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Emergency Rules

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 70—Plant Industries

Chapter 11—Missouri Plant Law Quarantines

EMERGENCY RULE

2 CSR 70-11.060 Thousand Cankers Disease of Walnut Exterior
Quarantine

PURPOSE: This rule prevents the introduction into Missouri of a
newly described destructive pest complex known as Thousand
Cankers Disease of Walnut, consisting of an insect pest, the Walnut
Twig Beetle, Pityophthorus juglandis, and a fungal pathogen,
Geosmithia morbida sp. nov.

EMERGENCY STATEMENT: The Department of Agriculture, Plant
Industries Division, finds that this emergency rule is necessary to pre-
serve a compelling governmental interest in preventing the introduc-
tion into Missouri of a destructive pest complex, Thousand Cankers
Disease of Walnut, that is lethal to black walnut trees. Thousand
Cankers Disease of Walnut (TCD) has recently been discovered to be
causing mortality in Walnut (Juglans spp.) in at least eight (8) west-
ern states. It is particularly lethal to Black Walnut (Juglans nigra),
which is of tremendous economic importance in Missouri. The
Missouri Department of Conservation has estimated that TCD could
cause over $36 million in statewide wood products losses annually,
over $35 million in statewide nut production losses, and over $65 mil-
lion in statewide urban street tree losses. Furthermore, this econom-

ic impact assessment estimated that over a twenty (20)-year span
after introduction, TCD could cause over $851 million in economic
losses to the state of Missouri. Missouri is the nation’s leader in
black walnut nut production and is home to the world’s largest black
walnut nut meat producer. Furthermore, Missouri is one (1) of the
largest producers of black walnut wood products. Currently, TCD has
not been found in the native range of black walnut, but if it spreads
to this region, it will cause impactful, long-lasting economic, eco-
logical, and sociological effects. Walnut is currently moving from
known infested states to Missouri by multiple means, including forest
products trade, nursery stock trade, wood crafter hobbyist exchange,
research, and firewood movement due to an abundance of dead and
dying walnut wood in western states. Furthermore, walnut mortality
in western states, due to this pest complex, is on the rise. It is imper-
ative for the protection of black walnut in its native range, and its
related industries, to immediately suspend movement of walnut from
infested areas. The scope of this emergency rule is limited to the cir-
cumstances creating the emergency and complies with the protections
extended in the Missouri and United States Constitutions. The
Department of Agriculture, Plants Industries Division, believes this
emergency rule is fair to all interested persons and parties under the
circumstances. This emergency rule was filed April 2, 2010, becomes
effective April 12, 2010, and expires January 19, 2011.  

(1) It has been determined that Thousand Cankers Disease of Walnut,
a lethal insect-fungal pathogen pest complex of walnut (Juglans spp.)
has been detected in at least eight (8) western states (Arizona,
California, Colorado, Idaho, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, and
Washington). The Walnut Twig Beetle is known from several western
states and Mexico; however, the fungus is a newly described fungus
with a proposed name of Geosmithia morbida sp. nov. Thousand
Cankers Disease has not yet been found in Missouri or other states
in the general native range of Black Walnut, but its introduction could
cause an estimated $851 million in losses over a twenty (20)-year
period to the state economy, as well as inestimable, long-term eco-
logical and sociological impacts. As such, the state entomologist,
under the authority of section 263.140, RSMo, of the Missouri Plant
Law does now establish a quarantine to prevent the introduction of
this pest complex into Missouri and now sets forth the name of this
pest complex against which the quarantine is established, the quar-
antined area, the articles regulated, and the penalty.     

(2) The following definitions shall apply to this quarantine: 
(A) Bark means the natural bark of a tree, including the ingrown

bark around the knots and bark pockets between rings of annual
growth and an additional one-half (½)-inch of wood, including the
vascular cambium;

(B) Compliance agreement is a written agreement between the
state entomologist and a person or entity moving regulated articles
from or through a quarantined area into Missouri;

(C) Firewood for the purposes of this quarantine shall be defined
as wood, either split or unsplit, in sections less than four feet (4') in
length;

(D) State entomologist refers to the Missouri Department of
Agriculture Plant Pest Control Bureau Administrator; and

(E) State plant regulatory official refers to the National Plant
Board member of the state of origin.

(3) The following is a list of articles, the movement of which is reg-
ulated:

(A) The Walnut Twig Beetle, Pityophthorus juglandis, in any liv-
ing stage of development;

(B) The fungal pathogen Geosmithia morbida sp. nov.;
(C) Firewood of any non-coniferous (hardwood) species;
(D) All plants and plant parts of the genus Juglans including but

not limited to nursery stock, budwood, scionwood, green lumber,
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and other material living, dead, cut, or fallen, including logs,
stumps, roots, branches, and composted and uncomposted chips.
Specific exceptions are nuts, nut meats, hulls, processed lumber (one
hundred percent (100%) bark-free, kiln-dried with squared edges),
and finished wood products without bark, including walnut furniture,
instruments, and gun stocks; and

(E) Any article, product, or means of conveyance when it is deter-
mined by the state entomologist to present the risk of spread of the
Walnut Twig Beetle, Pityophthorus juglandis, or the fungal
pathogen, Geosmithia morbida sp. nov.

(4) Regulated articles from the areas listed below are prohibited entry
into Missouri under any circumstances.

(A) Arizona.
(B) California.
(C) Colorado.
(D) Idaho.
(E) Nevada.
(F) New Mexico.
(G) Oregon.
(H) Utah.
(I) Washington.
(J) Any other areas of the United States as determined by the state

entomologist to have Thousand Cankers Disease of Walnut.

(5) The following are conditions of movement of regulated articles:
(A) All regulated articles are prohibited movement into or transit-

ing through the state of Missouri;
(B) Articles listed in section (3) originating in an area not known

to have Thousand Cankers Disease but transiting through an area
known to have Thousand Cankers Disease will be considered to be
regulated articles; and

(C) Regulated articles to be used for research purposes, at the dis-
cretion of the state entomologist, may move under a compliance
agreement between the state entomologist and the Missouri recipient.
At minimum, the compliance agreement shall require inspection of
the regulated articles at the point of origin, a state phytosanitary cer-
tificate issued by the state plant regulatory official in the state of ori-
gin, and at least twenty-four (24) hours pre-shipment notification.

(6) Regulated articles transported in violation of this quarantine may
be destroyed, or returned to the point of origin, at the discretion of
the state entomologist. Common carriers or other carriers, persons,
firms, or corporations who transport or move regulated articles in
violation of this quarantine and these rules will be subject to the
penalties named in section 263.180, RSMo, of the Missouri Plant
Law.

(7) These rules are distinct from, and in addition to, any federal
statute, regulation, or quarantine order addressing the interstate
movement of articles from the known infested areas.

AUTHORITY: sections 263.040, 263.050, and 263.180, RSMo 2000.
Emergency rule filed April 2, 2010, effective April 12, 2010, expires
Jan. 19, 2011. A proposed rule covering this same material is pub-
lished in this issue of the Missouri Register.

Title 7—DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
Division 60—Highway Safety Division

Chapter 2—Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device 
Certification and Operational Requirements

EMERGENCY AMENDMENT

7 CSR 60-2.010 Definitions. The Missouri Highways and Trans-
portation Commission is amending subparagraph (1)(A)30.B. and
adding subparagraph (1)(A)30.C.

PURPOSE: This emergency amendment will amend the definition of
“violations reset” to mirror the standards and specifications in 7 CSR
60-2.030 that outline when a violations reset message will occur. 

EMERGENCY STATEMENT: This emergency amendment is neces-
sary to eliminate an immediate danger to the public health, safety,
and/or welfare created by the current description of when a viola-
tions reset message will occur. The current definition of “violations
reset” in this rule is inconsistent with the description of when a vio-
lations reset message will occur in 7 CSR 60-2.030, and emergency
amendments to both sections are necessary in order to ensure that all
ignition interlock installers in the state utilize uniform standards for
programming devices to display violations reset messages. As a
result, the Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission
(MHTC) finds an immediate danger to the public health, safety,
and/or welfare and finds an emergency amendment is necessary to
preserve a compelling governmental interest which requires emer-
gency action.

History: Alcohol is a significant contributing factor in Missouri’s
serious traffic crash experience.  In Missouri, one (1) person is killed
or injured in an alcohol-related traffic crash every one point seven
(1.7) hours.

In 2008, the Missouri General Assembly changed Missouri’s igni-
tion interlock laws by requiring proof of installation of an interlock
device, with or without a court order, for any person who is found
guilty of or pleads guilty to a second or subsequent intoxication-
related traffic offense or who is subject to a license suspension, revo-
cation, or denial action as a result of a second or subsequent alco-
hol-related enforcement contact. That law took effect on July 1,
2009. To implement this requirement, the MHTC amended the
administrative rules for Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device
Certification and Operational Requirements (7 CSR 60-2.010 through
7 CSR 60-2.060). During this same rulemaking, the MHTC made
additional changes to the rules to update their provisions. These
updates were effective December 30, 2009.

Recent Developments: Late in December 2009, after the orders of
rulemaking were filed amending 7 CSR 60-2.010 and 7 CSR 60-
2.030, it was brought to the attention of the MHTC by ignition inter-
lock device manufacturers that the changes made in the administra-
tive rules for Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device Certification
and Operational Requirements created a gap, which allows offenders
to repeatedly refuse requests for rolling retests before the offender
reaches his or her destination. There is also inconsistency between
the definition of “violations reset” in 7 CSR 60-2.010 and the descrip-
tion of when a violations reset message will occur in 7 CSR 60-2.030. 

Compelling Governmental Interest for this Emergency
Amendment: Currently, 7 CSR 60-2.010 and 7 CSR 60-2.030 have
conflicting language describing when a violations reset will occur.
The current language in 7 CSR 60-2.010(1)(A)30.B. allows for two
(2) refusals before a violations reset message is activated, requiring
the offender to report to a service center for data to be downloaded
from the ignition interlock device and reported to the appropriate
agencies. In addition, 7 CSR 60-2.010 does not include the violations
reset feature when three (3) samples are above the alcohol setpoint.
This emergency amendment is necessary to meet the compelling gov-
ernmental interest that MHTC have ignition interlock rules that
ensure that offenders who are required to use ignition interlock
devices cannot circumvent the system by repeatedly refusing to pro-
vide a retest breath sample, thereby potentially arriving at his or her
destination without providing a retest breath sample. Changes will
also ensure that ignition interlock manufacturers and installers have
clear and consistent guidelines when programming ignition interlock
devices for use in Missouri. In addition, Missouri Department of
Transportation (MoDOT) will file a proposed amendment to change
section 7 CSR 60-2.030(1)(C)2. to reflect the same requirements.

Ignition interlock manufacturers are required to submit quarterly
reports to MHTC, and their quarterly reports demonstrate that some
offenders using ignition interlock devices still drive after consuming
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alcohol. During the fourth quarter of 2009 (October 1–December
31), there were approximately four thousand six hundred (4,600)
ignition interlock devices in use, recording more than thirteen thou-
sand five hundred (13,500) breath tests over the alcohol setpoint of
twenty-five thousandths percent (0.025%). The number of ignition
interlock breath test refusals is not captured separately in the quar-
terly reports; however, at MHTC’s request for purposes of providing
additional information relevant to this emergency amendment, five (5)
of the six (6) authorized service providers in the state reported two
thousand eight hundred sixty-two (2,862) breath test refusals that
were recorded during operation of the vehicle. It is also important to
note that breath test refusals are an issue in overall enforcement of
impaired driving laws in the state. In fact, the Missouri Department
of Revenue estimates that approximately one (1) out of every three (3)
Alcohol Influence Reports (AIRs) received from law enforcement for
impaired driving arrests is a breath alcohol concentration (BAC)
refusal. People who commit impaired driving offenses and who refuse
to provide evidential breath tests, as indicated on AIRs, are also like-
ly to refuse a request for a breath test on the ignition interlock device.

Keeping impaired drivers off our roadways is a public safety con-
cern and serves a compelling governmental interest. Once offenders
realize there is no immediate consequence to refusing the rolling
retest on the ignition interlock device, it is likely a similar number of
rolling retest refusals will occur. The MHTC is not aware of any
offenders having yet discovered this loophole, but if and when they
do, there will be no incentive for offenders to take rolling retests when
they are driving shorter distances.  These offenders could take an ini-
tial breath test, then could consume alcohol and could drive to their
destination without providing any retest breath samples.  It is neces-
sary to close this rolling retest loophole immediately in order to pre-
vent offenders from continuing to operate their vehicles while refus-
ing rolling retests. The emergency amendment will help prevent acci-
dents caused by these drivers. 

In the last three (3) years, eight hundred twenty-four (824) people
were killed and three thousand eight hundred eighty-nine (3,889)
people received disabling injuries in traffic crashes involving
impaired drivers. Ignition interlock devices have been proven in this
and other jurisdictions to be an effective means to prevent offenders
from driving their vehicles while under the influence of alcohol,
thereby greatly reducing the potential for traffic crashes caused by
repeat alcohol offenders. The use of ignition interlock devices ensures
the safety of the motoring public by monitoring repeat driving while
intoxicated (DWI) offenders when their driving privileges are rein-
stated or while they are driving on a limited or restricted driving priv-
ilege.

Proposed Permanent Amended Rule Filed: Also, the MHTC is fil-
ing a proposed permanent amended administrative rule regarding
this same subject with the secretary of state’s office and the Joint
Committee on Administrative Rules, which will appear in the May 17,
2010, Missouri Register but is not intended to become effective until
November 30, 2010. 

Because of the lengthy delay in the effective date of the proposed
permanent amended administrative rule and the risk to public safety
during that period, an emergency amendment is being filed which is
limited to the circumstances creating the emergency and complies
with the protections extended in the Missouri and United States
Constitutions. It is limited to amending the definition of violations
reset to mirror the standards and specifications in 7 CSR 60-2.030. 

Fairness to All Interested Parties and Support from Industry:
MHTC believes this emergency amendment is fair to all interested
persons and parties under the circumstances. On January 22, 2010,
Missouri Department of Transportation staff met with ignition inter-
lock manufacturers and distributors, Missouri Department of
Revenue, and other interested parties as this was the earliest avail-
able date for manufacturers and distributors, many of whom are
located out of state, to meet in person. The group discussed the cur-
rent rule and the proposed amendments. All comments received were
considered when preparing the proposed emergency and permanent

amended rules.
Effective Date and Duration: MHTC filed this emergency amend-

ment on April 8, 2010, which becomes effective on April 18, 2010,
and will expire on November 30, 2010.

(1) Definitions.
(A) The following words and terms as used in these requirements

shall have the following meaning:
1. Alcohol retest setpoint—The breath alcohol concentration at

which the ignition interlock device is set to lock the ignition for the
rolling retest;

2. Alcohol setpoint—The breath alcohol concentration at which
the ignition interlock device is set to lock the ignition. The alcohol
setpoint is the nominal lock point at which the ignition interlock
device is set at the time of calibration;

3. Alveolar air—Deep lung air or alveolar breath, which is the
last portion of a prolonged, uninterrupted exhalation;

4. Authorized service provider—A person, company, or autho-
rized franchise who is certified by the state of Missouri to provide
breath alcohol ignition interlock devices under sections
577.600–577.614, RSMo;

5. Bogus breath sample—Any gas sample other than an unal-
tered, undiluted, and unfiltered alveolar air sample from a driver;

6. Breath alcohol concentration (BAC)—The number of grams
of alcohol (% weight/volume) per two hundred ten (210) liters of
breath;

7. Breath alcohol ignition interlock device (BAIID)—A mechan-
ical unit that is installed in a vehicle which requires the taking of a
BAC test prior to the starting of the vehicle and at periodic intervals
after the engine has been started. If the unit detects a BAC test result
below the alcohol setpoint, the unit will allow the vehicle’s ignition
switch to start the engine. If the unit detects a BAC test result at or
above the alcohol setpoint, the vehicle will be prohibited from start-
ing;

8. Breath sample—Expired human breath containing primarily
alveolar air;

9. Calibration—The process which ensures an accurate alcohol
concentration reading on a device;

10. Circumvention—An unauthorized, intentional, or overt act
or attempt to start, drive, or operate a vehicle equipped with a breath
alcohol ignition interlock device without the driver of the vehicle pro-
viding a pure breath sample;

11. Device—Breath alcohol ignition interlock device (BAIID);
12. Download—The transfer of information from the interlock

device’s memory onto disk or other electronic or digital transfer pro-
tocol;

13. Emergency service—Unforeseen circumstances in the use
and/or operation of a breath alcohol ignition interlock device, not
covered by training or otherwise documented, which requires imme-
diate action;

14. Filtered breath sample—A breath sample which has been fil-
tered through a substance in an attempt to remove alcohol from the
sample;

15. Independent laboratory—A laboratory which is properly
equipped and staffed to conduct laboratory tests on ignition interlock
devices;

16. Initial breath test—A breath test required to start a vehicle
to ensure that the driver’s BAC is below the alcohol setpoint;

17. Installation—Mechanical placement and electrical connec-
tion of a breath alcohol ignition interlock device in a vehicle by
installers;

18. Installer—A dealer, distributor, supplier, individual, or ser-
vice center who provides device calibration, installation, and other
related activities as required by the authorized service provider;

19. Lockout—The ability of the device to prevent a vehicle’s
engine from starting unless it is serviced or recalibrated;

20. NHTSA—Federal agency known as the National Highway
Traffic Safety Administration;
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21. Operator—Any person who operates a vehicle that has a
court-ordered or Department of Revenue required breath alcohol
ignition interlock device installed;

22. Permanent lockout—A feature of a device in which a vehi-
cle will not start until the device is reset by a device installer;

23. Pure breath sample—Expired human breath containing pri-
marily alveolar air and having a breath alcohol concentration below
the alcohol setpoint of twenty-five thousandths (.025);

24. Reinstallation—Replacing a breath alcohol ignition interlock
device in a vehicle by an installer after it has been removed for ser-
vice;

25. Retest—Two (2) additional chances to provide a breath sam-
ple below the alcohol setpoint when the first sample failed; or three
(3) chances to provide a breath alcohol sample below the alcohol set-
point on the rolling retest;

26. Rolling retest—A subsequent breath test that must be con-
ducted five (5) minutes after starting the vehicle and randomly dur-
ing each subsequent thirty (30)-minute time period thereafter while
the vehicle is in operation;

27. Service lockout—A feature of the breath alcohol ignition
interlock device which will not allow a breath test and will not allow
the vehicle to start until the device is serviced and recalibrated as
required;

28. Tampering—An overt, purposeful attempt to physically alter
or disable an ignition interlock device, or disconnect it from its
power source, or remove, alter, or deface physical anti-tampering
measures, so a driver can start the vehicle without taking and pass-
ing an initial breath test;

29. Temporary lockout—A feature of the device which will not
allow the vehicle to start for fifteen (15) minutes after three (3) failed
attempts to blow a pure breath sample; and

30. Violations reset—A feature of a device in which a service
reminder is activated due to one (1) of the following reasons:

A. Two (2) fifteen (15)-minute temporary lockouts within a
thirty (30)-day period; [or]

B. Any [two (2)] three (3) refusals to provide a retest sam-
ple within a thirty (30)-day period[.]; or

C. Any three (3) breath samples above the alcohol setpoint
within a thirty (30)-day period.

AUTHORITY: sections 577.600–577.614, RSMo 2000 and RSMo
Supp. [2008] 2009 and section 226.130, RSMo 2000. This rule
originally filed as 11 CSR 60-2.010. Emergency rule filed Feb. 5,
1996, effective Feb. 15, 1996, expired Aug. 12, 1996. Original rule
filed Feb. 16, 1996, effective Aug. 30, 1996. Moved to 7 CSR 60-
2.010, effective Aug. 28, 2003. Emergency amendment filed May 7,
2009, effective July 1, 2009, expired Dec. 30, 2009. Amended: Filed
May 7, 2009, effective Dec. 30, 2009. Emergency amendment filed
April 8, 2010, effective April 18, 2010, expires Nov. 30, 2010. A pro-
posed amendment covering this same material is published in this
issue of the Missouri Register.

Title 7—DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
Division 60—Highway Safety Division

Chapter 2—Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device 
Certification and Operational Requirements

EMERGENCY AMENDMENT

7 CSR 60-2.030 Standards and Specifications. The Missouri High-
ways and Transportation Commission is amending paragraph
(1)(C)2.

PURPOSE: This emergency amendment will require an ignition inter-
lock device to be programmed to include a violations reset message
when the device registers three (3) refusals to submit to a rolling
retest of the person’s breath within a thirty (30)-day period.

EMERGENCY STATEMENT: This emergency amendment is neces-

sary to eliminate an immediate danger to the public health, safety,
and/or welfare created by the current description of when a viola-
tions reset message will occur.  Under the rule as currently drafted,
a violations reset message, which requires the operator to return the
ignition interlock device to the installer for servicing, will only occur
after three (3) consecutive refusals by the driver to provide a retest
sample. The inadvertent inclusion of the word “consecutive” in the
rule allows operators to repeatedly refuse rolling retest requests and
to continue to operate the vehicle without being required to return the
device to the installer for servicing.  As a result, the Missouri
Highways and Transportation Commission (MHTC) finds an imme-
diate danger to the public health, safety, and/or welfare and finds an
emergency amendment is necessary to preserve a compelling govern-
mental interest which requires emergency action.

History: Alcohol is a significant contributing factor in Missouri’s
serious traffic crash experience.  In Missouri, one (1) person is killed
or injured in an alcohol-related traffic crash every one point seven
(1.7) hours.

In 2008, the Missouri General Assembly changed Missouri’s igni-
tion interlock laws by requiring proof of installation of an interlock
device, with or without a court order, for any person who is found
guilty of or pleads guilty to a second or subsequent intoxication-
related traffic offense or who is subject to a license suspension, revo-
cation, or denial action as a result of a second or subsequent alco-
hol-related enforcement contact. That law took effect on July 1,
2009. To implement this requirement, the MHTC amended the
administrative rules for Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device
Certification and Operational Requirements (7 CSR 60-2.010 through
7 CSR 60-2.060). During this same rulemaking, the MHTC made
additional changes to the rules to update their provisions.  These
updates were effective December 30, 2009.

Recent Developments: Late in December 2009, after the orders of
rulemaking were filed amending 7 CSR 60-2.010 and 7 CSR 60-
2.030, it was brought to the attention of the MHTC that the changes
made in the administrative rules for Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock
Device Certification and Operational Requirements created a gap
which allows offenders to repeatedly refuse requests for rolling retests
before the offender reaches his or her destination. There is also
inconsistency between the definition of “violations reset” in 7 CSR
60-2.010 and the description of when a violations reset message will
occur in 7 CSR 60-2.030. The violations reset language in 7 CSR 60-
2.030 requires three (3) consecutive refusals by the driver to provide
a retest sample before the violations reset message will occur. The
word “consecutive” should not be included in the rule, because this
could allow drivers with interlock devices installed in their vehicles
to operate their vehicles without providing retest breath samples and
without requiring the drivers to return the vehicle to the installer for
servicing.

Compelling Governmental Interest for this Emergency
Amendment: Currently, 7 CSR 60-2.010 and 7 CSR 60-2.030 have
conflicting language describing when a violations reset will occur.
This emergency amendment is necessary to meet the compelling gov-
ernmental interest that MHTC have ignition interlock rules that strict-
ly enforce the statute without any conflicting language allowing con-
secutive refusals. The current language in 7 CSR 60-2.030(1)(C)2.
allows for three (3) consecutive refusals before a violations reset mes-
sage is activated, requiring the offender to report to a service center
for data to be downloaded from the ignition interlock device and
reported to the appropriate agencies. Requiring three (3) consecutive
refusals will allow a person to travel for approximately sixty-five (65)
minutes and to refuse each of the requests for a retest breath sample.
The use of the word “consecutive” inadvertently created a loophole in
the current program, and offenders could potentially refuse a retest
breath sample each time they operate their vehicles, thereby allowing
the offenders to arrive at their destinations without providing a retest
breath sample. This amendment will omit the word “consecutive” and
will clarify that if three (3) refusals of retest breath samples occur
within a thirty (30)-day period, a violations reset message will occur.
In addition, Missouri Department of Transportation (MoDOT) will
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file a proposed amendment to change subparagraph 7 CSR 60-
2.010(1)(A)30.B. to reflect the same requirements.

Ignition interlock manufacturers are required to submit quarterly
reports to MHTC, and their quarterly reports demonstrate that some
offenders using ignition interlock devices still drive after consuming
alcohol. During the fourth quarter of 2009 (October 1–December
31), there were approximately four thousand six hundred (4,600)
ignition interlock devices in use, recording more than thirteen thou-
sand five hundred (13,500) breath tests over the alcohol setpoint of
twenty-five thousandths percent (0.025%). The number of ignition
interlock breath test refusals is not captured separately in the quar-
terly reports; however, at MHTC’s request for purposes of providing
additional information relevant to this emergency amendment, five (5)
of the six (6) authorized service providers in the state reported two
thousand eight hundred sixty-two (2,862) breath test refusals that
were recorded during operation of the vehicle. It is also important to
note that breath test refusals are an issue in overall enforcement of
impaired driving laws in the state. In fact, the Missouri Department
of Revenue estimates that approximately one (1) out of every three (3)
Alcohol Influence Reports (AIRs) received from law enforcement for
impaired driving arrests is a breath alcohol concentration (BAC)
refusal. People who commit impaired driving offenses and who refuse
to provide evidential breath tests, as indicated on AIRs, are also like-
ly to refuse a request for a breath test on the ignition interlock device.

