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The rules are codified in the Code of State Regulations in this system—

Title Code of State Regulations Division Chapter Rule

1 CSR 10- 1. 010

Department Agency, Division General area regulated Specific area regulated

They are properly cited by using the full citation , i.e., 1 CSR 10-1.010.

Each department of state government is assigned a title. Each agency or division within the department is assigned a division number. The agency then groups its rules

into general subject matter areas called chapters and specific areas called rules. Within a rule, the first breakdown is called a section and is designated as (1). Subsection

is (A) with further breakdown into paragraph 1., subparagraph A., part (I), subpart (a), item I. and subitem a.

RSMo—The most recent version of the statute containing the section number and the date.
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Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 90—Weights and Measures

Chapter 10—Liquefied Petroleum Gases

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

2 CSR 90-10.001 Definitions and General Provisions. The com-
mission is adding new subsection (1)(N) and renumbering and
amending subsection (1)(O). 

PURPOSE: This amendment clarifies two (2) terms previously not
defined.

(1) Definitions. The following words and phrases shall mean: 
(N) “Transport,” combination vehicle or vehicle used to haul

propane for non-metered delivery; and
[(N)](O) “Wholesaler,” “broker,” or “reseller,” a seller of

propane who is not a producer and who does not sell propane to the
ultimate consumer.

AUTHORITY: section 323.010, RSMo Supp. [2008] 2010. Original
rule filed Oct. 15, 2008, effective March 30, 2009. Amended: Filed
June 13, 2011.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Propane Gas Commission, 4110 Country Club Drive, Suite
200, Jefferson City, MO 65109. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 90—Weights and Measures

Chapter 10—Liquefied Petroleum Gases

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

2 CSR 90-10.011 Inspection Authority—Duties. The commission
is amending sections (2) and (3).

PURPOSE: This amendment incorporates references to new editions
of the applicable national standards being adopted by rule, changes
the deadline for certain required testing, and eliminates the require-
ment for notice of inspections. These rules do not apply to public util-
ities regulated by the Missouri Public Service Commission.

(2) The inspection authority shall have discretional authority to
require annual leak testing of all LPG piping systems serving
schools, churches, nursing homes, resorts, mobile home parks, pub-
lic housing, hospitals, amusement parks, summer camps (Boy Scout,
Girl Scout, church, etc.), and other public buildings and institutions.
It shall be the responsibility of the owner, administrator, superinten-
dent, director, or other responsible person directly associated with
any of the piping systems serving any of the listed public buildings,
mobile home parks, summer camps (Boy Scout, Girl Scout, church,
etc.), amusement parks, and institutions to assume full responsibili-
ty to secure the annual leak test of the LPG system on or before
September 1 of each calendar year with the exception of summer
camps and amusement parks which shall be completed on or before
[June] May 1 of each calendar year. A copy of the test report shall
be submitted to the inspection authority within five (5) days after
completion of the test. Failure to complete the required annual leak
tests may be due cause to consider the LPG system unsafe for con-
tinued use and shall be reason to place the system out-of-service until
the time a leak test is completed and the system found to be free of
leaks and safe for continued operation.

(3) The standards for storage and handling of LPGs and the standards
for the installation of gas appliances and gas piping as published in
the National Fire Protection Association publications, Numbers 54,
[1999] 2009 edition; 58, [2001] 2008 edition; [59, 1984 edi-
tion; 501A, 1982 edition;] and [501C, 1987] 1192, 2008 edi-
tion. All publications are published by the National Fire Protection
Association, 1 Batterymarch Park, Quincy, MA 02269-9101, which
are incorporated by reference, and will be adhered to by the inspec-
tion authority in the course of administering its duties. This rule does
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Proposed Amendment Text Reminder:
Boldface text indicates new matter.
[Bracketed text indicates matter being deleted.]

Under this heading will appear the text of proposed rules
and changes. The notice of proposed rulemaking is

required to contain an explanation of any new rule or any
change in an existing rule and the reasons therefor. This is set
out in the Purpose section with each rule. Also required is a
citation to the legal authority to make rules. This appears fol-
lowing the text of the rule, after the word  “Authority.”

Entirely new rules are printed without any special symbol-
ogy under the heading of the proposed rule. If an exist-

ing rule is to be amended or rescinded, it will have a heading
of proposed amendment or proposed rescission. Rules which
are proposed to be amended will have new matter printed in
boldface type and matter to be deleted placed in brackets.

An important function of the Missouri Register is to solicit
and encourage public participation in the rulemaking

process. The law provides that for every proposed rule,
amendment, or rescission there must be a notice that anyone
may comment on the proposed action. This comment may
take different forms.

If an agency is required by statute to hold a public hearing
before making any new rules, then a Notice of Public

Hearing will appear following the text of the rule. Hearing
dates must be at least thirty (30) days after publication of the
notice in the Missouri Register. If no hearing is planned or
required, the agency must give a Notice to Submit
Comments. This allows anyone to file statements in support
of or in opposition to the proposed action with the agency
within a specified time, no less than thirty (30) days after pub-
lication of the notice in the Missouri Register. 

An agency may hold a public hearing on a rule even
though not required by law to hold one. If an agency

allows comments to be received following the hearing date,
the close of comments date will be used as the beginning day
in the ninety (90)-day-count necessary for the filing of the
order of rulemaking.

If an agency decides to hold a public hearing after planning
not to, it must withdraw the earlier notice and file a new

notice of proposed rulemaking and schedule a hearing for a
date not less than thirty (30) days from the date of publication
of the new notice.
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not incorporate any subsequent amendments or additions to the ref-
erenced material. These are adopted as rules in 2 CSR 90-10.020, 2
CSR 90-10.040, 2 CSR 90-10.060, and 2 CSR 90-10.090.

AUTHORITY: section 323.020, RSMo Supp. [2008] 2010. Original
rule filed July 13, 1977, effective Nov. 11, 1977. For intervening his-
tory, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed
June 13, 2011.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Propane Gas Commission, 4110 Country Club Drive, Suite
200, Jefferson City, MO 65109. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 90—Weights and Measures

Chapter 10—Liquefied Petroleum Gases

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

2 CSR 90-10.012 Registration—Training. The commission is cre-
ating a new section (2) to establish a registration form, amending
sections (5), (6), and (7), and deleting section (8), with subsequent
renumbering.

PURPOSE: This amendment establishes a registration application
form, clarifies procedures and requirements of the current training
rule, eliminates the requirement to display the state registration num-
ber, and eliminates the Class XI Transporter classification.

(2) Registration application approval will be granted upon meet-
ing the requirements as referenced in form MPGC-1201, March
1, 2011, published by the Missouri Propane Gas Commission,
4110 Country Club Dr., Ste. 200, Jefferson City, MO 65109-0302
and incorporated by reference. This rule does not incorporate
any subsequent amendments or additions to the referenced mate-
rial.

[(2)](3) All persons applying for registration to engage in the busi-
ness of handling, storing, or transporting LPGs or in the business of
installing, repairing, or servicing piping, equipment, or appliances
for use with LPGs shall be properly trained and experienced in the
work, familiar with all safety precautions required, and comply with
all requirements of Chapter 323, RSMo, and the rules pursuant to it.

[(3)](4) Every individual applying for registration to engage in the
business of handling, storing, or transporting LPGs or in the busi-
ness of installing, repairing, or servicing piping, equipment, or
appliances for use with LPGs must score at least seventy-five percent
(75%) on a written examination administered or authorized by the
Missouri Propane Gas Commission before approval of registration
will be granted.

[(4)](5) Every individual[, except clerical personnel and others
not actually] handling LPGs or servicing appliances or equip-
ment[,] within any business involved in handling, storing, or trans-
porting LPGs or involved in the installation, repairing, or servicing
of piping, equipment or appliances for use with LPGs must attend
and complete an initial training program as defined in 2 CSR 90-

10.012(6), including the passing of a written examination [with a
score of at least seventy-five percent (75%)]. Every individ-
ual subject to the requirements of this section shall attend refresher
training at least once every three (3) years. New employees shall be
trained by their employer until such time that training is available
through a [state-approved] training program approved by the
director. The employer, or individual if self-employed, is respon-
sible for ensuring compliance with this section.

(6) Each training program’s curriculum must be based on the
[National Propane Gas Association’s (NPGA)] Propane and
Education and Research Council (PERC) Certified Employee
Training Program (CETP) or equivalent, structured to meet the
trainee’s needs, and [approved by the director] contain informa-
tion on applicable statutes and regulations governing liquefied
petroleum gases. All training programs [submitted to the direc-
tor must contain information on applicable statutes and reg-
ulations governing liquefied petroleum gases;] must be
instructor-led by a competent trainer, include hands-on training
or a skills assessment, and include an exam which requires a
passing score of at least seventy percent (70%) and graded by a
third-party grader. Programs must be approved by the commis-
sion or its designee initially and resubmitted [to the director] for
review and approval [on an annual basis or] at least once every
two (2) years or at such time change has been made; and any train-
ing program that, through audit, does not meet the approved training
program criteria[,] may be rejected for use by the [director] com-
mission or its designee.

[(5)](7) Residents of states other than Missouri who desire to engage
in or continue to do business in this state shall submit an application
for registration on forms MPGC-1219, MPGC-0910, and MPGC-
1136, all published in 2008, and furnished for this purpose by the
director, which may be obtained from the publisher, Missouri
Propane Gas Commission at (573) 893-1073, 4110 Country Club
Dr., Ste. 200, Jefferson City, MO 65109-0302, which are incorpo-
rated by reference. This rule does not incorporate any subsequent
amendments or additions to the referenced material. Qualifications
and approval for this registration permit will be determined on the
basis outlined in Chapter 323, RSMo. The information submitted
shall be related to the requirements of this state and any additional
provisions required by the LPG inspection authority of their state res-
idency in determining eligibility for registration.

