes to amend section (1).

PURPOSE: This amendment changes the statewide limits for blue
catfish and channel catfish.

(1) Daily Limit: Ten (10) channel catfish, [and] five (5) blue catfish
[in the aggregate] and five (5) flathead catfish, except:

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed June 13, 1994, effective Jan. 1, 1995. For intervening his-
tory, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed
Sept. 14, 2005.
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PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with John W.
Smith, Assistant Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission

Chapter 6—Wildlife Code:  Sport Fishing:  Seasons,
Methods, Limits

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-6.511 Experimental Catfish Hand Fishing Season,
Methods, Limits. The commission proposes to amend sections (4)
and (7).

PURPOSE:  This amendment provides more explicit and detailed reg-
ulations for methods and reporting requirements for the experimen-
tal catfish hand fishing season.

(4)  Hand Fishing Methods:  Only [F]feet and bare hands may be
used without the aid of hooks, snorkeling or scuba equipment, or
other man-made devices. Hand fishers may not possess fishing
equipment, except a stringer, while on designated hand fishing
waters or adjacent banks. Stringers may not be used as an aid
for taking catfish, and may not be used until the fish is in pos-
session at or above the surface of the water.  Natural sticks may
be used to locate catfish, but may not be used as an aid for tak-
ing catfish.  Catfish may be taken by [this method] hand fishing
only from natural objects or natural cavities.  Catfish may not be
taken by hand fishing from any man-made object except those relat-
ed to bona fide construction such as bridges, docks, boat ramps and
rock rip rap.  No part of any object may be disturbed or altered to
facilitate harvest of catfish.  [Hand fishers may not possess fish-
ing equipment, except a stringer, while on designated hand
fishing waters or adjacent banks.] Catfish taken by hand fish-
ing methods may not be possessed on waters closed to hand fish-
ing.

(7)  Reporting: [Within ten (10) days following the close of the
season, hand fishers shall submit a complete report on a
form furnished by the department, showing the dates and
waters fished, length, weight, species and sex of catfish
taken and other biological data or a negative report if no fish
were taken.] Every hand fisher shall keep an up-to-date, accu-
rate record showing the date, waters fished, length, weight,
species and sex of catfish caught or taken and other biological
data.  A negative entry record is required for fishing trips in
which no fish were caught or taken.  These records will be kept
on a form furnished by the department and are subject to inspec-
tion by an authorized agent of the department at any reasonable
time.  Within ten (10) days following the close of the season, hand
fishers shall submit the complete season record to the depart-
ment. Failure to submit an accurate and complete [annual report]
season record shall be sufficient cause for the department to deny
renewal of the permit for the following year.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed Dec. 21, 2004, effective Jan. 15, 2005. Amended: Filed
Sept. 14, 2005.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with John W.
Smith, Assistant Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission

Chapter 6—Wildlife Code: Sport Fishing:  Seasons,
Methods, Limits

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-6.515 Crappie. The commission proposes to amend sub-
section (4)(A).

PURPOSE:  This amendment establishes a nine inch (9") minimum
length limit on crappie at Wappapello Lake.  

(4) Length Limits: No length limits, except:
(A) All crappie less than nine inches (9") in total length must be

returned to the water unharmed immediately after being caught from
Lake of the Ozarks, Pomme de Terre Lake, Smithville Lake, [and]
Truman Lake and Wappapello Lake.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed June 13, 1994, effective Jan. 1, 1995. Amended: Filed May
30, 1995, effective Jan. 1, 1996. Amended: Filed Sept. 14, 2005. 

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with John W.
Smith, Assistant Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission

Chapter 6—Sport Fishing:  Seasons, Methods Limits

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-6.545  White Bass, Yellow Bass, Striped Bass. The
commission proposes to amend subsections (1)(A) and (4)(A).

PURPOSE: This amendment establishes a daily limit and length limit
for white, yellow and striped bass at Long Branch Lake.
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(1) Daily Limit: Fifteen (15) white bass, yellow bass, striped bass
and their hybrids in the aggregate, except:

(A) On Thomas Hill [Lake] and Long Branch lakes where the
daily limit is four (4) in the aggregate.

(4) Length Limits: No length limits, except the daily limit of white
bass, yellow bass, striped bass and their hybrids may include not
more than four (4) fish more than eighteen inches (18") in total
length.

(A) On Thomas Hill [Lake] and Long Branch lakes, all white
bass, yellow bass, striped bass and their hybrids less than twenty
inches (20") in total length must be returned to the water unharmed
immediately after being caught.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed June 13, 1994, effective Jan. 1, 1995. For intervening his-
tory, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed
Sept. 14, 2005. 

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with John W.
Smith, Assistant Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission

Chapter 6—Wildlife Code:  Sport Fishing:  Seasons,
Methods, Limits

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-6.605 Live Bait. The commission proposes to amend sec-
tion (4) and add a new section (6).

PURPOSE: This amendment eliminates length limits for non-native
carp species within the live bait rule and make it illegal to transport
live bait taken from public waters across state lines.

(4) Length Limits: All bluegill, green sunfish and bullheads more
than five inches (5") in total length and other fish more than twelve
inches (12") in total length must be returned to the water immedi-
ately after being caught by the methods prescribed in this rule,
except there are no length limits for bighead carp, common carp,
goldfish, grass carp and silver carp.

(6) Live bait, as defined in this code, obtained from waters of the
state, may not be transported from the state or sold. 

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed June 13, 1994, effective Jan. 1, 1995. Amended: Filed May
30, 1995, effective Jan. 1, 1996. Amended: Filed April 25, 1996,
effective March 1, 1997. Amended: Filed May 9, 2002, effective
March 1, 2003. Amended: Filed Sept. 29, 2004, effective April 28,
2005. Amended:  Filed Sept. 14, 2005.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with John W.
Smith, Assistant Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission

Chapter 7—Wildlife Code: Hunting: Seasons, Methods,
Limits

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-7.405 General Provisions. The commission proposes to
amend section (5).

PURPOSE: This amendment provides clarification related to
landowner and lessee privileges.

(5) Wildlife, except raccoons or other furbearing animals when treed
with the aid of dogs, may not be searched for, spotlighted, located,
harassed or disturbed in any manner with the aid of an artificial light,
headlight or spotlight from any roadway, whether public or private,
or in any field, woodland or forest, by any person acting either singly
or as one of a group of persons. This [rule] section shall not apply
to the use of a light by a landowner or lessee as defined by this Code
on property under his/her control.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed Aug. 26, 1964, effective Dec. 31, 1964. For intervening his-
tory, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed
Sept. 14, 2005.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with John W.
Smith, Assistant Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission

Chapter 7—Wildlife Code: Hunting: Seasons, Methods,
Limits

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-7.430 Pheasants: Seasons, Limits. The commission pro-
poses to amend section (2).

PURPOSE: This amendment makes consistent the prescribed season
dates that male pheasants may be taken.
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(2)  Male pheasants [only] may be taken from December 1 through
December 12 in Dunklin, New Madrid, Pemiscot and Stoddard
counties.  Daily limit: one (1) male pheasant; possession limit:  one
(1) male pheasant.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed Sept. 25, 1974, effective Dec. 31, 1974. For intervening
history, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended:
Filed Sept. 14, 2005. 

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with John W.
Smith, Assistant Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission

Chapter 7—Wildlife Code: Hunting: Seasons, Methods,
Limits

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-7.445 Bullfrogs:  Seasons, Methods, Limits. The com-
mission proposes to amend provisions of this rule.

PURPOSE: This amendment allows frogs to be possessed throughout
the year while maintaining the possession of only the daily limit of
frogs on waters and banks thereof where daily limits apply; and
allows .22 or smaller caliber rimfire rifles or pistols to be used.

Bullfrogs and green frogs may be taken[, possessed and trans-
ported] from sunset, June 30 through October 31, by the holder of
a hunting permit [by means of] with a .22 caliber or smaller rim-
fire rifle or pistol, [or by] pellet gun, longbow, crossbow, or by hand
or handnet.  An artificial light may be used.  Daily limit:  eight (8)
frogs in the aggregate; possession limit:  sixteen (16) frogs in the
aggregate.  Only the daily limit of frogs may be possessed upon the
waters and banks thereof where daily limits apply.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed Aug. 18, 1971, effective Dec. 31, 1971. For intervening his-
tory, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed
Sept. 14, 2005. 

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with John W.
Smith, Assistant Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission

Chapter 8—Wildlife Code: Trapping: Seasons, Methods

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-8.505 Trapping. The commission proposes to amend pro-
visions of this rule.

PURPOSE: This amendment clarifies provisions for selling furbear-
er pelts and standardizes provisions with furbearer hunting regula-
tions. 

Any person, to exercise the privilege of trapping, shall obtain and
have on his/her person the prescribed permit or temporary permit
authorization number(s), unless exempt under provisions of 3 CSR
10-5.205. The temporary permit authorization number(s) and picture
identification must be carried at all times while trapping until the
actual permit(s) is received. Furbearers may be purchased and
sold only under provisions of Chapter 10, 3 CSR 10-4.135, and
this rule. No person shall accept payment for furbearers taken by
another.  Furbearers may not be held alive under trapping permits,
except as provided in 3 CSR 10-8.515(7). 

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed Aug. 16, 1973, effective Dec. 31, 1973. For intervening his-
tory, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed
Sept. 14, 2005.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with John W.
Smith, Assistant Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission

Chapter 8—Wildlife Code:  Trapping:  Seasons, Methods

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-8.510 Use of Traps. The commission proposes to amend
sections (1), (2) and (3) of this rule.

PURPOSE: This amendment prohibits persons other than the user
from killing or removing wildlife held in traps, snares or cable
restraint devices and standardizes the language used throughout
Chapter 8.

(1) Traps shall have smooth or rubber jaws only, and may include
foot-hold traps, [killing-type (Conibear-type)] Conibear or other
killing-type traps, foot-enclosing-type traps, cage-type traps, colony
traps with openings no greater than six inches (6") in height and six
inches (6") wide, or snares (as defined in 3 CSR 10-20.805) set
under water only, and cable restraint devices (as defined in 3 CSR
10-20.805), but only with the prescribed permit. Use of pitfalls,
deadfalls, snares set in a dry land set, and nets are prohibited. 
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(2) Traps, snares and cable restraint devices shall be plainly labeled,
on durable material, with the user’s full name and address. [Killer
(Conibear-type)] Wildlife held in traps, snares or cable restraint
devices may be killed or removed only by the user. Conibear or
other killing-type traps set under water and colony traps set under
water shall be attended and wildlife removed at least once every
forty-eight (48) hours. All other traps, snares and cable restraint
devices must be attended daily and wildlife removed or released.
Traps may not be set in paths made or used by persons or domestic
animals and Conibear[-type] or other killing-type traps may not be
set along public roadways, except under water in permanent waters.
Except as provided in 3 CSR 10-4.130, only cage-type traps or foot-
enclosing-type traps may be set within one hundred fifty feet (150')
of any resident or occupied building located within the established
boundaries of cities or towns containing ten thousand (10,000) or
more inhabitants. Homes, dens or nests of furbearers shall not be
molested or destroyed. Traps may be used in conjunction with elec-
tronic calls.

(3) Use of Conibear[-Type] or Other Killing-Type Traps: 
(A) No Conibear[-type trap] or other killing-type traps with a

jaw spread greater than five inches (5") shall be used in any dry land
set.

(B) Conibear[-type] or other killing-type traps with a jaw spread
not greater than eight inches (8") may be set six feet (6') or more
above ground level in buildings.

(C) Conibear[-type] or other killing-type traps of any size may
be set under water.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed Sept. 20, 1957, effective Dec. 31, 1957. For intervening
history, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended:
Filed Sept. 14, 2005.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with John W.
Smith, Assistant Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission

Chapter 9—Wildlife Code:  Confined Wildlife: Privileges,
Permits, Standards

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-9.105 General Provisions. The commission proposes to
amend provisions of this rule.

PURPOSE: This amendment adds a new section (2) which provides
an Approved Confined Wildlife Species List.  Only species which are
listed may be held under permit within the provisions of this chapter. 

(1) Any person holding wildlife in captivity in any manner shall have
in his/her possession the prescribed permit or evidence of exemption.
Renewal of permits is conditioned on compliance with provisions of
this Code.

(2) Confined wildlife held under permit within the provisions of
this Chapter shall include only those species listed on the follow-
ing Approved Confined Wildlife Species List:
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Approved Confined Wildlife Species List

Species Code No. Common Name Scientific Name

Class I Wildlife Breeders
Game Birds

Grouse, Blue Dendragapus obscurus
Grouse, Greater Sage- Centrocercus urophasianus
Grouse, Gunnison Sage- Centrocercus minimus
Grouse, Ruffed Bonasa umbellus
Grouse, Sharp-tailed Tympanuchus phasianellus
Grouse, Spruce Falcipennis canadensis
Partridge, Gray Perdix perdix
Pheasant, Ring-necked (all subspecies) Phasianus colchicus
Ptarmigan, Rock Lagopus mutus
Ptarmigan, White-tailed Lagopus leucurus
Ptarmigan, Willow Lagopus lagopus
Quail, Bobwhite (all subspecies) Colinus virginianus
Quail, California Callipepla californica
Quail, Gamble’s Callipepla gambelii
Quail, Mountain Oreortyx pictus
Quail, Scaled Callipepla squamata
Turkey, Wild (all subspecies) Melagris gallopava

Mammals
Armadillo, Nine-banded Dasypus novemcinctus
Badger Taxidea taxus
Beaver Castor canadensis
Bobcat Lynx rufus
Chipmunk, Eastern Tamias striatus
Coyote Canis latrans
Deer, Mule Odocoileus hemionus
Deer, White-tailed Odocoileus virginianus
Fox, Gray Urocyon cinereoargenteus
Fox, Red Vulpes vulpes
Groundhog (Woodchuck) Marmota monax
Mink Mustela vison
Muskrat Ondatra zibethicus
Opossum Didelphis virginiana
Otter, River Lontra canadensis
Rabbit, Eastern Cottontail Sylvilagus floridanus
Rabbit, Swamp Sylvilagus aquaticus
Raccoon Procyon lotor
Squirrel, Eastern Gray Sciurus carolinensis
Squirrel, Fox Sciurus niger
Squirrel, Franklin’s Ground Spermophilus franklinii
Squirrel, Thirteen-lined Ground Spermophilus tridecemlineatus
Squirrel, Southern Flying Glaucomys volans
Weasel, Least Mustela nivalis
Weasel, Long-tailed Mustela frenata

Amphibians
Salamanders

Newt, Central Notophthalmus viridescens
Salamander, Tiger Ambystoma tigrinum

Frogs and Toads
Bullfrog Rana catesbeiana
Frog, Green (Bronze) Rana clamitans
Frog, Southern Leopard Rana sphenocephala
Toad, American Bufo americanus
Treefrog, Eastern (Cope’s) Gray Hyla versicolor/chrysoscelis
Treefrog, Green Hyla cinerea

Reptiles
Turtles

Cooter, River Pseudemys concinna
Slider, Red-eared Trachemys scripta elegans
Softshell, Smooth Apalone mutica
Softshell, Spiny Apalone spinifera
Turtle, Ornate Box Terrapene ornate
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Species Code No. Common Name Scientific Name

Turtle, Alligator Snapping Macrochelys temminckii
Turtle, Common Map Graptemys geographica
Turtle, Common Musk (Stinkpot) Sternotherus odoratus
Turtle, Common Snapping Chelydra serpentine
Turtle, Mississippi Mud Kinosternon subrubrum
Turtle, Southern Painted Chrysemys picta dorsalis
Turtle, Three-toed Box Terrapene carolina triunguis
Turtle, Western Painted Chrysemys picta belli

Lizards
Lizard, Eastern Collared Crotaphytus collaris
Lizard, Prairie (Fence) Sceloporus consobrinus (undulates)
Lizard, Slender Glass Ophisaurus attenuatus
Lizard, Texas Horned Phrynosoma cornutum
Skink, Five-lined Eumeces fasciatus

Snakes
Bullsnake Pituophis catenifer sayi
Kingsnake, Prairie Lampropeltis calligaster
Kingsnake, Speckled Lampropeltis getula holbrooki
Snake, Black Rat Elaphe obsoleta obsoleta
Snake, Eastern Garter Thamnophis sirtalis sirtalis
Snake, Eastern Hog-nosed Heterodon platirhinos
Snake, Great Plains Rat Elaphe guttata emoryi
Snake, Red Milk Lampropeltis triangulum syspila
Snake, Red-sided Garter Thamnophis sirtalis parietalis
Snake, Western Hog-nosed (Dusty and Plains) Heterodon nasicus

Class II Wildlife Breeders
Bear, Black (& hybrids) Ursus americanus
Copperhead Agkistrodon contortrix
Cottonmouth Agkistrodon piscivorus
Lion, Mountain (& hybrids) Puma concolor
Rattlesnake, Pygmy Sistrurus miliarius
Rattlesnake, Timber (Canebrake) Crotalus horridus
Wolf, Gray (& hybrids) Canis lupus

Game Bird Hunting Preserves
Partridges, Exotic (all species) All species
Pheasants (all species) All species
Quail (all species) All species

Big Game Hunting Preserves
Antelope, Pronghorn Antilocapra americana
Boar, Wild (including feral hogs, razorback hogs, European boars and other pig species)
Caribou (Reindeer) Rangifer tarandus
Deer, Fallow Dama dama
Deer, Mule Odocoileus hemionus
Deer, Red Cervus species
Deer, Sika Cervus nippon
Deer, White-tailed Odocoileus virginianus
Elk Cervus elaphus
Goat, Mountain Oreamnos americanus
Moose Alces alces
Sheep, Bighorn Ovis canadensis
Sheep, Dall Ovis dalli
Ungulates (other species) deer, antelope deer, goats, sheep, 

etc.
Wildlife Hobby

Badger Taxidea taxus
Beaver Castor canadensis
Bobcat Lynx rufus
Coyote Canis latrans
Fox, Gray Urocyon cinereoargenteus
Fox, Red Vulpes vulpes
Groundhog (Woodchuck) Marmota monax
Mink Mustela vison
Muskrat Ondatra zibethicus
Opossum Didelphis virginiana
Otter, River Lontra canadensis
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Species Code No. Common Name Scientific Name

Pheasant, Ring-necked (all subspecies) Phasianus colchicus
Quail, Bobwhite (all subspecies) Colinus virginianus
Rabbit, Eastern Cottontail Sylvilagus floridanus
Rabbit, Swamp Sylvilagus aquaticus
Raccoon Procyon lotor
Squirrel, Eastern Gray Sciurus carolinensis
Squirrel, Fox Sciurus niger
Weasel, Least Mustela nivalis
Weasel, Long-tailed Mustela frenata

Wildlife Collector’s Permit
Species and numbers of each are limited to those specified on the permit

Resident Falconry Permit
Birds of prey as permitted under 3 CSR 10-9.422.

Hound Running Area Operator and
Dealer Permit

Coyote Canis latrans
Fox, Gray Urocyon cinereoargenteus
Fox, Red Vulpes vulpes

Field Trial Permit
Chukars Alectoris graeca
Ducks, Mallard Anas platyrhynchos
Pheasants (all species)
Quail (all species)

Dog Training Area Permit
Partridges, Exotic (all species)
Pheasants (all species)
Quail (all species)
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AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed June 9, 1993, effective Jan. 1, 1994. Amended: Filed April
25, 1996, effective March 1, 1997. Amended: Filed Sept. 29, 2004,
effective Feb. 28, 2005. Amended: Filed Sept. 14, 2005.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with John W.
Smith, Assistant Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.



Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission

Chapter 9—Wildlife Code: Confined Wildlife: Privileges,
Permits, Standards

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-9.110 General Provisions; Applications. The commis-
sion proposes to amend section (1) and subsections (3)(D) and (E).

PURPOSE: This amendment limits the collection and transportation
of invertebrate species of concern to those who hold Wildlife
Collector’s Permits and adds conditions to holding facilities for
potentially invasive crayfish and fish species to reduce the threat of
escape to state waters. 

PUBLISHER’S NOTE: The secretary of state has determined that
the publication of the entire text of the material which is incorporat-
ed by reference as a portion of this rule would be unduly cumbersome
or expensive. This material as incorporated by reference in this rule
shall be maintained by the agency at its headquarters and shall be
made available to the public for inspection and copying at no more
than the actual cost of reproduction. This note applies only to the ref-
erence material. The entire text of the rule is printed here.

(1) Possession of Native Species.
(A) A maximum of five (5) specimens of any native wildlife not

listed in 3 CSR 10-4.110(4) or 3 CSR 10-9.240, except endangered
species, bats, hellbenders, and alligator snapping turtles, may be
taken and possessed alive by a resident of Missouri without permit,
but these animals shall not be bought or sold.  Bones, skins, shells
and other parts of such wildlife may be possessed for personal use
without permit, but these wildlife parts in any form shall not be
bought or sold. Wildlife held under this subsection may not be
transported (or shipped) from the state.

(B) Native invertebrates listed in the January 2005 edition of
the Missouri Species and Communities of Conservation Concern
Checklist may only be collected and held by holders of a Wildlife
Collector’s Permit and only as prescribed in 3 CSR 10-9.425.
The Checklist is adopted as a part of this Code and by this ref-
erence is herein incorporated.  A printed copy of this booklet can
be obtained from the Missouri Department of Conservation, PO
Box 180, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0180 and is online at
www.missouriconservation.org.  This rule does not incorporate
any subsequent amendments or additions to the Checklist.

(3) Fish, tiger salamander larvae and crayfish  may be bought, sold,
transported, propagated, taken and possessed by any person without
permit throughout the year in any number or size and by any method
providing—

(D) That the privileges of this section do not apply to taking or
possession in, on or from waters of the state, waters stocked by the
state, or waters subject to movements of fishes into and from waters
of the state, except:

1. Animals defined as live bait and possessed under provisions
of this section may be possessed on the waters of the state for use as
live bait.

2. Fish cultured by a commercial fish producer that remain in a
man-made impoundment following inundation by flooding from
waters of the state as defined in this Code shall be considered the
property of the impoundment owner; provided the remaining fish
species are the same as were present in the impoundment prior to
inundation. Any other fish species in the impoundment shall be con-
sidered the property of the state and not available for sale, and shall
be returned unharmed immediately to the waters of the state when
harvested.

3. With the written authorization of the director, a privately[-]
owned impoundment that is entirely confined and located complete-
ly upon lands owned or leased by a single person or by two (2) or
more persons jointly or as tenants in common or by corporate share-
holders, and that is designated as waters of the state, may be used for

the commercial production of species listed in the Approved Aquatic
Species List in 3 CSR 10-9.110(3)(F) that were not stocked by the
department, provided that:

A. The impoundment owner has in his/her possession a
dated, written statement showing the number or weight of each
species stocked as proof that such animals were legally obtained from
other than waters of the state or from a licensed commercial fisher-
man.

B. The species being produced may be harvested by the meth-
ods and under the conditions specified in the director’s written
authorization.  All other species caught during culture activities must
be returned unharmed immediately to the water.

C. Statewide seasons, methods and limits apply for all other
species.

(E)  That the privileges of this section apply only to the following:
1. Species listed in the Approved Aquatic Species List (exclud-

ing transgenic organisms, but including all subspecies, varieties and
hybrids of the same bought, sold, transported, propagated, taken and
possessed for purposes of aquaculture).