Keeping impaired drivers off our roadways is a public safety con-
cern and serves a compelling governmental interest. Once offenders
realize there is no immediate consequence to refusing the rolling
retest on the ignition interlock device, it is likely a similar number of
rolling retest refusals will occur. The MHTC is not aware of any
offenders having yet discovered this loophole, but if and when they
do, there will be no incentive for offenders to take rolling retests when
they are driving shorter distances.  These offenders could take an ini-
tial breath test, then could consume alcohol and could drive to their
destination without providing any retest breath samples. It is neces-
sary to close this rolling retest loophole immediately in order to pre-
vent offenders from continuing to operate their vehicles while refus-
ing rolling retests. The emergency amendment will help prevent acci-
dents caused by these drivers.

In the last three (3) years, eight hundred twenty-four (824) people
were killed and three thousand eight hundred eighty-nine (3,889)
people received disabling injuries in traffic crashes involving
impaired drivers. Ignition interlock devices have been proven in this
and other jurisdictions to be an effective means to prevent offenders
from driving their vehicles while under the influence of alcohol,
thereby greatly reducing the potential for traffic crashes caused by
repeat alcohol offenders. The use of ignition interlock devices ensures
the safety of the motoring public by monitoring repeat driving while
intoxicated (DWI) offenders when their driving privileges are rein-
stated or while they are driving on a limited or restricted driving priv-
ilege.

Proposed Permanent Amended Rule Filed: Also, the MHTC is fil-
ing a proposed permanent amended administrative rule regarding
this same subject with the secretary of state’s office and the Joint
Committee on Administrative Rules, which will appear in the May 17,
2010, Missouri Register but is not intended to become effective until
November 30, 2010. 

Because of the lengthy delay in the effective date of the proposed
permanent amended administrative rule and the risk to public safety
during that period, an emergency amendment is being filed which is
limited to the circumstances creating the emergency and complies
with the protections extended in the Missouri and United States
Constitutions. It is limited to amending the standards and specifica-
tions for a violations reset.

Fairness to All Interested Parties and Support from Industry:
MHTC believes this emergency amendment is fair to all interested
persons and parties under the circumstances. On January 22, 2010,
Missouri Department of Transportation staff met with ignition inter-
lock manufacturers and distributors, Missouri Department of
Revenue, and other interested parties as this was the earliest avail-

able date for manufacturers and distributors, many of whom are
located out of state, to meet in person. The group discussed the cur-
rent rule and the proposed amendments. All comments received were
considered when preparing the proposed emergency and permanent
amended rules.

Effective Date and Duration: MHTC filed this emergency amend-
ment on April 8, 2010, which becomes effective on April 18, 2010,
and will expire on November 30, 2010.

(1) Standards and Specifications.
(C) A retest feature is required for all devices.

1. A device shall be programmed to require a rolling retest five
(5) minutes after the start of the vehicle and randomly during each
subsequent thirty (30)-minute time period thereafter as long as the
vehicle is in operation.

2. Any breath sample above the alcohol retest setpoint of twen-
ty-five thousandths (.025) or any failure to provide a retest sample
within five (5) minutes shall activate the vehicle’s horn or other
installed alarm and/or cause the vehicle’s emergency lights to flash
until the engine is shut off by the operator. Three (3) breath samples
above the alcohol setpoint or three (3) [consecutive] refusals by the
driver to provide a retest sample within a thirty (30)-day period will
result in a violations reset message.

3. The violations reset message shall instruct the operator to
return the device to the installer for servicing within five (5) work-
ing days.

A. As the result of a reset message, the installer must down-
load and calibrate the device.

B. The installer must report all violations to the court-ordered
supervising authority within three (3) working days.

4. If the vehicle is not returned to the installer within five (5)
working days, the device shall cause the vehicle to enter a permanent
lockout condition.

AUTHORITY: sections 577.600–577.614, RSMo 2000 and RSMo
Supp. [2008] 2009 and section 226.130, RSMo 2000. This rule
originally filed as 11 CSR 60-2.030. Emergency rule filed Feb. 5,
1996, effective Feb. 15, 1996, expired Aug. 12, 1996. Original rule
filed Feb. 16, 1996, effective Aug. 30, 1996. Moved to 7 CSR 60-
2.030, effective Aug. 28, 2003. Emergency amendment filed May 7,
2009, effective July 1, 2009, expired Dec. 30, 2009. Amended: Filed
May 7, 2009, effective Dec. 30, 2009. Emergency amendment filed
April 8, 2010, effective April 18, 2010, expires Nov. 30, 2010. A pro-
posed amendment covering this same material is published in this
issue of the Missouri Register.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 1140—Division of Finance

Chapter 30—Mortgage Broker Rules

EMERGENCY RESCISSION

20 CSR 1140-30.010 Definitions. This rule established definitions
for use in Chapter 20 CSR 1140-30 Mortgage Broker Rules.

PURPOSE:  Section 1508 of Public Law 110-289, Title V, the Secure
and Fair Enforcement Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008 (SAFE Act),
provides that states that fail to adopt a licensing and registration law
for mortgage loan originators that meet the minimum standards spec-
ified in the SAFE Act lose the authority to regulate and license mort-
gage loan originators with the Department of Housing and Urban
Development taking over. This rule is being rescinded in that the
prior definitions did not pertain nor contain those definitions applic-
able to both mortgage brokers and mortgage loan originators now
required by virtue of the passage of HB 382 in 2009.  This rule is also
being rescinded in order to bring Missouri into compliance with
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Section 1508 of Public Law 110-289, Title V, the Secure and Fair
Enforcement Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008.

EMERGENCY STATEMENT: This emergency rescission is necessary
to protect a compelling governmental interest as the provisions relat-
ed to the registration and licensing of mortgage loan originators are
required for the state to comply with Section 1508 of Public Law 110-
289, Title V, the Secure and Fair Enforcement Mortgage Licensing
Act of 2008 (SAFE Act or Act). The Act was signed into law by
President George Bush on July 30, 2008, as part of the Housing and
Economic Recovery Act of 2008. The Act directed states to adopt a
licensing and registration law for loan originators that met the min-
imum standards specified in the SAFE Act, within one (1) year of its
signing.  The legislation also provided that should a state fail 1) to
adopt such a licensing system or 2) meet the minimum standards for
licensing, the United States Department of Housing and Urban
Development (HUD) would step in and do so. Prior to the passage
of the SAFE Act, Missouri had not previously licensed mortgage loan
originators, only non-exempt mortgage companies. In response to the
passage of the SAFE Act, the Missouri Legislature passed HB 382
(codified at sections 443.701–443.893, RSMo), known as the
Missouri Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing and
Residential Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act. Governor Nixon signed
the bill on July 8, 2009, and it went into effect upon signing based
on the emergency clause included in the bill. During the weeks imme-
diately following, division staff compiled informational packets on
specific areas of potential regulation for the director and deputy
director’s review. These packets included laws and regulations of
other states that had licensed mortgage loan originators prior to the
SAFE Act, legal analysis, and staff recommendations. Once the divi-
sion determined the specific areas to address through rulemaking,
staff was directed to start drafting the language for the rules. In the
interim, a meeting with the Missouri Association of Mortgage
Brokers was scheduled for and held on August 18, 2009. Meetings
with the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association and Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association followed on September 1, 2009, and
October 6, 2009, respectively. During this time, numerous internal
drafts were circulated within the division for review and comment.
Division staff met with members of the Missouri Association of
Mortgage Brokers on November 17, 2009, in St. Charles. On
December 15, 2009, HUD published its proposed rules in the
Federal Register, which was reviewed by division staff in order to
ensure its draft regulations were in line with the intent and terms of
the SAFE Act. Throughout December, the division worked to finalize
its internal draft. The division met with the Missouri Manufactured
Housing Association again on January 6, 2010. Division staff also
met with members of the Kansas City mortgage broker and mortgage
banking industries on January 12 and 21, 2010, respectively. In late
January, the division, as proscribed by section 443.816.1, RSMo,
presented its rules to the Residential Mortgage Board (board) for its
consideration. The board held a public meeting in Columbia,
Missouri, on February 3, 2010, at which time the text of the rules
were discussed and the board directed the division to make certain
revisions to the rules. The changes were made, and copies of the
rules were sent to the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association,
Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers, and the Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association. Thereafter, the division again met
with the Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers and Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association on February 10 and 25, 2010, respec-
tively, to discuss the rules and topics of concern. The division
believed that these industry groups had raised several meritorious
points. Following both meetings, the division worked to incorporate
these ideas into the latest draft of the rules for the board’s consider-
ation. On March 8, 2010, the division met with the St. Louis Chapter
of the National Association of Mortgage Professionals for Women to
discuss the rules and topics of concern. On March 10, 2010, the divi-
sion held an open forum in Jefferson City for current and potential
future Missouri licensees to discuss the rules and topics of concern.
Once again, the division made additional changes to the rules.
Lastly, the board met once again on March 30, 2010, and directed

the division to make additional changes to the rules and approved the
final version of the rules that were to be filed with the secretary of
state. Section 443.706.2, RSMo, provides that all individual mort-
gage loan originators must be licensed by July 31, 2010. By enacting
the following rules, Missouri will have provisions in place that meet
the standards and time frames set forth in the SAFE Act. If the state
does not enact the following rules, it will be considered out-of-com-
pliance with federal requirements and may lose its authority to regu-
late mortgage loan originators. In such an event, HUD would then
regulate mortgage loan originators in place of the state. The Division
of Finance believes state-based regulation is preferable to federal
regulation because strong consumer protections have long been
embedded in the state-based regulatory structure.  If the rules are not
allowed to be filed on an emergency basis, the division is concerned
that such failure: 1) would unduly expose Missourians to mortgage
fraud, which was one (1) of the major contributing factors to the
mortgage crisis; 2) will impede its ability to orderly transition mort-
gage loan originators seeking licensure in Missouri onto the nation-
al mortgage database and to meaningfully enforce the mandates
bestowed upon it by the Missouri Secure and Fair Enforcement for
Mortgage Licensing and Residential Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act;
and 3) risk HUD taking over the regulation and licensing of mortgage
loan originators in Missouri.  The division believes an emergency
rescission is necessary based on the above as well as to avoid poten-
tial inconsistencies that could result from having two (2) different sets
of rules. Therefore, the division finds a compelling governmental
interest which requires this emergency action. A proposed rescission,
which covers the same material, is published in this issue of the
Missouri Register. The scope of this emergency rescission is limited
to the conditions creating the emergency and complies with the pro-
tections extended in the Missouri and United States Constitutions.
As was noted earlier, in developing this emergency rescission, and in
order to assure fairness to all interested persons and parties under
the circumstances, the division, prior to and contemporaneous with
the drafting of the proposed rules, has met and been in contact with
members and representatives of the Missouri Association of Mortgage
Brokers, the Missouri Mortgage Bankers Association, and the
Missouri Manufactured Housing Association. The division believes
these associations are the largest representatives for the mortgage
industry in Missouri. Furthermore, the division provided the associ-
ations’ representatives with a copy of the proposed rules in February
for their review and comment. The division also provided an advance
copy of the proposed rules to Beyond Housing, which is a provider of
housing and support services for low-income families and homeown-
ers in the St. Louis area. Since that time, the division has received
numerous comments, questions, and suggestions, some of which have
been incorporated into the proposed rules filed herewith. The divi-
sion believes this emergency rescission is fair to all interested persons
and parties under the circumstances. This emergency rescission was
filed April 5, 2010, becomes effective April 18, 2010, and expires
January 26, 2011.

AUTHORITY: sections 443.847, 443.869(7), and 443.887, RSMo
Supp. 1996. This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 140-30.010.
Emergency rule filed Nov. 25, 1996, effective Dec. 5, 1996, expired
June 2, 1997. Original rule filed Nov. 25, 1996, effective May 30,
1997. Moved to 20 CSR 1140-30.010, effective Aug. 28, 2006.
Emergency rescission filed April 5, 2010, effective April 18, 2010,
expires Jan. 26, 2011. A proposed rescission covering this same
material is published in this issue of the Missouri Register.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 1140—Division of Finance

Chapter 30—Mortgage Broker Rules

EMERGENCY RESCISSION
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20 CSR 1140-30.030 Licensing. This rule established guidelines for
the licensing of mortgage brokers.

PURPOSE:  Section 1508 of Public Law 110-289, Title V, the Secure
and Fair Enforcement Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008 (SAFE Act),
provides that states that fail to adopt a licensing and registration law
for mortgage loan originators that meet the minimum standards spec-
ified in the SAFE Act lose the authority to regulate and license mort-
gage loan originators with the Department of Housing and Urban
Development taking over. This rule is being rescinded in order to bet-
ter organize the chapter to include guidelines for the licensing of
mortgage loan originators and remove section (6) in that section
443.837, RSMo, was repealed by HB 382, 2009. This rule is also
being rescinded in order to bring Missouri into compliance with
Section 1508 of Public Law 110-289, Title V, the Secure and Fair
Enforcement Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008.

EMERGENCY STATEMENT: This emergency rescission is necessary
to protect a compelling governmental interest as the provisions relat-
ed to the registration and licensing of mortgage loan originators are
required for the state to comply with Section 1508 of Public Law 110-
289, Title V, the Secure and Fair Enforcement Mortgage Licensing
Act of 2008 (SAFE Act or Act). The Act was signed into law by
President George Bush on July 30, 2008, as part of the Housing and
Economic Recovery Act of 2008. The Act directed states to adopt a
licensing and registration law for loan originators that met the min-
imum standards specified in the SAFE Act, within one (1) year of its
signing.  The legislation also provided that should a state fail 1) to
adopt such a licensing system or 2) meet the minimum standards for
licensing, the United States Department of Housing and Urban
Development (HUD) would step in and do so. Prior to the passage of
the SAFE Act, Missouri had not previously licensed mortgage loan
originators, only non-exempt mortgage companies. In response to the
passage of the SAFE Act, the Missouri Legislature passed HB 382
(codified at sections 443.701–443.893, RSMo), known as the
Missouri Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing and
Residential Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act. Governor Nixon signed
the bill on July 8, 2009, and it went into effect upon signing based
on the emergency clause included in the bill. During the weeks imme-
diately following, division staff compiled informational packets on
specific areas of potential regulation for the director and deputy
director’s review. These packets included laws and regulations of
other states that had licensed mortgage loan originators prior to the
SAFE Act, legal analysis, and staff recommendations. Once the divi-
sion determined the specific areas to address through rulemaking,
staff was directed to start drafting the language for the rules. In the
interim, a meeting with the Missouri Association of Mortgage
Brokers was scheduled for and held on August 18, 2009. Meetings
with the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association and Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association followed on September 1, 2009, and
October 6, 2009, respectively. During this time, numerous internal
drafts were circulated within the division for review and comment.
Division staff met with members of the Missouri Association of
Mortgage Brokers on November 17, 2009, in St. Charles. On
December 15, 2009, HUD published its proposed rules in the
Federal Register, which was reviewed by division staff in order to
ensure its draft regulations were in line with the intent and terms of
the SAFE Act. Throughout December, the division worked to finalize
its internal draft. The division met with the Missouri Manufactured
Housing Association again on January 6, 2010. Division staff also
met with members of the Kansas City mortgage broker and mortgage
banking industries on January 12 and 21, 2010, respectively. In late
January, the division, as proscribed by section 443.816.1, RSMo,
presented its rules to the Residential Mortgage Board (board) for its
consideration. The board held a public meeting in Columbia,
Missouri, on February 3, 2010, at which time the text of the rules
were discussed and the board directed the division to make certain
revisions to the rules. The changes were made, and copies of the rules
were sent to the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association,

Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers, and the Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association. Thereafter, the division again met
with the Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers and Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association on February 10 and 25, 2010, respec-
tively, to discuss the rules and topics of concern. The division
believed that these industry groups had raised several meritorious
points. Following both meetings, the division worked to incorporate
these ideas into the latest draft of the rules for the board’s consider-
ation. On March 8, 2010, the division met with the St. Louis Chapter
of the National Association of Mortgage Professionals for Women to
discuss the rules and topics of concern. On March 10, 2010, the divi-
sion held an open forum in Jefferson City for current and potential
future Missouri licensees to discuss the rules and topics of concern.
Once again, the division made additional changes to the rules.
Lastly, the board met once again on March 30, 2010, and directed the
division to make additional changes to the rules and approved the
final version of the rules that were to be filed with the secretary of
state. Section 443.706.2, RSMo, provides that all individual mort-
gage loan originators must be licensed by July 31, 2010. By enacting
the following rules, Missouri will have provisions in place that meet
the standards and time frames set forth in the SAFE Act. If the state
does not enact the following rules, it will be considered out-of-com-
pliance with federal requirements and may lose its authority to regu-
late mortgage loan originators. In such an event, HUD would then
regulate mortgage loan originators in place of the state. The Division
of Finance believes state-based regulation is preferable to federal
regulation because strong consumer protections have long been
embedded in the state-based regulatory structure.  If the rules are not
allowed to be filed on an emergency basis, the division is concerned
that such failure: 1) would unduly expose Missourians to mortgage
fraud, which was one (1) of the major contributing factors to the
mortgage crisis; 2) will impede its ability to orderly transition mort-
gage loan originators seeking licensure in Missouri onto the nation-
al mortgage database and to meaningfully enforce the mandates
bestowed upon it by the Missouri Secure and Fair Enforcement for
Mortgage Licensing and Residential Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act;
and 3) risk HUD taking over the regulation and licensing of mortgage
loan originators in Missouri. The division believes an emergency
rescission is necessary based on the above as well as to avoid poten-
tial inconsistencies that could result from having two (2) different sets
of rules. Therefore, the division finds a compelling governmental
interest which requires this emergency action. A proposed rescission,
which covers the same material, is published in this issue of the
Missouri Register. The scope of this emergency rescission is limited
to the conditions creating the emergency and complies with the pro-
tections extended in the Missouri and United States Constitutions.
As was noted earlier, in developing this emergency rescission, and in
order to assure fairness to all interested persons and parties under
the circumstances, the division, prior to and contemporaneous with
the drafting of the proposed rules, has met and been in contact with
members and representatives of the Missouri Association of Mortgage
Brokers, the Missouri Mortgage Bankers Association, and the
Missouri Manufactured Housing Association. The division believes
these associations are the largest representatives for the mortgage
industry in Missouri. Furthermore, the division provided the associa-
tions’ representatives with a copy of the proposed rules in February
for their review and comment. The division also provided an advance
copy of the proposed rules to Beyond Housing, which is a provider of
housing and support services for low-income families and homeown-
ers in the St. Louis area. Since that time, the division has received
numerous comments, questions, and suggestions, some of which have
been incorporated into the proposed rules filed herewith. The division
believes this emergency rescission is fair to all interested persons and
parties under the circumstances. This emergency rescission was filed
April 5, 2010, becomes effective April 18, 2010, and expires January
26, 2011.
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AUTHORITY: sections 443.847, 443.869(7), and 443.887, RSMo
Supp. 1996. This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 140-30.030.
Emergency rule filed Nov. 25, 1996, effective Dec. 5, 1996, expired
June 2, 1997. Original rule filed Nov. 25, 1996, effective May 30,
1997. Moved to 20 CSR 1140-30.030, effective Aug. 28, 2006.
Emergency rescission filed April 5, 2010, effective April 18, 2010,
expires Jan. 26, 2011. A proposed rescission covering this same
material is published in this issue of the Missouri Register.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 1140—Division of Finance

Chapter 30—Mortgage Broker Rules

EMERGENCY RESCISSION

20 CSR 1140-30.040 Operations and Supervision. This rule estab-
lished operations and supervision guidelines concerning net worth,
audit reports, escrow, change in business activities, change of own-
ership, bonding requirements, servicing, and full service offices.

PURPOSE: Section 1508 of Public Law 110-289, Title V, the Secure
and Fair Enforcement Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008 (SAFE Act),
provides that states that fail to adopt a licensing and registration law
for mortgage loan originators that meet the minimum standards spec-
ified in the SAFE Act lose the authority to regulate and license mort-
gage loan originators with the Department of Housing and Urban
Development taking over. This rule is being rescinded in order to bet-
ter organize the chapter and to include guidelines for the licensing of
mortgage loan originators. Furthermore, HB 382, 2009, did away
with auditing and minimum net worth requirements and fundamen-
tally changed the bonding requirements. Since the time the rule went
into effect, section 339.600, RSMo, et seq., was repealed in 2004 by
HB 985. This rule is also being rescinded in order to bring Missouri
into compliance with Section 1508 of Public Law 110-289, Title V, the
Secure and Fair Enforcement Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008.

EMERGENCY STATEMENT: This emergency rescission is necessary
to protect a compelling governmental interest as the provisions relat-
ed to the registration and licensing of mortgage loan originators are
required for the state to comply with Section 1508 of Public Law 110-
289, Title V, the Secure and Fair Enforcement Mortgage Licensing
Act of 2008 (SAFE Act or Act). The Act was signed into law by
President George Bush on July 30, 2008, as part of the Housing and
Economic Recovery Act of 2008. The Act directed states to adopt a
licensing and registration law for loan originators that met the min-
imum standards specified in the SAFE Act, within one (1) year of its
signing.  The legislation also provided that should a state fail 1) to
adopt such a licensing system or 2) meet the minimum standards for
licensing, the United States Department of Housing and Urban
Development (HUD) would step in and do so. Prior to the passage
of the SAFE Act, Missouri had not previously licensed mortgage loan
originators, only non-exempt mortgage companies. In response to the
passage of the SAFE Act, the Missouri Legislature passed HB 382
(codified at sections 443.701–443.893, RSMo), known as the
Missouri Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing and
Residential Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act. Governor Nixon signed
the bill on July 8, 2009, and it went into effect upon signing based
on the emergency clause included in the bill. During the weeks imme-
diately following, division staff compiled informational packets on
specific areas of potential regulation for the director and deputy
director’s review. These packets included laws and regulations of
other states that had licensed mortgage loan originators prior to the
SAFE Act, legal analysis, and staff recommendations. Once the divi-
sion determined the specific areas to address through rulemaking,
staff was directed to start drafting the language for the rules. In the
interim, a meeting with the Missouri Association of Mortgage

Brokers was scheduled for and held on August 18, 2009. Meetings
with the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association and Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association followed on September 1, 2009, and
October 6, 2009, respectively. During this time, numerous internal
drafts were circulated within the division for review and comment.
Division staff met with members of the Missouri Association of
Mortgage Brokers on November 17, 2009, in St. Charles. On
December 15, 2009, HUD published its proposed rules in the
Federal Register, which was reviewed by division staff in order to
ensure its draft regulations were in line with the intent and terms of
the SAFE Act. Throughout December, the division worked to finalize
its internal draft. The division met with the Missouri Manufactured
Housing Association again on January 6, 2010. Division staff also
met with members of the Kansas City mortgage broker and mortgage
banking industries on January 12 and 21, 2010, respectively. In late
January, the division, as proscribed by section 443.816.1, RSMo,
presented its rules to the Residential Mortgage Board (board) for its
consideration. The board held a public meeting in Columbia,
Missouri, on February 3, 2010, at which time the text of the rules
were discussed and the board directed the division to make certain
revisions to the rules. The changes were made, and copies of the
rules were sent to the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association,
Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers, and the Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association. Thereafter, the division again met
with the Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers and Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association on February 10 and 25, 2010, respec-
tively, to discuss the rules and topics of concern. The division
believed that these industry groups had raised several meritorious
points. Following both meetings, the division worked to incorporate
these ideas into the latest draft of the rules for the board’s consider-
ation. On March 8, 2010, the division met with the St. Louis Chapter
of the National Association of Mortgage Professionals for Women to
discuss the rules and topics of concern. On March 10, 2010, the divi-
sion held an open forum in Jefferson City for current and potential
future Missouri licensees to discuss the rules and topics of concern.
Once again, the division made additional changes to the rules.
Lastly, the board met once again on March 30, 2010, and directed
the division to make additional changes to the rules and approved the
final version of the rules that were to be filed with the secretary of
state. Section 443.706.2, RSMo, provides that all individual mort-
gage loan originators must be licensed by July 31, 2010. By enacting
the following rules, Missouri will have provisions in place that meet
the standards and time frames set forth in the SAFE Act. If the state
does not enact the following rules, it will be considered out-of-com-
pliance with federal requirements and may lose its authority to regu-
late mortgage loan originators. In such an event, HUD would then
regulate mortgage loan originators in place of the state. The Division
of Finance believes state-based regulation is preferable to federal
regulation because strong consumer protections have long been
embedded in the state-based regulatory structure.  If the rules are not
allowed to be filed on an emergency basis, the division is concerned
that such failure: 1) would unduly expose Missourians to mortgage
fraud, which was one (1) of the major contributing factors to the
mortgage crisis; 2) will impede its ability to orderly transition mort-
gage loan originators seeking licensure in Missouri onto the nation-
al mortgage database and to meaningfully enforce the mandates
bestowed upon it by the Missouri Secure and Fair Enforcement for
Mortgage Licensing and Residential Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act;
and 3) risk HUD taking over the regulation and licensing of mortgage
loan originators in Missouri.  The division believes an emergency
rescission is necessary based on the above as well as to avoid poten-
tial inconsistencies that could result from having two (2) different sets
of rules. Therefore, the division finds a compelling governmental
interest which requires this emergency action. A proposed rescission,
which covers the same material, is published in this issue of the
Missouri Register. The scope of this emergency rescission is limited
to the conditions creating the emergency and complies with the pro-
tections extended in the Missouri and United States Constitutions.
As was noted earlier, in developing this emergency rescission, and in
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order to assure fairness to all interested persons and parties under
the circumstances, the division, prior to and contemporaneous with
the drafting of the proposed rules, has met and been in contact with
members and representatives of the Missouri Association of Mortgage
Brokers, the Missouri Mortgage Bankers Association, and the
Missouri Manufactured Housing Association. The division believes
these associations are the largest representatives for the mortgage
industry in Missouri. Furthermore, the division provided the associa-
tions’ representatives with a copy of the proposed rules in February
for their review and comment. The division also provided an advance
copy of the proposed rules to Beyond Housing, which is a provider of
housing and support services for low-income families and homeown-
ers in the St. Louis area. Since that time, the division has received
numerous comments, questions, and suggestions, some of which have
been incorporated into the proposed rules filed herewith. The division
believes this emergency rescission is fair to all interested persons and
parties under the circumstances. This emergency rescission was filed
April 5, 2010, becomes effective April 18, 2010, and expires January
26, 2011.