[(6)](8) A [R]registration application shall be filed [at the time of
or] and approved and a certificate of registration received before
commencing operations by the classes described in this section. The
registrant shall notify the inspection authority within ten (10) days
after discontinuance of his/her individual operations, providing the
name of his/her successor organization, if any. The classes are—

(A) Class I—General LP gas [operation] operator. The storage,
sale, transportation, and distribution of LP gas at retail-wholesale
and the installation, service, and repair of appliances, equipment,
and piping for use with LP gas. This does not include LP gas car-
buretion or liquid meter service or repair;

(B) Class II—Installer and [service] servicer of low pressure sys-
tems. The installation, service, and repair of appliances, equipment,
and piping for use with LP gas. This class applies to only the low
pressure portion of the LP gas system downstream of the first stage
regulator and those systems addressed in NFPA 54;

(C) Class III—Installer and [service] servicer of high pressure
systems. The installation, service, and repair of piping and equip-
ment for use with LP gas. This class applies to only the high pres-
sure and liquid portion of the LP gas system [upstream of the
first stage regulator] and those systems addressed in NFPA 58;

(D) Class IV—Installer and [service] servicer of high and low
pressure. The installation, service, and repair of appliances, equip-
ment, and piping for use with LP gas, the installation of LP gas
cylinders and tanks, and the delivery of LP gas cylinders. This class
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applies to both high and low pressure portions of LP gas systems as
addressed in NFPA 54 and NFPA 58;

(E) Class V—LP service station operator (metered sales). The
retail operation of an LP gas service station consisting of LP gas
storage containers, piping, pumps, and other pertinent equipment uti-
lized to fill portable LP gas containers by weight;

(F) Class VI—LP gas dispenser operator (non-metered sales). The
retail operation of an LP gas dispensing station consisting of an LP
gas storage container(s), piping, pumps, and other pertinent equip-
ment utilized to fill portable LP gas containers by weight;

(G) Class VII—Cylinder exchange dealer. The operation of an LP
gas cylinder exchange business whereby Department of
Transportation (DOT) cylinders are stored in a secured cage or area
and exchanged with customers (full cylinder for empty cylinder).
This does not include the filling of any cylinder or tank on premis-
es;

(H) Class VIII—Cylinder [sales] seller and [service] servicer.
An operation or business engaged in the filling, distribution, and ser-
vice of LP gas cylinders;

(I) Class IX—Carburetion system installer and servicer. An
operation or business engaged in the installation and services of LP
gas carburetion systems; and

(J) Class X—Liquid meter [repair] repairer and [service] ser-
vicer. The installation, repair, and service of LP gas meters utilized
for liquid LP gas deliveries, i.e., bobtail delivery truck meters[;
and].

[(K) Class XI—Transporters. An operation engaged in the
business of transporting LP gas.]

[(7)](9) Each registrant shall be issued a certificate of registration
which shall bear a permanent identifying number. This certificate
shall be [displayed in a conspicuous location] on file in the
office at the address for which issuance was made.

[(A) This same number shall be used as an identifying
number to be conspicuously displayed on each and every
motor vehicle used by the registrant for the transportation of
liquefied petroleum gas over the highways of this state.

(B) The number shall be preceded by the letters LPG MO.
(C) The letters and numbers shall be in a color contrasting

with the background color, at least two inches (2”) in height,
painted with a minimum stroke width of one-fourth inch
(1/4”).

(D) The letters and numbers shall be located in clear view
on the rear of each truck and bulk tank or on each side of a
truck not equipped with a tank body.

(E) Trucks and truck tanks shall be numbered consecu-
tively or by some other method of identification which has
been approved by the inspection authority. This method of
identification shall be used and placed on the tank or truck
following the identifying number.]

[(8) Each transporter making delivery to a bulk plant or any
similar type delivery of LPG over the highways of this state,
shall have the LPG MO identifying number printed or written
on each ticket delivered to each consignee in this state
receiving a product which is transported by the registered
transporter.]

AUTHORITY: section 323.020, RSMo Supp. [2008] 2010. Original
rule filed July 13, 1977, effective Nov. 11, 1977. For intervening his-
tory, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed
June 13, 2011.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-

ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Propane Gas Commission, 4110 Country Club Drive, Suite
200, Jefferson City, MO 65109. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 90—Weights and Measures

Chapter 10—Liquefied Petroleum Gases

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

2 CSR 90-10.013 Installation Requirements. The commission is
amending sections (1)–(5), (9), and (11), adding new sections (2)
and (9), deleting sections (5), (8), (10), (12), and (13), and subse-
quent renumbering. 

PURPOSE: This amendment brings existing state rules into compli-
ance with national codes and establishes a form for the submission
of site plans. 

(1) [Prior to installation, two (2) copies of the detailed plans
of the proposed liquefied petroleum gas (LPG) installation
covering the LPG system and piping, including the size and
total storage capacity of all LPG storage tanks shall be for-
warded to the inspection authority for consideration and
approval for installations] Prior to any installations at buildings
of public assembly or use such as schools, churches, recreational
halls, tourist courts, hotels, hospitals, sanitariums, convalescent
homes, nursing homes, rest homes, four (4)-unit apartments and
larger or similar types of public buildings having institutional occu-
pancies, for new construction, major renovations or additions to
these installations and mobile home parks, shopping center areas,
service stations, bulk plants, industrial plants, and other similar loca-
tions of public gathering[.], [When approval is granted, one (1)
copy of the plans will be returned to the party submitting the
original proposal. Final inspection and approval is required
before placing the installation into service. If installation of
the proposed LPG system has not begun within ninety (90)
days from the date of approval by the state LPG inspection
authority, new plans shall be resubmitted prior to the time
installation does begin.] form MPGC-0955 must be completed
and submitted to the inspection authority. Form MPGC-0955,
March 1, 2011, is published by the Missouri Propane Gas
Commission, 4110 Country Club Dr., Ste. 200, Jefferson City,
MO 65109-0302 and incorporated by reference. This rule does
not incorporate any subsequent amendments or additions to the
referenced material.

(2) The owner of a retail cylinder exchange cabinet shall submit
a completed form MPGC-0955 to the commission within fifteen
(15) days following the installation of a cylinder exchange cabinet.

[(2)](3) Form MPGC-0910 including [D]detailed plans shall be fur-
nished to the inspection authority for approval before installation of
LPG containers having a water capacity of [ten] over two thousand
[(10,000)] (2,000) gallons [or more], or two (2) or more contain-
ers that are to be connected and have a combined capacity [of ten]
exceeding four thousand [(10,000)] (4,000) gallons [or over], or
when LPG in the liquid phase is to be withdrawn or of a container
charging plant where portable containers are to be recharged and
filled regardless of the capacity of the storage containers used as the
supply for filling containers and cylinders. Form MPGC-0910,
March 1, 2011, is published by the Missouri Propane Gas
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Commission, 4110 Country Club Dr., Ste. 200, Jefferson City,
MO 65109-0302 and incorporated by reference. This rule does
not incorporate any subsequent amendments or additions to the
referenced material. When approval is granted, one (1) copy of
the plans will be returned to the party submitting the original
proposal. Final inspection and approval is required before plac-
ing the installation into service. If installation of the proposed
LPG system has not begun within one hundred eighty (180) days
from the date of approval by the state LPG inspection authority,
new plans shall be resubmitted prior to the time installation does
begin.

[(3)](4) The following requirements shall be met on plans that shall
be submitted to the inspection authority of Missouri for approval
before starting construction:

(A) Two (2) complete copies of the plans shall be submitted to the
inspection authority together with detailed specifications;

(B) Plans shall be on good quality paper, legible, and contain the
information required by this section;

(C) Plans and specifications are to be accompanied by a written
application on a form prescribed by the inspection authority and shall
include the following:

1. The address of the proposed location and the name and mail-
ing address of the owner or builder;

2. An outline of the boundary lines of the property owned or
leased;

3. A diagram showing adjoining property on all sides and the
distance to all adjacent buildings and roadways;

4. A diagram showing the location and sizes of each container
or containers on the plot of ground to be used;

5. A diagram pinpointing each location where liquid transfer
will be made, such as loading, unloading, and bottling;

6. A general layout of piping, pipe supports, and pipe protec-
tion; the location, size, and type of each important piece of equip-
ment, gate valve, excess flow valve, pressure relief valve, hose, reg-
ulator, and all other important parts of the system planned;

7. The location of each building or shed to be built on the prop-
erty and each sewer or drain opening;

8. The location of electrical lines and poles and telephone poles
if located twenty-five feet (25') or less from storage tanks or liquid
transfer areas;

9. The location of the electrical service pole;
10. The location of fences;
11. The dimensions of tank foundations, footings, reinforce-

ments, and tank clearance above ground level;
12. Storage container dimensions, whether new or used, and the

name of the manufacturer; and
13. All used containers of two thousand (2,000) gallons water

capacity or more to be reinstalled shall have all valves, including
relief valves, removed and inspected[. Relief valves shall be test-
ed and if defective, replaced with new valves of proper
design. A statement of all tests, inspections and valve
replacements shall be submitted to the inspection authority;
and

14. A statement that all materials and workmanship will
be in conformity with the requirements of Missouri pertain-
ing to LPG safety standards]; and

(D) All electrical equipment in vaporizer houses, pump houses,
and cylinder filling rooms or other similar locations shall be of the
type approved for use in Class 1, Group D, Hazardous Locations, of
the National Electrical Code.

[(4)](5) All installations for use of LPGs in containers of sixty to one
hundred ten (60–110) pounds, LPG capacity, shall be provided with
adequate and safe means of protection to assure that the cylinder is
supported in its installed position and that there is reasonable pro-
tection from the elements.

[(5) When two (2) or more LPG containers, having a water
capacity of over one thousand (1,000) gallons each or a
combined total water capacity of more than one thousand
two hundred (1,200) gallons, are connected by a common
liquid line that provides outlet or inlet that may be used as a
common filling or withdrawing convenience—]

[(A) All tanks so connected shall be installed in a manner
as to assure that the tops of all tanks are at the same ele-
vation and have approximately the same working pressure
rating;

(B) Each tank shall be provided with the proper size and
type excess flow valve in the immediate point of opening in
the tank where the common line enters each tank;

(C) The rated capacity of excess flow valves in the com-
mon header between the tanks and the common pipeline
from the system shall not be greater than the maximum flow
capacity of the piping, valves and fittings located down-
stream from the point of installation of the excess flow
valve; and

(D) All pipelines and connections shall be provided with
sufficient flexibility to withstand any and all settling of the
tank foundation, expansion or contraction of the system.]

[(8) Industrial, commercial or institutional LPG storage tanks
shall not be buried, mounded or partially mounded without
specific approval by the LPG inspection authority. Approval
shall not be granted until a complete assessment of the pro-
posed system and location has been made and found to
comply with all state and local safety requirements.]

[(9)](8) All LPG dispensers shall have form MPGC-0910 and site
plans submitted as required by sections [(1)–](3) and (4). 

(9) All tanks of one thousand one (1,001) gallons aggregate water
capacity or greater being used for liquid withdrawal shall have
form MPGC-0910 and site plans submitted as required by sec-
tions (3) and (4).