2. Species frozen or processed for sale as food products.
3. Species incapable of surviving in fresh water.
4. [Species] Fish held only in aquaria, tanks or other contain-

ers having water discharged only into septic systems or municipal
waste treatment facilities that are designed and operated according to
guidelines of the Missouri Department of Natural Resources or that
entirely recirculate all of the water so that none of it shall drain
into a water body.

5. Species other than fish held only in aquaria, tanks or
other containers that have the following specifications:  all con-
tainers including the drain pipe or stand pipe must be complete-
ly covered with an intact screen of a maximum mesh size of 1/16
inch square, and having water discharged only into septic systems
or municipal waste treatment facilities that are designed and
operated according to guidelines of the Missouri Department of
Natural Resources or that entirely recirculate all of the water so
that none of it shall drain into a water body.

[5.]6.  Species held only in a closed system from which escape
of live organisms (including eggs, parasites and diseases) is not pos-
sible.  The species to be held and the system to be used must receive
prior written approval from the director.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. This rule
was previously filed as 3 CSR 10-4.110(5), (6) and (10). Original rule
filed June 26, 1975, effective July 7, 1975. For intervening history,
please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed Sept.
14, 2005. 

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with John W.
Smith, Assistant Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission

Chapter 9—Wildlife Code:  Confined Wildlife: Privileges,
Permits, Standards

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-9.220 Wildlife Confinement Standards. The commis-
sion proposes to amend section (7) and add a new section (8).
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PURPOSE: This amendment provides an exception for Class I and II
breeder permits for facilities that are inspected and subsequently
accredited through the American Zoo and Aquarium Association
(AZA) and more clearly states the intent of the rule which allows the
director to authorize other acceptable variations from wildlife con-
finement standards in specific instances.

(7) Requirements of this rule shall not apply to wildlife under the
care of a veterinarian or rehabilitation center, or to animals legally
held in circuses, publicly[-] owned zoos, American Zoo and
Aquarium Association (AZA) accredited not-for-profit facilities,
bona fide research facilities or on fur farms whose sole purposes are
to sell pelts or live animals to other fur farms and whose facilities
meet generally accepted fur farming industry standards and adhere to
provisions of sections (1), (3), and (5) of this rule. [Variations from
requirements of this rule shall be only as specifically autho-
rized by the director.]

(8) Other variations from requirements of this rule shall be only
as specifically authorized by the director.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. This rule
was previously filed as 3 CSR 10-3.020. Original rule filed Nov. 2,
1984, effective Feb. 11, 1985. For intervening history, please consult
the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed Sept. 14, 2005.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with John W.
Smith, Assistant Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission

Chapter 9—Wildlife Code: Confined Wildlife: Privileges,
Permits, Standards

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-9.353 Privileges of Class I and Class II Wildlife
Breeders. The commission proposes to amend sections (8) and (17).

PURPOSE: This amendment provides an exception for Class I and II
breeder permits for facilities that are inspected and subsequently
accredited through the American Zoo and Aquarium Association
(AZA) and requires the holder of a Class I wildlife breeder permit to
report escaped animals immediately to an agent of the department.

(8) No Class I or Class II wildlife breeder permit is required for
wildlife legally held by circuses, publicly[-] owned zoos, American
Zoo and Aquarium Association (AZA) accredited not-for-profit
facilities or bona fide research facilities; however, those wildlife may
not be held for personal use.  Physical contact between humans and
Class I and Class II wildlife in circuses must be restricted to the han-
dlers, performers or other circus employees.

(17) The holder of a Class I or Class II wildlife breeder permit shall
report escaped animals immediately to an agent of the department.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. This rule
was previously filed as 3 CSR 10-10.755. Original rule filed Aug. 18,
1970, effective Dec. 31, 1970. For intervening history, please consult
the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed Sept. 14, 2005.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with John W.
Smith, Assistant Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission

Chapter 9—Wildlife Code:  Confined Wildlife: Privileges,
Permits, Standards

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-9.565 Licensed Hunting Preserve: Privileges. The com-
mission proposes to amend paragraphs (1)(A)5. and (1)(B)8.

PURPOSE:  This amendment will allow Game Bird Hunting Preserve
operators to sell live game birds without also possessing a Class I
Wildlife Breeder Permit, under privileges of 3 CSR 10-9.353 and
require operators of Big Game Hunting Preserves to report escaped
animals immediately to an agent of the department.   

(1) Licensed hunting preserves are subject to inspection by an agent
of the department at any reasonable time. Animal health standards
and movement activities shall comply with all state and federal reg-
ulations. Any person holding a licensed hunting preserve permit may
release on his/her licensed hunting preserve legally acquired pheas-
ants, exotic partridges, quail and ungulates (hoofed animals) for
shooting throughout the year, under the following conditions:

(A) Game Bird Hunting Preserve.
1. The game bird hunting preserve shall be a single body of land

not less than one hundred sixty (160) acres and no more than six
hundred forty (640) acres in size.  Game bird hunting preserves may
be dissected by public roads, and shall be posted with signs specified
by the department.  Hunting preserve permits will not be issued for
areas[—]:

A. Within five (5) miles of any area where there is an ongo-
ing department game bird release program or where the most recent
release of department game birds has been made less than five (5)
years prior to receipt of the application.

B. In any location where those activities are considered by the
department as likely to further jeopardize any species currently des-
ignated by Missouri or federal regulations as threatened or endan-
gered wildlife.

2. Any person taking or hunting game birds on a licensed hunt-
ing preserve shall have in his/her possession a valid hunting small
game permit or licensed hunting preserve hunting permit, except that
persons fifteen (15) years of age or younger, when accompanied by
a properly licensed adult hunter, and residents sixty-five (65) years
of age and older, may hunt without permit. Licensed hunting pre-
serve hunting permits may be issued to persons without requiring dis-
play of a hunter education certificate card for use on game bird hunt-
ing preserves; provided s/he is hunting in the immediate presence of
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a properly licensed adult hunter who has in his/her possession a valid
hunter education certificate card.

3. Game birds taken on a hunting preserve may be possessed
and transported from the preserve only when accompanied by a
receipt listing the date, number and species taken, and name of the
hunting preserve; or when accompanied by an approved transporta-
tion sticker for each game bird taken. Transportation stickers must
be purchased from the department by the hunting preserve permittee.
Game birds may be taken in any numbers on these preserves.

4. The permittee must release during the shooting season at
least one (1) game bird per acre of hunting preserve, with at least
one-half (1/2) of the birds to be bobwhite quail, if quail are to be
hunted outside the statewide season. All birds shall be from a source
approved by the department.

5. The permittee may exercise privileges provided in 3 CSR
10-9.353 for game birds held under this permit in propagation
facilities within or directly adjacent to the game bird hunting
preserve. Propagation facilities may be separated from the hunt-
ing preserve by a public road, but must be directly adjacent.
Any such propagation facilities [contained within or adjacent to
the game bird hunting preserve] shall meet standards specified
in 3 CSR 10-9.220. [Breeding enclosures] Other propagation
facilities not contained within or directly adjacent to the hunting
preserve are not covered under the privileges of this rule.

(B) Big Game Hunting Preserve.
1. The big game hunting preserve for ungulates shall be a

fenced single body of land, not dissected by public roads, and not
less than three hundred twenty (320) acres and no more than three
thousand two hundred (3,200) acres in size. The hunting preserve
shall be fenced so as to enclose and contain all released game and
exclude all hoofed wildlife of the state from becoming a part of the
enterprise and posted with signs specified by the department. Fence
height shall meet standards specified in 3 CSR 10-9.220.

2. All elk, elk-hybrids, mule deer, and white-tailed deer intro-
duced into a big game hunting preserve shall meet the following
requirements:

A. Animals shall be tagged or marked in a method allowing
each individual animal to be uniquely identified.

B. Animals imported into Missouri must come from a herd
that is enrolled and has achieved a status two [(2)] or higher in a
United States Department of Agriculture approved or state-sponsored
chronic wasting disease monitoring program—two (2) years of sur-
veillance, advancement, and successful completion of program
requirements.

C. Animals from within Missouri must come from a herd
comprised of animals enrolled in a United States Department of
Agriculture approved or state-sponsored chronic wasting disease
monitoring program.  

3. Effective January 1 of each year, one hundred percent
(100%) of all elk, elk-hybrids, mule deer, and white-tailed deer over
twelve (12) months of age that die of any cause within a big game
hunting preserve operation, shall be tested for chronic wasting dis-
ease at a federally approved laboratory, up to an annual total of ten
(10) animals in the aggregate, except:  

A. No testing is required for big game hunting preserve oper-
ations that have not introduced, during the past three (3) years, any
elk, elk-hybrids, mule deer or white-tailed deer from a herd having
a status less than three [(3)] as documented through a United States
Department of Agriculture approved or state-sponsored chronic wast-
ing disease monitoring program—three (3) years of surveillance,
advancement, and successful completion of program requirements.

B. No testing is required for elk, elk-hybrids, mule deer, and
white-tailed deer documented through Missouri’s chronic wasting
disease monitoring program as from a status five [(5)] herd—five (5)
years of surveillance, advancement, and successful completion of
program requirements.

C. One hundred percent (100%) of all elk, elk-hybrids, mule
deer and white-tailed deer that are imported into Missouri that are

from a herd having a status less than three [(3)] as documented
through a United States Department of Agriculture or state-spon-
sored chronic wasting disease monitoring program that die of any
cause within a big game hunting preserve shall be tested for chronic
wasting disease at a federally approved laboratory.

4. All permits issued by the state veterinarian’s office allowing
cervids to enter Missouri and all chronic wasting disease test results
must be kept by the permittee and are subject to inspection by an
agent of the department at any reasonable time.  All test results doc-
umenting a positive case of chronic wasting disease shall be report-
ed immediately to an agent of the department. 

5. The permittee may exercise privileges provided in 3 CSR 10-
9.353 only for species held within breeding enclosure(s) contained
within or directly adjacent to the big game hunting preserve. Any
such breeding enclosure(s) shall meet standards specified in 3 CSR
10-9.220. Breeding enclosures may be separated from the hunting
preserve by a public road, but must be directly adjacent. Other
breeding enclosures not contained within or directly adjacent to the
hunting preserve are not covered under the privileges of this rule.

6. Any person taking or hunting ungulates on a big game hunt-
ing preserve shall have in his/her possession a valid licensed hunting
preserve hunting permit. The permittee shall attach to the leg of each
ungulate taken on the hunting preserve a locking leg seal furnished
by the department, for which the permittee shall pay ten dollars ($10)
per one hundred (100) seals. Any packaged or processed meat shall
be labeled with the licensed hunting preserve permit number.

7. Animal health standards and movement activities shall com-
ply with all state and federal regulations.

8.  Big game hunting preserve permittees shall report
escaped animals immediately to an agent of the department.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. This rule
previously filed as 3 CSR 10-10.765. Original rule filed Jan. 19,
1972, effective Feb. 1, 1972. For intervening history, please consult
the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed Sept. 14, 2005.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with John W.
Smith, Assistant Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission

Chapter 10—Wildlife Code: Commercial Permits:  
Seasons, Methods, Limits

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-10.722 [Missouri River] Resident Shovelnose Sturgeon
Commercial Harvest Permit.  The commission proposes to amend
provisions of this rule.

PURPOSE:  This amendment renames this permit and adds the
Mississippi River to the list of waters where shovelnose sturgeon may
be commercially harvested by residents of Missouri.

Required in addition to the Commercial Fishing Permit to take shov-
elnose sturgeon from the Missouri [River] and Mississippi rivers in
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accordance with 3 CSR 10-10.725.  This permit is available only to
residents of the state.  Fee:  Five hundred dollars ($500).

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed Dec. 30, 2003, effective July 1, 2004.  Amended:  Filed
Sept. 14, 2005.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with John W.
Smith, Assistant Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission

Chapter 10—Wildlife Code: Commercial Permits:  
Seasons, Methods, Limits

PROPOSED RULE

3 CSR 10-10.724 Nonresident Mississippi River Shovelnose
Sturgeon Commercial Harvest Permit

PURPOSE:  This rule establishes a special permit required in addi-
tion to the Commercial Fishing Permit for nonresidents of the state to
harvest shovelnose sturgeon from the Mississippi River. 

Required in addition to the Commercial Fishing Permit to take shov-
elnose sturgeon from the Mississippi River in accordance with 3
CSR 10-10.725.  This permit is available only to nonresidents of the
state.  Fee:  Five hundred dollars ($500).

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed Sept. 14, 2005.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will cost private entities approx-
imately two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500) based on five (5)
nonresident fishermen purchasing the permit.  Total fiscal impact for
the five (5)-year aggregate is twelve thousand five hundred dollars
($12,500).

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with John W. Smith,
Assistant Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.
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Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission

Chapter 10—Wildlife Code: Commercial Permits:  
Seasons, Methods, Limits

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-10.725 Commercial Fishing:  Seasons, Methods. The
commission proposes to amend sections (1), (5), (7) and (10), to add
a new section (8) and renumber the remaining sections.

PURPOSE:  This amendment establishes restrictions on the com-
mercial harvest of shovelnose sturgeon in the Mississippi River, pro-
vides specifications for hoop net wings and leads, clarifies that com-
mercial gear must be labled while in use with tags furnished by the
department, and corrects a referenced section.

(1) Commercial fish, and live bait for personal use, may be taken in
any numbers by the holder of a commercial fishing permit from com-
mercial waters with seines, gill nets, trammel nets, hoop nets with or
without wings, trotlines, throwlines, limb lines, bank lines or jug or
block lines and any number of hooks, except:

(C) On portions of the Mississippi River defined as commer-
cial waters where shovelnose sturgeon twenty-four inches (24") to
thirty-two inches (32") in length (measured from tip of snout to
fork of tail) may be taken only from October 15 through May 15
and only by holders of a Resident Shovelnose Sturgeon
Commercial Harvest Permit or Nonresident Mississippi River
Shovelnose Sturgeon Commercial Harvest Permit.

(5) From November 1 through May 15 on the Missouri River down-
stream from U.S. Highway 169 to Carl R. Noren Access and down-
stream from Chamois Access to its confluence with the Mississippi
River or banks thereof, the following may not be possessed or trans-
ported while fishing by commercial methods or while possessing
commercial fishing gear and shall be returned to the water unharmed
immediately after being caught:

(B) Shovelnose sturgeon less than twenty-four inches (24") [and]
or more than thirty inches (30") in length (measured from tip of
snout to fork of tail).

(7) [On] From May 16 through October 14 on the [Mississippi
River, except in Sand Chute below the mouth of Salt River
in Pike County, and also on waters which exist temporarily
through overflow from the Mississippi River east of the
Missouri Pacific Railroad between Cape Girardeau and Scott
City and east of the Mississippi River mainline and setback
levees between Commerce and the Arkansas state line] por-
tions of the Mississippi River defined as commercial waters, the
following may not be possessed or transported while fishing by com-
mercial methods or while possessing commercial fishing gear and
shall be returned to the water unharmed immediately after being
caught:

(C) Shovelnose sturgeon [more than thirty inches (30") in
length (measured from tip of snout to fork of tail)].

(8) From October 15 through May 15 on the portions of the
Mississippi River defined as commercial waters, the following
may not be possessed or transported while fishing by commercial
methods or while possessing commercial fishing gear and shall be
returned to the water unharmed immediately after being caught:

(A) Channel, blue and flathead catfish less than fifteen inches
(15") in total length.

(B) Paddlefish less than twenty-four inches (24") in length
(measured from eye to fork of tail).

(C) Shovelnose sturgeon less than twenty-four inches (24") or
more than thirty-two inches (32") in length (measured from tip
of snout to fork of tail).

(D) Other game fish.

[(8)] (9) While on waters of the state and adjacent banks, the head
and tail must remain attached to all fish, bowfin and shovelnose stur-
geon must remain whole and intact, and the ovaries of paddlefish
must remain intact and accompany the fish from which they were
removed.

[(9)] (10) Commercial fishing gear may not be used or set within
three hundred (300) yards of any spillway, lock, dam or the mouth of
any tributary stream or ditch, or in waters existing temporarily
through overflow outside the banks of the specified rivers except as
provided in section [(1)] (7) of this rule, and may not be used to take
fish underneath or through the ice.  Seines, gill nets and trammel
nets having a mesh smaller than two inches (2") bar measure, mea-
sured when wet, may not be used.  Hoop nets, [and] including
wings and leads, having a mesh smaller than one and one-half inch-
es (1 1/2") bar measure, measured when wet, may not be used.
Hoop net wings and leads must be a single panel and no more
than six feet (6') in depth.  Hooks attached to trotlines or throw-
lines shall be staged not less than two feet (2') apart. [All] While in
use, all commercial fishing gear [used for commercial fishing]
shall be labeled with tags furnished by the department and placed as
indicated on the tags. Portions of trotlines and jug or block lines,
throwlines, bank lines and limb lines must have the commercial tag
number under which they are being fished attached to each line.
Commercial fishing gear may not be possessed on waters of the state
or adjacent banks that are not open to commercial fishing, except
during transportation by boat from the nearest access location to
commercial fishing waters as determined by the department.

[(10)] (11) The possession of game fish while in the act of using
commercial fishing gear or aboard a boat transporting fish taken by
commercial fishing gear is prohibited.

[(11)] (12) The possession of extracted eggs of any fish species,
except as provided in section (8) of this rule, is prohibited while on
waters of the state and adjacent banks.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed Aug. 16, 1973, effective Dec. 31, 1973. For intervening his-
tory, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed
Sept. 14, 2005.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with John W.
Smith, Assistant Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission

Chapter 10—Wildlife Code: Commercial Permits:  
Seasons, Methods, Limits

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-10.726 Reciprocal Privileges:  Commercial Fishing and
Musseling; Commercial Waters. The commission proposes to add
section (6).
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PURPOSE:  This amendment recognizes reciprocal privileges for
harvest of shovelnose sturgeon on the Mississippi River by properly
licensed commercial fishers from Illinois and Tennessee.

(6) Any person possessing a valid commercial permit or license to
harvest shovelnose sturgeon issued by the states of Illinois or
Tennessee may harvest shovelnose sturgeon from the Missouri
portion of the Mississippi River without further permit or
license, as permitted by this Code.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed March 14, 1973, effective March 24, 1973. For interven-
ing history, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended:
Filed Sept. 14, 2005.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with John W.
Smith, Assistant Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission

Chapter 10—Wildlife Code: Commercial Permits: 
Seasons, Methods, Limits

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-10.782 Commercial Musseling, Seasons, Methods. The
commission proposes to amend section (1).

PURPOSE: This amendment prohibits taking mussel species of con-
servation concern for commercial purposes.

(1) Mussels may be taken for commercial purposes from sunrise to
sunset from April 1 through August 31, only by hand or brail. Brails
must be less than twenty feet (20') in length and only three (3) brails
per boat may be possessed. Mussels may not be possessed on waters
open to commercial musseling during hours closed to harvest.
Commercial musselers may possess mussels only from April 1
through September 15.  All endangered species, all species of con-
servation concern (as defined in 3 CSR 10-9.110) and all wash-
board mussels (Megalonaias nervosa), regardless of size[,]; [all
washboard mussels (Megalonaias nervosa),] all three ridge
mussels (Amblema plicata) that can pass through a ring with an
inside diameter of three inches (3")[,]; all mapleleaf mussels
(Quadrula quadrula) that can pass through a ring with an inside
diameter of two and three-fourths inches (2 3/4"); and all other mus-
sels that can pass through a ring with an inside diameter of two and
one-half inches (2 1/2”) must be returned unharmed immediately to
the bed where taken.  Mussels may be taken in any numbers by the
holder of a commercial musseling permit from commercial waters.
Mussels may not be taken or possessed in Pool 24 of the Mississippi
River west of the navigation channel.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed April 28, 1992, effective Feb. 26, 1993. For intervening his-
tory, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed
Sept. 14, 2005.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with John W.
Smith, Assistant Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission

Chapter 11—Wildlife Code: Special Regulations for
Department Areas

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-11.110 General Provisions. The commission proposes to
amend section (1), adds new sections (2) and (7) and renumber sec-
tions accordingly.

PURPOSE: This amendment clarifies that persons collecting or
doing research on invertebrate species or plants on lands owned or
managed by Missouri Department of Conservation (MDC) must
obtain a Wildlife Collector’s Permit or Letter of Authorization for
Plant Collecting and prohibits guiding for pay on department areas.

(1) The following activities are allowed on department areas only
where and as authorized by this chapter or by signs and area
brochures or by a special use permit issued by the area manager:
swimming, sailboarding, sailboating, skateboarding, boating, entry
on areas closed to public use, bicycling, camping, shooting, hunting,
fishing, trapping, [collecting or possessing wild plants and
wild animals and unprocessed parts thereof,] removal of water,
commercial use, vending, fires outside of designated camping areas,
rock collecting, digging and other soil disturbance, field trials,
horseback riding, ranging of horses and other livestock, possession
of pets and hunting dogs, caving, rock climbing, rappelling, paint-
balling, scuba diving, water skiing, the use and possession of vehi-
cles and aircraft, the use of decoys, and the use or construction of
blinds and tree stands. 

(2) Collecting or possessing wild plants and wild animals (includ-
ing invertebrates) and unprocessed parts thereof must be autho-
rized by a Letter of Authorization for Plant Collecting or a
Wildlife Collector’s Permit, respectively, except as otherwise
authorized in this Code.

[(2)] (3) On Thomas Hill Reservoir, swimming, sailboarding, scuba
diving and water skiing are permitted, except water skiing is prohib-
ited north of Highway T on the Stinking Creek Arm of the lake and
on the warm water arm of the lake upstream from the marker buoys.

[(3)] (4) The destruction, defacing or removal of department prop-
erty and use of fireworks are prohibited.

[(4)] (5) Possession of glass food and beverage containers is prohib-
ited within the Castor River Shut-Ins Natural Area on Amidon
Memorial Conservation Area.

[(5)] (6) Waste containers may be used only for disposal of garbage,
trash, refuse or rubbish generated on the department area.

(7) Guiding for pay is prohibited on department areas.
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AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. This rule
previously filed as 3 CSR 10-4.115. Original rule filed April 30, 2001,
effective Sept. 30, 2001. Amended: Filed May 9, 2002, effective Oct.
30, 2002.  Amended:  Filed Sept. 14, 2005.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with John W.
Smith, Assistant Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission

Chapter 11—Wildlife Code: Special Regulations for
Department Areas 

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-11.125 Field Trials. The commission proposes to amend
subsection (1)(J).  

PURPOSE: This amendment corrects the name of the Wayne Helton
Memorial Wildlife Area.  

(1) Field trials are only permitted on the department areas listed
below.  A field trial special use permit issued by the area manager is
required.  Unless otherwise provided on the field trial special use
permit, field trials are permitted from September 1 through the
Monday closest to March 31.  Field trial types and locations may be
further restricted on each designated area: 

(J) [Helton Conservation Area] The Wayne Helton Memorial
Wildlife Area

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed May 9, 2002, effective Oct. 30, 2002. Amended: Filed
Sept. 29, 2004, effective Feb. 28, 2005.  Amended:  Filed Sept. 14,
2005.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with John W.
Smith, Assistant Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission

Chapter 11—Wildlife Code:  Special Regulations for
Department Areas

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-11.180 Hunting, General Provisions and Seasons.   The
commission proposes to amend sections (4), (14) and (17), delete
section (15) and renumber sections accordingly.

PURPOSE:  This amendment removes Schnabel Woods as a
Department of Conservation Area; establishes provisions for fall
turkey and squirrel hunting on the fenced portion of Caney Mountain
Conservation Area; provides additional hunting opportunity for rab-
bits and squirrels on the James A. Reed Memorial Wildlife Area. 