AUTHORITY: sections 443.847, 443.869(7), and 443.887, RSMo
Supp. 1996. This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 140-30.040.
Emergency rule filed Nov. 25, 1996, effective Dec. 5, 1996, expired
June 2, 1997. Original rule filed Nov. 25, 1996, effective May 30,
1997. Moved to 20 CSR 1140-30.040, effective Aug. 28, 2006.
Emergency rescission filed April 5, 2010, effective April 18, 2010,
expires Jan. 26, 2011. A proposed rescission covering this same mate-
rial is published in this issue of the Missouri Register.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 1140—Division of Finance

Chapter 30—Mortgage Broker Rules

EMERGENCY RESCISSION

20 CSR 1140-30.050 Annual Report of Mortgage Brokerage
Activity and Mortgage Servicing Activity. This rule declared
requirements for annual reports by mortgage brokers.

PURPOSE:  Section 1508 of Public Law 110-289, Title V, the Secure
and Fair Enforcement Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008 (SAFE Act),
provides that states that fail to adopt a licensing and registration law
for mortgage loan originators that meet the minimum standards spec-
ified in the SAFE Act lose the authority to regulate and license mort-
gage loan originators with the Department of Housing and Urban
Development taking over. This rule is being rescinded in order to bet-
ter organize the chapter to include guidelines for the licensing of
mortgage loan originators, and HB 382, 2009, included additional
and different annual reporting standards. This rule is also being
rescinded in order to bring Missouri into compliance with Section
1508 of Public Law 110-289, Title V, the Secure and Fair Enforcement
Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008.

EMERGENCY STATEMENT: This emergency rescission is necessary
to protect a compelling governmental interest as the provisions relat-
ed to the registration and licensing of mortgage loan originators are
required for the state to comply with Section 1508 of Public Law 110-
289, Title V, the Secure and Fair Enforcement Mortgage Licensing
Act of 2008 (SAFE Act or Act). The Act was signed into law by
President George Bush on July 30, 2008, as part of the Housing and
Economic Recovery Act of 2008. The Act directed states to adopt a
licensing and registration law for loan originators that met the min-
imum standards specified in the SAFE Act, within one (1) year of its
signing.  The legislation also provided that should a state fail 1) to
adopt such a licensing system or 2) meet the minimum standards for
licensing, the United States Department of Housing and Urban

Development (HUD) would step in and do so. Prior to the passage of
the SAFE Act, Missouri had not previously licensed mortgage loan
originators, only non-exempt mortgage companies. In response to the
passage of the SAFE Act, the Missouri Legislature passed HB 382
(codified at sections 443.701–443.893, RSMo), known as the
Missouri Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing and
Residential Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act. Governor Nixon signed
the bill on July 8, 2009, and it went into effect upon signing based
on the emergency clause included in the bill. During the weeks imme-
diately following, division staff compiled informational packets on
specific areas of potential regulation for the director and deputy
director’s review. These packets included laws and regulations of
other states that had licensed mortgage loan originators prior to the
SAFE Act, legal analysis, and staff recommendations. Once the divi-
sion determined the specific areas to address through rulemaking,
staff was directed to start drafting the language for the rules. In the
interim, a meeting with the Missouri Association of Mortgage
Brokers was scheduled for and held on August 18, 2009. Meetings
with the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association and Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association followed on September 1, 2009, and
October 6, 2009, respectively. During this time, numerous internal
drafts were circulated within the division for review and comment.
Division staff met with members of the Missouri Association of
Mortgage Brokers on November 17, 2009, in St. Charles. On
December 15, 2009, HUD published its proposed rules in the
Federal Register, which was reviewed by division staff in order to
ensure its draft regulations were in line with the intent and terms of
the SAFE Act. Throughout December, the division worked to finalize
its internal draft. The division met with the Missouri Manufactured
Housing Association again on January 6, 2010. Division staff also
met with members of the Kansas City mortgage broker and mortgage
banking industries on January 12 and 21, 2010, respectively. In late
January, the division, as proscribed by section 443.816.1, RSMo,
presented its rules to the Residential Mortgage Board (board) for its
consideration. The board held a public meeting in Columbia,
Missouri, on February 3, 2010, at which time the text of the rules
were discussed and the board directed the division to make certain
revisions to the rules. The changes were made, and copies of the rules
were sent to the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association,
Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers, and the Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association. Thereafter, the division again met
with the Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers and Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association on February 10 and 25, 2010, respec-
tively, to discuss the rules and topics of concern. The division
believed that these industry groups had raised several meritorious
points. Following both meetings, the division worked to incorporate
these ideas into the latest draft of the rules for the board’s consider-
ation. On March 8, 2010, the division met with the St. Louis Chapter
of the National Association of Mortgage Professionals for Women to
discuss the rules and topics of concern. On March 10, 2010, the divi-
sion held an open forum in Jefferson City for current and potential
future Missouri licensees to discuss the rules and topics of concern.
Once again, the division made additional changes to the rules.
Lastly, the board met once again on March 30, 2010, and directed the
division to make additional changes to the rules and approved the
final version of the rules that were to be filed with the secretary of
state. Section 443.706.2, RSMo, provides that all individual mort-
gage loan originators must be licensed by July 31, 2010. By enacting
the following rules, Missouri will have provisions in place that meet
the standards and time frames set forth in the SAFE Act. If the state
does not enact the following rules, it will be considered out-of-com-
pliance with federal requirements and may lose its authority to regu-
late mortgage loan originators. In such an event, HUD would then
regulate mortgage loan originators in place of the state. The Division
of Finance believes state-based regulation is preferable to federal
regulation because strong consumer protections have long been
embedded in the state-based regulatory structure.  If the rules are not
allowed to be filed on an emergency basis, the division is concerned
that such failure: 1) would unduly expose Missourians to mortgage
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fraud, which was one (1) of the major contributing factors to the
mortgage crisis; 2) will impede its ability to orderly transition mort-
gage loan originators seeking licensure in Missouri onto the nation-
al mortgage database and to meaningfully enforce the mandates
bestowed upon it by the Missouri Secure and Fair Enforcement for
Mortgage Licensing and Residential Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act;
and 3) risk HUD taking over the regulation and licensing of mortgage
loan originators in Missouri. The division believes an emergency
rescission is necessary based on the above as well as to avoid poten-
tial inconsistencies that could result from having two (2) different sets
of rules. Therefore, the division finds a compelling governmental
interest which requires this emergency action. A proposed rescission,
which covers the same material, is published in this issue of the
Missouri Register. The scope of this emergency rescission is limited
to the conditions creating the emergency and complies with the pro-
tections extended in the Missouri and United States Constitutions.
As was noted earlier, in developing this emergency rescission, and in
order to assure fairness to all interested persons and parties under
the circumstances, the division, prior to and contemporaneous with
the drafting of the proposed rules, has met and been in contact with
members and representatives of the Missouri Association of Mortgage
Brokers, the Missouri Mortgage Bankers Association, and the
Missouri Manufactured Housing Association. The division believes
these associations are the largest representatives for the mortgage
industry in Missouri. Furthermore, the division provided the associ-
ations’ representatives with a copy of the proposed rules in February
for their review and comment. The division also provided an advance
copy of the proposed rules to Beyond Housing, which is a provider of
housing and support services for low-income families and homeown-
ers in the St. Louis area. Since that time, the division has received
numerous comments, questions, and suggestions, some of which have
been incorporated into the proposed rules filed herewith. The divi-
sion believes this emergency rescission is fair to all interested persons
and parties under the circumstances. This emergency rescission was
filed April 5, 2010, becomes effective April 18, 2010, and expires
January 26, 2011.

AUTHORITY: sections 443.847, 443.869(7), and 443.887, RSMo
Supp. 1996. This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 140-30.050.
Emergency rule filed Nov. 25, 1996, effective Dec. 5, 1996, expired
June 2, 1997. Original rule filed Nov. 25, 1996, effective May 30,
1997. Moved to 20 CSR 1140-30.050, effective Aug. 28, 2006.
Emergency rescission filed April 5, 2010, effective April 18, 2010,
expires Jan. 26, 2011. A proposed rescission covering this same
material is published in this issue of the Missouri Register.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 1140—Division of Finance

Chapter 30—Mortgage Broker Rules

EMERGENCY RESCISSION

20 CSR 1140-30.070 Advertising. This rule created general guide-
lines for advertising practices by mortgage brokers.

PURPOSE: Section 1508 of Public Law 110-289, Title V, the Secure
and Fair Enforcement Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008 (SAFE Act),
provides that states that fail to adopt a licensing and registration law
for mortgage loan originators that meet the minimum standards spec-
ified in the SAFE Act lose the authority to regulate and license mort-
gage loan originators with the Department of Housing and Urban
Development taking over.  This rule is being rescinded in order to
better organize the chapter to include guidelines for the licensing of
mortgage loan originators, and HB 382, 2009, included sufficiently
detailed provisions pertaining to advertising.  This rule is also being
rescinded in order to bring Missouri into compliance with Section

1508 of Public Law 110-289, Title V, the Secure and Fair Enforcement
Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008.

EMERGENCY STATEMENT: This emergency rescission is necessary
to protect a compelling governmental interest as the provisions relat-
ed to the registration and licensing of mortgage loan originators are
required for the state to comply with Section 1508 of Public Law 110-
289, Title V, the Secure and Fair Enforcement Mortgage Licensing
Act of 2008 (SAFE Act or Act). The Act was signed into law by
President George Bush on July 30, 2008, as part of the Housing and
Economic Recovery Act of 2008. The Act directed states to adopt a
licensing and registration law for loan originators that met the min-
imum standards specified in the SAFE Act, within one (1) year of its
signing.  The legislation also provided that should a state fail 1) to
adopt such a licensing system or 2) meet the minimum standards for
licensing, the United States Department of Housing and Urban
Development (HUD) would step in and do so. Prior to the passage
of the SAFE Act, Missouri had not previously licensed mortgage loan
originators, only non-exempt mortgage companies. In response to the
passage of the SAFE Act, the Missouri Legislature passed HB 382
(codified at sections 443.701–443.893, RSMo), known as the
Missouri Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing and
Residential Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act. Governor Nixon signed
the bill on July 8, 2009, and it went into effect upon signing based
on the emergency clause included in the bill. During the weeks imme-
diately following, division staff compiled informational packets on
specific areas of potential regulation for the director and deputy
director’s review. These packets included laws and regulations of
other states that had licensed mortgage loan originators prior to the
SAFE Act, legal analysis, and staff recommendations. Once the divi-
sion determined the specific areas to address through rulemaking,
staff was directed to start drafting the language for the rules. In the
interim, a meeting with the Missouri Association of Mortgage
Brokers was scheduled for and held on August 18, 2009. Meetings
with the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association and Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association followed on September 1, 2009, and
October 6, 2009, respectively. During this time, numerous internal
drafts were circulated within the division for review and comment.
Division staff met with members of the Missouri Association of
Mortgage Brokers on November 17, 2009, in St. Charles. On
December 15, 2009, HUD published its proposed rules in the
Federal Register, which was reviewed by division staff in order to
ensure its draft regulations were in line with the intent and terms of
the SAFE Act. Throughout December, the division worked to finalize
its internal draft. The division met with the Missouri Manufactured
Housing Association again on January 6, 2010. Division staff also
met with members of the Kansas City mortgage broker and mortgage
banking industries on January 12 and 21, 2010, respectively. In late
January, the division, as proscribed by section 443.816.1, RSMo,
presented its rules to the Residential Mortgage Board (board) for its
consideration. The board held a public meeting in Columbia,
Missouri, on February 3, 2010, at which time the text of the rules
were discussed and the board directed the division to make certain
revisions to the rules. The changes were made, and copies of the
rules were sent to the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association,
Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers, and the Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association. Thereafter, the division again met
with the Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers and Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association on February 10 and 25, 2010, respec-
tively, to discuss the rules and topics of concern. The division
believed that these industry groups had raised several meritorious
points. Following both meetings, the division worked to incorporate
these ideas into the latest draft of the rules for the board’s consider-
ation. On March 8, 2010, the division met with the St. Louis Chapter
of the National Association of Mortgage Professionals for Women to
discuss the rules and topics of concern. On March 10, 2010, the divi-
sion held an open forum in Jefferson City for current and potential
future Missouri licensees to discuss the rules and topics of concern.
Once again, the division made additional changes to the rules.
Lastly, the board met once again on March 30, 2010, and directed
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the division to make additional changes to the rules and approved the
final version of the rules that were to be filed with the secretary of
state. Section 443.706.2, RSMo, provides that all individual mort-
gage loan originators must be licensed by July 31, 2010. By enacting
the following rules, Missouri will have provisions in place that meet
the standards and time frames set forth in the SAFE Act. If the state
does not enact the following rules, it will be considered out-of-com-
pliance with federal requirements and may lose its authority to regu-
late mortgage loan originators. In such an event, HUD would then
regulate mortgage loan originators in place of the state. The Division
of Finance believes state-based regulation is preferable to federal
regulation because strong consumer protections have long been
embedded in the state-based regulatory structure.  If the rules are not
allowed to be filed on an emergency basis, the division is concerned
that such failure: 1) would unduly expose Missourians to mortgage
fraud, which was one (1) of the major contributing factors to the
mortgage crisis; 2) will impede its ability to orderly transition mort-
gage loan originators seeking licensure in Missouri onto the nation-
al mortgage database and to meaningfully enforce the mandates
bestowed upon it by the Missouri Secure and Fair Enforcement for
Mortgage Licensing and Residential Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act;
and 3) risk HUD taking over the regulation and licensing of mortgage
loan originators in Missouri.  The division believes an emergency
rescission is necessary based on the above as well as to avoid poten-
tial inconsistencies that could result from having two (2) different sets
of rules. Therefore, the division finds a compelling governmental
interest which requires this emergency action. A proposed rescission,
which covers the same material, is published in this issue of the
Missouri Register. The scope of this emergency rescission is limited
to the conditions creating the emergency and complies with the pro-
tections extended in the Missouri and United States Constitutions.
As was noted earlier, in developing this emergency rescission, and in
order to assure fairness to all interested persons and parties under
the circumstances, the division, prior to and contemporaneous with
the drafting of the proposed rules, has met and been in contact with
members and representatives of the Missouri Association of Mortgage
Brokers, the Missouri Mortgage Bankers Association, and the
Missouri Manufactured Housing Association. The division believes
these associations are the largest representatives for the mortgage
industry in Missouri. Furthermore, the division provided the associa-
tions’ representatives with a copy of the proposed rules in February
for their review and comment. The division also provided an advance
copy of the proposed rules to Beyond Housing, which is a provider of
housing and support services for low-income families and homeown-
ers in the St. Louis area. Since that time, the division has received
numerous comments, questions, and suggestions, some of which have
been incorporated into the proposed rules filed herewith. The division
believes this emergency rescission is fair to all interested persons and
parties under the circumstances. This emergency rescission was filed
April 5, 2010, becomes effective April 18, 2010, and expires January
26, 2011.

AUTHORITY: sections 443.847, 443.869(7), and 443.887, RSMo
Supp. 1996. This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 140-30.070.
Emergency rule filed Nov. 25, 1996, effective Dec. 5, 1996, expired
June 2, 1997. Original rule filed Nov. 25, 1996, effective May 30,
1997. Moved to 20 CSR 1140-30.070, effective Aug. 28, 2006.
Emergency rescission filed April 5, 2010, effective April 18, 2010,
expires Jan. 26, 2011. A proposed rescission covering this same mate-
rial is published in this issue of the Missouri Register. 

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 1140—Division of Finance

Chapter 30—Mortgage Broker Rules

EMERGENCY RESCISSION

20 CSR 1140-30.080 Loan Brokerage Practices. This rule estab-
lished general practices guidelines for mortgage brokers in the areas
of agreements and disclosures.

PURPOSE:  Section 1508 of Public Law 110-289, Title V, the Secure
and Fair Enforcement Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008 (SAFE Act),
provides that states that fail to adopt a licensing and registration law
for mortgage loan originators that meet the minimum standards spec-
ified in the SAFE Act lose the authority to regulate and license mort-
gage loan originators with the Department of Housing and Urban
Development taking over.  This rule is being rescinded in order to bet-
ter organize the chapter to include guidelines for the licensing of
mortgage loan originators, and HB 382, 2009, either modified or
included most of the provisions included in 20 CSR 1140-30.080. This
rule is also being rescinded in order to bring Missouri into compli-
ance with Section 1508 of Public Law 110-289, Title V, the Secure and
Fair Enforcement Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008.

EMERGENCY STATEMENT: This emergency rescission is necessary
to protect a compelling governmental interest as the provisions relat-
ed to the registration and licensing of mortgage loan originators are
required for the state to comply with Section 1508 of Public Law 110-
289, Title V, the Secure and Fair Enforcement Mortgage Licensing
Act of 2008 (SAFE Act or Act). The Act was signed into law by
President George Bush on July 30, 2008, as part of the Housing and
Economic Recovery Act of 2008. The Act directed states to adopt a
licensing and registration law for loan originators that met the min-
imum standards specified in the SAFE Act, within one (1) year of its
signing.  The legislation also provided that should a state fail 1) to
adopt such a licensing system or 2) meet the minimum standards for
licensing, the United States Department of Housing and Urban
Development (HUD) would step in and do so. Prior to the passage of
the SAFE Act, Missouri had not previously licensed mortgage loan
originators, only non-exempt mortgage companies. In response to the
passage of the SAFE Act, the Missouri Legislature passed HB 382
(codified at sections 443.701–443.893, RSMo), known as the
Missouri Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing and
Residential Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act. Governor Nixon signed
the bill on July 8, 2009, and it went into effect upon signing based
on the emergency clause included in the bill. During the weeks imme-
diately following, division staff compiled informational packets on
specific areas of potential regulation for the director and deputy
director’s review. These packets included laws and regulations of
other states that had licensed mortgage loan originators prior to the
SAFE Act, legal analysis, and staff recommendations. Once the divi-
sion determined the specific areas to address through rulemaking,
staff was directed to start drafting the language for the rules. In the
interim, a meeting with the Missouri Association of Mortgage
Brokers was scheduled for and held on August 18, 2009. Meetings
with the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association and Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association followed on September 1, 2009, and
October 6, 2009, respectively. During this time, numerous internal
drafts were circulated within the division for review and comment.
Division staff met with members of the Missouri Association of
Mortgage Brokers on November 17, 2009, in St. Charles. On
December 15, 2009, HUD published its proposed rules in the
Federal Register, which was reviewed by division staff in order to
ensure its draft regulations were in line with the intent and terms of
the SAFE Act. Throughout December, the division worked to finalize
its internal draft. The division met with the Missouri Manufactured
Housing Association again on January 6, 2010. Division staff also
met with members of the Kansas City mortgage broker and mortgage
banking industries on January 12 and 21, 2010, respectively. In late
January, the division, as proscribed by section 443.816.1, RSMo,
presented its rules to the Residential Mortgage Board (board) for its
consideration. The board held a public meeting in Columbia,
Missouri, on February 3, 2010, at which time the text of the rules
were discussed and the board directed the division to make certain
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revisions to the rules. The changes were made, and copies of the
rules were sent to the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association,
Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers, and the Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association. Thereafter, the division again met
with the Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers and Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association on February 10 and 25, 2010, respec-
tively, to discuss the rules and topics of concern. The division
believed that these industry groups had raised several meritorious
points. Following both meetings, the division worked to incorporate
these ideas into the latest draft of the rules for the board’s consider-
ation. On March 8, 2010, the division met with the St. Louis Chapter
of the National Association of Mortgage Professionals for Women to
discuss the rules and topics of concern. On March 10, 2010, the divi-
sion held an open forum in Jefferson City for current and potential
future Missouri licensees to discuss the rules and topics of concern.
Once again, the division made additional changes to the rules.
Lastly, the board met once again on March 30, 2010, and directed
the division to make additional changes to the rules and approved the
final version of the rules that were to be filed with the secretary of
state. Section 443.706.2, RSMo, provides that all individual mort-
gage loan originators must be licensed by July 31, 2010. By enacting
the following rules, Missouri will have provisions in place that meet
the standards and time frames set forth in the SAFE Act. If the state
does not enact the following rules, it will be considered out-of-com-
pliance with federal requirements and may lose its authority to regu-
late mortgage loan originators. In such an event, HUD would then
regulate mortgage loan originators in place of the state. The Division
of Finance believes state-based regulation is preferable to federal
regulation because strong consumer protections have long been
embedded in the state-based regulatory structure.  If the rules are not
allowed to be filed on an emergency basis, the division is concerned
that such failure: 1) would unduly expose Missourians to mortgage
fraud, which was one (1) of the major contributing factors to the
mortgage crisis; 2) will impede its ability to orderly transition mort-
gage loan originators seeking licensure in Missouri onto the nation-
al mortgage database and to meaningfully enforce the mandates
bestowed upon it by the Missouri Secure and Fair Enforcement for
Mortgage Licensing and Residential Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act;
and 3) risk HUD taking over the regulation and licensing of mortgage
loan originators in Missouri.  The division believes an emergency
rescission is necessary based on the above as well as to avoid poten-
tial inconsistencies that could result from having two (2) different sets
of rules. Therefore, the division finds a compelling governmental
interest which requires this emergency action. A proposed rescission,
which covers the same material, is published in this issue of the
Missouri Register. The scope of this emergency rescission is limited
to the conditions creating the emergency and complies with the pro-
tections extended in the Missouri and United States Constitutions.
As was noted earlier, in developing this emergency rescission, and in
order to assure fairness to all interested persons and parties under
the circumstances, the division, prior to and contemporaneous with
the drafting of the proposed rules, has met and been in contact with
members and representatives of the Missouri Association of Mortgage
Brokers, the Missouri Mortgage Bankers Association, and the
Missouri Manufactured Housing Association. The division believes
these associations are the largest representatives for the mortgage
industry in Missouri. Furthermore, the division provided the associ-
ations’ representatives with a copy of the proposed rules in February
for their review and comment. The division also provided an advance
copy of the proposed rules to Beyond Housing, which is a provider of
housing and support services for low-income families and homeown-
ers in the St. Louis area. Since that time, the division has received
numerous comments, questions, and suggestions, some of which have
been incorporated into the proposed rules filed herewith. The divi-
sion believes this emergency rescission is fair to all interested persons
and parties under the circumstances. This emergency rescission was
filed April 5, 2010, becomes effective April 18, 2010, and expires
January 26, 2011.

AUTHORITY: sections 443.847, 443.869(7), and 443.887, RSMo
Supp. 1996. This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 140-30.080.
Emergency rule filed Nov. 25, 1996, effective Dec. 5, 1996, expired
June 2, 1997. Original rule filed Nov. 25, 1996, effective May 30,
1997. Moved to 20 CSR 1140-30.080, effective Aug. 28, 2006.
Emergency rescission filed April 5, 2010, effective April 18, 2010,
expires Jan. 26, 2011. A proposed rescission covering this same
material is published in this issue of the Missouri Register.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 1140—Division of Finance

Chapter 30—Mortgage Broker Rules

EMERGENCY RESCISSION

20 CSR 1140-30.090 Loan Application Practices. This rule stated
the guidelines for the various loan application procedures of mort-
gage brokers.

PURPOSE:  Section 1508 of Public Law 110-289, Title V, the Secure
and Fair Enforcement Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008 (SAFE Act),
provides that states that fail to adopt a licensing and registration law
for mortgage loan originators that meet the minimum standards spec-
ified in the SAFE Act lose the authority to regulate and license mort-
gage loan originators with the Department of Housing and Urban
Development taking over. This rule is being rescinded in order to bet-
ter organize the chapter to include guidelines for the licensing of
mortgage loan originators, and HB 382, 2009, either modified or
included most of the provisions included in 20 CSR 1140-30.090. This
rule is also being rescinded in order to bring Missouri into compli-
ance with Section 1508 of Public Law 110-289, Title V, the Secure
and Fair Enforcement Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008.