[(10) All LPG dispensers shall be protected from tampering
or vandalism by either a six foot (6’) high industrial-type
fence with one (1) lockable gate or a lockable storage cabi-
net to protect service valves, meters, hoses and accessory
equipment.]

[(11)](10) All LPG dispensers shall have recommended fill proce-
dures posted in a conspicuous location[, and all cylinder fill].

(A) All dispensers in the retail business of refilling of cylinders
shall be equipped with a state-approved scale to be utilized for the
safe filling of LPG cylinders. LP gas cylinders of one hundred (100)
pounds propane capacity or less shall be filled by weight only utiliz-
ing a state-approved scale. Cylinders of one hundred (100) pounds
capacity or less shall not be filled from any LP gas delivery vehicle.
An exception may be made by the inspection authority for cylinders
utilized in hot air balloon service if the cylinders are approved for
such service, have an accurate approved method of gauging, are in
good condition, and are filled in a safe location away from any source
of ignition.

[(12) Each commercial and industrial LPG dispensing sys-
tem, except those filled by weight only, shall incorporate into
the dispensing system an approved pullaway device to stop
the uncontrolled discharge of LPG. The pullaway device shall
be adequately secured against displacement and shall be
installed in accordance with the manufacturer’s instruc-
tions.]

[(13) Polyethylene pipe or tubing may be used for LPG ser-
vice if in compliance with the American Society of Testing
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and Materials (ASTM) D2513 Standards, National Fire
Protection Association (NFPA) 58, 1995 Edition, published
by the National Fire Protection Association, 1 Batterymarch
Park, Quincy, MA 02269-9101 and incorporated by refer-
ence, installed only underground and approved by the LPG
inspection authority. Plastic pipe or tubing shall not be used.
This rule does not incorporate any subsequent amendments
or additions to the referenced material.]

(11) All leak checks shall be performed as per 2009 NFPA 54 8.2.
Documentation shall be kept on file.

AUTHORITY: section 323.020, RSMo Supp. [2008] 2010. Original
rule filed July 13, 1977, effective Nov. 11, 1977. For intervening his-
tory, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed
June 13, 2011.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Propane Gas Commission, 4110 Country Club Drive, Suite
200, Jefferson City, MO 65109. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 90—Weights and Measures

Chapter 10—Liquefied Petroleum Gases

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

2 CSR 90-10.014 Storage. The commission is amending sections
(9), (11), (12), and (18), deleting sections (3), (4), and (6) through
(8), (13), and (14) and creating new section (12) with subsequent
renumbering.

PURPOSE: This amendment eliminates or clarifies existing state
requirements that duplicate or conflict with national codes adopted
by the authority.

[(3) Used containers for storage of LPG, other than contain-
ers approved by the Interstate Commerce Commission (ICC)
or the United States Department of Transportation and con-
nected for use on a motor vehicle, shall not be imported into
Missouri, or installed or used if they are not in conformance
with the requirements of these regulations and unless the
inspection authority has been furnished with the information
contained in the manufacturer’s data report. Name plate
data may be accepted in lieu of a manufacturer’s data report
on tanks of two thousand (2,000) gallons water capacity or
less.]

[(4) A manufacturer’s data report shall be furnished to the
inspection authority on all new LPG containers, other than
containers approved by the ICC or United States Department
of Transportation, having a water capacity greater than one
thousand (1,000) gallons.]

[(5)](3) Containers of any size shall not be used for storage other
than manufacturer’s design and specifications; i.e., railcars, convert-
ed railcars, bulk delivery truck tanks both transport and bobtail can-

not be utilized for fixed storage.

[(6) All LPG storage containers, including portable or semi-
portable with attached supports or foundations to be used
for temporary or permanent installations, shall be mounted
on solid concrete piers or foundations with a maximum
height of the outside bottom of the container shell no more
than five feet (5’) from the ground.]

[(7) All skid-mounted LPG storage tanks to be used for tem-
porary or permanent installation shall be mounted on solid
concrete footings with the outside bottom of the container
not more than three feet (3’) from the ground.]

[(8) All skid-mounted LPG storage container systems of four
thousand (4000)-gallon capacity (single or multiple contain-
ers) shall comply with the National Fire Protection
Association Manual Number 58, 1995 edition, section 3-
2.8.10, published by the National Fire Protection
Association, 1 Batterymarch Park, Quincy, MA 02269-9101
and incorporated by reference. This rule does not incorporate
any subsequent amendments or additions to the referenced
material.]

[(9)](4) All LPG bulk storage containers, [except those covered
in section (1) of this rule,] of [two] four thousand [(2,000)]
(4,000) gallons water capacity (WC) or more [capacity] shall have
its pumps, piping, vaporizers, hoses, bulkheads, and related equip-
ment protected from tampering by a metal chain link or equivalent
industrial-type fence at least six feet (6') tall. All locations with one
hundred (100) square feet or less fenced area shall have at least one
(1) lockable access gate. All locations with more than one hundred
(100) square feet fenced shall have at least two (2) lockable access
gates.

[(10)](5) All aboveground LPG storage containers shall be kept
properly painted with a light reflective paint such as white or alu-
minum.

[(11)](6) All aboveground LPG storage containers, [except domes-
tic installations of two thousand (2,000) gallons capacity or
less, shall be marked with warning signs placed in a con-
spicuous location on both sides and both ends of the con-
tainer incorporating the following or equivalent wording:
FLAMMABLE—PROPANE: NO SMOKING OR OPEN
FLAMES.] two thousand (2,000) WC or more, and all dispensers
shall be clearly marked PROPANE, FLAMMABLE, NO SMOK-
ING on two (2) sides in a conspicuous location of the dispenser
housing, fencing, or a combination thereof. All wording shall be
in block-style letters with a minimum height of two inches (2") and
a minimum width of one-fourth inch (1/4") on a contrasting back-
ground.

[(12)](7) Each LPG [storage] bulk plant or system of two thousand
(2,000) gallons WC or more and all dispensers engaged in retail
shall have a sign displayed in a conspicuous location stating the
name[, address] and telephone number of the nearest representa-
tive, agent, or owner of the system.

[(13) After the effective date of this rule, where possible, all
LPG bulk storage containers shall be installed parallel to sur-
rounding buildings.]

[(14) Any LPG storage container and its related piping and
equipment which may be exposed to vehicle damage shall
be protected by guard rails or guard posts. All guard rails or
guard posts shall be constructed of heavy gauge metal of
sufficient strength to absorb vehicle impact without damage
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to the container or its related equipment.] 

[(15](8) Any LPG storage container, including any container used
for motor fuel, which has been damaged in any manner shall be
repaired according to the requirements of the code it was manufac-
tured under and shall be hydrostatically tested prior to placing in ser-
vice.

[(16)](9) Repair of any LPG container shell, excluding valves, fit-
tings, regulators, and attachments, shall be in conformance with the
code under which the container was manufactured, and all repairs
shall be performed only by a person certified under the code by
which the container was manufactured.

[(17)](10) A copy of all container data information and repairs to the
container shall be submitted to the inspection authority for review
prior to installation of the container.

[(18)](11) LP gas storage containers supplying mobile home parks,
schools, hospitals, [commercial industrial facilities,] domestic
systems, or other public or institutional facilities shall not be utilized
as a bulk storage plant for loading LP gas into any fuel delivery ves-
sel or vehicle.

(12) At a bulk storage facility that the owner declares out-of-ser-
vice, the tank or tanks shall be empty, only contain residual pres-
sure, and be capped or plugged as close as practical to the posi-
tive shut-off valve just outside the tank or tanks. Before placing
the tank or plant back into operation, form MPGC-0910 includ-
ing detailed plans shall be furnished to the inspection authority
for approval and approval must be granted by the inspection
authority. Form MPGC-0910, March 1, 2011, is published by the
Missouri Propane Gas Commission, 4110 Country Club Dr., Ste.
200, Jefferson City, MO 65109-0302 and incorporated by refer-
ence. This rule does not incorporate any subsequent amendments
or additions to the referenced material.

AUTHORITY: section 323.020, RSMo Supp. [2008] 2010. Original
rule filed July 13, 1977, effective Nov. 11, 1977. For intervening his-
tory, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed
June 13, 2011.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Propane Gas Commission, 4110 Country Club Drive, Suite
200, Jefferson City, MO 65109. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 90—Weights and Measures

Chapter 10—Liquefied Petroleum Gases

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

2 CSR 90-10.015 Container, System, or Equipment Violations.
The commission is amending section (3).

PURPOSE: This amendment clarifies jurisdictional authority of the
commission.

(3) The tag or notice attached to the container, system, or equipment,
shall be the property of [Missouri] the commission and only shall
be removed [by the inspection authority upon notification
and/or request by the owner, or supplier, or his/her agent]
when defect or violation has been corrected. The tag is to be
removed promptly after receiving notice of correction [and rein-
spection].

AUTHORITY: section 323.020, RSMo [1986] Supp. 2010. Original
rule filed July 13, 1977, effective Nov. 11, 1977. Amended: Filed
June 13, 2011.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Propane Gas Commission, 4110 Country Club Drive, Suite
200, Jefferson City, MO 65109. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 90—Weights and Measures

Chapter 10—Liquefied Petroleum Gases

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

2 CSR 90-10.020 NFPA Manual No. 54, National Fuel Gas Code.
The commission is amending section (1) and deleting sections (2),
(3), (5), (6), and (7) with subsequent renumbering.

PURPOSE: This amendment aligns Missouri’s propane code for inte-
rior installations with the applicable national code referenced in sec-
tion 323.020(2), RSMo.

(1) Standards contained in National Fire Protection Association
(NFPA) Manual No. 54, National Fuel Gas Code, [1999] 2009 edi-
tion, published by the National Fire Protection Association, 1
Batterymarch Park, Quincy, MA 02269-9101, are incorporated here-
in by reference. This rule does not incorporate any subsequent
amendments or additions to the referenced material. The balance of
this rule sets forth requirements for liquefied petroleum (LPG) appli-
cations not covered in the manual. The scope of National Fire
Protection Association (NFPA) Manual No. 54, National Fuel Gas
Code, [1999] 2009 edition, is to develop fire safety codes, stan-
dards, recommended practices, and manuals, as may be considered
desirable, covering the installation of piping and appliances using
fuel gases such as natural gas, manufactured gas, liquefied petrole-
um gas, and liquefied petroleum gas-air mixture.

[(2) All flexible appliance connectors shall be listed and
approved for LPG use.]

[(3) All flexible appliance connectors which are listed and
approved for LPG use shall have “Approved for LPG use” and
pressure rating stamped or marked on connector.]

[(4)](2) The repair or welding of LPG appliance heat exchangers is
strictly prohibited.