(4) Hunting is prohibited on the following department areas except
for deer hunting as authorized in the annual Fall Deer and Turkey
Hunting Regulations and Information booklet:

[(IIII)   Schnabel Woods]
[(JJJJ)] (IIII) F. O. and Leda J. Sears Memorial Wildlife Area
[(KKKK)] (JJJJ) Sedalia Conservation Service Center
[(LLLL)] (KKKK) Shawnee Mac Lakes Conservation Area
[(MMMM)] (LLLL) Shepherd of the Hills Fish Hatchery
[(NNNN)] (MMMM) Sims Valley Community Lake
[(OOOO)] (NNNN) Southeast Regional Office
[(PPPP)] (OOOO) Southwest Regional Office
[(QQQQ)] (PPPP) Springfield Conservation Nature Center
[(RRRR)] (QQQQ) Julian Steyermark Woods Conservation Area
[(SSSS)] (RRRR) Sullivan Office
[(TTTT)] (SSSS) Thirtyfour Corner Blue Hole
[(UUUU)] (TTTT) Tower Rock Natural Area
[(VVVV)] (UUUU) Tri-City Community Lake
[(WWWW)] (VVVV) Twin Borrow Pits Conservation Area
[(XXXX)] (WWWW) Tywappity Community Lake
[(YYYY)] (XXXX) Ulman Towersite
[(ZZZZ)] (YYYY) Upper Mississippi Conservation Area

(Clarksville Refuge)
[(AAAAA)] (ZZZZ) Vandalia Community Lake
[(BBBBB)] (AAAAA) Wah-Kon-Tah Prairie (portion south of

Highway 82)
[(CCCCC)] (BBBBB) Wah-Sha-She Prairie
[(DDDDD)] (CCCCC) Walnut Woods Conservation Area
[(EEEEE)] (DDDDD) Warrenton Office  
[(GGGGG)] (EEEEE) White Alloe Creek Conservation Area
[(HHHHH)] (FFFFF)Wildcat Glade Natural Area
[(IIIII)] (GGGGG) Walter Woods Conservation Area
[(JJJJJ)] (HHHHH) Mark Youngdahl Urban Conservation Area

(14) On Caney Mountain Conservation Area (fenced portion), spring
turkey hunting is permitted only by holders of a Spring Turkey
Hunting Permit who have been selected to participate in the managed
hunt.  Fall firearms turkey hunting is permitted under statewide
regulations except during scheduled managed deer hunts.
Squirrel hunting is permitted during the prescribed season except
from September 1 through November 30.

[(15) On Caney Mountain Conservation Area (fenced por-
tion), firearms squirrel hunting is prohibited from September
1 through November 30.]

[(16)] (15) On August A. Busch Memorial Conservation Area:
(A) Rabbits may be hunted only with shotgun from January 1

through February 15, except on designated portions where special
management restrictions apply. The daily limit is four (4) rabbits.

(B) Doves may be hunted only from one-half (1/2) hour before
sunrise to 1:00 p.m. during the statewide season.

(C) Squirrels and groundhogs may be hunted only with shotgun
from the fourth Saturday in May through October 15.

(D) Furbearers may only be hunted from 6:00 p.m. to 6:00 a.m.
from December 15 through the end of the prescribed furbearer sea-
son. Coyotes may be taken only by shotgun during daylight hours
from the fourth Saturday in May through September 30 and from
December 15 through March 31, except coyotes may be taken during
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managed deer hunts by participants possessing a valid Managed Deer
Hunting Permit and the prescribed hunting permit.

(E) Spring turkey hunting is permitted only by holders of a Spring
Turkey Hunting Permit who have been selected to participate in the
area’s managed spring turkey hunt. Fall firearms turkey hunting is
prohibited. Fall archery turkey hunting is permitted only by holders
of an Archer’s Hunting Permit who have been selected to participate
in the area’s archery managed deer hunt; turkeys may only be taken
prior to taking a deer.

(F) Quail hunting is permitted only during managed quail hunts.

[(17)] (16) On James A. Reed Memorial Wildlife Area:
(A) Rabbits may be [hunted only from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30

p.m. daily] taken between sunrise and sunset from December 1
through the end of the statewide season by holders of a valid area
daily hunting [tag] permit.  

(B) Doves may be [hunted] taken only in assigned areas from
assigned shooting stations from noon to sunset each Monday through
Friday, except Labor Day, during the statewide season by holders of
a valid area daily hunting [tag] permit.  

(C) Squirrels may be [hunted only from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30
p.m. daily] taken between sunrise and sunset from December 1
through [December 31] the end of the statewide season by hold-
ers of a valid area daily hunting [tag] permit.  

(D) Turkey, furbearer, and quail hunting are prohibited except dur-
ing managed hunts. 

[(18)] (17) On Bois D’Arc Conservation Area and White River Trace
Conservation Area, quail and dove hunting are permitted only until
1:00 p.m. daily. During the first seven (7) days of dove season, doves
may be taken in assigned areas only by holders of a valid area daily
hunting tag. Quail may be taken only by holders of a valid area daily
hunting tag until the area is posted closed based on harvest surveys.

[(19)] (18) On Lake Paho Conservation Area, doves may be hunted
only from one-half (1/2) hour before sunrise to 1:00 p.m. during the
statewide season.

[(20)] (19) On Eagle Bluffs Conservation Area,  William R. Logan
Conservation Area and William G. and Erma Parke White Memorial
Wildlife Area, doves may be hunted only in assigned areas from an
assigned shooting station on designated days from 1:00 p.m. to 5:00
p.m. during the September portion of statewide season by holders of
a valid area daily hunting tag.

[(21)] (20) On Marais Temps Clair Conservation Area:
(A) Dove hunting is permitted only until 1:00 p.m. daily.
(B) Quail, rabbit, pheasant, woodcock, squirrel, groundhog,

furbearer, turkey and crow hunting is prohibited.
(C) All hunters must possess a valid daily hunting tag.

[(22)] (21) On Robert E. Talbot Conservation Area, quail may be
taken only by holders of a valid area daily hunting tag.

[(23)] (22) Quail hunting is permitted only until 1:00 p.m. daily
from November 1 through December 15 on the following department
areas:

(A) Capps Creek Conservation Area
(B) Reform Conservation Area
(C) Dr. O. E. and Eloise Sloan Conservation Area
(D) Robert E. Talbot Conservation Area
(E) Whetstone Creek Conservation Area

[(24)] (23) On Columbia Bottom Conservation Area and Saint
Stanislaus Conservation Area, hunting is permitted only during man-
aged hunts or by holders of a valid area daily hunting tag.

[(25)] (24) On Lake Girardeau Conservation Area, hunting is per-
mitted only from November 1 through April 1.

[(26)] (25) On Settle’s Ford Conservation Area, hunting of wildlife
other than waterfowl is prohibited in designated waterfowl hunting
areas from October 15 through the end of the prescribed Canada
goose season.

[(27)] (26) Hunting of wildlife other than waterfowl is prohibited,
except in designated areas, from October 15 through the prescribed
waterfowl season on the following department areas:

(A) Bob Brown Conservation Area
(B) Columbia Bottom Conservation Area
(C) Coon Island Conservation Area
(D) Duck Creek Conservation Area
(E) Eagle Bluffs Conservation Area
(F) Fountain Grove Conservation Area
(G) Grand Pass Conservation Area
(H) B. K. Leach Memorial Conservation Area
(I) Marais Temps Clair Conservation Area
(J) Montrose Conservation Area
(K) Nodaway Valley Conservation Area
(L) Otter Slough Conservation Area
(M) Schell-Osage Conservation Area
(N) Ted Shanks Conservation Area
(O) Ten Mile Pond Conservation Area

[(28)] (27) On the portion of Nodaway River bordered by the por-
tion of Nodaway Valley Conservation Area which has been designat-
ed a waterfowl refuge, all hunting is prohibited from October 15
through the end of the prescribed waterfowl season.

[(29)] (28) On Burr Oak Woods Conservation Area, spring turkey
hunting is permitted only by  persons under sixteen (16) years of age
holding a Managed Turkey Hunting Permit in addition to the pre-
scribed turkey hunting permit; provided, s/he is hunting in the imme-
diate presence of a properly licensed adult who has in his/her pos-
session a valid hunter education certificate card.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. This rule
previously filed as 3 CSR 10-4.115. Original rule filed April 30, 2001,
effective Sept. 30, 2001. For intervening history, please consult the
Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed Sept. 14, 2005. 

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with John W.
Smith, Assistant  Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box
180, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission

Chapter 11—Wildlife Code: Special Regulations for
Department Areas

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-11.200 Fishing, General Provisions and Seasons. The
commission proposes to amend subsection (2)(H).
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PURPOSE: This amendment removes Chloe Lowry Marsh Natural
Area from the list of department area lakes where fishing is prohib-
ited.  

(2) Fishing is prohibited on the following department areas or indi-
vidually named lakes:

[(H) Chloe Lowry Marsh Natural Area]
[(I)] (H) Mon-Shon Prairie Conservation Area
[(J)] (I) Mount Vernon Prairie
[(K)] (J) Niawathe Prairie Conservation Area
[(L)] (K) Pawhuska Prairie
[(M)] (L) Powder Valley Conservation Nature Center
[(N)] (M) Springfield Conservation Nature Center
[(O)] (N) Wah-Kon-Tah Prairie (portion south of Highway 82)
[(P)] (O) Wah-Sha-She Prairie
[(Q)] (P) Henry Jackson Waters and C.B. Moss Memorial

Wildlife Area
[(R)] (Q) Mark Youngdahl Urban Conservation Area

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. This rule
previously filed as 3 CSR 10-4.115. Original rule filed April 30, 2001,
effective Sept. 30, 2001. Amended: Filed Aug. 30, 2001, effective
Jan. 30, 2002.  Amended:  Filed Sept. 14, 2005.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with John W.
Smith, Assistant Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission

Chapter 11—Wildlife Code: Special Regulations for
Department Areas

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-11.205 Fishing, Methods and Hours. The commission
proposes to amend sections (1), (3) and (8), add new sections (9) and
(10) and renumber the sections accordingly.

PURPOSE: This amendment allows for the take of carp, buffalo,
suckers and gar at Nodaway County Community Lake by methods
other than pole and line; removes some fishing restrictions at Coot
Lake; permits the seining or trapping of live bait from lakes on ponds
on the Ted Shanks Conservation Area; clarifies the regulations that
permit seining and trapping of live bait on other department areas;
and, closes department areas where several crayfish species of con-
cern are found.

(1) On lakes and ponds, fish may be taken only with pole and line
and not more than three (3) poles may be used by one (1) person at
any time, except as otherwise provided in this chapter.

(B) Carp, buffalo, suckers and gar may be taken by gig, longbow,
or crossbow during statewide seasons on the following department
areas or individually named lakes:

1. Atlanta Conservation Area
2. Bismarck Conservation Area

3. Blackjack Access
4. Bob Brown Conservation Area
5. Columbia Bottom Conservation Area
6. Cooley Lake Conservation Area
7. Deer Ridge Conservation Area
8. Deroin Bend Conservation Area
9. Duck Creek Conservation Area
10. Eagle Bluffs Conservation Area
11. Connor O. Fewel Conservation Area
12. Fountain Grove Conservation Area
13. Four Rivers Conservation Area
14. Franklin Island Conservation Area
15. Grand Pass Conservation Area
16. Hunnewell Lake Conservation Area
17. King Lake Conservation Area
18. Kings Prairie Access
19. Lake Paho Conservation Area
20. Lamine River Conservation Area
21. B. K. Leach Memorial Conservation Area
22. Limpp Community Lake
23. Little Compton Lake Conservation Area
24. Locust Creek Conservation Area
25. Manito Lake Conservation Area
26. Marais Temps Clair Conservation Area
27. Nodaway County Community Lake
[27.] 28. Nodaway Valley Conservation Area
[28.] 29. Otter Lake (Otter Slough Conservation Area)
[29.] 30. Peabody Conservation Area
[30.] 31. Ralph and Martha Perry Memorial Conservation Area
[31.] 32. Haysler A. Poague Conservation Area
[32.] 33. Pony Express Lake Conservation Area
[33.] 34. Rebel’s Cove Conservation Area
[34.] 35. Schell-Osage Conservation Area
[35.] 36. Henry Sever Lake Conservation Area
[36.] 37. Settle’s Ford Conservation Area
[37.] 38. Ted Shanks Conservation Area
[38.] 39. H. F. Thurnau Conservation Area
[39.] 40. Truman Reservoir Management Lands
[40.] 41. Worth County Community Lake
[41.] 42. Worthwine Island Conservation Area

(3) On James A. Reed Memorial Wildlife Area:
[(B) On Coot Lake, from November 1 through January 31,

only flies and artificial lures may be used and fish must be
returned to the water unharmed immediately after being
caught.]

[(C)] (B) On Honker Pond, fishing is restricted to persons fifteen
(15) years of age or younger and not more than one (1) pole and line
may be used by any one (1) person at one time.

[(D)] (C) On Prairie Hollow Lake, fishing is permitted only by
reservation by educational groups, and fish must be returned to the
water unharmed immediately after being caught except as provided
by special use permit.

(8) Seining or trapping live bait, including tadpoles, is prohibited on
all lakes and ponds, [and on streams and the discharge chan-
nels of impoundments on Mule Shoe Conservation Area,]
except as otherwise provided in this chapter.

(A)  Seining or trapping live bait, excluding all frogs and tadpoles,
in compliance with 3 CSR 10-6.605 is permitted on designated lakes
and ponds on the following department areas:

1. Atlanta Conservation Area
2. Bob Brown Conservation Area
3. Fountain Grove Conservation Area
4. Grand Pass Conservation Area
5. Long Branch Lake Management Lands
6. Locust Creek Conservation Area
7. Nodaway Valley Conservation Area
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8. Rebel’s Cove Conservation Area
9. Ted Shanks Conservation Area

(9) On Mule Shoe Conservation Area, seining or trapping live
bait, including tadpoles, is prohibited on streams and the dis-
charge channels of impoundments.

(10) The taking of crayfish, is prohibited on the following:
(A) Caney Mountain Conservation Area 
(B) Cover Prairie Conservation Area
(C) George and Vida Martin Access
(D) Turnback Cave (Paris Springs Access)

[(9)] (11) Salvage seining of other fish as designated in 3 CSR 10-
6.550 may be permitted seasonally for personal use with a special
use permit.

[(10)] (12) On Wire Road Conservation Area, other fish as desig-
nated in 3 CSR 10-6.550 may be taken by snagging, snaring, or grab-
bing from March 15 through May 15.

[(11)] (13) On the Burr Oak Woods Conservation Area aquatic edu-
cation pond, fishing is permitted only by reservation by educational
groups, and fish must be returned to the water unharmed immedi-
ately after being caught except as provided by special use permit.

[(12)] (14) On the Platte Falls Conservation Area aquatic education
ponds, fish must be returned to the water unharmed immediately
after being caught.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. This rule
previously filed as 3 CSR 10-4.115. Original rule filed April 30, 2001,
effective Sept. 30, 2001. For intervening history, please consult the
Code of State Regulations.  Amended:  Filed Sept. 14, 2005.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with John W.
Smith, Assistant Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission

Chapter 11—Wildlife Code: Special Regulations for
Department Areas

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-11.210 Fishing, Daily and Possession Limits. The com-
mission proposes to amend sections (5), (7) and (11).

PURPOSE: This amendment removes the special crappie regulation
on Hazel Hill Lake; lowers the crappie daily limit to fifteen (15) at
Robert G. DeLaney Lake; lowers the bluegill daily limit to ten (10)
at General Watkins Conservation Area; and corrects an inconsisten-
cy.

(5) On Bellefontaine Conservation Area, [Hazel Hill Lake] Robert
G. DeLaney Lake Conservation Area and Schell-Osage
Conservation Area, the daily limit for crappie shall be fifteen (15).

(7) At Tobacco Hills Lake (Guy B. Park Conservation Area), [and]
August A. Busch Memorial Conservation Area and General
Watkins Conservation Area, the daily limit for bluegill and other
sunfish shall be ten (10) in the aggregate.

(11) On Bellefontaine Conservation Area, Port Hudson Lake
Conservation Area and James A. Reed Memorial Wildlife Area, the
daily limit for [other] fish [as designated in 3 CSR 10-6.550]
other than those designated as endangered in 3 CSR 10-4.111 or
defined as game fish shall be ten (10) in the aggregate.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. This rule
previously filed as 3 CSR 10-4.115. Original rule filed April 30, 2001,
effective Sept. 30, 2001. For intervening history, please consult the
Code of State Regulations.  Amended:  Filed Sept. 14, 2005.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with John W.
Smith, Assistant Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission

Chapter 11—Wildlife Code: Special Regulations for
Department Areas

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-11.215 Fishing, Length Limits. The commission pro-
poses to amend sections (2), (6) and (8).

PURPOSE: This amendment establishes a fifteen inch (15") mini-
mum length limit on black bass on Apple Creek Conservation Area
and Castor River Conservation Area; changes Union Ridge Lake
from a fifteen inch (15") minimum length limit on black bass to
twelve inches to fifteen inches (12"–15") protected length range;
establishes an eight inch (8") minimum length limit on bluegill at
General Watkins Conservation Area; removes the forty-two inch
(42") minimum length limit for muskellunge at Lake Girardeau and
Henry Sever Lake; and establishes a nine inch (9") minimum length
limit for crappie at Robert G. DeLaney Lake Conservation Area.

(2) On lakes and ponds, except as listed below, black bass more than
twelve inches (12") but less than fifteen inches (15") total length
must be returned to the water unharmed immediately after being
caught.

(B) Black bass less than fifteen inches (15") total length must be
returned to the water unharmed immediately after being caught on
the following department areas or individually named lakes:

1. Amarugia Highlands Conservation Area
2. Apple Creek Conservation Area
[2.] 3. Atkinson Lake (Schell-Osage Conservation Area)
[3.] 4. Baltimore Bend Conservation Area
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[4.] 5. Bilby Ranch Lake Conservation Area
[5.] 6. Binder Community Lake
[6.] 7. Buffalo Bill Lake (Pony Express Lake Conservation

Area)
[7.] 8. August A. Busch Memorial Conservation Area (except

Lakes 33 and 35)
9. Castor River Conservation Area
[8.] 10. Che-Ru Lake (Fountain Grove Conservation Area)
[9.] 11. Jerry P. Combs Lake (Little River Conservation Area)
[10.] 12. Deer Ridge Lake (Deer Ridge Conservation Area)
[11.] 13. General Watkins Conservation Area
[12.] 14. Jamesport Community Lake
[13.] 15. J. N. “Turkey” Kearn Memorial Wildlife Area
[14.] 16. Limpp Community Lake
[15.] 17. Lone Jack Lake Conservation Area
[16.] 18. Maple Leaf Lake Conservation Area
[17.] 19. Nodaway County Community Lake
[18.] 20. Otter Slough Conservation Area
[19.] 21. Perry County Community Lake
[20.] 22. Pony Express Lake (Pony Express Lake Conservation

Area)
[21.] 23. Ray County Community Lake
[22.] 24. James A. Reed Memorial Wildlife Area
[23.] 25. Rinquelin Trail Community Lake
[24.] 26. Schell Lake (Schell-Osage Conservation Area)
[25.] 27. Ted Shanks Conservation Area
[26.] 28. Tobacco Hills Lake (Guy B. Park Conservation Area)
[27.  Union Ridge Lake (Union Ridge Conservation

Area)]
[28.] 29. Vandalia Community Lake
[29.] 30. Weldon Spring Conservation Area
[30.] 31. Worth County Community Lake

(6) On Tobacco Hills Lake (Guy B. Park Conservation Area) and
General Watkins Conservation Area, bluegill less than eight inch-
es (8") total length must be returned to the water unharmed immedi-
ately after being caught.

[(8) On Lake Girardeau Conservation Area and Henry Sever
Lake Conservation Area, muskellunge less than forty-two
inches (42") total length must be returned to the water
unharmed immediately after being caught.]

(8) On Robert G. DeLaney Lake Conservation Area, all crappie
less than nine inches (9") total length must be returned to the
water unharmed immediately after being caught.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. This rule
previously filed as 3 CSR 10-4.115. Original rule filed April 30, 2001,
effective Sept. 30, 2001. Amended: Filed Aug. 30, 2001, effective
Jan. 30, 2002. Amended: Filed May 9, 2002, effective March 1,
2003. Amended: Filed Oct. 9, 2003, effective March 30, 2004.
Amended: Filed Sept. 29, 2004, effective Feb. 28, 2005.  Amended:
Filed Sept. 14, 2005.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with John W.
Smith, Assistant Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission

Chapter 12—Wildlife Code: Special Regulations for
Areas Owned by Other Entities

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-12.109 Closed Hours. The commission proposes to
amend subsection (1)(A) and add a new subsection (1)(Q).

PURPOSE: This amendment establishes closed hours at Jack Floyd
Memorial Lake and Valley Water Mill Lake.

(1) Closed Hours. The following areas are closed to public use from
10:00 p.m. to 4:00 a.m. daily; however, hunting, fishing, trapping,
dog training, camping, launching boats and landing boats are per-
mitted at any time on areas where these activities are authorized,
except as further restricted in this chapter.

(A) Bowling Green (West City Lake and Jack Floyd Memorial
Lake)

(Q) Watershed Committee of the Ozarks (Valley Water Mill
Lake)

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed June 1, 2001, effective Oct. 30, 2001. Amended: Filed Sept.
29, 2004, effective Feb. 28, 2005. Amended: Filed April 20, 2005,
effective Sept. 30, 2005. Amended: Filed Sept. 14, 2005. 

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with John W.
Smith, Assistant Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission

Chapter 12—Wildlife Code: Special Regulations for
Areas Owned by Other Entities

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-12.110 Use of Boats and Motors. The commission pro-
poses to add new subsections (2)(W) and (6)(D), amend subsection
(6)(M) and reletter the remaining subsections.

PURPOSE: This rule establishes provisions for use of boats and
motors at Valley Water Mill Lake, allows use of outboard motors
larger than ten (10) horsepower under a slow, no-wake speed at
Green City Lake and corrects the name of Monroe City.

(2) Boats are prohibited on the following areas:
(W) Watershed Committee of the Ozarks (Valley Water Mill

Lake)

(6) Outboard motors in excess of ten (10) horsepower may be used
but must be operated at slow, no-wake speed on the following areas:

(D) Green City Lake
[(D)] (E) Little River Drainage District (Head-waters Diversion

Channel)
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[(E)] (F) Higginsville City Lake
[(F)] (G) Holden City Lake
[(G)] (H) Iron Mountain City Lake
[(H)] (I) Macon City Lake
[(I)] (J) Marceline (Marceline City Lake, Old Marceline City

Reservoir)
[(J)] (K) Mark Twain National Forest (Council Bluff Lake,

Palmer Lake)
[(K)] (L) Memphis (Lake Showme)
[(L)] (M) Milan (Elmwood Lake)
[(M)] (N) Monroe City (Route J Reservoir)
[(N)] (O) Watkins Woolen Mill State Park and Historic Site

(Williams Creek Lake)

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. This rule
previously filed as 3 CSR 10-4.116. Original rule filed April 30, 2001,
effective Sept. 30, 2001. For intervening history, please consult the
Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed Sept. 14, 2005.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with John W.
Smith, Assistant Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission

Chapter 12—Wildlife Code: Special Regulations for
Areas Owned by Other Entities

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-12.145 Fishing, Length Limits. The commission pro-
poses to amend subsection (2)(E).