EMERGENCY STATEMENT: This emergency rescission is necessary
to protect a compelling governmental interest as the provisions relat-
ed to the registration and licensing of mortgage loan originators are
required for the state to comply with Section 1508 of Public Law 110-
289, Title V, the Secure and Fair Enforcement Mortgage Licensing
Act of 2008 (SAFE Act or Act). The Act was signed into law by
President George Bush on July 30, 2008, as part of the Housing and
Economic Recovery Act of 2008. The Act directed states to adopt a
licensing and registration law for loan originators that met the min-
imum standards specified in the SAFE Act, within one (1) year of its
signing. The legislation also provided that should a state fail 1) to
adopt such a licensing system or 2) meet the minimum standards for
licensing, the United States Department of Housing and Urban
Development (HUD) would step in and do so. Prior to the passage
of the SAFE Act, Missouri had not previously licensed mortgage loan
originators, only non-exempt mortgage companies. In response to the
passage of the SAFE Act, the Missouri Legislature passed HB 382
(codified at sections 443.701–443.893, RSMo), known as the
Missouri Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing and
Residential Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act. Governor Nixon signed
the bill on July 8, 2009, and it went into effect upon signing based
on the emergency clause included in the bill. During the weeks imme-
diately following, division staff compiled informational packets on
specific areas of potential regulation for the director and deputy
director’s review. These packets included laws and regulations of
other states that had licensed mortgage loan originators prior to the
SAFE Act, legal analysis, and staff recommendations. Once the divi-
sion determined the specific areas to address through rulemaking,
staff was directed to start drafting the language for the rules. In the
interim, a meeting with the Missouri Association of Mortgage
Brokers was scheduled for and held on August 18, 2009. Meetings
with the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association and Missouri
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Mortgage Bankers Association followed on September 1, 2009, and
October 6, 2009, respectively. During this time, numerous internal
drafts were circulated within the division for review and comment.
Division staff met with members of the Missouri Association of
Mortgage Brokers on November 17, 2009, in St. Charles. On
December 15, 2009, HUD published its proposed rules in the
Federal Register, which was reviewed by division staff in order to
ensure its draft regulations were in line with the intent and terms of
the SAFE Act. Throughout December, the division worked to finalize
its internal draft. The division met with the Missouri Manufactured
Housing Association again on January 6, 2010. Division staff also
met with members of the Kansas City mortgage broker and mortgage
banking industries on January 12 and 21, 2010, respectively. In late
January, the division, as proscribed by section 443.816.1, RSMo,
presented its rules to the Residential Mortgage Board (board) for its
consideration. The board held a public meeting in Columbia,
Missouri, on February 3, 2010, at which time the text of the rules
were discussed and the board directed the division to make certain
revisions to the rules. The changes were made, and copies of the rules
were sent to the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association,
Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers, and the Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association. Thereafter, the division again met
with the Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers and Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association on February 10 and 25, 2010, respec-
tively, to discuss the rules and topics of concern. The division
believed that these industry groups had raised several meritorious
points. Following both meetings, the division worked to incorporate
these ideas into the latest draft of the rules for the board’s consider-
ation. On March 8, 2010, the division met with the St. Louis Chapter
of the National Association of Mortgage Professionals for Women to
discuss the rules and topics of concern. On March 10, 2010, the divi-
sion held an open forum in Jefferson City for current and potential
future Missouri licensees to discuss the rules and topics of concern.
Once again, the division made additional changes to the rules.
Lastly, the board met once again on March 30, 2010, and directed the
division to make additional changes to the rules and approved the
final version of the rules that were to be filed with the secretary of
state. Section 443.706.2, RSMo, provides that all individual mort-
gage loan originators must be licensed by July 31, 2010. By enacting
the following rules, Missouri will have provisions in place that meet
the standards and time frames set forth in the SAFE Act. If the state
does not enact the following rules, it will be considered out-of-com-
pliance with federal requirements and may lose its authority to regu-
late mortgage loan originators. In such an event, HUD would then
regulate mortgage loan originators in place of the state. The Division
of Finance believes state-based regulation is preferable to federal
regulation because strong consumer protections have long been
embedded in the state-based regulatory structure.  If the rules are not
allowed to be filed on an emergency basis, the division is concerned
that such failure: 1) would unduly expose Missourians to mortgage
fraud, which was one (1) of the major contributing factors to the
mortgage crisis; 2) will impede its ability to orderly transition mort-
gage loan originators seeking licensure in Missouri onto the nation-
al mortgage database and to meaningfully enforce the mandates
bestowed upon it by the Missouri Secure and Fair Enforcement for
Mortgage Licensing and Residential Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act;
and 3) risk HUD taking over the regulation and licensing of mortgage
loan originators in Missouri.  The division believes an emergency
rescission is necessary based on the above as well as to avoid poten-
tial inconsistencies that could result from having two (2) different sets
of rules. Therefore, the division finds a compelling governmental
interest which requires this emergency action. A proposed rescission,
which covers the same material, is published in this issue of the
Missouri Register. The scope of this emergency rescission is limited
to the conditions creating the emergency and complies with the pro-
tections extended in the Missouri and United States Constitutions.
As was noted earlier, in developing this emergency rescission, and in
order to assure fairness to all interested persons and parties under

the circumstances, the division, prior to and contemporaneous with
the drafting of the proposed rules, has met and been in contact with
members and representatives of the Missouri Association of Mortgage
Brokers, the Missouri Mortgage Bankers Association, and the
Missouri Manufactured Housing Association. The division believes
these associations are the largest representatives for the mortgage
industry in Missouri. Furthermore, the division provided the associa-
tions’ representatives with a copy of the proposed rules in February
for their review and comment. The division also provided an advance
copy of the proposed rules to Beyond Housing, which is a provider of
housing and support services for low-income families and homeown-
ers in the St. Louis area. Since that time, the division has received
numerous comments, questions, and suggestions, some of which have
been incorporated into the proposed rules filed herewith. The division
believes this emergency rescission is fair to all interested persons and
parties under the circumstances. This emergency rescission was filed
April 5, 2010, becomes effective April 18, 2010, and expires January
26, 2011.

AUTHORITY: sections 443.847, 443.869(7), and 443.887, RSMo
Supp. 1996. This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 140-30.090.
Emergency rule filed Nov. 25, 1996, effective Dec. 5, 1996, expired
June 2, 1997. Original rule filed Nov. 25, 1996, effective May 30,
1997. Moved to 20 CSR 1140-30.090, effective Aug. 28, 2006.
Emergency rescission filed April 5, 2010, effective April 18, 2010,
expires Jan. 26, 2011. A proposed rescission covering this same mate-
rial is published in this issue of the Missouri Register. 

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 1140—Division of Finance

Chapter 30—Mortgage Broker Rules

EMERGENCY RESCISSION

20 CSR 1140-30.100 General Practices. This rule established
requirements for certain practices by mortgage brokers in the areas of
notices to joint borrowers, changes in loans in process, use of unau-
thorized brokers or lenders, and the general requirement of good
faith.

PURPOSE:  Section 1508 of Public Law 110-289, Title V, the Secure
and Fair Enforcement Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008 (SAFE Act),
provides that states that fail to adopt a licensing and registration law
for mortgage loan originators that meet the minimum standards spec-
ified in the SAFE Act lose the authority to regulate and license mort-
gage loan originators with the Department of Housing and Urban
Development taking over. This rule is being rescinded in order to bet-
ter organize the chapter to include guidelines for the licensing of
mortgage loan originators, and HB 382, 2009, either modified or
included most of the provisions included in 20 CSR 1140-30.100. This
rule is also being rescinded in order to bring Missouri into compli-
ance with Section 1508 of Public Law 110-289, Title V, the Secure and
Fair Enforcement Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008.

EMERGENCY STATEMENT: This emergency rescission is necessary
to protect a compelling governmental interest as the provisions relat-
ed to the registration and licensing of mortgage loan originators are
required for the state to comply with Section 1508 of Public Law 110-
289, Title V, the Secure and Fair Enforcement Mortgage Licensing
Act of 2008 (SAFE Act or Act). The Act was signed into law by
President George Bush on July 30, 2008, as part of the Housing and
Economic Recovery Act of 2008. The Act directed states to adopt a
licensing and registration law for loan originators that met the min-
imum standards specified in the SAFE Act, within one (1) year of its
signing.  The legislation also provided that should a state fail 1) to
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adopt such a licensing system or 2) meet the minimum standards for
licensing, the United States Department of Housing and Urban
Development (HUD) would step in and do so. Prior to the passage
of the SAFE Act, Missouri had not previously licensed mortgage loan
originators, only non-exempt mortgage companies. In response to the
passage of the SAFE Act, the Missouri Legislature passed HB 382
(codified at sections 443.701–443.893, RSMo), known as the
Missouri Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing and
Residential Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act. Governor Nixon signed
the bill on July 8, 2009, and it went into effect upon signing based
on the emergency clause included in the bill. During the weeks imme-
diately following, division staff compiled informational packets on
specific areas of potential regulation for the director and deputy
director’s review. These packets included laws and regulations of
other states that had licensed mortgage loan originators prior to the
SAFE Act, legal analysis, and staff recommendations. Once the divi-
sion determined the specific areas to address through rulemaking,
staff was directed to start drafting the language for the rules. In the
interim, a meeting with the Missouri Association of Mortgage
Brokers was scheduled for and held on August 18, 2009. Meetings
with the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association and Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association followed on September 1, 2009, and
October 6, 2009, respectively. During this time, numerous internal
drafts were circulated within the division for review and comment.
Division staff met with members of the Missouri Association of
Mortgage Brokers on November 17, 2009, in St. Charles. On
December 15, 2009, HUD published its proposed rules in the
Federal Register, which was reviewed by division staff in order to
ensure its draft regulations were in line with the intent and terms of
the SAFE Act. Throughout December, the division worked to finalize
its internal draft. The division met with the Missouri Manufactured
Housing Association again on January 6, 2010. Division staff also
met with members of the Kansas City mortgage broker and mortgage
banking industries on January 12 and 21, 2010, respectively. In late
January, the division, as proscribed by section 443.816.1, RSMo,
presented its rules to the Residential Mortgage Board (board) for its
consideration. The board held a public meeting in Columbia,
Missouri, on February 3, 2010, at which time the text of the rules
were discussed and the board directed the division to make certain
revisions to the rules. The changes were made, and copies of the
rules were sent to the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association,
Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers, and the Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association. Thereafter, the division again met
with the Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers and Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association on February 10 and 25, 2010, respec-
tively, to discuss the rules and topics of concern. The division
believed that these industry groups had raised several meritorious
points. Following both meetings, the division worked to incorporate
these ideas into the latest draft of the rules for the board’s consider-
ation. On March 8, 2010, the division met with the St. Louis Chapter
of the National Association of Mortgage Professionals for Women to
discuss the rules and topics of concern. On March 10, 2010, the divi-
sion held an open forum in Jefferson City for current and potential
future Missouri licensees to discuss the rules and topics of concern.
Once again, the division made additional changes to the rules.
Lastly, the board met once again on March 30, 2010, and directed
the division to make additional changes to the rules and approved the
final version of the rules that were to be filed with the secretary of
state. Section 443.706.2, RSMo, provides that all individual mort-
gage loan originators must be licensed by July 31, 2010. By enacting
the following rules, Missouri will have provisions in place that meet
the standards and time frames set forth in the SAFE Act. If the state
does not enact the following rules, it will be considered out-of-com-
pliance with federal requirements and may lose its authority to regu-
late mortgage loan originators. In such an event, HUD would then
regulate mortgage loan originators in place of the state. The Division
of Finance believes state-based regulation is preferable to federal
regulation because strong consumer protections have long been

embedded in the state-based regulatory structure.  If the rules are not
allowed to be filed on an emergency basis, the division is concerned
that such failure: 1) would unduly expose Missourians to mortgage
fraud, which was one (1) of the major contributing factors to the
mortgage crisis; 2) will impede its ability to orderly transition mort-
gage loan originators seeking licensure in Missouri onto the nation-
al mortgage database and to meaningfully enforce the mandates
bestowed upon it by the Missouri Secure and Fair Enforcement for
Mortgage Licensing and Residential Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act;
and 3) risk HUD taking over the regulation and licensing of mortgage
loan originators in Missouri.  The division believes an emergency
rescission is necessary based on the above as well as to avoid poten-
tial inconsistencies that could result from having two (2) different sets
of rules. Therefore, the division finds a compelling governmental
interest which requires this emergency action. A proposed rescission,
which covers the same material, is published in this issue of the
Missouri Register. The scope of this emergency rescission is limited
to the conditions creating the emergency and complies with the pro-
tections extended in the Missouri and United States Constitutions.
As was noted earlier, in developing this emergency rescission, and in
order to assure fairness to all interested persons and parties under
the circumstances, the division, prior to and contemporaneous with
the drafting of the proposed rules, has met and been in contact with
members and representatives of the Missouri Association of Mortgage
Brokers, the Missouri Mortgage Bankers Association, and the
Missouri Manufactured Housing Association. The division believes
these associations are the largest representatives for the mortgage
industry in Missouri. Furthermore, the division provided the associ-
ations’ representatives with a copy of the proposed rules in February
for their review and comment. The division also provided an advance
copy of the proposed rules to Beyond Housing, which is a provider of
housing and support services for low-income families and homeown-
ers in the St. Louis area. Since that time, the division has received
numerous comments, questions, and suggestions, some of which have
been incorporated into the proposed rules filed herewith. The divi-
sion believes this emergency rescission is fair to all interested persons
and parties under the circumstances. This emergency rescission was
filed April 5, 2010, becomes effective April 18, 2010, and expires
January 26, 2011.

AUTHORITY: sections 443.847, 443.869(7), and 443.887, RSMo
Supp. 1996. This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 140-30.100.
Emergency rule filed Nov. 25, 1996, effective Dec. 5, 1996, expired
June 2, 1997. Original rule filed Nov. 25, 1996, effective May 30,
1997. Moved to 20 CSR 1140-30.100, effective Aug. 28, 2006.
Emergency rescission filed April 5, 2010, effective April 18, 2010,
expires Jan. 26, 2011. A proposed rescission covering this same
material is published in this issue of the Missouri Register. 

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 1140—Division of Finance

Chapter 30—Mortgage Broker Rules

EMERGENCY RESCISSION

20 CSR 1140-30.110 Commitment and Closing Practices. This
rule set standards for mortgage brokers’ commitments and closings.

PURPOSE:  Section 1508 of Public Law 110-289, Title V, the Secure
and Fair Enforcement Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008 (SAFE Act),
provides that states that fail to adopt a licensing and registration law
for mortgage loan originators that meet the minimum standards spec-
ified in the SAFE Act lose the authority to regulate and license mort-
gage loan originators with the Department of Housing and Urban
Development taking over. This rule is being rescinded in order to
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better organize the chapter to include guidelines for the licensing of
mortgage loan originators, and HB 382, 2009, either modified or
included most of the provisions included in 20 CSR 1140-30.110. This
rule is also being rescinded in order to bring Missouri into compli-
ance with Section 1508 of Public Law 110-289, Title V, the Secure and
Fair Enforcement Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008.

EMERGENCY STATEMENT: This emergency rescission is necessary
to protect a compelling governmental interest as the provisions relat-
ed to the registration and licensing of mortgage loan originators are
required for the state to comply with Section 1508 of Public Law 110-
289, Title V, the Secure and Fair Enforcement Mortgage Licensing
Act of 2008 (SAFE Act or Act). The Act was signed into law by
President George Bush on July 30, 2008, as part of the Housing and
Economic Recovery Act of 2008. The Act directed states to adopt a
licensing and registration law for loan originators that met the min-
imum standards specified in the SAFE Act, within one (1) year of its
signing.  The legislation also provided that should a state fail 1) to
adopt such a licensing system or 2) meet the minimum standards for
licensing, the United States Department of Housing and Urban
Development (HUD) would step in and do so. Prior to the passage of
the SAFE Act, Missouri had not previously licensed mortgage loan
originators, only non-exempt mortgage companies. In response to the
passage of the SAFE Act, the Missouri Legislature passed HB 382
(codified at sections 443.701–443.893, RSMo), known as the
Missouri Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing and
Residential Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act. Governor Nixon signed
the bill on July 8, 2009, and it went into effect upon signing based
on the emergency clause included in the bill. During the weeks imme-
diately following, division staff compiled informational packets on
specific areas of potential regulation for the director and deputy
director’s review. These packets included laws and regulations of
other states that had licensed mortgage loan originators prior to the
SAFE Act, legal analysis, and staff recommendations. Once the divi-
sion determined the specific areas to address through rulemaking,
staff was directed to start drafting the language for the rules. In the
interim, a meeting with the Missouri Association of Mortgage
Brokers was scheduled for and held on August 18, 2009. Meetings
with the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association and Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association followed on September 1, 2009, and
October 6, 2009, respectively. During this time, numerous internal
drafts were circulated within the division for review and comment.
Division staff met with members of the Missouri Association of
Mortgage Brokers on November 17, 2009, in St. Charles. On
December 15, 2009, HUD published its proposed rules in the
Federal Register, which was reviewed by division staff in order to
ensure its draft regulations were in line with the intent and terms of
the SAFE Act. Throughout December, the division worked to finalize
its internal draft. The division met with the Missouri Manufactured
Housing Association again on January 6, 2010. Division staff also
met with members of the Kansas City mortgage broker and mortgage
banking industries on January 12 and 21, 2010, respectively. In late
January, the division, as proscribed by section 443.816.1, RSMo,
presented its rules to the Residential Mortgage Board (board) for its
consideration. The board held a public meeting in Columbia,
Missouri, on February 3, 2010, at which time the text of the rules
were discussed and the board directed the division to make certain
revisions to the rules. The changes were made, and copies of the rules
were sent to the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association,
Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers, and the Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association. Thereafter, the division again met
with the Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers and Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association on February 10 and 25, 2010, respec-
tively, to discuss the rules and topics of concern. The division
believed that these industry groups had raised several meritorious
points. Following both meetings, the division worked to incorporate
these ideas into the latest draft of the rules for the board’s consider-

ation. On March 8, 2010, the division met with the St. Louis Chapter
of the National Association of Mortgage Professionals for Women to
discuss the rules and topics of concern. On March 10, 2010, the divi-
sion held an open forum in Jefferson City for current and potential
future Missouri licensees to discuss the rules and topics of concern.
Once again, the division made additional changes to the rules.
Lastly, the board met once again on March 30, 2010, and directed the
division to make additional changes to the rules and approved the
final version of the rules that were to be filed with the secretary of
state. Section 443.706.2, RSMo, provides that all individual mort-
gage loan originators must be licensed by July 31, 2010. By enacting
the following rules, Missouri will have provisions in place that meet
the standards and time frames set forth in the SAFE Act. If the state
does not enact the following rules, it will be considered out-of-com-
pliance with federal requirements and may lose its authority to regu-
late mortgage loan originators. In such an event, HUD would then
regulate mortgage loan originators in place of the state. The Division
of Finance believes state-based regulation is preferable to federal
regulation because strong consumer protections have long been
embedded in the state-based regulatory structure.  If the rules are not
allowed to be filed on an emergency basis, the division is concerned
that such failure: 1) would unduly expose Missourians to mortgage
fraud, which was one (1) of the major contributing factors to the
mortgage crisis; 2) will impede its ability to orderly transition mort-
gage loan originators seeking licensure in Missouri onto the nation-
al mortgage database and to meaningfully enforce the mandates
bestowed upon it by the Missouri Secure and Fair Enforcement for
Mortgage Licensing and Residential Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act;
and 3) risk HUD taking over the regulation and licensing of mortgage
loan originators in Missouri.  The division believes an emergency
rescission is necessary based on the above as well as to avoid poten-
tial inconsistencies that could result from having two (2) different sets
of rules. Therefore, the division finds a compelling governmental
interest which requires this emergency action. A proposed rescission,
which covers the same material, is published in this issue of the
Missouri Register. The scope of this emergency rescission is limited
to the conditions creating the emergency and complies with the pro-
tections extended in the Missouri and United States Constitutions.
As was noted earlier, in developing this emergency rescission, and in
order to assure fairness to all interested persons and parties under
the circumstances, the division, prior to and contemporaneous with
the drafting of the proposed rules, has met and been in contact with
members and representatives of the Missouri Association of Mortgage
Brokers, the Missouri Mortgage Bankers Association, and the
Missouri Manufactured Housing Association. The division believes
these associations are the largest representatives for the mortgage
industry in Missouri. Furthermore, the division provided the associa-
tions’ representatives with a copy of the proposed rules in February
for their review and comment. The division also provided an advance
copy of the proposed rules to Beyond Housing, which is a provider of
housing and support services for low-income families and homeown-
ers in the St. Louis area. Since that time, the division has received
numerous comments, questions, and suggestions, some of which have
been incorporated into the proposed rules filed herewith. The division
believes this emergency rescission is fair to all interested persons and
parties under the circumstances. This emergency rescission was filed
April 5, 2010, becomes effective April 18, 2010, and expires January
26, 2011.

AUTHORITY: sections 443.847, 443.869(7), and 443.887, RSMo
Supp. 1996. This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 140-30.110.
Emergency rule filed Nov. 25, 1996, effective Dec. 5, 1996, expired
June 2, 1997. Original rule filed Nov. 25, 1996, effective May 30,
1997. Moved to 20 CSR 1140-30.110, effective Aug. 28, 2006.
Emergency rescission filed April 5, 2010, effective April 18, 2010,
expires Jan. 26, 2011. A proposed rescission covering this same mate-
rial is published in this issue of the Missouri Register.
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Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 1140—Division of Finance

Chapter 30—Mortgage Broker Rules

EMERGENCY RESCISSION

20 CSR 1140-30.120 Exemption Guidelines. This rule set forth the
guidelines for exemption from the licensing requirements for mort-
gage brokers.

PURPOSE:  Section 1508 of Public Law 110-289, Title V, the Secure
and Fair Enforcement Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008 (SAFE Act),
provides that states that fail to adopt a licensing and registration law
for mortgage loan originators that meet the minimum standards spec-
ified in the SAFE Act lose the authority to regulate and license mort-
gage loan originators with the Department of Housing and Urban
Development taking over. This rule is being rescinded in order to bet-
ter organize the chapter to include guidelines for the licensing of
mortgage loan originators, and HB 382, 2009, eliminated most
exemptions contained in the previous law.  This rule is also being
rescinded in order to bring Missouri into compliance with Section
1508 of Public Law 110-289, Title V, the Secure and Fair Enforcement
Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008.

EMERGENCY STATEMENT: This emergency rescission is necessary
to protect a compelling governmental interest as the provisions relat-
ed to the registration and licensing of mortgage loan originators are
required for the state to comply with Section 1508 of Public Law 110-
289, Title V, the Secure and Fair Enforcement Mortgage Licensing
Act of 2008 (SAFE Act or Act). The Act was signed into law by
President George Bush on July 30, 2008, as part of the Housing and
Economic Recovery Act of 2008. The Act directed states to adopt a
licensing and registration law for loan originators that met the min-
imum standards specified in the SAFE Act, within one (1) year of its
signing.  The legislation also provided that should a state fail 1) to
adopt such a licensing system or 2) meet the minimum standards for
licensing, the United States Department of Housing and Urban
Development (HUD) would step in and do so. Prior to the passage
of the SAFE Act, Missouri had not previously licensed mortgage loan
originators, only non-exempt mortgage companies. In response to the
passage of the SAFE Act, the Missouri Legislature passed HB 382
(codified at sections 443.701–443.893, RSMo), known as the
Missouri Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing and
Residential Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act. Governor Nixon signed
the bill on July 8, 2009, and it went into effect upon signing based
on the emergency clause included in the bill. During the weeks imme-
diately following, division staff compiled informational packets on
specific areas of potential regulation for the director and deputy
director’s review. These packets included laws and regulations of
other states that had licensed mortgage loan originators prior to the
SAFE Act, legal analysis, and staff recommendations. Once the divi-
sion determined the specific areas to address through rulemaking,
staff was directed to start drafting the language for the rules. In the
interim, a meeting with the Missouri Association of Mortgage
Brokers was scheduled for and held on August 18, 2009. Meetings
with the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association and Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association followed on September 1, 2009, and
October 6, 2009, respectively. During this time, numerous internal
drafts were circulated within the division for review and comment.
Division staff met with members of the Missouri Association of
Mortgage Brokers on November 17, 2009, in St. Charles. On
December 15, 2009, HUD published its proposed rules in the
Federal Register, which was reviewed by division staff in order to
ensure its draft regulations were in line with the intent and terms of
the SAFE Act. Throughout December, the division worked to finalize
its internal draft. The division met with the Missouri Manufactured

Housing Association again on January 6, 2010. Division staff also
met with members of the Kansas City mortgage broker and mortgage
banking industries on January 12 and 21, 2010, respectively. In late
January, the division, as proscribed by section 443.816.1, RSMo,
presented its rules to the Residential Mortgage Board (board) for its
consideration. The board held a public meeting in Columbia,
Missouri, on February 3, 2010, at which time the text of the rules
were discussed and the board directed the division to make certain
revisions to the rules. The changes were made, and copies of the
rules were sent to the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association,
Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers, and the Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association. Thereafter, the division again met
with the Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers and Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association on February 10 and 25, 2010, respec-
tively, to discuss the rules and topics of concern. The division
believed that these industry groups had raised several meritorious
points. Following both meetings, the division worked to incorporate
these ideas into the latest draft of the rules for the board’s consider-
ation. On March 8, 2010, the division met with the St. Louis Chapter
of the National Association of Mortgage Professionals for Women to
discuss the rules and topics of concern. On March 10, 2010, the divi-
sion held an open forum in Jefferson City for current and potential
future Missouri licensees to discuss the rules and topics of concern.
Once again, the division made additional changes to the rules.
Lastly, the board met once again on March 30, 2010, and directed
the division to make additional changes to the rules and approved the
final version of the rules that were to be filed with the secretary of
state. Section 443.706.2, RSMo, provides that all individual mort-
gage loan originators must be licensed by July 31, 2010. By enacting
the following rules, Missouri will have provisions in place that meet
the standards and time frames set forth in the SAFE Act. If the state
does not enact the following rules, it will be considered out-of-com-
pliance with federal requirements and may lose its authority to regu-
late mortgage loan originators. In such an event, HUD would then
regulate mortgage loan originators in place of the state. The Division
of Finance believes state-based regulation is preferable to federal
regulation because strong consumer protections have long been
embedded in the state-based regulatory structure.  If the rules are not
allowed to be filed on an emergency basis, the division is concerned
that such failure: 1) would unduly expose Missourians to mortgage
fraud, which was one (1) of the major contributing factors to the
mortgage crisis; 2) will impede its ability to orderly transition mort-
gage loan originators seeking licensure in Missouri onto the nation-
al mortgage database and to meaningfully enforce the mandates
bestowed upon it by the Missouri Secure and Fair Enforcement for
Mortgage Licensing and Residential Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act;
and 3) risk HUD taking over the regulation and licensing of mortgage
loan originators in Missouri.  The division believes an emergency
rescission is necessary based on the above as well as to avoid poten-
tial inconsistencies that could result from having two (2) different sets
of rules. Therefore, the division finds a compelling governmental
interest which requires this emergency action. A proposed rescission,
which covers the same material, is published in this issue of the
Missouri Register. The scope of this emergency rescission is limited
to the conditions creating the emergency and complies with the pro-
tections extended in the Missouri and United States Constitutions.
As was noted earlier, in developing this emergency rescission, and in
order to assure fairness to all interested persons and parties under
the circumstances, the division, prior to and contemporaneous with
the drafting of the proposed rules, has met and been in contact with
members and representatives of the Missouri Association of Mortgage
Brokers, the Missouri Mortgage Bankers Association, and the
Missouri Manufactured Housing Association. The division believes
these associations are the largest representatives for the mortgage
industry in Missouri. Furthermore, the division provided the associ-
ations’ representatives with a copy of the proposed rules in February
for their review and comment. The division also provided an advance
copy of the proposed rules to Beyond Housing, which is a provider of
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housing and support services for low-income families and homeown-
ers in the St. Louis area. Since that time, the division has received
numerous comments, questions, and suggestions, some of which have
been incorporated into the proposed rules filed herewith. The division
believes this emergency rescission is fair to all interested persons and
parties under the circumstances. This emergency rescission was filed
April 5, 2010, becomes effective April 18, 2010, and expires January
26, 2011.