[(5) All appliances, except bunsen burners, ranges or cook-
tops, installed in public buildings, such as schools, nursing
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homes or hospitals, shall be equipped with one hundred per-
cent (100%) shut-off safety valves.]

[(6) All science or laboratory rooms using LPG shall have an
accessible and marked master shut-off valve located within
the science or laboratory room.]

[(7) All home economic, science, kitchen or laboratory rooms
shall have an accessible, properly charged fire extinguisher
with a minimum rating of twenty (20) ABC (A class-com-
bustible materials, B class-flammable liquids, C class-live
electrical equipment) located in an accessible location with-
in the room.]

AUTHORITY: section 261.023.6, RSMo 2000 and section 323.020,
RSMo Supp. [2008] 2010. Original rule filed Jan. 24, 1968, effec-
tive Feb. 3, 1968. For intervening history, please consult the Code of
State Regulations. Amended: Filed June 13, 2011.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Propane Gas Commission, 4110 Country Club Drive, Suite
200, Jefferson City, MO 65109. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 90—Weights and Measures

Chapter 10—Liquefied Petroleum Gases

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

2 CSR 90-10.040 NFPA Manual No. 58, Storage and Handling of
Liquefied Petroleum Gases. The commission is amending sections
(1), (6), and (8) and eliminating sections (3), (4), (5), and (7) with
subsequent renumbering.

PURPOSE: This amendment aligns Missouri’s propane code for out-
door installations with the applicable national code referenced in
section 323.020(2), RSMo, and also defines requirements for dis-
penser training.

(1) This rule incorporates by reference National Fire Protection
Association (NFPA) Manual No. 58, Storage and Handling of
Liquefied Petroleum Gases, [2001] 2008 edition, published by the
National Fire Protection Association, 1 Batterymarch Park, Quincy,
MA 02269-9101, as the current [S]standard for the [S]storage and
[H]handling of [L]liquefied [P]petroleum [G]gases. This rule does
not incorporate any subsequent amendments or additions to the ref-
erenced material.

[(3) It shall be unlawful for any person or corporation to put
into operation in this state any motor vehicle using liquefied
petroleum gas (LPG) as a fuel unless the fuel containers and
supporting equipment of the vehicle have been placed in ser-
vice by an installer certified and registered by the LPG
Inspection Authority, state of Missouri.]

[(4) All this installed equipment shall be identified by a state
decal issued by the director and applied by the registered
installer. Upon transfer of equipment from one (1) vehicle to
another vehicle, the installation shall be reinspected and a
new decal applied to the container and proper forms filed
with the director.]

[(5) Registered applicants for retail sales of LPG shall not fill
LPG storage containers installed on any vehicle where con-
tainers being used as a source for carburetion fuel, unless
the container has displayed the official state decal installed
per section (4). This shall not apply to transient vehicles.]

[(6)](3) At all LPG dispensers, it shall be the dispenser owner’s
responsibility to provide initial training to [specific] persons [on
the operation of the dispenser] who dispense propane. It shall
be illegal for any person other than the trained person to operate the
dispensing device. It shall be the responsibility of the owner or man-
ager of each business, where a dispenser is located and operated, to
[provide continuing] ensure dispenser operators successfully
complete training[, as required by section 2 CSR 90-
10.012(4), for each employee operating the dispenser] every
three (3) years through a training program approved by the
director.

[(7) No person shall transport in a passenger type vehicle, or
sell for transportation, LPG in containers of forty-five pounds
(45 lbs.) capacity or over unless the container is connected
for direct use in the passenger vehicle.]

[(8)](4) The written Fire Safety Analysis, required by the [2001]
2008 edition of the National Fire Protection Association’s Pamphlet
58, Liquefied Petroleum Gas Code, [section 3.10.2.2] 6.25.3,
published by the National Fire Protection Association, 1
Batterymarch Park, Quincy, MA 02269-9101, and incorporated by
reference, shall be prepared by a person approved by the Missouri
Propane Gas Commission, who has relevant experience and is
knowledgeable of the practices of the LP gas industry.  Except for an
engineered facility, the Fire Safety Analysis may be prepared by the
owner of the facility in cooperation with the local fire department
and/or [F]fire [M]marshall. The Fire Safety Analysis for an engi-
neered facility, such as one that incorporates refrigerated storage,
automated fuel standby (either industrial or utility), or pipeline ter-
minals, shall be prepared, stamped, and signed by a professional
engineer who has relevant experience in LP gas or fire protection.
This rule does not incorporate any subsequent amendments or addi-
tions to the referenced material.  

AUTHORITY: section 261.023.6, RSMo 2000 and section 323.020,
RSMo Supp. [2008] 2010. Original rule filed Jan. 24, 1968, effec-
tive Feb. 3, 1968. For intervening history, please consult the Code of
State Regulations. Amended: Filed June 13, 2011.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Propane Gas Commission, 4110 Country Club Drive, Suite
200, Jefferson City, MO 65109. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.
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Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 90—Weights and Measures

Chapter 10—Liquefied Petroleum Gases

PROPOSED RESCISSION

2 CSR 90-10.060 NFPA Manual No. 59, LP Gases at Utility Gas
Plants. This rule regulated the standard for the storage and handling
of liquefied petroleum gases at utility gas plants.

PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded as utility gas plants are not
under the commission’s  jurisdiction. 

AUTHORITY: section 323.020, RSMo 1986. Original rule filed May
13, 1977, effective Jan. 13, 1978. Amended: Filed May 2, 1985,
effective Sept. 27, 1985. Rescinded: Filed June 13, 2011.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Missouri Propane Gas Commission, 4110 Country Club Drive, Suite
200, Jefferson City, MO 65109. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 90—Weights and Measures

Chapter 10—Liquefied Petroleum Gases

PROPOSED RESCISSION

2 CSR 90-10.070 NFPA Manual No. 501A, Manufactured Home
Installations. This rule regulated the mobile home park fuel supply
systems.

PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded as it duplicates existing state
codes.

AUTHORITY: section 323.020, RSMo 1986. Original rule filed May
13, 1977, effective Jan. 13, 1978. Amended: Filed May 2, 1985,
effective Sept. 27, 1985. Rescinded: Filed June 13, 2011.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Missouri Propane Gas Commission, 4110 Country Club Drive, Suite
200, Jefferson City, MO 65109. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 90—Weights and Measures

Chapter 10—Liquefied Petroleum Gases

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

2 CSR 90-10.090 NFPA Manual No. [501C] 1192, Chapter [2]
5, Standard for Recreational Vehicles. The commission is amending
the title of the rule and section (1).

PURPOSE: This amendment aligns Missouri’s propane code for
recreational vehicles with the applicable national code referenced in
section 323.020(2), RSMo.

(1) The scope of National Fire Protection Association Manual No.
[501C] 1192, Chapter [2] 5, Standard on Recreational Vehicles,
[1987] 2008 edition, published by the National Fire Protection
Association, 1 Batterymarch Park, Quincy, MA 02269-9101, cov-
ers the heat producing appliances and fuel systems within or on
recreational vehicles. Whenever nationally recognized standards for
heat producing appliances and fuel systems and this Chapter [2] 5
differ, the requirements of the latter shall apply.

AUTHORITY: section 323.020, RSMo [1986] Supp. 2010. Original
rule filed May 13, 1977, effective Jan. 13, 1978. Amended: Filed
May 2, 1985, effective Sept. 27, 1985. Amended: Filed March 3,
1989, effective June 29, 1989. Amended: Filed June 13, 2011.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Propane Gas Commission, 4110 Country Club Drive, Suite
200, Jefferson City, MO 65109. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 90—Weights and Measures

Chapter 10—Liquefied Petroleum Gases

PROPOSED RULE

2 CSR 90-10.120 Reporting of Odorized LP-Gas Release, Fire, or
Explosion

PURPOSE: This rule requires reporting of a release, fire, or explo-
sion involving odorized LP-gas.

PUBLISHER’S NOTE: The secretary of state has determined that the
publication of the entire text of the material which is incorporated by
reference as a portion of this rule would be unduly cumbersome or
expensive. This material as incorporated by reference in this rule
shall be maintained by the agency at its headquarters and shall be
made available to the public for inspection and copying at no more
than the actual cost of reproduction. This note applies only to the ref-
erence material. The entire text of the rule is printed here.

(1) In addition to NFPA 58, 2008 edition, 14.4.3.3, at the earliest
practical moment or within two (2) hours following discovery, the
owner, manager, or operator of a vehicle or equipment regulated by
this chapter shall notify the Missouri Propane Gas Commission by
telephone of any event involving odorized LP-gas release, fire, or
explosion which:

(A) Caused a death or any personal injury requiring hospitaliza-
tion; or 

(B) Required taking an operating facility out of service; or 
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(C) Resulted in uncontrolled gas release, fire, or explosion requir-
ing an emergency response; or 

(D) Caused an estimated damage to the property of the operator,
others, or both totaling five thousand dollars ($5,000) or more,
including gas loss; or 

(E) Could reasonably be judged as significant because of rerouting
of traffic or evacuation of buildings; or 

(F) Is required to be reported to any other state or federal agency
(such as the Missouri Department of Public Safety or the United
States Department of Transportation). 

(2) The telephonic notice required by section (1) shall be made to the
commission at (573) 893-1073 and shall include the following: 

(A) Name of reporting person; 
(B) Location of leak or incident; 
(C) Time of incident; 
(D) Fatalities and personal injuries; 
(E) Phone number of reporting person; 
(F) Status of incident regarding immediate hazard; and 
(G) Other significant facts relevant to the incident. 

(3) Following the initial telephone report, the person who made the
telephone report or an authorized company representative shall sub-
mit a properly completed form MPGC-5524 to the director within
fourteen (14) calendar days of the date of initial telephone notifica-
tion unless an extension is authorized by the director to allow more
time for investigation or research. Form MPGC-5524, January 2011,
is published by the Missouri Propane Gas Commission, 4110
Country Club Dr., Ste. 200, Jefferson City, MO 65109-0302 and is
incorporated by reference. This rule does not incorporate any subse-
quent amendments or additions to the referenced material.

AUTHORITY: section 323.025, RSMo Supp. 2010. Original rule filed
June 13, 2011.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri
Propane Gas Commission, 4110 Country Club Drive, Suite 200,
Jefferson City, MO 65109. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 6—DEPARTMENT OF HIGHER EDUCATION
Division 10—Commissioner of Higher Education

Chapter 2—Student Financial Assistance Program

PROPOSED RULE

6 CSR 10-2.200 Minority Teaching Scholarship Program

PURPOSE: This rule sets forth the policies of the Coordinating
Board for Higher Education regarding student eligibility and appli-
cation procedures for student financial assistance under the Minority
Teaching Scholarship program.