PURPOSE: This amendment removes the special length limit at
Lewis County Public Water Supply District #1 (Ewing Lake).

(2) Black bass more than twelve inches (12") but less than fifteen
inches (15") total length must be returned to the water unharmed
immediately after being caught, except as follows:

(E) There is no length limit on black bass on Cuivre River State
Park (Lincoln Lake) [and Lewis County Public Water Supply
District #1 (Ewing Lake)].

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. This rule
previously filed as 3 CSR 10-4.116. Original rule filed April 30, 2001,
effective Sept. 30, 2001. For intervening history, please consult the
Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed Sept. 14, 2005.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with John W.

Smith, Assistant Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission
Chapter 20—Wildlife Code: Definitions

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-20.805 Definitions. The commission proposes to amend
sections (24), (25), (26) and (58), add a new section (29) and renum-
ber the sections accordingly.

PURPOSE: This amendment alphabetizes species as an editorial
standard and adds the definition of invertebrates.

(24) Game birds: [Geese, ducks, ring-necked pheasant, gray
partridge, ruffed grouse, wild turkey, northern bobwhite
quail, Virginia rail, sora rail, American coot, American wood-
cock, common snipe, mourning dove, Eurasian collared-dove,
white-winged dove and crows.] American coot, American
woodcock, common snipe, crows, ducks, Eurasian collared-dove,
geese, gray partridge, mourning dove, northern bobwhite quail,
ring-necked pheasant, ruffed grouse, sora rail, Virginia rail,
white-winged dove and wild turkey.

(25) Game fish: Shall include the following in which the common
names are to be interpreted as descriptive of, but not limiting, the
classification by Latin names:

[(A) Ambloplites, all species of rock bass, commonly
known as goggle-eye, redeye, shadow bass, Ozark bass.

(B) Lepomis gulosis, commonly known as warmouth bass.
(C) Esox, all species commonly known as muskellunge,

tiger muskie, muskie-pike hybrid, northern pike, chain pick-
erel, grass pickerel.

(D) Ictalurus, all species except bullheads, commonly
known as channel catfish, blue catfish, Mississippi cat,
Fulton cat, spotted cat, white cat, willow cat, fiddler cat.

(E) Micropterus, all species of black bass and their hybrids,
commonly known as largemouth bass, lineside bass, small-
mouth bass, brown bass, Kentucky bass, spotted bass.

(F) Polyodon, all species, commonly known as paddlefish,
spoonbill.

(G) Pomoxis, all species, commonly known as crappie,
white crappie, black crappie.

(H) Pylodictis, commonly known as flathead catfish, gou-
jon, yellow cat, river cat.

(I) Morone, all species and their hybrids, commonly known
as white bass, yellow bass, striped bass.

(J) Oncorynchus and Salmo, all species commonly known
as salmon and trout.

(K) Sander, all species and their hybrids, commonly known
as walleye, pike perch, jack salmon, sauger.

(L) Scaphirhynchus platorynchus, commonly known as
shovelnose sturgeon, hackleback, sand sturgeon.]

(A) Ambloplites, all species of rock bass, commonly known as
goggle-eye, redeye, shadow bass, Ozark bass.

(B) Esox, all species commonly known as muskellunge, tiger
muskie, muskie-pike hybrid, northern pike, chain pickerel, grass
pickerel.

(C) Ictalurus, all species except bullheads, commonly known as
channel catfish, blue catfish, Mississippi cat, Fulton cat, spotted
cat, white cat, willow cat, fiddler cat.

(D) Lepomis gulosis, commonly known as warmouth bass.
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(E) Micropterus, all species of black bass and their hybrids,
commonly known as largemouth bass, lineside bass, smallmouth
bass, brown bass, Kentucky bass, spotted bass.

(F) Morone, all species and their hybrids, commonly known as
white bass, yellow bass, striped bass.

(G) Oncorynchus and Salmo, all species commonly known as
salmon and trout.

(H) Polyodon, all species, commonly known as paddlefish,
spoonbill.

(I) Pomoxis, all species, commonly known as crappie, white
crappie, black crappie.

(J) Pylodictis, commonly known as flathead catfish, goujon,
yellow cat, river cat.

(K) Sander, all species and their hybrids, commonly known as
walleye, pike perch, jack salmon, sauger.

(L) Scaphirhynchus platorynchus, commonly known as shovel-
nose sturgeon, hackleback, sand sturgeon.

(26) Game mammals: [Deer, fox squirrel, gray squirrel, ground-
hog (woodchuck), cottontail rabbit, swamp rabbit, jack rab-
bits, and furbearers as defined.] Cottontail rabbit, deer, fox
squirrel, gray squirrel, groundhog (woodchuck), jackrabbit,
swamp rabbit and furbearers as defined.

(29) Invertebrate: Any animal lacking a backbone; this includes
all animal phyla other than Chordata.  (Examples include insects
and other arthropods, flatworms, roundworms, segmented
worms and mollusks.)

[(29)] (30) Length of fish: Total length is measured from the tip of
the snout to the end of the tail, with the fish laid flat on the rule with
mouth closed and tail lobes pressed together. The length of paddle-
fish is measured from the eye to the fork of the tail. The length of
sturgeon is measured from the tip of the snout to the fork of the tail.

[(30)] (31) Lessee: Any Missouri resident who resides on at least
five (5) acres of land in one (1) continuous tract owned by others, or
any member of the immediate household whose legal residence and
domicile is the same as the lessee’s for at least thirty (30) days last
past.

[(31)] (32) Limit: The maximum number or quantity, total length, or
both, of any wildlife permitted to be taken or held in possession by
any person within a specified period of time according to this Code.

[(32)] (33) Longbow: A bow drawn and held by hand and not fas-
tened to a stock nor to any other device which maintains the bow in
a drawn position. This definition includes compound bows.

[(33)](34) Managed deer hunt: A prescribed deer hunt conducted on
a designated area for which harvest methods, harvest quotas and
numbers of participants are determined annually and presented in the
deer hunting rules (3 CSR 10-7.431 and 3 CSR 10-7.436).

[(34)] (35) Mouth of stream or ditch: The point at which a line pro-
jected along the shore of a main stream or ditch at the existing water
level at time of measurement crosses any incoming stream or ditch.

[(35)] (36) Mussels: All species of freshwater mussels and clams.
Includes all shells and alive or dead animals. Two (2) shell halves
(valves) shall be considered one (1) mussel.

[(36)] (37) Muzzleloading firearm: Any firearm capable of being
loaded only from the muzzle.

[(37)] (38) Night vision equipment: Optical devices (that is, binoc-
ulars or scopes) using light amplifying circuits that are electrical or
battery powered.

[(38)] (39) Nonresident landowner: Any nonresident of Missouri
who is the owner of at least seventy-five (75) acres in one (1) con-
tinuous tract in the state of Missouri, or any member of the immedi-
ate household whose legal residence and domicile is the same as the
nonresident landowner’s for at least thirty (30) days last past. In the
case of corporate ownership only registered officers of corporations
meet this definition.

[(39)] (40) Open season: That time when the pursuing and taking of
wildlife is permitted.

[(40)] (41) Other fish: All species other than those listed as endan-
gered in 3 CSR 10-4.111 or defined in this rule as game fish.

[(41)] (42) Poisons, contaminants, pollutants: Any substances that
have harmful effect upon wildlife.

[(42)] (43) Pole and line: Fishing methods using tackle normally
held in the hand, such as a cane pole, casting rod, spinning rod or
fly rod, to which not more than three (3) hooks with bait or lures are
attached. This fishing method does not include snagging, snaring,
grabbing or trotlines or other tackle normally attached in a fixed
position.

[(43)] (44) Possessed and possession: The actual and constructive
possession and control of things referred to in this Code.

[(44)] (45) Public roadway: The right of way which is either owned
in fee or by easement by the state of Missouri or any county or
municipal entity, or which is used by the general public for travel and
is also regularly maintained by Department of Transportation, feder-
al, county or municipal funds or labor.

[(45)] (46) Pursue or pursued: Includes the act of trying to find, to
seek or to diligently search for wildlife for the purpose of taking this
wildlife.

[(46)] (47) Resident landowner: Any Missouri resident who is the
owner of at least five (5) acres in one (1) continuous tract, or any
member of the immediate household whose legal residence or domi-
cile is the same as the landowner’s for at least thirty (30) days last
past. In the case of corporate ownership only registered officers of
corporations meet this definition.

[(47)] (48) Sell: To exchange for compensation in any material form
and the term shall include offering for sale.

[(48)] (49) Snare: A device for the capture of furbearers in a water-
set by use of a cable loop. Snares must be constructed of cable that
is at least five sixty-fourth inch (5/64") and no greater than one-
eighth inch (1/8") in diameter, and must be equipped with a mechan-
ical lock and anchor swivel.

[(49)] (50) Speargun: A mechanically powered device that propels a
single- or multiple-pronged spear underwater.

[(50)] (51) Store and storage: Shall also include chilling, freezing
and other processing.

[(51)] (52) Take or taking: Includes killing, trapping, snaring, net-
ting or capturing in any manner, any wildlife, and also refers to pur-
suing, molesting, hunting, wounding; or the placing, setting or use
of any net, trap, device, contrivance or substance in an attempt to
take; and every act of assistance to every other person in taking or
attempting to take any wildlife.

[(52)] (53) Transgenic: Any organism, or progeny thereof, that con-
tains DNA from a species that was not a parent of that organism.
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[(53)] (54) Transport and transportation: All carrying or moving or
causing to be carried or moved from one (1) point to another, regard-
less of distance, vehicle or manner, and includes offering or receiv-
ing for transport or transit.

[(54)] (55) Underwater spearfishing: The taking of fish by a diver
while underwater, with the aid of a manually or mechanically pro-
pelled, single- or multiple-pronged spear.

[(55)] (56) Ungulate: Hoofed animals.

[(56)] (57) Waters of the state: All rivers, streams, lakes and other
bodies of surface water lying within or forming a part of the bound-
aries of the state which are not entirely confined and located com-
pletely upon lands owned or leased by a single person or by two (2)
or more persons jointly or as tenants in common or by corporate
shareholders, and including waters of the United States lying within
the state. Waters of the state will include any waters which have been
stocked by the state or which are subject to movement of fishes to
and from waters of the state.

[(57)] (58) Zoo: Any publicly[-] owned facility, park, building,
cage, enclosure or other structure or premises in which live animals
are held and exhibited for the primary purpose of public viewing.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. This rule
previously filed as 3 CSR 10-11.805. Original rule filed April 30,
2001, effective Sept. 30, 2001. For intervening history, please consult
the Code of State Regulations. Amended:  Filed Sept. 14, 2005. 

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with John W.
Smith, Assistant Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 12—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division 10—Director of Revenue

Chapter 5—City Sales Tax, Transportation Sales Tax and
Public Mass Transportation Tax

PROPOSED RESCISSION

12 CSR 10-5.535 Seller Entitled. This rule indicated that the time-
ly payment of taxes entitles the seller to a deduction and interpreted
and applied section 144.140, RSMo 1986. 

PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded because regulation 12 CSR
10-104.030 has superseded this rule.

AUTHORITY: section 94.615, RSMo 1986. T.T. regulation 615-3
originally filed as C.S.T. regulation 540-3 Dec. 31, 1975, effective
Jan. 10, 1976. Made applicable by statute and T.T. regulation 615-1
last filed Dec. 31, 1975, effective Jan. 10, 1976. Rescinded: Filed
Sept. 12, 2005.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Missouri Department of Revenue, Legal Services Division,
Governmental Affairs Bureau, PO Box 475, Jefferson City, MO
65105-0475. To be considered, comments must be received within
thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 12—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division 10—Director of Revenue

Chapter 5—City Sales Tax, Transportation Sales Tax and
Public Mass Transportation Tax

PROPOSED RESCISSION

12 CSR 10-5.540 Deductions. This rule indicated that the deduc-
tions contained in certain sections of the state sales tax law also apply
to transportation sales tax.

PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded because section 32.087.7,
RSMo has superseded this rule.

AUTHORITY: section 94.615, RSMo 1986. T.T. regulation 620-1
originally filed as C.S.T. regulation 540-1 Dec. 31, 1975, effective
Jan. 10, 1976. Made applicable by statute and T.T. regulation 615-1
last filed Dec. 31, 1975, effective Jan. 10, 1976. Rescinded: Filed
Sept. 12, 2005.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Missouri Department of Revenue, Legal Services Division,
Governmental Affairs Bureau, PO Box 475, Jefferson City, MO
65105-0475. To be considered, comments must be received within
thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 12—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division 10—Director of Revenue

Chapter 5—City Sales Tax, Transportation Sales Tax and
Public Mass Transportation Tax

PROPOSED RESCISSION

12 CSR 10-5.570 Location of Machine Determines. This rule pro-
vided that the location of vending machines determined the applica-
bility of transportation sales tax and interpreted and applied section
94.620.5, RSMo 1986.

PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded because regulation 12 CSR
10-103.400 has superseded this rule.

AUTHORITY: section 94.615, RSMo 1986. T.T. regulation 620-7
originally filed as C.S.T. regulation 520-1A Dec. 31, 1975, effective
Jan. 10, 1976. Made applicable by statute and T.T. regulation 615-1
last filed Dec. 31, 1975, effective Jan. 10, 1976. Rescinded: Filed
Sept. 12, 2005.
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PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Missouri Department of Revenue, Legal Services Division,
Governmental Affairs Bureau, PO Box 475, Jefferson City, MO
65105-0475. To be considered, comments must be received within
thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 12—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division 10—Director of Revenue

Chapter 5—City Sales Tax, Transportation Sales Tax and
Public Mass Transportation Tax

PROPOSED RESCISSION

12 CSR 10-5.575 Items Taken from Inventory. This rule provided
that the taxpayer is liable for transportation sales tax where items
purchased under a resale exemption are subsequently withdrawn
from inventory and interpreted and applied section 94.620.5, RSMo
1986.

PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded because regulation 12 CSR
10-117.100 has superseded this rule.

AUTHORITY: section 94.615, RSMo 1986. T.T. regulation 620-8
originally filed as C.S.T. regulation 540-5A Dec. 31, 1975, effective
Jan. 10, 1976. Made applicable by statute and T.T. regulation 615-1
last filed Dec. 31, 1975, effective Jan. 10, 1976. Rescinded: Filed
Sept. 12, 2005.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Missouri Department of Revenue, Legal Services Division,
Governmental Affairs Bureau, PO Box 475, Jefferson City, MO
65105-0475. To be considered, comments must be received within
thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 12—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division 10—Director of Revenue

Chapter 5—City Sales Tax, Transportation Sales Tax and
Public Mass Transportation Tax

PROPOSED RESCISSION

12 CSR 10-5.585 Motor Vehicles. This rule provided that sellers
engaged in selling motor vehicles are not liable for and should not
collect the tax and interpreted and applied section 94.635, RSMo
1986.

PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded because section 32.087.13,
RSMo has superseded this rule.

AUTHORITY: section 94.615, RSMo 1986. T.T. regulation 635-1
filed as C.S.T. regulation 560-1 Dec. 31, 1975, effective Jan. 10,
1976. Made applicable by statute and T.T. regulation 615-1 last filed
Dec. 31, 1975, effective Jan. 10, 1976. Rescinded: Filed Sept. 12,
2005.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Missouri Department of Revenue, Legal Services Division,
Governmental Affairs Bureau, PO Box 475, Jefferson City, MO
65105-0475. To be considered, comments must be received within
thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 12—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division 10—Director of Revenue

Chapter 5—City Sales Tax, Transportation Sales Tax and
Public Mass Transportation Tax

PROPOSED RESCISSION

12 CSR 10-5.590 Over-the-Road Trailers. This rule indicated that
purchasers of over-the-road trailers are subject to the transportation
sales tax of the city in which they reside and interpreted and applied
sections 94.560 and 144.070, RSMo 1986.

PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded because section 32.087.13,
RSMo has superseded this rule.

AUTHORITY: section 94.615, RSMo 1986. T.T. regulation 635-2
originally filed as C.S.T. regulation 560-3 Dec. 31, 1975, effective
Jan. 10, 1976. Made applicable by statute and T.T. regulation 615-
1, last filed Dec. 31, 1975, effective Jan. 10, 1976. Rescinded: Filed
Sept. 12, 2005.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Missouri Department of Revenue, Legal Services Division,
Governmental Affairs Bureau, PO Box 475, Jefferson City, MO
65105-0475. To be considered, comments must be received within
thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 12—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division 10—Director of Revenue

Chapter 5—City Sales Tax, Transportation Sales Tax and
Public Mass Transportation Tax

PROPOSED RESCISSION

12 CSR 10-5.595 Mobile Homes. This rule indicated sellers of
mobile homes are subject to tax.
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PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded because section 32.087.13,
RSMo has superseded this rule.

AUTHORITY: section 94.615, RSMo 1986. T.T. regulation 635-3
originally filed as C.S.T. regulation 560-2 Oct. 28, 1975, effective
Nov. 7, 1975. Made applicable by statute and T.T. regulation 615-1,
last filed Dec. 31, 1975, effective Jan. 10, 1976. Rescinded: Filed
Sept. 12, 2005.  

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Missouri Department of Revenue, Legal Services Division,
Governmental Affairs Bureau, PO Box 475, Jefferson City, MO
65105-0475. To be considered, comments must be received within
thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 12—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division 10—Director of Revenue

Chapter 5—City Sales Tax, Transportation Sales Tax and
Public Mass Transportation Tax

PROPOSED RESCISSION

12 CSR 10-5.605 Delinquent Tax. This rule provided that delin-
quent transportation sales tax shall be collected in the same manner
as state sales tax and interpreted and applied section 94.640, RSMo
1986.

PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded because section 32.087.7,
RSMo has superseded this rule.

AUTHORITY: section 94.615, RSMo 1986. T.T. regulation 640-1
originally filed as C.S.T. regulation 570-1 Oct. 28, 1975, effective
Nov. 7, 1975. Made applicable by statute and T.T. regulation 615-1,
last filed Dec. 31, 1975, effective Jan. 10, 1976. Rescinded: Filed
Sept. 12, 2005.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Missouri Department of Revenue, Legal Services Division,
Governmental Affairs Bureau, PO Box 475, Jefferson City, MO
65105-0475. To be considered, comments must be received within
thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 12—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division 10—Director of Revenue
Chapter 11—County Sales Tax

PROPOSED RESCISSION

12 CSR 10-11.050 Location of Machine Determines. This rule
specified that the location of vending machines determined the
applicability of county sales tax.

PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded because regulation 12 CSR
10-103.400 has superseded this rule.

AUTHORITY: sections 67.515 and 67.706, RSMo 1986. Original
rule filed Sept. 7, 1984, effective Jan. 12, 1985. Rescinded: Filed
Sept. 12, 2005.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Missouri Department of Revenue, Legal Services Division,
Governmental Affairs Bureau, PO Box 475, Jefferson City, MO
65105-0475. To be considered, comments must be received within
thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 12—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division 10—Director of Revenue
Chapter 11—County Sales Tax

PROPOSED RESCISSION

12 CSR 10-11.060 State Sales Tax Rules Apply. This rule speci-
fied that all rules pertaining to state sales tax should also apply to the
county sales tax unless stated otherwise.

PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded because section 32.087.7,
RSMo has superseded this rule.

AUTHORITY: sections 67.515 and 67.706, RSMo 1986. Original
rule filed Sept. 7, 1984, effective Jan. 12, 1985. Rescinded: Filed
Sept. 12, 2005.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Missouri Department of Revenue, Legal Services Division,
Governmental Affairs Bureau, PO Box 475, Jefferson City, MO
65105-0475. To be considered, comments must be received within
thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 12—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division 10—Director of Revenue
Chapter 11—County Sales Tax

PROPOSED RESCISSION

12 CSR 10-11.080 Seller Entitled. This rule indicated that the sell-
er was entitled to a deduction for the timely payment of taxes.

PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded because regulation 12 CSR
10-104.030 has superseded this rule.
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AUTHORITY: sections 67.515 and 67.706, RSMo 1986. Original
rule filed Sept. 7, 1984, effective Jan. 12, 1985. Rescinded: Filed
Sept. 12, 2005.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Missouri Department of Revenue, Legal Services Division,
Governmental Affairs Bureau, PO Box 475, Jefferson City, MO
65105-0475. To be considered, comments must be received within
thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 12—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division 10—Director of Revenue
Chapter 11—County Sales Tax

PROPOSED RESCISSION

12 CSR 10-11.160 Motor Vehicles. This rule specified that sellers
engaged in selling motor vehicles are not liable for and should not
collect the tax. 

PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded because section 32.087.13,
RSMo has superseded this rule. 

AUTHORITY: sections 67.515 and 67.706, RSMo 1986. Original
rule filed Sept. 7, 1984, effective Jan. 12, 1985. Rescinded: Filed
Sept. 12, 2005.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Missouri Department of Revenue, Legal Services Division,
Governmental Affairs Bureau, PO Box 475, Jefferson City, MO
65105-0475. To be considered, comments must be received within
thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 12—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division 10—Director of Revenue
Chapter 11—County Sales Tax

PROPOSED RESCISSION

12 CSR 10-11.180 Delinquent Tax. This rule specified that the
delinquent county sales tax shall be collected in the same manner as
state sales tax. 

PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded because section 32.087.7
RSMo has superseded this rule.

AUTHORITY: sections 67.515 and 67.706, RSMo 1986. Original
rule filed Sept. 7, 1984, effective Jan. 12, 1985. Rescinded: Filed
Sept. 12, 2005.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Missouri Department of Revenue, Legal Services Division,
Governmental Affairs Bureau, PO Box 475, Jefferson City, MO
65105-0475. To be considered, comments must be received within
thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 12—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division 10—Director of Revenue

Chapter 24—Drivers License Bureau Rules

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

12 CSR 10-24.412 Commercial Driver[s] License Waiver For
Farm-Related Service Industries. The director proposes to amend
subsection (6)(D) and section (11).

PURPOSE: This amendment is the result of recommendations of the
federal commercial driver license audit.

(6) To apply for a commercial driver[s] license restricted in accor-
dance with this rule, the applicant must certify to the following:

(D) That s/he has not been convicted for any of the following
offenses in any type of motor vehicle within the last two (2) years:

1. Driving while [intoxicated or while] under the influence of
alcohol [or drugs] as defined in section 302.700, RSMo (which
includes driving while intoxicated (DWI) and blood alcohol con-
tent (BAC));

2. Driving while under the influence of a controlled sub-
stance as defined in section 302.700, RSMo;

3. Refusal to submit to an alcohol test;
[2.] 4. Leaving the scene of an accident;
[3.] 5. Felony involving a motor vehicle other than a felony

described in paragraph (6)(D)8.;
6. Driving a commercial motor vehicle when, as a result of

prior violations committed while operating a commercial motor
vehicle, the driver’s commercial driver license is revoked, sus-
pended, or canceled, or the driver is disqualified from operating
a commercial motor vehicle;

7. Causing a fatality through the negligent operation of a
commercial motor vehicle, including but not limited to, the
crimes of vehicular manslaughter, homicide by motor vehicle and
negligent homicide;

8. Using any vehicle in the commission of a felony involving
the manufacturing, distributing or dispensing of a controlled
substance;

[4.] 9. Speeding fifteen (15) or more miles over the posted
speed limit;

[5.] 10. Careless, imprudent or reckless driving;
[6.] 11. Erratic or improper traffic lane changes;
[7.] 12. Following too closely; [or]
13. Violating state or local law relating to motor vehicle traf-

fic control (other than a parking violation) arising in connection
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with a fatal accident;
14.  Driving a commercial motor vehicle without obtaining a

commercial driver license; 
15.  Driving a commercial motor vehicle without a commer-

cial driver license in the driver’s possession;
16. Driving a commercial motor vehicle without the proper

class of commercial driver license and/or endorsements for the
specific vehicle group being operated or for the passengers or
type of cargo being transported; or

[8.] 17. Any conviction for a traffic law violation in connection
with an accident; and

(11) At the time of renewal of the restricted commercial driver[s]
license, the holder may apply for the license and restriction card at a
Department of Revenue [branch or fee] contract office.