AUTHORITY: sections 443.847, 443.869(7), and 443.887, RSMo
Supp. 1996. This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 140-30.120.
Emergency rule filed Nov. 25, 1996, effective Dec. 5, 1996, expired
June 2, 1997. Original rule filed Nov. 25, 1996, effective May 30,
1997. Moved to 20 CSR 1140-30.120, effective Aug. 28, 2006.
Emergency rescission filed April 5, 2010, effective April 18, 2010,
expires Jan. 26, 2011. A proposed rescission covering this same mate-
rial is published in this issue of the Missouri Register. 

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 1140—Division of Finance

Chapter 30—Mortgage Broker and Originator Rules

EMERGENCY RULE

20 CSR 1140-30.200 Definitions

PURPOSE: This rule establishes definitions for use in Chapter 20
CSR 1140-30 Mortgage Broker and Originator Rules.

EMERGENCY STATEMENT: This emergency rule is necessary to
protect a compelling governmental interest as the provisions related
to the registration and licensing of mortgage loan originators are
required for the state to comply with Section 1508 of Public Law 110-
289, Title V, the Secure and Fair Enforcement Mortgage Licensing
Act of 2008 (SAFE Act or Act). The Act was signed into law by
President George Bush on July 30, 2008, as part of the Housing and
Economic Recovery Act of 2008. The Act directed states to adopt a
licensing and registration law for loan originators that met the min-
imum standards specified in the SAFE Act, within one (1) year of its
signing.  The legislation also provided that should a state fail 1) to
adopt such a licensing system or 2) meet the minimum standards for
licensing, the United States Department of Housing and Urban
Development (HUD) would step in and do so. Prior to the passage of
the SAFE Act, Missouri had not previously licensed mortgage loan
originators, only non-exempt mortgage companies. In response to the
passage of the SAFE Act, the Missouri Legislature passed HB 382
(codified at sections 443.701–443.893, RSMo), 2009, known as the
Missouri Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing and
Residential Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act. Governor Nixon signed
the bill on July 8, 2009, and it went into effect upon signing based
on the emergency clause included in the bill. During the weeks imme-
diately following, division staff compiled informational packets on
specific areas of potential regulation for the director and deputy
director’s review. These packets included laws and regulations of
other states that had licensed mortgage loan originators prior to the
SAFE Act, legal analysis, and staff recommendations. Once the divi-
sion determined the specific areas to address through rulemaking,
staff was directed to start drafting the language for the rules. In the
interim, a meeting with the Missouri Association of Mortgage
Brokers was scheduled for and held on August 18, 2009.  Meetings
with the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association and Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association followed on September 1, 2009, and
October 6, 2009, respectively.  During this time, numerous internal
drafts were circulated within the division for review and comment.
Division staff met with members of the Missouri Association of

Mortgage Brokers on November 17, 2009, in St. Charles. On
December 15, 2009, HUD published its proposed rules in the
Federal Register, which was reviewed by division staff in order to
ensure its draft regulations were in line with the intent and terms of
the SAFE Act.  Throughout December, the division worked to finalize
its internal draft.  The division met with the Missouri Manufactured
Housing Association again on January 6, 2010. Division staff also
met with members of the Kansas City mortgage broker and mortgage
banking industries on January 12 and 21, 2010, respectively.  In late
January, the division, as proscribed by section 443.816.1, RSMo,
presented its rules to the Residential Mortgage Board (board) for its
consideration. The board held a public meeting in Columbia,
Missouri, on February 3, 2010, at which time the text of the rules
were discussed and the board directed the division to make certain
revisions to the rules. The changes were made, and copies of the rules
were sent to the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association,
Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers, and the Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association. Thereafter, the division again met
with the Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers and Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association on February 10 and 25, 2010, respec-
tively, to discuss the rules and topics of concern. The division
believed that these industry groups had raised several meritorious
points. Following both meetings, the division worked to incorporate
these ideas into the latest draft of the rules for the board’s consider-
ation. On March 8, 2010, the division met with the St. Louis Chapter
of the National Association of Mortgage Professionals for Women to
discuss the rules and topics of concern. On March 10, 2010, the divi-
sion held an open forum in Jefferson City for current and potential
future Missouri licensees to discuss the rules and topics of concern.
Once again, the division made additional changes to the rules.
Lastly, the board met once again on March 30, 2010, and directed the
division to make additional changes to the rules and approved the
final version of the rules that were to be filed with the secretary of
state. Section 443.706.2, RSMo, provides that all individual mort-
gage loan originators must be licensed by July 31, 2010. By enacting
the following rules, Missouri will have provisions in place that meet
the standards and time frames set forth in the SAFE Act. If the state
does not enact the following rules, it will be considered out-of-com-
pliance with federal requirements and may lose its authority to regu-
late mortgage loan originators. In such an event, HUD would then
regulate mortgage loan originators in place of the state. The Division
of Finance believes state-based regulation is preferable to federal
regulation because strong consumer protections have long been
embedded in the state-based regulatory structure.  If the rules are not
allowed to be filed on an emergency basis, the division is concerned
that such failure: 1) would unduly expose Missourians to mortgage
fraud, which was one (1) of the major contributing factors to the
mortgage crisis; 2) will impede its ability to orderly transition mort-
gage loan originators seeking licensure in Missouri onto the nation-
al mortgage database and to meaningfully enforce the mandates
bestowed upon it by the Missouri Secure and Fair Enforcement for
Mortgage Licensing and Residential Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act;
and 3) risk HUD taking over the regulation and licensing of mortgage
loan originators in Missouri. Therefore, the division finds a com-
pelling governmental interest which requires this emergency action. A
proposed rule, which covers the same material, is published in this
issue of the Missouri Register. The scope of this emergency rule is
limited to the conditions creating the emergency and complies with
the protections extended in the Missouri and United States
Constitutions. As was noted earlier, in developing this emergency
rule, and in order to assure fairness to all interested persons and par-
ties under the circumstances, the division, prior to and contempora-
neous with the drafting of the proposed rules, has met and been in
contact with members and representatives of the Missouri Association
of Mortgage Brokers, the Missouri Mortgage Bankers Association,
and the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association since last year.
The division believes these associations are the largest representa-
tives for the mortgage industry in Missouri. Furthermore, the division
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provided the associations’ representatives with a copy of the pro-
posed rules in February for their review and comment.  The division
also provided an advance copy of the proposed rules to Beyond
Housing, which is a provider of housing and support services for low-
income families and homeowners in the St. Louis area. Since that
time, the division has received numerous comments, questions, and
suggestions, some of which have been incorporated into the proposed
rules filed herewith. The division believes this emergency rule is fair
to all interested persons and parties under the circumstances. This
emergency rule was filed April 5, 2010, becomes effective April 18,
2010, and expires January 26, 2011.

(1) The definitions in sections 443.701 to 443.893, RSMo, shall
apply to these rules. In addition, the terms listed below shall have the
following meanings: 

(A) “Act,” the Missouri Secure and Fair Enforcement for
Mortgage Licensing and Residential Mortgage Brokers Licensing
Act;

(B) “Broker” shall have the same meaning as Residential
Mortgage Loan Broker set forth in section 443.703.1(31), RSMo;

(C) “Control” means the power to, directly or indirectly, affect the
voting interest of twenty-five percent (25%) or more of any class of
the outstanding voting shares, or partnership interest or limited lia-
bility company interest, of a broker; and

(D) “First tier subsidiary” shall include any corporation or limit-
ed liability company which is majority owned and controlled by a
federally-insured and regulated depository institution.

AUTHORITY: sections 443.703.2, 443.709, 443.711, 443.725,
443.843, 443.869, and 443.887, RSMo Supp. 2009. Emergency rule
filed April 5, 2010, effective April 18, 2010, expires Jan. 26, 2011. A
proposed rule covering this same material is published in this issue
of the Missouri Register.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE,
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 1140—Division of Finance

Chapter 30—Mortgage Broker and Originator Rules

EMERGENCY RULE

20 CSR 1140-30.210 Licensing of Mortgage Loan Originators

PURPOSE: This rule establishes guidelines for the licensing of mort-
gage loan originators.

EMERGENCY STATEMENT: This emergency rule is necessary to
protect a compelling governmental interest as the provisions related
to the registration and licensing of mortgage loan originators are
required for the state to comply with Section 1508 of Public Law 110-
289, Title V, the Secure and Fair Enforcement Mortgage Licensing
Act of 2008 (SAFE Act or Act). The Act was signed into law by
President George Bush on July 30, 2008, as part of the Housing and
Economic Recovery Act of 2008. The Act directed states to adopt a
licensing and registration law for loan originators that met the min-
imum standards specified in the SAFE Act, within one (1) year of its
signing.  The legislation also provided that should a state fail 1) to
adopt such a licensing system or 2) meet the minimum standards for
licensing, the United States Department of Housing and Urban
Development (HUD) would step in and do so. Prior to the passage
of the SAFE Act, Missouri had not previously licensed mortgage loan
originators, only non-exempt mortgage companies. In response to the
passage of the SAFE Act, the Missouri Legislature passed HB 382
(codified at sections 443.701–443.893, RSMo), 2009, known as the
Missouri Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing and
Residential Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act. Governor Nixon signed

the bill on July 8, 2009, and it went into effect upon signing based
on the emergency clause included in the bill. During the weeks imme-
diately following, division staff compiled informational packets on
specific areas of potential regulation for the director and deputy
director’s review. These packets included laws and regulations of
other states that had licensed mortgage loan originators prior to the
SAFE Act, legal analysis, and staff recommendations. Once the divi-
sion determined the specific areas to address through rulemaking,
staff was directed to start drafting the language for the rules. In the
interim, a meeting with the Missouri Association of Mortgage
Brokers was scheduled for and held on August 18, 2009.  Meetings
with the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association and Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association followed on September 1, 2009, and
October 6, 2009, respectively.  During this time, numerous internal
drafts were circulated within the division for review and comment.
Division staff met with members of the Missouri Association of
Mortgage Brokers on November 17, 2009, in St. Charles. On
December 15, 2009, HUD published its proposed rules in the
Federal Register, which was reviewed by division staff in order to
ensure its draft regulations were in line with the intent and terms of
the SAFE Act.  Throughout December, the division worked to final-
ize its internal draft. The division met with the Missouri
Manufactured Housing Association again on January 6, 2010.
Division staff also met with members of the Kansas City mortgage
broker and mortgage banking industries on January 12 and 21, 2010,
respectively.  In late January, the division, as proscribed by section
443.816.1, RSMo, presented its rules to the Residential Mortgage
Board (board) for its consideration. The board held a public meeting
in Columbia, Missouri, on February 3, 2010, at which time the text
of the rules were discussed and the board directed the division to
make certain revisions to the rules. The changes were made, and
copies of the rules were sent to the Missouri Manufactured Housing
Association, Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers, and the
Missouri Mortgage Bankers Association. Thereafter, the division
again met with the Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers and
Missouri Mortgage Bankers Association on February 10 and 25,
2010, respectively, to discuss the rules and topics of concern. The
division believed that these industry groups had raised several meri-
torious points. Following both meetings, the division worked to incor-
porate these ideas into the latest draft of the rules for the board’s
consideration. On March 8, 2010, the division met with the St. Louis
Chapter of the National Association of Mortgage Professionals for
Women to discuss the rules and topics of concern. On March 10,
2010, the division held an open forum in Jefferson City for current
and potential future Missouri licensees to discuss the rules and top-
ics of concern. Once again, the division made additional changes to
the rules. Lastly, the board met once again on March 30, 2010, and
directed the division to make additional changes to the rules and
approved the final version of the rules that were to be filed with the
secretary of state. Section 443.706.2, RSMo, provides that all indi-
vidual mortgage loan originators must be licensed by July 31, 2010.
By enacting the following rules, Missouri will have provisions in
place that meet the standards and time frames set forth in the SAFE
Act. If the state does not enact the following rules, it will be consid-
ered out-of-compliance with federal requirements and may lose its
authority to regulate mortgage loan originators. In such an event,
HUD would then regulate mortgage loan originators in place of the
state. The Division of Finance believes state-based regulation is
preferable to federal regulation because strong consumer protections
have long been embedded in the state-based regulatory structure.  If
the rules are not allowed to be filed on an emergency basis, the divi-
sion is concerned that such failure: 1) would unduly expose
Missourians to mortgage fraud, which was one (1) of the major con-
tributing factors to the mortgage crisis; 2) will impede its ability to
orderly transition mortgage loan originators seeking licensure in
Missouri onto the national mortgage database and to meaningfully
enforce the mandates bestowed upon it by the Missouri Secure and
Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing and Residential Mortgage
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Brokers Licensing Act; and 3) risk HUD taking over the regulation
and licensing of mortgage loan originators in Missouri. Therefore,
the division finds a compelling governmental interest which requires
this emergency action. A proposed rule, which covers the same mate-
rial, is published in this issue of the Missouri Register. The scope of
this emergency rule is limited to the conditions creating the emer-
gency and complies with the protections extended in the Missouri and
United States Constitutions. As was noted earlier, in developing this
emergency rule, and in order to assure fairness to all interested per-
sons and parties under the circumstances, the division, prior to and
contemporaneous with the drafting of the proposed rules, has met
and been in contact with members and representatives of the Missouri
Association of Mortgage Brokers, the Missouri Mortgage Bankers
Association, and the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association
since last year. The division believes these associations are the
largest representatives for the mortgage industry in Missouri.
Furthermore, the division provided the associations’ representatives
with a copy of the proposed rules in February for their review and
comment.  The division also provided an advance copy of the pro-
posed rules to Beyond Housing, which is a provider of housing and
support services for low-income families and homeowners in the St.
Louis area. Since that time, the division has received numerous com-
ments, questions, and suggestions, some of which have been incor-
porated into the proposed rules filed herewith. The division believes
this emergency rule is fair to all interested persons and parties under
the circumstances. This emergency rule was filed April 5, 2010,
becomes effective April 18, 2010, and expires January 26, 2011.

(1) Initial Licensing. Application for an initial Mortgage Loan
Originator license shall be made within the procedures established by
the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System and Registry (NMLSR).

(2) Incomplete Applications. Failure to meet a request for additional
information within ten (10) business days may result in denial of the
application.  A denial under such circumstances shall not affect sub-
sequent applications filed with the appropriate fee.

(3) License Renewal and Expiration. Application for renewal shall be
made within the procedures established by NMLSR. A renewal appli-
cation not received by the division prior to December 1 of any year
cannot be assured of issuance prior to January 1, at which time the
license will be considered to be expired. Any license which is not
renewed prior to December 31 may require the applicant to file a
reinstatement application as provided for in these rules.

(A) The director may not renew a Mortgage Loan Originator
license unless all required fees, administrative penalties owed to the
director, and any refunds ordered by the director to be returned to
consumers have been paid. 

(4) Reinstatement of License. The license of a mortgage loan origi-
nator that expires for failure to satisfy the minimum standards for
renewal or does not allow for sufficient lead time for review and pro-
cessing of an application may be reinstated if the licensee meets the
following requirements:

(A) The licensee must submit a request for reinstatement through
the NMLSR;

(B) All continuing education courses and any other requirements
for the license renewal for the year in which the license expired must
be completed; and

(C) The licensee must pay the applicable licensing, reinstatement,
and late fees/penalties.

1. If the mortgage loan originator whose license has expired
fails to meet the requirements for reinstatement specified in this sec-
tion and submits a reinstatement filing within the parameters estab-
lished by NMSLR, the mortgage loan originator must apply for a
new license and meet the requirements for licensure in effect at that
time.  

2. The director may waive any late filing penalty or fee for a

licensed mortgage loan originator on active military duty serving out-
side of Missouri.

(5) Fees.  
(A) Initial and renewal applications shall be made through the

NMLSR and shall be accompanied by the applicable fee, which shall
be set by the director from time-to-time, not to exceed two hundred
fifty dollars ($250). Said fees are not refundable.

(B) For each duplicate original license issued, the director shall
collect a duplicate original license fee not to exceed one hundred fifty
dollars ($150).

(C) For each amended license issued, the director shall collect an
amended original license fee not to exceed one hundred fifty dollars
($150).

(D) A late fee, not to exceed one hundred fifty dollars ($150), may
be assessed to any mortgage loan originator who fails to submit a
renewal application by December 31 of each year.

AUTHORITY: sections 443.709, 443.711, 443.725, 443.843,
443.869, and 443.887, RSMo Supp. 2009. Emergency rule filed April
5, 2010, effective April 18, 2010, expires Jan. 26, 2011. A proposed
rule covering this same material is published in this issue of the
Missouri Register.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE,
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 1140—Division of Finance

Chapter 30—Mortgage Broker and Originator Rules

EMERGENCY RULE

20 CSR 1140-30.220 Self-Reporting Requirements

PURPOSE: This rule establishes self-reporting requirements for
mortgage loan originators, brokers, or any of a broker’s directors,
principal stockholders, members, partners, or individuals who influ-
ence management.

EMERGENCY STATEMENT: This emergency rule is necessary to
protect a compelling governmental interest as the provisions related
to the registration and licensing of mortgage loan originators are
required for the state to comply with Section 1508 of Public Law 110-
289, Title V, the Secure and Fair Enforcement Mortgage Licensing
Act of 2008 (SAFE Act or Act). The Act was signed into law by
President George Bush on July 30, 2008, as part of the Housing and
Economic Recovery Act of 2008. The Act directed states to adopt a
licensing and registration law for loan originators that met the min-
imum standards specified in the SAFE Act, within one (1) year of its
signing.  The legislation also provided that should a state fail 1) to
adopt such a licensing system or 2) meet the minimum standards for
licensing, the United States Department of Housing and Urban
Development (HUD) would step in and do so. Prior to the passage of
the SAFE Act, Missouri had not previously licensed mortgage loan
originators, only non-exempt mortgage companies. In response to the
passage of the SAFE Act, the Missouri Legislature passed HB 382
(codified at sections 443.701–443.893, RSMo), 2009, known as the
Missouri Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing and
Residential Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act. Governor Nixon signed
the bill on July 8, 2009, and it went into effect upon signing based
on the emergency clause included in the bill. During the weeks imme-
diately following, division staff compiled informational packets on
specific areas of potential regulation for the director and deputy
director’s review. These packets included laws and regulations of
other states that had licensed mortgage loan originators prior to the
SAFE Act, legal analysis, and staff recommendations. Once the divi-
sion determined the specific areas to address through rulemaking,

Page 739
May 17, 2010
Vol. 35, No. 10 Missouri Register



May 17, 2010
Vol. 35, No. 10

staff was directed to start drafting the language for the rules. In the
interim, a meeting with the Missouri Association of Mortgage
Brokers was scheduled for and held on August 18, 2009.  Meetings
with the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association and Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association followed on September 1, 2009, and
October 6, 2009, respectively.  During this time, numerous internal
drafts were circulated within the division for review and comment.
Division staff met with members of the Missouri Association of
Mortgage Brokers on November 17, 2009, in St. Charles. On
December 15, 2009, HUD published its proposed rules in the
Federal Register, which was reviewed by division staff in order to
ensure its draft regulations were in line with the intent and terms of
the SAFE Act.  Throughout December, the division worked to final-
ize its internal draft.  The division met with the Missouri
Manufactured Housing Association again on January 6, 2010.
Division staff also met with members of the Kansas City mortgage
broker and mortgage banking industries on January 12 and 21, 2010,
respectively.  In late January, the division, as proscribed by section
443.816.1, RSMo, presented its rules to the Residential Mortgage
Board (board) for its consideration. The board held a public meeting
in Columbia, Missouri, on February 3, 2010, at which time the text
of the rules were discussed and the board directed the division to
make certain revisions to the rules. The changes were made, and
copies of the rules were sent to the Missouri Manufactured Housing
Association, Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers, and the
Missouri Mortgage Bankers Association. Thereafter, the division
again met with the Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers and
Missouri Mortgage Bankers Association on February 10 and 25,
2010, respectively, to discuss the rules and topics of concern. The
division believed that these industry groups had raised several meri-
torious points. Following both meetings, the division worked to incor-
porate these ideas into the latest draft of the rules for the board’s
consideration. On March 8, 2010, the division met with the St. Louis
Chapter of the National Association of Mortgage Professionals for
Women to discuss the rules and topics of concern. On March 10,
2010, the division held an open forum in Jefferson City for current
and potential future Missouri licensees to discuss the rules and top-
ics of concern. Once again, the division made additional changes to
the rules. Lastly, the board met once again on March 30, 2010, and
directed the division to make additional changes to the rules and
approved the final version of the rules that were to be filed with the
secretary of state. Section 443.706.2, RSMo, provides that all indi-
vidual mortgage loan originators must be licensed by July 31, 2010.
By enacting the following rules, Missouri will have provisions in
place that meet the standards and time frames set forth in the SAFE
Act. If the state does not enact the following rules, it will be consid-
ered out-of-compliance with federal requirements and may lose its
authority to regulate mortgage loan originators. In such an event,
HUD would then regulate mortgage loan originators in place of the
state. The Division of Finance believes state-based regulation is
preferable to federal regulation because strong consumer protections
have long been embedded in the state-based regulatory structure.  If
the rules are not allowed to be filed on an emergency basis, the divi-
sion is concerned that such failure: 1) would unduly expose
Missourians to mortgage fraud, which was one (1) of the major con-
tributing factors to the mortgage crisis; 2) will impede its ability to
orderly transition mortgage loan originators seeking licensure in
Missouri onto the national mortgage database and to meaningfully
enforce the mandates bestowed upon it by the Missouri Secure and
Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing and Residential Mortgage
Brokers Licensing Act; and 3) risk HUD taking over the regulation
and licensing of mortgage loan originators in Missouri. Therefore,
the division finds a compelling governmental interest which requires
this emergency action. A proposed rule, which covers the same mate-
rial, is published in this issue of the Missouri Register. The scope of
this emergency rule is limited to the conditions creating the emer-
gency and complies with the protections extended in the Missouri
and United States Constitutions. As was noted earlier, in developing

this emergency rule, and in order to assure fairness to all interested
persons and parties under the circumstances, the division, prior to
and contemporaneous with the drafting of the proposed rules, has
met and been in contact with members and representatives of the
Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers, the Missouri Mortgage
Bankers Association, and the Missouri Manufactured Housing
Association since last year. The division believes these associations
are the largest representatives for the mortgage industry in Missouri.
Furthermore, the division provided the associations’ representatives
with a copy of the proposed rules in February for their review and
comment.  The division also provided an advance copy of the pro-
posed rules to Beyond Housing, which is a provider of housing and
support services for low-income families and homeowners in the St.
Louis area. Since that time, the division has received numerous com-
ments, questions, and suggestions, some of which have been incor-
porated into the proposed rules filed herewith. The division believes
this emergency rule is fair to all interested persons and parties under
the circumstances. This emergency rule was filed April 5, 2010,
becomes effective April 18, 2010, and expires January 26, 2011.

(1) A mortgage loan originator, broker, or any of a broker’s direc-
tors, principal stockholders, members, partners, or individuals who
influence management (hereinafter collectively referred to as
“licensee” for the purpose of this rule) shall notify the director in
writing within five (5) days of the occurrence of any of the following
events:

(A) Licensee files for bankruptcy protection or is subjected to an
involuntary bankruptcy proceeding;

(B) Institution by any state or other jurisdiction of a license denial,
cease and desist, suspension or revocation procedure, or other formal
or informal regulatory action against a licensee; 

(C) Institution of an action by the Missouri Attorney General or
other enforcer of the consumer protection laws of any jurisdiction to
enforce consumer protection laws against a licensee;

(D) Having a license suspended, terminated, or otherwise prohib-
ited from participating in a federal or state program;

(E) Licensee is suspended, terminated, or otherwise prohibited as
an approved lender or seller/servicer by the Federal National
Mortgage Association, Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation,
Government National Mortgage Association, Department of Housing
and Urban Development, Department of Veterans Affairs, or any
other federal or state agency or program; 

(F) The entry of a judgment against a licensee;
(G) A licensee is convicted of or enters a plea of guilty or nolo

contendere to a felony or misdemeanor, excluding traffic violations,
in a domestic, foreign, or military court. For the purposes of this
requirement, a licensee need not report traffic or driving violations
to the director so long as said violations are not felonies;

(H) The entry of a tax or other government lien upon the proper-
ty of a licensee; or

(I) Revocation or suspension of a licensee’s professional or busi-
ness license by any state or jurisdiction.  An agreement to surrender
a license and/or not to operate in an occupation in which a profes-
sional license is required shall be considered a revocation for the pur-
poses of this rule.