(1) Definitions.
(A) Academic year shall be from July 1 of any year through June

30 of the following year.
(B) Applicant means a student who has filed a complete and accu-

rate application to receive a Minority Teaching Scholarship award as

prescribed by the Coordinating Board for Higher Education (CBHE)
and who qualifies to receive such award under section 161.415,
RSMo.

(C) Approved institution means any institution that offers a teacher
education program approved by the Department of Elementary and
Secondary Education or a Coordinating Board for Higher Education-
approved Associate of Arts in Teaching program.

(D) Award year shall be from July 1 of any year through June 30
of the following year, excluding summer terms.

(E) CBHE means the Coordinating Board for Higher Education.
(F) Department means the Department of Higher Education creat-

ed by section 173.005, RSMo.
(G) EFC means expected family contribution, the measure of how

much the student and his family can be expected to contribute to the
cost of the student’s education for the year, as calculated annually by
the United States Department of Education as a result of an official
federal need analysis based on the student’s federal need-based aid
application form.

(H) Expenses mean any educational-related expenses including,
but not limited to, tuition, fees, and room and board.

(I) Full-time student means an undergraduate student who is
enrolled in at least twelve (12) semester hours, eight (8) quarter
hours, or the equivalent in another measurement system, or a gradu-
ate student who is enrolled in at least nine (9) semester hours or the
equivalent in another measurement system, but in either case not less
than the respective number sufficient to secure the degree toward
which the student is working in no more than the number of semes-
ters, or their equivalent, normally required by the institution for the
program in which the student is enrolled.  Provided, however, that an
otherwise eligible student having a disability as defined by Title II of
the Americans with Disabilities Act (42 U.S.C. 12101–12213) who,
because of his or her disability, is unable to satisfy the statutory min-
imum requirements of full-time status under Title IV student aid pro-
grams shall be considered by the approved institution to be a full-
time student and shall be considered to be making satisfactory acad-
emic progress, as defined in subsection (1)(Q) of this rule, while car-
rying a minimum of six (6) credit hours or their equivalent at the
approved institution.

(J) Gainful employment means any substantial gainful activity that
exists in the national economy and is not limited to the recipient’s
original occupation.

(K) His, him, or he shall apply equally to the female as well as the
male sex where applicable in this rule.

(L) Initial recipient means a student who qualifies under section
161.415, RSMo, has filed an accurate and complete application by
the deadline established by the department for the Minority Teaching
Scholarship program, and has not received a Minority Teaching
Scholarship award in any prior academic year.

(M) Minority teaching shall mean the Minority Teaching
Scholarship program set forth in sections 161.415–161.424, RSMo.

(N) Minority teaching award shall mean an amount of money paid
by the state of Missouri to a qualified applicant under the Minority
Teaching Scholarship program.

(O) Renewal recipient means a student who received a Minority
Teaching Scholarship award, who meets the requirements set forth in
161.415, RSMo, and who has filed an accurate and complete appli-
cation by the deadline established by the department for the Minority
Teaching Scholarship program.

(P) Residency, for the purpose of this rule, shall be determined by
reference to the standards set forth in the determination of student
residency rule, 6 CSR 10-3.010.

(Q) Satisfactory academic progress shall be a cumulative grade
point average (CGPA) of at least two and one-half (2.5) on a four-point
(4.0) scale, or the equivalent on another scale, and, with the exception
of grade point average, as otherwise determined by the approved insti-
tution’s policies as applied to other students at the approved institution
receiving assistance under Title IV financial aid programs included in
the Higher Education Act of 1965. The calculation of CGPA shall be
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based on the approved institution’s policies as applied to other stu-
dents in similar circumstances.

(R) Standardized test shall mean an accepted standardized test of
academic ability including, but not limited to, the SAT, ACT, or
SCAT.

(S) Temporary total disability shall mean a disability resulting
from an injury or illness that renders a recipient unable to be engaged
in gainful employment for a period of less than twelve (12) months
from the date of such injury or illness.

(T) Total and permanent disability shall mean disability resulting
from an injury or illness that renders a recipient unable to be engaged
in gainful employment or attend an educational institution for a peri-
od of at least twelve (12) months from the date of such injury or ill-
ness and that is expected to continue for a long or indefinite period
of time or to result in death.

(2) Responsibilities of Institutions of Postsecondary Education.  
(A) Only institutions who have entered into a participation agree-

ment with the department may receive disbursements under the
Minority Teaching Scholarship program.

(B) Participating institutions shall meet the following require-
ments:

1. Meet the requirements set forth in subsection 161.415.3,
RSMo, and 6 CSR 10-2.140 Institutional Eligibility for Student
Participation;

2. Provide non-state matching funds of one thousand dollars
($1,000) per scholarship recipient to match one (1) dollar for every
two (2) state dollars on terms no more restrictive than those estab-
lished by the department with regard to the state award and notify the
department of the maximum number of awards the institution will
match;

3. Report annually to the department the number of scholarship
recipients that will be matched.  The department shall annually pre-
scribe the time and method for filing this report;

4. Obtain the recipient’s notarized signature on the promissory
note and return the promissory note to the department prior to dis-
bursement of any state scholarship funds; and

5. Annually report to the department the enrollment status of all
scholarship recipients until they graduate or withdraw from the insti-
tution. The department shall annually prescribe the time and method
for filing this report.

(C) Institutions should report to the department the name of any
enrolled recipient who ceases study leading to teacher certification
within thirty (30) days of making this determination.

(3) Basic Eligibility Policy.  
(A) Initial or renewal recipients, at the time of application and

through the period the award is received, must meet the requirements
set forth in section 161.415, RSMo. 

(B) Initial recipients must have a high school rank at or above the
seventy-fifth percentile at the time of graduation or as calculated at
the end of the student’s sixth semester.

(4) Application and Evaluation Policy.
(A) The department shall annually prescribe the time and method

for filing applications for financial assistance under the Minority
Teaching Scholarship program.  It shall make announcement of its
action in these respects.

(B) Students shall apply annually for financial assistance under the
Minority Teaching Scholarship program by completing and submit-
ting the application prescribed by the department and by completing
and submitting the federal need-based aid application form pre-
scribed by the United States Department of Education.

(C) At the time of application, applicants must—
1. Indicate their first, second, and third school choices;
2. Commit to complete a teacher education program designed

to qualify the applicant for a Missouri teaching certificate within five
(5) years from the date of first receiving funds under the Minority

Teaching Scholarship program; and
3. Teach on a full-time basis for a period of five (5) years in a

Missouri public elementary or secondary school after receiving a
teaching certificate if the applicant is an undergraduate student.
Graduate students must commit to teach math or science on a full-
time basis for a period of five (5) years in a Missouri public ele-
mentary or secondary school after receiving a teaching certificate. 

(D) The department will evaluate each student’s application for a
minority teaching award and rank selected recipients based on the
following criteria:

1. Participation in school or community activities;
2. Demonstrated leadership abilities; 
3. Demonstrated academic success, including high school grade

point average, high school class rank, and standardized test score;
and

4. Financial need, as established by the student’s EFC, if appro-
priations are not sufficient to fund all selected recipients.

(E) Selected recipients will be matched in rank order with their
first institutional choice until all openings at an institution are filled.
If all openings are filled at the selected recipient’s first institutional
choice, the selected recipient will be matched at his second or third
choice, respectively.

(F) Applicants will be notified of their eligibility status once recip-
ients have been selected and awards have been determined.
Notification of eligibility will also be sent to the student financial aid
office at the approved institution where the student plans to enroll or
has enrolled.

(5) Award Policy.
(A) Minority teaching awards shall be allotted for one (1) acade-

mic year.
(B) A renewal recipient may continue to receive a minority teach-

ing award for a maximum of three (3) additional years, for a total of
four (4) years, so long as the applicant meets the following criteria.
Awards received as an undergraduate student are included in the four
(4)-year total for graduate students.

1. Maintains satisfactory academic progress; and
2. Otherwise meets the criteria of the Minority Teaching

Scholarship program.
(C) Initial and renewal recipients who meet the eligibility require-

ments set forth in section 161.415, RSMo, and this rule shall be eli-
gible for a minority teaching award of three thousand dollars
($3,000) per academic year, comprised of a two thousand dollar
($2,000)-state award that will convert to a loan if the recipient fails
to meet the program’s obligations, and a one thousand dollar
($1,000)-institutional award.

(D) A recipient who has been denied a minority teaching award for
lack of satisfactory academic progress may not receive another
minority teaching award until the enrollment period after the applic-
able standard has once again been met.

(E) Minority teaching awards will be made for use during the nor-
mal academic year, but no funds for minority teaching awards will be
granted for use for summer school.

(F) No minority teaching awards will be made retroactive to a pre-
vious academic year. A minority teaching award will be made
retroactive to a previous semester only upon the sole discretion of the
department.

(G) Minority teaching awards will only be made after certification
of full-time attendance of the student by the institution and receipt of
the signed and notarized promissory note by the department. For a
student eligible as part of a consortium agreement, the student must
be considered to be enrolled full-time for purposes of federal student
aid.

(H) Only one-half (1/2) of the annual minority teaching award will
be issued in a semester of that award year.

(I) The applicant’s award will be sent to the approved institution.
The institution shall retain the portion of the award that the student
owes for expenses and promptly give the applicant any remaining
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funds.
(J) An applicant’s failure to provide required information by the

established deadlines may result in loss of the minority teaching
award.

(K) The CBHE has the discretion to withhold payments of any
minority teaching awards after initiating an inquiry into the eligibili-
ty of a recipient or into the approved status of an institution.

(L) A student may transfer from one (1) approved institution to
another without losing eligibility for assistance under the Minority
Teaching Scholarship program, as long as the institution to which the
student is transferring is able to match the student’s state award.  The
student must notify the department immediately of the transfer.

(6) Scholarship Forgiveness and Deferment Policy.
(A) For each year, up to five (5) years, the recipient teaches in a

Missouri public elementary or secondary school, one-fifth (1/5) of
the amount of the state scholarship received shall be applied against
the total amount of the state scholarship and shall not be subject to
repayment.

(B) The employer shall annually provide certification to the
department the recipient holds a qualifying teaching position.