AUTHORITY: sections 302.775, RSMo Supp. 2004, and 302.765,
RSMo [Supp. 1996] 2000, and 49 CFR 383.3. Emergency rule
filed May 6, 1992, effective May 16, 1992, expired Sept. 12, 1992.
Emergency rule filed Sept. 3, 1992, effective Sept. 13, 1992, expired
Jan. 10, 1993. Original rule filed May 6, 1992, effective Dec. 3,
1992. Emergency amendment filed Nov. 9, 1994, effective Nov. 19,
1994, expired March 18, 1995. Emergency amendment filed March
9, 1995, effective March 19, 1995, expired July 16, 1995. Amended:
Filed Nov. 9, 1994, effective May 28, 1995. Amended: Filed June 23,
1997, effective Dec. 30, 1997. Amended: Filed Sept 6, 2005.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Department of Revenue, Legal Services Division,
Governmental Affairs Bureau, PO Box 475, Jefferson City, MO
65105-0475. To be considered, comments must be received within
thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 12—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division 10—Director of Revenue

Chapter 103—Sales/Use Tax—Imposition of Tax

PROPOSED RULE

12 CSR 10-103.350 Sales Tax on Motor Vehicles

PURPOSE: This rule explains the application of sales tax on the sale
of motor vehicles as it relates to sections 144.010.1(5), 144.020.1(1),
144.025.1, 144.069 and 144.070, RSMo.

(1) In general, the sale of motor vehicles and trailers are subject to
tax.

(2) Definition of Terms.
(A) Agricultural use—used in cultivating or raising agricultural

products. 
(B) All-terrain vehicle—any motorized vehicle manufactured and

used exclusively for off-highway use which is fifty inches (50") or
less in width, with an unladen dry weight of six hundred (600)
pounds or less, traveling on three (3), four (4) or more low pressure
tires, with a seat designed to be straddled by the operator, and han-
dlebars for steering control.

(C) Grain or livestock produced or raised by the purchaser—
means the purchaser of the motor vehicle or trailer has either culti-
vated the grain or has cared for the livestock. 

(D) Highway—any public thoroughfare for vehicles.
(E) Motor vehicle—any self-propelled vehicle not operated exclu-

sively upon tracks, except farm tractors. Off-road utility vehicles are
not motor vehicles, but all-terrain vehicles are treated as motor vehi-
cles for purposes of this rule.

(F) Off-road utility vehicle—any motorized vehicle manufactured
and used exclusively for off-highway use with a seat that is not
designed to be straddled by the operator, and with a steering mecha-
nism other than handlebars.

(G) Trailer—any vehicle without motive power designed for car-
rying property or passengers on its own structure and for being
drawn by a motor vehicle, except those running exclusively on tracks,
cotton trailers and manufactured homes.

(H) Vehicle—any mechanical device on wheels, designed primari-
ly for use, or used, on highways, except motorized bicycles, vehicles
propelled or drawn by horses or human power, or vehicles used
exclusively on fixed rails or tracks, or cotton trailers or motorized
wheelchairs operated by handicapped persons.

(3) Basic Application. 
(A) Sales tax on motor vehicles and trailers is remitted to the

Department of Revenue when submitting the application for title to
the department. The applicable tax rate is the rate in effect at the
address of the purchaser at the time the application is submitted to
the department.  

(B) If a person purchases a motor vehicle or trailer, and, before
titling and registering it in Missouri, moves and titles it out-of-state
within thirty (30) days of the purchase, no Missouri tax is due. If a
person registers a motor vehicle or trailer in another state and regu-
larly operates it in such state for at least ninety (90) days prior to reg-
istering it in Missouri, no Missouri tax is due. If the vehicle is
brought to Missouri within ninety (90) days of registering the motor
vehicle or trailer, Missouri tax is due but is reduced by any tax paid
to the other state. 

(C) A person registered with the department as a motor vehicle
leasing company may elect to pay tax on its purchase of a motor vehi-
cle or trailer or may purchase the motor vehicle or trailer without
paying tax on the purchase and collect and remit tax on the lease
receipts. If the motor vehicle leasing company chooses to pay tax on
its purchase rather than the lease receipts, the tax rate it remits is
based on the location of the motor vehicle leasing company. If the
motor vehicle leasing company elects to collect and remit tax on the
lease receipts and the lease is for more than sixty (60) days, tax is
due on any down payment and lease receipts based on the address of
the lessee. If the lease is for sixty (60) days or less, tax is due based
on the location of the motor vehicle leasing company. Once a motor
vehicle leasing company makes an election to pay tax on its pur-
chases or to collect and remit tax on its subsequent lease receipts, the
election must be the same for all vehicles it purchases for lease. To
qualify as a motor vehicle leasing company that will remit tax on
lease receipts, the company must first obtain a permit to operate as
a motor vehicle leasing company from the department.

(D) When a person trades tangible personal property to a motor
vehicle dealer for a motor vehicle or trailer, tax is due on the differ-
ence between the price of the motor vehicle or trailer purchased and
the amount allowed for the trade-in. If the amount allowed for the
trade-in is greater than the purchase price of the motor vehicle or
trailer, no tax is due. When a manufacturer’s rebate is offered, the
tax due is based on the purchase price of the motor vehicle or trail-
er less the rebate. A trade-in allowance applies only to transactions
between a purchaser and a motor vehicle dealer.

(E) Except as provided in subsection (3)(F), if an article is traded
for a motor vehicle or trailer, the person trading the article must have
paid or otherwise satisfied the tax on the purchase of the article
unless the purchase was exempt or excluded from tax.
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(F) Grain or livestock raised or produced by a purchaser may be
traded for a motor vehicle or trailer, if the motor vehicle or trailer is
purchased from a motor vehicle dealer for agricultural use.

(G) If a person purchases or contracts to purchase a motor vehicle
or trailer and sells one (1) or more motor vehicles or trailers within
one hundred eighty (180) days before or after the purchase or con-
tract to purchase, the person owes tax on the difference between the
purchase price and the sale price of the respective motor vehicles or
trailers. If the person paid the full amount of the tax on the purchase,
the person may obtain a refund of the excess tax paid.  

(H) If a person suffers a total insurance loss and subsequently pur-
chases or contracts to purchase a replacement vehicle after the date
of loss but no later than one hundred eighty (180) days after the date
of the total loss payment, the person can offset the insurance payoff
amount plus any deductible against the purchase price and remit tax
on the difference. If the vehicle is not covered by insurance, the per-
son must purchase the replacement vehicle within one hundred
eighty (180) days of the loss. The person can only offset the loss
against the purchase of one (1) replacement vehicle.

(I) If a person who has previously titled and paid tax on a vehicle
gives the vehicle to another person, the person must complete a gift
statement for the person to whom the vehicle was given to present
when titling with the department. No tax is due.

(J) A sale of an all-terrain vehicle by a non-dealer is subject to
sales tax if the purchase price is more than three thousand dollars
($3,000). A sale of an all-terrain vehicle by a non-dealer is not sub-
ject to sales tax if the purchase price is three thousand dollars
($3,000) or less. See 12 CSR 10-103.200.

(4) Examples.
(A) A person purchases a vehicle for $18,000 at the local car deal-

ership. As a part of the transaction, the dealer offers a $500 rebate
and the person trades a vehicle for another $3,000. The purchaser
must pay tax to the Department of Revenue when titling the vehicle
on $14,500 ($18,000–$3,500 = $14,500). The applicable rate is the
rate in effect at the purchaser’s address at the time of titling.

(B) A person purchases a vehicle from a dealer for $25,000 in
May. That person pays tax on $25,000. In June, the person sells a
different vehicle for $15,000 and an outboard motor for $500.
Because the sales took place within 180 days of the purchase of the
vehicle, the person can obtain a refund of tax paid on the purchase
transaction based upon the $15,500 received on the sale.

(C) A person is in an accident that results in a total loss of the
vehicle. After the loss of this vehicle, the person buys a new vehicle
for $15,000 and pays tax on the full amount when titling the vehicle
with the department. Two weeks after purchasing the vehicle, the
insurance company pays $5,000 on the loss of the vehicle. The poli-
cy included a $500 deductible. The person can obtain a refund of tax
based upon $5,500, which includes the $5,000 paid by the insurance
company and the $500 deductible.

(D) A person owns a motor vehicle. The person buys a second
motor vehicle and puts the first motor vehicle on the market. Before
the first vehicle is sold, it is in an accident that results in a total loss
of the vehicle. Two weeks after the accident, the insurance company
pays $5,000 on the loss of the first vehicle. The person cannot obtain
a refund of tax because the person did not purchase a replacement
vehicle after the first vehicle was destroyed.

(E) A person is in an accident that results in a total loss of the
vehicle. The vehicle was not insured. After the loss of this vehicle,
the person buys a new vehicle for $15,000. The Kelly Blue Book
value for the lost vehicle is $5,000. When titling the vehicle with the
department, the person pays tax on $10,000, which is the $15,000
cost of the new vehicle less the value of the loss.

(F) A person purchases an all-terrain vehicle from a local dealer.
The purchaser must obtain a title and remit tax to the department
based on the rate in effect at the purchaser’s location at the time of
titling.

(G) A business sells an off-road utility vehicle. The utility vehicle

is not a motor vehicle and does not need to be titled. The business
must collect and remit tax on the sale. 

(H) A person trades in grain valued at $5,000 to a dealer on the
purchase of a cattle trailer valued at $10,000. The purchaser grew the
grain and will use the cattle trailer in its business of raising cattle.
The purchaser receives a trade-in credit of $5,000 on the purchase of
the trailer because the purchaser produced the grain and the trailer is
used by the purchaser in agriculture.

(I) Same situation as subsection (4)(H), except the purchaser’s son
produced the grain. The purchaser receives no trade-in credit
because the purchaser did not produce the grain that was traded. 

(J) A landowner agrees with a local farmer that the farmer can
farm some of landowner’s land in exchange for 50% of the crops pro-
duced on the land. The landowner trades in grain grown by the
farmer on the land on the purchase of a horse trailer used in the
landowner’s breeding operations. The landowner receives a trade-in
credit on the purchase of the trailer. The landowner shares the risk
of a successful harvest and therefore, is cultivating the grain.

(K) A landowner agrees with a local farmer that the farmer can
farm some of landowner’s land in exchange for $1,000. The farmer
delivers grain grown on the land valued at $1,000 in payment of the
rent. The landowner trades in the grain on the purchase of a horse
trailer used in the landowner’s breeding operations. The landowner
does not receive a trade-in credit on the purchase of the trailer
because the landowner is merely renting land, not cultivating grain.

(L) A farmer sells grain raised by the farmer to an elevator and
directs the elevator to pay the farmer for the grain by delivering a
check payable to a local motor vehicle dealer. The farmer uses the
check to purchase a pickup truck that will be used to haul and carry
necessary supplies and materials to and from the farm. The transac-
tion does not qualify for the trade-in allowance because the grain was
not traded to the dealer for the truck. Instead, it was sold to the ele-
vator and the proceeds were used to purchase the truck.

(M) An out-of-state motor vehicle leasing company purchases a
motor vehicle out of state and leases it to a Missouri resident. The
leasing company has elected to pay tax on lease receipts rather than
on the purchase. The lease payments are subject to sales tax at the
rate in effect at the location of the Missouri resident.

(N) An out-of-state motor vehicle leasing company purchases a
motor vehicle out-of-state and leases it to an out-of-state resident.
The resident’s state requires the leasing company to pay tax on all
proceeds under the lease at the time of the lease. During the term of
the lease, the lessee moves to Missouri. Under section 144.440,
RSMo, the lease payments are subject to highway use tax at the rate
in effect at the location of the Missouri resident. The lessor receives
credit for any tax paid to another state on the lease receipts.

(O) An individual purchases a used motor vehicle by making a
down payment, trading in another vehicle, and using dealer financ-
ing for the balance of the purchase price. Prior to titling the vehicle,
the dealer repossesses the vehicle for failure to make payments under
the financing agreement. The individual still owes sales tax on the
purchase of the vehicle unless the dealer agrees in writing to void the
sale and return all payments and the trade-in to the purchaser.

AUTHORITY: sections 144.010.1(5), 144.020.1(1), 144.025.1,
RSMo Supp. 2004 and 144.069, 144.070 and 144.270, RSMo 2000.
Original rule filed Sept. 12, 2005.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule is estimated to cost the Missouri
Department of Revenue approximately fifty-five thousand three hun-
dred fifty-seven dollars ($55,357) with that cost recurring annually
over the life of the rule.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule is estimated to cost private enti-
ties approximately six hundred twenty-five thousand five hundred dol-
lars ($625,500) with that cost recurring annually over the life of the
rule.
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NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri
Department of Revenue, Legal Services Division, Governmental
Affairs Bureau, PO Box 475, Jefferson City, MO 65105-0475. To be
considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after
publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hear-
ing is scheduled.
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Title 13—DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Division 40—Family Support Division

Chapter 2—Income Maintenance

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

13 CSR 40-2.030 Definitions Relating to Real and Personal
Property.  The division is amending paragraphs 1. and 8. of sub-
section (13)(B).  The division is also amending section (13) to reflect
the name change of the division under Executive Order 03-02 from
Division of Family Services (DFS) to Family Support Division
(FSD).

PURPOSE: This amendment requires income of an institutionalized
spouse be diverted to the community spouse prior to an adjustment
in the community spousal share of assets after August 27, 2005 and
clarifies that the income limit for Medical Assistance program on the
need for home- and community-based waiver services is adjusted
annually.

(1) In determining eligibility for public assistance, the Children’s
Division [of Family Services (DFS)] (FSD) shall consider proper-
ty of any kind or character which the claimant owns or possesses or
has an interest in, of which s/he is the record or beneficial owner,
less encumbrances of record.

(13) Notwithstanding the previously mentioned eligibility require-
ments with respect to resources, the following will apply to individ-
uals meeting the definition of institutionalized spouses who begin a
period of continuous institutionalization on or after September 30,
1989:

(A) As used in this section, the definitions for the following terms
shall apply:

1. Assessment shall mean a determination by the [DFS] FSD of
the total equity value of available resources (as stated in sections
(6)–(12)) owned by the institutionalized spouse, the community
spouse, or both, which may be requested at the beginning of a peri-
od of continuous institutionalization expected to last at least thirty
(30) days or more; 

2. Community spouse shall mean the husband or wife of an
institutionalized spouse who does not reside in a medical hospital or
a Medicaid-certified bed in a nursing facility (NF) and, if the insti-
tutionalized spouse is one who meets the definition in subparagraph
(13)(A)3.C., the community spouse may not be one who meets those
criteria;

3. Institutionalized spouse shall mean a claimant who resides
in—

A. A medical hospital;
B. A Medicaid-certified bed in an NF, with an expected stay

of at least thirty (30) days; or
C. His/her own home and is assessed by the Division of

[Aging] Disability and Senior Services as needing both an NF
level-of-care as defined in [13 CSR 15-9.030] 19 CSR 30-81.030
and home- and community-based waiver services and is assessed to
need these services for at least thirty (30) days, and is married to a
person who meets the definition of a community spouse in paragraph
(13)(A)2.; and

4. Period of continuous institutionalization shall mean a stay in
a medical hospital or Medicaid-certified bed in an NF or when the
Division of [Aging] Disability and Senior Services determines a
need for home- and community-based waiver services which is
expected to last thirty (30) days or more; and

(B) The following shall apply with regard to resource eligibility for
institutionalized spouses who begin a period of continuous institu-
tionalization on or after September 30, 1989: 

1. When an individual meets the criteria in subparagraph
(13)(A)3.C., his/her gross monthly income shall be compared to
[eight hundred dollars ($800)] one thousand twelve dollars

($1,012). If his/her gross monthly income is equal to or less than
[eight hundred dollars ($800)] one thousand twelve dollars
($1,012), the [DFS] FSD shall complete an assessment of assets as
defined in paragraph (13)(B)2. When his/her gross monthly income
is greater than [eight hundred dollars ($800)] one thousand
twelve dollars ($1,012), s/he is not eligible for an assessment of
assets as defined in paragraph (13)(B)2.  The one thousand twelve
dollar ($1,012) income limit shall be increased each year effective
January 1 in accordance with the Social Security cost-of-living
adjustment (COLA), beginning in 2006;

2. At the beginning of the first period of continuous institution-
alization, the institutionalized spouse, the community spouse or a
representative acting on behalf of either may request an assessment
by the [DFS] FSD of total equity in available resources owned by
either or both in the month in which the period of institutionalization
began or, in the case of an institutionalized spouse who meets the
definition in subparagraph (13)(A)3.C. and who met that definition
prior to January 1, 1993, January 1993 shall be substituted for the
month in which the period of institutionalization began;

3. From this total, the [DFS] FSD shall compute the spousal
share, which shall be the greater of—1) twelve thousand dollars
($12,000) or 2) one-half (1/2) of the total, not to exceed sixty thou-
sand dollars ($60,000). The twelve thousand dollar ($12,000) mini-
mum and the sixty thousand dollar ($60,000) maximum shall be
increased each January in accordance with the increase in the
Consumer Price Index, beginning in 1990; 

4. In determining initial Medicaid eligibility for the institution-
alized spouse in this continuous period of institutionalization, the
[DFS] FSD again shall determine the total equity in available
resources owned by the institutionalized spouse, the community
spouse, or both, at the time of Medicaid request. From this total, the
[DFS] FSD shall deduct the amount of the spousal share as comput-
ed in paragraphs (13)(B)2. and 3. If the remainder is equal to or less
than the appropriate resource maximum for a single person, the insti-
tutionalized individual, to the extent the individual expresses intent
to transfer any excess resources to the community spouse, shall be
initially eligible for Medicaid on the factor of available resources.
Eligibility for Medicaid for individuals described in subparagraph
(13)(A)3.C. who become resource eligible using the assessment
described in paragraph (13)(B)2. cannot begin prior to the date the
individual actually receives home- and community-based waiver ser-
vices; 

5. Any such individual who is determined initially eligible for
Medicaid must transfer any resources above the appropriate resource
maximum which are held in the individual’s name to the communi-
ty spouse within ninety (90) days of notification of initial eligibility,
unless good cause exists; 

6. If good cause does not exist, the [DFS] FSD shall consider
any resources held in the name of the institutionalized spouse, includ-
ing any jointly-owned resources, in determining continued Medicaid
eligibility, effective ninety (90) days after notification of initial eligi-
bility; 

7. After the determination of initial eligibility for the institu-
tionalized spouse, no resources of the community spouse not jointly
owned with the institutionalized spouse shall be considered available
to the institutionalized spouse in Medicaid determinations in that
continuous period of institutionalization; 

8. If either spouse establishes in a fair hearing that the spousal
share (in relation to the amount of income generated by that amount)
is inadequate to raise the community spouse’s own income to the
amount determined in 13 CSR 40-2.200(5)(A), the spousal share
may be adjusted to an amount adequate to provide the additional
income. At the fair hearing the maximum amount of the institu-
tionalized spouse’s income that may be made available to the
community spouse under 42 U.S.C. 1396r-5(d), shall be consid-
ered the community spouse’s own income; and

9. If a court has entered an order against an institutionalized
spouse for the support of the community spouse, the amount of the
order shall be substituted for the spousal share. 
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AUTHORITY: section 207.020, RSMo [1994] 2000. Filing dates for
original rules are shown in the text of the rule. This version filed
March 24, 1976. For intervening history, please consult the Code of
State Regulations.  Amended: Filed Sept. 6, 2005.

PUBLIC COST:  This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST:  This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Dept. of Social Services, Family Support Division, 615 Howerton
Court, Jefferson City, MO 65109.  To be considered, comments must
be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in
the Missouri Register.  No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 19—DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND
SENIOR SERVICES

Division 30—Division of [Health Standards and
Licensure] Regulation and Licensure

Chapter 20—Hospitals

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

19 CSR 30-20.011 Definitions Relating to Hospitals. The depart-
ment proposes to add sections (2), (19), (38), and (39) and renum-
ber for consistency.

PURPOSE: This amendment adds definitions for infection control
officer, root cause analysis, and sentinel event which are needed to
implement new hospital requirements regarding infection control
imposed by the Missouri Nosocomial Infection Control Act of 2004
as included in Senate Bill No. 1279 passed by the Second Regular
Session of the 92nd General Assembly.  The amendment also adds a
definition for anesthesiologist assistant, as included in HB 390
passed by the First Regular Session of the 92nd General Assembly. 

(2) Anesthesiologist assistant—A person who meets each of the
following conditions:

(A) Has graduated from an anesthesiologist assistant program
accredited by the American Medical Association’s Committee on
Allied Health Education and Accreditation or by its successor
agency;

(B) Has passed the certifying examination administered by the
National Commission on Certification of Anesthesiologist
Assistants;

(C)  Has active certification by the National Commission on
Certification of Anesthesiologist Assistants; and

(D) Provides health care services delegated by a licensed anes-
thesiologist.

[(2)] (3) Anesthetizing location—An area or room in which it is
intended to administer any flammable or nonflammable inhalation
anesthetic agents in the course of examination or treatment. 

[(3)] (4) APLS—The American College of Emergency Physician’s
advanced pediatric life support program. APLS may be used inter-
changeably with PALS where required.

[(4)] (5) ATLS—The American College of Surgeon’s advanced trau-
ma life support program.

[(5)] (6) Authenticate—To prove authorship, for example, by written
signature, identifiable initials or computer key. The use of rubber
stamp signatures is acceptable only under the following conditions: 

(A) The individual whose signature the rubber stamp represents is
the only one who has possession of the stamp and is the only one
who uses it; and

(B) The individual places in the administrative office of the hospi-
tal, with a copy to the medical records director, a signed statement
to the effect that s/he is the only one who has the stamp and is the
only one who will use it. 

[(6)] (7) Biological safety cabinet—A containment unit suitable for
the preparation of low to moderate risk agents where there is a need
for protection of the product, personnel and environment, according
to National Safety Foundation, Standard 49.

[(7)] (8) Board-admissible—That a physician has applied to a spe-
cialty board and has received a ruling that s/he has fulfilled the
requirements to take the certification examinations. Board certifica-
tion must be obtained within five (5) years after completion of the
residency.

[(8)] (9) Board-certified—That a physician has fulfilled all require-
ments, has satisfactorily completed all written and oral examinations
and has been awarded a board diploma in a specialty field.

[(9)] (10) Certified registered nurse anesthetist—A registered nurse
who has graduated from a school of nurse anesthesia accredited by
the Council on Accreditation of Educational Programs of Nurse
Anesthesia or its predecessor and has been certified or is eligible for
certification as a nurse anesthetist by the Council on Certification of
Nurse Anesthetists.  

[(10)] (11) Chief executive officer—The individual appointed by the
governing body to act in its behalf in the overall management of the
hospital. Job titles may include administrator, superintendent, direc-
tor, executive director, president, vice president and executive vice
president.