AUTHORITY: sections 443.869 and 443.887, RSMo Supp. 2009.
Emergency rule filed April 5, 2010, effective April 18, 2010, expires
Jan. 26, 2011. A proposed rule covering this same material is pub-
lished in this issue of the Missouri Register.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE,
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 1140—Division of Finance

Chapter 30—Mortgage Broker and Originator Rules

EMERGENCY RULE
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20 CSR 1140-30.230 Challenges to Information Submitted to
NMLSR

PURPOSE: This rule establishes the procedures by which a mortgage
loan originator can challenge information submitted by the director
to the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System and Registry.

EMERGENCY STATEMENT: This emergency rule is necessary to
protect a compelling governmental interest as the provisions related
to the registration and licensing of mortgage loan originators are
required for the state to comply with Section 1508 of Public Law 110-
289, Title V, the Secure and Fair Enforcement Mortgage Licensing
Act of 2008 (SAFE Act or Act). The Act was signed into law by
President George Bush on July 30, 2008, as part of the Housing and
Economic Recovery Act of 2008. The Act directed states to adopt a
licensing and registration law for loan originators that met the min-
imum standards specified in the SAFE Act, within one (1) year of its
signing.  The legislation also provided that should a state fail 1) to
adopt such a licensing system or 2) meet the minimum standards for
licensing, the United States Department of Housing and Urban
Development (HUD) would step in and do so. Prior to the passage of
the SAFE Act, Missouri had not previously licensed mortgage loan
originators, only non-exempt mortgage companies. In response to the
passage of the SAFE Act, the Missouri Legislature passed HB 382
(codified at sections 443.701–443.893, RSMo), 2009, known as the
Missouri Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing and
Residential Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act. Governor Nixon signed
the bill on July 8, 2009, and it went into effect upon signing based
on the emergency clause included in the bill. During the weeks imme-
diately following, division staff compiled informational packets on
specific areas of potential regulation for the director and deputy
director’s review. These packets included laws and regulations of
other states that had licensed mortgage loan originators prior to the
SAFE Act, legal analysis, and staff recommendations. Once the divi-
sion determined the specific areas to address through rulemaking,
staff was directed to start drafting the language for the rules. In the
interim, a meeting with the Missouri Association of Mortgage
Brokers was scheduled for and held on August 18, 2009.  Meetings
with the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association and Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association followed on September 1, 2009, and
October 6, 2009, respectively.  During this time, numerous internal
drafts were circulated within the division for review and comment.
Division staff met with members of the Missouri Association of
Mortgage Brokers on November 17, 2009, in St. Charles. On
December 15, 2009, HUD published its proposed rules in the
Federal Register, which was reviewed by division staff in order to
ensure its draft regulations were in line with the intent and terms of
the SAFE Act.  Throughout December, the division worked to finalize
its internal draft.  The division met with the Missouri Manufactured
Housing Association again on January 6, 2010. Division staff also
met with members of the Kansas City mortgage broker and mortgage
banking industries on January 12 and 21, 2010, respectively.  In late
January, the division, as proscribed by section 443.816.1, RSMo,
presented its rules to the Residential Mortgage Board (board) for its
consideration. The board held a public meeting in Columbia,
Missouri, on February 3, 2010, at which time the text of the rules
were discussed and the board directed the division to make certain
revisions to the rules. The changes were made, and copies of the rules
were sent to the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association,
Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers, and the Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association. Thereafter, the division again met
with the Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers and Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association on February 10 and 25, 2010, respec-
tively, to discuss the rules and topics of concern. The division
believed that these industry groups had raised several meritorious
points. Following both meetings, the division worked to incorporate
these ideas into the latest draft of the rules for the board’s consider-
ation. On March 8, 2010, the division met with the St. Louis Chapter

of the National Association of Mortgage Professionals for Women to
discuss the rules and topics of concern. On March 10, 2010, the divi-
sion held an open forum in Jefferson City for current and potential
future Missouri licensees to discuss the rules and topics of concern.
Once again, the division made additional changes to the rules.
Lastly, the board met once again on March 30, 2010, and directed the
division to make additional changes to the rules and approved the
final version of the rules that were to be filed with the secretary of
state. Section 443.706.2, RSMo, provides that all individual mort-
gage loan originators must be licensed by July 31, 2010. By enacting
the following rules, Missouri will have provisions in place that meet
the standards and time frames set forth in the SAFE Act. If the state
does not enact the following rules, it will be considered out-of-com-
pliance with federal requirements and may lose its authority to regu-
late mortgage loan originators. In such an event, HUD would then
regulate mortgage loan originators in place of the state. The Division
of Finance believes state-based regulation is preferable to federal
regulation because strong consumer protections have long been
embedded in the state-based regulatory structure.  If the rules are not
allowed to be filed on an emergency basis, the division is concerned
that such failure: 1) would unduly expose Missourians to mortgage
fraud, which was one (1) of the major contributing factors to the
mortgage crisis; 2) will impede its ability to orderly transition mort-
gage loan originators seeking licensure in Missouri onto the nation-
al mortgage database and to meaningfully enforce the mandates
bestowed upon it by the Missouri Secure and Fair Enforcement for
Mortgage Licensing and Residential Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act;
and 3) risk HUD taking over the regulation and licensing of mortgage
loan originators in Missouri. Therefore, the division finds a com-
pelling governmental interest which requires this emergency action. A
proposed rule, which covers the same material, is published in this
issue of the Missouri Register. The scope of this emergency rule is
limited to the conditions creating the emergency and complies with
the protections extended in the Missouri and United States
Constitutions. As was noted earlier, in developing this emergency
rule, and in order to assure fairness to all interested persons and par-
ties under the circumstances, the division, prior to and contempora-
neous with the drafting of the proposed rules, has met and been in
contact with members and representatives of the Missouri Association
of Mortgage Brokers, the Missouri Mortgage Bankers Association,
and the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association since last year.
The division believes these associations are the largest representa-
tives for the mortgage industry in Missouri. Furthermore, the division
provided the associations’ representatives with a copy of the proposed
rules in February for their review and comment.  The division also
provided an advance copy of the proposed rules to Beyond Housing,
which is a provider of housing and support services for low-income
families and homeowners in the St. Louis area. Since that time, the
division has received numerous comments, questions, and sugges-
tions, some of which have been incorporated into the proposed rules
filed herewith. The division believes this emergency rule is fair to all
interested persons and parties under the circumstances. This emer-
gency rule was filed April 5, 2010, becomes effective April 18, 2010,
and expires January 26, 2011.

(1) A mortgage loan originator may challenge the accuracy of infor-
mation entered by the director to the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing
System and Registry (NMLSR) regarding the mortgage loan origina-
tor by filing a written appeal with the director. The appeal shall spec-
ify what information is alleged to be in error and the basis of said
belief. The appeal shall also include any documentation believed to
support the mortgage loan originator’s claim. The director shall
review the appeal and notify the mortgage loan originator of the
director’s decision within thirty (30) days of receipt of the appeal,
which shall represent the director’s final decision.

AUTHORITY: sections 443.727, 443.869, and 443.887, RSMo Supp.
2009. Emergency rule filed April 5, 2010, effective April 18, 2010,
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expires Jan. 26, 2011. A proposed rule covering this same material is
published in this issue of the Missouri Register.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE,
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 1140—Division of Finance

Chapter 30—Mortgage Broker and Originator Rules

EMERGENCY RULE

20 CSR 1140-30.240 Operations and Supervision of Residential
Mortgage Loan Brokers

PURPOSE: This rule establishes procedures and guidelines for the
licensing of residential mortgage loan brokers and the fees associat-
ed therewith.

EMERGENCY STATEMENT: This emergency rule is necessary to
protect a compelling governmental interest as the provisions related
to the registration and licensing of mortgage loan originators are
required for the state to comply with Section 1508 of Public Law 110-
289, Title V, the Secure and Fair Enforcement Mortgage Licensing
Act of 2008 (SAFE Act or Act). The Act was signed into law by
President George Bush on July 30, 2008, as part of the Housing and
Economic Recovery Act of 2008. The Act directed states to adopt a
licensing and registration law for loan originators that met the min-
imum standards specified in the SAFE Act, within one (1) year of its
signing.  The legislation also provided that should a state fail 1) to
adopt such a licensing system or 2) meet the minimum standards for
licensing, the United States Department of Housing and Urban
Development (HUD) would step in and do so. Prior to the passage
of the SAFE Act, Missouri had not previously licensed mortgage loan
originators, only non-exempt mortgage companies. In response to the
passage of the SAFE Act, the Missouri Legislature passed HB 382
(codified at sections 443.701–443.893, RSMo), 2009, known as the
Missouri Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing and
Residential Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act. Governor Nixon signed
the bill on July 8, 2009, and it went into effect upon signing based
on the emergency clause included in the bill. During the weeks imme-
diately following, division staff compiled informational packets on
specific areas of potential regulation for the director and deputy
director’s review. These packets included laws and regulations of
other states that had licensed mortgage loan originators prior to the
SAFE Act, legal analysis, and staff recommendations. Once the divi-
sion determined the specific areas to address through rulemaking,
staff was directed to start drafting the language for the rules. In the
interim, a meeting with the Missouri Association of Mortgage
Brokers was scheduled for and held on August 18, 2009.  Meetings
with the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association and Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association followed on September 1, 2009, and
October 6, 2009, respectively.  During this time, numerous internal
drafts were circulated within the division for review and comment.
Division staff met with members of the Missouri Association of
Mortgage Brokers on November 17, 2009, in St. Charles. On
December 15, 2009, HUD published its proposed rules in the
Federal Register, which was reviewed by division staff in order to
ensure its draft regulations were in line with the intent and terms of
the SAFE Act. Throughout December, the division worked to finalize
its internal draft.  The division met with the Missouri Manufactured
Housing Association again on January 6, 2010. Division staff also
met with members of the Kansas City mortgage broker and mortgage
banking industries on January 12 and 21, 2010, respectively.  In late
January, the division, as proscribed by section 443.816.1, RSMo,
presented its rules to the Residential Mortgage Board (board) for its
consideration. The board held a public meeting in Columbia,
Missouri, on February 3, 2010, at which time the text of the rules

were discussed and the board directed the division to make certain
revisions to the rules. The changes were made, and copies of the
rules were sent to the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association,
Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers, and the Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association. Thereafter, the division again met
with the Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers and Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association on February 10 and 25, 2010, respec-
tively, to discuss the rules and topics of concern. The division
believed that these industry groups had raised several meritorious
points. Following both meetings, the division worked to incorporate
these ideas into the latest draft of the rules for the board’s consider-
ation. On March 8, 2010, the division met with the St. Louis Chapter
of the National Association of Mortgage Professionals for Women to
discuss the rules and topics of concern. On March 10, 2010, the divi-
sion held an open forum in Jefferson City for current and potential
future Missouri licensees to discuss the rules and topics of concern.
Once again, the division made additional changes to the rules.
Lastly, the board met once again on March 30, 2010, and directed
the division to make additional changes to the rules and approved the
final version of the rules that were to be filed with the secretary of
state. Section 443.706.2, RSMo, provides that all individual mort-
gage loan originators must be licensed by July 31, 2010. By enacting
the following rules, Missouri will have provisions in place that meet
the standards and time frames set forth in the SAFE Act. If the state
does not enact the following rules, it will be considered out-of-com-
pliance with federal requirements and may lose its authority to regu-
late mortgage loan originators. In such an event, HUD would then
regulate mortgage loan originators in place of the state. The Division
of Finance believes state-based regulation is preferable to federal
regulation because strong consumer protections have long been
embedded in the state-based regulatory structure.  If the rules are not
allowed to be filed on an emergency basis, the division is concerned
that such failure: 1) would unduly expose Missourians to mortgage
fraud, which was one (1) of the major contributing factors to the
mortgage crisis; 2) will impede its ability to orderly transition mort-
gage loan originators seeking licensure in Missouri onto the nation-
al mortgage database and to meaningfully enforce the mandates
bestowed upon it by the Missouri Secure and Fair Enforcement for
Mortgage Licensing and Residential Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act;
and 3) risk HUD taking over the regulation and licensing of mortgage
loan originators in Missouri. Therefore, the division finds a com-
pelling governmental interest which requires this emergency action.
A proposed rule, which covers the same material, is published in this
issue of the Missouri Register. The scope of this emergency rule is
limited to the conditions creating the emergency and complies with
the protections extended in the Missouri and United States
Constitutions. As was noted earlier, in developing this emergency
rule, and in order to assure fairness to all interested persons and par-
ties under the circumstances, the division, prior to and contempora-
neous with the drafting of the proposed rules, has met and been in
contact with members and representatives of the Missouri
Association of Mortgage Brokers, the Missouri Mortgage Bankers
Association, and the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association
since last year. The division believes these associations are the
largest representatives for the mortgage industry in Missouri.
Furthermore, the division provided the associations’ representatives
with a copy of the proposed rules in February for their review and
comment.  The division also provided an advance copy of the pro-
posed rules to Beyond Housing, which is a provider of housing and
support services for low-income families and homeowners in the St.
Louis area. Since that time, the division has received numerous com-
ments, questions, and suggestions, some of which have been incor-
porated into the proposed rules filed herewith. The division believes
this emergency rule is fair to all interested persons and parties under
the circumstances. This emergency rule was filed April 5, 2010,
becomes effective April 18, 2010, and expires January 26, 2011.

(1) Initial Licensing. Applications for an initial broker’s license shall
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be in a form prescribed by the director and shall include a nonre-
fundable license investigation fee which shall be set by the director
from time-to-time, not to exceed one thousand five hundred dollars
($1,500).

(A) Failure to meet a request for additional information within ten
(10) business days may result in denial of the application. A denial
under such circumstances shall not affect subsequent applications
filed with the appropriate investigation fee.

(B) Upon approval of an initial broker’s license, the director shall
collect a nonrefundable license fee, which shall be set by the direc-
tor from time-to-time, not to exceed one thousand five hundred dol-
lars ($1,500). The license fee shall cover the licensing of the broker’s
main office in Missouri. Additional licensing fees for the establish-
ment of branch locations will apply as provided for in these rules.

(2) Renewal Applications. Applications for renewal of a broker’s
license shall be in a form prescribed by the director and may require
a nonrefundable license investigation fee which shall be set by the
director from time-to-time, not to exceed one thousand five hundred
dollars ($1,500). Such completed renewal application shall be
received by the director at least sixty (60) days prior to such
licensee’s biennial renewal date. Upon approval of a biennial renew-
al of a broker’s license, the director shall collect a nonrefundable
renewal license fee, which shall be set from time-to-time by the
director, not to exceed three thousand dollars ($3,000), one half (½)
of which is to be paid upon issuance of the license, and the balance
one (1) year thereafter. Failure by an existing licensee to submit a
renewal application and any applicable investigation fees to the direc-
tor at least sixty (60) days in advance of a licensee’s biennial renew-
al date may not allow sufficient time for the director to process the
licensee’s renewal application and may result in the expiration of
licensee’s existing license.

(3) Fees. The director may assess the reasonable costs of an investi-
gation incurred by the division that are outside the normal expense of
any annual or special examination or any other costs incurred by the
division as a result of a licensee’s violation of sections 443.701 to
443.893, RSMo, or these rules.

(A) For each duplicate original license issued, the director shall
collect a duplicate original license fee not to exceed one hundred fifty
dollars ($150).

(B) For each amended license issued, the director shall collect an
amended original license fee not to exceed one hundred fifty dollars
($150).

(C) For each notice of change of officers or directors or change of
name or address, the director shall collect a fee not to exceed one
hundred fifty dollars ($150). A broker must report any change in
directors or principal officers within thirty (30) days to the director.

(D) Each licensee who intends to operate and maintain an addi-
tional full-service office shall file a Notice of Intent to Establish an
Additional Full-Service Office on a form prescribed by the director,
thirty (30) days prior to the proposed operation; the director shall
collect a fee not to exceed one hundred fifty dollars ($150) at the time
the notice is filed.

AUTHORITY: sections 443.821, 443.825, 443.827, 443.833,
443.839, 443.843, 443.869, and 443.887, RSMo Supp. 2009.
Emergency rule filed April 5, 2010, effective April 18, 2010, expires
Jan. 26, 2011. A proposed rule covering this same material is pub-
lished in this issue of the Missouri Register.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE,
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 1140—Division of Finance

Chapter 30—Mortgage Broker and Originator Rules

EMERGENCY RULE

20 CSR 1140-30.250 Change in Business Activities

PURPOSE: This rule establishes procedures and guidelines for mort-
gage loan brokers to follow in the event there is a change in their
respective business activities and the fees and notice requirements
associated therewith.

EMERGENCY STATEMENT: This emergency rule is necessary to
protect a compelling governmental interest as the provisions related
to the registration and licensing of mortgage loan originators are
required for the state to comply with Section 1508 of Public Law 110-
289, Title V, the Secure and Fair Enforcement Mortgage Licensing
Act of 2008 (SAFE Act or Act). The Act was signed into law by
President George Bush on July 30, 2008, as part of the Housing and
Economic Recovery Act of 2008. The Act directed states to adopt a
licensing and registration law for loan originators that met the min-
imum standards specified in the SAFE Act, within one (1) year of its
signing.  The legislation also provided that should a state fail 1) to
adopt such a licensing system or 2) meet the minimum standards for
licensing, the United States Department of Housing and Urban
Development (HUD) would step in and do so. Prior to the passage of
the SAFE Act, Missouri had not previously licensed mortgage loan
originators, only non-exempt mortgage companies. In response to the
passage of the SAFE Act, the Missouri Legislature passed HB 382
(codified at sections 443.701–443.893, RSMo), 2009, known as the
Missouri Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing and
Residential Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act. Governor Nixon signed
the bill on July 8, 2009, and it went into effect upon signing based
on the emergency clause included in the bill. During the weeks imme-
diately following, division staff compiled informational packets on
specific areas of potential regulation for the director and deputy
director’s review. These packets included laws and regulations of
other states that had licensed mortgage loan originators prior to the
SAFE Act, legal analysis, and staff recommendations. Once the divi-
sion determined the specific areas to address through rulemaking,
staff was directed to start drafting the language for the rules. In the
interim, a meeting with the Missouri Association of Mortgage
Brokers was scheduled for and held on August 18, 2009.  Meetings
with the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association and Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association followed on September 1, 2009, and
October 6, 2009, respectively.  During this time, numerous internal
drafts were circulated within the division for review and comment.
Division staff met with members of the Missouri Association of
Mortgage Brokers on November 17, 2009, in St. Charles. On
December 15, 2009, HUD published its proposed rules in the
Federal Register, which was reviewed by division staff in order to
ensure its draft regulations were in line with the intent and terms of
the SAFE Act. Throughout December, the division worked to finalize
its internal draft.  The division met with the Missouri Manufactured
Housing Association again on January 6, 2010. Division staff also
met with members of the Kansas City mortgage broker and mortgage
banking industries on January 12 and 21, 2010, respectively.  In late
January, the division, as proscribed by section 443.816.1, RSMo,
presented its rules to the Residential Mortgage Board (board) for its
consideration. The board held a public meeting in Columbia,
Missouri, on February 3, 2010, at which time the text of the rules
were discussed and the board directed the division to make certain
revisions to the rules. The changes were made, and copies of the rules
were sent to the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association,
Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers, and the Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association. Thereafter, the division again met
with the Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers and Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association on February 10 and 25, 2010, respec-
tively, to discuss the rules and topics of concern. The division
believed that these industry groups had raised several meritorious
points. Following both meetings, the division worked to incorporate
these ideas into the latest draft of the rules for the board’s consider-
ation. On March 8, 2010, the division met with the St. Louis Chapter
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of the National Association of Mortgage Professionals for Women to
discuss the rules and topics of concern. On March 10, 2010, the divi-
sion held an open forum in Jefferson City for current and potential
future Missouri licensees to discuss the rules and topics of concern.
Once again, the division made additional changes to the rules.
Lastly, the board met once again on March 30, 2010, and directed
the division to make additional changes to the rules and approved the
final version of the rules that were to be filed with the secretary of
state. Section 443.706.2, RSMo, provides that all individual mort-
gage loan originators must be licensed by July 31, 2010. By enacting
the following rules, Missouri will have provisions in place that meet
the standards and time frames set forth in the SAFE Act. If the state
does not enact the following rules, it will be considered out-of-com-
pliance with federal requirements and may lose its authority to regu-
late mortgage loan originators. In such an event, HUD would then
regulate mortgage loan originators in place of the state. The Division
of Finance believes state-based regulation is preferable to federal
regulation because strong consumer protections have long been
embedded in the state-based regulatory structure.  If the rules are not
allowed to be filed on an emergency basis, the division is concerned
that such failure: 1) would unduly expose Missourians to mortgage
fraud, which was one (1) of the major contributing factors to the
mortgage crisis; 2) will impede its ability to orderly transition mort-
gage loan originators seeking licensure in Missouri onto the nation-
al mortgage database and to meaningfully enforce the mandates
bestowed upon it by the Missouri Secure and Fair Enforcement for
Mortgage Licensing and Residential Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act;
and 3) risk HUD taking over the regulation and licensing of mortgage
loan originators in Missouri. Therefore, the division finds a com-
pelling governmental interest which requires this emergency action.
A proposed rule, which covers the same material, is published in this
issue of the Missouri Register. The scope of this emergency rule is
limited to the conditions creating the emergency and complies with
the protections extended in the Missouri and United States
Constitutions. As was noted earlier, in developing this emergency
rule, and in order to assure fairness to all interested persons and par-
ties under the circumstances, the division, prior to and contempora-
neous with the drafting of the proposed rules, has met and been in
contact with members and representatives of the Missouri
Association of Mortgage Brokers, the Missouri Mortgage Bankers
Association, and the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association
since last year. The division believes these associations are the
largest representatives for the mortgage industry in Missouri.
Furthermore, the division provided the associations’ representatives
with a copy of the proposed rules in February for their review and
comment.  The division also provided an advance copy of the pro-
posed rules to Beyond Housing, which is a provider of housing and
support services for low-income families and homeowners in the St.
Louis area. Since that time, the division has received numerous com-
ments, questions, and suggestions, some of which have been incor-
porated into the proposed rules filed herewith. The division believes
this emergency rule is fair to all interested persons and parties under
the circumstances. This emergency rule was filed April 5, 2010,
becomes effective April 18, 2010, and expires January 26, 2011.

(1) A broker shall return his/her license to the director within ten
(10) days upon a licensee closing a full-service office or his/her deci-
sion to discontinue brokering, originating, or servicing.

(2) Prior to a change of ownership or control, a broker and/or a
prospective purchaser shall submit an application on a form pre-
scribed by the director, which shall be submitted with the applicable
fee not to exceed one hundred fifty dollars ($150) at least forty-five
(45) days prior to the proposed change. All proposed changes must
be approved by the director. Failure to obtain the director’s prior
approval may result in administrative action against the broker’s
license.

(3) A broker shall file an Application for Change of Name or
Address, with the applicable fee, ten (10) business days in advance,
on a form prescribed by the director. The name change shall be
approved unless deceptively similar to another name or is otherwise
prohibited by law.

AUTHORITY: sections 443.843, 443.869, and 443.887, RSMo Supp.
2009. Emergency rule filed April 5, 2010, effective April 18, 2010,
expires Jan. 26, 2011. A proposed rule covering this same material is
published in this issue of the Missouri Register.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE,
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 1140—Division of Finance

Chapter 30—Mortgage Broker and Originator Rules

EMERGENCY RULE

20 CSR 1140-30.260 Full-Service Office Requirement

PURPOSE: This rule establishes operations and supervision guide-
lines concerning the full in-state service office requirement.