(C) Recipients shall defer repayment if their qualified employment
is interrupted for one (1) of the following reasons:

1. Enrollment in full-time graduate study as certified at least
annually by the institution in which the recipient is enrolled;

2. Request and receipt of medical leave as certified by the recip-
ient’s employer for a medical need certified by the recipient’s physi-
cian;

3. Service in any branch of the armed forces of the United
States; 

4. Teaching in areas defined as critical need by the state Board
of Education; or

5. A temporary total disability resulting from an injury or ill-
ness that renders the recipient unable to teach in any subject area for
which he is certified. The recipient’s physician must certify the
nature of the disability, the date the disability began, and the expect-
ed duration of the recovery period, not to exceed twelve (12) months.

(D) The deferment of repayment shall begin on the date the recip-
ient ceases to teach. The recipient must notify the department at the
beginning and end of the interruption in employment and provide any
requested supporting documentation. The recipient must also return
to a qualified teaching position following the interruption.

(E) Recipients must promptly report to the department any change
of mailing address. 

(7) Repayment Policy.
(A) Recipients must notify the department within thirty (30) days

of a change in enrollment status or employment that would trigger
repayment.

(B) Recipients must promptly report to the department any change
of mailing address. 

(C) The scholarship shall convert to a loan and the recipient shall
repay the scholarship funds received from the state with interest at a
rate of nine and one-half percent (9.5%) charged on the unpaid bal-
ance of the amount received if the recipient—

1. Ceases study leading to teacher certification for any reason
including, but not limited to, the following. Interest shall accrue
from the date the recipient ceased study leading to teacher certifica-
tion until the outstanding balance of principal and interest has been
paid in full.

A. Change of career goal as evidenced by the nature of the
postsecondary courses selected;

B. Withdrawal from approved postsecondary institutions;
C. Dismissal, suspension, or expulsion from a participating

postsecondary institution for any reason; or
D. Less than full-time enrollment in a program leading to

certification to teach in a Missouri public elementary or secondary
school, except less than full-time enrollment during summer terms

shall not trigger repayment;
2. Fails to receive a teaching certificate within six (6) months of

graduation from an approved institution. Interest shall accrue from
the date of graduation until the outstanding balance of principal and
interest has been paid in full;

3. Fails to be hired for or accept a full-time teaching position in
a Missouri public elementary or secondary school within ten (10)
months of receiving certification to teach in such a school. Interest
shall accrue from the date teacher certification was issued until the
outstanding balance of principal and interest has been paid in full; or

4. Fails to teach in a Missouri public elementary or secondary
school on a full-time basis for a period of five (5) consecutive years
after receipt of a degree, except as provided in subsection (6)(C) of
this rule. Interest shall accrue from the date the recipient ceases to
teach until the outstanding balance of principal and interest has been
paid in full.

(D) The department shall mail a repayment schedule to the recip-
ient.

1. The repayment schedule shall be based on a ten (10)-year
repayment plan.

2. The payment amount will vary depending on the total amount
received plus accrued interest. Under no circumstances shall the
minimum monthly payment be less than fifty dollars ($50) or the
minimum annual payment be less than six hundred dollars ($600).

3. The recipient shall make the first payment no later than the
last day of the month in which the repayment schedule is dated.

(E) Payments shall be applied first to accrued interest with any
remaining amount applied to principal.

(F) Recipients shall not be subject to penalty for early repayment.
(G) Recipients may defer principal and interest payments for a

period approved by the department for the following reasons:
1. Enrollment in full-time study as certified at least annually by

the institution in which the recipient is enrolled.  The deferment shall
be initiated on the date the recipient begins full-time enrollment;

2. Medical need as certified by the recipient’s physician;
3. Service in any branch of the armed forces of the United

States; or
4. A temporary total disability.  The recipient’s physician must

certify the nature of the disability, the date the disability began, and
the expected duration of the recovery period.

(H) The recipients must notify the department at the beginning
and end of the deferment period and submit to the department any
requested supporting documentation.

(I) Interest will not accrue during a deferment period.
(J) Payments made during a deferment period will be applied first

to any interest accrued prior to the deferment period and then to
principal.

(K) A recipient’s account will be in a default status when the
recipient has failed to make three (3) consecutive, scheduled pay-
ments.

1. Upon default, principal and interest are due in full within one
(1) year of default.

2. The department will notify the recipient of the default status
by certified mail sent to his last known mailing address.

3. The recipient shall have thirty (30) days from the date of the
certified notice to make satisfactory repayment arrangements.

(L) A recipient may remove his account from default status by
making three (3) consecutive, on-time payments that are at least the
minimum amount provided on the repayment schedule.

(M) All loans in repayment, deferment, or default status will be
monitored. All available legal remedies may be pursued to ensure full
repayment of loans.

(N) In the event a recipient becomes totally and permanently dis-
abled as certified by a physician, the requirements of the recipient to
make any further payment of principal and interest will be cancelled
immediately upon approval of the request for cancellation.  The
recipient must apply to the department for loan cancellation and pro-
vide any requested supporting documentation.
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(8) Information Sharing Policy. All information on an individual’s
minority teaching application will be shared with the financial aid
office of the institution to which the individual has applied, or is
attending, to permit verification of data submitted. Information may
be shared with federal financial aid offices if necessary to verify data
furnished by the state or federal governments as provided for in the
Privacy Act of 1974, 5 U.S.C. sections 552, 552a.

AUTHORITY: section 161.415, RSMo Supp. 2010. Original rule filed
June 15, 2011.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri
Department of Higher Education, Financial Assistance, Outreach
and Proprietary Certification, Kelli Reed, Student Assistance
Associate, PO Box 1469, Jefferson City, MO 65102-1469. To be con-
sidered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after pub-
lication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is
scheduled.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2245—Real Estate Appraisers

Chapter 1—Organization and Description of 
Commission

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

20 CSR 2245-1.010 General Organization. The commission is
proposing to amend section (9).

PURPOSE: This amendment changes the version of the Uniform
Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) that real
estate appraisers are required to adhere to pursuant to section
339.535, RSMo.

PUBLISHER’S NOTE: The secretary of state has determined that the
publication of the entire text of the material which is incorporated by
reference as a portion of this rule would be unduly cumbersome or
expensive. This material as incorporated by reference in this rule
shall be maintained by the agency at its headquarters and shall be
made available to the public for inspection and copying at no more
than the actual cost of reproduction. This note applies only to the ref-
erence material. The entire text of the rule is printed here.

(9) For purposes of this section, the Uniform Standards of Professional
Appraisal Practice (USPAP), [2010] 2012 edition, is incorporated
herein by reference and can be obtained from The Appraisal
Foundation, 1155 15th Street NW, Suite 1111, Washington, DC
20005, by calling (202) 347-7722, or at www.appraisalfoundation.org.
This rule does not incorporate any subsequent amendments to
USPAP.

AUTHORITY: section 339.507, RSMo Supp. [2008] 2010 and sec-
tion 339.509, RSMo 2000. This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 245-
1.010. Emergency rule filed Dec. 6, 1990, effective Dec. 16, 1990,
expired April 14, 1991. Original rule filed Jan. 3, 1991, effective
April 29, 1991. For intervening history, please consult the Code of
State Regulations. Amended: Filed June 15, 2011.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:  Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the Real
Estate Appraisers Commission, PO Box 1335, Jefferson City, MO
65102, by facsimile at 573-526-3489, or via email at
reacom@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2245—Real Estate Appraisers

Chapter 3—Applications for Certification and Licensure

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

20 CSR 2245-3.010 Applications for Certification and Licensure.
The commission is proposing to amend subsection (5)(B).

PURPOSE: This amendment changes the version of the Uniform
Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) that real
estate appraisers are required to adhere to pursuant to section
339.535, RSMo.

(5) Prerequisite for Certification.
(B) State-Certified Residential Appraiser.

1. The prerequisite for certification as a state-certified residen-
tial appraiser shall be two thousand five hundred (2,500) hours of
appraisal experience obtained continuously over a period of not less
than twenty-four (24) months under the supervision of a state-certi-
fied real estate appraiser. The applicant must have at least fifty per-
cent (50%) of the required experience hours in the state of Missouri.
Hours may be treated as cumulative in order to achieve the necessary
two thousand five hundred (2,500) hours of appraisal experience, and
there is no limitation on the number of hours which may be awarded
in any year. Each applicant for certification shall furnish, under oath,
a detailed listing of the real estate appraisal reports or file memo-
randa for each year for which experience is claimed by the applicant.
Upon request, the applicant shall make available to the commission
a sample of appraisal reports which the applicant has prepared in the
course of the applicant’s appraisal practice. For the purposes of this
section, “prepared” means the participation in any function of the
real estate appraisal report. Education may not be substituted for
experience except as allowed in section (8) of this rule. All experi-
ence shall have been obtained after January 30, 1989, and shall be
Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) com-
pliant. The USPAP, [2010] 2012 Edition, is incorporated herein by
reference and can be obtained from The Appraisal Foundation, 1155
15th Street NW, Suite 1111, Washington, DC 20005, by calling (202)
347-7722, or at www.appraisalfoundation.org. This rule does not
incorporate any subsequent amendments or additions to the USPAP.
Acceptable appraisal experience as defined by the Appraiser
Qualifications Board (AQB) includes, but is not limited to, the fol-
lowing (this should not be construed as limiting credit to only those
individuals who are state-certified or state-licensed):

A. Fee and staff appraisal;
B. Ad valorem tax appraisal;
C. Technical review appraisal;
D. Appraisal analysis;
E. Real estate consulting;
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F. Highest and best use analysis;
G. Feasibility analysis/study; and
H. Condemnation appraisal.

AUTHORITY: section 339.509, RSMo 2000 and sections 339.515 and
339.517, RSMo Supp. [2009] 2010. This rule originally filed as 4
CSR 245-3.010. Emergency rule filed Dec. 6, 1990, effective Dec.
16, 1990, expired April 14, 1991. Emergency rule filed April 4, 1991,
effective April 14, 1991, expired Aug. 11, 1991. Original rule filed
Jan. 3, 1991, effective April 29, 1991. For intervening history, please
consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed June 15,
2011.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:  Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the Real
Estate Appraisers Commission, PO Box 1335, Jefferson City, MO
65102, by facsimile at 573-526-3489, or via email at
reacom@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2245—Real Estate Appraisers
Chapter 4—Certificates and Licenses

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

20 CSR 2245-4.025 Inactive Status. The board is proposing to
amend section (2).

PURPOSE: This amendment changes the amount of continuing edu-
cation hours that are required for a licensee to move from inactive to
active status. This is necessary so that Missouri appraisers will be in
compliance with the minimum licensure requirements set forth by the
Appraiser Qualifications Board.

