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20 CSR 700-4.100 Utilization Review  

PURPOSE: This rule sets forth the procedure 
for a utilization review agent to obtain and 
maintain a certificate of registration and 
establishes fees and forms pursuant to the 
requirements of section 374.505, RSMo. The 
rule also clarifies the standards applicable to 
utilization review agents conducting utiliza-
tion review in this state.  

(1) Pursuant to the requirements of section 
374.505, RSMo, each application for a cer-
tificate of registration as a utilization review 
agent shall—  

(A) Be submitted to the department on a 
form provided by the department;  

(B) Be signed by the applicant or, if the 
applicant is a corporation, by an officer or, if 
the applicant is a partnership, by one (1) of 
the partners;  

(C) Be accompanied by an initial registra-
tion fee of one thousand dollars ($1,000);  

(D) Disclose all fictitious names under 
which the applicant entity will operate as a 
utilization review agent in this state; and 

(E) Provide any other reasonably related 
supporting documentation necessary to 
process the utilization review agent’s registra-
tion. 

(2) Each recipient of a certificate of registra-
tion may maintain their registration by filing 
for renewal annually on or before the anniver-
sary date of the initial certificate as shown on 
the original certification. Each application for 
renewal shall— 

(A) Be submitted on a form provided by 
the department; 

(B) Be accompanied by a renewal fee of 
five hundred dollars ($500);  

(C) Be accompanied by a list of the utiliza-
tion review agent’s current health plan clients 
with contact information for each such health 
plan client. A list of the health plan’s clients 
is not necessary;  

(D) Disclose all fictitious names under 
which the applicant entity has and will oper-
ate as a utilization review agent in this state; 
and 

(E) Provide any other reasonably related 
supporting documentation necessary to main-
tain the utilization review agent’s registration. 

(3) Failure to renew a certificate of registra-
tion may result in a fine as set forth in section 
374.280, RSMo.  

(4) Pursuant to sections 374.046 and 
374.512, RSMo, the director may take action 
against any utilization review agent doing 
business in this state without a certificate of 
registration in violation of section 374.503, 
RSMo, even if the principal place of business 
of the utilization review agent is located in 
another state. 

(5) Any utilization review agent doing busi-
ness in this state under a name other than its 
true name shall file with the director a copy 
of all documents, including the authorization 
from the Missouri Secretary of State which 
shows the legal authority for the utilization 
review agent to use such other name. 

(6) Pursuant to section 374.510, RSMo, the 
minimum requirements of sections 376.1350 
to 376.1399, RSMo, as applied to utilization 
review agents include, but are not limited to, 
the following: 

(A) That any medical director who admin-
isters the utilization review program or over-
sees the review decisions be a qualified health 
care professional licensed in the state of 
Missouri; 

(B) That a licensed clinical peer evaluate 
the clinical appropriateness of adverse deter-
minations; 

(C) That utilization review decisions be 
made and issued in a timely manner pursuant 
to the requirements of sections 376.1363, 
376.1365, and 376.1367, RSMo; 

(D) That a utilization review agent provide 
health plan enrollees and health plan partici-
pating providers with timely access to its 
review staff by a toll-free number; 

(E) That when conducting utilization 
review, the utilization review agent shall col-
lect only the information necessary to certify 
the admission, procedure or treatment, length 
of stay, frequency, and duration of services 
and not require or request a Federal Drug 
Enforcement Administration Number or a 
Missouri Controlled Substance Registration 
Number from any provider; 

(F) That compensation to persons provid-
ing utilization review services for a utilization 
review agent not contain direct or indirect 
incentives for such persons to make medical-
ly inappropriate review decisions or be 
directly or indirectly based on the quantity or 
type of adverse determinations rendered; 

(G) That a utilization review agent respon-
sible for pre-approving any covered benefits 
or services issue a confirmation number to 
the enrollee when it authorizes the provision 
of health care services; and 

(H) That if a utilization review agent 
authorizes the provision of health care ser-
vices, the utilization review agent not subse-

quently retract its authorization after the 
health care services have been provided, or 
reduce payment for an item or service fur-
nished in reliance on approval, unless— 

1. Such authorization is based on a 
material misrepresentation or omission about 
the treated person’s health condition or the 
cause of the health condition; or 

2. The health benefit plan terminates 
before the health care services are provided; 
or 

3. The covered person’s coverage under 
the health benefit plan terminates before the 
health care services are provided. 

(7) The following form has been adopted and 
approved for filing with the department: 

(A) Utilization Review Agent Application 
for Certificate of Registration (“Form 
UR1”), or any form which substantially com-
ports with the specified form. 

(8) The department on request will supply in 
printed format the forms listed in this rule.  
Accurate reproduction of the forms may be 
utilized for filing in lieu of the printed forms.  
All application forms referenced herein are 
available at http://www.insurance.mo.gov. 

AUTHORITY: sections 374.515 and 376.1399, 
RSMo 2016.* Emergency rule filed Nov. 1, 
1991, effective Nov. 11, 1991, expired March 
10, 1992. Original rule filed Nov. 1, 1991, 
effective May 14, 1992. Amended: Filed Aug. 
26, 1993, effective May 9, 1994. Amended: 
Filed Nov. 3, 1997, effective May 30, 1998. 
Amended: Filed April 23, 1999, effective 
Nov. 30, 1999. Amended: Filed March 28, 
2007, effective Oct. 30, 2007. Amended: 
Filed Dec. 3, 2007, effective July 30, 2008. 
Amended: Filed June 4, 2020, effective Jan. 
30, 2021. 

*Original authority 374.515, RSMo 1991, amended 1993 
and 376.1399, RSMo 1997, amended 1997, 2007. 
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