[(11)] (12) Chief operating officer—The individual appointed by the
chief executive officer on behalf of the governing body or the indi-
vidual who is responsible for the management of one (1) hospital in
a multi-hospital organization under the direction of the chief execu-
tive officer of the organization.

[(12)] (13) Class II biological safety cabinet—A ventilated cabinet
for personnel, product and environmental protection having an open
front with inward airflow for personnel protection, high-efficiency-
particulate-air (HEPA)-filtered laminar airflow for product protection
and HEPA-filtered exhausted air for environmental protection.

[(13)] (14) Class 100 environment—An atmospheric environment
which contains less than one hundred (100) particles five-tenths (0.5)
microns or larger in diameter per cubic foot of air, according to fed-
eral standard 209E. 

[(14)] (15) Dentist—An individual who has received a Doctor of
Dental Surgery or Doctor of Dental Medicine degree and is current-
ly licensed to practice dentistry in Missouri. 

[(15)] (16) Department—Missouri Department of Health and
Senior Services. 

[(16)] (17) Hospital emergency transfer policy—A document that
represents the usual and customary practices of a hospital with
respect to the transfer of patients. The department uses objective
indicators of patient status in relation to hospital capabilities to iden-
tify general classifications of patients who should be considered for
transfer to a hospital with the necessary capabilities, and indicates
the general classifications of patients the hospital has the capabilities
to receive through emergency transfer from another hospital. The
hospital emergency transfer policy does not supersede the authority
of a physician to determine whether patients should be transferred on
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a case-by-case basis, but serves as an institutional baseline to assist
physician staff in providing consistent care decisions and is utilized
for quality assurance review.

[(17)] (18) Independent licensed practitioner—An individual who is
a graduate of a professional school and is licensed to practice as a
health care provider in Missouri.

(19) Infection control officer—An individual who is a licensed
physician, licensed registered nurse, has a bachelor’s degree in
laboratory science or has similar qualifications and has addi-
tional training or education preparation in infection control,
infectious diseases, epidemiology and principles of quality
improvement.

[(18)] (20) Infectious waste—Waste capable of producing an infec-
tious disease. For a waste to be infectious, it must contain pathogens
with sufficient virulence and quantity so that exposure to the waste
by a susceptible host could result in an infectious disease. Infectious
waste shall include the following categories:

(A) Blood and blood products—All human blood and blood prod-
ucts including serum, plasma and other components known or sus-
pected to be contaminated with a transmissible infectious agent;

(B) Contaminated surgical, dialysis and laboratory wastes—Wastes
generated by surgery, dialysis and laboratory departments in the
process of caring for hospital patients who have communicable dis-
eases capable of being transmitted to others via those wastes;

(C) Cultures and stocks of infectious agents and associated bio-
logicals—Cultures and stocks of infectious agents shall be designat-
ed as infectious waste because of the high concentrations of patho-
genic organisms typically present in these materials. Included in this
category are all cultures and stocks of infectious organisms as well
as culture dishes and devices used to transfer, inoculate and  mix cul-
tures. Also included are animal carcasses, body parts and bedding
from animals contaminated with infectious agents;

(D) Isolation wastes—Wastes generated by hospitalized patients
who have communicable diseases capable of being transmitted to oth-
ers via those wastes;

(E) Pathology wastes—Autopsy wastes which consist of tissues,
organs, body parts and body fluids that are removed during surgery
and autopsy. All these wastes shall be considered infectious waste;
and

(F) Sharps—All discarded sharps including hypodermic needles,
syringes and scalpel blades. Broken glass or other sharp items that
have come in contact with material defined as infectious are includ-
ed.

[(19)] (21) Inpatient—A person admitted into a hospital by a mem-
ber of the medical staff for diagnosis, treatment or care.

[(20)] (22) Medical services—Those preventive, diagnostic and ther-
apeutic measures performed by, or at the request of, members of the
medical staff or an independent licensed practitioner in outpatient
services.

[(21)] (23) Operator—Shall mean any person as defined by section
197.020, RSMo who is licensed or required to be licensed under the
provisions of sections 197.020–197.120, RSMo to establish, conduct
or maintain a hospital. The term person shall mean any person deter-
mined by the department to have the following:

(A) Ultimate responsibility for making and implementing deci-
sions regarding the operation of the hospital; and

(B) Ultimate financial control of the operation of the hospital.

[(22)] (24) PALS—The American Heart Association’s pediatric
advanced life support program. PALS may be used interchangeably
with APLS where required.

[(23)] (25) Pharmacist—An individual who is a graduate of a school
or college of pharmacy and is currently licensed to practice pharma-
cy in Missouri.

[(24)] (26) Physician—An individual who has received a Doctor of
Medicine or Doctor of Osteopathy degree and is currently licensed
to practice medicine in Missouri.

[(25)] (27) Podiatrist—An individual who has received a Doctor of
Podiatric Medicine degree and is currently licensed to practice podi-
atry in Missouri.

[(26)] (28) Psychologist—An individual who is currently licensed by
the State Committee of Psychologists under the provisions of Chapter
337, RSMo. 

[(27)] (29) Qualified dietitian—An individual who is registered by
the Commission on Dietetic Registration of the American Dietetic
Association or who has the documented equivalent in education,
training and experience, with evidence of relevant continuing educa-
tion.

[(28)] (30) Qualified medical record administrator—A registered
record administrator who has successfully passed an appropriate
examination conducted by the American Medical Record Association
or who has the document equivalent in education and training. 

[(29)] (31) Qualified medical record technician—An accredited
record technician who has successfully passed the appropriate
accreditation examination conducted by the American Medical
Record Association or who has the documented equivalent in educa-
tion and training.

[(30)] (32) Qualified occupational therapist—An individual who is a
graduate of an occupational therapy program approved by a national-
ly recognized accrediting body, or who currently holds certification
by the American Occupational Therapy Association as an occupa-
tional therapist or who has the documented equivalent in training or
experience and is currently competent in the field. 

[(31)] (33) Qualified physical therapist—An individual who is
licensed to practice professional physical therapy in Missouri.

[(32)] (34) Qualified radiologic technologist—An individual who is
a graduate of a program in radiologic technology approved by the
Council on Medical Education of the American Medical Association
or who has the documented equivalent in education and training.

[(33)] (35) Qualified social worker—A licensed clinical social work-
er or a person who has a bachelor’s degree in social work or a mas-
ter’s degree in social work.

[(34)] (36) Registered nurse—An individual who is a graduate of an
approved school of nursing and who is licensed to practice as a reg-
istered nurse in Missouri.

[(35)] (37) Registered or certified respiratory therapist—An individ-
ual who has been registered or certified by the National Board for
Respiratory Therapy, Inc. after successfully completing all educa-
tion, experience and examination requirements or an individual who
has been registered or certified prior to November 11, 1982, by an
organization acceptable to the Department of Health and Senior
Services.

(38) Root cause analysis—A process for identifying the basic or
causal factor(s) that underlie variation in performance, including
the occurrence or possible occurrence of a sentinel event.

(39) Sentinel event—An unexpected occurrence involving death
or serious physical or psychological injury, or the risk thereof.
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Serious injury specifically includes loss of limb or function.  The
phrase “or the risk thereof” includes any process variation for
which a recurrence would carry a significant chance of a serious
adverse outcome.

[(36)] (40) Special care unit—An appropriately equipped area of the
hospital where there is a concentration of physicians, nurses and oth-
ers who have special skills and experience to provide optimal med-
ical care for critically ill patients. 

[37)] (41) Transfer agreement—A document which sets forth the
rights and responsibilities of two (2) hospitals regarding the inter-
hospital transfer of patients.

[(38)] (42) Unit—A functional division or facility of the hospital. 

[(39)] (43) Diversion—a plan to temporarily close a hospital emer-
gency department to ambulance traffic. This may be due to the emer-
gency department being overwhelmed with significantly critically ill
or injured patients, or an overwhelming number of minor emergency
patients, to the extent that the hospital is unable to provide quality
care or protect the health or welfare of the patients it serves. A diver-
sion also may be implemented if the hospital has resource limita-
tions, such as, no available beds in specialty care units or general
acute care, no surgical suites or shortages of equipment or person-
nel.

(A) Defined service area—The geographic area served by a
defined group of hospitals and emergency services. In areas where
there is a community-based emergency medical services diversion
plan, the service area(s) defined as the catchment area by the plan
will be the defined service area(s). In areas where there is not a com-
munity–based emergency medical services diversion plan, the
defined service area will be a twenty (20)-mile radius from a hospi-
tal. 

[(40)] (44) Immediate and serious threat—Having caused, or is like-
ly to cause, serious injury, harm, impairment, or death to a patient.

AUTHORITY: sections 192.006, 197.080 and 197.293, RSMo 2000
and 197.154, RSMo Supp. 2004. This rule was previously filed as
13 CSR 50-20.011. Original rule filed June 2, 1982, effective Nov. 11,
1982. For intervening history, please consult the Code of State
Regulations.  Amended:  Filed Sept. 20, 2005.

PUBLIC COST:  This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST:  This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:  Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Department of Health and Senior Services, Division of Regulation
and Licensure, David S. Durbin, Director, PO Box 570, Jefferson
City, MO 65102-0570.  To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 19—DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND
SENIOR SERVICES

Division 30—Division of [Health Standards and
Licensure] Regulation and Licensure

Chapter 30—Ambulatory Surgical Centers

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

19 CSR 30-30.010 Definitions and Procedures for Licensing
Ambulatory Surgical Centers. The department proposes to add

new subsections and to amend section (1) by relettering all defini-
tions in alphabetical order.

PURPOSE: This amendment adds definitions for infection control
officer, root cause analysis, and sentinel event which are needed to
implement new hospital requirements regarding infection control
imposed by the Missouri Nosocomial Infection Control Act of 2004
as included in Senate Bill No. 1279 passed by the Second Regular
Session of the 92nd General Assembly.  The amendment also adds a
definition for anesthesiologist assistant, as included in HB 390
passed by the First Regular Session of the 92nd General Assembly. 

(1) Definitions. 
[(A) Ambulatory surgical center. Any public or private

establishment operated primarily for the purpose of per-
forming surgical procedures or primarily for the purpose of
delivering newborns, and which does not provide services or
other accommodations for patients to stay more than twelve
(12) hours within the establishment. However, nothing in
this definition shall be construed to include the offices of
dentists currently licensed under Chapter 332, RSMo 1986.

1. A facility operated primarily for the purpose of per-
forming surgical procedures is one that provides surgical ser-
vices to fifty-one percent (51%) or more of the patients
treated or seen for any health condition, or one that derives
fifty-one percent (51%) or more of its revenues from the pro-
vision of surgical services or related procedures.

2. The term ambulatory surgical center does not apply
to any facility licensed as part of a hospital or any facility
used as an office or clinic for the private practice of a physi-
cian, dentist or podiatrist.

3. A facility licensed as an ambulatory surgical center
shall not use the term hospital in the name of the facility
without approval of the Department of Health. 

(B) Physician means a person licensed to practice medi-
cine pursuant to Chapter 334, RSMo and who has active or
associate staff membership and privileges in a licensed hos-
pital in the community.

(C) Dentist means a person licensed to practice dentistry
pursuant to Chapter 332, RSMo.

(D) Department means the Department of Health.
(E) Governmental unit means any city, county or other

political subdivision of this state, or any department, divi-
sion, board or other agency of any political subdivision of
this state.

(F) Podiatrist means a person licensed to practice podiatry
pursuant to Chapter 330, RSMo.

(G) Administrator means a person who is delegated the
responsibility of carrying out the policies and programs
established by the governing body.]

(A) Administrator means a person who is delegated the respon-
sibility of carrying out the policies and programs established by
the governing body.

(B) Ambulatory surgical center. Any public or private estab-
lishment operated primarily for the purpose of performing sur-
gical procedures or primarily for the purpose of delivering new-
borns, and which does not provide services or other accommo-
dations for patients to stay more than twelve (12) hours within
the establishment. However, nothing in this definition shall be
construed to include the offices of dentists currently licensed
under Chapter 332, RSMo.

1. A facility operated primarily for the purpose of perform-
ing surgical procedures is one that provides surgical services to
fifty-one percent (51%) or more of the patients treated or seen for
any health condition, or one that derives fifty-one percent (51%)
or more of its revenues from the provision of surgical services or
related procedures.
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2. The term ambulatory surgical center does not apply to
any facility licensed as part of a hospital or any facility used as
an office or clinic for the private practice of a physician, dentist
or podiatrist.

3. A facility licensed as an ambulatory surgical center shall
not use the term hospital in the name of the facility without
approval of the Department of Health and Senior Services. 

(C) Anesthesiologist. A physician licensed under Chapter 334,
RSMo who has successfully completed a postgraduate medical
education program in anesthesiology approved by the
Accreditation Council on Graduate Medical Education or the
American Osteopathic Association.

(D) Anesthesiologist assistant.  A person who meets each of the
following conditions:

1. Has graduated from an anesthesiologist assistant program
accredited by the American Medical Association’s Committee on
Allied Health Education and Accreditation or by its successor
agency;

2. Has passed the certifying examination administered by
the National Commission on Certification of Anesthesiologist
Assistants;

3. Has active certification by the National Commission on
Certification of Anesthesiologist Assistants; and

4. Provides health care services delegated by a licensed anes-
thesiologist.

(E) Certified nurse anesthetist. A registered nurse licensed
under Chapter 335, RSMo who has been graduated from a
school of nurse anesthesia accredited by the Council on
Accreditation of Educational Programs of Nurse Anesthesia or its
predecessor, and is certified or is eligible for certification as a
nurse anesthetist by the Council on Certification of Nurse
Anesthetists.

(F) Dentist means a person licensed to practice dentistry pur-
suant to Chapter 332, RSMo.

(G) Department means the Department of Health and Senior
Services.

(H) Governing body means an individual owner, partnership, cor-
poration or other legally established authority in whom the ultimate
authority and responsibility for management of the ambulatory sur-
gical center is vested.

(I) Medical staff. A formal organization of physicians
which may include dentists and podiatrists who are appoint-
ed by the governing body to attend patients within the
ambulatory surgical center. 

(J) Patient. A person admitted to the ambulatory surgical
center by and upon the order of a physician, or dentist, or
podiatrist in accordance with the orders of a physician. 

(I) Governmental unit means any city, county or other political
subdivision of this state, or any department, division, board or
other agency of any political subdivision of this state.

(J) Infection control officer.  An individual who is a licensed
physician, licensed registered nurse, has a bachelor’s degree in
laboratory science, or has similar qualifications and has addi-
tional training or educational preparation in infection control,
infectious diseases, epidemiology and principles of quality
improvement.

(K) Licensed practical nurse (LPN). A person who holds a valid
license issued by the State Board of Nursing pursuant to Chapter
335, RSMo. 

(L) Registered nurse (RN). A person who holds a valid
license issued by the State Board of Nursing pursuant to
Chapter 335, RSMo.

(M) Person. Any individual, firm, partnership, corporation,
company or association, or the legal successors of any of
them.

(N) Certified nurse anesthetist. A registered nurse licensed
under Chapter 335, RSMo (1986), who has been graduated
from a school of nurse anesthesia accredited by the Council

on Accreditation of Educational Programs of Nurse
Anesthesia or its predecessor, and is certified or is eligible
for certification as a nurse anesthetist by the Council on
Certification of Nurse Anesthetists.

(O) Physician with training or experience in the adminis-
tration of anesthetics. A person licensed to practice medi-
cine under Chapter 334, RSMo 1986 whose training and
experience (credentials) have been evaluated by the medical
staff and privileges granted to direct the anesthesia service
or to administer anesthetics or both.

(P) Qualified anesthesia personnel. An anesthesiologist
who is a physician with training or experience in the admin-
istering of anesthetics or a certified registered nurse anes-
thetist.

(Q) Anesthesiologist. A physician licensed under Chapter
334, RSMo 1986, who has successfully completed a post-
graduate medical education program in anesthesiology
approved by the Accreditation Council on Graduate Medical
Education or the American Osteopathic Association.]

(L) Medical staff. A formal organization of physicians which
may include dentists and podiatrists who are appointed by the
governing body to attend patients within the ambulatory surgical
center. 

(M) Patient. A person admitted to the ambulatory surgical
center by and upon the order of a physician, or dentist, or podi-
atrist in accordance with the orders of a physician. 

(N) Person. Any individual, firm, partnership, corporation,
company or association, or the legal successors of any of them.

(O) Physician means a person licensed to practice medicine
pursuant to Chapter 334, RSMo and who has active or associate
staff membership and privileges in a licensed hospital in the com-
munity.

(P) Physician with training or experience in the administration
of anesthetics. A person licensed to practice medicine under
Chapter 334, RSMo whose training and experience (credentials)
have been evaluated by the medical staff and privileges granted
to direct the anesthesia service or to administer anesthetics or
both.

(Q) Podiatrist means a person licensed to practice podiatry
pursuant to Chapter 330, RSMo.

(R) Qualified anesthesia personnel. An anesthesiologist who is
a physician with training or experience in the administering of
anesthetics or a certified registered nurse anesthetist.

(S) Registered nurse (RN). A person who holds a valid license
issued by the State Board of Nursing pursuant to Chapter 335,
RSMo.

(T) Root cause analysis.  A process for identifying the basic or
causal factor(s) that underlie variation in performance, including
the occurrence or possible occurrence of a sentinel event.

(U) Sentinel event.  An unexpected occurrence involving death
or serious physical or psychological injury, or the risk thereof.
Serious injury specifically includes loss of limb or function. The
phrase “or the risk thereof” includes any process variation for
which a reoccurrence would carry a significant chance of a seri-
ous adverse outcome.

AUTHORITY:  sections 197.225, RSMo [1986] and 197.154, RSMo
Supp. 2004. This rule was previously filed 13 CSR 50-30.010.
Original rule filed [as] Dec. 2, 1975, effective Feb. 1, 1976.
Amended: Filed Jan. 3, 1990, effective April 12, 1990.  Amended:
Filed Sept. 20, 2005. 

PUBLIC COST:  This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST:  This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate. 
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NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:  Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Department of Health and Senior Services, Division of Regulation
and Licensure, David S. Durbin, Director, PO Box 570, Jefferson
City, MO 65102-0570.  To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 19—DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND
SENIOR SERVICES

Division 30—Division of [Health Standards and
Licensure] Regulation and Licensure

Chapter 30—Ambulatory Surgical Centers

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

19 CSR 30-30.020 Administration Standards for Ambulatory
Surgical Centers. The department proposes to amend paragraphs
(1)(E)6.,(1) (K)1. and (1)(K)4.; add paragraphs (1)(C)9., (1)(K)2.
and (1)(K)3.; and renumber for consistency.

PURPOSE: This amendment sets forth the amended ambulatory sur-
gical center requirements regarding infection control imposed by the
Missouri Nosocomial Infection Control Act of 2004 as included in
Senate Bill No. 1279 passed by the Second Regular Session of the
92nd General Assembly.  The amendment also sets forth amended
ambulatory surgical center requirements regarding overtime for nurs-
es and administration of anesthesia by anesthesiologist assistants.

PUBLISHER’S NOTE: The secretary of state has determined that
the publication of the entire text of the material which is incorporat-
ed by reference as a portion of this rule would be unduly cumbersome
or expensive. This material as incorporated by reference in this rule
shall be maintained by the agency at its headquarters and shall be
made available to the public for inspection and copying at no more
than the actual cost of reproduction. This note applies only to the ref-
erence material. The entire text of the rule is printed here.

(1) Organization, Administration, Medical Staff, Nursing Staff and
Supporting Services. 

(C) Nursing Services.
1. There shall be an organized nursing service under the direc-

tion of a professional RN with postgraduate education or experience
in surgical nursing.

2. There shall be at least one (1) professional RN on duty in the
ambulatory surgical center at all times a patient is in the facility.

3. Written policies and procedures consistent with generally
accepted nursing practices are to be developed for the direction and
guidance of nursing personnel.

4. All licensed practical nurses and other nursing personnel
involved in patient care shall be under the direct supervision of a pro-
fessional RN.

5. At least one (1) professional RN other than the individual
administering anesthesia shall be available in each operating room
during surgical procedures.

6. At least one (1) RN shall be in the recovery room during the
patients’ postanesthetic recovery period at a ratio of no more than
four (4) patients to one (1) nurse. 

7. Nursing personnel are to be familiar with the location, oper-
ation and use of electrocardiogram (EKG or ECG) equipment, pulse
oximeter, blood pressure equipment and emergency and resuscitative
equipment.  

8. There shall be a mechanism for the review and evaluation on
a regular basis of the quality and appropriateness of nursing services. 

9.  Policies shall be developed regarding the use of overtime.
The policies shall be based on the following standards:

A.  Overtime shall not be mandated for any licensed nurs-
ing personnel except when an unexpected nurse staffing shortage
arises that involves a substantial risk to patient safety, in which
case a reasonable effort must be applied to secure safe staffing
before requiring the on-duty licensed nursing personnel to work
overtime.  Reasonable efforts undertaken shall be verified by the
ambulatory surgical center.  Reasonable efforts shall include pur-
suing all of the following:

(I) Reassigning on-duty staff;
(II) Seeking volunteers to work extra time from all

available qualified nursing staff who are presently working;
(III) Contacting qualified off-duty employees who have

made themselves available to work extra time, per diem staff,
float pool and flex team nurses; and

(IV) Seeking personnel from a contracted temporary
agency when such staffing is permitted by law or an applicable
collective bargaining agreement and when the employer regular-
ly uses a contracted temporary agency;

B. In the absence of nurse volunteers, float pool nurses,
flex team nurses or contracted temporary agency staff or if qual-
ified reassignments cannot be made, the ambulatory surgical cen-
ter may require the nurse currently providing the patient care to
fulfill his or her obligations based on the Missouri Nurse Practice
Act by performing the patient care which is required;

C. The prohibition of mandatory overtime does not apply
to overtime work that occurs because of an unforeseeable emer-
gency or when an ambulatory surgical center and a subsection of
nurses commit, in writing, to a set, predetermined staffing
schedule or prescheduled on-call time.  An unforeseeable emer-
gency is defined as a period of unusual, unpredictable or unfore-
seeable circumstances such as, but not limited to, an act of ter-
rorism, a disease outbreak, adverse weather conditions, or nat-
ural disasters which impact patient care and which prevent
replacement staff from reporting for duty;

D. The facility is prohibited from requiring a nurse to
work additional consecutive hours and from taking action against
a nurse on the grounds that a nurse failed to work the addition-
al hours or when a nurse declines to work additional consecutive
hours beyond the nurse’s predetermined schedule of hours
because doing so may, in the nurse’s judgement, jeopardize
patient safety;

E. Subparagraph 19 CSR 30-30.020(1)(C)9.D. is not
applicable if overtime is permitted under subparagraphs 19 CSR
30-30.020(1)(C)9.A., B., and C; and

F. Nurses required to work more than twelve (12) consec-
utive hours under subparagraphs 19 CSR 30-30.020(1)(C)9.A.,
B., or C. shall be provided the option to have at least ten (10)
consecutive hours of uninterrupted off-duty time immediately
following the worked time.

(E) Anesthesia Service.
1. The anesthesia service shall be under the direction of an

anesthesiologist or a physician with training or experience in the
administration of anesthetics. The clinical privileges of qualified
anesthesia personnel shall be reviewed by the director of anesthesia
service and the medical staff and approved by the governing body. 