(2) If an individual with a license on inactive status wishes to return
a license or certificate to active status prior to the renewal time, the
individual shall complete a renewal form, pay the reactivation fee and
shall provide evidence of completion of [at least twenty-eight
(28) hours of continuing education within the preceding two
(2) years] all continuing education hours that would have been
required during the period of inactivity if the license had been
active.

AUTHORITY: section 339.525.5, RSMo Supp. [2007 and section
620.150, RSMo 2000] 2010. Original rule filed Nov. 15, 2007,
effective May 30, 2008. Amended: Filed June 15, 2011.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will cost private entities
approximately one thousand one hundred forty-two dollars and twen-
ty cents to one thousand eight hundred two dollars and twenty cents
($1,142.20 to $1,802.20) annually for the life of the rule. It is antic-
ipated that the costs will recur for the life of the rule, may vary with

inflation, and are expected to increase at the rate projected by the
Legislative Oversight Committee.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:  Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the Real
Estate Appraisers Commission, PO Box 1335, Jefferson City, MO
65102, by facsimile at 573-526-3489, or via email at
reacom@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled.
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Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2245—Real Estate Appraisers
Chapter 6—Educational Requirements

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

20 CSR 2245-6.015 Examination and Education Requirements.
The board is proposing to amend section (2) and subparagraphs
(2)(A)4.J. and (2)(B)4.J.

PURPOSE: This amendment allows for applicants to obtain elective
class hours via on-line courses.  

(2) Qualifying Education. The Missouri Real Estate Appraisers
Commission does not accept on-line qualifying education with
the exception of the courses listed in paragraph (2)(A)2. and the
“Appraisal Subject Matter Electives” as noted below.

(A) State-Certified General Real Estate Appraiser.
1. Applicants for the certified general certification shall hold a

bachelor’s degree or higher from a college or university accredited
by a regional accrediting commission recognized by the United States
Department of Education or an equivalent approving agency for out-
of-state schools, unless the requirements of the following paragraph
(2)(A)2. are satisfied.

2. In lieu of the bachelor’s degree, an applicant for the certified
general certification shall successfully pass thirty (30) semester cred-
it hours, or its equivalent, including each of the following collegiate
subject matter courses from a college, junior college, community
college, or university accredited by a regional accrediting commis-
sion recognized by the United States Department of Education or an
equivalent approving agency for out-of-state schools:

A. English [C]composition; 
B. Micro [E]economics; 
C. Macro [E]economics; 
D. Finance; 
E. Algebra, [G]geometry, or higher [M]mathematics;  
F. Statistics;
G. Introduction to computers, word processing, and spread-

sheets;
H. Business [L]law or [R]real [E]estate [L]law; and 
I. Two (2) elective courses in accounting, geography, ag-eco-

nomics, business management, or real estate.
3. If a college or university accredited by a regional accrediting

commission recognized by the United States Department of
Education or an equivalent approving agency for out-of-state
schools[,] accepts the College-Level Examination Program® (CLEP)
examination(s) and issues a transcript for the exam showing its
approval, it will be considered as credit for the college course.

4. The applicant shall submit verification of completion of three
hundred (300) creditable class hours from the core curriculum,
including passage of the approved closed-book examination for each
course, as follows:

A. Basic Appraisal Principles 30 Hours
B. Basic Appraisal Procedures 30 Hours
C. The 15-Hour National Uniform Standards 

of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP)
Course or its Equivalent 15 Hours

D. General Appraiser Market Analysis and 
Highest and Best Use 30 Hours

E. Statistics, Modeling, and Finance 15 Hours
F. General Appraiser Sales Comparison 

Approach 30 Hours
G. General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost

Approach 30 Hours
H. General Appraiser Income Approach 60 Hours
I. General Appraiser Report Writing and Case

Studies 30 Hours

J. Appraisal Subject Matter Electives 30 Hours
(Electives may include hours over minimum 
shown above in other modules and may be 
taken on-line subject to 20 CSR 2245-7.020(3)) 

Total 300 Hours
5. Applicants shall demonstrate that their education includes the

core courses listed in these criteria, with particular emphasis on non-
residential properties.

(B) State-Certified Residential Real Estate Appraiser. 
1. Applicants for the certified residential certificate shall hold

an associate degree or higher from a college, junior college, com-
munity college, or university accredited by a regional accrediting
commission recognized by the United States Department of
Education or an equivalent approving agency for out-of-state schools,
unless the requirements of paragraph (2)(B)2. of this rule are satis-
fied.  

2. In lieu of the [A]associate degree, an applicant for the certi-
fied residential certification shall successfully pass twenty-one (21)
semester credit hours, or its equivalent, of college courses, including
each of the following subject matter courses from a college, junior
college, community college, or university accredited by a regional
accrediting commission recognized by the United States Department
of Education or an equivalent approving agency for out-of-state
schools: 

A. English [C]composition;  
B. Principles of [E]economics ([M]micro or [M]macro); 
C. Finance; 
D. Algebra, [G]geometry, or higher [M]mathematics;  
E. Statistics; 
F. Introduction to computers, word processing, and spread-

sheets; and  
G. Business [L]law or [R]real [E]estate [L]law.  

3. If a college or university accredited by a regional accrediting
commission recognized by the United States Department of
Education or an equivalent approving agency for out-of-state schools
accepts the College-Level Examination Program® (CLEP) examina-
tion(s) and issues a transcript for the exam[,] showing its approval, it
will be considered as credit for the college course.   

4. The applicant shall submit verification of completion of two
hundred (200) creditable class hours from the core curriculum,
including passage of the approved closed-book examination for each
course, as follows:

A. Basic Appraisal Principles 30 Hours
B. Basic Appraisal Procedures 30 Hours
C. The 15-Hour National USPAP Course 15 Hours
D. Residential Market Analysis and Highest and

Best Use 15 Hours
E. Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost

Approach 15 Hours
F. Residential Sales Comparison and Income

Approaches 30 Hours
G. Residential Report Writing and Case Studies 15 Hours
H. Statistics, Modeling, and Finance 15 Hours
I. Advanced Residential Applications and Case

Studies 15 Hours
J. Appraisal Subject Matter Electives 20 Hours

(Electives may include hours over minimum 
shown above in other modules and may be 
taken on-line subject to 20 CSR 2245-7.020(3)) 

Total 200 Hours

AUTHORITY: sections 339.509, RSMo 2000 and 339.517, RSMo
Supp. [2006] 2010. Original rule filed Nov. 21, 2006, effective July
30, 2007. Amended: Filed June 15, 2011.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.
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PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:  Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the Real
Estate Appraisers Commission, PO Box 1335, Jefferson  City, MO
65102, by facsimile at 573-526-3489, or via email at
reacom@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2245—Real Estate Appraisers
Chapter 6—Educational Requirements

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

20 CSR 2245-6.040 Case Study Courses. The commission is
proposing to amend subsection (1)(B).

PURPOSE: This amendment changes the version of the Uniform
Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) that real
estate appraisers are required to adhere to pursuant to section
339.535, RSMo.

(1) General.
(B) Case study courses shall be at least thirty (30) hours of instruc-

tion. For each case study course, experience credit hours may not
exceed three (3) times the education credit granted, and in no event
shall the experience credit granted for a single course exceed ninety
(90) hours.  An applicant for licensure or certification may receive
thirty (30) hours of pre-licensure education credit upon passage of an
examination approved by the Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB)
course approval program or by an alternate method established by the
AQB. A licensee may receive twenty-eight (28) hours of continuing
education credit for a case study course as allowed pursuant to 20
CSR 2245-8.010. An applicant for licensure or certification will
receive the experience credit upon completing one (1) or more
Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) com-
pliant appraisal reports for the course. The USPAP, [2010] 2012
Edition, is incorporated herein by reference and can be obtained
from The Appraisal Foundation, 1155 15th Street NW, Suite 1111,
Washington, DC 20005, by calling (202) 347-7722, or at
www.appraisalfoundation.org. This rule does not incorporate any
subsequent amendments or additions to the USPAP. The amount of
education and experience credit available from a case study course
will be determined at the time it is approved by the AQB course
approval program or by an alternate method established by the AQB.

AUTHORITY: sections 339.509(3) and (4), RSMo 2000. Original
rule filed Nov. 21, 2006, effective July 30, 2007. Amended: Filed
March 31, 2008, effective Sept. 30, 2008. Amended: Filed Aug. 27,
2009, effective Feb. 28, 2010. Amended: Filed June 15, 2011.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:  Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the Real
Estate Appraisers Commission, PO Box 1335, Jefferson City, MO
65102, by facsimile at 573-526-3489, or via email at

reacom@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2245—Real Estate Appraisers

Chapter 8—Continuing Education

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

20 CSR 2245-8.010 Requirements. The commission is proposing to
amend section (11).

PURPOSE: This amendment changes the version of the Uniform
Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) that real
estate appraisers are required to adhere to pursuant to section
339.535, RSMo.

(11) All licensees of the state of Missouri shall complete, for contin-
uing education credit, the seven (7)-hour national Uniform Standards
of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) update course or its
equivalent during each renewal cycle. The USPAP, [2010] 2012
Edition, is incorporated herein by reference and can be obtained
from The Appraisal Foundation, 1155 15th Street NW, Suite 1111,
Washington, DC 20005, by calling (202) 347-7722, or at
www.appraisalfoundation.org. This rule does not incorporate any
subsequent amendments or additions to the USPAP.

AUTHORITY: sections 339.509 and 339.530, RSMo 2000. This rule
originally filed as 4 CSR 245-8.010. Emergency rule filed Dec. 6,
1990, effective Dec. 16, 1990, expired April 14, 1991. Emergency
rule filed April 4, 1991, effective April 14, 1991, expired Aug. 11,
1991. Original rule filed Jan. 3, 1991, effective April 29, 1991. For
intervening history, please consult the Code of State Regulations.
Amended: Filed June 15, 2011.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:  Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the Real
Estate Appraisers Commission, PO Box 1335, Jefferson City, MO
65102, by facsimile at 573-526-3489, or via email at
reacom@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2245—Real Estate Appraisers

Chapter 8—Continuing Education

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

20 CSR 2245-8.030 Instructor Approval. The commission is
proposing to amend section (4) and delete section (5).

PURPOSE: This amendment further clarifies instructor require-
ments. 
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(4) All instructors of the national Uniform Standards of Professional
Appraisal Practice (USPAP) course, the national USPAP update
course, or their equivalents shall be approved through the instructor
certification program of the Appraisal Qualifications Board (AQB) or
by an alternate method established by the AQB. The USPAP, [2010]
2012 Edition, is incorporated herein by reference and can be
obtained from The Appraisal Foundation, 1155 15th Street NW,
Suite 1111, Washington, DC 20005, by calling (202) 347-7722, or at
www.appraisalfoundation.org. This rule does not incorporate any
subsequent amendments or additions to the USPAP. At least one (1)
instructor of the national USPAP course and the national USPAP
update course shall be a state-certified appraiser and shall be
approved through the AQB instructor certification program.