EMERGENCY STATEMENT: This emergency rule is necessary to
protect a compelling governmental interest as the provisions related
to the registration and licensing of mortgage loan originators are
required for the state to comply with Section 1508 of Public Law 110-
289, Title V, the Secure and Fair Enforcement Mortgage Licensing
Act of 2008 (SAFE Act or Act). The Act was signed into law by
President George Bush on July 30, 2008, as part of the Housing and
Economic Recovery Act of 2008. The Act directed states to adopt a
licensing and registration law for loan originators that met the min-
imum standards specified in the SAFE Act, within one (1) year of its
signing.  The legislation also provided that should a state fail 1) to
adopt such a licensing system or 2) meet the minimum standards for
licensing, the United States Department of Housing and Urban
Development (HUD) would step in and do so. Prior to the passage
of the SAFE Act, Missouri had not previously licensed mortgage loan
originators, only non-exempt mortgage companies. In response to the
passage of the SAFE Act, the Missouri Legislature passed HB 382
(codified at sections 443.701–443.893, RSMo), 2009, known as the
Missouri Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing and
Residential Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act. Governor Nixon signed
the bill on July 8, 2009, and it went into effect upon signing based
on the emergency clause included in the bill. During the weeks imme-
diately following, division staff compiled informational packets on
specific areas of potential regulation for the director and deputy
director’s review. These packets included laws and regulations of
other states that had licensed mortgage loan originators prior to the
SAFE Act, legal analysis, and staff recommendations. Once the divi-
sion determined the specific areas to address through rulemaking,
staff was directed to start drafting the language for the rules. In the
interim, a meeting with the Missouri Association of Mortgage
Brokers was scheduled for and held on August 18, 2009.  Meetings
with the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association and Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association followed on September 1, 2009, and
October 6, 2009, respectively.  During this time, numerous internal
drafts were circulated within the division for review and comment.
Division staff met with members of the Missouri Association of
Mortgage Brokers on November 17, 2009, in St. Charles. On
December 15, 2009, HUD published its proposed rules in the
Federal Register, which was reviewed by division staff in order to
ensure its draft regulations were in line with the intent and terms of
the SAFE Act. Throughout December, the division worked to finalize
its internal draft.  The division met with the Missouri Manufactured
Housing Association again on January 6, 2010. Division staff also
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met with members of the Kansas City mortgage broker and mortgage
banking industries on January 12 and 21, 2010, respectively.  In late
January, the division, as proscribed by section 443.816.1, RSMo,
presented its rules to the Residential Mortgage Board (board) for its
consideration. The board held a public meeting in Columbia,
Missouri, on February 3, 2010, at which time the text of the rules
were discussed and the board directed the division to make certain
revisions to the rules. The changes were made, and copies of the rules
were sent to the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association,
Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers, and the Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association. Thereafter, the division again met
with the Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers and Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association on February 10 and 25, 2010, respec-
tively, to discuss the rules and topics of concern. The division
believed that these industry groups had raised several meritorious
points. Following both meetings, the division worked to incorporate
these ideas into the latest draft of the rules for the board’s consider-
ation. On March 8, 2010, the division met with the St. Louis Chapter
of the National Association of Mortgage Professionals for Women to
discuss the rules and topics of concern. On March 10, 2010, the divi-
sion held an open forum in Jefferson City for current and potential
future Missouri licensees to discuss the rules and topics of concern.
Once again, the division made additional changes to the rules.
Lastly, the board met once again on March 30, 2010, and directed the
division to make additional changes to the rules and approved the
final version of the rules that were to be filed with the secretary of
state. Section 443.706.2, RSMo, provides that all individual mort-
gage loan originators must be licensed by July 31, 2010. By enacting
the following rules, Missouri will have provisions in place that meet
the standards and time frames set forth in the SAFE Act. If the state
does not enact the following rules, it will be considered out-of-com-
pliance with federal requirements and may lose its authority to regu-
late mortgage loan originators. In such an event, HUD would then
regulate mortgage loan originators in place of the state. The Division
of Finance believes state-based regulation is preferable to federal
regulation because strong consumer protections have long been
embedded in the state-based regulatory structure.  If the rules are not
allowed to be filed on an emergency basis, the division is concerned
that such failure: 1) would unduly expose Missourians to mortgage
fraud, which was one (1) of the major contributing factors to the
mortgage crisis; 2) will impede its ability to orderly transition mort-
gage loan originators seeking licensure in Missouri onto the nation-
al mortgage database and to meaningfully enforce the mandates
bestowed upon it by the Missouri Secure and Fair Enforcement for
Mortgage Licensing and Residential Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act;
and 3) risk HUD taking over the regulation and licensing of mortgage
loan originators in Missouri. Therefore, the division finds a com-
pelling governmental interest which requires this emergency action. A
proposed rule, which covers the same material, is published in this
issue of the Missouri Register. The scope of this emergency rule is
limited to the conditions creating the emergency and complies with
the protections extended in the Missouri and United States
Constitutions. As was noted earlier, in developing this emergency
rule, and in order to assure fairness to all interested persons and par-
ties under the circumstances, the division, prior to and contempora-
neous with the drafting of the proposed rules, has met and been in
contact with members and representatives of the Missouri Association
of Mortgage Brokers, the Missouri Mortgage Bankers Association,
and the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association since last year.
The division believes these associations are the largest representa-
tives for the mortgage industry in Missouri. Furthermore, the division
provided the associations’ representatives with a copy of the proposed
rules in February for their review and comment.  The division also
provided an advance copy of the proposed rules to Beyond Housing,
which is a provider of housing and support services for low-income
families and homeowners in the St. Louis area. Since that time, the
division has received numerous comments, questions, and sugges-
tions, some of which have been incorporated into the proposed rules

filed herewith. The division believes this emergency rule is fair to all
interested persons and parties under the circumstances. This emer-
gency rule was filed April 5, 2010, becomes effective April 18, 2010,
and expires January 26, 2011.

(1) Each broker shall maintain at least one (1) full-service office
located in Missouri consistent with sections 443.703.1(12) and
443.857, RSMo. At a minimum, each Missouri office must be
staffed by one (1) supervised licensed mortgage loan originator and
such staff as is needed to efficiently administer the tasks mandated
by section 443.703.1(12), RSMo. The office location shall have a
street address and shall not be a post office box or similar designa-
tion and shall be the address where the director is to send all corre-
spondence, official notices, and orders; the broker shall be responsi-
ble for keeping the director informed of any changes in said address.
In determining whether a broker handles such matters in a reason-
ably adequate manner, the director may consider consumer com-
plaints received regarding said broker, information obtained from
examinations conducted by the division, and reports filed with the
division. If it is determined that a broker is not in compliance with
section 443.857, RSMo, the director shall notify the broker in writ-
ing detailing the requirements to achieve compliance, along with a
reasonable deadline.

(A) Each full-service office shall also comply with any applicable
local zoning ordinances and shall post any occupational licenses
required by law or regulation. 

AUTHORITY: sections 443.703.1(12), 443.857, 443.869, and
443.887, RSMo Supp. 2009. Emergency rule filed April 5, 2010,
effective April 18, 2010, expires Jan. 26, 2011. A proposed rule cov-
ering this same material is published in this issue of the Missouri
Register.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE,
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 1140—Division of Finance

Chapter 30—Mortgage Broker and Originator Rules

EMERGENCY RULE

20 CSR 1140-30.270 Maintenance of Records

PURPOSE: This rule establishes guidelines for the maintenance of
required records to be kept by residential mortgage loan brokers and
the penalty for failure to do so.

EMERGENCY STATEMENT: This emergency rule is necessary to
protect a compelling governmental interest as the provisions related
to the registration and licensing of mortgage loan originators are
required for the state to comply with Section 1508 of Public Law 110-
289, Title V, the Secure and Fair Enforcement Mortgage Licensing
Act of 2008 (SAFE Act or Act). The Act was signed into law by
President George Bush on July 30, 2008, as part of the Housing and
Economic Recovery Act of 2008. The Act directed states to adopt a
licensing and registration law for loan originators that met the min-
imum standards specified in the SAFE Act, within one (1) year of its
signing.  The legislation also provided that should a state fail 1) to
adopt such a licensing system or 2) meet the minimum standards for
licensing, the United States Department of Housing and Urban
Development (HUD) would step in and do so. Prior to the passage of
the SAFE Act, Missouri had not previously licensed mortgage loan
originators, only non-exempt mortgage companies. In response to the
passage of the SAFE Act, the Missouri Legislature passed HB 382
(codified at sections 443.701–443.893, RSMo), 2009, known as the
Missouri Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing and
Residential Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act. Governor Nixon signed
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the bill on July 8, 2009, and it went into effect upon signing based
on the emergency clause included in the bill. During the weeks imme-
diately following, division staff compiled informational packets on
specific areas of potential regulation for the director and deputy
director’s review. These packets included laws and regulations of
other states that had licensed mortgage loan originators prior to the
SAFE Act, legal analysis, and staff recommendations. Once the divi-
sion determined the specific areas to address through rulemaking,
staff was directed to start drafting the language for the rules. In the
interim, a meeting with the Missouri Association of Mortgage
Brokers was scheduled for and held on August 18, 2009.  Meetings
with the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association and Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association followed on September 1, 2009, and
October 6, 2009, respectively.  During this time, numerous internal
drafts were circulated within the division for review and comment.
Division staff met with members of the Missouri Association of
Mortgage Brokers on November 17, 2009, in St. Charles. On
December 15, 2009, HUD published its proposed rules in the
Federal Register, which was reviewed by division staff in order to
ensure its draft regulations were in line with the intent and terms of
the SAFE Act.  Throughout December, the division worked to final-
ize its internal draft. The division met with the Missouri
Manufactured Housing Association again on January 6, 2010.
Division staff also met with members of the Kansas City mortgage
broker and mortgage banking industries on January 12 and 21, 2010,
respectively.  In late January, the division, as proscribed by section
443.816.1, RSMo, presented its rules to the Residential Mortgage
Board (board) for its consideration. The board held a public meeting
in Columbia, Missouri, on February 3, 2010, at which time the text
of the rules were discussed and the board directed the division to
make certain revisions to the rules. The changes were made, and
copies of the rules were sent to the Missouri Manufactured Housing
Association, Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers, and the
Missouri Mortgage Bankers Association. Thereafter, the division
again met with the Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers and
Missouri Mortgage Bankers Association on February 10 and 25,
2010, respectively, to discuss the rules and topics of concern. The
division believed that these industry groups had raised several meri-
torious points. Following both meetings, the division worked to incor-
porate these ideas into the latest draft of the rules for the board’s
consideration. On March 8, 2010, the division met with the St. Louis
Chapter of the National Association of Mortgage Professionals for
Women to discuss the rules and topics of concern. On March 10,
2010, the division held an open forum in Jefferson City for current
and potential future Missouri licensees to discuss the rules and top-
ics of concern. Once again, the division made additional changes to
the rules. Lastly, the board met once again on March 30, 2010, and
directed the division to make additional changes to the rules and
approved the final version of the rules that were to be filed with the
secretary of state. Section 443.706.2, RSMo, provides that all indi-
vidual mortgage loan originators must be licensed by July 31, 2010.
By enacting the following rules, Missouri will have provisions in
place that meet the standards and time frames set forth in the SAFE
Act. If the state does not enact the following rules, it will be consid-
ered out-of-compliance with federal requirements and may lose its
authority to regulate mortgage loan originators. In such an event,
HUD would then regulate mortgage loan originators in place of the
state. The Division of Finance believes state-based regulation is
preferable to federal regulation because strong consumer protections
have long been embedded in the state-based regulatory structure.  If
the rules are not allowed to be filed on an emergency basis, the divi-
sion is concerned that such failure: 1) would unduly expose
Missourians to mortgage fraud, which was one (1) of the major con-
tributing factors to the mortgage crisis; 2) will impede its ability to
orderly transition mortgage loan originators seeking licensure in
Missouri onto the national mortgage database and to meaningfully
enforce the mandates bestowed upon it by the Missouri Secure and

Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing and Residential Mortgage
Brokers Licensing Act; and 3) risk HUD taking over the regulation
and licensing of mortgage loan originators in Missouri. Therefore,
the division finds a compelling governmental interest which requires
this emergency action. A proposed rule, which covers the same mate-
rial, is published in this issue of the Missouri Register. The scope of
this emergency rule is limited to the conditions creating the emer-
gency and complies with the protections extended in the Missouri
and United States Constitutions. As was noted earlier, in developing
this emergency rule, and in order to assure fairness to all interested
persons and parties under the circumstances, the division, prior to
and contemporaneous with the drafting of the proposed rules, has
met and been in contact with members and representatives of the
Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers, the Missouri Mortgage
Bankers Association, and the Missouri Manufactured Housing
Association since last year. The division believes these associations
are the largest representatives for the mortgage industry in Missouri.
Furthermore, the division provided the associations’ representatives
with a copy of the proposed rules in February for their review and
comment. The division also provided an advance copy of the pro-
posed rules to Beyond Housing, which is a provider of housing and
support services for low-income families and homeowners in the St.
Louis area. Since that time, the division has received numerous com-
ments, questions, and suggestions, some of which have been incor-
porated into the proposed rules filed herewith. The division believes
this emergency rule is fair to all interested persons and parties under
the circumstances. This emergency rule was filed April 5, 2010,
becomes effective April 18, 2010, and expires January 26, 2011.

(1) Each broker shall maintain an application log and shall produce
it for examination by the director. It shall contain at least the follow-
ing concerning each residential mortgage loan application received
during the previous thirty-six (36) months:

(A) Full name of all applicants;
(B) Date of application;
(C) Name of the mortgage loan originator responsible for the loan

application whose name and Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System
and Registry (NMLSR) unique identifier also appears on the appli-
cation;

(D) Disposition of the mortgage loan application and date of dis-
position. The log shall indicate the result of the loan transaction. The
disposition of the application shall be categorized as one (1) of the
following: loan closed, loan denied, application withdrawn, applica-
tion in process, or other explanation;

(E) Address of the property;
(F) Amount of the loan; and
(G) The terms of the loan and/or loan program.

(2) An application log shall be maintained at the broker’s main
Missouri office. The log shall be kept current. Records may be kept
at a branch, but the broker’s main Missouri office must have a cur-
rent log updated no less frequently than every seven (7) days. The
failure to enter said information to the log within seven (7) days from
the date of the occurrence of the event required to be recorded in the
log shall be deemed a failure to keep the log current.

(3) Failure to maintain an application log or to keep the log current
may be grounds for suspension or revocation of the license or other
appropriate administrative action and may subject the broker to fines
authorized by the Secure and Fair Enforcement Mortgage Licensing
Act of 2008.

AUTHORITY: sections 443.869 and 443.887, RSMo Supp. 2009.
Emergency rule filed April 5, 2010, effective April 18, 2010, expires
Jan. 26, 2011. A proposed rule covering this same material is pub-
lished in this issue of the Missouri Register.
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Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE,
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 1140—Division of Finance

Chapter 30—Mortgage Broker and Originator Rules

EMERGENCY RULE

20 CSR 1140-30.280 Authorized Advance Fees and Escrow Re-
quirements

PURPOSE: This rule establishes general practices and guidelines for
residential mortgage loan brokers with regard to what advance fees
may be collected and placement of said fees.  This rule also sets forth
guidelines for the collection and disbursement of rate-lock fees.

EMERGENCY STATEMENT: This emergency rule is necessary to
protect a compelling governmental interest as the provisions related
to the registration and licensing of mortgage loan originators are
required for the state to comply with Section 1508 of Public Law 110-
289, Title V, the Secure and Fair Enforcement Mortgage Licensing
Act of 2008 (SAFE Act or Act). The Act was signed into law by
President George Bush on July 30, 2008, as part of the Housing and
Economic Recovery Act of 2008. The Act directed states to adopt a
licensing and registration law for loan originators that met the min-
imum standards specified in the SAFE Act, within one (1) year of its
signing.  The legislation also provided that should a state fail 1) to
adopt such a licensing system or 2) meet the minimum standards for
licensing, the United States Department of Housing and Urban
Development (HUD) would step in and do so. Prior to the passage of
the SAFE Act, Missouri had not previously licensed mortgage loan
originators, only non-exempt mortgage companies. In response to the
passage of the SAFE Act, the Missouri Legislature passed HB 382
(codified at sections 443.701–443.893, RSMo), 2009, known as the
Missouri Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing and
Residential Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act. Governor Nixon signed
the bill on July 8, 2009, and it went into effect upon signing based
on the emergency clause included in the bill. During the weeks imme-
diately following, division staff compiled informational packets on
specific areas of potential regulation for the director and deputy
director’s review. These packets included laws and regulations of
other states that had licensed mortgage loan originators prior to the
SAFE Act, legal analysis, and staff recommendations. Once the divi-
sion determined the specific areas to address through rulemaking,
staff was directed to start drafting the language for the rules. In the
interim, a meeting with the Missouri Association of Mortgage
Brokers was scheduled for and held on August 18, 2009.  Meetings
with the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association and Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association followed on September 1, 2009, and
October 6, 2009, respectively.  During this time, numerous internal
drafts were circulated within the division for review and comment.
Division staff met with members of the Missouri Association of
Mortgage Brokers on November 17, 2009, in St. Charles. On
December 15, 2009, HUD published its proposed rules in the
Federal Register, which was reviewed by division staff in order to
ensure its draft regulations were in line with the intent and terms of
the SAFE Act.  Throughout December, the division worked to finalize
its internal draft.  The division met with the Missouri Manufactured
Housing Association again on January 6, 2010. Division staff also
met with members of the Kansas City mortgage broker and mortgage
banking industries on January 12 and 21, 2010, respectively.  In late
January, the division, as proscribed by section 443.816.1, RSMo,
presented its rules to the Residential Mortgage Board (board) for its
consideration. The board held a public meeting in Columbia,
Missouri, on February 3, 2010, at which time the text of the rules
were discussed and the board directed the division to make certain
revisions to the rules. The changes were made, and copies of the rules
were sent to the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association,

Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers, and the Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association. Thereafter, the division again met
with the Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers and Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association on February 10 and 25, 2010, respec-
tively, to discuss the rules and topics of concern. The division
believed that these industry groups had raised several meritorious
points. Following both meetings, the division worked to incorporate
these ideas into the latest draft of the rules for the board’s consider-
ation. On March 8, 2010, the division met with the St. Louis Chapter
of the National Association of Mortgage Professionals for Women to
discuss the rules and topics of concern. On March 10, 2010, the divi-
sion held an open forum in Jefferson City for current and potential
future Missouri licensees to discuss the rules and topics of concern.
Once again, the division made additional changes to the rules.
Lastly, the board met once again on March 30, 2010, and directed the
division to make additional changes to the rules and approved the
final version of the rules that were to be filed with the secretary of
state. Section 443.706.2, RSMo, provides that all individual mort-
gage loan originators must be licensed by July 31, 2010. By enacting
the following rules, Missouri will have provisions in place that meet
the standards and time frames set forth in the SAFE Act. If the state
does not enact the following rules, it will be considered out-of-com-
pliance with federal requirements and may lose its authority to regu-
late mortgage loan originators. In such an event, HUD would then
regulate mortgage loan originators in place of the state. The Division
of Finance believes state-based regulation is preferable to federal
regulation because strong consumer protections have long been
embedded in the state-based regulatory structure.  If the rules are not
allowed to be filed on an emergency basis, the division is concerned
that such failure: 1) would unduly expose Missourians to mortgage
fraud, which was one (1) of the major contributing factors to the
mortgage crisis; 2) will impede its ability to orderly transition mort-
gage loan originators seeking licensure in Missouri onto the nation-
al mortgage database and to meaningfully enforce the mandates
bestowed upon it by the Missouri Secure and Fair Enforcement for
Mortgage Licensing and Residential Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act;
and 3) risk HUD taking over the regulation and licensing of mortgage
loan originators in Missouri. Therefore, the division finds a com-
pelling governmental interest which requires this emergency action. A
proposed rule, which covers the same material, is published in this
issue of the Missouri Register. The scope of this emergency rule is
limited to the conditions creating the emergency and complies with
the protections extended in the Missouri and United States
Constitutions. As was noted earlier, in developing this emergency
rule, and in order to assure fairness to all interested persons and par-
ties under the circumstances, the division, prior to and contempora-
neous with the drafting of the proposed rules, has met and been in
contact with members and representatives of the Missouri Association
of Mortgage Brokers, the Missouri Mortgage Bankers Association,
and the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association since last year.
The division believes these associations are the largest representa-
tives for the mortgage industry in Missouri. Furthermore, the division
provided the associations’ representatives with a copy of the proposed
rules in February for their review and comment.  The division also
provided an advance copy of the proposed rules to Beyond Housing,
which is a provider of housing and support services for low-income
families and homeowners in the St. Louis area. Since that time, the
division has received numerous comments, questions, and sugges-
tions, some of which have been incorporated into the proposed rules
filed herewith. The division believes this emergency rule is fair to all
interested persons and parties under the circumstances. This emer-
gency rule was filed April 5, 2010, becomes effective April 18, 2010,
and expires January 26, 2011.

(1) A broker shall not require a borrower to pay any fees or charges
prior to the loan closing, except for—

(A) The actual and necessary charges of third parties needed to
process the application, which shall be administered pursuant to this
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rule; and
(B) A rate-lock fee, provided that the written rate-lock fee agree-

ment signed by both the borrower and the proposed lender includes
the following terms:

1. The expiration date of the fee agreement;
2. The amount of the loan;
3. The maximum interest rate and maximum discount (points); 
4. The term of the loan; 
5. The lender is able to perform under the terms of the fee

agreement; and
6. Subject to verification, the information submitted by the bor-

rower indicates that the loan will be approved in accordance with the
fee agreement.

(2) Refunds on Failure to Close. The rate-lock fee must be refunded
if the loan does not close in accordance with the fee agreement,
except that the fee may be retained upon the lender’s ability to
demonstrate to the director any of the following reasons: the bor-
rower withdrew the loan application; made a material misrepresenta-
tion on the loan application; or failed to provide documentation nec-
essary to the processing or closing of the loan, such documents hav-
ing been timely requested. When the fee is to be retained, the lender
shall send a written notice to the borrower stating the reason for
retaining the fee.

(3) Brokers Failure to Close. If a residential mortgage loan is not
closed through no fault of the applicant, all the charges shall be
refunded to the borrower, except to the extent such charges were
incurred in good faith by the lender on behalf of the borrower for
third-party services.

(4) Nothing in these rules shall be construed as to allow a broker, that
is not a lender, to charge a fee for a rate-lock agreement or otherwise
enter into a rate-lock agreement.

(5) Escrow.  Brokers, not subject to the Department of Housing and
Urban Development escrow regulations, who receive funds that are
to be used for actual and necessary third-party expenses needed to
process the application shall place said funds with one (1) of the fol-
lowing no later than five (5) days after receipt:

(A) A title insurer, title agency, or title agent not affiliated with a
title agency that is authorized to act as an escrow, security, settle-
ment, or closing agent pursuant to Chapter 381, RSMo; 

(B) An unaffiliated depository institution as defined in section
443.703.1(5), RSMo, or first-tier subsidiary or service corporation
thereof that is acting as an escrow agent as defined by section
443.703.1(9), RSMo; or

(C) A licensed attorney.

AUTHORITY: sections 443.865, 443.869, and 443.887, RSMo Supp.
2009. Emergency rule filed April 5, 2010, effective April 18, 2010,
expires Jan. 26, 2011. A proposed rule covering this same material is
published in this issue of the Missouri Register.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE,
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 1140—Division of Finance

Chapter 30—Mortgage Broker and Originator Rules

EMERGENCY RULE

20 CSR 1140-30.290 In-State Office Waiver For Servicers

PURPOSE: This rule establishes the procedures and qualifications
needed for servicers to obtain a waiver for the full in-state service
office requirement.

EMERGENCY STATEMENT: This emergency rule is necessary to
protect a compelling governmental interest as the provisions related
to the registration and licensing of mortgage loan originators are
required for the state to comply with Section 1508 of Public Law 110-
289, Title V, the Secure and Fair Enforcement Mortgage Licensing
Act of 2008 (SAFE Act or Act). The Act was signed into law by
President George Bush on July 30, 2008, as part of the Housing and
Economic Recovery Act of 2008. The Act directed states to adopt a
licensing and registration law for loan originators that met the min-
imum standards specified in the SAFE Act, within one (1) year of its
signing.  The legislation also provided that should a state fail 1) to
adopt such a licensing system or 2) meet the minimum standards for
licensing, the United States Department of Housing and Urban
Development (HUD) would step in and do so. Prior to the passage
of the SAFE Act, Missouri had not previously licensed mortgage loan
originators, only non-exempt mortgage companies. In response to the
passage of the SAFE Act, the Missouri Legislature passed HB 382
(codified at sections 443.701–443.893, RSMo), 2009, known as the
Missouri Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing and
Residential Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act. Governor Nixon signed
the bill on July 8, 2009, and it went into effect upon signing based
on the emergency clause included in the bill. During the weeks imme-
diately following, division staff compiled informational packets on
specific areas of potential regulation for the director and deputy
director’s review. These packets included laws and regulations of
other states that had licensed mortgage loan originators prior to the
SAFE Act, legal analysis, and staff recommendations. Once the divi-
sion determined the specific areas to address through rulemaking,
staff was directed to start drafting the language for the rules. In the
interim, a meeting with the Missouri Association of Mortgage
Brokers was scheduled for and held on August 18, 2009.  Meetings
with the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association and Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association followed on September 1, 2009, and
October 6, 2009, respectively.  During this time, numerous internal
drafts were circulated within the division for review and comment.
Division staff met with members of the Missouri Association of
Mortgage Brokers on November 17, 2009, in St. Charles. On
December 15, 2009, HUD published its proposed rules in the
Federal Register, which was reviewed by division staff in order to
ensure its draft regulations were in line with the intent and terms of
the SAFE Act.  Throughout December, the division worked to final-
ize its internal draft.  The division met with the Missouri
Manufactured Housing Association again on January 6, 2010.
Division staff also met with members of the Kansas City mortgage
broker and mortgage banking industries on January 12 and 21, 2010,
respectively.  In late January, the division, as proscribed by section
443.816.1, RSMo, presented its rules to the Residential Mortgage
Board (board) for its consideration. The board held a public meeting
in Columbia, Missouri, on February 3, 2010, at which time the text
of the rules were discussed and the board directed the division to
make certain revisions to the rules. The changes were made, and
copies of the rules were sent to the Missouri Manufactured Housing
Association, Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers, and the
Missouri Mortgage Bankers Association. Thereafter, the division
again met with the Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers and
Missouri Mortgage Bankers Association on February 10 and 25,
2010, respectively, to discuss the rules and topics of concern. The
division believed that these industry groups had raised several meri-
torious points. Following both meetings, the division worked to incor-
porate these ideas into the latest draft of the rules for the board’s
consideration. On March 8, 2010, the division met with the St. Louis
Chapter of the National Association of Mortgage Professionals for
Women to discuss the rules and topics of concern. On March 10,
2010, the division held an open forum in Jefferson City for current
and potential future Missouri licensees to discuss the rules and top-
ics of concern. Once again, the division made additional changes to
the rules. Lastly, the board met once again on March 30, 2010, and
directed the division to make additional changes to the rules and
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approved the final version of the rules that were to be filed with the
secretary of state. Section 443.706.2, RSMo, provides that all indi-
vidual mortgage loan originators must be licensed by July 31, 2010.
By enacting the following rules, Missouri will have provisions in
place that meet the standards and time frames set forth in the SAFE
Act. If the state does not enact the following rules, it will be consid-
ered out-of-compliance with federal requirements and may lose its
authority to regulate mortgage loan originators. In such an event,
HUD would then regulate mortgage loan originators in place of the
state. The Division of Finance believes state-based regulation is
preferable to federal regulation because strong consumer protections
have long been embedded in the state-based regulatory structure.  If
the rules are not allowed to be filed on an emergency basis, the divi-
sion is concerned that such failure: 1) would unduly expose
Missourians to mortgage fraud, which was one (1) of the major con-
tributing factors to the mortgage crisis; 2) will impede its ability to
orderly transition mortgage loan originators seeking licensure in
Missouri onto the national mortgage database and to meaningfully
enforce the mandates bestowed upon it by the Missouri Secure and
Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing and Residential Mortgage
Brokers Licensing Act; and 3) risk HUD taking over the regulation
and licensing of mortgage loan originators in Missouri. Therefore,
the division finds a compelling governmental interest which requires
this emergency action. A proposed rule, which covers the same mate-
rial, is published in this issue of the Missouri Register. The scope of
this emergency rule is limited to the conditions creating the emer-
gency and complies with the protections extended in the Missouri and
United States Constitutions. As was noted earlier, in developing this
emergency rule, and in order to assure fairness to all interested per-
sons and parties under the circumstances, the division, prior to and
contemporaneous with the drafting of the proposed rules, has met
and been in contact with members and representatives of the Missouri
Association of Mortgage Brokers, the Missouri Mortgage Bankers
Association, and the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association
since last year. The division believes these associations are the
largest representatives for the mortgage industry in Missouri.
Furthermore, the division provided the associations’ representatives
with a copy of the proposed rules in February for their review and
comment.  The division also provided an advance copy of the pro-
posed rules to Beyond Housing, which is a provider of housing and
support services for low-income families and homeowners in the St.
Louis area. Since that time, the division has received numerous com-
ments, questions, and suggestions, some of which have been incor-
porated into the proposed rules filed herewith. The division believes
this emergency rule is fair to all interested persons and parties under
the circumstances. This emergency rule was filed April 5, 2010,
becomes effective April 18, 2010, and expires January 26, 2011.