2. An anesthesiologist or physician with training or experience
in the administration of anesthetics shall be on the premises and read-
ily accessible during the administration of anesthetics whether local,
general or intravenous sedation and the postanesthetic recovery peri-
od until all patients are alert or medically discharged. Qualified anes-
thesia personnel shall be present in the room throughout the conduct
of all general anesthetics, regional anesthetics and monitored anes-
thesia care and shall continually evaluate the patient’s oxygenation,
ventilation, circulation and temperature. Oxygen analyzers, pulse
oximeter and electrocardiography equipment shall be available. 

3. Policies and procedures on the administration of anesthetics
and drugs which produce conscious and deep sedation shall be devel-
oped by the medical staff in consultation with at least one (1) anes-
thesiologist and approved by the governing body.
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4. Prior to undergoing general anesthesia, patients shall have a
history and physical examination by a physician on the patient’s
record including the results of any necessary laboratory examina-
tions. Each administration of a regional, general or intravenous seda-
tion anesthetic shall be ordered by an anesthesiologist or a physician
with training and experience in the administration of anesthetics. The
patient records shall contain a preanesthetic evaluation and a
postanesthetic note by qualified anesthesia personnel. 

5. Periodic inspections shall be made of all areas where flam-
mable anesthetics are administered or stored to insure safeguards are
being observed by personnel and equipment meets safety standards.
A written record of inspections shall be kept. If the administration of
the facility provides written assurance to the Department of Health
and Senior Services that no flammable anesthetics will be adminis-
tered and the area is posted to that effect, safety inspections will not
be required.

6. All anesthetics shall be administered by anesthesiologists,
physicians with training or experience in the administration of anes-
thetics, [or] certified registered nurse anesthetists or anesthesiolo-
gist assistants, except for local anesthetic agents which may be
administered by the attending physician, dentist or podiatrist.
Notwithstanding the provisions of sections 334.400 to 334.430,
RSMo, or the rules of the Missouri State Board of Registration
for the Healing Arts, the governing body of every ambulatory
surgical center shall have full authority to limit the functions and
activities that an anesthesiologist assistant performs in such
ambulatory surgical center.  Nothing in this paragraph shall be
construed to require any ambulatory surgical center to hire an
anesthesiologist who is not already employed as a physician prior
to August 28, 2003.

7. Written procedures and criteria for discharge from the recov-
ery service shall be approved by the medical staff.

8. There shall be a mechanism for the review and evaluation on
a regular basis of the quality and scope of anesthesia services. 

(K) Infection Control. 
1.There shall be an active multidisciplinary infection control

committee responsible for implementing and monitoring the
infection control program. [This] The committee shall include, [a
person assigned primary responsibility for the program as
well as medical staff participation and review of findings.]
but not be limited to, the infection control officer, a member of
the medical staff, registered professional nursing staff, quality
improvement staff and administration. [The] This program shall
include measures for [presenting,] preventing, identifying, and
investigating[,] healthcare-associated infections and shall estab-
lish procedures for: collecting data, conducting root cause analy-
sis, reporting sentinel events and [controlling infections.] imple-
menting corrective actions. These measures and procedures shall
be applied throughout the ambulatory surgical center, included
as part of the employee health program.

2. The ambulatory surgical center shall provide reports to
the department as required by 19 CSR 10-33.050.

3. The infection control committee shall conduct an ongoing
review and analysis of healthcare-associated infections (HAI)
data and risk factors. Priorities and goals related to preventing
the acquisition and transmission of potentially infectious agents
will be established based on risks identified.  

[2.]4. [Approved] Ambulatory surgical centers shall imple-
ment written policies and procedures outlining infection control
measures[, aseptic techniques and a] for all patient care and
support departments. These measures shall include, but are not
limited to, an ambulatory surgical center-wide hand hygiene pro-
gram that complies with the current Center for Disease Control
and Prevention (CDC) Guideline for Hand Hygiene in Health-
Care Settings, which is incorporated by reference in this rule. A
copy of the CDC Guideline for Hand Hygiene in Health-Care
Settings may be obtained from the Superintendent of Documents,
U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO), Washington, DC

20402-9371; telephone: (202) 512-1800. This rule does not incor-
porate any subsequent amendments or additions. At a minimum,
the program shall require every health care worker to properly
wash or sanitize his or her hands immediately before and imme-
diately after each and every patient contact.  Procedures shall
include, at a minimum, requirements for the facility’s infection
control program to conduct surveillance of personnel. At least a
portion of this surveillance must be done in such a manner that
employees and medical staff are observed without their knowl-
edge of such observation.  Surveillance procedures also may
include monitoring the employees’ and medical staff’s use of
hand hygiene products. A mechanism for reporting and monitor-
ing infections shall be developed[.] and implemented for all patient
care and support departments in the ambulatory surgical center.

[3.] 5. Orientation and ongoing education shall be provided to
all personnel on the cause, effect, transmission and prevention of
infections. 

[4.] 6. There shall be a mechanism for the review and evalua-
tion on a regular basis of the quality and effectiveness of infection
control throughout the facility. 

AUTHORITY: section 197.225, RSMo [1986] 2000 and 197.154,
RSMo Supp. 2004. This rule was previously filed as 13 CSR 50-
30.020. Original rule filed Dec. 2, 1975, effective Feb. 1, 1976.
Amended: Filed June 14, 1988, effective Oct. 13, 1988. Amended:
Filed Jan. 3, 1990, effective April 12, 1990.  Amended:  Filed Sept.
20, 2005.

PUBLIC COST:  This proposed amendment will cost state agencies
and political subdivisions an annual cost of twenty thousand one
hundred fifty-six dollars ($20,156) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST:  This proposed amendment will cost private entities
an annual cost of six hundred ninety-three thousand two hundred
thirty-two dollars ($693,232) and a one time cost of two hundred
fifty-eight thousand dollars ($258,000) in the aggregate. 

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:  Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Department of Health and Senior Services, Division of Regulation
and Licensure, David S. Durbin, Director, PO Box 570, Jefferson
City, MO 65102-0570.  To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled.
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Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Division 700—Licensing

Chapter 1—Insurance Producers

PROPOSED AMENDMENT 

20 CSR 700-1.010 Insurance Producers’ Examination and
Licensing Procedures and Standards. The department is amend-
ing sections (2) and (5) of this rule. 

PURPOSE: This amendment clarifies the process of payment of fees
associated with the licensure renewal process.   

(2) Application Required.
(C) All fees must be paid by money order, cashier’s check, com-

pany check or business entity check. Fees for electronic applica-
tions may be paid by credit card or electronic funds transfer. No
fee shall be refundable.

(5) The biennial renewal fee for an insurance producer’s license is
one hundred dollars ($100). An insurance producer’s license shall be
renewed biennially on the anniversary date of issuance and continue
in effect until refused, revoked or suspended by the director in accor-
dance with section 375.141, RSMo. If the biennial renewal fee for
the license is not paid by the expiration date the license terminates.
All fees must be paid by money order, cashier’s check, company
check or business entity check. Fees for electronic renewals may
be paid by credit card or eletronic funds transfer. No fee shall be
refundable.

AUTHORITY: section 374.045, RSMo  2000. This rule was previ-
ously filed as 4 CSR 190-12.020. Original rule filed Aug. 5, 1974,
effective Aug. 15, 1974. For intervening history, please consult the
Code of State Regulstions. Amended: Filed Sept. 15, 2005

PUBLIC COST:  This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST:  This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than five hundered dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS:  A public hearing will be held on this proposed amendment
at 10 a.m. on November 22, 2005.  The public hearing will be held
at the Harry S Truman State Office Building Room 530, 301 West
High Street, Jefferson City, Missouri.  Opportunities to be heard at
the hearing shall be afforded to any interested person.  Interested
persons, whether or not heard, may submit a written statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment, until 5:00
p.m. on November 22, 2005.  Written statements shall be sent to
Carrie Couch, Department of Insurance, PO Box 690, Jefferson City,
MO 65102.

SPECIAL NEEDS:  If you have any special needs addressed by the
Americans With Disabilities Act, please notify us at (573) 751-6798
or (573) 751-2619 at least five (5) working days prior to the hearing.
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Title 1—OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATION
Division 15—Administrative Hearing Commission

Chapter 3—Procedure for All Contested Cases Under
Statutory Jurisdiction

ORDER OF RULEMAKING

By the authority vested in the Administrative Hearing Commission
under section 621.198, RSMo Supp. 2004, the commission amends
a rule as follows:

1 CSR 15-3.290 Filing of Documents; Fax Filing; Posting Bond
is amended.

A notice of proposed rulemaking containing the text of the proposed
amendment was published in the Missouri Register on July 1, 2005
(30 MoReg 1437).  No changes have been made in the text of the
proposed amendment, so it is not reprinted here.  This proposed
amendment becomes effective thirty (30) days after publication in the
Code of State Regulations.  

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS: No comments were received.

Title 1—OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATION
Division 15—Administrative Hearing Commission

Chapter 3—Procedure for All Contested Cases Under
Statutory Jurisdiction

ORDER OF RULEMAKING

By the authority vested in the Administrative Hearing Commission
under sections 621.053 and 621.198, RSMo Supp. 2004, the com-
mission amends a rule as follows:

1 CSR 15-3.350 Complaints is amended.

A notice of proposed rulemaking containing the text of the proposed
amendment was published in the Missouri Register on July 1, 2005
(30 MoReg 1437–1438).  No changes have been made in the text of
the proposed amendment, so it is not reprinted here.  This proposed
amendment becomes effective thirty (30) days after publication in the
Code of State Regulations.  

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS: No comments were received.

Title 1—OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATION
Division 15—Administrative Hearing Commission

Chapter 3—Procedure for All Contested Cases Under
Statutory Jurisdiction

ORDER OF RULEMAKING

By the authority vested in the Administrative Hearing Commission
under section 621.198, RSMo Supp. 2004, the commission amends
a rule as follows:

1 CSR 15-3.380 Answers and Other Responsive Pleadings
is amended.

A notice of proposed rulemaking containing the text of the proposed
amendment was published in the Missouri Register on July 1, 2005
(30 MoReg 1438).  No changes have been made in the text of the
proposed amendment, so it is not reprinted here.  This proposed
amendment becomes effective thirty (30) days after publication in the
Code of State Regulations.  

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS: No comments were received.

Title 1—OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATION
Division 15—Administrative Hearing Commission

Chapter 3—Procedure for All Contested Cases Under
Statutory Jurisdiction

ORDER OF RULEMAKING

By the authority vested in the Administrative Hearing Commission
under section 621.198, RSMo Supp. 2004, the commission amends
a rule as follows:

1 CSR 15-3.490 Hearings on Complaints; Default is amended.

A notice of proposed rulemaking containing the text of the proposed
amendment was published in the Missouri Register on July 1, 2005
(30 MoReg 1438).  No changes have been made in the text of the
proposed amendment, so it is not reprinted here.  This proposed
amendment becomes effective thirty (30) days after publication in the
Code of State Regulations.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS: No comments were received.

Orders of Rulemaking

2188

This section will contain the final text of the rules proposed
by agencies. The order of rulemaking is required to con-

tain a citation to the legal authority upon which the order of
rulemaking is based; reference to the date and page or pages
where the notice of proposed rulemaking was published in
the Missouri Register; an explanation of any change between
the text of the rule as contained in the notice of proposed
rulemaking and the text of the rule as finally adopted, togeth-
er with the reason for any such change; and the full text of
any section or subsection of the rule as adopted which has
been changed from that contained in the notice of proposed
rulemaking. The effective date of the rule shall be not less
than thirty (30) days after the date of publication of the revi-
sion to the Code of State Regulations.

The agency is also required to make a brief summary of
the general nature and extent of comments submitted in

support of or opposition to the proposed rule and a concise
summary of the testimony presented at the hearing, if any,
held in connection with the rulemaking, together with a con-
cise summary of the agency’s findings with respect to the
merits of any such testimony or comments which are
opposed in whole or in part to the proposed rule. The ninety
(90)-day period during which an agency shall file its order of
rulemaking for publication in the Missouri Register begins
either: 1) after the hearing on the proposed rulemaking is
held; or 2) at the end of the time for submission of comments
to the agency. During this period, the agency shall file with
the secretary of state the order of rulemaking, either putting
the proposed rule into effect, with or without further changes,
or withdrawing the proposed rule.
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Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 70—Plant Industries

Chapter 11—Missouri Plant Law Quarantines

ORDER OF RULEMAKING

By the authority vested in the Missouri Department of Agriculture
under section 263.130, RSMo 2000, the department adopts a rule as
follows:

2 CSR 70-11.040  Bakanae of Rice Exterior Quarantine is adopted.

A notice of proposed rulemaking containing the text of the proposed
rule was published in the Missouri Register on July 1, 2005 (30
MoReg 1438–1440). No changes have been made in the text of the
proposed rule, so it is not reprinted here. This proposed rule becomes
effective thirty (30) days after publication in the Code of State
Regulations.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS:  No comments were received.

Title 13—DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Division 35—Children’s Division

Chapter 80—Payment of Residential Facilities

ORDER OF RULEMAKING

By the authority invested in the Children’s Division under section
207.020, RSMo 2000, the director amends a rule as follows:

13 CSR 35-80.020  Residential Care Agency Cost Reporting 
System is amended.

A notice of proposed rulemaking containing the text of the proposed
amendment was published in the Missouri Register on July 15, 2005
(30 MoReg 1540).  No changes have been made in the text of the pro-
posed amendment, so it is not reprinted here.  This proposed amend-
ment becomes effective thirty (30) days after publication in the Code
of State Regulations.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS:  No comments were received.

Title 13—DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Division 70—Division of Medical Services

Chapter 3—Conditions of Provider Participation,
Reimbursement and Procedure of General Applicability

ORDER OF RULEMAKING

By the authority vested in the director of the Division of Medical
Services under section 208.201, RSMo 2000, the director hereby
amends a rule as follows:

13 CSR 70-3.030 is amended.

A notice of proposed rulemaking containing the text of the proposed
amendment was published in the Missouri Register on June 15, 2005
(30 MoReg 1345–1350).  Those sections with changes are reprinted
here.  This proposed amendment becomes effective thirty (30) days
after publication in the Code of State Regulations. 

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS:  The Division of Medical Services
(DMS) received approximately three (3) written comments on this
proposed amendment. 

COMMENT:  There were two (2) comments received from the
Missouri Health Care Association and the National Association of
Chain Pharmacies that expressed concern about Medicaid provider
manuals being incorporated by reference.
RESPONSE AND EXPLANATION OF CHANGE: Section (1)
gives an effective date of June 15, 2005 and states it does not incor-
porate any subsequent amendments or additions.  We understand that
changes made to the manual must be amended pursuant to Chapter
536. Section (1) is being amended to eliminate the sentence that
says, “The division reserves the right to affect changes in services,
limitations, and fees with notification to providers.”  Section (3)
Program Violations, subsection (7) is also being amended to elimi-
nate the sentence that says, “The division reserves the right to affect
changes in services, limitations, and fees with notification to
providers.”

COMMENT:  There was one (1) comment received from the
Missouri Health Care Association on section (2) pertaining to docu-
mentation requirements “at the time the service was performed or
within seventy-two (72) hours of the time the service was provided”
impacting the “Private Cost” of this amendment.  The concern noted
that long-term care facilities currently do not normally document
“the need for these specific service(s) in relationship to the Medicaid
recipient’s treatment plan . . . ” and documentation of “the Medicaid
recipient’s progress toward the goals stated in the treatment (progress
notes). . . .”  although they may be constructively contained in the
entire medical record of the resident. 
RESPONSE AND EXPLANATION OF CHANGE:  Section (2) has
been changed to replace paragraph (A)11. with the following state-
ment, “Long-term care facilities shall be exempt from the seventy-
two (72)-hour documentation requirements rules applying to para-
graphs (2)(A)9. and (2)(A)10. However, applicable documentation
should be contained and available in the entirety of the medical
record.” The original paragraph (2)(A)11. is renumbered as
(2)(A)12.

COMMENT:   One  (1) comment was received from the Missouri
Health Care Association, which stated that the “state contract or
agreement” should be limited to the “provider agreement” between
the Department of Social Services, Division of Medical Services and
the provider.
RESPONSE AND EXPLANATION OF CHANGE:  Section (3),
Program Violations paragraph (A)37. has been changed to recognize
the provider agreement to be the Missouri Department of Social
Services, Division of Medical Services Title XIX Participation
Agreement with the provider.

COMMENT:  One (1) comment was received from the Missouri
Health Care Association concerning potential increases in private
costs to long-term care facilities if section (2) was changed. 
RESPONSE:  Section (2) has been revised as described in a previ-
ous comment so this concern has been addressed.

COMMENT: One (1) comment was received from the National
Association of Chain Pharmacies with the concern that a provision
appears to bar reimbursement for pharmacy services rendered by a
pharmacy practitioner acting under the direction or supervision of a
pharmacist enrolled in the Medicaid program.
RESPONSE:  Medicaid does not enroll individual pharmacists; the
pharmacy is enrolled.  No changes have been made to the rule as a
result of this comment.

COMMENT:  One (1) comment was received from the National
Association of Chain Pharmacies with the concern that a provision
would identify as a “false claim” a claim for a prescription dispensed
for a higher number of units than is ordered by the prescribing
provider, even if that prescription was subsequently modified by
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mutual consent of the prescribing and dispensing providers due to the
shortage or nonexistence of the prescribed dosage.
RESPONSE:  Any change or alteration made to the prescription dis-
pensed, based on contact with the prescriber, must show a clear audit
trail.  No changes have been made to the rule as a result of this com-
ment.

13 CSR 70-3.030 Sanctions for False or Fraudulent Claims for
Title XIX Services

(1) Administration.  The Missouri Medicaid program shall be admin-
istered by the Department of Social Services, Division of Medical
Services.  The services covered and not covered, the limitations
under which services are covered, and the maximum allowable fees
for all covered services shall be determined by the division and shall
be included in the Medicaid provider manuals, which are incorpo-
rated by reference and made a part of this rule as published by the
Department of Social Services, Division of Medical Services, 615
Howerton Court, Jefferson City, MO 65102, at its website
www.dss.mo.gov/dms, June 15, 2005.  This rule does not incorpo-
rate any subsequent amendments or additions.

(2) The following definitions will be used in administering this rule:
(A) Adequate documentation means documentation from which

services rendered and the amount of reimbursement received by a
provider can be readily discerned and verified with reasonable cer-
tainty. Adequate medical records are records which are of the type
and in a form from which symptoms, conditions, diagnosis, treat-
ments, prognosis and the identity of the patient to which these things
relate can be readily discerned and verified with reasonable certain-
ty. All documentation must be made available at the same site at
which the service was rendered.  An adequate and complete patient
record is a record which is legible, which is made contemporane-
ously with the delivery of the service, which addresses the
patient/client specifics, which include, at a minimum, individualized
statements that support the assessment or treatment encounter, and
shall include documentation of the following information:

1.  First name, and last name, and either middle initial or date
of birth  of the Medicaid recipient;

2.  An accurate, complete, and legible description of each ser-
vice(s) provided;

3.  Name, title, and signature of the Missouri Medicaid enrolled
provider delivering the service.  Inpatient hospital services must have
signed and dated physician or psychologist orders within the patient’s
medical record for the admission and for services billed to Missouri
Medicaid.  For patients registered on hospital records as outpatient,
the patient’s medical record must contain signed and dated physician
orders for services billed to Missouri Medicaid.  Services provided
by an individual under the direction or supervision are not reim-
bursed by Missouri Medicaid.  Services provided by a person not
enrolled with Missouri Medicaid are not reimbursed by Missouri
Medicaid;

4.  The name of the referring entity, when applicable;
5.  The date of service (month/day/year);
6. For those Medicaid programs and services that are reim-

bursed according to the amount of time spent in delivering or ren-
dering a service(s) (except for services as specified under 13 CSR
70-91.010 Personal Care Program (4)(A)) the actual begin and end
time taken to deliver the service (for example, 4:00–4:30 p.m.) must
be documented;

7.  The setting in which the service was rendered;
8.  The plan of treatment, evaluation(s), test(s), findings,

results, and prescription(s) as necessary.  Where a hospital acts as an
independent laboratory or independent radiology service for persons
considered by the hospital as “nonhospital” patients, the hospital
must have a written request or requisition slip ordering the tests or
procedures;

9.  The need for the service(s) in relationship to the Medicaid
recipient’s treatment plan;

10.  The Medicaid recipient’s progress toward the goals stated
in the treatment plan (progress notes);

11. Long-term care facilities shall be exempt from the seventy-
two (72)-hour documentation requirements rules applying to para-
graphs (2)(A)9. and (2)(A)10.  However, applicable documentation
should be contained and available in the entirety of the medical
record; and

12.  For applicable programs it is necessary to have adequate
invoices, trip tickets/reports, activity log sheets, employee records
(excluding health records), and training records of staff;  

(I) Participation means the ability and authority to provide services
or merchandise to eligible Medicaid recipients and to receive pay-
ment from the Medicaid program for those services or merchandise;

(3) Program Violations.
(A) Sanctions may be imposed by the Medicaid agency against a

provider for any one (1) or more of the following reasons:
1. Presenting, or causing to be presented, for payment any false

or fraudulent claim for services or merchandise in the course of busi-
ness related to Medicaid;

2. Submitting, or causing to be submitted, false information for
the purpose of obtaining greater compensation than that to which the
provider is entitled under applicable Medicaid program policies or
rules, including, but not limited to, the billing or coding of services
which results in payments in excess of the fee schedule for the ser-
vice actually provided or billing or coding of services which results
in payments in excess of the provider’s charges to the general public
for the same services or billing for higher level of service or
increased number of units from those actually ordered or performed
or both, or altering or falsifying medical records to obtain or verify
a greater payment than authorized by a fee schedule or reimburse-
ment plan;

3. Submitting, or causing to be submitted, false information for
the purpose of meeting prior authorization requirements or for the
purpose of obtaining payments in order to avoid the effect of those
changes;

4. Failing to make available, and disclosing to the Medicaid
agency or its authorized agents, all records relating to services pro-
vided to Medicaid recipients or records relating to Medicaid pay-
ments, whether or not the records are commingled with non-Title
XIX (Medicaid) records. All records must be kept a minimum of five
(5) years from the date of service unless a more specific provider reg-
ulation applies.  The minimum five (5)-year retention of records
requirement continues to apply in the event of a change of ownership
or discontinuing enrollment in Medicaid.  Services billed to the
Medicaid agency that are not adequately documented in the patient’s
medical records or for which there is no record that services were
performed shall be considered a violation of this section. Copies of
records must be provided upon request of the Medicaid agency or its
authorized agents, regardless of the media in which they are kept.
Failure to make these records available on a timely basis at the same
site at which the services were rendered or at the provider’s address
of record with the Medicaid agency, or failure to provide copies as
requested, or failure to keep and make available adequate records
which adequately document the services and payments shall consti-
tute a violation of this section and shall be a reason for sanction.
Failure to send records, which have been requested via mail, within
the specified time frame shall constitute a violation of this section
and shall be a reason for sanction;

5. Failing to provide and maintain quality, necessary and appro-
priate services, including adequate staffing for long-term care facili-
ty Medicaid recipients, within accepted medical community stan-
dards as adjudged by a body of peers, as set forth in both federal and
state statutes or regulations. Failure shall be documented by repeat
discrepancies. The discrepancies may be determined by a peer review
committee, medical review teams, independent professional review
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teams, utilization review committees or by Professional Standards
Review Organizations (PSRO). The medical review may be conduct-
ed by qualified peers employed by the single state agency;

6. Engaging in conduct or performing an act deemed improper
or abusive of the Medicaid program or continuing the conduct fol-
lowing notification that the conduct should cease. This will include
inappropriate or improper actions relating to the management of
recipients’ personal funds or other funds;