[(5) Education credit shall be given for courses on the USPAP
offered by colleges or universities accredited by a regional
accrediting commission recognized by the United States
Department of Education or an equivalent approving agency
for out-of-state schools, provided that the college or univer-
sity utilizes the national USPAP course, the national USPAP
update course, or their equivalents, and at least one (1) of
the course instructors, who is a state-certified appraiser,
shall be approved through the AQB instructor certification
program.]

AUTHORITY: sections 339.509 and 339.530, RSMo 2000. This rule
originally filed as 4 CSR 245-8.030. Emergency rule filed Dec. 6,
1990, effective Dec. 16, 1990, expired April 14, 1991. Emergency
rule filed April 4, 1991, effective April 14, 1991, expired Aug. 11,
1991. Original rule filed Jan. 3, 1991, effective April 29, 1991. For
intervening history, please consult the Code of State Regulations.
Amended: Filed June 15, 2011.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will cost private entities
approximately two thousand one hundred eighty dollars ($2,180)
annually and four thousand eight hundred ninety-five dollars
($4,895) biennially for the life of the rule. It is anticipated that the
costs will recur for the life of the rule, may vary with inflation, and
are expected to increase at the rate projected by the Legislative
Oversight Committee.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:  Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the Real
Estate Appraisers Commission, PO Box 1335, Jefferson City, MO
65102, by facsimile at 573-526-3489, or via email at
reacom@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled.
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Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 80—State Milk Board

Chapter 5—Inspections

ORDER OF RULEMAKING

By the authority vested in the State Milk Board under section
196.939, RSMo 2000, the board amends a rule as follows:

2 CSR 80-5.010 Inspection Fees is amended.

A notice of proposed rulemaking containing the text of the proposed
amendment was published in the Missouri Register on April 1, 2011
(36 MoReg 980). No changes have been made in the text of the pro-
posed amendment, so it is not reprinted here. This proposed amend-
ment becomes effective thirty (30) days after publication in the Code
of State Regulations. 

SUMMARY OF COMMENT: No comments were received. 

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 90—Weights and Measures
Chapter 30—Petroleum Inspection

ORDER OF RULEMAKING

By the authority vested in the Department of Agriculture under sec-
tion 414.142, RSMo 2000, the director withdraws a proposed amend-
ment as follows:

2 CSR 90-30.080 Measuring Devices is withdrawn.

A notice of proposed rulemaking containing the text of the proposed
amendment was published in the Missouri Register on February 15,
2011 (36 MoReg 707–708). This proposed amendment is withdrawn.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS: The Department of Agriculture
received eight (8) comments in opposition to and one (1) comment in
support of the proposed amendment. The comments encouraged the
department to pursue development of a national standard to address
misfueling issues.  
RESPONSE: As a result, the director is withdrawing this rulemak-
ing.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 90—Weights and Measures
Chapter 30—Petroleum Inspection

ORDER OF RULEMAKING

By the authority vested in the Department of Agriculture under sec-
tion 414.036, RSMo Supp. 2010, the director adopts a rule as fol-
lows:

2 CSR 90-30.086 is adopted.

A notice of proposed rulemaking containing the text of the proposed
rule was published in the Missouri Register on February 15, 2011 (36
MoReg 709–710). Those sections with changes are reprinted here.
This proposed rule becomes effective thirty (30) days after publica-
tion in the Code of State Regulations.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS: The Department of Agriculture
received one (1) comment on this proposed rule.

COMMENT: Carol R. Eighmey, Missouri Petroleum Storage Tank
Insurance Fund, suggested wording changes in subsection (1)(B)
from “in operation” to “in use” and paragraph (3)(A)1. from “on
subsection (B)” to “in subsection (B)” to be consistent with terms in
existing regulations.
RESPONSE AND EXPLANATION OF CHANGE: The department
concurs with this comment and wording changes will be made to sub-
section (1)(B) and paragraph (3)(A)1.

2 CSR 90-30.086 Financial Responsibility for Aboveground Stor-
age Tank Owners and Operators

(1) Applicability.
(B) Owners and operators of aboveground storage tanks which are

in use on or after January 1, 2011, are subject to this rule.

(3) Allowable Mechanisms.
(A) An owner or operator may use any one (1) or a combination

of the following mechanisms to meet the requirements of this rule,
provided that the total scope and amount meet the requirements of
this rule:

1. Self-insurance, subject to the requirements in subsection (B)
of this section;

2. The Missouri Petroleum Storage Tank Insurance Fund;
3. An insurance policy issued by a commercial insurance com-

pany or a risk retention group, subject to the requirements in sub-
section (C) of this section.
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Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION 
Division 200—Insurance Solvency and Company 

Regulation
Chapter 1—Financial Solvency and Accounting 

Standards

ORDER OF RULEMAKING

By the authority vested in the Department of Insurance, Financial
Institutions and Professional Registration under section 374.045,
RSMo Supp. 2010, the director amends a rule as follows: 

20 CSR 200-1.005 Materials Incorporated by Reference
is amended.

A notice of proposed rulemaking containing the text of the proposed
amendment was published in the Missouri Register on March 15,
2011 (36 MoReg 931). No changes have been made in the text of the
proposed amendment, so it is not reprinted here. This proposed
amendment becomes effective thirty (30) days after publication in the
Code of State Regulations. 

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS: A public hearing on this proposed
amendment was held April 21, 2011, and the public comment peri-
od ended April 22, 2011. At the public hearing, the Division of
Insurance Company Regulation explained the proposed amendment.
The director received no public comments. 

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION 
Division 200—Insurance Solvency and Company 

Regulation
Chapter 1—Financial Solvency and Accounting 

Standards

ORDER OF RULEMAKING

By the authority vested in the Department of Insurance, Financial
Institutions and Professional Registration under section 374.045,
RSMo Supp. 2010, the director amends a rule as follows: 

20 CSR 200-1.030 Financial Statement and Electronic Filing
is amended.

A notice of proposed rulemaking containing the text of the proposed
amendment was published in the Missouri Register on March 15,
2011 (36 MoReg 931–932). No changes have been made in the text
of the proposed amendment, so it is not reprinted here. This pro-
posed amendment becomes effective thirty (30) days after publica-
tion in the Code of State Regulations. 

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS: A public hearing on this proposed
amendment was held April 21, 2011, and the public comment peri-
od ended April 22, 2011. At the public hearing, the Division of
Insurance Company Regulation explained the proposed amendment.
The director received no public comments. 

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION 
Division 200—Insurance Solvency and Company 

Regulation
Chapter 1—Financial Solvency and Accounting 

Standards

ORDER OF RULEMAKING

By the authority vested in the Department of Insurance, Financial
Institutions and Professional Registration under section 374.045,
RSMo Supp. 2010, the director amends a rule as follows: 

20 CSR 200-1.160 Valuation of Life Insurance Policies
is amended.

A notice of proposed rulemaking containing the text of the proposed
amendment was published in the Missouri Register on March 15,
2011 (36 MoReg 932–933). No changes have been made in the text
of the proposed amendment, so it is not reprinted here. This pro-
posed amendment becomes effective thirty (30) days after publica-
tion in the Code of State Regulations. 

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS: A public hearing on this proposed
amendment was held April 21, 2011, and the public comment peri-
od ended April 22, 2011. At the public hearing, the Division of
Insurance Company Regulation explained the proposed amendment.
Matthew Fillo, on behalf of RGA Reinsurance Company, testified in
support of the proposed amendment. 

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 400—Life, Annuities and Health

Chapter 1—Life Insurance and Annuity Standards

ORDER OF RULEMAKING

By the authority vested in the Department of Insurance, Financial
Institutions and Professional Registration under section 374.045,
RSMo Supp. 2010, the director amends a rule as follows: 

20 CSR 400-1.170 Recognition of Preferred Mortality Tables in
Determining Minimum Reserve Liabilities and Nonforfeiture 

Benefits is amended.

A notice of proposed rulemaking containing the text of the proposed
amendment was published in the Missouri Register on March 15,
2011 (36 MoReg 933–934). No changes have been made in the text
of the proposed amendment, so it is not reprinted here. This pro-
posed amendment becomes effective thirty (30) days after publica-
tion in the Code of State Regulations. 

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS: A public hearing on this proposed
amendment was held April 21, 2011, and the public comment peri-
od ended April 22, 2011. At the public hearing, the Division of
Insurance Company Regulation explained the proposed amendment.
Matthew Fillo, on behalf of RGA Reinsurance Company, testified in
support of the proposed amendment. 

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 400—Life, Annuities and Health 
Chapter 8—Forms, Procedures, and Fees

ORDER OF RULEMAKING
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By the authority vested in the Department of Insurance, Financial
Institutions and Professional Registration under section 374.045,
RSMo Supp. 2010, the director amends a rule as follows: 

20 CSR 400-8.200 Procedures for the Filing of All Policy Forms
and Certain Rates for Life or Health Policies, Contracts, or 

Related Forms is amended.

A notice of proposed rulemaking containing the text of the proposed
amendment was published in the Missouri Register on March 15,
2011 (36 MoReg 934–935). No changes have been made in the text
of the proposed amendment, so it is not reprinted here. This pro-
posed amendment becomes effective thirty (30) days after publication
in the Code of State Regulations. 

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS: A public hearing on this proposed
amendment was held April 21, 2011, and the public comment peri-
od ended April 22, 2011. At the public hearing, the Division of
Insurance Market Regulation explained the proposed amendment.
The director received no public comments. 

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2220—State Board of Pharmacy

Chapter 2—General Rules

ORDER OF RULEMAKING

By the authority vested in the Missouri Board of Pharmacy under
section 338.010, RSMo Supp. 2010 and sections 338.140.1,
338.280, and 338.350, RSMo 2000, the Board of Pharmacy adopts
a rule as follows:

20 CSR 2220-2.005 Definitions is adopted.

A notice of proposed rulemaking containing the text of the proposed
rule was published in the Missouri Register on April 15, 2011 (36
MoReg 1070). No changes have been made in the text of the pro-
posed rule, so it is not reprinted here. This proposed rule becomes
effective thirty (30) days after publication in the Code of State
Regulations.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS: No comments were received.
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