(1) Procedures to Obtain Waiver. Prior to the issuance of a waiver
pursuant to section 443.812.5, RSMo, of the requirement of main-
taining a full-service office in Missouri, an applicant shall obtain a
certificate of authority from the Missouri secretary of state.
Furthermore, an applicant shall file with the license application an
irrevocable consent in a form to be determined by the director, duly
acknowledged, that provides suits and actions that may be com-
menced against the applicant in the courts of this state, and, should
it be necessary to bring an action against the applicant, applicant
agrees that venue shall lie in Cole County, Missouri.

(2) Qualifications for Waiver.  For the purposes of determining if a
loan servicer qualifies for the waiver set forth in section 443.812.5,
RSMo, the term “primarily engaged in servicing residential mort-
gage loans” shall be defined as a residential loan servicer that derives
seventy-five percent (75%) or more of its gross income from
Missouri from residential loan servicing.

AUTHORITY: sections 443.812.5, 443.857, 443.869, and 443.887,
RSMo Supp. 2009. Emergency rule filed April 5, 2010, effective April

18, 2010, expires Jan. 26, 2011. A proposed rule covering this same
material is published in this issue of the Missouri Register.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE,
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 1140—Division of Finance

Chapter 30—Mortgage Broker and Originator Rules

EMERGENCY RULE

20 CSR 1140-30.300 Annual Report

PURPOSE: This rule establishes procedures and requirements for
residential mortgage loan brokers to follow in submitting their annu-
al reports to the director.

EMERGENCY STATEMENT: This emergency rule is necessary to
protect a compelling governmental interest as the provisions related
to the registration and licensing of mortgage loan originators are
required for the state to comply with Section 1508 of Public Law 110-
289, Title V, the Secure and Fair Enforcement Mortgage Licensing
Act of 2008 (SAFE Act or Act). The Act was signed into law by
President George Bush on July 30, 2008, as part of the Housing and
Economic Recovery Act of 2008. The Act directed states to adopt a
licensing and registration law for loan originators that met the min-
imum standards specified in the SAFE Act, within one (1) year of its
signing.  The legislation also provided that should a state fail 1) to
adopt such a licensing system or 2) meet the minimum standards for
licensing, the United States Department of Housing and Urban
Development (HUD) would step in and do so. Prior to the passage of
the SAFE Act, Missouri had not previously licensed mortgage loan
originators, only non-exempt mortgage companies. In response to the
passage of the SAFE Act, the Missouri Legislature passed HB 382
(codified at sections 443.701–443.893, RSMo), 2009, known as the
Missouri Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing and
Residential Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act. Governor Nixon signed
the bill on July 8, 2009, and it went into effect upon signing based
on the emergency clause included in the bill. During the weeks imme-
diately following, division staff compiled informational packets on
specific areas of potential regulation for the director and deputy
director’s review. These packets included laws and regulations of
other states that had licensed mortgage loan originators prior to the
SAFE Act, legal analysis, and staff recommendations. Once the divi-
sion determined the specific areas to address through rulemaking,
staff was directed to start drafting the language for the rules. In the
interim, a meeting with the Missouri Association of Mortgage
Brokers was scheduled for and held on August 18, 2009.  Meetings
with the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association and Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association followed on September 1, 2009, and
October 6, 2009, respectively.  During this time, numerous internal
drafts were circulated within the division for review and comment.
Division staff met with members of the Missouri Association of
Mortgage Brokers on November 17, 2009, in St. Charles. On
December 15, 2009, HUD published its proposed rules in the
Federal Register, which was reviewed by division staff in order to
ensure its draft regulations were in line with the intent and terms of
the SAFE Act.  Throughout December, the division worked to finalize
its internal draft.  The division met with the Missouri Manufactured
Housing Association again on January 6, 2010. Division staff also
met with members of the Kansas City mortgage broker and mortgage
banking industries on January 12 and 21, 2010, respectively.  In late
January, the division, as proscribed by section 443.816.1, RSMo,
presented its rules to the Residential Mortgage Board (board) for its
consideration. The board held a public meeting in Columbia,
Missouri, on February 3, 2010, at which time the text of the rules
were discussed and the board directed the division to make certain
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revisions to the rules. The changes were made, and copies of the
rules were sent to the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association,
Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers, and the Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association. Thereafter, the division again met
with the Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers and Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association on February 10 and 25, 2010, respec-
tively, to discuss the rules and topics of concern. The division
believed that these industry groups had raised several meritorious
points. Following both meetings, the division worked to incorporate
these ideas into the latest draft of the rules for the board’s consider-
ation. On March 8, 2010, the division met with the St. Louis Chapter
of the National Association of Mortgage Professionals for Women to
discuss the rules and topics of concern. On March 10, 2010, the divi-
sion held an open forum in Jefferson City for current and potential
future Missouri licensees to discuss the rules and topics of concern.
Once again, the division made additional changes to the rules.
Lastly, the board met once again on March 30, 2010, and directed
the division to make additional changes to the rules and approved the
final version of the rules that were to be filed with the secretary of
state. Section 443.706.2, RSMo, provides that all individual mort-
gage loan originators must be licensed by July 31, 2010. By enacting
the following rules, Missouri will have provisions in place that meet
the standards and time frames set forth in the SAFE Act. If the state
does not enact the following rules, it will be considered out-of-com-
pliance with federal requirements and may lose its authority to regu-
late mortgage loan originators. In such an event, HUD would then
regulate mortgage loan originators in place of the state. The Division
of Finance believes state-based regulation is preferable to federal
regulation because strong consumer protections have long been
embedded in the state-based regulatory structure.  If the rules are not
allowed to be filed on an emergency basis, the division is concerned
that such failure: 1) would unduly expose Missourians to mortgage
fraud, which was one (1) of the major contributing factors to the
mortgage crisis; 2) will impede its ability to orderly transition mort-
gage loan originators seeking licensure in Missouri onto the nation-
al mortgage database and to meaningfully enforce the mandates
bestowed upon it by the Missouri Secure and Fair Enforcement for
Mortgage Licensing and Residential Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act;
and 3) risk HUD taking over the regulation and licensing of mortgage
loan originators in Missouri. Therefore, the division finds a com-
pelling governmental interest which requires this emergency action.
A proposed rule, which covers the same material, is published in this
issue of the Missouri Register. The scope of this emergency rule is
limited to the conditions creating the emergency and complies with
the protections extended in the Missouri and United States
Constitutions. As was noted earlier, in developing this emergency
rule, and in order to assure fairness to all interested persons and par-
ties under the circumstances, the division, prior to and contempora-
neous with the drafting of the proposed rules, has met and been in
contact with members and representatives of the Missouri
Association of Mortgage Brokers, the Missouri Mortgage Bankers
Association, and the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association
since last year. The division believes these associations are the
largest representatives for the mortgage industry in Missouri.
Furthermore, the division provided the associations’ representatives
with a copy of the proposed rules in February for their review and
comment.  The division also provided an advance copy of the pro-
posed rules to Beyond Housing, which is a provider of housing and
support services for low-income families and homeowners in the St.
Louis area. Since that time, the division has received numerous com-
ments, questions, and suggestions, some of which have been incor-
porated into the proposed rules filed herewith. The division believes
this emergency rule is fair to all interested persons and parties under
the circumstances. This emergency rule was filed April 5, 2010,
becomes effective April 18, 2010, and expires January 26, 2011.

(1) Filing Requirements.  By March 1 of each year, each broker must
file an Annual Report of Residential Mortgage Loan Broker Activity

that contains the information mandated by section 443.885, RSMo.
If any category(ies) requested has nothing to report, then the proper
response is “none.” 

(A) The Annual Report of Residential Mortgage Loan Broker
Activity shall include the names of the mortgage loan originators and
the dollar amount originated by each individual. It shall also include
the dollar amount of the loans and with whom the broker had mort-
gage brokerage agreements including the aggregate dollar amount of
loans brokered, funded, and serviced in the state of Missouri for the
previous year. Each broker that reports any default or foreclosure
shall also furnish the name of the lender who originated the loan. 

(B) Brokers that file a Home Mortgage Disclosure Act Report may
file a copy thereof in lieu of the report described herein.

(C) Each annual report shall be accompanied by an affidavit,
attesting to truthfulness of the information contained therein.

AUTHORITY: sections 443.869, 443.885, and 443.887, RSMo Supp.
2009. Emergency rule filed April 5, 2010, effective April 18, 2010,
expires Jan. 26, 2011. A proposed rule covering this same material is
published in this issue of the Missouri Register.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE,
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 1140—Division of Finance

Chapter 30—Mortgage Broker and Originator Rules

EMERGENCY RULE

20 CSR 1140-30.310 Bonding Requirements

PURPOSE: This rule establishes bonding procedures and require-
ments for residential mortgage loan brokers to follow.

EMERGENCY STATEMENT: This emergency rule is necessary to
protect a compelling governmental interest as the provisions related
to the registration and licensing of mortgage loan originators are
required for the state to comply with Section 1508 of Public Law 110-
289, Title V, the Secure and Fair Enforcement Mortgage Licensing
Act of 2008 (SAFE Act or Act). The Act was signed into law by
President George Bush on July 30, 2008, as part of the Housing and
Economic Recovery Act of 2008. The Act directed states to adopt a
licensing and registration law for loan originators that met the min-
imum standards specified in the SAFE Act, within one (1) year of its
signing.  The legislation also provided that should a state fail 1) to
adopt such a licensing system or 2) meet the minimum standards for
licensing, the United States Department of Housing and Urban
Development (HUD) would step in and do so. Prior to the passage
of the SAFE Act, Missouri had not previously licensed mortgage loan
originators, only non-exempt mortgage companies. In response to the
passage of the SAFE Act, the Missouri Legislature passed HB 382
(codified at sections 443.701–443.893, RSMo), 2009, known as the
Missouri Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing and
Residential Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act. Governor Nixon signed
the bill on July 8, 2009, and it went into effect upon signing based
on the emergency clause included in the bill. During the weeks imme-
diately following, division staff compiled informational packets on
specific areas of potential regulation for the director and deputy
director’s review. These packets included laws and regulations of
other states that had licensed mortgage loan originators prior to the
SAFE Act, legal analysis, and staff recommendations. Once the divi-
sion determined the specific areas to address through rulemaking,
staff was directed to start drafting the language for the rules. In the
interim, a meeting with the Missouri Association of Mortgage
Brokers was scheduled for and held on August 18, 2009.  Meetings
with the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association and Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association followed on September 1, 2009, and
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October 6, 2009, respectively.  During this time, numerous internal
drafts were circulated within the division for review and comment.
Division staff met with members of the Missouri Association of
Mortgage Brokers on November 17, 2009, in St. Charles. On
December 15, 2009, HUD published its proposed rules in the
Federal Register, which was reviewed by division staff in order to
ensure its draft regulations were in line with the intent and terms of
the SAFE Act. Throughout December, the division worked to finalize
its internal draft.  The division met with the Missouri Manufactured
Housing Association again on January 6, 2010. Division staff also
met with members of the Kansas City mortgage broker and mortgage
banking industries on January 12 and 21, 2010, respectively.  In late
January, the division, as proscribed by section 443.816.1, RSMo,
presented its rules to the Residential Mortgage Board (board) for its
consideration. The board held a public meeting in Columbia,
Missouri, on February 3, 2010, at which time the text of the rules
were discussed and the board directed the division to make certain
revisions to the rules. The changes were made, and copies of the rules
were sent to the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association,
Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers, and the Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association. Thereafter, the division again met
with the Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers and Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association on February 10 and 25, 2010, respec-
tively, to discuss the rules and topics of concern. The division
believed that these industry groups had raised several meritorious
points. Following both meetings, the division worked to incorporate
these ideas into the latest draft of the rules for the board’s consider-
ation. On March 8, 2010, the division met with the St. Louis Chapter
of the National Association of Mortgage Professionals for Women to
discuss the rules and topics of concern. On March 10, 2010, the divi-
sion held an open forum in Jefferson City for current and potential
future Missouri licensees to discuss the rules and topics of concern.
Once again, the division made additional changes to the rules.
Lastly, the board met once again on March 30, 2010, and directed the
division to make additional changes to the rules and approved the
final version of the rules that were to be filed with the secretary of
state. Section 443.706.2, RSMo, provides that all individual mort-
gage loan originators must be licensed by July 31, 2010. By enacting
the following rules, Missouri will have provisions in place that meet
the standards and time frames set forth in the SAFE Act. If the state
does not enact the following rules, it will be considered out-of-com-
pliance with federal requirements and may lose its authority to regu-
late mortgage loan originators. In such an event, HUD would then
regulate mortgage loan originators in place of the state. The Division
of Finance believes state-based regulation is preferable to federal
regulation because strong consumer protections have long been
embedded in the state-based regulatory structure.  If the rules are not
allowed to be filed on an emergency basis, the division is concerned
that such failure: 1) would unduly expose Missourians to mortgage
fraud, which was one (1) of the major contributing factors to the
mortgage crisis; 2) will impede its ability to orderly transition mort-
gage loan originators seeking licensure in Missouri onto the nation-
al mortgage database and to meaningfully enforce the mandates
bestowed upon it by the Missouri Secure and Fair Enforcement for
Mortgage Licensing and Residential Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act;
and 3) risk HUD taking over the regulation and licensing of mortgage
loan originators in Missouri. Therefore, the division finds a com-
pelling governmental interest which requires this emergency action. A
proposed rule, which covers the same material, is published in this
issue of the Missouri Register. The scope of this emergency rule is
limited to the conditions creating the emergency and complies with
the protections extended in the Missouri and United States
Constitutions. As was noted earlier, in developing this emergency
rule, and in order to assure fairness to all interested persons and par-
ties under the circumstances, the division, prior to and contempora-
neous with the drafting of the proposed rules, has met and been in
contact with members and representatives of the Missouri Association
of Mortgage Brokers, the Missouri Mortgage Bankers Association,

and the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association since last year.
The division believes these associations are the largest representa-
tives for the mortgage industry in Missouri. Furthermore, the division
provided the associations’ representatives with a copy of the proposed
rules in February for their review and comment.  The division also
provided an advance copy of the proposed rules to Beyond Housing,
which is a provider of housing and support services for low-income
families and homeowners in the St. Louis area. Since that time, the
division has received numerous comments, questions, and sugges-
tions, some of which have been incorporated into the proposed rules
filed herewith. The division believes this emergency rule is fair to all
interested persons and parties under the circumstances. This emer-
gency rule was filed April 5, 2010, becomes effective April 18, 2010,
and expires January 26, 2011.

(1) Annual Review and Initial Schedule.  The principal amount of the
surety bond shall be determined annually by the information con-
tained in the broker’s Annual Report of Residential Mortgage Loan
Broker Activity and shall be based on the dollar amount of loans bro-
kered, funded, and serviced in the state of Missouri for the previous
year. In the event a broker brokers, funds, and services residential
mortgage loans, or any combination thereof, the principal amount of
the surety bond shall be based on the category that results in the high-
est bonding amount. The initial bonding schedule is as follows: 
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(A) Any increased surety bond as required above shall be filed
with the director on or before May 1. Failure to do so shall be
grounds for summary suspension of a broker’s license.

(B) Surety bonds provided to the director are deemed to be records
of the division and will not be released or returned to licensees or to
the entities by which they were issued.

AUTHORITY: sections 443.731, 443.849, 443.869, and 443.887,
RSMo Supp. 2009. Emergency rule filed April 5, 2010, effective April
18, 2010, expires Jan. 26, 2011. A proposed rule covering this same
material is published in this issue of the Missouri Register.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE,
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 1140—Division of Finance

Chapter 30—Mortgage Broker and Originator Rules

EMERGENCY RULE

20 CSR 1140-30.320 Exempt List

PURPOSE: This rule establishes procedures and requirements for
exempt companies to register with the director.

EMERGENCY STATEMENT: This emergency rule is necessary to
protect a compelling governmental interest as the provisions related
to the registration and licensing of mortgage loan originators are
required for the state to comply with Section 1508 of Public Law 110-
289, Title V, the Secure and Fair Enforcement Mortgage Licensing
Act of 2008 (SAFE Act or Act). The Act was signed into law by
President George Bush on July 30, 2008, as part of the Housing and
Economic Recovery Act of 2008. The Act directed states to adopt a
licensing and registration law for loan originators that met the min-
imum standards specified in the SAFE Act, within one (1) year of its
signing.  The legislation also provided that should a state fail 1) to
adopt such a licensing system or 2) meet the minimum standards for
licensing, the United States Department of Housing and Urban
Development (HUD) would step in and do so. Prior to the passage
of the SAFE Act, Missouri had not previously licensed mortgage loan
originators, only non-exempt mortgage companies. In response to the
passage of the SAFE Act, the Missouri Legislature passed HB 382
(codified at sections 443.701–443.893, RSMo), 2009, known as the
Missouri Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing and
Residential Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act. Governor Nixon signed
the bill on July 8, 2009, and it went into effect upon signing based

on the emergency clause included in the bill. During the weeks imme-
diately following, division staff compiled informational packets on
specific areas of potential regulation for the director and deputy
director’s review. These packets included laws and regulations of
other states that had licensed mortgage loan originators prior to the
SAFE Act, legal analysis, and staff recommendations. Once the divi-
sion determined the specific areas to address through rulemaking,
staff was directed to start drafting the language for the rules. In the
interim, a meeting with the Missouri Association of Mortgage
Brokers was scheduled for and held on August 18, 2009.  Meetings
with the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association and Missouri
Mortgage Bankers Association followed on September 1, 2009, and
October 6, 2009, respectively.  During this time, numerous internal
drafts were circulated within the division for review and comment.
Division staff met with members of the Missouri Association of
Mortgage Brokers on November 17, 2009, in St. Charles. On
December 15, 2009, HUD published its proposed rules in the
Federal Register, which was reviewed by division staff in order to
ensure its draft regulations were in line with the intent and terms of
the SAFE Act.  Throughout December, the division worked to final-
ize its internal draft.  The division met with the Missouri
Manufactured Housing Association again on January 6, 2010.
Division staff also met with members of the Kansas City mortgage
broker and mortgage banking industries on January 12 and 21, 2010,
respectively.  In late January, the division, as proscribed by section
443.816.1, RSMo, presented its rules to the Residential Mortgage
Board (board) for its consideration. The board held a public meeting
in Columbia, Missouri, on February 3, 2010, at which time the text
of the rules were discussed and the board directed the division to
make certain revisions to the rules. The changes were made, and
copies of the rules were sent to the Missouri Manufactured Housing
Association, Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers, and the
Missouri Mortgage Bankers Association. Thereafter, the division
again met with the Missouri Association of Mortgage Brokers and
Missouri Mortgage Bankers Association on February 10 and 25,
2010, respectively, to discuss the rules and topics of concern. The
division believed that these industry groups had raised several meri-
torious points. Following both meetings, the division worked to incor-
porate these ideas into the latest draft of the rules for the board’s
consideration. On March 8, 2010, the division met with the St. Louis
Chapter of the National Association of Mortgage Professionals for
Women to discuss the rules and topics of concern. On March 10,
2010, the division held an open forum in Jefferson City for current
and potential future Missouri licensees to discuss the rules and top-
ics of concern. Once again, the division made additional changes to
the rules. Lastly, the board met once again on March 30, 2010, and
directed the division to make additional changes to the rules and
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Dollar Amount of Loans 
Brokered/Funded/Serviced 
For Previous Year 

 
 
Bond Amounts For 
Loans Brokered 

 
Bond Amounts For 
Loans Funded 

 
Bond Amounts For 
Loans Serviced 

$7,500,000 or less $50,000 $50,000 $50,000 

$7,500,001–$15,000,000 $50,000 $100,000 $100,000 

$15,000,001–$22,500,000 $75,000 $150,000 $150,000 

$22,500,001–$30,000,000 $100,000 $200,000 $200,000 

$30,000,001–$45,000,000 $150,000 $300,000 $300,000 

$45,000,001–$60,000,000 $200,000 $400,000 $400,000 

$60,000,001 or more $250,000 $500,000 $500,000 

  



approved the final version of the rules that were to be filed with the
secretary of state. Section 443.706.2, RSMo, provides that all indi-
vidual mortgage loan originators must be licensed by July 31, 2010.
By enacting the following rules, Missouri will have provisions in
place that meet the standards and time frames set forth in the SAFE
Act. If the state does not enact the following rules, it will be consid-
ered out-of-compliance with federal requirements and may lose its
authority to regulate mortgage loan originators. In such an event,
HUD would then regulate mortgage loan originators in place of the
state. The Division of Finance believes state-based regulation is
preferable to federal regulation because strong consumer protections
have long been embedded in the state-based regulatory structure.  If
the rules are not allowed to be filed on an emergency basis, the divi-
sion is concerned that such failure: 1) would unduly expose
Missourians to mortgage fraud, which was one (1) of the major con-
tributing factors to the mortgage crisis; 2) will impede its ability to
orderly transition mortgage loan originators seeking licensure in
Missouri onto the national mortgage database and to meaningfully
enforce the mandates bestowed upon it by the Missouri Secure and
Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing and Residential Mortgage
Brokers Licensing Act; and 3) risk HUD taking over the regulation
and licensing of mortgage loan originators in Missouri. Therefore,
the division finds a compelling governmental interest which requires
this emergency action. A proposed rule, which covers the same mate-
rial, is published in this issue of the Missouri Register. The scope of
this emergency rule is limited to the conditions creating the emer-
gency and complies with the protections extended in the Missouri and
United States Constitutions. As was noted earlier, in developing this
emergency rule, and in order to assure fairness to all interested per-
sons and parties under the circumstances, the division, prior to and
contemporaneous with the drafting of the proposed rules, has met
and been in contact with members and representatives of the Missouri
Association of Mortgage Brokers, the Missouri Mortgage Bankers
Association, and the Missouri Manufactured Housing Association
since last year. The division believes these associations are the
largest representatives for the mortgage industry in Missouri.
Furthermore, the division provided the associations’ representatives
with a copy of the proposed rules in February for their review and
comment.  The division also provided an advance copy of the pro-
posed rules to Beyond Housing, which is a provider of housing and
support services for low-income families and homeowners in the St.
Louis area. Since that time, the division has received numerous com-
ments, questions, and suggestions, some of which have been incor-
porated into the proposed rules filed herewith. The division believes
this emergency rule is fair to all interested persons and parties under
the circumstances. This emergency rule was filed April 5, 2010,
becomes effective April 18, 2010, and expires January 26, 2011.

(1) Registration. The director requests that all exempt entities file a
letter disclosing exempt status and the reason therefore at the
Division of Finance, Residential Mortgage Section, PO Box 716,
Jefferson City, MO 65102. There shall be no fee for said filing.

AUTHORITY: sections 443.869 and 443.887, RSMo Supp. 2009.
Emergency rule filed April 5, 2010, effective April 18, 2010, expires
Jan. 26, 2011.  A proposed rule covering this same material is pub-
lished in this issue of the Missouri Register.
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The Secretary of State shall publish all executive orders beginning January 1, 2003, pursuant to section 536.035.2, RSMo
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