7.  Breaching of the terms of the Medicaid provider agreement
of any current written and published policies and procedures of the
Medicaid program (such as are contained in provider manuals or bul-
letins which are incorporated by reference and made a part of this
rule as published by the Department of Social Services, Division of
Medical Services, 615 Howerton Court, Jefferson City, MO 65102,
at its website www.dss.mo.gov/dms, June 15, 2005.  This rule does
not incorporate any subsequent amendments or additions.) or failing
to comply with the terms of the provider certification on the
Medicaid claim form;

8. Utilizing or abusing the Medicaid program as evidenced by a
documented pattern of inducing, furnishing or otherwise causing a
recipient to receive services or merchandise not otherwise required
or requested by the recipient, attending physician or appropriate uti-
lization review team; a documented pattern of performing and billing
tests, examinations, patient visits, surgeries, drugs or merchandise
that exceed limits or frequencies determined by the department for
like practitioners for which there is no demonstrable need, or for
which the provider has created the need through ineffective services
or merchandise previously rendered;

9. Rebating or accepting a fee or portion of a fee or charge for
a Medicaid patient referral; or collecting a portion of the service fee
from the recipient, except this shall not apply to Title XIX services
for which recipients are responsible for payment of a copayment or
coinsurance in accordance with 13 CSR 70-4.051 and 13 CSR 70-
55.010;

10. Violating any provision of the State Medical Assistance Act
or any corresponding rule;

11. Submitting a false or fraudulent application for provider sta-
tus which misrepresents material facts. This shall include conceal-
ment or misrepresentation of material facts required on any provider
agreements or questionnaires submitted by affiliates when the
provider knew or should have known the contents of the submitted
documents;

12. Violating any laws, regulations or code of ethics governing
the conduct of occupations or professions or regulated industries. In
addition to all other laws which would commonly be understood to
govern or regulate the conduct of occupations, professions or regu-
lated industries, this provision shall include any violations of the civil
or criminal laws of the United States, of Missouri or any other state
or territory, where the violation is reasonably related to the
provider’s qualifications, functions or duties in any licensed or regu-
lated profession or where an element of the violation is fraud, dis-
honesty, moral turpitude or an act of violence;

13. Failing to meet standards required by state or federal law for
participation (for example licensure);

14. Exclusion from the Medicare program or any other federal
health care program;

15. Failing to accept Medicaid payment as payment in full for
covered services or collecting additional payment from a recipient or
responsible person, except this shall not apply to Title XIX services
for which recipients are responsible for payment of a copayment or
coinsurance in accordance with 13 CSR 70-4.051 and 13 CSR 70-
55.010;

16. Refusing to execute a new provider agreement when
requested to do so by the single state agency in order to preserve the
single state agency’s compliance with federal and state requirements;
or failure to execute an agreement within twenty (20) days for com-
pliance purposes;

17. Failing to correct deficiencies in provider operations within
ten (10) days or date specified after receiving written notice of these
deficiencies from the single state agency or within the time frame
provided from any other agency having licensing or certification
authority;

18. Being formally reprimanded or censured by a board of licen-
sure or an association of the provider’s peers for unethical, unlawful
or unprofessional conduct; any termination, removal, suspension,
revocation, denial, probation, consented surrender or other disquali-
fication of all or part of any license, permit, certificate or registra-
tion related to the provider’s business or profession in Missouri or
any other state or territory of the United States;

19. Being suspended or terminated from participation in anoth-
er governmental medical program such as Workers’ Compensation,
Crippled Children’s Services, Rehabilitation Services, Title XX
Social Service Block Grant or Medicare;

20. Using fraudulent billing practices arising from billings to
third parties for costs of services or merchandise or for negligent
practice resulting in death or injury or substandard care to persons
including, but not limited to, the provider’s patients;

21. Failing to repay or make arrangements for the repayment of
identified overpayments or otherwise erroneous payments prior to the
allowed forty-five (45) days which the provider has to refund the
requested amount;

22. Billing the Medicaid program more than once for the same
service when the billings were not caused by the single state agency
or its agents;

23. Billing the state Medicaid program for services not provid-
ed prior to the date of billing (prebilling), except in the case of pre-
paid health plans or pharmacy claims submitted by point-of-service
technology; whether or not the prebilling causes loss or harm to the
Medicaid program;

24. Failing to reverse or credit back to the medical assistance
program (Medicaid) within thirty (30) days any pharmacy claims
submitted to the agency that represent products or services not
received by the recipient; for example, prescriptions that were
returned to stock because they were not picked up;

25. Conducting any action resulting in a reduction or depletion
of a long-term care facility Medicaid recipient’s personal funds or
reserve account, unless specifically authorized in writing by the
recipient, relative or responsible person;

26. Submitting claims for services not personally rendered by
the individually enrolled provider, except for the provisions specified
in the Missouri Medicaid dental, physician, or nurse midwife pro-
grams where such claims may be submitted only if the individually
enrolled provider directly supervised the person who actually per-
formed the service and the person was employed by the enrolled
provider at the time the service was rendered.  All claims for psy-
chiatric, psychological counseling, speech therapy, physical therapy,
and occupational therapy services may only be billed by the individ-
ually enrolled provider who actually performs the service, as super-
vision is noncovered for these services.  Services performed by a
nonenrolled person due to Medicaid sanction, whether or not the per-
son was under supervision of the enrolled provider, is a noncovered
service;

27. Making any payment to any person in return for referring an
individual to the provider for the delivery of any goods or services
for which payment may be made in whole or in part under Medicaid.
Soliciting or receiving any payment from any person in return for
referring an individual to another supplier of goods or services
regardless of whether the supplier is a Medicaid provider for the
delivery of any goods or services for which payment may be made in
whole or in part under Medicaid is also prohibited. Payment
includes, without limitation, any kickback, bribe or rebate made,
either directly or indirectly, in cash or in-kind;

28. Billing for services, through an agent, which were upgrad-
ed from those actually ordered, performed; or billing or coding ser-
vices, either directly or through an agent, in a manner that services
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are paid for as separate procedures when, in fact, the services were
performed concurrently or sequentially and should have been billed
or coded as integral components of a total service as prescribed in
Medicaid policy for payment in a total payment less than the aggre-
gate of the improperly separated services; or billing a higher level of
service than is documented in the patient/client record; or
unbundling procedure codes;

29. Conducting civil or criminal fraud against the Missouri
Medicaid program or any other state Medicaid (medical assistance)
program, or any criminal fraud related to the conduct of the
provider’s profession or business;

30.  Having sanctions or any other adverse action invoked by
another state Medicaid program;

31. Failing to take reasonable measures to review claims for
payment for accuracy, duplication or other errors caused or commit-
ted by employees when the failure allows material errors in billing to
occur. This includes failure to review remittance advice statements
provided which results in payments which do not correspond with the
actual services rendered;

32. Submitting improper or false claims to the state or its fiscal
agent by an agent or employee of the provider;

33. For providers other than long-term care facilities, failing to
retain in legible form for at least five (5) years from the date of ser-
vice, worksheets, financial records, appointment books, appointment
calendars (for those providers who schedule patient/client appoint-
ments), adequate documentation of the service, and other documents
and records verifying data transmitted to a billing intermediary,
whether the intermediary is owned by the provider or not. For long-
term care providers, failing to retain in legible form, for at least
seven (7) years from the date of service, worksheets, financial
records, adequate documentation for the service(s), and other docu-
ments and records verifying data transmitted to a billing intermedi-
ary, whether the intermediary is owned by the provider or not.  The
documentation must be maintained so as to protect it from damage
or loss by fire, water, computer failure, theft, or any other cause;

34. Removing or coercing from the possession or control of a
recipient any item of durable medical equipment which has reached
Medicaid-defined purchase price through Medicaid rental payments
or otherwise become the property of the recipient without paying fair
market value to the recipient;

35. Failing to timely submit civil rights compliance data or
information or failure to timely take corrective action for civil rights
compliance deficiencies within thirty (30) days after notification of
these deficiencies or failure to cooperate or supply information
required or requested by civil rights compliance officers of the sin-
gle state agency;

36. Billing the Medicaid program for services rendered to a
recipient in a long-term care facility when the resident resided in a
portion of the facility which was not Medicaid-certified or properly
licensed or was placed in a nonlicensed or Medicaid-noncertified
bed;

37.  Failure to comply with the provisions of the Missouri
Department of Social Services, Division of Medical Services Title
XIX Participation Agreement with the provider relating to health
care services;

38.  Failure to maintain documentation which is to be made
contemporaneously to the date of service;

39.  Failure to maintain records for services provided and all
billing done under his/her provider number regardless to whom the
reimbursement is paid and regardless of whom in his/her employ or
service produced or submitted the Medicaid claim or both;

40.  Failure to submit proper diagnosis codes, procedure codes,
billing codes regardless to whom the reimbursement is paid and
regardless of whom in his/her employ or service produced or sub-
mitted the Medicaid claim;

41.  Failure to submit and document, as defined in subsection
(2)(A) the length of time (begin and end clock time) actually spent
providing a service, except for services as specified under 13 CSR

70-91.010(4)(A) Personal Care Program, regardless to whom the
reimbursement is paid and regardless of whom in his/her employ or
service produced or submitted the Medicaid claim or both; and

42.  Billing for the same service as another provider when the
service is performed or attended by more than one (1) enrolled
provider.  Missouri Medicaid will reimburse only one (1) provider
for the exact same service.

(4) Any one (1) or more of the following sanctions may be invoked
against providers for any one (1) or more of the program violations
specified in section (3) of this rule:

Title 13—DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Division 70—Division of Medical Services

Chapter 4—Conditions of Recipient Participation, Rights
and Responsibilities

ORDER OF RULEMAKING

By the authority vested in the director of the Division of Medical
Services under sections 208.152,  RSMo Supp 2004 and 208.152 as
enacted by the 93rd General Assembly and 208.201, RSMo 2000,
the director hereby amends a rule as follows:

13 CSR 70-4.050 is amended.

A notice of proposed rulemaking containing the text of the proposed
amendment was published in the Missouri Register on June 15, 2005
(30 MoReg 1350–1353).  Those sections with changes are reprinted
here.  This proposed amendment becomes effective thirty (30) days
after publication in the Code of State Regulations.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS:  The Division of Medical Services
(DMS) received three (3) written comments regarding this proposed
amendment.  

COMMENT:  The Missouri State Medical Association commented
that they recognized that Senate Bill 539 granted Medicaid officials
the statutory authority to implement changes to copayments due from
Medicaid patients but that they continue to oppose the changes.  It
was the opinion of the Missouri State Medical Association that
Medicaid copayments are nothing short of cost shifting, laying the
state’s burden on the backs of physicians and other Medicaid
providers.  According to the association, Missouri’s Medicaid physi-
cian fees are among the lowest in the nation, often amounting to less
than thirty-five (35) cents for every dollar it costs to provide the ser-
vice.  If the rule is changed to deduct patient copayment amounts
from physician fees—whether or not the physician collects the copay-
ment—there is a very good chance many physicians will choose to
leave the Medicaid program, argues the Association.  Physicians
leaving the Medicaid program will create a terrible access problem
for Medicaid patients, which will ultimately force many Medicaid
recipients to visit expensive hospital emergency rooms for their basic
health care needs, in the opinion of the Association.  The Missouri
State Medical Association respectfully urged the division to consid-
er amending the rule to clarify that Medicaid will withhold copay-
ment amounts only after the physician has collected them from the
patient.
RESPONSE:  Missouri will not receive federal financial participa-
tion for cost sharing amounts that “recipients should have paid” as
copayments,  in accordance with 42 Code of Federal Regulations
447.59.  No changes have been made to the rule as a result of this
comment.

COMMENT: One (1) comment from division staff noted that the list
of  services that required a copayment  included optional Medicaid
services that have been eliminated by the General Assembly.
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RESPONSE AND EXPLANATION OF CHANGE: Section (1) will
be amended  to clarify which services will require a copayment from
groups that are not exempted from the requirement in section (7).

COMMENT: One (1) comment from division staff noted that the list
of exemptions to the copayment  requirement was not complete.
RESPONSE AND EXPLANATION OF CHANGE:  Section (7),
renumbered from section (8),  will be amended to correct the list of
exemptions to the copayment requirement.

COMMENT: When reviewing the Missouri Register of June 15,
2005, page 1351, to formulate the order of rulemaking for 13 CSR
70-4.050 the division discovered an error in the authority section;
section 208.152 had been transposed to 208.215.
RESPONSE AND EXPLANATION OF CHANGE:  The authority
section will be corrected.

13 CSR 70-4.050  Copayment and Coinsurance for Certain
Medicaid-Covered Services

(1)  Recipients eligible to receive Missouri Medicaid services under
certain program areas shall be required to pay a small portion of the
costs of the services.  The services to be affected by the copayment
or coinsurance requirements are—

(A) Dental services related to trauma or the treatment of a dis-
ease/medical condition;

(B) Optical services related to trauma or the treatment of a dis-
ease/medical condition,  and one (1) eye exam every two (2) years;

(C) Podiatry services provided through the podiatry program;
(D) Inpatient hospital services;
(E) Hospital outpatient clinic/emergency room services; and
(F) All physician-related services.

(3) Copayment charged shall be in accordance with 42 CFR 447.54
and, applicable to the services described in subsections (1)(A)
(excepting dentures), (B), (C), and (F), based on the following sched-
ule:

Medicaid Payment Recipient
for Each Item of Copayment
Service Amount
$10 or less $0.50
$10.01–$25 $1.00
$25.01–$50 $2.00
$50.01 or more $3.00

(7) The following is a list of exemptions to the Medicaid copayment
requirement:

(B) Services provided to recipients residing within a skilled nurs-
ing facility, an intermediate care facility, a residential care facility, an
adult boarding home or a psychiatric hospital;

(C) Services provided to recipients who have both Medicare and
Medicaid entitlement if Medicare covers the service and provides
payment for it;

(J) Services identified as medically necessary through an Early
Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT) screen;

(K) Services provided through MC+ Managed Care Contracts;
(L) Personal care services;
(M) Mental health services;
(N) Services provided to the blind;
(O) Hospice services; and
(P) Medicaid waiver services.

AUTHORITY: sections  208.152,  RSMo Supp. 2004 and as enacted
by the 93rd General Assembly and 208.201, RSMo 2000.  This rule
was previously filed as 13 CSR 40-81.054. Emergency rule filed Oct.
21, 1981, effective Nov. 1, 1981, expired Feb. 10, 1982.  Original rule
filed Oct. 21, 1981, effective Feb. 11, 1982.  Emergency amendment

filed Jan. 21, 1983, effective Feb. 1, 1983, expired May 11, 1983.
Amended: Filed Jan. 21, 1983, effective May 12, 1983.  Amended:
Filed Aug. 14, 1984, effective Nov. 11, 1984.  Amended: Filed May
16, 2005.

Title 13—DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Division 70—Division of Medical Services

Chapter 40—Optical Program

ORDER OF RULEMAKING

By the authority vested in the director of the Division of Medical
Services under sections 208.152, RSMo Supp. 2004, 208.153 and
208.201, RSMo 2000 and Senate Substitute for Senate Bill 539
enacted by the 93rd General Assembly 2005, the director amends a
rule as follows:

13 CSR 70-40.010 is amended.

A notice of proposed rulemaking containing the text of the proposed
amendment was published in the Missouri Register on July 1, 2005
(30 MoReg 1448–1449).  The section with changes are reprinted
here.  This proposed amendment becomes effective thirty (30) days
after publication in the Code of State Regulations.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS:  No comments were received.
However, when reviewing the Missouri Register of July 1, 2005, page
1448, the division discovered an error in the authority section.
Section 208.152 was listed as RSMo 2000; it should be 208.152,
RSMo Supp. 2004.  
RESPONSE AND EXPLANATION OF CHANGE:  The authority
section will be corrected.

13 CSR 70-40.010 Optical Care Benefits and Limitations—
Medicaid Program

AUTHORITY: sections 208.152, RSMo Supp. 2004 and 208.153 and
208.201, RSMo 2000, and Senate Substitute for Senate Bill 539
enacted by the 93rd General Assembly, 2005.  This rule was previ-
ously filed as 13 CSR 40-81.170. Emergency rule filed April 10, 1981,
effective April 20, 1981, expired July 10, 1981. Original rule filed
April 10, 1981, effective July 11, 1981. Emergency amendment filed
June 27, 2002, effective July 7, 2002, terminated Feb. 23, 2003.
Amended: Filed July 15, 2002, effective Feb. 28, 2003. Amended:
Filed March 3, 2003, effective Oct. 30, 2003. Amended:  Filed June
1, 2005.

Title 13—DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Division 70—Division of Medical Services

Chapter 97—Health Insurance Premium Payment (HIPP)
Program

ORDER OF RULEMAKING

By the authority vested in the director of the Division of Medical
Services under sections 208.153 and 208.201, RSMo 2000, the
director hereby amends a rule as follows:

13 CSR 70-97.010 Health Insurance Premium Payment (HIPP)
Program is amended.

A notice of proposed rulemaking containing the text of the proposed
amendment was published in the Missouri Register on July 1, 2005
(30 MoReg 1450–1451).  No changes have been made in the text of
the proposed amendment, so it is not reprinted here.  This proposed
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amendment becomes effective thirty (30) days after publication in the
Code of State Regulations.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS: No comments were received.

Title 13—DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Division 70—Division of Medical Services

Chapter 99—Comprehensive Day Rehabilitation

ORDER OF RULEMAKING

By the authority vested in the director of the Division of Medical
Services under sections 208.152, 208.471 and 208.631, RSMo
Supp. 2004 and 208.153, 208.164, 208.201 and 208.633, RSMo
2000 and Senate Substitute for Senate Bill 539 enacted by the 93rd
General Assembly 2005, the director adopts a rule as follows:

13 CSR 70-99.010 is adopted.

A notice of proposed rulemaking containing the text of the proposed
rule was published in the Missouri Register on July 1, 2005 (30
MoReg 1451–1454).  The section with changes is reprinted here.
This proposed rule becomes effective thirty (30) days after publica-
tion in the Code of State Regulations.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS:  No comments were received.
However, when reviewing the Missouri Register of July 1, 2005, page
1452, the division discovered an error in the authority section.
Sections 208.152, 208.471 and 208.631 were listed as RSMo 2000;
they should be 208.152, 208.471 and 208.631, RSMo Supp. 2004.  
RESPONSE AND EXPLANATION OF CHANGE:  The authority
section will be corrected.

13 CSR 70-99.010 Comprehensive Day Rehabilitation Program

AUTHORITY: sections 208.152, 208.471 and 208.631, RSMo Supp.
2004 and 208.153, 208.164, 208.201 and 208.633, RSMo 2000, and
Senate Substitute for Senate Bill 539 enacted by the 93rd General
Assembly, 2005.  Original rule filed June 1, 2005.
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Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT

Division 100—Division of Credit Unions

ACTIONS TAKEN ON APPLICATIONS FOR NEW
GROUPS OR GEOGRAPHIC AREAS

Pursuant to section 370.081(4), RSMo 2000, the director of the
Missouri Division of Credit Unions is required to cause notice to be
published that the director has either granted or rejected applications
from the following credit unions to add new groups or geographic
areas to their membership and state the reasons for taking these
actions.

The following applications have been granted.  These credit unions
have met the criteria applied to determine if additional groups may
be included in the membership of an existing credit union and have
the immediate ability to serve the proposed new groups or geographic
areas.  The proposed new groups or geographic areas meet the
requirements established pursuant to 370.080(2), RSMo 2000.

MISSOURI DIVISION OF CREDIT UNIONS

APPLICATION TO EXPAND THE FIELD OF MEMBERSHIP
OF EDISON CREDIT UNION

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. The application to expand the field of membership was received
by the director, Division of Credit Unions on June 24, 2005.

2. The application was submitted in the required format and on July
5, 2005 was deemed to be complete.

3. Credit Union by resolution of their Board of Directors dated June
21, 2005 with said resolution submitted with the field of membership
application, will expand their field of membership only by employee
groups (RSMo 370.081.4; 370.080.2).

4. The application to expand the Edison Credit Union’s field of mem-
bership is for  active or retired employees of Waller Logistics, Inc.
and Waller Truck Company, Inc. According to the application, there
are approximately 212 employees within the applicant group; there-
fore provisions of RSMo 370.081.2 and 4 CSR 105-3.040
Exemptions from Limitations on Groups are not applicable.

5. After review of Edison Credit Union’s most recent Supervisory
Examination Report and the June 30, 2005 call report, the director is
satisfied that the credit union is operating in a safe and sound man-

ner and there are no adverse conditions or regulatory concerns. (4
CSR 105-3.020 Criteria for Additional Membership Groups (1)(A)).

6. Edison Credit Union’s net worth as reported on the December 31,
2004 call report is 13.01%. The director finds Edison Credit Union
is adequately capitalized. (4 CSR 105-3.020 Criteria for Additional
Membership Groups (1)(B)).

7. After review of Edison Credit Union’s business plan submitted as
part of the field of membership application, June 30, 2005 call
report, and the most recent Supervisory Examination Report, the
director finds this credit union has the administrative capability and
the financial resources to serve the proposed groups. (4 CSR 105-
3.020 Criteria for Additional Membership Groups (1)(C)).

8. That the formation of a separate credit union by these small groups
is not practical and consistent with reasonable standards for the safe
and sound operation of a credit union. (4 CSR 105-3.020 Criteria for
Additional Membership Groups (1)(D)).

Title 19—DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 
AND SENIOR SERVICES

Division 60—Missouri Health Facilities Review Committee
Chapter 50—Certificate of Need Program

APPLICATION REVIEW SCHEDULE

The Missouri Health Facilities Review Committee has initiated
review of the applications listed below. A decision is tentatively
scheduled for November 21, 2005. These applications are available
for public inspection at the address shown below:

Date Filed
Project Number: Project Name
City (County)
Cost, Description

09/09/05
#3800 HS: North Kansas City Hospital
North Kansas City (Clay County)
$1,640,765, Replace computerized tomography scanner

#3826 HS: Select Specialty Hosp.—Springfield, Inc.  
Springfield (Greene County)
$15,743,740, Establish 44-bed long-term care hospital

#3803 HS: Select Specialty Hosp.—St. Louis, Inc.
St. Louis (St. Louis City)
$3,918,000, Establish 36-bed long-term care hospital

Any person wishing to request a public hearing for the purpose of
commenting on these applications must submit a written request to
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This section may contain notice of hearings, correction
notices, public information notices, rule action notices,

statements of actual costs and other items required to be pub-
lished in the Missouri Register by law.

Credit Union  Proposed New Group 
or Geographic Area  

Edison Credit Union  
4200 E. Front Street  
Kansas City, MO 64120  
 

Active or retired 
employees of Waller 
Logistics, Inc. and Waller 
Truck Company, Inc.  
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this effect, which must be received by October 12, 2005. All written
requests and comments should be sent to:

Chairman
Missouri Health Facilities Review Committee
c/o Certificate of Need Program
915 G Leslie Boulevard
Jefferson City, MO 65101

For additional information contact 
Donna Schuessler, (573) 751-6403.
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The Secretary of State is required by sections 347.141 and 359.481, RSMo 2000 to publish dissolutions of limited liability com-
panies and limited partnerships. The content requirements for the one-time publishing of these notices are prescribed by

statute. This listing is published pursuant to these statutes. We request that documents submitted for publication in this section
be submitted in camera ready 8 1/2" x 11" manuscript.
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