

## State of Missouri John R. Ashcroft, Secretary of State

Commissions PO Box 784, Jefferson City, MO 65102 Toll-Free (866) 223-6535 or (573) 751-2783

- Mark only one box as your answer for each question.
- Please note the statute sections where the answer can be located or referenced.
- Once completed please attach to a completed notary application.

## **Secretary of State's Office Written Notary Training Course**

Van	ne as it appears on the notary application:			
	(first)		(middle)	(last)
1.	How long is a term of office for a notary? (RSMo 486.215)  ☐ 1 year ☐ 4 years ☐ 10 years	10.	the notary is con	s to appear within the allowed time-frame, sidered failed to qualify and must start the ess over. (RSMo 486.240)
2.	What is the required notary bond amount? (RSMo 486.235) $\square$ \$10,000 $\square$ \$25,000 $\square$ \$50,000		☐ True	☐ False
3.	The notary bond dates must be the same as the notary commission dates that are set by the Secretary of State. (RSMo 486.235)		Errors & Omissi	00 notary bond, can a notary purchase ons Insurance? (Handbook page 24)  No
4.	<ul> <li>□ True</li> <li>□ False</li> <li>Who gives the notary their oath of office? (RSMo 486.235)</li> <li>□ County Clerk</li> <li>□ Local Judge</li> <li>□ Sec. of State</li> </ul>	12.	tions in a perman not a spiral notel removed. (RSMo	
5.	The notary's signature must be exactly as it appears on the notary commission. (RSMo 486.275)  □ True □ False	13.	permanently bou	False lowing items must be recorded in your and journal? (RSMo 486.260)
6.	If someone works in Missouri and needs to notarize documents for work but lives in a surrounding state, they may be appointed as a non-resident Missouri notary. (RSMo 486.220)   True  False		☐ type of notari ☐ type of docur ☐ name, addres ☐ notary fee	ment s, identification and signature of the signer
7.	A notary applicant is required to state whether they have been convicted of or pled guilty or nolo contendere to any felony, or to any misdemeanor incompatible with the duties of a notary public. (RSMo 486.225)   True  False	14.	(RSMo 486.285)	lowing is required on the notary's seal?  y as commissioned by the Secretary of
8.	The notary must take their \$10,000 notary bond that includes their name, dates of commission and county of commission to the county clerk's office when they are sworn in. (RSMo 486.235)   True  False		<ul><li>☐ Notary Public</li><li>☐ Notary Seal</li><li>☐ State of Miss</li><li>☐ Commission after 8/28/20</li></ul>	ouri # (those notaries commissioned on or
9.	A notary has to appear in the county clerk's office to take their notary oath, provide their official signature as commissioned by the Secretary of State and receive their commission within how many days after the application is accepted? (RSMo 486.240)  30 days 60 days 90 days	15	_	a document, the notary must sign their commissioned by the Secretary of State's

16.	The notary seal and the notary journal are the exclusive property of the notary and may not be surrendered to any employer. (RSMo 486.265/285)		Every document that is notarized must contain a notarial certificate, the notary's signature, the notary seal and the notary's county of commission and expiration date.				
	☐ True ☐ False		(RSMo 486.330/335)				
17	If a material manager with in the course according to the Course of the		☐ True ☐ False				
1/.	If a notary moves within the same county, does the Secretary of State's office need to be notified? (RSMo 486.295)  Yes No	25.	When certifying a facsimile, must the notary keep a copy of the document? (RSMo 486.345)				
	Lifes Lino		☐ Yes ☐ No				
18.	Any notary public that lawfully changes their name or changes their county of residence shall notify the Secretary of State's Office by amended application within 30 days of such change. (RSMo 486.300/315)	26.	A notary may not notarize a document: (RSMo 486.255)  their own signature				
	True False		when they are named individually, or as a party to the transaction				
10	A notary public that loses or misplaces his journal of		□ both A & B				
17.	notarial acts or official seal shall notify the Secretary of State in writing of this. (RSMo 486.305)	27.	The maximum a notary can charge for notarizing a signature is: (RSMo 486.350)				
	☐ True ☐ False		□ \$1 □ \$2 □ \$5				
	If any notary public no longer desires to be a notary public, the notary shall notify the Secretary of State in writing of the resignation. (RSM0 486.310)  True  False  The Secretary of State automatically reappoints notaries	28.	Notaries may not charge for notarizing which of the following: (RSMo 486.350)  absentee ballots  absentee voter registration cards  both A & B				
	for another 4-year term. (RSMo 486.325)	20	A notary may charge a travel fee, not to exceed the				
	☐ True ☐ False	29.	approved federal mileage rate and may charge an expedit-				
22.	Which of the following is considered a notarial act? (RSMo 486.330/335/345)		ed convenience service fee not to exceed \$25 when traveling to perform a notarial act, provided that: 1) the notary explains to the person requesting the notarial act that the				
	$\square$ oaths (or affirmations)		travel fee is separate from the notarial fee and is not speci-				
	acknowledgements		fied or mandated by law; and 2) the notary and the person				
	certification of facsimile		requesting the notarial act agree upon his or her fees in advance of the notary affixing his or her official seal.				
	☐ All of the above		(RSMo 486.350)				
23.	Each notarial certificate should have (RSMo 486.330)		☐ True ☐ False				
	☐ State and county of notarization (venue)	30.	Can the Secretary of State's Office revoke a notary's com-				
	☐ Personal appearance of signer		mission? (RSMo 486.385)				
	☐ Signature or acknowledgement of signature		☐ Yes ☐ No				
	$\square$ All of the above						
I do swear, under penalty of perjury, that I completed and answered all the questions on this training exercise after reading and becoming familiar with the notary law:							
Signature of notary applicant as indicated at the top of this exercise.  Date							